Tuesday, June 05, 2007

Late Singapore President son says Malaysians paranoid

Globalisation = Singapore-Malaysia consultative committee on IDR.
If you are a Malaysian and you oppose to the joint ministerial consultative body for the Iskandar Development Region (which is in Johor, Malaysia, the last time I checked), it means you fear globalisation. Or so said a son of a late former President of Singapore.
Going by this logic, A. Kadir Jasin the blogger and former GEIC of NSTP is a Malaysian who fears globalisation, wrote Janadas Devan in a June 1 article in the Singapore Straits Times. Going by this logic, millions of Malaysians "genuinely fear globalisation".
"So how is it possible for someone like Mr A. Kadir Jasin, a former group editor-in-chief of Malaysia's New Straits Times Press, to suggest that the Malaysia-Singapore JMC (Joint Ministerial Committee) may affect Malaysia's sovereignty?
"It cannot possibly be because he thinks Mr Lee's (Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong) use of the word 'consultative' means that the JMC will be a bilateral 'operations council'.
"Mr Kadir, a crisp writer in English, is too smart to believe such nonsense.
"But he, like many other in Malaysia, have raised this canard because, one, it carries a political percentage on the ground, and two, because they genuinely fear globalisation. The ridiculous fuss over the JMC's purpose is a stand-in for a generalised fear tht the policies that must be put in place to ensure the IDR's success will threaten entrenched privileged domestic groups......".
I didn't want to give any space to the provocative remarks but, well, we Malaysians should know. I hope Kadir sends his response to the Singapore Straits Times. Whether the Singapore government's mouthpiece, which used to employ Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan and Brenden Pereira, will publish Kadir's response in full is something we'll have to wait and see.

Read Straits Times Says We Fear Globalisation.

33 comments:

1. Anonymous12:56 am

How I wish the late Sultan make some clever mistake by signing the whole state to the British and now Johor would be instant industrialized 1st world, you throw a stone and you will hit two millionaires, who would need IDR?

2. Brother Rocky:

Don't be surprised. We all know S'pore. I am all along against the setting up of the consultative committee. I am a Johorean. How do you feel when existing developed region in south Johore suddenly being packaged by AAB into a new so-called IDR? How do you feel when AAB seems to be giving special and extra attention to S'pore on this IDR?

I know what is globalisation - the positive and the negative sides of it. But, who is this journalist who accused us Malaysians, AKJ especially, as being scared of globalisation?

I am just worried and scared to death to know that AAB keeps on repeating that IDR is the Shenzen of Hong Kong. Shenzen and Hong Kong are two territories in one particular country - PRC. But Malaysia and S'pore are not. So, why repeats the the statement?

Brother Rocky. You and I were S'pore born. You and I are now Malaysians. You know and I am also in the know that S'pore is the Israel of ASEAN.

Yes, they boasted of being filthy rich. But, don't we suspect that the money to be invested in IDR is the Malaysian workers' CPF money and also seed-capital from the zionists??

Well, before I loose my cool, it is better that I stop. But, Johorians will not stop debating IDR. Instead, AAB should settle all the pending issues with S'pore. I am sure he will score points by doing this. So. please don't gadai Johore to S'pore. For whatever reasons, please scrap IDR.

Policica @ www.politica-net.blogspot.com

3. Rocky! I am not sure whether it is nice to be back!

Like Kadir, many Malays, sorry I am one and not a Malaysian because I do not know what that means anymore, we are not afraid of globalisation for we have, Malay that is, been a globalised group from day one when others came to this country to develop and to make it their own!
    But somwething stink with at IDR!
    A simple equation please! We all know that comne the next century (or even closer) Singapore will be just a "dry" shell of a country, no water, no sand, no space and one can only reclaim the sea so much! But there is always that proverbial hinterland called Persekutuan Tanah Melayu or Malaysia as we call it today! Come on Morons it does not take rocket scientist to figure this one out! This reddotter is coming to take over big time and our leadership with the help of the Singapore agents in the country is helping them and Umno with their corrupt and impotent leaders are already buying landed properties in Australia, England, the USA, India, Dubai, New Zealand, South Africa, Hong Kong, Canada, and even Macao!
    And for Malay leaders if you do not wake up, there are still ample time to do so, IDR will expand and expand and there will be nothing much for the Malays to do but to be enslaved!
    Okay why only Malays are concerned! If Malaysia becomes one big IDR, the Chinese and Indians and other than Malays will survive, they have always survived! When that happens Masjid Negara will be the new opposition HQ since Rocket has always been there, all they have to do is to paint the minaret red!
    What?! Cultural and ethnic cleansing cannot happen in this country? Because you morons think that Malaysia so special than think again, if you guys think so then indeed you are all morons of first degree!

P.S. Rocky soon we will not even be allowed to say anything bad about IDR, it will be another conspiracy theory that no one will believe the concept is so dangerous!

4. Anonymous6:00 am

Malays are paranoia.

Ask yourself .. it is that obvious.

oA

5. Rocky,

Janadas' argument is not new. And absolutely expected. Any Malaysian project with Singapore investment that draws flak from Malaysians will elicit this kind of counter-argument from Singaporean critics.

6. Sir, I reproduce here the comments posted in my blog by Micheal Chick. You don't have to post it in your comments box.

It's been interesting to read such free-flowing comments on an all "Malaysian" free for all. While we are on the subject, how many of you have read the book entitled "Contesting Malayness"? Written by a Professor of National University of Singapore. Cost S$32 (about). It reflects the Anthropologists views that there is no such race as the "Malays" to begin with. If we follow the original migration of the Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago, they moved into Taiwan, (now the Alisan), then into the Phillipines (now the Aeta) and moved into Borneo (4,500yrs ago) (Dayak). They also split into Sulawesi and progressed into Jawa, and Sumatera. The final migration was to the Malayan Peninsular 3,000yrs ago. A sub-group from Borneo also moved to Champa in Vietnam at 4,500yrs ago.

Interestingly, the Champa deviant group moved back to present day Kelantan. There are also traces of the Dong Song and HoaBinh migration from Vietnam and Cambodia. To confuse the issue, there was also the Southern Thai migration, from what we know as Pattani today. (see also "Early Kingdoms of the Indonesian Archipelago and the Malay Peninsular")

Of course, we also have the Minangkabau's which come from the descendants of Alexander the Great and a West Indian Princess. (Sejarah Melayu page 1-3)

So the million Dollar Question... Is there really a race called the "Malays"? All anthropologists DO NOT SEEM TO THINK SO.

Neither do the "Malays" who live on the West Coast of Johor. They'd rather be called Javanese. What about the west coast Kedah inhabitants who prefer to be known as "Achenese"? or the Ibans who simply want to be known as IBANS. Try calling a Kelabit a "Malay" and see what response you get... you’ll be so glad that their Head-Hunting days are over.

In an article in the Star, dated: Dec 3rd 2006

available for on-line viewing at:
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/12/3/focus/16212814&sec=focus

An excerp is reproduced here below:

"The Malays – taken as an aggregation of people of different ethnic backgrounds but who speak the same language or family of languages and share common cultural and traditional ties – are essentially a new race, compared to the Chinese, Indians and the Arabs with their long histories of quests and conquests.

The Malay nation, therefore, covers people of various ethnic stock, including Javanese, Bugis, Bawean, Achehnese, Thai, orang asli, the indigenous people of Sabah and Sarawak and descendants of Indian Muslims who had married local women.

Beneath these variations, however, there is a common steely core that is bent on changing the Malay persona from its perceived lethargic character to one that is brave, bold and ready to take on the world. "

The definition of “Malay” is therefore simply a collection of people's who speak a similar type language. With what is meant by a similar type language does not mean that the words are similar. Linguists call this the "Lego-type" language, where words are added on to the root word to make meaning and give tenses and such. Somehow, the Indonesians disagree with this classification and insist on being called "Indonesians" even though the majority of "Malays" have their roots in parts of Indonesia? They refuse to be called "Malay"…. Anyhow you may define it.

The writer failed to identify (probably didn't know), that the "Malay" definition also includes, the Champa, Dong Song, HoabinHian, The Taiwanese Alisan and the Philippino Aetas. He also did not identify that the "Orang Asli" are (for lack of a better term) ex-Africans. If you try to call any one of our East Malaysian brothers an "Orang Asli", they WILL BEAT YOU UP! I had to repeat this because almost all West Malaysians make the same mistake when we cross the South China Sea. Worse, somehow, they feel even more insulted when you call them “Malay”. Somehow, “kurang ajar” is uttered below their breath as if “Malay” was a really bad word for them. I’m still trying to figure this one out.

Watch “Malays in Africa”; a Museum Negara produced DVD. Also, the “Champa Malays” by the same.

With this classification, they MUST also include the Phillipinos, the Papua New Guineans, the Australian Aboroginies, as well as the Polynesian Aboroginies. These are of the Australo Melanesians who migrated out of Africa 60,000yrs ago.

Getting interesting? Read on...

"Malay" should also include the Taiwanese singer "Ah Mei" who is Alisan as her tribe are the anscestors of the "Malays". And finally, you will need to define the Southern Chinese (Southern Province) as Malay also, since they are from the same stock 6,000yrs ago.

Try calling the Bugis a "Malay". Interestingly, the Bugis, who predominantly live on Sulawesi are not even Indonesians. Neither do they fall into the same group as the migrating Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago nor the Australo Melanesian group from Africa.

Ready for this?

The Bugis are the cross-breed between the Chinese and the Arabs. (FYI, a runaway Ming Dynasty official whom Cheng Ho was sent to hunt down) Interestingly, the Bugis were career Pirates in the Johor-Riau Island areas. Now the nephew of Daeng Kemboja was appointed the First Sultan of Selangor. That makes the entire Selangor Sultanate part Arab, part Chinese! Try talking to the Bugis Museum curator near Kukup in Johor. Kukup is located near the most south-western tip of Johor. (Due south of Pontian Kechil)

Let's not even get into the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekiu, and Hang Lekir, who shared the same family last name as the other super famous "Hang" family member... Hang Li Poh. And who was she? the princess of a Ming Dynasty Emperor who was sent to marry the Sultan of Malacca. Won't that make the entire Malacca Sultanate downline "Baba" ? Since the older son of the collapsed Malaccan Sultanate got killed in Johor, (the current Sultanate is the downline of the then, Bendahara) the only other son became the Sultan of Perak. Do we see any Chinese-ness in Raja Azlan? Is he the descendant of Hang Li Poh?

Next question. If the Baba’s are part Malay, why have they been marginalized by NOT BEING BUMIPUTERA? Which part of “Malay” are they not? Whatever the answer, why then are the Portugese of Malacca BUMIPUTERA? Did they not come 100yrs AFTER the arrival of the first Baba’s? Parameswara founded Malacca in 1411. The Portugese came in 1511, and the Dutch in the 1600’s. Strangely, the Baba’s were in fact once classified a Bumiputera, but a decided that they were strangely “declassified” in the 1960’s. WHY?

The Sultan of Kelantan had similar roots to the Pattani Kingdom making him of Thai origin. And what is this "coffee table book" by the Sultan of Perlis claiming to be the direct descendant of the prophet Muhammed? Somehow we see Prof Khoo Khay Khim’s signature name on the book. I’ll pay good money to own a copy of it myself. Anyone has a spare?

So, how many of you have met with orang Asli’s? the more northern you go, the more African they look. Why are they called Negrito’s? It is a Spanish word, from which directly transalates “mini Negros”. The more southern you go, the more “Indonesian” they look. And the ones who live at Cameron Highlands kinda look 50-50. You can see the Batek at Taman Negara, who really look like Eddie Murphy to a certain degree. Or the Negritos who live at the Thai border near Temenggor Lake (north Perak). The Mah Meri in Carrie Island look almost like the Jakuns in Endau Rompin. Half African, half Indonesian.

By definition, (this is super eye-opening) there was a Hindu Malay Empire in Kedah. Yes, I said right… The Malays were Hindu. It was, by the old name Langkasuka. Today known as Lembah Bujang. This Hindu Malay Empire was 2,000yrs old. Pre-dating Borrobudor AND Angkor Watt. Who came about around 500-600yrs later. Lembah Bujang was THE mighty trading empire, and its biggest influence was by the Indians who were here to help start it. By definition, this should make the Indians BUMIPUTERAS too since they were here 2,000yrs ago! Why are they marginalized?

Of the 3 books listed, "Contesting Malayness" (about S$32 for soft cover) is "banned” in Malaysia; you will need to "smuggle" it into Malaysia; for very obvious reasons.... :( or read it in Singapore if you don’t feel like breaking the law.

The other, "Kingdoms of the Indonesian Archipelago, and the Malay Peninsular" (about RM84) are openly sold at all leading bookshops; Kinokuniya, MPH, Borders, Popular, Times, etc. You should be able to find a fair bit of what I’ve been quoting in this book too, but mind you, it is very heavy reading material, and you will struggle through the initial 200+ pages. It is extremely technical in nature. Maybe that’s why it wasn’t banned (yet)…coz our authorities couldn’t make head or tail of it? (FYI, if I wasn’t doing research for my film, I wouldn’t have read it in its entirety)

While the "Sejarah Melayu" (about RM 35) is available at the University Malaya bookshop. I have both the English and Royal Malay version published by MBRAS.

Incidentally, the Professor (Author) was invited to speak on this very subject about 2 yrs ago, in KL, invited by the MBRAS. You can imagine the "chaos" this seminar created...... :(

There were actually many sources for these findings. Any older Philippino Museum Journal also carries these migration stories. This migration is also on display at the Philippines National Museum in Luzon. However, they end with the Aeta, and only briefly mention that the migration continued to Indonesia and Malaysia, but fully acknowledge that all Philippinos came from Taiwan. And before Taiwan, China. There is another book (part of a series) called the "Archipelago Series" endorsed by Tun Mahatir and Marina Mohammad, which states the very same thing right at the introduction on page one. “… that the Malays migrated out of Southern China some 6,000yrs ago…”. I believe it is called the “Pre-History of Malaysia” Hard Cover, about RM99 found in (mostly) MPH. They also carry “Pre-History of Indonesia” by the same authors for the same price.

It is most interesting to note that our Museum officials invented brand new unheard-of terms such as "Proto-Malay" and "Deutero-Malay", to replace the accepted Scientific Term, Australo-Melanesians (African descent) and Austronesians (Chinese Descent, or Mongoloid to be precise) in keeping in line with creating this new “Malay” term.. They also created the new term called the Melayu-Polynesian. (Which Melayu exists in the Polynesian Islands?) Maybe they were just trying to be “Patriotic” and “Nationalistic”… who knows…? After all, we also invented the term, “Malaysian Time”. While the rest of the world calls it “Tardy” and “Late”. It’s quite an embarrassment actually…. Singaporeans crossing the border are asked to set their watches back by about 100yrs, to adjust to “Malaysian Time”…

In a nutshell, the British Colonial Masters, who, for lack of a better description, needed a “blanket” category for ease of classification, used the term “Malay”.

The only other logical explanation, which I have heard, was that “Malaya” came as a derivative of “Himalaya”, where at Langkasuka, or Lembah Bujang today was where the Indians were describing the locals as “Malai” which means “Hill People” in Tamil. This made perfect sense as the focal point at that time was at Gunung Jerai, and the entire Peninsular had a “Mountain Range” “Banjaran Titiwangsa”, as we call it.

The Mandarin and Cantonese accurately maintain the accurate pronunciation of “Malai Ren” and “Malai Yun” respectively till this very day. Where “ren” and “yun” both mean “peoples”.

Interestingly, “Kadar” and “Kidara”, Hindi and Sanskrit words accurately describe “Kedah” of today. They both mean “fertile Land for Rice cultivation. Again, a name given by the Indians 2,000yrs ago during the “Golden Hindu Era” for a duration of 1,500yrs.

It was during the “Golden Hindu Era” that the new term which the Hindu Malay leaders also adopted the titles, “Sultan” and “Raja”. The Malay Royalty were Hindu at that time, as all of Southeast Asia was under strong Indian influence, including Borrobudor, and Angkor Watt. Bali today still practices devout Hindu Beliefs. The snake amulet worn by the Sultans of today, The Royal Dias, and even the “Pelamin” for weddings are tell-tale signs of these strong Indian influences. So, it was NOT Parameswara who was the first Sultan in Malaya. Sultanage existed approximately 1,500years before he set foot on the Peninsular during the "Golden Hindu Era" of Malaysia. And they were all Hindu.

“PreHistory of Malaysia” also talks about the “Lost Kingdom” of the “Chi-Tu” where the local Malay Kingdom were Buddhists. The rest of the “Malays” were Animistic Pagans.

But you may say, "Sejarah Melayu" calls it "Melayu"? Yes, it does. Read it again; is it trying to describe the 200-odd population hamlet near Palembang by the name "Melayu"?(Google Earth will show this village).

By that same definition, then, the Achehnese should be considered a “race”. So should the Bugis and the Bataks, to be fair. Orang Acheh, Orang Bugis, Orang Laut, Orang Melayu now mean the same… descriptions of ethnic tribes, at best. And since the “Malays” of today are not all descendants of the “Melayu” kampung in Jambi (if I remember correctly), the term Melayu has been wrongly termed. From day one. Maybe this is why the Johoreans still call themselves either Bugis, or Javanese until today. So do the Achehnese on the West coast of Kedah & Perlis and the Kelantanese insist that they came from Champa, Vietnam.

Morover, the fact that the first 3 pages claiming that "Melayu" comes from Alexander the Great and the West Indian Princess doesn't help. More importantly, it was written in 1623. By then, the Indians had been calling the locals “Malai” for 1,500 yrs already. So the name stuck….

And with the Sejarah Melayu (The Malay Annals in page 1-3) naming the grandson of Iskandar Zulkarnain, and the West Indian Princess forming the Minangkabau. Whenever a Malay is asked about it, he usually says it is "Karut" (bullshit), but all Malayan based historians insist on using Sejarah Melayu as THE main reference book for which "Malay" history is based upon. The only other books are “Misa Melayu”, "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa", and “Hikayat Hang Tuah” which is of another long and sometimes “heated” discussion.

I find this strange.

I also find, that it is strange that the "Chitti's" (Indian+Malay) of Malacca are categorized as Bumiputera, while their Baba brothers are not. Why? Both existed during the Parameswara days. Which part of the “Malay” side of the Baba’s is not good enough for Bumiputera classification? Re-instate them. They used to be Bumiputera pre 1960’s anyway.

Instead of "Malay", I believe that "Maphilindo" (circa 1963) would have been the closest in accurately trying to describe the Malays. However, going by that definition, it should most accurately be "MaphilindoThaiChinDiaVietWanGreekCamfrica". And it is because of this; even our University Malaya Anthropology professors cannot look at you in the eye and truthfully say that the word "Malay" technically and accurately defines a race.

This is most unfortunate.

So, in a nutshell, the “Malays” (anthropologists will disagree with this “race” definition) are TRULY ASIA !!! For once the Tourism Ministry got it right….

We should stop calling this country “Tanah Melayu” instead call it, “Tanah Truly Asia”

You must understand now, why I was "tickled pink" when I found out that the Visit Malaysia slogan for 2007 was "Truly Asia". They are so correct... (even though they missed out Greece and Africa)

BTW, the name UMNO should be changed to UTANO the new official acronym for “United Truly Asia National Organization” . After all, they started out as a Bugis club in Johor anyway….

I told you all that I hate race classifications…. This is so depressing. Even more depressing is that the "malays" are not even a race; not since day one.

“Truly Asia Boleh”

2:25 AM

7. Anonymous10:01 am

I just flip the page when I come across his articles in the papers. You should have ignored him too.

8. Anonymous10:27 am

I don't fear globalisation. Many Malaysians dont fear it. In fact, many Malaysian businessmen are doing well in the bigger arena. But I do fear globalisation that doesn't have a level playing field. And there's enough arguments why many world leaders, especially those LDCs (Least Developed Countries) also fear globalisation. Singapore's not afraid of globalisation because it has a highly-placed Malaysian partner championing its cause. And Singapore's not afraid because it now has Johor as its extended territory, albeit one that it didn't planned but rather handed to them on a silver platter. MB Johor, on the expressed instruction of his Boss in KL, has to make sure that the Iskandar project succeeds or else..! Malaysians are not paranoid about globalisation but we have genuine fear that we'll be eaten up by the developed world who uses word like "fair trade" to open up markets of LDCs knowing very well that these countries have nothing much to offer in return.

On another note, is Singapore not paranoid about Malaysia and everything we do that may overshadow them?

9. Anonymous10:45 am

Singaporeans belittle Malaysians all the time. not just Malaysians,but specifically Malays. We all know that. That's their prerogative. We have ours too. The rakyat have their say. We have seen with our own eyes how Malays in Singapore have been treated. So much for meritocracy. If only AAB has balls he would have taken a more courageous stand against all those who have been 'ignorant' of our sensitivities and issues - these includes the Aussies, the Yanks and the Singaporeans. We as a people have no quarrel with neighbouring peoples and peace loving people, but the politicians from Singapore (along with Australia and the Amercians) have agendas you wouldn't believe...anyone who think this people are nice guys with no hidden agenda are idiots.
    Heck, if we need foreign input to make IDR into a global hub we don't need Singapore - bring back the Japanese, bring back the Koreans, bring in the Chinese or Indians. Who give a flying fuck about Singaporeans who would die if we shut off the water pipelines.

cucuparit

10. Anonymous10:53 am

To bergen and micheal chick,
    we can talk about malay diaspora for ages and ages. We can say malays are from Yunan and we can trace malay DNA to Africa. Who gives a shit? Today's problems are more political than trying to justify anything through historical DNA strands. Times and people change - heck they mutate and become Xmen and Hiro Nakamura (Yasaiii!!!). Hey, even Buddha changed from being an Indian to a Chinese icon. Christ from a lowly Arab/Hebrew guy to a blonde rockstar icon in the West. So if the world can change Buddha and Christ and package them to a more global package, why can the malays package themselves in a certain manner that is acceptable to them?
    Jeez.

cucuparit

11. Yada Yada Yada, chew a gum and buy more sand for the sandbox.

12. Anonymous12:01 pm

All th fuss about IDR, please look at the broader perspective.

All of you will be "katak di bawah tempuring" in 10 years due to your shallow mentality an refusal to accept globalisation.

The way comments are going on, it seems very real that AKJ and his frustrated ex-journalist companions are afraid of globalisation.

So the Singapore article is not far from the truth.

Accept that fact. Dont use IDR as a scapegoat.

13. Anonymous12:51 pm

Globalisation is here to stay. Those who oppose it will live to regret it. My message to fellow Malaysians, especially Malays, is simple. Don't be overtaken by events, you have already been left far behind. The cost of ignoring globalisation is devastating - you will forever be left hunkering down in your bunker and wondering what if. Our education system has already destroyed three generations, don't let the same thing happen again.

14. In about 50 years and with global warming, RDC will sink into the sea.

Ornamental fishes?

Be afraid, RDCians.

15. Rocky!

Why do you allow commentors like Bergen the Jerken so much of your cyberspace with his anthropological claptrap of a theses on the Malay race! Of course there is no such thing as a real Malay race! Malay is a concept it is a political entity, like English, Wales (not Whales ah as someone wrote recently), Dutch, Greek, Indian, Pakistani etc so on and so forth!
    If Bergen the Jerken theses to be accepted in these days and age I suggest Australia be given back to the Aborigines, North America to the Indians, Taiwan back to Ah Mei's ancestors the Alisan who were Malays now they only weave straw hats and baskets on the coast of Formosa aka Taiwan! I think Bergen the Jerken is a Singapore spy so Rocky censure him if you can! Bergen must understand that the political name of this country is still (in Bahasa Melayu) Persekutuan Tanah Melayu or Federation of Malaya, as far as I am concerned, hey sorry guys if I am Chinese, of Indian or Serani I wouldnt be writing like this! You want to know why I am so emotional about this whole Malay race thing? Because I am one and many people are trying to make the name into a bad name and to make the name Melayu as an inconsequential term, so no can do as I am proud to be a Malay who descended from Alexander the Great and one gorgeous princess, what a whole load actually! But, I will still stick to being a Malay and I ain't giving this country back to the Aussies or to others, and let this be understood!

16. Anonymous6:27 pm

What the fuck is globalisation? Just a fucking term that's all. Fancy words like borderless society, commercial and regional hubs, US styled democracy ...what nonsense...what does it allmean? accept singapore's terms? accept US terms? just shut the fuck up anddon't tell us Malaysians that we'll be left behind lah..this lah that lah...why you worry about us? you want to be Israel's lackeys and subservient to US politicians, you go ahead lah...we have principals..we have culture...Singapore/ everything imported one..culture..habits..traits..including citizens...if that is globalisation, do we need it? We've survived 50 years lah...doesn't matter that our idiot PM is slowing the process but next election its vayacondios my fren..and we'llmove ahead ..business as usual..no need fierce labelling like globalisation shit.

cucuparit

17. Hey, even Buddha changed from being an Indian to a Chinese icon.

bro get your facts right and not spread lies.....LOL!

18. by the way i was down in SG helping them to identify a dumping ground in Johor for their un-recyclable waste.... hehehehehe

19. Sdr Rocky,

I e-mailed my response yesterday. They acknowledged receiving it. It's EIC, Patrick Daniel said there shouldn't be any problem. So let's wait a day or two. Janadas Devan also e-mailed me. I sent him a copy of my letter.

20. Anonymous7:40 pm

Yes , sure . We Malaysian are paranoid of globalisation. Most countries with natural resource are wary,---quite unlke countries with nothing but 'human resource'--more so when they are short of land.

Yes, singapore--we are paranoid, just as paranoid as you are--thinking that you are surrounded by Islamic countries, that you are going to be eaten up.
    Oh come on, check your own backside before you check ours.....

21. Anonymous8:03 pm

Let them live in denial about being left behind. None so blind as those who would not see.

22. Anonymous8:16 pm

no shar101, in 50 years Spore will rule Tanah Melayu by proxy!

do I fear globalization? no, I fear Melayu becoming like the Manchu Chinese addicted and enslaved to the opium called the NEP!

Hamzah.

23. Friends, Let not be afraid of the future, The Malay especially must acquire knowledge and that could only be done by mastering the English Language. Without English or Mandarin one can never have enough knowledges to succeed in the globalized world. There is no turning back. We are already in the process of globalization and to succeed we must know the rules of the games. Knowledge, knowledge and knowledge and the power of thinking and not just believing. The success of the future entrepreneurs are in they been able to think. With a PhD and a laptop you are on the way of globalization. So do not lament but instead move forward and accept globalization. If not one would be left behind. Have a nice day and take care.

24. Anonymous11:56 pm

Pak Idrus, well said. The people, especially Malays, would have taken a big step forward if the country had the likes of more people like you. Its time to forget about semantics and polemics. It is time to move forward. It is time to accept globalisation, like learning English. English is no longer the language of the colonialists or the English. It is accepted as the international language of commerce, science, internet. Many Malays still persist with the fallacious idea that you dont have to master english to go anywhere. More than 30 years ago, many Malays could speak pukka english. today, they draw a blank when you converse in english with them. It's time for the Malays to ignore leaders who use nationalism and jingoism to further their own ends. It's time for them to realise they cannot progress if they still cocoon themselves in their bunkers. It's time to step out of their shadows, otherwise they will continue to chase shadows.

25. Rocky! Two things!

One Pak Idrus should just retire and lament his good times with TDI. For his own information Malays are not afraid of globalisation, we are concerned about our leaders selling us out, two different things you know! Who said Malays are afrand to move forward?! Nobody said that! I am more concerned about Malays like Pak Idrus who is easily duped by hyped-up news that for example globalisation in this case is to follow Singapore's whims and fancies and if not we are backwards, that Malays like him will jump into the bandwagon believing! In the past and to some extend today, Malays have this "lemming" syndrome following their erstwhile leaders into the chasm and cliff to drown or die, but not this time!

I also noticed "whattahack" commenting on how he or she helped Singapore identified places to dump toxic waste in Johire, Rocky this Malaysia a dumping ground has been going around for far too long can you highlighted it!

26. Don't demean thsi discussion to just language proficiency, and conceptual ideas of globalisation, knowledge and rules of the game.

People know and understand what is in store. Lets not be so taken in by sweet smelling rose. It still use cowdung as fertiliers.

For a country synonymous with kiasuism and "empoverish thy neighbour", who is calling who as paranoia?

I have "The Singapore Story" and "From 3rd World to 1st" in my shelves. Its ready for dusting and listing.

Those lost in their niat baik, what benefit does IDR have in improving any sector of the economy except property? Its ntg more than opening up for Singaporean to buy lands, have a hi class life for cheaps, sent their kids to International schools, hotel and resort tourism for Sporean to relax, etc.

What significant economic value add are this? Again, what significant economic benefit in terms jobs, skill upgrading, technology transfer, value creation, etc etc etc. Peanuts! Don't give me manufacturing for cheap labour shit. It s no more our game!

27. Anonymous10:34 am

Pak Idrus

Ever heard of globalisition as neo-colonisation.

Ever read Dr Lily Zubaidah's work on Singapore?

Been smelling and taking pix of too much roses, haven't we?

28. Anonymous10:38 am

errmm..as far as most people are concerned siddharta gautamawas a prince of ancient India,well before nepal was created.Please refer wikipedia.
    Same as for the founder of shaolin kungfu - Bodhi Dharma or Ta Mo (Chinese name) - an Indian Buddhist monk from Southern India who landed in China and taught the Chinese the basics of kungfu (possible a variation of ancient martial arts like karalipayat.
    Through history and manipulation of history, things change. Just check the drawings of Bodhi Dharma and or the Buddha - apart fromthe littledot ontheir forehead, do they look like Indian figures or Oriental figures?

cucuparit

29. Anonymous12:04 pm

Shaolin is just one of the many schools of kungfu in China. The Chinese have their own, like Wudan, Kunlun etc, many.

30. Anonymous4:39 pm

Pak Idrus

Talk about globalisation and they are already afraid of being eaten up by others, and yet one of them proudly proclaimed to be descendants of Alexander the Great. Any quarrel with Singapore and they talk about cutting off the water supply. When Singapore produced Newater, they were making snead remarks about drinking urine. Well, many countries are already losing their water sources, and some Australia recently started drinking Newater too, due to the drought.

Singapore may yet laugh the last laugh and, he who laugh last laugh best

31. Anonymous5:49 pm

For a Msian academic's take on this, see "IDR - SHENZHEN OR ACHILLES' HEEL?" by Johan Saravanamuttu in the Spore TODAY paper, June 6 (http://todayonline.com) or read his full article at http://www.opinionasia.org

Prof Saravanamuttu was a former Dean (Research) at USM Penang. He is currently a Visiting Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, Singapore.

32. Anonymous11:15 am

nstman

Do all Malaysians fear globalisation? No. I think the Chinese and Indians, they can compete with anyone, anywhere in the world. Just look around the world today. They are everywhere and they have been competing successfully for decades. China did not take long to learn to compete with the world.

But those who need the NEP to even compete against others on their home soil, they will fear globalistion. They can compete, but they have to change their thinking about the NEP and education policies which is going to take at least the next generation, if they seriously start now. Otherwise even people in countries like Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia will pass them by.

33. Anonymous4:05 pm

Paranoia does not help. There is no hidden agenda except to get the best value in a deal. When money is invested in a country, the host country holds the cards. That is why the rule of law is important for investors. In the case for Singapore, that is the way we did it in the early years, make use of other people money and talent and try to learn from foreign talent and capital. This was a sort of a breakthrough in thinking in the 1960s ...as it means swallaowing national pride. We were just lowly paid laborers and the unions were suppressed. Food on the table was more important.

IDR is one way for Abdullah to galvanize the nation. You need more than IDR. But one think is you need less paranoia and play the game to win. And its not zero sum though you might lose something to gain something.