Thursday, April 26, 2007

Rotten government

Ijok: Dr Mahathir Mohamad is on the front page of Malaysiakini today, with this story headlined "Send signal to the "rotten" government".
Few will doubt that the remarks are aimed squarely at his successor Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who appears in Ijok for the first time today since the by-election campaigns started for what is dubbed as the last by-election before the general election. Polling day's Saturday.
Dr Mahathir said Ijok is the right time for voters to tell the PM that NOT all is well.
“Unless you send a signal to the government that, ‘Look, if you don’t behave yourself, you may not get my vote at the next election,’ then the government will say, ‘You see? The people are voting for us. We are doing well."
“If you vote because you get a lot of money or because you get a lot of projects, you may get a rotten government which uses money in order to buy your vote."
“If they win, it’s because of Pak Lah, if they lose, it’s because of Khir Toyo."

Dr M's remarks have raised BN as well as Opposition eyebrows. I sms-ed blogger Elizabeth Wong, an Ijok PR since nomination day, if she could ask Khalid Ibrahim, the PKR candidate, what he thought of the former PM's statement:
"Tan Sri is a little surprised. But this means many quarters are coming together to protest this very corrupt government. From the MTUC to Dr Lim Tek Ghee now the former prime minister .."

16 comments:

1. Keyword ROcky

“If they win, it’s because of Pak Lah, if they lose, it’s because of Khir Toyo."

Is TDM asking to go PUNDAK? Find out what PUNDAK is below:

http://pundak.wordpress.com/

2. Anonymous6:45 pm

Tun Dr. Mahathir did not say vote Oppositions and not vote BN, in last Saturday's speech at Taman Chempaka UMNO do Kelab Darul Ehsan. Infact when the Malaysiakini reporter asked whether is the former PM implying to vote for the Oppositions in Ijok, Tun Dr. Mahathir sternly said "NO! I am not implying anything".

The statement Rocky quoted taken from the Malaysiakini report was simply typical Tun Dr. Mahathir's wit and sarcasm for UMNO & BN leaders like Dato' Seri Najib and the other Cabinet Ministers to stop playing this blowing up PM Abdullah's arse and suck into reality that the Government is lacking in some areas and the people are actually unhappy, but they still vote BN to power because the principle that what BN stood for is so far the best formula for Malaysia.

Of course Malaysiakini has its own political agenda, like always, using their pretext of "Freedom of Press" as the usual excuse.

So what is new? Tun Dr. Mahathir and Malaysiakini had consistently be consitent, as themselves :)

3. The machinery that exists today did not sprout overnight. It has been growing even under TDM's watch.

This public admission is a slap onto his face as well. He had allowed it to grow.

“If you vote because you get a lot of money or because you get a lot of projects, you may get a rotten government which uses money in order to buy your vote."

He had experienced it on the recieving end in Kedah recently. That was how it was for the rest of us for a very long time. Not three years, more!

4. Anonymous9:20 pm

bro,

infamous SIL semalam buat briefing di Bernama. mungkin bro ada kaki utk dapatkan info apa agenda 'our next prime minister'...

5. Sdr Rocky,

If you are a BN supporter, you don't have to vote the opposition to sent a strong message.

You can either not vote or you cast a spoilt vote.

Since some people are already blaming Tun Dr M for the making the statement, my feeling is this -- if the BN fails to win or does not do as well, it goes to show that the former PM is still influencial and Malaysiakini alone can beat the mainstream media.

6. Anonymous12:20 am

Ijok? Is there anything to lose if they vote to protest? People are disillusioned for too long especially the Malays...It's not good. They are "khayal"..actually they have nothing beyond the ordinary citizen is getting now...NEP? It's just a political talk for their political survival! I've long ago forgotten about it and I'm still okay. I'll vote to protest in Ijok this weekend. Go to "lleh" those disllusioned people of Ijok. You'll follow Batu Talam..afraid of losing nothing!
    Hantu Gigi Jarang

7. Anonymous12:55 am

very true, jesusawe. agree with you.

during dr m's time, the government was just as rotten as it is now. it takes one to know one.

8. Anonymous1:07 am

go for PUNDAK, it is the best for IJOK

9. let's hope they would wake up to such calls rather than using intimidation and enforcers to douse out opposition. The more they do it, the more people will get to witness such fracas. remember we're the YouTube generation.

10. Rocky,

I must applaud you. After reading your blog for months, I can differentiate a true blogger with real journalism experience as opposed to blogger/journalist wannabe's out there.

I notice that you very seldom give your view on an issue which is great journalism or bark at people who have opposing views.

I guess experience does count.

11. Anonymous7:47 am

jesusawe wrote "The machinery that exists today did not sprout overnight. It has been growing even under TDM's watch ... This public admission is a slap onto his face as well. He had allowed it to grow... He had experienced it on the recieving end in Kedah recently. That was how it was for the rest of us for a very long time. Not three years, more!"

I say you sound so sour-grape bitter that you've missed the point. Did you vote the Barisan again and again? You must have!

What Mahathir is asking is nothing new and it does not geniuses to do. He merely asking don't be swayed by money. The BN and the Opposition both play money. The BN thinks it has to come out with more money because it feared that Anwar has US dollars from his American friends. Even Pas used money in elections and throw ringgits at voters. So don't act so naive, as if DAP does not use money. If a party do not spend money on voters and to pay voters off, that means someone in the party is keeping the money for themselves.

Now, what Mahathir is saying has been done in Kelantan for several terms. BN came and poured money, the people still voted Pas. That is because the Pas government has done good for the people. In Sabah, the BN's money won them the election although PBS had a lot more money, because someone in PBS kept all the money for themselves and did not want to share with the voters even during elections.

So people of Ijok should take the money from both BN and Opposition but send message to Pak Lah and his backroom boys. That's what Mahathir is saying.

But the message is NOT really for the Ijok people. Because Ijok people don't really get the Internet and Mahathir timed his statement very near the polling date so that the impact is very limited to Ijok.

The impact is felt among the BN leadership. And the Opposition. And people like you and me who have access to Net and vote elsewhere in general elections.

If Mahathir's government was rotten, it is irrelevant to any of us. It is the past. In future, do you have it to be as smart as the Kelantanese or the Sabahan voter?

12. Anonymous7:51 am

lucia, I did not see your comment agreeing with jesusawe. i have written my thoughts in response to your friend's bitter opionion.

mahathir's context for coming out with the "rotten government" remarks was what he called "blind loyalty".

lucia you have just demonstrated what he means bu being blindly loyal to a notion or person, no matter how wrong that notion or person is.

regards.

13. TDM and AAB joined the fray in Ijok? This is interesting. I read in the newspaper today that the voters who are staying in Ijok are split in the middle. What is left is the one thousand plus voters (sounds familiar?) who are working in KL and coming back to vote. These are more sophisticated voters being exposed to national issues as well as the Internet. Some even say they are ghostly or "phantomy"..

Phew...this is hot!

14. Anonymous2:44 pm

I am bored to death. Did anyone watch TV3 news last night?
    Poor old Malay said he (and of course all the people in the village) has been suffering from floods for 25 years... 25 years man! And the so call nice looking BN rep fella said - masalah penduduk di sini adalah masalah saya! Imagine how many times the same statement have been repeated for all this 25 years? This is all SHIT. And guess what? BN is still gonna win, they say. Gila dan celaka betul!! Lahanat betul!!

15. Anonymous5:07 pm

The old fox is up to his tricks again. Whichever way the wind blows in Ijok, the winner is Dr M. After putting up his wet middle finger to test the wind, he predictably calls for an anti-BN vote in Ijok. If Khalid wins, the old fox will smirk and say "I am still a man of influence and Ijok's fall is my slap to Pak Lah." If BN wins, he will be his usual sarcastic, poor loser self and insinuate that money won the day for BN. As if he never sullied his hands with that heinous act in his 22 years of misrule!!! I say vote out BN in Ijok, but do not credit the old man with its fall to PKR hands. Like most Msians, I'm ready to give Anwar a chance. Pak Lah had his chance, and now he must go.

16. Plese refer to my posting entitled:

Ijok IV: MalaysiaKini Salaherti Kenyataan Tun Dr Mahathir