Monday, April 02, 2007

Hadhari and Terrorism

update 1.23am, Tuesday 3 April: According to Screenshots here, this Singapore-based Hadhari-cum-terror "expert" has joined TM as a senior vice president, effective yesterday.

Original post:
Terror or Hadhari expert?
I tried to forget this piece that I read yesterday but it is impossible to shake off. Perhaps it is the rare analysis on terrorism and Islam that it provides. Or the desperation I sense in the attempt to help prop up Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's Hadhari concept. In any case, I decided that I have to share this with my readers and fellow bloggers - an example of how, in the minds of some people, Islam Hadhari must replace Islam because in these minds Islam is too closely associated with terrorism.
The "expert" here is a consultant with Microsoft's Legal and Corporate Affairs.

On the other hand, did anyone notice that our new Agong, in his first Maulidur Rasul address on Saturday, which was attended by the PM, made no mention at all of Islam Hadhari? Or did I miss it?

Read the Bernama story on Hadhari and Terror here; and here for the agency's take on the Agong's speech.

13 comments:

1. Rocky, all the best to you on your court case tomorrow and to Jeff two days later.I will not be able to attend.But please keep us posted on the proceedings when you get back.Cheers.

2. Anonymous11:00 am

Strange is our situation here on earth. Each of us comes for a short visit, not knowing why, yet sometimes seeming to divine a purpose. From the standpoint of daily life,however, there is one thing we do know: that man is here for the sake of other men - above all for those upon whose smiles and well-being our own happiness depends. ALBERT EINSTEIN

3. Here in Japan, PM Abe dabbles in what he calls 'Beautiful Japan' and everybody goes 'HUH?'

He continues to push it... leading people to really scratch their heads, wondering what is this concoction called 'Beautiful Japan'...

Sounds to me that this Islam Hadhari thingy shares similar traits with that above...

Is it that politicians everywhere need to mumble some catch-phrase... doesn't matter whether it makes sense of not...

4. Lrong,
    Branding mah...and re-branding some more. Nowadays it's not the quality or usefulness of the goods you offer that counts but the concept, the image that people must have in their minds. That counts a lot. That's why they have their spin-doctors working overtime. And that's why bloggers are their pain in the behind. We are too willing to call a spade a spade.

5. Rocky!

The Headline in Bernama should read "Islam Hadhari Will Free the Arabs from Terorism, says Analyst".

This Zaid Hamzah, a Moron-Malay from Singapore I presume, was so presumptuous and so self righteous in telling us in this part of the world Islam as being practiced especially in Malaysia is the wrong type!

Hde should be referring to the Arabs, who are majority Muslim, who are being turned into Terrorist because their countries have been subjugated by the Western power for far too long that they are just fed up. The fact that these so called "terrorists" are majority muslims is just spurrious! One has nothing to do with the other. Southern Thailand is populated by majority Muslim is just coincidental, yes they, the Muslim Thais, are fighting for their rights to govern their lives, the fact they are Muslims has nothing to do with their fight for freedom! The same goes with Muslims in Southern Philippines! One has nothing to do with the other. Now then, Zaid the Moron from Singapore now wants Muslims who are being subjugated to be "civilised" and "sleep" lot! They should be so civilised that they should not bear arms! They must be civilised as not to kill and just to allow Singapore to over south Johore, Thailand to supress South Thailand, and the crude "Catholics" of the Philippines to just rape South Philippine!
    How much is Pak Lah or his lackey paying this Moron Zaid Hamzah to talk cock! Boy am I sick of my Malay race!

Now I do know Malays in Singapore as practising Islam Hadhari, they are happy to be Morons livng in the sea of crude people called Singaporeans! The Islam they are practising have taught them to be subservient and pathetic!

6. Anonymous11:16 pm

"How much is Pak Lah or his lackey paying this Moron Zaid Hamzah to talk cock!"

How about a SVP post in TM as of April 2, 2007!

7. Anonymous11:59 pm

I'm perplexed really to venture to understand what this Islam hadhari is all about particularly so since it has been impressed that it has got to do with "civilisational Islam". Is the Islam that have been with us for the last 1428 years are not civilized enough or not "civilisational" enough.

Muslims in other countries re laughing at us and of course lousy Bush must be grinning as the propogation of this Islam Hadhari is in line with the neo-conservatives strategy of diluting the understanding of the religion in countries where Islam is active.

That's why Zaid Hamzah tried to emphasize what role this hadhari can do to thwart terrorism. Its sheer bull shit. Terrorism that has been waging now has got nothing to do with religion per se. Most of the terrorists happen to be Muslims as they find the Muslims from their parts of the world have been so badly treated and decided a retaliation in the name of God was in order. I doubt whether the terrorists ever heard of Islam hadhari. SPB Yang Di Pertuan Agung is wise in not mentioning it in his address.

8. Anonymous12:06 am

Islam hadhari will soon be forgotten once AAB is no longer PM.

9. Sdr Rocky,

Maybe you and others may want to check this one out.

I heard that even Jasa, the jabatan that is in the forefront of promoting I---- Hadhari had stopped implicating Islam.

It seems the department and its penceramah have dropped Islam from the campaign. One such penceramah told me that he now refers to it as masyarakat hadhari, negara hadhari, dasar hadari.

Incidentally, Jasa is under the Information Minister-cum-blogger hater, Datuk Zainuddin Maidin.

I could be wrong.

10. Anonymous6:17 am

Our King gave a very tall order to our leaders -- emulate the Prophet.

None of our Muslim leaders, can even come close... uless of course you think that marrying a janda is one... (our Prophet married a widow, not a divorcee. And during wartime)

11. Anonymous8:26 pm

I've been taught that there's only Islam. The good Muslim is the one that follows the fundamentals of Islam as taught by the Prophet Mohamad SAW. All good Muslims know the difference between good and bad. It's the west that brands Islam as Militant Islam, Rightist Islam, Fundamental Islam, etc. That being the case, why must also follow suit and start branding our Islam? islam is timeless. It's Islam during the Prophet's time; it's islam post-Prophet Mohamad SAW time.

Islam Hadhari? Ask the kampong folks and the imams in most mosques. They probably state that islam is Islam is Islam.

What about this Zaid character? He must have come from some Islamic school no?

12. Anonymous11:33 pm

In the article, Zaid said “it was in the interests of the West and the rest of Asia to support Abdullah's Islam Hadhari concept.”

Merely affirms the notion I've held since day one… not meant to benefit the muslims in malaysia.

13. Anonymous7:43 am

dear sceptic,

talking cock landed him a SVP job in Telekom.

the moral of the story here is that if YOU promote Islam Hadhari, you will be favoured by KJ and goons and rewarded with a plum job in a Malaysian GLC.

Simple. For as long as KJ and goons have that line to the PM, they can make things happen, or not.