Friday, March 30, 2007

Mansion Down Under

RM60 million home. Dr M said Abdullah Ahmad Badawi now has a RM60 million home in Perth, Australia. Go to Malaysia Today for the story, pictures, and maps on how to get there.

23 comments:

1. Anonymous10:50 pm

sdr rocky,

Adalah sangat menjijikkan membaca komen-komen mengenai kenyataan Tun Dr M mengenai rumah RM60 juta Perdana Menteri kita di Perth, Australia. Saya katakan jijik kerana mereka yang membuat komen itu langsung tidak mempunyai perasaan hormat terhadap negarawan ulung yang telah banyak berjasa kepada negara dan satu daripadanya ialah menyediakan infrastruktur yang membolehkan rakyatnya menikmati kemudahan dunia tanpa sempadan. Ya, almost everybody now are able to express their view by blogging and through blogs.
    I am neither Tun M's staunch supporter nor Pak Lah. But one thing for sure, I admire Tun M's courage, intellectual and foresightedness. He has all the criteria's a PM should have. And of course as a person he is never short of making mistakes. Isn't to err is human?
    Tetapi sekurang-kurangnya Tun M tidak pernah mengatakan bahawa di dalam mentadbir negara, bukan kekayaan yang dia cari tapi al Ghazali dan shafie. Tun M juga tidak pernah menjadi imam namun saya percaya ibadatnya tidak berkurang.
    Agaknya itulah beza di antara seorang cendekiawan dan budiman (seperti Tun M) dengan seorang yang banyak angan-angan...

2. Anonymous12:27 am

Well.
    If the Mansion talk is really true; then AAB is indeed a 'Kepala Otak Punyea Olang'...

3. Anonymous1:32 am

No wonder, RM5 million a house is okay.

4. Anonymous7:41 am

Rocky

Can you get a photo of the RM60 million mansion & publish it here?

Since I dont have the money to travel to Perth and see the mansion myself, it'd be great if I could just see, at least, The picture of The masnion of our dear Zzzzzzzzz Prime Minister.

5. Anonymous7:52 am

Sdr Rocky,

Would it not be better if such a palatial home, if it really exists, be build at the Iskandar Development Region?

It can be a showpiece. I am sure a lot of kiasu billionaires from across the muddy Selat Tebrau will compete to beat it.

In that way, the IDR can become the playground and passport free metropolis for the rich and famous from around the world.

Btw, many rich Malaysians have palatial homes in Perth. A Singapore friend who lives in that Australian city took me around to see some of these homes not too long ago.

But that was before the PM started making regular visits to the city or before the famous nasi kandar restaurant was opened.

My favourite nasi kandar stall is still Line Clear in Penang.

6. Anonymous8:52 am

Have you tried verifying such allegations? (Dr. M is not credible person, as you probably already know.)

7. Anonymous10:03 am

Bro Rocky,

What if the report about the PM has a new house in Perth is true? I am sure Tun Dr M will not open hiw mouth if the subject if half-truth or untruth at all. Most of the times, the so-called "untruth" will be proven to be true afterall.

However, if the PM has bought a new house that is his business. I mean i think he is entitled to have his own things, yes? I am sure he could not afford it with his prime minister's salary (even after 3 years plus) but his wealthy son could have bought it for him, so what? That is his business.

Our eyeballs should be on the development down south in which there will almost be no opportunity for the Sons of Soil, a subject which Pak Tun had also touched. That is more compelling to be discussed and whats more when it is said that certain measures to be taken in IDR will be seen as attempts to "sell-out" Malaysia lock, stock and barrel to the foreigners especially Singaporeans.

Lets us all be professionals and draw the line between personal and official matters and focus on things that really effect our well-beings, well at least our brothers and sisters down south.

zaki tok tam
    anakbukit, alor setar, kedah

8. Anonymous12:08 pm

Mr Rocky
    Is it true what Tun M said? Instead of just reproducing the article in Malaysia Today, have YOU investigated? Can YOU confirm this RM60m story?
    Thanks.

9. Anonymous5:29 pm

It is all one BIG April Fool joke and you all fell for it.

Looks like these days we will fall for anything, believe everything in blogosphere.

10. anon 12.27 and 5.29.
    if someone like dr m makes an allegation against someone like abdullah, than the onus is on the prime minister's office to respond to that allegation. dr m is not making the allegation anonymously and if the pm does not own a mansion in perth, it is so easy for him or his boys to say, "No, Tun, I don't own a house in Perth or anywhere else outside Malaysia."

now, if you were to make an allegation that dr m is not credible, the former pm does not have to respond to you because , firstly, you are doing it anonymously and, secondly, he does not have a credibility crisis.

therefore, i need not try to verify what the tun said about abdullah owning a RM60 million home. the pm's department should. the ACA should. the mainstream media ought to ask the pm.

if the pm denies it, then we hope tun will come back and show us proof.

and if i have information and proof that the pm does not have a house in perth that costs RM60 million, i will surely post it here and tell dr m that he's wrong.

i hope you understand how it works. thank you.

11. i thought this is old news.... wow... quite incredible i must say. i need to get my aussie PR application going. after all... i love pak lah so much, i should join him there. :)

12. Anonymous7:21 pm

try using google-earth.Any body got local address?

13. Hhmmm....

And my little bird said it was A$4.5 million.

Well, I guess it's time to thrash the little one and get myself a bigger birdie.

Hhmmm....That doesn't sound quite right either.

The mansion photos will eventually pop up at the right time for maximum impact on AAB. That's how real-politicking works.

If the MSM go after AAB for his plausible denial including KA buying it for daddy, the seed of doubt has been created in the public's mind.

Thereafter, whatever AAB says, will sound like "letting out a cough on the staircase" followed by "digging another hole for the big shit".

Let the games begin.

14. Anonymous8:39 pm

Who wants to stay home and serve here where meritocracy gives way to racial preference? I am a two-times graduate in University Malaya (masters and bachelors degree) and I used to hope that my children could enter a local university someday.

But with sliding university ranking and invisible barriers to keep non-malay students away, I have changed my mind. If I have the opportunity and money avails itself, I will send my children to overseas universities and ask them to emigrate there. We can rot and die here, but not the children.

This brain drain is not a problem to Umno at all. In fact, Umno is happy to see more and more of our talents leaving. Their power base will then be more secure.

All this started with Dr Mahathir. He believed that a half competent malay was better than a fully competent non-malay to serve the nation. This is clearly reflected in the progressive exclusion of non-malays from teaching profession academia, public service and other areas in the public sector as well GLCs since the early 1980s.

During Dr Mahathir's ethnic cleansing of the Malaysia public service, thousands of qualified non-malays left the country for Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, etc. Such departure was view positively by Dr Mahathir - it meant that there were more positions available for malays. That short-term thinking has had dire consequences.

During the regional economic boom of 1990s, Malaysia prospered. There was plenty of money. Incompetence and corruption did not matter - a failure could always be rectified through bailout; high costs (e.g. Proton) could always be neutralised through subsidies (for export) or higher prices (for local consumption).

The scenario today is different. Competition is stiff. Newcomers such as Vietnam are breathing down our neck. Giants (India and China) have awakened and are marching unimpeded.

Malaysia needs to exploit all its resources to meet the global challenge. Ignoring 40% of its most valuable resource (e.g. human capital - Indians, Chinese and East Malaysians) is no way to meet the challenge.

Badawi needs to put in place a policy for exploiting the most valuable resource Malaysia has - its people, including the Indians, Chinese and others. Otherwise, this resource will move away to the competitors of Malaysia.

If deployed properly, the talents will be a source of competitive advantage. If not deployed appropriately, the talents will become a source of relative competitive disadvantage for Malaysia when they end up in other countries.

Majority of the non-malays work in multinational companies. With the rate our government and GLCs pissing off these MNCs! These MNCs are moving out of Malaysia.

Get real! Why majority of the non-malays don't work inside GLCs? What do you think they would do when these MNCs are gone? Work in GLCs or emigrate outside Malaysia?

Some of my friends are always skeptical of Singapore.

Of course, Singapore intention is to protect their own interests (isn't what a government is for) - talented people are very mobile nowadays. Singapore also encounters brain drain to the West (US, EU, Australia), so they need new talents to come in.

They prefer Malaysians, as there are cultural ties - easy to adapt to the environment (multiracialism, language, weather, etc), like their Mr Everest climbers.

But they also welcome white mans, Thais, Indians, and Hong Kong Chinese too etc. Just take an MRT ride or go to the housing estates - you see many foreigners (not the illegal immigrant type).

We have our own national interests and should protect it, but we have more outflow of talent than inflow. Just see how we treat the economist who had a different method of calculating the bumi ratio of the economy - how to attract talent?

Some of my Malaysian friends have been offered citizenship and a few have accepted……….so those talents not going back to Malaysia.

Singapore is following US policy, US still attracted the best brains from all over the world regardless of color, check out the composition of employment in term of nationality in Silicon Valley and Nasa, you will know why it succeed, America is land of immigrants.

Umno policy is that if Umno cannot have it no other Malaysian should have it. Umno prefers a Mat Salleh (because that is a temporary situation) to have it rather than any other non-Umno Malaysian to have it.

I have been advising my relatives and friends for a long time since years ago - to encourage their children to apply for a Singapore scholarship to attend a university in Singapore even it that means she/he has to serve Singapore for 10 years.

At least, that will provide him for the future. So what is 10 years! He is free to utilise his talent as he pleases after that 10 years. I have 3 nephews who got Singapore scholarships, then served the Singapore government and are now working and being successful in Hong Kong and America.

They are heads of multinational companies. They will never be allowed to succeed in Malaysia because there is identification of race with jobs. All jobs even slightly, connected with the Umno government must have malay employees. That is the new NEP.

Dear Malaysians, I don't understand why the brains should not leave this country. The malays are definitely feel threaten by these brains, so we rather let them leave the country.

Malaysia pays peanuts and racially biased! That is why! Simple as that! Go to England, Australia and even the US hospitals and take a count of how many Malaysian born doctors are there, good doctors, man!

I traveled the world over and have lived in UK, Australia and the US. I have talked and met to these doctors. They not being unpatriotic, it is the Malaysia that is not doing the right thing!

I think Singapore should attack Malaysia and expand its territory to southern Johor. All the Indians and Chinese should migrate to southern Johor, and together with Singapore, forms a new Singapore.

Ex-Malaysians in exiles like myself will support this feasible plan. I am sure millions of overseas and mainland Chinese and Indians are excited about my suggestion.

When all the Muslim brothers from Uganda, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Nigeria, Indonesia etc etc, become bumis, and enjoy the handout from NEP, there will be the day when the malays realize that they are being marginalize by its own Umno policy.

You can start counting the increasing numbers of Mamak in politics!

In Malaysia, we Malaysian Chinese just need to compete with fellow Malaysians only (where mostly lazy people). Easy to become rich as - we are governed by stupid and lazy people.

We can easily own several houses, luxury condos, own a bungalow at good location and own and drive luxury cars in Malaysia.

In Singapore, not so easy, we have to compete with Singapore Chinese, Hong Kong Chinese, China Chinese and Taiwan Chinese. Not easy to become rich as Singapore government too smart.

Malaysia will continue to lose its talents not only to Singapore, and other countries but the Umno malays don't give a damn. Their thinking is so long as the malays benefit, the country can go to the pigs and dogs.

They hold the entrenched view that it is better for Malaysia to be another Zimbabwe or Nepal if being in the ranks of Singapore and Japan means malays losing out to the others.

Lim Keng Yaik said recently that Singapore was a small country, so it was easily to govern. In fact, it is not so. Because of its size, it lacks most of the factors of production that we learn in economics.

Land is scarce, and its domestic market is small. However, it recognises that what it has is its labours. No wonder that it is wooing all the brains from Malaysia, since Malaysia does not appreciate them.

Instead, Malaysia seems to be attracting the top criminals as shown by the sharp increase in crime rate. Malaysia with its oil, tin, rubber, oil palm etc, will not forever be able to beat a small country like Singapore because of its incompetent leaders and their cronies who are only interested in their own pockets.

Before the NEP, UM was one of the top universities in the world. After the NEP, it has become trash because it rejects the best minds. The only pro of NEP is if you are in Umno or a friend of theirs.

All the Singaporeans I have met were very nice to me and treat me like one of theirs. We are the same people and I am always in favour of reunification with Singapore.

15. I wouldn't be surprised if its true.. and i wouldn't be surprised if its the other way round.. boring zzzzzzz..... i wanna go chill my self la.. clown act betul!!

16. Anonymous11:28 pm

Oooohh, so thats why our beloved PM could not cancel or postpone his holidays in Australia in Dec 06/Jan 07 when the state of Johor was suffering from massive flooding with more than 100k evacuees...

And perhaps thats why we were all 'advised' to tighten our belts and change our lifestyles when faced with the numerous price hikes. PM was also busy changing his lifestyle.

17. Okay guys, calm down, calm down its like this. One day AAB came to see me and asked if I could lend him some money to buy a piece of property. Since the banks were closed at that time, I broke my son's piggy bank and gave the content to him. I think it was about RM60M. What la you all, small change only la.

Oh Tun, while you are at it, during your time, no one corrupt ah? Your Bank Negara Governor not corrupt ah? Your Chief of Police not corrupt ah? Your ministers, with and without dicks, not corrupt ah? Your children were selling 'surat khabar lama' for a living ah? Whats the difference between KJ, Kamaludin and Mokhzani, Mukhriz?

To some I have only this to say. The fact that someone put up all the infrastuctures in place for us in no way absolve him from selective 'one-eye-closing-jobs'. If you are guilty, then you are guilty.

A sleeping corrupt is no different from a working corrupt coz the common denominator here is 'corrupt'.

18. Anonymous11:51 am

Oversee,

Please be in exiled a little longer. Or forever will be best. I dont see I'm losing anything without you or your kind of people around..Sorry.

Tell me one reason why I should welcome you to come back..only one reason. If any..

HJG

19. Anonymous6:26 pm

it was said that the kwailows asked the natives to close their eyes to pray; lo and behold when they open their eyes, the lands were gone.
    the UMNO elitists are asking us to trust them; lo and behold when we open our eyes to look at the social contract, our country's money and assets have mysteriously ended up in foreign lands.
    Tun M is only reaffirming a known fact.

20. Anonymous9:48 pm

Oversee

To hell with you. You are no more a malaysian so you have no bloody right to comment on OUR affairs anymore.
    You've abandoned the boat , so stay out. Wherever you are , I hope and pray you and your family will get the shitiest treatment from the locals of wherever you may be. AND DONT EVER EVER THINK OF COMING BACK - ALTHOUGH I HAVE THE SNEAKIEST FEELING YOU'LL BE CRYING ABOUT 'BIRTH-RIGHT' AND ALL THAT.
    Do Malaysia a favour--dont ever come back--not even for a visit.

21. Anonymous11:47 am

Hah! KJ has confirmed the existence of the house...but unfortunately it is not AAB's house but that of his son - the other K in AAB's K-economy drive - its the one who opened the nasi kandar restaurant.
    So, the house is there but it is not AAB's it is his son's. So Tun is lying? It is a well tactic for a lot of politicians to put properties under the names of sons, daughters, first wife second wife third wife, uncles and etc, so its no big deal.
    First a boat, and then a plane, now a house (hey you muckruckers out there - go find out about his properties in UK lah!).
    Don't forget these people in power also have the right of use to many other things - jet planes, helis, manions, yatchs that are owned by billionaires that owe them favours. Heck, some of them even lease out their girlfriends to these politicians.

Wonder when we'll get the kind of politicians we used to have during the early Merdeka years - when they represent the people and work for the people til the day they die - and not work for their own people and their cronies.

cucuparit

22. Anonymous12:12 pm

Everybody who is any good should have a home in Australia. There is nothing wrong if you use your own hard earned money to buy one, with approval of the relevant review board (for foreign investment). Australia is a safe place - good governance, transparent,great schools,universities, hospitals, etc, all of which are a mark of a developed society. More important there is no discrimination allowed.

Check out homes in Oz on the web. Some are quite affordable, even in Sydney. Good Luck!

23. Anonymous7:41 am

ACTUALLY,THIS ISNT A NEW CASE.THERE ARE MANY MANY MANY RICH MALAYSIANS WHO HAVE MILLION DOLLAR HOUSE AND INVESTMENTS HERE DOWN UNDER.AND I HAVE BEEN TO SOME OF THESE HOUSES.AND YES,THESE PEOPLE ARE MALAYS.WELL KNOWN DATUKS,TAN SRIS AND ALL THOSE KISS-ARSE TITLES.IN FACT, A LOT OF THEM LIVE IN SOUTH PERTH,CLAREMONT,DALKEITH,CITY BEACH.SOME EVEN HAVE COUNTRY PROPERTIES/RANCH DOWN SOUTH.AS A MATTER OF FACT,THEY HAVE BEEN HERE FOR AGES!THEIR CHILDREN DID ALL THEIR SCHOOLING HERE UNTIL THEY GO TO UNI AN EVENTUALL WORK HERE TOO.SO DONT FUSS ABOUT THE PRIME MINISTER,HE IS JUST FOLLOWING THE FOOTSTEPS OF HIS COLLEAGUES,"TO PROVIDE BETTER FUTURE FOR THEIR GENERATIONS;SPONSORED BY: THE HUMBLE TAX PAYERS'.