Friday, March 09, 2007

Fogotten Malaysians in Gitmo

While our Foreign Ministry continues to prepare to update us on the two Malaysians in Gitmo, something they have been pretending to do since Abdullah Ahmad Badawi forgot to raise the issue during his meeting with the US President, we now learn (thanks to the Independent) that the two will face 'Military Tribunals" starting tomorrow. These tribunals are secret proceedings which have come under intense condemnation by human rights activists and foreign governments but not Malaysia, the chairman of OIC.
Click here to read what will happen to the 14 "most dangerous men", including the two Malaysians; here to that day last October when the PM said he did not manage to raise the matter of the two Malaysians in Gitmo with Bush given their intense discussion on efforts to achieve peace and understanding in the world (Nevertheless, he said the Malaysian embassy in Washington had been in touch with the US government over Kuala Lumpur's concern that the two detainees should be fairly treated when they face the American legal process. Present at the meeting with Bush then was Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar).
Thanks, Justin, for the update on Gitmo.

10 comments:

1. It's great way to sell democracy to Iraqis and everyone else.

2. Anonymous4:24 pm

All I can say is "Kepala Otak Punyea Olang" to that Mr. Primitive Minister for doing job he is not supposed to do...

OIC need to get rid this sort of creature, before it crashes itself to fall like Berlin Wall.

3. Anonymous6:31 pm

"You want to know the truth?"

"Yes, I think I'm entitled to know the truth!"

"You can't handle the truth!!!!"

Jack Nicholson, Tom Cruise, A Few Good Men, 1993

4. In addition to the update on the two Malaysians at Gitmo, perhaps the administration can also advise on another key personality, Buhary Syed Abu Tahir, the Sri Lankan, who was allegedly involved in purchasing aluminium centrifuge components from Scomi which was meant for the Libyan nuclear weapon program.

AAB was tongue-tied in his meeting with GWB knowing very well that any discussion on the two Malaysians will invariably bring the matter of BSA Tahir into the open.

Daddy's got to protect his very rich son, right. To hell with other people's sons or Malaysia's stand in this war on terror.

Australia did manage to get one of their citizens back from Gitmo. But, hey, they're white. We ain't.

5. Anonymous11:08 pm

What if bush asks him back, "what are you doing in your own backyard?". Can this be the reason why the issue was not raised?

6. 'Forgot'?
    or tertidur?
    might not be too late IF Bedol uses his OIC influence to free the two.

7. Anonymous3:30 am

They have not been forgotten. There is a senate bill going through the legislative process right now that will repeal the provision of last year's Military Commissions Act which stripped foreign detainees held in US custody at the Guantanamo Bay of their rights to file habeas writs in federal court.

This bill is authored by Senator Arlen Spector and co-sponsored by Patick Leahy. Go to http://thomas.loc.gov and look for S.185. Look for all congressional actions for the status on the bill.

Military tribunals have always been a part of American history from the very birth of this nation. During the American Revolution, some of my ancestral family members, who were Royalists, were tried and imprisoned by the revolutionaries, others were stripped of their homes and lands and sent into exile, never to return to their land of birth.

America is at war and conditions here are no different from all the other times it has been at war. In 2002 Congress authorized the war on Iraq and nothing has changed that status yet. I am hopeful that things will change but until it does, we are still at war.

8. what can we ever hope for, bro?

9. Anonymous3:59 pm

Why were they there in the first place? Were they innocent bystanders?

If they did wrong, then they should be punished for their wrong doings. Have some faith in the system.

We should just offer them whatever necessary support and sympathy but let justice prevail.

10. Anonymous9:44 am

They were just tourists - they got lost - on their way to T. Adnan's "Visit Malaysia Year". Okay? Not their fault. Really. They got lost because the map they got from the Malaysial Gomen was not good - T. Adnan was busy thinking about bloggers.