Sunday, February 11, 2007

SuperDet's Fine

Dr Mahathir will spend the night at IJN and won't be allowed visitors. But "no worries, he's OK", says daughter MarinaM, who says she is NOT interested in running for Lembah Pantai (or anywhere else) against Shahrizat Jalil (or anyone else) in the next general election.

28 comments:

1. Anonymous9:29 pm

I pray that he gets better soon

2. Anonymous10:09 pm

Marina against Shahrizat - a tough call but in the end shahrizat will probably squeak through with the full might of the BN machinery behind her. In the meantime, my advice to Dr M, take care of your health.

3. Anonymous10:46 pm

oh gosh *****

4. Get well soon. And stay cool after that!
    Please look after the ol' ticker.
    And you, too, dear Rocky
    cheers

5. i pray for his wellbeing and health.

peace

God Bless

6. Anonymous3:01 am

Get well soon, dear TDM!

You have our love and wellwishes always.

7. Anonymous3:15 am

Rocky: "MarinaM, who says she is NOT interested in running ... in the next general election.

Respect Marina's wise choice. I suspect she knows that she can fight better outside the political arena. She gets to choose her battle.

8. Anonymous4:36 am

Dear Tun, rehat la boss. Mokh, Mukriz, Mirzan & Marina...suruh lah daddy rest sikit.

Kesian dia. Baru habis je Perdana Global Peace seminar hari tu...

Makan ubat & banyak rehat.

JL

9. Let's hope he'll have a good rest and get strong again before resuming his hectic schedule.

10. Anonymous8:02 am

So glad to know Tun M is OK. I wish you well dear Tun in whatever you do.

I wish people would stop asking Marina to go into politics. Do they think politics is the end-all and be-all of life? Do they think politics is the only path to change and development? I think the politicking of Malaysian politicians will drive Marina insane!

Sons and daughters of political and other leaders imbue many of the ideals and values of their parents but in the process develop their own strengths and weaknesses too. Family culture is hard to shake off!

But they will contribute in the way that they think best.

Good luck dear Marina!

kaklimah

11. Anonymous8:58 am

My respect to Dr. M. But as we are playing " the blaming game" on Pak Lah,KJ, Kalimullah, NSTP and on and on .... DON'T forget some of the problems are inherited from Dr. M. Please be impartial and give credit when credit due !!!

12. Dear Friends and Wellwishers,

Saudara Rocky,please allow me to take this opportunity, to put on record my gracious thanks to your goodself and fellow Malaysians from all walks of life, who now make it a point, to include in their daily diets, a dose of pages from some of the blogs that offer a menu and variety of reading information and notices that would otherwise not be able,to have been transmitted through conventional modes of communication viz-a-viz the 'local media', which are very much governed by 'draconian laws' as quoted by a political editor of a local press,'live' during a talk show on national television.

The majority of you out there,have indeed done a phenomenal job of displaying and undertaking, constructive articulation of comments, criticisms and viewpoints which could have never seen the day of light,if not for some of these blogs.SYABAS TO ONE AND ALL !

I had the opportunity of speaking to Y.Bhg Dato' Mokhzani, yesterday evening to convey my well wishes on the well being and health of YABhg TDM.It was reassuring to know that all will be well,soon by the Grace of The Almighty.

On a parting note for today, here is something that I would share on behalf of some of the well wishers :-

Dearest Tun Dr.Mahathir,

You are still a pratitioner of true dedication.
    A warrior with an agenda to complete your task, with mighty zest no matter what the challenges.

Though a mortal , you are indeed an angel sent from up above to change the destiny of Malaysia.
    You have been a blessing to all of us.

A tranmitter of excellence; eons and light years ahead in vision, where victory for the common man plays a dynamic role.
    With words of inspiration and well thought of strategies, you are indeed someone,sent from up above.

I pray the very best for you
    A true warrior you are , to this nation, sadly forgotten at times; but you have given us a new name, a realm for progress and prosperity.

Be well, be blessed and know that you are loved and thought of.

Salam Sejahtera.

13. Anonymous10:25 am

Life as a Malaysian without TDM? That's a scary thought. Take it easy TDM. Get well soon. We don't have your voice but need it badly...

14. MarinaM vs Sharizat? unfair battle.. it should be MarinaM vs RafidahA.. then it's fair fight.
    Dear MarinaM,
    if your dear father TDM sacrifices his whole life for the betterment of the people why cant you... the blood runs on you dear.You have all my support. Forget about what people says the focus is your father needs someone to continue.. whatever it takes, you won't loose cause you could be the "choosen one" inheriting the legend
    beleive in Allah, may Allah bless TDM and family

15. Anonymous2:06 pm

Bro Rocky,
    kalau u berkesempatan berjumpa ngan TDM, tolonglah sampaikan pesanan saya minta agar beliau jaga kesihatannya sama. Saya tahu beliau amat mengambil berat tentang negara kita yang tercinta tetapi pada waktu yang sama ambil berat tentang dirinya juga.

Saya ucapkan jutaan terima kasih pada TDM yang telah banyak berjasa pada negara dan mendoakan kesihatan beliau pulih sediakala, Insya Allah.

Wassalam.

16. Dear all, thank you for your kind wishes for my father's health (even you, Monsterball!!! ;-)). He's just been discharged from IJN and has been given a long MC (doctors trying their best to be tougher with him...). That basically means a curb on physical activity but definitely not mental activity ;-)

And as for me joining politics, it's all very flattering folks, but as Groucho Marx once said, " I really wouldn't join any club that would have me as a member."

17. Anonymous6:32 pm

Assalamualaikum bro,

Semoga Yg.BerBhg Tun segera sembuh, dikurnia kesihatan yang baik dan Tun berdua dirahmati Allah SWT sentiasa.

"Malaysians for peace",

~anak desa di kota n fmly~

18. Anonymous6:52 pm

We pray Tun Dr Mahathir will get better asap. I really believe he should not travel overseas for a while, drive nor attend functions 'back to back'.

I seriosuly feel Dr M should take an easy snorkeling holiday at Sipadan - where the almost zero gravity sensation of floating in the water and observing all that colour and fishlife will be greatly relaxing and restful.

Instead Dr M rides horses for fun. SuperDet Sir.

Syed Akbar Ali

19. Anonymous10:02 pm

I pray for him to suffer more. Thats the least I can do for him, the country's most notorious human being.

20. Anonymous10:21 pm

To Tun Dr Mahathir, may Allah SWT keep you in good health always and also my prayers are with you that you get well soon.

To Bro Ahiruddin, stay cool and be strong. Cheers!

21. Anonymous11:14 pm

Proposed war crimes tribunal a farce: Param
    Jacqueline Ann Surin
    PETALING JAYA (Feb 12, 2007): The proposed Kuala Lumpur War Crimes Tribunal is a farce and will make Malaysia an international laughing stock, Datuk Param Cumaraswamy said.

The former United Nations (UN) Special Rapporteur on the Independence of Judges and Lawyers noted that the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court to try war crimes and genocide was agreed to by UN member states in 1998 during Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's premiership.

"If he was genuinely concerned about justice to victims of war and bringing war criminals to trial, he should have got the government to sign the Statute then. He never bothered. The government to date is not a signatory to the Statute," Param said in a statement to theSun.

He was responding to reports last week that Mahathir had mooted the formation of a war crimes tribunal at a Perdana Global Peace Organisation conference in his capacity as Perdana Leadership Foundation chairman.

Mahathir had named US President George Bush, British Prime Minister Tony Blair and Australian premier John Howard as those who should be tried for war crimes, even if the accused are not present.

Param said there was no legal basis for such a tribunal, noting that it may be seen as a non-governmental organisation (NGO).

"NGOs too need to be registered under the Societies Act if they consist more than seven persons, unless they are registered under the Companies Act to give them a legal entity," Param said.

Param said in 1990, when Mahathir was premier, he had the then Election Watch, headed by Tun Mohamad Suffian, investigated by Bukit Aman to determine whether the six-person group contravened the Societies Act 1966.

Param said the setting up of such a tribunal was not within the Perdana Leadership Foundation's objectives.

He said if the government allowed the foundation to proceed with the tribunal's formation, a "dangerous precedent" will be set.

"What if tomorrow an NGO in Malaysia decides to set up a similar tribunal to try him for human rights violations, assault of the independent judiciary, corruption, abuse of power, nepotism and cronyism during his 22-years as prime minister?" he asked.

He also questioned how the tribunal could apply internationally-recognised principles of fair trial when the accused did not appear before it, and what kinds of evidence would be produced before the tribunal.

Param said the setting up of such a tribunal would constitute a "circus" that could deter "respectable and credible foreign investors".

He added that as the Kuala Lumpur War Crimes Commission head that would first vet the case before it was referred to the tribunal for charges to be made, Mahathir could not be expected to be impartial towards Bush, Blair and Howard because of all the "virulent statements" he had made against them.

Police Watch and Human Rights Committee legal advisor P. Uthayakumar said in a statement it was embarrassing that the war crimes commission was headed by Mahathir.

He said despite Mahathir's promises, there has been no Royal Commission of Inquiry or inquest into the 2001 Kampung Medan incident in Petaling Jaya where six were killed and 100 injured in clashes between Indians and Malays.

22. Anonymous2:01 am

Monsterball is offering prayers at kickdefella site to TDM. Is that not a surprise or something?
    Even Marina thank the bloggers there.

23. Anonymous2:27 am

Dey!

What do you know about the JOKER in MoF?

Who?
    Same smile different color also the archilles heel.

You fight or the curse?

24. Rocky!

I did pray for TDM I am glad he is well! He sent me a registered letter during my student days in reply to my query and concern about Malaysia many decades ago when I was studying in North America! Still have that registered letter with his signature which I will keep as souvenir. However, this has to be said, when I was doing a short stint with a foreign-based news magazine, about a year and a bit, I tried to get to know Marina, TDM's daughter. I believe then she was a bit aloof, or rather standoffish sort of a person basically as a daughter of the PM then she could not help being "sombong", or yes she was. So I met her recently and she can actually engaged in a normal conversaton and that is good as it is in life, that things can be tospy turvey socially and emotionally, one day you are up and one day you are down, so if we are friendly from the begining people and friends will tend to stay with you through thick and thin! Well I hope you don't mind my mild jousting, it is just that it needed to be said! If you decided to get into politics I will support you! But the focus is really on your Dad now! I believe he will outlived Dollah Badawi, TDM has longevity that runs in his family! I am banking on that!
    Shalom!

25. Anon (11.14pm),

Param Cumraswamy have rather conveniently left out the fact that the U.S.A. is also not a signatory to the ICC Rome Statute.

As at 1/01/07, there are 104 State Parties consisting of:

29 African
    12 Asian
    15 Eastern European
    22 Latin American & Caribbean
    26 Western European & Others

Whilst Australia and the United Kingdom are signatories, here are the other notable non-signatories:

Israel, China, Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia and Japan.

*http://www.icc-cpi.int/*

On 'dangerous precedent', can Param Curumaswamy tell us without any doubt in his mind which other nation in recent history have pushed aside all norms and avenues for political discourse, resorting instead to it's sheer military might to impose it's will on another sovereign nation, if it's not the U.S.A.

While Param vacillates on 'what ifs', TDM has gone ahead and did 'what is right' for humanity.

26. Listen you Chinkey monsterball, this is way before blogsite! By the way, have you @#%$ your mother today?!

27. Anonymous4:04 pm

MarinaM
    First they egged you to blog, which you dutifully obliged. Now they egg you to take on the heavy-weights, and you seem unswayed. Is it a case of pragmatism takes the better of you?
    Your father is very much loved here by my colleagues from all over the world; India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Egypt, Tunisia, Algeria, Sudan etc. Semoga Allah swt lanjutkan usia Tun.
    aMiR

28. Well done shar101!

Param Curapmaswamy is definitely a superpower controlled asset! He did not expect people like you to do research again well done!I never liked him (Curapswamy), he is arrogant, massive chip on his Indian shoulder, while as UN Rapporteur I bet he had nothing good to say about the Malays, he is highly pedestal, vain and how he wish he can be a Malay so he can be the Prime Minister or the blue blood of Malaysia! I will put him in the same category as that ugly pot belly, mother "loving", nostril hairs sticking out Monsterball, who also would like to be a Malay so he can invest in Amanah Saham and dream of becoming Prime Minister of this country! I think the government should have a panel to investigate and to revoke titles from anti-Malay and anti-establishment morons such as Anwar Ibrahim and Curapmaswamy! The government giveth and the government can taketh back!