Monday, February 26, 2007

Shahrir Samad vs Nor Mohamed Yakcop Pt 2

Unanswered questions. Why is the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), chaired by the "Indomitable Shahrir Samad", investigating the ECM Libra-Avenue Capital merger?
I was about to try and answer this and many more questions some people have asked me with regards to the merger when I chanced upon the latest posting by A Voice, which takes us back to the days when even Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, PM and Finance Minister, claimed ignorance to certain deals.
Click here for another lesson, this time on why corporate mergers can go astray, by a blogger who used to be a "market regulator" himself.

5 comments:

1. Rocky!

Just consider this for a moment! It is possible that Abdullah Ahmad Badawi the Prime Minister of this country of about 25 million people is oblivious to the happenings around him. It is possible he is just a puppet on a string, it is just possible that he is being made use of my his close associate. My suggestion is for the authority to make a thorough investigation on a special relationship between the Second Finance Minister Noer Moehamad Yaakov with Kalimulah Hassan and this will lead to many answered questions, then proper action can be taken if there is a semblance of insider trading existed on many deals involving Yaakov and his good friend! Just may be! This is not an anti-government stance but a Malaysian who wants to know more on the shit going on in this country!

2. I sincerely hope Shahrir Samad will continue to have the determination to take on this issue. He is after all an UMNO member and BN MP.
    Unfortunately, all we are likely to get from Nor Mohamed Yakcop is generalised statements and more stonewalling. Will there ever be a proper exposure of what happened in this deal ?

3. Anonymous3:00 pm

Shahrir was reported to have said in the papers that his Chinese wife is not related to tycoon and billionaire Robert Kuok. Further he said that he 'only has' about 10 or 20 percent of the tycoon's wealth which is about tens of billions of ringgit. Hmmmm. Don't remember that Shahrir is a tycoon himself or is listed in the top 40 or 100 richest people in Malaysia. Hmmm.

4. Rocky, any idea what Shahrir Samad, PAC Chairman, had to say this morning about the merger at Parliament House? Anyone?

5. Anonymous12:05 am

kitty dont hope too much. fait accompli, kitty.