Friday, November 24, 2006

Corrupt Nation?

Another perception. This time from MStar On-Line, the Bahasa Malaysia-language web paper by the Star. The poll returns an overwhelming "no" to the question, Do you feel there is less corruption in Malaysia now?

Against the backdrop of the PM pooh-poohing Transparency International's latest corruption index, this poll could be viewed as politically incorrect. But then, the guys running MStar probably did not expect 90 per cent of the respondents (as at the time of this posting) to say "Tidak"!

Read my previous take on corruption here.

9 comments:

1. The writing is on the wall.

What else does AAB need?

An abstract painting of a crest-fallen PM moping on what could have been and should have been in various shades of red and crimson?

It's the same colour of 'Fs' that keeps showing up on his report card.

Btw today's NST editorial took a pot shot at bloggers. And they conveniently forgot about the buffaloes who went overboard in the recent UMNO GA.

2. Anonymous10:01 pm

24/11: Six lawbreakers among 18 sworn in as MPK councillors

By Maria J.Dass
    The Sun

Six politicians, who had breached municipal by-laws, were among 18 people sworn in as Klang Municipal Council (MPK) councillors today.

Another six seats - four for Umno, one for MIC and one for MCA - were left vacant pending state government decision.

Among the six newly-appointed councillors was Zainuri Zainal, whose illegal DZ Satay House was torn down by MPK yesterday.

Zainuri is a son of Port Klang assemblyman and former MPK councillor Datuk Zainal @ Zakaria Mat Deros who was embroiled in controversy for building a palatial home without planning approval and for failing to settle assessment for many years.

Zakaria recently submitted a building plan for his near-complete 17-room "palace" for approval but has yet to pay a RM10,000 fine for flouting Section 425 of the National Land Code 1965.

The other five, who had broken municipal by-laws, are incumbents. They are Alex Thiagarasan, Datuk Mazlynoor Abdul Latiff, Samak Ahmad, Nasarruddin Mohd Zin and Datuk Song Kee Chai.

Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo had on Nov 8 named the five who had either failed to submit building plans or pay assessment and quit rent.

The new faces in MPK are P.S. Maniam (MIC), Chong Hak Beang (Gerakan), MCA's Choo Yuat Meng, Gan Yeew Tian and Lim Hock Tee.

When met after the swearing-in ceremony, Zainuri, who turned 33 today, said: "We hope to put aside our past differences and serve the council together to develop Klang. We will strive to adhere to all rules and regulations as councillor and not be ignorant."

He was obviously referring to the criticisms that some councillors had raised against his father, even before the controversy surrounding his palatial home ignited.

Asked about the controversies surrounding him and his father, he said: "These were technical faults, which we overlooked. We were complacent.

"God willing, this will not happen again and I will abide by all laws and regulations. If I fail to do so, I have to answer to the MPK disciplinary committee."

Zainuri's sister-in-law Roselinda Abdul Jamil was also sworn-in.

MPK president Abdul Bakir Zin told reporters he hoped there will be no more controversies as they want to continue with their work for the rakyat.

"All councillors must work towards this and understand the rules," he said, adding that disciplinary action would be taken if there is any abuse of power.

"I trust those appointed today have the calibre to give good services."

Barisan Nasional Klang head Datuk Teh Kim Poo, in his speech at the start of the swearing-in ceremony, said: "We hope councillors will not abuse their power and position for their personal gain."

Quoting deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak, he said: "Those who flout the law will be investigated without fear and favour."

He also said councillors must display exemplary leadership and be law abiding at all times.

"Holding office in the government does not exempt anyone from punishment.," he said, reminding the MPK to look into allegations of corruption which can ruin the image of the local authority.

3. Anonymous11:36 pm

For the life of me I just dont understand why MPK president Abdul Bakir Zin bothered to advise the newly appointed councillors to "...
    understand the rules" & warned them that "disciplinary action would be taken if there is any abuse of power" yet the six who broke the law were re-appointed.

4. Anonymous4:05 am

Rocky

Malaysia is a corrupted country??? If I say not true then I am lying to the world about it. Just look at Khairy will do. Khairy lost RM200,000-00 and yet he is an unemployed. To good to be true.

Kalimulah can own ECM Libra!! Another big joke. How can Kalimulah make so much monies to invest in ECM Libra in such a short time of two years when he was having problems in keeping booth end meet.

Furhter, look at Kamaludin, the PM's son, wihtin just 3 years in bnusiness when ABB is the PM, he can afford to own 180 ships not forgetting other assets.

We can not compare becasue ABB, Khairy and Kamaludin and their immediate family members as tehy don't have to decalre their assets because they are deemed by Mr I do not Know PM atha they are Mr Clean!!!!

5. I think if we do a thorough check, each and every one of these councillors will have skeletons in the cupboard. Corruption is in their blood.

6. Anonymous9:16 am

Corruption is nasi lemak to Malaysians. You can have it in the morning, during lunch time or dinner. With Abdala Bahvi, it's nasi lemak with sotong!

Hantu Gigi Jarang

7. Anonymous10:55 am

Bru,

Do you know what is the definition of corruption to unscrupulous businessmen? Corruption - cost of doing business. That includes the karaoke outings with GROs in tight-fitting skirs and loose charms; the sumptuos dinners; the gifts that magically appears at your doorsteps; the dubious study tours where there's more study on tourist spots than anything else!

Brother, what you see is not necessarily what you get!!

8. Anonymous11:44 am

Clark Gable signing In with a BIG NO:

GIVING HANDS,FEET AND GUTS

Your lonely fight against corruption seem very daunting and insurmountable.I can sense your determination and assertiveness (read stubborn)in pursuing the individuals with the unlawful financial gains

In one hand we have a mega merger that smell rats with swimming sharks waiting for the fallouts.

The mergers seem like three big families with their inlaws and maids in tow deciding to stay together just because they share same grandpa.Very soon extra dining table,sofas (read auto biz,Health biz,Construction biz etc) will be given out for a song.

There will be UMNOputras waiting in line.

On the other hand we have each a few hundreds million worth of projects that warrant detail scrutiny when thay were awarded to questionable companies. Thats really a plateful for you Bro Rocky.

On right foot we have billion dollar Southern Johor project and on left foot we have RM3 million projects given to division chief that need detail public scrutiny.With blunted opposition parties,the people has got a new tool in internet to take over their role.

Unfortunately, we are a group of people who are not focus.The speed of your daily posting leave no time for fruitful discussion except expressing anger with no notable outcome,akin to Amok .We are no different from UMNO people in thinking ,so it seem.

My sugeestion is that you being a good leader,create a topic eg. Merger,Ehsan money abuse,RM3 million Carleone deals and many others.Each and everyone can contibute and give more information.

As a moderator you need to review everyweek and update everyone with all gathered datas and photoes even.Believe me your fight is not a lonely fight ,there are many of us who are so fed up with corruption and more than willing to contribute.

If only one good thing we can have from this technology of internet ,my only desire is to abolish corruption.

It is a real shame when AAB preaching everyone in OIC to abolish or lessen corruption when his own Goverment has sunken lower and lower in integrity .

All is not loss to us all ,corruption has found a save heaven by coumoflaging itself as bumiputras aids,but in real persona, corruption in whatever name its called, is still corruption.

We are with you Bro Rocky...the man with Guts.

9. Anonymous10:51 am

Heartiest congratulatiosn the all the six lawbreakers who have been re appointed councillors of the Klang Municipal Council.

You are shining examples to us, the new generation, of how dis-"honourable" Malaysian politicians are.

Way to go! Malaysia Boleh. Semuanya boleh!