Monday, October 23, 2006

LKY: SPORE CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO JOHOR

Real-lee Kiasu. Not too long ago, he described Johor Baru a city "notorious for shootings, muggings and carjackings". Today, Lee Kuan Yew said Singapore, given a role to play, can make a difference to South Johor!

"After all, we made a difference to Batam, Bintan and Karimun (in Indonesia). Surely we can make a difference to South Johor. But they must want it . It's a win-win situation." [here for Bernama's report]

LKY noted that Abdullah Ahmad Badawi did indicate that Singapore will play a role in the South Johor Economic Region. Late last month, however, Umno Johor, angered by another Kiasu Lee's remarks, passed resolutions to restrict Singapore involvement in this massive, long-term project. [Click here for the Umno Johor story; for Abdullah's promise that Singapore will have a role in the SJER, click here].

In a related development, LKY made it clear that he was impressed with the way Abdullah reacted to the recent "compliant Chinese" issue. Kuala Lumpur's reaction suggested that "it was looking ahead to work with Singapore", he said.

5 comments:

1. Anonymous12:05 am

Bru,

Go hug Pak Lah at his open house tomorrow! If you're lucky, you'll get your 20 seconds of glory on the compliant local TV stations. Go hug LKY, he takes you for a gay. Happy hugging.

2. you would notice that Singapore either thru LKY or somebody else would make these kinda of remarks, once a while i think just to irritate us... I dont think it deserve any comments from our side, meaning we manage our own things, they manage their own... life would still go on!....

3. Anonymous11:53 am

First AAB says Tun is selling the country away, now aint AAB the one who is selling the sovereignty of the nation.

4. Anonymous8:06 am

Harry Lee has found an easy target in Abdullah Badawi.
    Look how patronising and condescending he sounds. He has got the Malaysian PM by the balls, man. Abdullah's son-in-law is a Singapore familiar. Has been for a long time.
    You do see the connection -- Kalimullah and Brendan and the bright but very very greedy KJ.
    Our country is heading that certain road of political and economic ruin and destruction. Under Abdullah Badawi, the office of the Prime MInister has been seriously compromised.
    This is a dangerous situation we are in, brother. Never before has the government of our country been held at ransom.

5. Anonymous7:55 pm

Starting with Johor, this LKY is moving forward up north inch by inch toward colonising this country. He has the SIL's help as well.