Tuesday, October 03, 2006

KIASU POLITICS 101 FOR PAK LAH

Writing to the gallery. Isn't it almost a pleasure to see LKY in action? (If I were a Singaporean operative, or an ex like Kalimullah or Brendan, I'd sure be proud of my Minister Mentor). Why, you thought he said sorry? Read his letter again (HERE).

FIRSTLY, he made the cursory apology for the remarks made.

THEN, he made references to the bridge, to Dr Mahathir's desire to built the scenic bridge, and praised Abdullah for cancelling it. (LKY must have wanted to address the bridge issue but did not have a channel to do so previously. Pak Lah's letter gave him that window of opportunity to gloat about Singapore's success in stopping Malaysia from building that bridge).

THIRDLY, he implicates Abdullah's beloved son-in-law for his anti-Chinese remarks recently. See Annex. (And here we sense that LKY knows this will weaken Abdullah's position, just in case our PM decides not to accept his apology. Not that it matters to him whether or not Malaysia forgives him).

And, FINALLY, he makes the letter public! He says since it's public knowledge that Abdullah has written to him, he had to go public with the letter. (Abdullah did not make his letter to LKY public, so why should LKY make his public?).

Beacause LKY wasn't writing a response to the Malaysian PM; he was writing to the gallery. And he's scored a lot of points there.

81 comments:

1. Anonymous1:11 pm

Lee had made his reply. He was not sorry for his comment but for the DISCOMFORT he had caused. He remained steadfast to his statements.

Now... what can Malaysia do to him? The only thing I see at the moment was the media has started to spin the whole thing to fool itself and mollify its ego.

2. To anon who left the comment below at 7.31am under a previous posting on "Forgiving Kiasu Lee", thank you. - rocky

Letter to PM Badawi from Lee Kuan Yew here.

http://news.asiaone.com/a1news/20061002_story4_1.html

Full text of the letter and annex at the end of the page.

3. again, m'sia lost to s'pore....
    what's next....

4. Anonymous1:44 pm

Actually, I feel so sorry for the PM. He is so out of his depth in so many of the responsibilities and expectations of a PM. My friends tell me he is only in his element when talking about agriculture. But we elected his mandate so I guess we have to live with it. The scary part is that he may not know he is not up to the job and insists on staying on ... God help us please!

5. Anonymous1:52 pm

Why the hell did our PM send a letter to to old man Kiasu Lee to seek clarification when all he needed to do as OUR PM is to just demand an apology.

Its like Pak Lah returning a bola tanggung in badminton to be returned by a stinging overhead smash from old man Kiasu Lee.

Well I can only predict that keeping to the new found buddy-buddy relationship with Singapore, OUR "I am the PM" PM would probably announce that he has read and is satisfied with Kiasu Kee's explanation and the matter should be put to rest and NO more discussion on the matter period.

6. Anonymous1:57 pm

Ah Bru, Que Sera Sera. Whatever will be will be. LKY shines as the bully of the blog. And the weaklings spend their pocket money to please him. How I long for yersterday. Those, my Bro Bru, were the days when LKY had Mahathir and Suharto to make him feel small. Now Lee is the absolute deity. And the weak prostrate before him.

7. Anonymous2:09 pm

Who is he kidding?if it was TDM, LKY will not even get a letter, he will be asked to write an apology letter to Malaysians. I am just sorry that we have an invetebrae as a PM, hence the treatment we are having from our neighbor.We had a lovely time ignoring them for 10 yrs, and what the heck, we don't need to suck up to them. but well, maybe some people still go there for their bouts of golfing, but we the people, do not need them....you big ponchos might need them to "store" your money and meet up your fund managers......

8. Anonymous2:20 pm

Tahniah, sekarang seluruh dunia dapat menilai kehebatan pemimpin kita...Kelas Pertama.

9. Anonymous2:30 pm

GENERASI BARU.....

Repeat after me

'LKY WHO?'

Gua betul betul marah bro!!

10. Anonymous2:38 pm

Agree with you anak jawa johor. Just ask for a letter of apology.

It was a BIG mistake& wrong strategy for Pak Lah to seek clarification from kiasu Lee.

Now who is the one who looks stupid? LKY didn’t apologise -just said sorry .

Then made the letter public. Why? To show Pak lah up and take a dig at TDM?

Kiasu Lee took the opportunity to kill two birds (many birds to be more precise) with one stone.

So what if Pak Lah gonna say? I guess we know what the answer will be.

Malu, malu...what an idiot we have for a PM.

11. Anonymous2:56 pm

bigjoe99,

Yes it true "the wisest men need not be with the loudest mouth' but
    in this senario we need 'the sharpest mind'

Habul Al Watan Min Al Iman.
    (Love the Nation is Part of Iman)

12. Anonymous3:07 pm

*TypicalProgrammer*

I have to applaud LKY, his reply shows what a real politician should be. He is ruthless and direct in his statement and all with fair logic. Do all of you agree with his initial statement? Another matter completely, everyone is entitled to their opinion. I can agree with what he said although not entirely. Still main matter here is we just seen an astute politician doing what he does best, politicking. We can all disagree with his opinion but his skill as a politician is what we can only hope in our own politician. Especially those that graduated from Oxford. Our PM just got his a** kick and it ain't a pretty sight. I disagree with the majority of comments here that suggested the PM should just demanded an apology. Such brute force politics are for barbaric politician and frankly speaking LKY is above those method. We don't want to end up like Venezuela PM taunting and name calling President Bush. Those are childish tactics. I agree though the response from our PM is coward in nature and I doubt our fence sitter DPM would fare better. Still I sincerely hope our leaders be more analytical politician then some keris wielding race flaming mad man. This is what we dearly lack.

Good Day

13. Anonymous3:11 pm

Paklah sudah kantoi, kena telan hidup2.. stupid stupid stupid Paklah!!!!! Hanya Tun Dr. Mahathir yang boleh mengembalikan maruah Malaysia. Harry Lee memang menanti peluang untuk gasak Malaysia selepas 22 tahun menanti. Paklah yang blur buka pintu seluas2nya... dah lah tu, terduduk, tak boleh lawan balik... apalah teruk sangat Perdana Menteri Malaysia nih, memalukan!!! Paklah, pls resign and get your new wife, enough is enough.

Mainlah golf lagi, lagi, lagi dan lagi...

14. Anonymous3:19 pm

With so many faux pas that AAB has made, TDM must be feeling what a failure he was while he was grooming him to be the next PM. or maybe because AAB was so left out in the administration during TDM's tenure, AAB has no clue over how to do his job now.
    Maybe he should be the first to go for a training in his multimillions RM RMK9 budget for "Bina Insan"

15. Anonymous4:22 pm

Agree with your comments,Rocky.

But what riles me is the spin created by the mainstream newspapers with words to the effect "I'm sorry".

For God's sake, Lee said he was sorry for the discomfort he caused. He is NOT sorry for making the content of the comments.

Anyone seeing the headlines, the Sun included, would think wrongly that Lee was apologising 100%.

Another reason for people to forget buying these newspapers!

16. Anonymous4:25 pm

isnt it fair tt kuan yew whacked malaysia cos malaysian politicians have been whacking singapore, sometimes unprovoked?

look at the annex of repeated comments on the marginalisation of malays in singapore. singapore govt didnt even bat an eyelid, until now.

but ultimately, both malaysia and singapore are not exactly the paragon of virtue and good neighbourliness.

17. Anonymous4:37 pm

Apa dah jadi dengan slogan cemerlang, gemilang, terbilang? Nampaknya sekarang PM kita dah "jatuh" terlentang dan terkangkang...

18. Anonymous4:38 pm

Both Kamal and Khairy are proven liabilities to Pak Lah the PM. They have to go. As for Pak Lah, he's become a liability to Umno and Msia. As a Malaysian, I am ashamed.

19. Anonymous4:41 pm

With the current administration, soon we will sing Majulah Singapura! instead of Negaraku.

Satu lagi bola tanggung dibagi kepada Singapura

20. Anonymous4:57 pm

Nampak sangat the CEO kalau sit for STPM kertas 'Pengajian Am' sure kantoi subside 8.

That is no ordinary letter,it is diplomatic letter mesti dikaji bukan sahaja secara lahirian tetapi secara batiniah ie terperinci.
    Bukan ke itu tugas yang memerlukan ketajaman berfikir?

Berundur secara terhormat,tuan.

21. Anonymous4:59 pm

LKY did his job superbly as what everyone would have expected TDM to do. The difference is LKY is much respected figure in the S'pore administration, whereby TDM can't even get himself elected as a delegate to his own political party convention.

With TDM out of the picture, LKY can say anything, anything at all and the whole of Pak Lah's super jumbo size kitchen cabinet just sat there and don't even know what to do. Actually in any situation, the cabinet as usual dont really do anything much.

So even with an apology, LKY can score points and Pak Lah continues to look so stupid.

22. Anonymous5:17 pm

With Permission Bro,

Are you happy with it Frankie?

23. Anonymous5:24 pm

mebbe pak lah should set up another committee to look into possible retaliation against singapore? hahaha

24. Anonymous7:41 pm

heheh!! really funny...someone insults your country's sovereignty...and u seek clarification?

and they add insult to injury with an apology that wasn't. We really need that battle axe Dr M back. At least he wouldn't sit still.

25. Naughty fella'
    http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2006/10/naughty-fella.html

26. Anonymous9:51 pm

at the end of the day, if you use a simple litmus test of economic progress and development, lky is justified in whatever he says or believes in from the very beginning 50 years ago.

perhaps it would be harder to regard his opinions if singapore were still a little fishing village like when it first became a sovereign state. but it is not, it is the only developed nation in south east asia.

malaysia can't even claim that of our capital/selangor without declaring it ourselves.

perhaps instead of feeling insulted by his remarks (which incidentally lky did not apologise for because he knows full well he can back it up in a court of law) and rallying the patriotic fire in the us vs them mentality, we should take a long hard look at ourselves as a country and decide what really ought to be done.

27. I totally agree with you. An apology, even with the word "Sorry" indicated does not mean he was sorry at all; he was only sorry for the discomfort; never sorry for what he said which he believes as absolute truth. The fact is most Malaysians, including the Malays do know or acquiese that his statement is mere fact, unchallengeable, rightly or wrongly, for whatever moral reasons or what we call utilitarianism.

28. Anonymous10:24 pm

the winner and still champ ... lee kuan yew. i would call it a technical knockout with malaysian politicians on the ropes and clinging for dear life. our politicians are simply out of their depth against a master like kuan yew.

29. Anonymous10:27 pm

follow from ou,

AAB says he was only 10 minutes in the game, so he need more time.

Now in the 11th minute, he scored OWN GOAL.

30. Anonymous10:30 pm

Ding-ding said...

"But what riles me is the spin created by the mainstream newspapers with words to the effect "I'm sorry".

That is why LKY put the footnote in his letter. He knows the spinning role our mainstream media need to do. In fact the Annexure is the real killer

31. Rocky Bru!

Dollah Badawi came late to his monthly JPM meeting last week and told those waiting that he was sorry for he fell asleep after (subuh) morning prayer!!!
    He could have said something else, he could have lied, but being a moron of the highest order he said he fell asleep! So whats new Dollah!
    And for Mahathir, you are the bigger idiot for choosing him to succeed you, I simply cannot accept the fact when you said you made a mistake for gto choose him over Najib and I believe you knew well in advance what and where this PM is taking us to when you chose him and for you to be relevant again, not fair! And Mahathir, I cannot accept another fact that you suddenly became stupid as to the choice of who should succeed you in the first place! You knew the future scenario, as a good chess player you are!

32. Rocky Bru!

Dollah Badawi came late to his monthly JPM meeting last week and told those waiting that he was sorry for he fell asleep after (subuh) morning prayer!!!
    He could have said something else, he could have lied, but being a moron of the highest order he said he fell asleep! So whats new Dollah!
    And for Mahathir, you are the bigger idiot for choosing him to succeed you, I simply cannot accept the fact when you said you made a mistake for gto choose him over Najib and I believe you knew well in advance what and where this PM is taking us to when you chose him and for you to be relevant again, not fair! And Mahathir, I cannot accept another fact that you suddenly became stupid as to the choice of who should succeed you in the first place! You knew the future scenario, as a good chess player you are!

33. Anonymous11:18 pm

Guys, we all know this for years...Any Ah Know, Muthu and Ahmad on the street can tell you this....
    But as any Malaysian, be it Chinese or Indian or other races, we don't give a damn...we simply love the country...

For example, It have read this, but like everybody else, we pay no attention to this :-

These lists cover a period of about 49 years since Independence Day in
    Malaysia (1957):

(1) Out of all the 5 major banks in Malaysia, only one bank is own by
    multi-racial, the rest are controlled by Malays.

(2) 99% of Petronas (the only one petroleum company) directors are Malays,
    and the former Prime Minister work as Consultant in Petronas.

(3) 3% of Petronas employees are Chinese.

(4) 99% of 2000 Petronas gasoline stations are owned by Malays.

(5) 100% all contractors working under Petronas projects must be "bumi's
    status" (Malay).

(6) 0% of non-Malays staffs are legally required in Malay's companies. But
    there must be 30% Malays staffs in Chinese companies. And big companies in
    Malaysia require a Malays hold as director status with 51% shareholder.
    Which this mean non-Malays own company needs to give their property to
    Malays. And non-Malays citizen can't really own their business.

(7) 5% of all new intake for government police, nurses, army, is
    non-Malays.

(8) 2% is the present Chinese staff in Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF),
    drop from 40% in 1960.

(9) 2% is the percentage of non-Malays government servants in Putrajaya
    (Malaysia main government office). But Malays make up 98%.

(10) 7% is the percentage of Chinese government servants in the whole
    government (in 2004), drop from 30% in 1960. Only 2 position for non-Malays
    in political status.

(11) 95% of government contracts are given to Malays; even it is an open
    tender. Non-Malays contractors tender the lower price and use better
    materials can't get the contract that government given.

(12) 100% all business licensees are controlled by Malay government e.g.
    Taxi permits, Approved permits, etc. and all the license are given to
    government officer families.

(13) 80% of the Chinese rice millers in Kedah (north of peninsular
    Malaysia) had to be sold to Malay and controlled by Bernas (Government
    Org.) since 1980s. Otherwise, life is make difficult for Chinese rice
    millers.

(14) 100 big companies set up, owned and managed by Chinese Malaysians
    were taken over by government, and later managed by Malays since 1970's
    e.g. UTC, UMBC, MISC, etc. This company now is the sole company.

(15) At least 10 Chinese owned bus companies (throughout Malaysia,
    throughout 40 years) had to be sold to MARA or other Malay transport
    companies due to rejection by Malay authority to Chinese application for
    bus routes and rejection for their application for new buses.

(16) 2 Chinese taxi drivers were barred from driving in Johor (South of
    Peninsular Malaysia) Larkin bus station. There are about 30 taxi drivers
    and 3 are Chinese in October 2004. Spoiling taxi club properties was the
    reason given.

(17) 0 non-Malays are allowed to get shop lots in the new Muar (city in
    south peninsular Malaysia) bus station (November 2004).

(18) 8000 billions ringgit is the total amount the government channeled to
    Malays pockets through ASB, ASN, MARA, privatization of government agencies
    like Tabung Haji etc, through NEP over 34 years periods.

(19) 48 Chinese primary schools closed down since 1968 - 2000

(20) 144 Indian primary schools closed down since 1968 - 2000

(21) 2637 Malay primary schools built since 1968 - 2000

(22) 2.5% is government budget for Chinese primary schools. Indian schools
    got only 1%, Malay schools got 96.5%

(23) while a Chinese parent with RM1000 salary (monthly) cannot get
    school-text-book-loan, and a Malay parent with RM2000 salary is eligible.

(24) 10 all public universities vice chancellors are Malays. And politics
    in universities are held by Malays. If non-Malays want to form a politics
    parties, there is no way to get approved.

(25) 5% - the government universities lecturers of non-Malay origins had
    been reduced from about 70% in 1965 to only 5% in 2004 with the reason
    Malaysia Education Ministry give full support for Malays only.

(26) Only 5% is given to non-Malays for government scholarships over 40
    years.

(27) 0 Chinese or Indians were sent to Japan and Korea under "Look East
    Policy".

(28) 128 STPM (High Study / A Level) Chinese top students could not get
    into the course that
    they aspired i.e. Medicine and doctors (in 2004). Malays with not qualify
    result can get into the course.

(29) 10% place for non-bumi students for MARA science schools beginning
    from year 2003, but only 7% are filled. Before that it was 100% Malays.

(30) 50 cases whereby Chinese and Indian Malaysians, are beaten up in the
    National Service program since 2003.

(31) 25% is Malaysian Chinese population in 2004, drop from 45% since 1957
    because government are not support non-Malays like government support
    Malays.

(32) 7% is the present Malaysian Indians population (2004), a drop from 12%
    since 1957.

(33) 2 millions Chinese Malaysians had emigrated to overseas since 40 years
    ago due to unfair politics.

(34) 0.5 million Indians Malaysians had emigrated to overseas.

(35) 3 millions Indonesians had migrated into Malaysia and became Malaysian
    citizens with bumi's status.

(36) 600000 are the Chinese and Indians Malaysians with "red I/C" (a
    temporary identity card) and were rejected repeatedly when applying for
    citizenship for 40 years. Perhaps 60% of them had already passed away due
    to old age. This shows racism of how easily Indonesians got their
    citizenships compare with the Chinese and Indians

(37) 5% - 15% discount for a Malay to buy a house, regardless whether the
    Malay is rich or poor

(38) 2% is what Chinese new villages get compare with 98% of what Malays
    villages got for rural development budget..

(39) 50 road names (at least) had been change from Chinese names to other
    names.

(40) 1 Dewan Gan Boon Leong (in Malacca) was altered to other name (e.g.
    Dewan Serbaguna or sort) when it was being officially used for a few days.
    Government tries to shun Chinese names. This racism happened in around year
    2000 or sort.

(41) 0 temples/churches were built for each housing estate. But every
    housing estate MUST got at least one mosque/surau built.

(42) 3000 mosques/surau were built in all housing estates throughout
    Malaysia since 1970 with full government support. No temples, no churches
    are built in housing estates that supported by government.

(43) 1 Catholic Church in Shah Alam took 20 years to apply to be
    constructed. But told by Malay authority that it must look like a factory
    and can't look like a church. Still not yet approved since 2004.

(44) 1 publishing of Bible in Iban language banned (in 2002)

(45) 0 of the government TV stations (RTM1,RTM2, TV3) are directors of
    non-Malays origin.

(46) 30 government produced TV dramas and films always showed that the bad
    guys had Chinese face, and the good guys had Malay face. You can check it
    out since 1970s. Recent years, this tendency becomes less.

(47) 10 times, at least, Malays (especially Umno) had threatened to
    massacre the Chinese Malaysians using May 13 since 1969.

(48) 20 constituencies won by DAP would not get funds from the government
    to develop. Or these Chinese majority constituencies would be the last to
    be developed

(49) 100 constituencies (parliaments and states) had been racist
    re-delineated so Chinese voters were diluted that Chinese candidates,
    particularly DAP candidates lost in election since 1970s

(50) Only 3 out of 12 human rights items are ratified by Malaysia
    government since 1960

(51) 0 elimination of, all forms of racial discrimination (UN Human Rights)
    is not ratified by Malaysia government since 1960s

(52) 20 reported cases whereby Malay ambulance attendance treated Chinese
    patients inhumanely, and Malay government hospital staffs purposely delay
    attending to Chinese patients in 2003. Unreported cases may be 200

(53) 50 cases each year whereby Chinese, especially Chinese youths being
    beaten up by Malay youths in public places. We may check at police reports
    provided the police took the report, otherwise there will be no record

(54) 20 cases every year whereby Chinese drivers who accidentally knocked
    down Malays were seriously assaulted or killed by Malays

(55) 12% is what ASB/ASN (Malays Own banks) got per annum while banks
    fixed deposit is only about 3.5% per annum.

(56) The latest news about the police in Malaysia. Believe that the
    Malaysia police officer have caught a Chinese girl and punish her with
    naked body nearby the windows that other people (believe that is police
    officer) can took video recording via mobile phones. This news spread to
    China, and finally Malaysia government told to public that is Malay girl.
    After that there's no more news about the case.

How fool can be the PM and KJ be...need not have to say more...

34. Anonymous11:33 pm

Sdr Rocky,

Let us be clear about the following:-

1. LKY did not apologise for accusing Malaysia of marginalising its Chinese population;

2. LKY did not retract his seditious statement;

3. He merely said sorry for causing discomfort to Abdullah.

4. LKY did not "mohon maaf" to the PM as headlined by Utusan and Berita. Sorry is not maaf. Sorry is dukacita or sedih. Maaf is apology. Apologise is to "mohon maaf"; and

5. The Malaysian media had fallen victim to LKY's trickery.

35. Anonymous11:54 pm

Well, LKY is definitely much much smarter than our PM + ALL HIS FAT & CORRUPT MINISTERS added up! (not forgetting his "Oxford" SIL too). Loud mouth and threats are useless against facts.

36. AAB is looking more and more like a guppy in a pool of sharks from within and outside the country.

His bumbling and blundering ways is synonymous to LKY's kiasuness, in a perverse play of opposites.

My apologies to all the kampongs in Malaysia but we really do have a 'village idiot' ruddering the ship into every iceberg in sight.

37. Anonymous12:43 am

In the first place, why should anyone say "sorry" for telling the truth? Even those who tell blatant lies are not required to apologise. Did Mahathir say "sorry" for Anwar's black eye? Did he say "sorry" for destroying the integrity of our judiciary? Did he say "sorry" for using our money to pay for his meeting with President Bush? Lee Kuan Yew may owe the Malay leaders an apology but Mahathir owes all Malaysians an apology, and frankly I don't see it coming.

38. Anonymous3:45 am

Guess who is at the forefront of the LKY believers? Just one guess and you'll win! Well, just in case you don't know - it's the mainstream media! Look at the headlines and you'll get the. evidence clearly as the words stare at your face! If the editors of these newspapers really believe LKY had indeed apologised, then God save this country. They can't be naïve 'cos they have much exposure and experience! Zainon Ahmad pride himself as a political pundit, and he believes that LKY has apologised and Malaysia scored a big diplomatic win! Ayoyo, Zainon's gone senile kah? I can believe Berita Harian's Hishamudin Aun being naïve, shallow even! But Zainon and Datuk K of Utusan?

If you think deeply, the newspapers were not incorrect technically. LKY did say he's sorry but not in the context that we want him to say. Does this mean the Editors, perhaps guided and influenced by ex-Singapore Straits Times' Brendan Preira, is playing 'follow the leader?! It's not impossible.

It's best not to buy these newspapers, unless you want to learn the art of spinning and misleading the country! I wonder what else the country's top editors have been doing to bolster the image of the present administration. I'm beginning to see why Tun M labelled our govt as a half-past six govt! LKY must have realised this and decided to prove it via his remarks and followed by the letter! And our Info Minister must be smiling too 'cos his Mentor Minister has gone one up against us! Syabas Zam!

As for Tun M, well, he'll have to put right what he and many others are now seing as major errors in judgement calls. And oh yes! In the past, statement like the one made by LKY used to rally the nation! Today, it's not the case. LKY should be thanked 'cos it shows how accurate is Tun M's statement that we are run by a bunch of half past six leaders!

39. Anonymous5:34 am

Kawan, you are right! The same editors who hailed our PM's interview with that loathsome Anuar Zaini, remember? it's down to these editors, own guts and integrity. The Chinese Papers editors have more balls. The mainstream ones need to go back to Kem Bina Semangat. But Syed Hamid has given them the cue for what to write ...

40. Anonymous5:39 am

For once Syed Hamid got it right.

"Maaf" Kuan Yew Bukan Permohonan Maaf, Kata Syed Hamid

PUTRAJAYA, 3 Okt (Bernama) -- Permohonan "maaf" Menteri Mentor Singapura Lee Kuan Yew yang terkandung dalam surat kepada Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi adalah bagi "ketidakselesaan" akibat komen beliau mengenai bagaimana Malaysia melayan masyarakat Cinanya dan bukan bagi kenyataan yang beliau buat, kata Menteri Luar Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar hari Selasa.

"Ia bukan permohonan maaf. Beliau hanya berkata yang beliau minta maaf kerana menyebabkan ketidakselesaan, bukannya beliau minta maaf bagi mengeluarkan (kenyataan kontroversi berkenaan).

"Ia dua perkara yang berbeza," kata Syed Hamid kepada pemberita pada majlis berbuka puasa di kementeriannya di sini semasa ditanya mengenai surat Lee yang menyatakan permohonan maaf bagi apa yang dikatakannya sebagai telah menimbulkan ketidakselesaan kepada perdana Menteri.

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/bm/news.php?id=223014

41. Anonymous6:09 am

WAY OUT FOR ABDULLAH: REPLY TO LKY'S LETTER
    -------------------------------------

pujangga, you sound like a diplomat yourself. of course, you are right. it's a very well-crafted letter by senior lee, one intended to score as many points as possible. abdullah was very ill-advised by his people, the wisma putra included. but there's still a way out for the PM, a means to save his face and the pride of a nation.

i suggest he writes to senior lee. like it or not, he has to write it to the gallery, as bru puts it. address all issues, especially in the annex. senior lee was not really hitting below the belt when he cited khairy jamaluddin's inciting racial remarks. it was there for him to use; it would have been foolish of the minister mentor not to apply it. you can almost see him grin at the prospect and at how he has provoked abdullah to do something silly (to borrow his words!).

there is an opportunity to protest senior lee's decision to be liberal with references to dr mahathir (or, rather, "your predecessor"). GET LKY TO WITHDRAW his innuendos and unkind references to Mahathir. It is important that Abdullah defends Mahathir because he was the PM or, rather, he IS the former PM of this nation. senior lee's concluding line "after a decade of troubled .." is uncalled for. he is trying to provoke the tun. he knows that by doing so, he will rile the majority of malaysians who are still solidly behind their former pm.

abdullah must also reply to the issue of the bridge. he must choose his words carefully. he has to look beyond the current crop of useless advisers that he keeps. bring back the pros, the likes of razali ismail, to fight this battle for him.

abdullah needs to win badly here because senior lee's letter is crafted, i believe, to deal a killer blow on his government's credibility in terms of foreign relations. lee wants to prove that abdullah does not have the kind of gumption he was referring to in his damning statements that have so riled us.

of course, abdullah needs to make the letter available to the media.

but of course, i think it is wishful thinking on my part that the PM will have to sense and courage to do write back to lky.

42. Anonymous6:16 am

Just wondering if LKY also said sorry to the Indonesian Govt over the statement.

And did the Indonesian Govt seek clarification from him like what our clueless PM did?

43. Anonymous6:32 am

duta lama said...
    …but of course, i think it is wishful thinking on my part that the PM will have to sense and courage to do write back to lky.

----------------------------------

As far as AAB is concerned, the matter is closed. No more discussions on it. Period.

He was quoted by Bernama as saying:

Beliau enggan menjawab pertanyaan lanjut mengenai surat Lee itu, dengan mengatakan, "Saya tidak mahu ada perbahasan mengenainya."

-- BERNAMA
    http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/bm/news.php?id=222922

44. Anonymous6:43 am

BAHALOLNYA Ketua Pemuda Umno, Hishamuddin Pondan. Tak sedar dah kena kelentong dengan LKY. Memang betul kata TDM. Kabinet Pak Lah adalah kabinet 1/2 past six. Satu kenyataan yang amat bodoh.

----------------------------

Pengerusi Pemuda BN Datuk Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein berkata:

"Kami menerima permohonan maaf itu terutama apabila ia datang daripada seorang yang amat bijak," katanya kepada pemberita selepas mempengerusikan mesyuarat exco pergerakan itu di sini.

Hishammuddin, yang juga Ketua Pemuda Umno dan Menteri Pelajaran, berkata beliau TERKEJUT dengan tindakan Lee meminta maaf kerana tidak menjangkakan bahawa Lee akan berbuat demikian.

Malaysia hanya meminta penjelasan daripada Lee terhadap komennya dan TIDAK MENDESAK PERMOHONAN MAAF daripada beliau…Bernama

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/bm/news.php?id=222939

45. Anonymous8:31 am

saudara Rocky,
    saya mesti menulis sesuatu apabila membaca posting saudara ini kerana ia melibatkan maruah kita. Menteri Tua (betul ke tejermahan "Minister Mentor" ni?) LKY cuba memasukkan isu jambatan bengkok kedalam surat beliau dan the fact that ia dalam hitam putih dan Pak Lah menerimanya dan disiarkan disemua media mainstream akan menjadikan dokumen ini sah sebagai sesuatu yang diterima oleh Malaysia. Sebagai perbandingan, kenapa kerja-kerja tambun tanah yang dijalankan Singapura tidak dikaitkan sama?

Sebagai sebuah negara kecil dikelilingi jiran yang baginya seolah-olah mahu menelannya, mahu tidak mahu Singapura mesti memastikan kewujudannya berkekalan. Kepakaran mereka memastikan hal ini berjaya, harus dijadikan contoh oleh peneraju dan pemimpin negara kita.

Tempias dari Jeff Ooi, nak kongsi pantun dua kerat lama :

Yang baik jadikan panduan
    Yang buruk tu jadikan sempadan

Terima kasih.

46. Anonymous9:00 am

*TypicalProgrammer*

Stewpid,

I understand how you feel. I have been the other end of the stick and receiving all the blessing and advantage. Have I enjoyed it, definitely, did I deserve it, NO. But that is reality, in Malaysia (I will generalize here to get a fair perspective) the non-bumi are marginalised and this is a fact. I am a bumi and I am not ignorant enough until I wont admit it. Being bumi gives you a huge advantage and being non-bumi pins you down in life. The reason all none-bumi are being marginalised is not the bumi policy itself but how the policy is being implemented. It is so blatant obvious that advantage are being given not because they need and deserve it but because they should have it have regardless if they deserve it or not. I challenge all bumi to renounce they special right if they dont need it and are able to stand on their own 2 feet. Yes I am implying to all the Oxford graduate too. I have waived as much as possibble of 'advantage' given to me. FYI I earn just enough to avoid paying tax so you know I am not a ECM Libra share holder. Can all the other bumi do the same? If you can then lets prove LKY wrong, since we can depend on our politician.

47. Anonymous9:57 am

The smarter guy has gained an upper hand in this game even with the apology so where have we done wrong? Let's clean up our backyard before others making us speechless again. Once again, we were being put on the certain of the stage as laughing stock.

He has apologized for the "discomfort", how about us? As LKY has pointed out, we made numerous comments on Singapore's marginalisation. If we are not apologising, who is the gentleman now? Is it Singapore? Or Malaysia?

Wake up! It's time to learn.

48. Anonymous10:26 am

What does NST mean with this:

UNIMPRESSED! Response noted, not appreciated
    04 Oct 2006

PM's frosty and terse response to Lee Kuan Yew's apology: 'I have taken note of it. But the statement he made was uncalled for in the first place and not at all appreciated. Irrespective of whatever reasons he has given, we have to ensure such a statement is not repeated...'

Question:
    I saw PM making the above statement on TV yesterday and my question is `what was frosty and terse' in his delivery? All i saw was an old man who can't speak eloquently and is without fire/life. if he was truly angry, it didn's show at all!)
    In fact, when AAB speaks, it's all flatline all the way...

2. what does PM mean when he said `i have taken note of LKY's letter..' I mean taken note??? so what if you taken note? to show you can read?? I do agree with some commentators here that AAB should demand for apology and not explaination. So bodoh!

49. Anonymous10:44 am

All the main papers splashed: "LKY Apolgised" which wasn't true. But reading the mainstream papers, then it dawns ion me as to WHY. The spin doctors are hard at work again (albeit a wee bit late as the letter was received on Saturday) to make the ever bumbling PLeh look good to REFUTE AN APOLOGY that NEVER WAS anyway. Ha ha. But why in heaven's name can't the old just TAROH LKY if he is not satisfied there and then? No mind of his own, that's why.

I'm bailing out on this one next GE.

50. Anonymous11:07 am

How could an indecisive and incapable leader like Abdullah fights with a capable and intelligent leader like LKY and win ?

The outcome LKY scored much more points than Abdullah is only to be expected.

51. Rocky!

Originaly sent by "Stewpid" (or is it Stupid?), so this story can be changed to any country, Singapore, Australia any country in Europe. I hopeyou can reprint this!

Stewpid said...
    Guys, we all know this for years...asked any Jack, George and Jane on the street they can tell you this....
    But as any Australian, be it Chinese or Indian or Aborignes or other races, we don't give a damn...we simply love the country...

For example, please read this, but like everybody else in Australia, we pay no attention to this because this is Real Politic:-

These lists cover a period of about over hundred years since Australian Independence:

(1) Out of all the 5 major banks in Australia, only one bank is own by multi-racial, the rest are controlled by White Australians.

(2) 99% of Australia Petroleum (AP)(the only one petroleum company) directors are Malays,
    and the former Prime Minister work as Consultant.

(3) 3% of AP employees are Aboriginal people.

(4) 99% of 2000 AP gasoline stations are owned by White Australians.

(5) 100% all contractors working under AP projects must be of "Oz
    status" (Whitey).

(6) 0% of non-Whitey Australian staffs are legally required in Australian companies. And big companies in Australia require a White Australians hold as director status with 51% shareholder.
    Which this mean non-white Australians own company needs to give their property to whitey Australians. And non-whitey Australians citizen can't really own their business.

(7) 5% of all new intake for government police, nurses, army, is
    non-whitey Australians.(what do you expect)

(8) 2% is the present Australian of Chinese descent staff in Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF),
    drop from 2% in 1960.

(9) 2% is the percentage of non-whitey Australians government servants in Canberra
    (Aistralia main government office). But white Australians make up 98%.

(10) 7% is the percentage of Oz of Chinese-descent government servants in the whole
    government (in 2004), drop from 8% in 1960. Only 2 position for non-whitey Australian in political status.

(11) 95% of government contracts are given to white Oz; even it is an open tender. Non-white Oz contractors tender the lower price and use better materials can't get the contract that government given.

(12) 100% all business licensees are controlled by Australian government e.g. Taxi permits, Approved permits, etc. and all the license are given to government officer families.

(13) 80% of the Chinese rice millers in Australia had to be sold to white Australians and controlled by Government
    Org. since 1980s. Otherwise, life will be made difficult for Chinese rice millers in Australia.

(14) 100 big companies set up, owned and managed by Chinese-Australians were taken over by government, and later managed by whites since 1970's.

(15) At least 10 Chinese-Australian owned bus companies (throughout Australia,
    throughout 40 years) had to be sold to government transport
    companies due to rejection by white only authority authority to Chinese-Australian application for
    bus routes and rejection for their application for new buses.

(16) 2 Chinese-Ausgtralian taxi drivers were barred from driving in Melbourne bus station. There are about 30 white taxi drivers
    and 3 are non white.Spoiling taxi club properties was the
    reason given.

(17) 0 non-white Australians are allowed to get shop lots in the new Sydney bus station .

(18) 8000 billions ringgit is the total amount the government channeled to white Australian pockets through privatization of Australian government agencies. over 34 years periods.

(19) No vernacular Chinese primary schools are allowed to be opened as all non-white Australians even though were treated as a second class citizens must speak Australian English.

(20) 144 Aboriginal primary schools closed down since 1968 - 2000 so they can be easily marginalised.

(21) 2637 more white Australians primary schools built since 1968 - 2000

(22) 2.5% is government budget for Aistralian aboriginal schools. Now aboriginal schools got only 1% budget redueced from 2% meanwhile white Australian schools got 96.5%

(23) while a non-white Australian parent with RM1000 salary (monthly) cannot get
    school-text-book-loan, and a white Australian Malay parent with RM2000 salary is eligible.

(24) All public universities vice chancellors are white Australian
    in universities are held by white .
    (25) 5% - the government universities lecturers of non-white Australian origin had
    been reduced from about 70% in 1965 to only 5% in 2004 with the reason Australian Education Ministry give full support for white Australians only.

(26) Only 5% is given to non-white Australian for government scholarships over 40 years.

(27) 0% non-white Australian were sent to Japan and Korea under "Look East Australian
    Policy".

(28) 128 STPM (High Study / A Level) no-white Australianb top students, mostly Chinese descent could not get into the course that
    they aspired i.e. Medicine and doctors (in 2004).Whites with not qualified result can get into the course.

(29) 10% place for non-white Oz students for science schools beginning from year 2003, but only 7% are filled. Before that it was 100% whites only.

(30) 50 cases whereby Chinese , Aboriginal and Indian Austrtalian, are beaten up in the Australian
    National Service program since 2003.

(31) 25% is non white Australian population in 2004, drop from 45% since 1957 because government are not support non-white Australian like government support for white Australians.

(32) 7% is the present Australian Aboriginal population (2004), a drop from 12% since 1957.

(33) 2 millions Chinese-Austalians had emigrated to overseas since 40 years ago due to unfair Austyralian politics.

(34) 0.5 million Australian-Indians had emigrated to Sri Lanka since.

(35) 3 millions White South Africans have migrated into Australia and became citizens with full whitey's status.

(36) 600000 are the non-white and aboroiginal Australians with "red I/C" (a temporary identity card) and were rejected repeatedly when applying for citizenship for 40 years. Perhaps 60% of them had already passed away due to old age. This shows racism of how easily white South African and Europena got their citizenships compare with the non-white Oz.

(37) 5% - 15% discount for a whitey Australians to buy a house, regardless whether they are rich or poor

(38) 2% is what Aborigines new villages get compare with 98% of what white Australians towns got for rural development budget..

(39) 50 road names (at least) had been change from Aboriginal names to other names.

(
    (41) 0 temples/mosques were built for each housing estate in Australia. But every
    housing estate there MUST got at least one church built.

(42) 3000 churches were built in all housing estates throughout
    Australia since 1970 with full government support. No temples, no mosques are built in housing estates that supported by government.

(43) 1 mosque in Sdney that took 20 years to apply to be
    constructed. But told by white Australian regimne that it must look like a factory and can't look like a msquet. Still not yet approved since 2004.

(44) 1 publishing of the Koraan in Aboriginal language banned (in 2002)

(45) 0 of the government TV stations (ABC, ABC2) are directors of non-white Australian origins.

(46) 30 government produced TV dramas and films always showed that the bad guys had non-white faces and aboriginal face, and the good guys had white face. You can check it out since 1970s. Recent years, this tendency becomes less.

(47) 10 times, at least, white had threatened to massacrenon-white Australians using May 13 since 1969.

(48) 20 constituencies won by the opposition would not get funds from the government to develop. Or these non-white Austrfalian majority constituencies would be the last to
    be developed

(49) 100 constituencies (parliaments and states) had been racist
    re-delineated so non-white Australian voters were diluted that non-white candidates,
    particularly the opposition candidates lost in election since 1970s

(50) Only 3 out of 12 human rights items are ratified by Australian
    government since 1960

(51) 0 elimination of, all forms of racial discrimination (UN Human Rights)
    is not ratified by the Australian government since 1960s

(52) 20 reported cases whereby white ambulance attendance treated non-white patients inhumanely, and white government hospital staffs purposely delay attending to non-white patients in 2003. Unreported cases may be 200

(53) 50 cases each year whereby non-white Australian, especially non-whiteie Aboriginal youths being
    beaten up by white youths in public places. We may check at police reports
    provided the police took the report, otherwise there will be no record

(54) 20 cases every year whereby non-white Australian drivers who accidentally knocked
    down Malays were seriously assaulted or killed by Malays

(55) 12% is what ASB/ASN (Australian Own banks) got per annum while banks
    fixed deposit is only about 3.5% per annum.

(56) The latest news about the police in Australia. Believe that the Australian police officer have caught a nonwhite Austtralian girl and punish her with
    naked body nearby the windows that other people (believe that is police
    officer) can took video recording via mobile phones. This news spread to
    China, and finally Australian government told the public that was a white girl.
    After that there's no more news about the case.

Previously I signed myself as "Stewpid" nowIwant that tobe changed to "Stupid".

11:18 PM

52. Anonymous12:10 pm

Duta Lama, Why Razali Ismail? We have Pasquale who can counter 56 dalils in just one sitting and totally convinced you before you get past point no 6 and totally destroy his opponent (who, in this case, is Stewpid) inunder 60 seconds! PM should get him to reply to LKY. Pasquale, I may poohed at some of your previous comments but your last one tells me you suffer no fool. No proud Malaysian should. As for Stewpid, I expect him "to take note" of Pasquale's response. Bru, great blog man!

53. Anonymous12:22 pm

PM sounds so angry in NST (Unimpressed) and Berita Harian (Ulasan ditolak) but moderate in Utusan Malaysia (Jangan buat lagi)and Star (Don't repeat). Is there some spin going on?

Or is the PM angry and embarrassed because the first example that LKY offered in the annex of Malay figures remarking on Singapore Malays was the remark made by son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin?

54. Anonymous2:04 pm

Bru,

Did KJ and Brendan Pereira not studied in Singapore?
    I think PM got stung when LKY mentioned Khairy. KJ is sacred to Pak Lah. How dare LKY touch the golden boy of Malaysian politics?
    But LKY and our PM are both dua kali lima. LKY had established a dynasty in Singapore. Pak Lah is starting one in Malaysia.
    In Singapore the Lee clan controls politics and business. In Malaysia the Abdullah clan is on the way to controlling business and politics.
    But it's ok in Singapore. It's a one-party state (PAP). We have viable oppositions in Malaysia. So in defending the PM and his family, Umno and the BN must the mindful of the coming general elections.
    Not everybody has home in Australia or piles of money to buy good life elsewhere. This is where we are born and this is where we are going die.
    We must save Malaysia.

55. We just have to wait for Dr M to open his mouth, with guns blazing.

56. Anonymous3:15 pm

Rocky,s bru kata pengarang2 media arus perdana lebih macam hishammuddin (baghal) dari syed hamid (selalu baghal tapi bab lky dia pandai sikit).

Ok lagi tu.Ok sangat! GEIC aku Hishamuddin Aun, dah tak buleh nak tlong lagi dah!

57. Anonymous3:49 pm

I agree with pasquale dan Duta lama thanks mate.Thewrs lots and lots of hatre among us fellow human.

How i wish Alym.Pak Sako is around I do am sure he able to fire a fling at that s.o.b

Could'nt Pak Samad come into picture.If I am not mistaken that s.o.b did mention in this autobio. Pak Samad is one of the sharpest among gems of his era.

Generasi Baru.... belajar dari mereka.
    tapi bukan dari that s.o.b tapi dari Pak Sako,Pak Samad,etc,etc.off course him too.

we call it a day ,at that.
    Next battle new game.
    ok lets play.

58. Anonymous5:06 pm

*TypicalProgrammer*

Dear Pasquale,

I must admit you have made a terrible response to Stewpid comment. You mock the comment simply by copying pasting it over and replacing everything to suit another country. Yes it can be in any country but you miss out the real fact it is still wrong o marginalised another race. Are you saying that it can happen in an country we should just let it happen? Then you have no right to criticize LKY policy of marginalizing Malays in Singapore because if it can happen here in Malaysia it can happen there too. Just because another country is doing it doesnt make it acceptable, no? Think dude, it is happening in your own country and the best lame excuse you can give is that 'oh well, it happens in other country too'.

59. Anonymous8:07 pm

That, Bru, is because the media agenda was set a long time ago. About 6 months before Father/Daddy Lah decame PM.

A meeting was called by your friendly KalliMullah. Present were middle ranking editors of English newspapers and foreign correspondents.

Lo and behold, came Khairy the SIL and he took over the pow-wow. Some editors were pissed off being lectured by this young chico. Foreign correspondents played along for juicy stuff.

The outcome:

1. Mahathir would be done in as switly as possible. His lagacy erased.

2. The Daim gang would not see the daylight.

3. Watch out for Anwar. Something interesting might be happening.

4. Musa Hitam would be resurrected and made elder statesman.

5. The media would be overhalled. Editors present were told to be on the ready to take over from their bosses who would soon be gone.

6. Mega projects and the NEP would be stopped.

60. Rocky Bru!

This is to anonymous or "Typical Programmer".

You are a moron for you did not see the forest for the tree, or is it the other way around!
    It is like this, we (Malay Morons)allow unfortunate people into our lives, then we gave them a place to built a hut so they can have shelter. Then after a while these people started to hang around our kitchen and sitting on the stair, being morons the Malays invited them to come upstairs to have dinner in the kitchen, then they start to loiter around our living room, then Malays being Morons started to invite them to share their fod at the dining table, so together they have dinner, the unfortunate people and the moronic Malays. Then they asked to be allowed to sleep on the floor in the living room and still the moronic Malays allow them to! Then these unfortunate people realised these Moronic Malays can be taken advantage of so they asked if they can borrow a shirt, and the Moronic Malays said "okay!". Then these unfortunate people who were allowed to have a hut built for them and to be allowed to sit on the kitchen stairs and then allowed to have dinner starting from the kitchen all the way to the dining table and then asked to borrow a shirt and then to just go into the cabinet to take a shirt without asking for permission and then finally these unfortunate people gangraped the wife of the friendly moronic malay, who had initially saw these people needed to be helped and help they gave, but that is the nature of the beast, the nicer you are which really doesnt matter to people who are not nice to begin with! So the moral of the story is for the Malays to be less moronic and less nicer or they will wake up to realise the enemy, starting with the squinty and ugly Lee Kuan Yew, is already at the door waiting to gangrape further your family!
    Wahai Melayu bangun lah dan sedar lah kamu dari kedurjanaan kamu!

P.S. Prime Minister Kumaratunga once said over the BBC that the Tamils were brought in from southern India to help with the plantations anbd now "they want to take over the country" she said "what ever it take we will see to it that it will not happen".

My contention is, is it true the Malays are born to be lazy and moronic! If not I am sure their leader or leaders are aware of what is happening around them or are they oblivious to a situation?Please rise up to the occasion and change the situation so you can be proud again as you were!

I am sick of you Morons!

61. Anonymous11:54 pm

hmm Bro,

What pasquale is saying is what we call 'a spade is a spade and a moron a snake chamer'

Lets not repeat an international treaty clauses ' selagi ada Bulan dan Bintang' udah.I'm in.

Itu Abang Kau.....Kita.

62. LKY replied to the entire nation by going public. This guy is one smooth operator in upstaging AAB in the latter's own turf.

The letter, of course, was addressed to AAB, our beloved PM. (The village idiot who didn't see this coming).

Maybe, that's why AAB is not 'impressed'. He should be the one doing it, not LKY. After all, he did say "I'm the PM", didn't he.

Anyway, is LKY still PM of Singapore? Just wondering coz we seem to have AAB's SIL running this country while daddy still rule Red Dot CoM.

63. Anonymous5:29 am

Picked this up from kadirjasin.blogspot.com

So do I Ahli Kedai Kopi. So do I.
    --------------------------------

Ahli Kedai Kopi said...
    Saya amat merindukan kerajaan yg berwibawa seperti ini....

Lee Kuan Yew Apologizes for Remarks That Angered Malaysia

By Michael Richardson International Herald Tribune
    Friday, March 14, 1997

....Malaysian officials said that the government had decided to "cool off ties for now" with Singapore as a sign of continuing displeasure at what was seen as lack of sincerity by some Singapore leaders. The cabinet meeting Wednesday in Kuala Lumpur followed an official Malaysian protest earlier this month over remarks by Singapore's senior minister, Lee Kuan Yew, in a court affidavit that the Malaysian state of Johor was "notorious for shootings, muggings and carjackings."
    Mr. Lee later apologized and said he would apply to the court to have the offending passage removed. But Malaysian officials said that they were unhappy with the behavior of other Singapore leaders, including Mr. Lee's son, Deputy Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who had signed the same affidavit as his father but had not apologized for the section on Johor or renounced it.
    The Bernama press agency, which usually reflects government views, reported Wednesday that the cabinet had decided to halt official dealings with Singapore, including talks between the ruling parties and the award of new government contracts to Singapore companies...

Rasanye, Halfpast six govt will never be able to create the same aura.

10:28 PM

64. Anonymous9:27 am

*TypicalProgrammer*

Pasquale,

You thread a fine line of race prideness and outright racism. You try to imply an entire race as an enemy. Generalization is not the right way to attack your enemy. Name calling is even a more childish way to prove your point. You may call me moron and I bear no insult to that but you dismissing what LKY have said without even reasoning the source of statement is pure stubbornness. I dont support LKY but what he said has some truth over it as proven by Stewpid. You assume that Malays are born to be moronic again another generalization and blatant ranting that merits no sound argument from you. You comments simply shows your frustration and no constructive measure of improvisation. If you want the problem solve think of a solution once you are done complaining. Calling someone morons does not make him better in anyway but I think you are too smart to not know that. Btw I find it humorous that you use an analogy to explain your point since your intended audience according to you are morons, then again you didnt suggest anything positive for the morons.

Have a nice day.

65. Anonymous9:27 am

There are editors and editors! But the manner in which our editors conveniently maintain silence over the LKY issue is a reflection of a sorry state of affairs (no pun intended). I can't say that their silence is golden, much less elegant. My conclusion is that they are beholden. One or two maybe so unwillingly! One can conclude many things from this episode, but let's give one or two the benefit of doubt.People like Brendan won't say a harsh thing against LKY who's his mentor; Hishamuddin is on leave cos he's got a business exhibition to run in Shah Alam. (But Hishamuddin's staff in Berita Harian said his boss won't hit out at LKY even if he's working cos he's not a commentator of serious stuff). Zainon of the Sun is a lalang, according to the Balai Berita ladies who worked with him. Journalism masters from the universities say they don't make editors like they used to! What can one say! They don't make Prime Ministers like they used to too!

66. Anonymous10:08 am

Like it or not, our Malaysian politicians are outclassed and outmaneuvered. They should just leave it and spin their stories locally to change the perception of the situation and not reply and make bigger fools out of us Malaysians and the country further.

The reply although looked simple but it is a well researched, and executed document very typical of MM Lee who is known to be no-nonsense. The fact that he made the remark in his speech earlier means that he would have the supporting facts to back it. Unlike out Malaysian politicians who pick and choose facts and sometimes chooses to deliberately ignore some facts to push their opinions or stand to the people.

2 Main points here that checked mate our position:

1. We lack credible facts the counter the annexure from MM Lee. Since the emphasis on UMNO’s own agenda, it would be hard to find other credible statistics to counter the claims. Even if there is, pro UMNO analysts (if there are such people), are simply not well equipped or prepared to speedily get the information to rebut the facts presented.
    2. Our Half Past 6 cabinets are simply not that savvy in all fronts to put up a credible debate on the matter at hand. Further exchanges will only show what kind of leaders we have that further reinforces the point put up by MM Lee.

I think our BN coalition should now relook at themselves and think harder if they want to retain all the ‘pembesar suara’ that talk empty propaganda statements or people who are there to do a job for the country. Anyway, AAB’s claim of leaving it to him to do his ‘job’ does not qualify here as he is still quite clueless of what’s ailing the country.

67. Anonymous10:39 am

Who gives a fig to LKY's response? Those who want to talk him up as some sort of Machievalliean genius should remember that he "regrets" many things - such as the banning and shutting down of Chinese-language schools in his time, not setting up a F1 circuit, insisting on short hair, etc.

It goes to show that if anything it is not LKY that brought Singapore forward, but his other ministers and the people themselves. It is so unfortunate that globalisation that they allegedly preach will result in a redundant city-nation as people will flock to other major Asian cities such as Shanghai, Seoul, Tokyo or even cities in India in the future. In the end they will produce goods and "talents" that will take a distant second to the emerging economic superpower cities and provinces.

The true question is whether can Malaysia make itself truly viable in such competition and its economic foreign relations with regional partners such as Australia, SEA, China and India and not become a regional pariah parasite.

68. Anonymous10:53 am

how can\'t no one like to discuss the core issues at hand. rather than ego thingee...who apologise to who? look at the long list of statement that we made again singapore. I doubt we are any better.

i feel for stewpid. None of our leaders are disputing this. they should have address the real issues.

If you have visited or lived in singapore. you will soon realise how smart this LKY is. They have some of the world class system. e.g. MRT, airport etc.

Curse for all you like. if we wanna to be anythings close to singapore success, we need to do more rather than focusing of petty issues.

69. Anonymous11:43 am

Hi rockybru

I’ve been away and busy as a bee. But, reading the comments here make my hands itchy. The angry humour (as expressed by commenters like pasquale) has an entertaining effect and can actually act as a shot in the arm.

LKY will never understand the mental evolution of the new millennium. He’s stuck in the 20th century, fooled by his own delusions and paranoid about his sunset years.

He better practises what Singapore TV preaches: “Don’t play play.”

In this case, “don’t play play” with fire. He better be aware that any major fire will wipe out the red dot including all its military hardware.

According to the LKY, the Singapore government has a moral duty to protect its interests against the enemies. In Singapore, marginalisation and nationalisation are legally and morally right.

70. Anonymous1:54 pm

If people are "impressed" by Singapore, I doubt they have to been to other truly metropolitan cities such as Hong Kong, Melbourne, New York, etc. Are these cities created by one man brands like LKY?

71. Anonymous8:06 pm

pasquale, just try this for the fun of it:
    1.Highlight your reply to Typical Programmer.
    2.Cut and paste it to any word-processor.
    3.Press Alt-Edit-Find & Replace.
    4.In the first entry field, type "Malay".
    5.Press Tab to go to the next field and enter "indigenous people".
    6.Hit the Find & Replace button.
    7.Read your own edited comments.
    Have fun.

72. Anonymous8:15 pm

Hi, i'm singaproean and pardon me if i may sound cocky. This is a rather interesting debate and i just wish to share my 2 cents worth. Singapore is a state that has become what it is in a short span of 40 years, it has from a 3rd world fishing village transformed itself to a thriving global hub. This is something few countries can imitate or recreate. Cities such as new york,melbourne or even hong kong have abundant resources, huge local consumer markets and have the support of the commonwealth, these are things singapore didn't have. We basically had a swamp some kampungs and LKY. It was him and a dutch economist that paved the way for economic progress and for that I sulute him. He is a wise man with great ideas, however he is too full of himself. That is something that even we singaporeans dislike. This aside, I do however agree that the chinese in Malaysia are being marginalised. In singapore however i do not think that the malay community is being marginalised as they are given equal opportunities as other Singaporeans. This part may sound a bit arragont, so don't read on if u cannot take it. Most importantly, i have yet to hear a Singaproean malay complain that they are being marginalised, and this is probably because they are better off as compared to malays in malaysia. Basically my point is, as long as a country, abolishes preferential treatment, strives towards economical success even the minorities within the country will not feel marginalised.

73. Anonymous12:39 am

...it really amazes me. As we fumbling to digest on LKY apologies which finally amounted to Zilch. No one has mention a single word about the deathly haze indonesia send to us years after years without fail.

Where is our KJ? our UMNO leaderships when we needed them most. The tourists are avoiding us. Our childrens are suffering. we are choking to death.

Our supremo from UMNO should demand an apologies from Indonesia and ask for billions of dollars of compensation for our loses accumulated over the years. or we are being double standard and prove to LKY that he was right all along.

74. Anonymous2:19 am

pasquale: "It is like this, we (Malay Morons)allow unfortunate people into our lives, then we gave them a place to built a hut so they can have shelter...."

Nonsense! The Chinese and Indians were brought in to develop the various colonies. And because the British found them doing such an excellent job, they were allowed to stay so long till they put down roots and became part of the fabric of Malaya. It had nothing to do with kindness and everything to do with colonial practices.

Anyway, that's all in the past and it is something none of us can go back and change. Using Chinese as a bogeyman that wants to take over Malaysia is a result of your diseased imaginings. What we want is to develop the country as equal citizens. If the country prospers, everyone benefits - like a rising tide that lifts all boats. If Malays still feel poor even after 30-40 years of draconian NEP, why not use your time energy to find out to whom did those billions and billions of ringgit go to rather than pick a fight with the people who sacrificed tremendously to fund the activities of the NEP.

75. Anonymous12:27 pm

Let me try to get this rationalisation right. In Malaysia, there are 3 types of tier. Top tier is for all the politicians and benefectors with no racial marginalisation unless you belong to the opposing parties. The second tier is the middle class folks; where TDM, marginisation and racial issues are sensitive. The lowest tier, where majority of Malaysians now reside, probably do not care much about LKY, racial remarks and marginalisation talks. In the lowest tier, every race is probably marginalised. Discount in property is a myth because they cannot even afford basic accomodation. Even with a degree, they cannot find decent works. Here, everyone is marginalised by spiralling cost of living and simple problems, like shortages of sugar, bandarraya antics, safety and haze. Racial talking will not incite rioting anymore, unless it is staged and pre-meditated. We, the second tier should focus our energy with the third tier, instead of spending time lamenting on racial rights and wrongs. At the rate things are going in this Country, there will only be two tiers....the have's and the have's not. We must not allow the present fabric of our society to crumble.If the situation here do not deteriorate any further, Malaysia is still a very good place to live and die. I only want the clean governence our PM promised. If not....let us prep for a change. How about that?

76. Anonymous2:48 pm

Singaporeans chinese don\'t have to apologise to our government. Only Malaysian Chinese will be forced to apologise for telling the truth. Come on guys lets face the fact that we cannot bully foreigners. We can only bully our local people to submit to discremination because our stupid Chinese and Indians can\'t do anything to us. We have been bullying them since 1969 so much so have come to believe that we are fair to them.

77. Rocky!

It is true NEP is not Constitutional, and neither is there the existence of the British Constitution, there is none. let me repeat there is not such thing as a British Constitution!
    However, there is such thing as the British Rules of Law, anything pertaining to the good of Great Britain rest assured there will be a group of people that will decide on the wisdom of anything that is afecting that country. The decision will be based on things British and British values, and cultures. So if we decided to have NEP, although it may seemed unconstitutional to others who came to this country before our rule of law, well tough petooty! Hawaiichee, as we have our own rule of laws governed by a "group" we can extend the NEP as long as there is the moon and the star if we wish. Thats done!

As for the so called "Social Contract" indeed there was one. it was just a gentlemen agreement between community leaders whereby it was agreed that everyone livng in this country called Malaysia should be equal, this has always been the case. Any civilised social contract will have to be like that, civilised, unless it has been breached, as we have seen in the past that led to May 13 when non-Malays told Malays to Balik Kampung, I do hope that wil not recur again. Now thats done!
    As for article 153 and article 8! That has always been respected, except for a brief moment in May 69. Article 153 and Article 8 are civilised articles that have to be agreed upon by all law abidng citizens, including the Malays.
    Non-Malays have always been part of this society, and will always be as long as they understand that the Social Contract is incmbent upon them to behave, and on how well they behave in this country that they have considered their own. The spirit of the Social Contractis is that, whats paramount is the willngness for the indigenous group in this case the Bumiputra to allow the agreement to be forever binding, and for it to continue is, it is again incumbent upon the descendents of the non-Malays, i.e. the indentured labourers from India, and seasonal workers from China who were, yes Anonymous, brought into Malaya by the British. But, this can only happened after the Sultans of the Malay Kingdom agreed to it and then to allow it! Not because the British allowed them to stay on on their own, they have to get permission form the rulers, being morons the rulers allowed it. Now we are clear on this lets hope there will be no more diatribe pertaining to Chinese or Indian harbouring the thought of becoming future PM or the Paramount Ruler of this country.

Cheers and God Bless us everyone! (Including Malays, Indian and Chinese)

78. Anonymous6:22 pm

Pasquale: "Not because the British allowed them to stay on on their own, they have to get permission form the rulers, being morons the rulers allowed it. Now we are clear on this lets hope there will be no more diatribe pertaining to Chinese or Indian harbouring the thought of becoming future PM or the Paramount Ruler of this country."

Again - nonsense and rubbish. Rightly or wrongly, the sultans were completely marginalized by the British and they had no real power whatsoever to refuse the British who did what they wanted as they wanted with the colonies. Especially in the crown colonies of Penang, Malacca and Singapore and in the Borneo states of Sabah and Sarawak. Malaysia is a federation of these former colonies, which includes the natives of Borneo and the Orang Asli. It is not some singular Malay nation that has always existed before. It is also a democracy so if one day the people decide to vote a non-Malay to become PM, so be it. Get over yourself pasquale and stop being so childish.

79. Anonymous10:48 pm

yes, pasquale anonymous is right. Don't worry i'm not anonymous, i'm singaporean. The statement anonymous made is right, the sultans were not the ones in control it was the british. Every state had a british official overseeing the affairs of the state, the sultan was merely a figure head who precided over mediocre affairs. The sultans weren't stupid, they were just weaker than the british and they were bullied. China was once bullied. Japan was once bullied. Now they're economies are amongst the biggest in the world... and growing. They each have different formulas in achieving this goal. For malaysia to be successful it has to stop preferential treatment and allow the entire population to compete equally.

80. Anonymous10:52 pm

yes precisely it is a democracy, so if the malays, chinese and indians think that a capable non-malay should become PM so be it!

81. Anonymous11:19 pm

Silent on haze? You should have known better who is ABANG and who is adik in this context with regard to Nusantara. As opposed to tiny S'pore!

Complicit Compliant BN!!