Thursday, October 26, 2006

ABDULLAH'S VENOM

No more Mr Nice Guy. According to this Bernama report that has just come in, the PM has lost his cool in the face of Dr Mahathir's criticisms and is now in "attack" mode. And while that's what the people wanted - for Abdullah to speak out and stop hiding behind his wall of silence - did they expect him to take things personally?

"The projects awarded to Dr Mahathir's children were far bigger than what Scomi received," he told reporters at his Hari Raya open house in Penang just now.

Abdullah said it's also not true that his son's company, Scomi Group, had no ship but won a contract from TNB to transport coal. Kamaluddin, he added, "has 180 ships owned by another company which was acquired by Scomi ..(Dr Mahathir's) children also received contracts, only it's not highlighted."

27 comments:

1. Anonymous9:11 pm

Waaaaallan! This Kamal got 180 ships!? Bru, is this true? Seem to me the son didn't wait too long to become really big after father became the PM! Or I'm wrong in making that statement..? What else does the son have, let us rakyat know. The other day Pak Lah said on tv no local contracts for Scomi. Then he said he don't know. Now he seem to know so much about scomi and about Mahathir children's business.

2. Anonymous9:44 pm

this kind of attitude we didn't vote for it, we voted for clean, transparent and accountable government as the PM preaches 3 years ago.

Comment like Dr M's son also got contract, why can't my son is like, If other people can steal, why can't me".

Where are the noble principles?

Why can't the PM move forward and do something productive? He can start with that Datuk Zakaria RM6million dollar house in the middle of poverty striken residence. Next please clean up the mainstream media. Too basi with spinning. Hope PM don't define spinning as part and parcel of press freedom.

3. Anonymous10:00 pm

Leonard,
    Nampaknya Pak Lah dah nyanyuk agaknya...one day he says he doesn't know anything about scomi, and on another day he seems to know so much about his son's business.

Anyway, this was what i heard pak lah say on TV3 prime time news today- "Saya.............., saya.......saya...ehem.......saya........., ......(continues to clear throat)...saya...........ehem..saya.......
    Yes we are waiting for AAB to give his share of venom to Tun.Lets hope that there's more words of wisdom coming out from his mouth besides those stated above.If you ask me, his so called venom is not really as poisonous as he thinks it will be.

4. Anonymous10:24 pm

"When You Say Nothing At All"
    as rendered by Kamaluddin Abdullah to Daddy

It's amazing
    How you can speak
    Right to my heart
    Without saying a word,
    You can light up the dark
    Try as I may
    I could never explain
    What I hear when
    You don't say a thing

[CHORUS:]
    The smile on your face
    Lets me know
    That you need me
    There's a truth
    In your eyes
    Saying you'll never leave me
    The touch of your hand says
    You'll catch me
    Whenever I fall
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all

All day long
    I can hear people
    Talking out loud
    But when you hold me near
    You drown out the crowd
    (The crowd)
    Try as they may
    They can never define
    What's been said
    Between your
    Heart and mine

[Repeat chorus twice]

(You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all)

The smile on your face
    The truth in your eyes
    The touch of your hand
    Let's me know
    That you need me

[Repeat chorus]

(You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all)

The smile on your face
    The truth in your eyes
    The touch of your hand
    Let's me know
    That you need me

(You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all
    You say it best
    When you say
    Nothing at all)

5. Typical of AAB to insinuate about TDM's sons without actually mentioning the hard facts.

Perhaps, in his haste, he forgot or can't remember what he's suppose to say.

What a wimp!

6. Anonymous12:11 am

Pak Lah is the role model for all politicians, especially, the Umnoputras (umno local councillors included).

Remember that bum of a councillor who, like that Dato Zakaria guy, had built a bungalow without prior approval from the Klang Municipal Council & gave the excuse "but my house is smaller"?

Tell us more, tell us more Pak Lah.

What else does yr son have accumulated within this short span of three years, besides a fleet of 180 ships?

Good to know you have broken yr elegant silence.

Yup, you said you didnt know abt yr son's involvement in business.

Now it looks you know a lot.

You and yr flip-flop answer. So pathetic lah.

7. Anonymous12:35 am

WOH! Such quotes! You don't get that many quotable quotes from our PM these days. This one is definitely one of the quotes that will be repeatedly used in the local print and electronic media. The PM has shown that he does know about his son's business, contrary to what he publicly told the rakyat on TV when his ally and buddy Annuar Zaini "interviewed" him some months back. With 180 ships, the PM's son can really sail all the way to the bank without losing steam.
    Way to go Man!!

One can't help but agree with the other commentators in thisblog. What the PM seems to be suggesting is simple - if Tun Mahathir's son can do big business, my son surely can too! He's also telling Dato Najib (should he become PM one day) that the DPM's son can also get big business once the father becomes PM. Our PM is setting new benchmark in this area. Maybe Pak Lah is also doing some research to find out whether Tun M's siblings and in-laws also get lucrative contracts. But even if they are didn't get any during the Tun's tenure as PM, Pak Lah must believe that it's ok for his relatives and in-laws to be awarded Govt contracts.

Sudah la Bru..this kind of quote make many people sick. Mari tidor and figure out how we can have at least a small boat to go for our weekend fishing!

8. Anonymous1:17 am

pujangga,

Tell me how can we vote the PM out?

If only we could... because the ones who determine/decide whether he remains in power or not are those damned 1,800 or so Umno dungus during the party election.

Not us, the voters.

9. Anonymous2:58 am

I think you people are not capable of seeing straight and seeing the good things that the PM is doing because your minds have been poisoned and imprisoned by Mahathir Muhamad.
    What Pak Lah is doing is putting right all the wrong things Mahathir did in the past.
    You people are full of venom against the PM because he shies away and shuns people like you. You are behaving like infidels.
    So what's wrong if PM's children, his son- and daughter-in-law, his siblings, his ex-sisters-in-law and his friends like Dato' Kalimullah, Brendan Pereira and Dato'Anwar Zaini are doing well? They are capable people. They are lucky.
    If Mahathir stopped his children from entering politics while he was PM, that was his problem and his mistake.
    Tell me which Malaysian PM can become imam of prayers? Only Pak Lah.
    Stop your venom and your jealousy. Give up Mahathir and embrace Pak Lah and we will be blessed.

10. Anonymous7:25 am

I actually hate to nitpick but I can't stand inaccuracies especially by elected leaders.

Technically Dr. M is right about Scomi ships. Scomi owns ships for providing service and equipment. It does not own BULK ships for shipping coal.

AAB grasping at straw to cover up his relaives activities is just killing his credibility.

11. Anonymous7:42 am

Pelayar internet,
    Wah..you saying all imams have PM quality? Does it not also mean that all imams are elligible to be considered as next PM of Malaysia, based on how well they can lead prayers? I wish running a country is as easy as leading a group of 20 people in a prayer session

12. Anonymous7:58 am

If I owned a newspaper, my headline wil be: 'Kamaludin has 180 ship'. Its'nd a shouting headline?

13. Anonymous8:02 am

Pelayar Internet said...

what's wrong if PM's children, his son- and daughter-in-law, his siblings, his ex-sisters-in-law and his friends like Dato' Kalimullah, Brendan Pereira and Dato'Anwar Zaini are doing well? They are capable people. They are lucky.

----------------------------------

Hello Pelayar Internet,

Which planet did you come from?

Planet of the ape ke?

14. Anonymous8:07 am

pelayar internet,

i am stumped. at first. then, i realised that you have hell of a humour. such sardonism. It made me laugh.
    that's reverse psychology. then again, if you were serious, i am so sorry for us all.

15. Anonymous8:11 am

dahsyat. dengan tidak segan silu, abdullah ahmad badawi, perdana menteri malaysia, mengaku anakanda beliau mempunyai 180 buah kapal.

THE SHAME OF IT ALL!!!

16. Anonymous8:14 am

the son of a Prime Minister has no business owning a ship -- and 180 ships.this is outrageous. because mr kamaluddin amassed his wealth during his father's tenure as Prime Minister.
    as a commentator said: if it was wrong for Tun Dr Mahathir to have allowed his sons to use his position to gain business opportunities, then it is wrong for Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to do the same.

it was wrong then, it is wrong now.

17. Anonymous8:28 am

Doses of Venom.

Ah, alas Kali reveals himself in the form of Abdullah Badawi.

Bru, isn't "venom" Kali's favorite word?

Kali must have coached PM how to answer the Press and Mahathir.

18. Anonymous8:44 am

Pelayar Internet said...

Tell me which Malaysian PM can become imam of prayers? Only Pak Lah.

You are right abt Pak Lah as far as being an Imam ONLY.

No offence to all imams.

Pak Lah can only lead a congregation

BUT NOT FIT to lead the nation!!

He's not a PM material.

19. Anonymous9:19 am

*TypicalProgrammer*

Pelayar Internet,

Please tell us how did you interpret jealousy from the comments above? I for one am not jealous of him and very grateful that I am not him. You claim that that all other poster are poison by TDM. If you actually read their post (Which I really doubt it) most of them were being critical in his statement. They were analyzing his statement and were not spinning it. You should be grateful there are such intellect people in our country as the current brain drain is taking its toll on our country. What you fail to see is that this isn't a TDM vs AAB issue. This is strictly an AAB issue where his incompetence is being expose. I am sorry to say that your blatant support for AAB show you are being (using your preferred term) poisoned by AAB. If all his relatives are capable as you claim, I don't see a need for them to pursue Government contracts. Shouldn't those contract be awarded to companies that do not have the financial means to compete in the global market. Taking your word that these people are truly capable individual, why don't they go out and compete in the globalize market. Why do they need to hog all the pie to themselves until the bumi equity is only 18% on par value? I think they are all bloody rich enough to let go some of this small project since they surely are more capable to get contracts else where that they actually made a bid on. FYI I despise TDM more than AAB.

20. AHem. I can safely say I am neutral. I am not formerly from NST, and am certainly not in any way, aligned to any parties.

But I can say this. Forget about Pak Lah and TDM's issue.
    PM's manifesto was transparency.
    Why was it as far as all this businesses are concerned? DId he rightly owned up to the 'supporting'letter where the food fiasco was concerned? Nevermind all this.
    Can we look around and say that corruption today is less than that of days before TDM? Does it mean that if less , it is acceptable?
    How can DrKhir be still entrusted with the Selangor Gov after all the bugles that his staff has made? MBPJ Funeral Parlour? The wanton destruction of Reserved land? By PKNS!! etc etc.
    Lets not even mention Zakaria and Mazlynoor.
    Looks like we are all focussed on the two elephants at war whilst the deer lays dead in between!
    It is quite obvious from a neutrals point of view that the mainstream media is playing up this issue, whilst suppressing TDM. Making him out to be some half senile nitwit! But rest assured he is not.
    TV3 is certainly biased, and it was really sad to note that they have resorted to using emails (by individuals) to add fuel to the fire! It is commone knowledge that reflecting emails are thoughts of an individual. And to this blog, laud the moderator that he has such a forum for us to debate, an uncensored one.
    So, here is food for thought.
    I don't think that the comments here refer to anyone doing well, but definately about them doing things in a questionable manner.

What can we do then to right the wrongs?

21. Anonymous9:59 am

I felt betrayed, since AAB used to potray himself as a Mr Nice Guy and Mr Clean.

Dr M never pretended to be anything else.

22. Anonymous4:47 pm

balai berita professional,

how right you are. we suspected as much. poor AAB. having to turn to the likes of kalimullah who has been doing such a poor job.

23. Anonymous5:03 pm

It is sad that not many ministers are taking Dr M's criticism positively accept those who visited Dr M's Raya open house.

It has become the trend in the government practice. "I said, you do, don't question". This is bad. Criticism or better, constructive criticism is a form of feedback. The government should take it positively. If the criticism is not true, calmly provide a reply to it. I don't see being so difficult.

24. Anonymous10:08 pm

…and there it was, in today’s NST (27th October 2006); paragraphs 3 & 4 of “Abdullah disappointed with Dr M’s venom”.

I knew there was a reason the NST twisted Dr. M’s words, on how his meeting with his (in hindsight, ill-chosen) successor ended. In The Star’s transcript, which is almost verbatim of Dr. M’s Monday PC, Dr. M had said: “There were a few other things he mentioned but he stopped, thinking it was already two hours. I figured the meeting was over and I collected my recorder and said good bye to him at the door and I came out.” On the other hand, the ‘excerpts’ carried by the NST (24th Oct, page 8, column 2, para. 3), quoted Dr. M saying: “There were a few other things he mentioned but as he talked I saw that it was nearly two hours and I decided that the meeting was over ….”

Subtle deletion of words, addition of others…..and there you have it: The NST tells another LIE!!! Why? Of course, to imply that Dr. M was not keen to allow AAB to rebut or explain his side, despite ‘the sainted and elegantly silent listener’ having given Dr. M 90 minutes to air his grievances!

But in today’s NST, Abdullah once more (as per the Japan encounter) foils the NST spin. “I kept to my plan, Tun took one-and-a-half hours. We agreed to meet for two hours. So, only half an hour was left for me," said Abdullah, explaining why he spoke sparingly during the meeting at Seri Perdana. Ah-hah!! So, Abdullah was most certainly keeping his eye on the clock, and it was he who stopped talking when the time was up. It was not Dr. M who “decided that the meeting was over”, but it was Abdullah. The Star’s verbatim is correct, and NST’s caught with its pants down, yet again!! Will the GEIC apologise? Certainly, no!

Word of advise to the NST louts: Next time you lie, do brief your boss, so he doesn’t expose you, or himself, for the imbeciles that you both are!

25. Anonymous10:11 pm

…and there it was, in today’s NST (27th October 2006); paragraphs 3 & 4 of “Abdullah disappointed with Dr M’s venom”.

I knew there was a reason the NST twisted Dr. M’s words, on how his meeting with his (in hindsight, ill-chosen) successor ended. In The Star’s transcript, which is almost verbatim of Dr. M’s Monday PC, Dr. M had said: “There were a few other things he mentioned but he stopped, thinking it was already two hours. I figured the meeting was over and I collected my recorder and said good bye to him at the door and I came out.” On the other hand, the ‘excerpts’ carried by the NST (24th Oct, page 8, column 2, para. 3), quoted Dr. M saying: “There were a few other things he mentioned but as he talked I saw that it was nearly two hours and I decided that the meeting was over ….”

Subtle deletion of words, addition of others…..and there you have it: The NST tells another LIE!!! Why? Of course, to imply that Dr. M was not keen to allow AAB to rebut or explain his side, despite ‘the sainted and elegantly silent listener’ having given Dr. M 90 minutes to air his grievances!

But in today’s NST, Abdullah once more (as per the Japan encounter) foils the NST spin. “I kept to my plan, Tun took one-and-a-half hours. We agreed to meet for two hours. So, only half an hour was left for me," said Abdullah, explaining why he spoke sparingly during the meeting at Seri Perdana. Ah-hah!! So, Abdullah was most certainly keeping his eye on the clock, and it was he who stopped talking when the time was up. It was not Dr. M who “decided that the meeting was over”, but it was Abdullah. The Star’s verbatim is correct, and NST’s caught with its pants down, yet again!! Will the GEIC apologise? Certainly, no!

Word of advise to the NST louts: Next time you lie, do brief your boss, so he doesn’t expose you, or himself, for the imbeciles that you both are!

26. Anonymous10:02 am

So the PM claims he has answered all the questions that Dr M has asked.

As a rakyat, I would like to know whether at any time the PM had signed an agreement with Singapore that agreed for the sale of sand in return for allowing the bridge to be built?

Why has the PM averted answering this question when all it requires is a 'yes' or 'no'?

27. Anonymous10:44 am

Pak Lah said:

"His (Dr Mahathir's) accusations are not true. UMNO members now feel more relieved under my leadership because they feel they can talk freely, democratically," he said.
    ===================================

Really? So what happened to Zaharin Yassin, the owner of SangkeLebai blog?

Asked if it was a new official policy to be made known that members critical of the party leader can be sacked, party sec-general Radzi Sheikh Ahmad had confirmed ot to be so.

When asked if Zaharin's sacking was a warning to other bloggers who are Umno members, Radzi said, "It sends a clear message."

Pak Lah who is known for his short memory and who is good at giving flip-flop responses might have forgotten what he had said & the decisions he had made earlier.

But we, the rakyat, arent stupid!

Liar!!

rakyat biasa