Thursday, September 21, 2006

NAJIB SPEAKS OUT

Finally, some balls! The Deputy PM was asked just now to comment on Lee Kuan Yew's remarks about Malaysia's compliant Chinese.

Najib applied some strong words to describe LKY's remarks: "mischievious", "uncalled for", "inaccurate", and "misleading".

"I don't know his agenda but he shouldn't have made those remarks," Najib said.

Will Abdullah Ahmad Badawi rule Najib offside when he returns?

72 comments:

1. Anonymous6:44 pm

Sdr Rocky,

Alhamdulillah, TPM Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Abdul Razak menjawab cacian "diktator" Singapura itu. Buat seketika saya bimbang tiada siapa berani mempertahankan hak dan maruah negara daripada dinodai Lee Kuan Yew.

Saya tidak akan mengucapkan tahniah atau terima kasih kerana adalah kewajipan pemimpin yang kita pilih mempertahankan maruah bangsa dan negara.

Namun saya ucapkan tahniah dan terima kasih kepada Utusan Malaysia kerana menyiarkan berita cacian LKY itu.

Ironinya ialah LKY memilih untuk mengkritik Malaysia dan Indonesia dengan menggunakan pendekatan perkauman setelah kerajaannya mengharamkan tunjuk perasaan ketika persidangan tahunan IMF-Bank Dunia di republik itu baru-baru ini.

Di Singapura hanya LKY bebas bersuara, dan dia nyata begitu berani mencaci negara kita kerana dia tahu Tun Dr Mahathir tiada lagi untuk menjawab balas.

Inilah orangnya yang Menteri Penerangan Datuk Zainuddin Maidin sifatkan sebagai lebih pintar daripada Dr Mahathir semata-mata kerana dia enggan melepaskan kuasa.

Terima Kasih.

2. Anonymous6:48 pm

Bravo Najib DPM with balls! But I hope he has balls to face not only LKY but also negative influences in his life and our life.

3. Anonymous6:59 pm

Hidup Datuk Seri Najib! Jelas kenapa Datuk ialah "First Choice" ori Dr M. Tak gentar dan tak gelabah. Walaupun berhadapan dengan Lee Kuan Yew, Datuk menyuarakan apa yang di benak hati kita semua. Kaum Cina di Malaysia toksah risau. Kalau pemimpin-pemimpin MCA dan DAP tak berani bersuara, kita ada pemimpin Melayu yang tak akan membelakangkan mereka.

Tapi dah check dulu dengan Pak Lah ke Tuk Najib? Nanti budak-budak dia melenting pulak, how? Si Kali dan konco-konconya pulak nanti panas bontot disula dek tuan-tuan politik mereka di sana.

4. Anonymous7:22 pm

Brother Rocky's,

Apa yang saya bimbangkan bukan sahaja AAB akan offsidekan kenyataan Najib seperti selalu.

Contoh terbaik mengenai penghantara tentera malaysia di Lebanon, sudahlah motif menghantar tentera itu untuk melindungi negara yahudi dan memaksa Hisbullah untuk menerima semua arahan PBB.

Kiat di offsidekan apabila AAB tidak berani menentang keputusan Kofi Annan yang hanya membenarkan 360 orang sahaja tentera kita dihantar ke Lebanon.

Paling menyedihkan ialah 200 hanya akan jaga pengurusan dan buat kerja-kerja kerani, jadi hamba abdi tentera-tentera Eropah yang diketuai oleh Itali.

Paling best ialah 160 orang ialah tentera pasukan khas, sudah tentu untuk memaksa Hisbullah untuk melupuskan senjata dan akan jadi sasaran tentera Israel pada satu masa nanti.

Ini seperti yang dilakukan oleh bekas Raja Jordan, Raja Abdullah dalam perang Arab-Israel yang meletakkan tentera di sempadan negara itu hanya untuk dibunuh.

Salah kepada orang Melayu!Apakah sikap kita kepada Tun Dr. M

5. Rocky!

Yes! Like A Kadir Jasin, I am indeed proud of Najib to be able to come out with a much needed counter-attack on LKY uncalled and unnecessary and untrue statement on Malaysians of Chinese descent in our country. LKY, this bastard (use the word please Rocky if he wants to sue me I will go public), who appears to be more bold as the days go by trying to impose his superiority on the region had better be careful in the near future or perhaps senility dementia has seeped into his mush for a brain. He thinks his country's millitary arsenal and his country's close relationship with GW Bush, aka "El Diablo", can now make him another deputy sherrif of the region. I am surprise MCA and Gerakan and DAP leaderships did not come out to condemn LKY. Okay DAP I can understand, it was once called PAP, but for MCA and Gerakan, they are just hypocrites waiting for the time when Umno will disintegrate!
    Bravo Najib! How I wish other Umno leaders will come out to say the same!

6. Anonymous10:22 pm

Hidup Najib!

You got balls. Maruah kami patut diperlihara dari ancaman Singapura yang diketuai oleh Lee Kuan Yew.

7. Datuk Seri Najib is a "playing it safe" man, so when he came out to speak out, I took it as the scale now is tipping to Tun's side now.

Or may be it was just my wishful thinking!

8. Anonymous11:11 pm

Will Dato Najib's comment appear on the front page of the NST tomorrow?

Just wondering.

Jay

9. Anonymous11:53 pm

Pasquale,
    Malaysia don't care about socalled advance military arsenal that singapore have.It useless when the operator have no guts and brave.Singapore know that they don't have any proved fighter. That's why they pay the Gurkha to defend their country.In the last few weeks International convention in Singapore they hired the Gurkha as the guards because their very own people don't have the skills as elite force.Now they really know that even their master with superior arsenal can't eliminate a pocket of small resistance in Iraq.To add the salt to injury is their middle east mentor have been caught pants down after fighting with small freedom fighter in Lebanon. That's why Malaysian not to be fool by their arrogance attitude. They only want to hide their coward image.

10. Anonymous8:27 am

Bro rocky

Out of curiosity, I checked NST online (I dont buy the NST) to find out if it carried the story on the much-waited reply to LKY statement which was finally made by Dato Najib yesterday.

But I couldn’t find it.

Illlek. Nada. Tak der. Did I miss it?

Staronline carried the story: “ Lee’s comment ‘naughty’” and

Utusan online “Tidak wajar Kuan Yew dakwa Cina Malaysia dipinggir –Najib dimuka hadapan”

Did NST carry the story?

Jay

11. Anonymous8:31 am

pasquale et al,

Before we get so worked up and let the hatred of Singapore override rational thinking, let's analyze what LKY has said: "My neighbours both have problems with their Chinese. They are successful, they're hardworking and therefore they are systematically marginalised, even in education."

Now, which part of the comment is not true?

12. Anonymous9:12 am

Deal with Singapore only when it will benefit us. If not, just leave them be... don't even bother to take initiative to resolve issues with them...

In the status quo -
    CPF - what's the disadvantage to us?
    Airspace - do we lose anything?
    bridge - necesary?
    pasir - for what?
    water - don't sell anymore.. what untung for us?

please create a discussion forum on msia-spore relations .. for academic and intellectual discourse only...

13. Anonymous9:32 am

Firstly kudos for showing some balls to reply the comment but alas he only replied without giving fact to backup his rebute that LKY claims were inaccurate. Sadly a lot of my chinese friends actually agree to the comment from LKY. They feel that they are being 'abaikan' by current adminstrative and mainly agree with LKY because in Singapore the average Joe has the same oppurtunity with the next guy beside them regardless of race. I guess they have been frustrated because all their life they have to struggle with limited oppurtunity. Me being a 'bumi' have been enjoying all the privileges the goverment has given to me and sometimes I wonder why dont they have the same privilege too. I am far better off than them and thats why I understand why they agree with LKY. I agree we should defend our honour but maybe our leader should take time off to understand why LKY made such comment in first place so we can avoid such a thing again.

14. Anonymous9:36 am

Najib should have responded immediately but waited too long. Fact is in this new age, every second counts and Najib is late, too late for anything, the international forum has ended, it is just like taking the ball up and shoot it into goal mouth after the match is finish and the stadium is empty.

15. Anonymous10:00 am

True, true .. Chinese here marginalised.

Take Patrick Lim, for eg. He's marginalised and sent to Terengganu to be de facto chief minister.

The Chinese are marginalised and sent to Penang where they have governed compliant Malays like our PM who hails from there (aint he so compliant with his son and son-in-law?).

So marginalised are the Chinese in Malaysia that they end up with big profit margins as a result of NEP.

They own more than 60pc of our total wealth and their population is only about 35pc!

16. Anonymous10:06 am

Najib said: "Malaysia does not practise a policy of blocking opportunities for non-bumiputras to progress further,"

Yes, unfortunately the NEP policy is.

17. Rocky!
    Wile I am happy the NST came out with the story on Najib on page four today, but I am disapointed the importance of the story was being lessened by another story on the same page of a man jailed for 33 years for rape. This is a standard Singapore agents' operative on how to drown an important story. There was no necessity to put the rape story with a big picture of the rapist on the same page as story of such significant (could have use other story to fill in that page) . This is how it works: Kali get a call or SMS from his S'pore handler and he then called his subordinate Brendan and both concocted a page to lessen the importance of Najib's comment. This is an old trick they taught you on Journalism 101 at any Western universities . The term that we are looking for and that Malay educated Information Minister Zam was quoted anbd had used as saying recently was: "more than one way to skin a cat". While Zam may not understand what it means, Kali and Brendan do when they "kill" Najib's statement on page four today. Also on the front page under the pix of Najib and LKY, there was no necessity to repeat what LKY had said. This is just like apologising for the cartoon strip belittling Islam, when NST apologised it printed the cartoon again, same old tricks and Morons in Malaysia still clueless! Wake up! and sack Brendan, and Rajan Moses, and dislodge Kali as deputy chairman of NST!

P.S.

I could not find the same story on the NST online!

18. Finally.....
    better late than never..

19. Anonymous10:40 am

Sdra Rocky,

Cheekynya NST dalam kolum Under most popular search terms pada page ini. tak tau depa ni sengajakan ke tidak.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Monday/Columns/20060918075619/Article/index_html

20. Anonymous10:41 am

Why did Dato Najib take such a long time to respond?

Perhaps he wanted to weigh the pros & cons of coming out with a respond to LKY's statement and the effect it would have on his political future in view of the present scenario in Umno & in the country.

You knowlah how Pak Lah is coddling up to Singapore & how our foreign policy has changed to let's-play-golf-and-I-slap-yr-back diplomacy.

Wrong move & wrong statement by Najib could be detrimental to his political future.

Hani

21. Anonymous10:44 am

You people are so skewed!!

Reading the comments here really shocked me! I think this is what MOST of you people THINKS.

Ask yourself if what Lee Kuan Yew said isn't true!

22. Anonymous11:16 am

Although Lee's comment was unnecessary, it is true.

23. Several posters lament the fact that Najib took a while to respond to LKY's remarks.

He probably was not aware of what LKY actually said (and I was told he was given a print out of the report on LKY's statement by one of the reporters yesterday).

We must remember, very few papers carried the Reuters story (which NST somehow decided to play up prominently today, as poited out by PASQUALE) and NONE of these newspapers cared to analyse the disparaging remarks made by Kuan Yew and NONE of them had to balls to initiate a debate.

There are two reasons for this:

1/ many editors in this country are sympathetic towards the Singapore government. Key ones, including Kalimullah, Ho Kay Tat and Brendan, used to serve the Singapore government's newspapers (they may not just be sympathetic but subservient as well. Ho Kay Tat, for example, could be critical of LKY at his own peril, or, rather, at the risk of losing the printing permit of the lucrative Edge Singapore).

Many others , like Hisham Aun and Manja, have to play it safe or suck up to the key editors because their livelihood depends on these people

2/ the prime minister himself has shown on many occasions that he wants to be seen as friendly, kind, accomodating, brotherly, generous, and lovely where Singapore govt is concerned. pak lah does not tolerate unkindness towards singapore. the crooked bridge issue is just one instance but by far the clearest sign that he is pro-singapore or fears taking them on. Pantai is another instance and, of course, JSC is one big sign of love, sealed with a kiss, to Temasek.

The PM's stand on Singapore would have greatly influenced editors' decision not to play up the LKY remarks. They do not fear incurring the wrath of LKY or the Singapore govt, they fear they'd rile Abdullah if they were to alert Malaysians, especially the Malaysian Chinese, of what LKY think of them.

24. Anonymous11:46 am

Sdr, PakLah akan pujukrayu LKY bila dia balik nanti. Najib mungkin kena tukar potfolio atas permintaan LKY; lagipun lepas military coup di Siam, tak manis kalau Najib masih lagi berkuasa di Mindef.

25. Anonymous11:55 am

Dan saya menanti dengan penuh debar kenyataan dari 3 maknusia:

Pencinta Singapura, Sai-yid Haqmid Albar;

Pendekkah Nazri Aziz yang hobinya bercelupar mulut dgn orang tua (atas 80 thn macam LKY lagi baik); dan

Kekasih LKY, Zainuddin Maidin.

26. Anonymous12:11 pm

oi kroni2u! lu mana pergi sekolah ane, itu chinese school ka, taylors college ka, atau universiti cina TAR?

mana ada "10th generation chinese" in malaysia, macha!?!

paling kuat pun 3rd generation lah.

dan kalu u mau itu pribumi status, i advice u to go take air asia and migrate to indonesia.

i pay for your one-way fare, plus one nasi lemak and mamak teh at the LCC!

mau tipu lain orang cari lah.

27. Anonymous12:20 pm

I'm a chinese but not taken by the comment by Lee as it is a fact we cannot change for now.

I hope you all know it was an attempt to stir racial issues in this country by Lee, knowing that if our inter-racial relationship is un-stable, it will directly benefit Singapore economically.

Lee said he doesn't want Singapore to be like the chinese counterpart in Malaysia. I think he would be more than happy to see Malaysia end up like Indonesia.

On Najib's response, it is fine to protect the country's reputation, but want to deny also, deny smarter a bit so people won't notice you are denying-lah. That was the kind of response Lee wanted exactly so that we people will fight internally.

That comment and response was unecessary as it is an open fact. What Najib need to do is convince the public we will be okay after 2020, make that commitment.

28. Anonymous12:34 pm

My great former PM said Malaysia and Indonesia marginalised their Chinese citizens?

What does he call what he had done to us Malays in Singapore?

Can Datuk Seri Najib tell LKY what Singapore has done to the pribumis of Singapura?

29. Anonymous12:47 pm

The million dollar question remains: Which part of his statement is untrue?

You have to realise that in this globalised economy, policies such as the NEP is not going to help malaysian citizens stay rooted to their country.

Already i see many of my malaysian friends, and not just the chinese, taking up citizenship here even at the cost of serving two years in NS.

The malays in Singapore are given free education till tertiary level, their economic development and standards of living on par with the nation's; indeed i see many malays doing far better than me in school(lol).

Mostly importantly, race is very much; in most quarters, not as issue in our country anymore.

My best friend, Fariz Adam, is a malay-muslim, and we keep a mattress at my place for him, his family and I drove up to KL to visit this ghost muesum.

I'm not trying to paint an over-idealistic picture of racial harmony here, but most quarrels here are over petty dispute with nothing to do with race.

Everyone goes to school, say the same pledge, kick the asses of rival schools in soccer teams, share a common enmity towards COs in our two years in the army, fighting shoulder-to-shoulder "regardless of language, race, or religion."

We can make racial jokes with each other and yet not feel offended. Why? Because it is a non-issue.

Griping, accusing and pointing fingers is not going to help matters; instead it entrenches the races deeping in the own holes.
    To what purposes does it serve?

There has been a lot of hype in this article over the "military arsenal" of Singapore. Yet Singapore's pre-emptive stragedy, should an armed conflict breaks out, relies very much on the passiveness of the malaysian chinese and indians to not provide any resistance so as to push towards Desaru and hold fort there.

And someone being treated like a second-class citizen is not very likely to bear arms for his country, much less to die for her.

You can flame what i've just said as self-righteous posturing, or you can open your eyes, your ears, go beyond inflammatory blogs, and politicians who play the race card to divert from the bigger issues at hand.

If not, Malaysia Boleh may one day be Malaysia Ta Boleh instead.

"A house divided against itself cannot stand."

P.S: A Singaporean Malay talking about living in Malaysia.

http://www.mrbrownshow.com/?p=263
    http://www.mrbrownshow.com/?p=265

30. Rocky!

At the risk of again being chastised by Malaysians, let me just say this again!
    Will Lee Kuan Yew ever allow his island republic to be given back to the Malays, mainly of Javanese, Bawean and Minangkabau stock. Should Australia be given back to the Aborignes, can Canada and the United States be given back to the native Indians, will Taiwan give back this island republic to the descendent of the Malays (singer Ah Mei is of a Malay stock) who were massacred when Kuomintang under Sun Yat Sin flee to this island from mainland China after being chased by the Communist? Should the island of Okinawa in Japan also be given to the Malayo-Polenesian group also massacred en masse by the Japanese when took colonised it, should New Zealand be given back to the Maori. The answer to the all of the above is NO WAY JOSE!
    In a matter of "real politik" the dominant will remains THAT, the vanquished will have to put with the whims and fancies of the victors. Singapore will forever institutionalised discrimination againsts the Malays, any general or high ranking oficers in the SAF? Nooo! Except for token junior ministers and with a Malay face on its currency, Singapore is one of the most racist regime I have ever come across!
    Back to us, well the Chinese housing developers are always unwilling to accomodate Malay buyers, Chinese are always given the preferential treatment. While Malay developers will bend over backwards to sell to Chinese. Back here it is a known fact that the Chinese controlled the country's real economy, marry Malay women, there is no apartheid here. Yes,indeed Malaysian-Chinese are hard working and succesful! You people, Lee Kuan Yew included, want to know why the Chinese are so thriving in Malaysia economicaly compared to others? Its because our system does not wish to discriminate even though we are Tuan Rumah, or man of the house, we have always treated everyone as our "guest" with respect and with all the allowable rights bestowed on them. One thing though, that must always be remembered at all cost! Before the Chinese and the Indians were brought into the Federation of Malaya, or Persekutuan TANAH MELAYU, there already exist a Malay Kingdom with a proper system of government here. So a long as that is understood no chauvinistic Malaysians should make any further disparaging remarks about ethnic superiority, there is no such thing! But, always remember that the Malays Kingdom was already here before others were allowed to call this Malaya, now Malaysia, their homes. Lets remember this is our home with proper rules and regulations. Lee Kuan Yew, yew and tour stooge and spies can go to hell! You know what Umno should rule Penang, what the heck! Umno should reinstate the Malacca sultanate and we can do it! Someone in this country must teach Singapore some lesson it wil not forget! Come on Melayu dalam Umno bangun lah kamu semua dan sedarkan kan diri kamu semua bahawa dengan tiada maruah duit kamu itu pun tak laku! Money alone cannot guarantee you Morons to join any club! Wake up and restore our dignity!

P.S. Where is MCA and Gerakan voices in condemning LKY!I dont expect DAP (formerly PAP) to do it.

Peace be on us Malaysians!

31. Anonymous1:08 pm

Contrary to popular belief, malays here are granted to some bumiputra rights.

If proven as unable to afford education, it is subsidised up till tertiary level.

Land for building mosques, exobitant here, are sold at a heavily subsidised rate.

I'm sure the malays are more than capable enough, as most (but not all) in Singapore so as to not stake their special privileges based on the fact that their great-grandfather built a kelong around here a hundred years ago.

Just like most (but not all) of the chinese in Singapore know better than bully their way through based on numerical superiority.

There are a few, however, who are just sore that life didnt turn out the way they thought it should be. So they turn what is actually a social issue into a racial one.

Mutual respect and a little compromise can go a long way sometimes. After all, don't you give in to your brothers and sisters over unimportant issues as well?

32. Rocky!

This is to benjamin who asked what has Singapore done to its pri-bumis!
    Well, Benjamin, someone with the tenacity and strength should do a dissertation on pri-bumis in Taiwan, in Okinawa and many more part of the Malay archipelago where all of these pri-bumis were ethnically cleansed as being done in Taiwan, Okinawa and now a question being asked about what has happened to the pri-bumis in Singapura!

"My great former PM said Malaysia and Indonesia marginalised their Chinese citizens?What does he call what he had done to us Malays in Singapore?": quote by benjamin on who did in the pri-bumis in S'pore.

33. Anonymous1:41 pm

No matter what, I want a peaceful life. Watever arguments on races, on anything, just stay off from my life.

NO MATTER HOW GOOD WE/YOU ARE, it's none of my business and none of your business as well, as you ARE NOT AAB, KJ, NJ, LKY, BUSH. You may yell at me that they represent us as they are our/your head of country.

Use a bit of logical sense, wat for talkin abt others while not doing your best in improving current situation? They are the one who are benefiting from making a hoo-ha of us, making jokes abt us, treating us like a moron, dude, democracy is just a juggling game, true democracy does not exist in my opinion.

Talking abt national pride, can u feed yourself with that alone?

34. Rocky!

A passage from a Singaporean benjamin kwan posting, very scary:

"There has been a lot of hype in this article over the "military arsenal" of Singapore. Yet Singapore's pre-emptive stragedy, should an armed conflict breaks out, relies very much on the passiveness of the malaysian chinese and indians to not provide any resistance so as to push towards Desaru and hold fort there."

THis confirm my suspicioun! LKY can say all these on the assumption and belief that Malaysian Chinese and Indians are passive and will allow SAF to invade and just march through Malaysia to Desaru and hold fort!

Melayu bersatu lah jika tidak kamu akan senasib dengan keturunan Ah Mei a "Malay aboriginal people from Taiwan."

35. Anonymous2:09 pm

I am sorry -- what LKY said is untrue. a sweeping statement. an unfair statement.
    it is like saying that Singapore Malays are marginalised, full stop.
    LKY said: "My neighbours both have problems with their Chinese. They are successful, they're hardworking and therefore they are systematically marginalised, even in education."
    First -- the situation in Malaysia and Indonesia is different.
    Malaysia does have problems with Chinese? Yes. And no. Because we have problems with our own Malays, Indians etc.. what a simplistic statement. They're successful (true), hardworking (true) and they are systematically marginalised, even in education (nor true).

and benjamin --
    you are no different from a lot of us Malaysians. my good friends are of all races. we make racial jokes too, and laugh at them. but we dont overstep the line. so, yes we discuss racialism. i think it is healthy. some people get carried away. some people ARE racist. that's a fact. so dont give us that holier-thn-thou sentiment. PUH-LEEEZ.
    in singapore, you are not allowed a voice. much less to discuss race. Can you imagine someone saying Malays in Singapore are marginalised. Take a survey and you can see. Maybe yes, maybe no. Oh...and how many opposition parties are there in Singapore? you made a bankrupt out of an opposition poltician.

36. Anonymous2:19 pm

Marginalised? A country that has produced Lim Goh Tong, Ling Liong Sik, Lee Boon Siew, Patrick Lim, Robert kuok, Nissan's Tan, Lee Rubber, Vincent Tan! Yeo Tiong Lay, Francis Yeoh, and many more Chinese tycoons couldn't have pratised an economic policy that marginalised them.. Don't fart through your mouth please,

37. Anonymous2:20 pm

late or not, but LKY has made an unsavoury impact, nontheless.

Now we Malaysian starts counting the bad things that happened in Malaysia. The Malays will start saying that although with such a smaller percentage of Malaysian Chinese in Malaysia, they are in control of the nation's economy.

The Chinese and Indians will start saying, they still have to pay more for housing loans, they still have to face quota system (eh I thought they already use meritriokasi) to gain entry to unis, quota in other things.

While we bicker around and starts hurting pur friends from other races in the process, other people will start clapping and laughing on our stupidity.

I'm myself a Malay. Was brought up in a kampung before I was forced to lived in the city. But even when I was staying in a rural kampung 30 minutes away from the nearest city, I never think that I should look at my friends from different races differently.

If the Malays want to live well like the Chinese, they should start working harder. They should stop asking for 'charity' from the government.

If the Chinese and the Indians don't want to be marginalised, they should help nudge their Malay friends to work harder like them so that in the future, we don't need the 'keistimewaan Bumiputera (or Malays)' to make the Malays stand on the same level with them.

But we choose to counts the bad side of other race, well, don't argue if things gets out of hand.

38. Anonymous2:55 pm

Oh great and mighty Harry Lee how your precious Tamesek has lost $21 billion. Nice play for diverting the "malu" by playing the race card.

--Omega Lee--

39. Anonymous3:39 pm

Why not migrate to other countries if you feel you're marginalised?

Don't harp on being second class citizens when you've usurped all the material wealth in this country, and along the way become so arrogant that you forget your ancesors were once illegal immigrants in this country.

If you feel being a Malaysian is such a big burden, you are most welcome to LEAVE......and don't come back.

40. Anonymous4:12 pm

Good job of defending our country honour. Now can go on the next stage and analyze the situation. I am a bumi but not a typical bumi as I am a Sabahan. Got it? I was oblivious by all my privileges till I started working. Most collegues are chinese and yes there are very educated aas that is the reason they work in a MNC. MNC do not choose they worker by race but by ability so they make a good sample research. They moan bout the lack of money evey month especially since the oil hike and all(dont 4get DPM as us to change our lifestyle). Being annoyed I ask them whats is the big deal I earn much less but I still get by fine. Then it hit me, they were not blessed with scholarship which still bemuse me everytime I think why I was awarded since I know a lot more ppl are smarter but just didnt get it. They had to settle for PTPTN. Then on top of that they have to buy houses a tad bit more than me. I admit I felt special but then logic reasoning hits me, why am I given such a advantage. I aint no royalty so why call me a putera? I know I owe much to this privilege but I some time wonfer why I deserve it. I started to think this way when i realise all this advantage was given not earn to me. So I under stand how my friends feels. The system has been abuse and yes all of you cannot say non-bumis are not marginalised. This is obvious, the system is so flawed then even the bumis are marginalised. It does feel ashamed to admit I am a bumiputera sometime cause i sure aint no putera and I dont think I deserve this special rights anyway. There should be a reform to who has the special privilege (the poor, disable).

41. Anonymous4:13 pm

Good job of defending our country honour. Now can go on the next stage and analyze the situation. I am a bumi but not a typical bumi as I am a Sabahan. Got it? I was oblivious by all my privileges till I started working. Most collegues are chinese and yes there are very educated aas that is the reason they work in a MNC. MNC do not choose they worker by race but by ability so they make a good sample research. They moan bout the lack of money evey month especially since the oil hike and all(dont 4get DPM as us to change our lifestyle). Being annoyed I ask them whats is the big deal I earn much less but I still get by fine. Then it hit me, they were not blessed with scholarship which still bemuse me everytime I think why I was awarded since I know a lot more ppl are smarter but just didnt get it. They had to settle for PTPTN. Then on top of that they have to buy houses a tad bit more than me. I admit I felt special but then logic reasoning hits me, why am I given such a advantage. I aint no royalty so why call me a putera? I know I owe much to this privilege but I some time wonfer why I deserve it. I started to think this way when i realise all this advantage was given not earn to me. So I under stand how my friends feels. The system has been abuse and yes all of you cannot say non-bumis are not marginalised. This is obvious, the system is so flawed then even the bumis are marginalised. It does feel ashamed to admit I am a bumiputera sometime cause i sure aint no putera and I dont think I deserve this special rights anyway. There should be a reform to who has the special privilege (the poor, disable).

42. Anonymous4:16 pm

BRAVO LKY. One word from your dirty mouth, disharmony is caused in Malaysia.

I plead with my fellow Malaysians -- Melayu, Iban, Kadazan, Cina, India, Punjabi and all and sundry -- PLEASE do not fall into the trap set by this chauvistic man.

This man put his own best friends in jail. He betrayed his compatriots. He collaborated with the British.

He would not open Singapore's door to Malaysian Chinese. He distrusts Malaysian Chinese because Malaysian Chinese are not kiasu like Hongkies and Taiwanese that are now migrating to Singapore.

He is using them to them to purify Singapore Chinese blood and to fight Chinese in Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailan.

But LKY wouldn't mind accepting and hosting some of the most corrupt Chinese cronies of Suharto because they brought billions of dollars of Indonesia's wealth and assets to his banks.

Now with this wealth LKY is unsing Temasek and other Singapore GLCs to gobble up Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand.

LKY is the neo-colonialist of Asia. Thank God the Thais are realising this. They stopped Thaksin from selling their beloved nation to Singapore. They kicked him out.

Rockybru, I plead with you. Do not allow LKY to use your blog to poison our minds. He wants us to fight each other so that more of our money and assets flow to his blood-sucking banking republic.

43. Anonymous5:17 pm

"If I have to shoot 200,000 students to save China from another 100 years of disorder, so be it."
    - Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew evoking the ghost of Deng Xiaoping whilst endorsing the Tiananmen Square massacre, Straits Times, Aug 17, 2004

44. Anonymous5:33 pm

CANMAN,

Be careful what you wish for brudder. If all the Non Bumis leave, you'll be lucky to have ikan kembong and rice for every meal.

45. Anonymous5:33 pm

I wonder how our bumi brethren can't bear to face the truth.

There's obvious systemic discrimination at work in our country. Try enforcing 30% ownerships, uni quotas and licensing bans in other democratic nations. Its no where near imaginable, it'll never happen in a zillion years.

Someone has to commend LKY for his truthful opinions. That'll be me!

Someone here asks the marginalised to leave. Well, I am sure they all hope to if the situation gets worse. But before we do that, we sincerely hope that any rift can be mended and together we can build a better nation.

46. Anonymous5:41 pm

anak tamil said...

mana ada "10th generation chinese" in malaysia, macha!?!

Don't bite on exact words. We need to see the whole picture.

Don't bite on what LKY said, explore first the situation prevalent in our country but systemicly and conveniently brushed away, under the guise of racial sensitivity.

47. Anonymous5:55 pm

to pasquale: You're ranting.

to asiseeit: "The best way to refute a lie is to prove it, so is proving the truth."
    Well said.

to anakmalaysia: what is also a fact is that the awareness of race and religion, and the heightened level of sensitivities in malaysia is one of the consequences of communual politics.

You said we're not so different in terms of racial harmony. I disagree. Anyone would have to be wearing Darth Vader's costume to not feel the tension.

What is in effect a social issue becomes a race one, and while the politicians exploits this to climb the ranks, who suffers? the rakyat.

"you are not allowed a voice. much less to discuss race. Can you imagine someone saying Malays in Singapore are marginalised. Take a survey and you can see. Maybe yes, maybe no. Oh...and how many opposition parties are there in Singapore? you made a bankrupt out of an opposition poltician."

you'll be surprised at the level of dissertion and debate that goes on around here. What is not accepted, however, is individuals making soundbites and cheap potshots at other races.

Malays marginalised? Nope. They may have had a late start in terms of academic achievement and standards of living, but they're now on par with the rest of the other races, without special crutches. As jln said: "If the Chinese and the Indians don't want to be marginalised, they should help nudge their Malay friends to work harder like them so that in the future, we don't need the 'keistimewaan Bumiputera (or Malays)' to make the Malays stand on the same level with them." Enough said.

The malays here don't have a voice? well two-thirds of the malays are voting for the PAP instead of PKMS(formerly known as UMNO). They are not voting for a party that champions malay rights?
    They must be bloody stupid, or they have a really good reason for doing so.

You're right, the bankruptcy of a opposition leader is nothing to shout about. But let's not digress shall we?

no opposition parties?
    well i havent seen anyone being forced with a gun to their heads forcing them to vote for the ruling party yet.

Minorities in Singapore do have some problems selling their houses. But thats because EVERY block in a housing estate must have minorities equal to their proportion of the population. This is to prevent the ghetto-ing of housing estate. Not every fair nor democratic, but it sure does alot for racial intergration.

to canman: LMAO. You know, its ok to be a malay nationalist if your country is racially homogenous, like Japan. But it is not. And thus a malay nationalist is an oxymoron, if your overtly concerned with championing malay rights; then i dont think it helps in nation-building. Like it or not,they are here. Illegal immigrants? They have a right to be there just as much as you. Leave? Sure those who can; without business stakes in m'sia, already have.

The emperor is naked, yet nobody is ready to admit it.

" A house divided against itself cannot stand."

48. Anonymous6:07 pm

Let's do an analysia;

Quote Harry said:

"My neighbours both have problems with their Chinese. They are successful, they're hardworking and therefore they are systematically marginalised, even in education."

"And they want Spore, to put it simply, to be like their Chinese, compliant. So every time we say 'no' to some scheme to knock down the Causeway and build a bridge, he says 'Oh, you are not cooperative'. You are only thinking of yourself."

Quote Najib said:

"Malaysia did not marginalise ethnic Chinese or Indians in favour of majority ethnic Malays, who are known as bumiputras (sons of the soil)."
    "Malaysia does not practise a policy of blocking opportunities for non-bumiputras to progress further," he said. "

One can see how smart that Harry put his words across. The statement is sharp & non-invasive, cuts many ways.

Most of all NO names have been mentioned.

Only the pepper eater will feel the heat when this statement is heard. The pepper eater cannot raise any objections as such action will prove that the statement is true!

Coming from someone whom I considered partial senile when he proposed the graduate parent policy some years back this man has proved once again he still has a lot of mileages to go.

Najib had fallen into the trap by jumping to defend M’sia.

Has M’sia been named? No, zilch! - so why the reply?

In diplomacy 101 unless one is clearly named you cannot assumes the implied is you! Even you know deep down you are the guilty party.

By jumping to defend M’sia it directly telling the world that what Harry mentioned are true in M’sia - at least. This has negate the original purpose of defending M’sia’s good name!

I suppose Najib has been ill-advised by his ‘advisors’. & I don’t think AAB will do better in this case. Hmmm…… TDM might be a different fish…..

So this is the case of a sharp & roaming eagle - a political giant soaring over the sky vs a half-pasted-six lemming – a political pygmy – running mad under the coconut shell.

49. Anonymous6:18 pm

Well rocky's bru, it seems like you were a former journalist. Then they must have taught you in journalism school 101 on how to frame an issue to manipulate the targeted audience.

Nevertheless, I'm glad you censor this blog with only a light touch. (i hope?)

50. Anonymous6:45 pm

I don't understand why some would regards our chinese and indian friends as illegal migrants? I mean if we are to take that coming here without proper identifications, the chinese and the indians already here since they know how to sail!

And to that affect, should we also call the malays illegal migrants? since the origins is from sumatra, java. the truely ingenious here would be the semai and orang asli.

I think it's time for the Malays to learn not to be dependent of the government.

Mana maruahnya kalau diri sendiri pun tidak terbela? Most Malays businessmen, irregardless how big or how small their business, still hanging to the government to give them more business, more contracts. Never they want to look out for other business.

Most would say, ah the private companies only want non Malays, which is not totally true. If you are competent enough, they will hire you.

Lama mana pun those companies nak memilih bulu. Kalau buat kerja selesai dan berkualiti, lambat laun ada rezeki.

51. Anonymous8:50 pm

22 September, 2006 15:48 PM

Gerakan Nafi Cina Malaysia "Pak Turut"

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/bm/news.php?id=221321

KUALA LUMPUR, 22 Sept (Bernama) -- Masyarakat Cina di Malaysia tidak dipinggirkan atau menjadi "pak turut" seperti yang didakwa Menteri Mentor Singapura Lee Kuan Yew, kata Timbalan Presiden Gerakan Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon.

Beliau berkata masyarakat Cina di negara ini sebaliknya diberi peluang untuk turut serta dalam pentadbiran negara dan diberi ruang bersama kaum Melayu dan India untuk menyuarakan pandangan dan perasaan mereka mengenai pelbagai isu.

"Masyarakat Cina selain pemimpin pembangkang, pemimpin komuniti dan pemimpin politik dalam Barisan Nasional (BN) pun sering mengemukakan pandangan kami melalui Kabinet, Parlimen, forum dan saluran lain," kata Dr Koh yang juga Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang kepada pemberita selepas majlis pelancaran Universiti Terbuka Wawasan di sini hari Jumaat.

Universiti itu dirasmikan oleh Menteri Pengajian Tinggi Datuk Mustapa Mohamed di Menara PGRM di sini.

Dr Koh berkata demikian ketika diminta mengulas laporan media mengenai kenyataan Lee di Singapura Jumaat lepas yang menyentuh layanan Malaysia dan Indonesia terhadap kaum Cina di kedua-dua negara.

Lee dalam laporan itu dipetik sebagai berkata orang Cina di Malaysia dan Indonesia "dipinggirkan secara sistematik".

Dr Koh berkata cabaran yang dihadapi pemimpin negara adalah lebih besar berbanding yang dihadapi di Singapura kerana Malaysia terdiri daripada pelbagai kaum dengan kedudukan ekonomi yang berbeza.

"Di Malaysia kita ini berbilang kaum, berbilang bangsa, (dan kita mempunyai)kawasan yang lebih luas, bandar yang pesat membangun, tetapi kawasan luar bandar termasuk di Sabah dan Sarawak masih mundur lagi dengan masalah pengangkutan dan komunikasi.

"Oleh itu amatlah penting kita lebih fokus untuk membangunkan negara ini supaya tidak ada kumpulan yang merasa terpinggir," katanya.

Sementara itu, Presiden Gerakan Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik berkata kenyataan Lee adalah tidak benar.

"Beliau silap, meneliti perkara di luar konteks. Singapura adalah berbeza daripada Malaysia," katanya.

-- BERNAMA

52. Anonymous9:06 pm

anak tamil.... lu ala sekolah tak?? Mana sekolah??

Apasal tarak 10th generation Chinese in Malehsia, macha??

Saya 4th generation sulah. Mana ala paling kuat 3rd generation saja??

Olang Cina di Kelantan dan Melaka sulah berapa lama tinggal??

Lu mana punya olang?? Orang Indon kah??

Mau tipu lain orang cari lah.

53. Anonymous9:50 pm

To Mr Kwan: "you'll be surprised at the level of dissertion and debate... What is not accepted, however, is individuals making soundbites and cheap potshots at other races"

LOL what a joke. I remember a certain someone using a ridiculous racist analogy of people surviving some kind of unnamed disease based on their ethnicity (strangely enough, ethnicities not from the region are not included). Unfortunately that person, Harry Lee, is exempt from all criticism from all "patriotic" Singaporean (Chinese) much like Castro in his Cuba. And like it or not, Harry is using the race card to stir up tension. You think he really cares about the Malaysian Chinese (CPF for East Malaysian Chinese)?

Singapore is not so much as a bloodsucking republic as an irritant mosquito that managed at various times to anger and inflame the people and governments of Taiwan, China, USA, Malaysia, Australia and need I go on. And add the Thais to the list. Of course Senior Minister Harry wishes that all the Chinese can be as compliant as his own island's Chinese so as to blow their money on more idiotic state ventures.

I believe that the Malaysian people can resolve their problems on their own. If Malaysians want to pledge their allegiance to Harry's island republic its their perogative. But if they think that the island has plenty of opportunites awaiting them, they will soon find out that political allegiances matter more than the skin deep issue of race.

--Omega Lee--

54. from kl,
    thank you for the alert. i have posted it.

55. Anonymous12:30 am

Interesting articles for all LKY's admirers & fans.

All in the LEE Family
    http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Corruption/singcorruption.html

The Big Cover-Up
    http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Corruption/singcorruption2.html

56. Anonymous1:17 am

Aiyah jbhlee, whatlah you.

Fair only if you have thousands more of Lim Goh Tongs, Francis Yeohs, Loh Boon Siews and even Ananda Krishnans!

Yang ada sekarang tak a cukup ke?

57. Anonymous2:41 am

That Najib the DPM gave a reply to LKY shows some guts actually. Not guts against LKY but more to the PM. Najib could very well be reprimanded for making that statement, and be accused of speaking out of turn. I don't know what the PM will say, or he might choose to adopt his infamous "elegant silence" stance on this issue. After all the hype that Malaysia wants to be warm and friendly, even cuddly, with Singapore, this doesn't seem to be shared by Mentor Minister LKY. LKY is one person who'll say his piece without mincing his words. It doesn't help when our own PM choose to favour Spore over the bridge issue and god knows what else. Are we in for some Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang future bru?

58. Anonymous8:19 am

A few Lim Goh Tongs and Vincent Tans are definitely not enough.

If the majority are not being LIMITED, there would be thousands more! And because they're being LIMITED, there are now MILLIONS struggling in their lives!!

And you say, we're being unreasonable. WTF!

59. Anonymous9:12 am

See also All in the LEE Family
    CORRUPTION, SINGAPORE-STYLE
    Part III

http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Corruption/corrupt3.html

60. Anonymous11:39 am

Oi Mat Cemerlang Khairy Jamaluddin! Apasal diam macam Pak Mentua awak bila si Kuan Yu cakap pasal China terpinggir? Saya ingat awak wira Boria Melayu Terpinggir Pulau Pinang? Si Tsu Koon pun berani bukak mulut. Ini mesti ada udang sebalik batu! Atau ada hutang dengan si Kuan Yu? Tulah, lain kali nak main isu bangsa, check dengan boss awak dulu! Jangan pandai pandai pasal Kuan Yu tu Oxbridge berdekad sebelum you.

61. Anonymous12:44 pm

Woi taiko

WTF. Go & fly kite! :)

62. Anonymous12:47 pm

I like what Tun M responded to LKY. But its only worth on bottom collum; page 10 of THE STAR. Instead of 'kutuk balik' him, Tun M give him very good suggestion how to manage his country. SET UP AN INDEPENDENT BODY TO LOOK INTO WHY MALAY IN SINGAPORE HAS BEEN MARGINALISED. GOOd one Tun M. You are my true hero. What say Pak Lah????

63. Anonymous1:13 pm

Of course it was about time somebody spoke against that tyranical idiot, LKY, who has Hitler-like leanings and beliefs (of superior genes, etc.). As a matter of fact, Tun Dr M's refutation was far better than that of Najib. True, LKY has succeeded in a way by provoking some racial comments (including on your blog), but it will not last. Chinese will say they are, but they actually are NOT marginalized in Malaysia. In Australia, probably yes. In Indonesia, certainly not, given their small numbers anyway. Maybe after Thaksin's failure, LKY will claim that Thailand (since the coup leader is a nominal Muslim) also marginalises its Chinese.
    In Malaysia, Chinese initiated "rent" economy, which exposes and embarasses Malays (as rent orbribe seekers), but in actual fact mainly enriches Chinese. LKY, your first grandchild is a Mongoloid, your first daughter-in-law committed suicide, keep your mouth shut if you want your disasters to stop!

64. Anonymous1:17 pm

What say Pak Lah????

-----------------------------

Your guess is as good as mine.

He is still warming up. Got to give him time to think.

Gosh, where IS he now?

pemerhati

65. Anonymous1:25 pm

Anonymous said...

LKY, your first grandchild is a Mongoloid, your first daughter-in-law committed suicide, keep your mouth shut if you want your disasters to stop!
    ===================================

I hope more disasters will fall on you...you dictator!

Melayu Singapura

66. Anonymous2:38 pm

Ok read the article below, then tell me if LKY aint a racist.

“Despite official denials there can be little doubt that there is an unofficial pro-Chinese bias in Singapore, and that in spite of the structures of "meritocracy" and sometimes because of them, the Malay minority in particular has suffered structural discrimination. Even a cursory survey of recent history confirms this impression”

Lee Kuan Yew: Race, Culture and Genes by Michael D. Barr, Department of History, University of Queensland, Journal of Contemporary Asia v29, n2 (1999)

http://www.sfdonline.org/Link%20Pages/Link%20Folders/Human%20Rights/barr2.html

67. Anonymous3:15 pm

Every so often LKY uses us and other in the region as a bogeyman to shore up support to ensure that Singaporeans protect the Lee Family business.

Singapore faces a number of key challenges:

1. The IMF conference was a PR disaster for Singapore.

2. The Thai Coup will open up a can of worms on how the Temasek - Shin Corp deal was done. The Thais are not happy and will probably rescind it.

3. The Lee family are suing a number of publications for libel.

4. There is a brain drain of top talent to Australia, NZ. Canada and Europe. This has meant importing talent which has not gone down well with the local population. There has also been negative population growth - which is affecting talent renewal and the will aslo affect National Service.

Now to counter this Singapore always uses external threats to instill compliance in the population.

The country is run by the Lee family - who are in key positions in govt and the GLCs. This is nepotism and ensures the Lee family hold on power.

Now we can praise how efficient and well run the country is - but it is still in essence a dictatorship whihc does not tolerate dissent or alternative thought.

For example if we replicated Malaysia Today in Singapore and made the same comments we make here about the PAP & LKY I can guarantee all of us would either be in jail or would be sued until we were bankrupt.

If you believe the ends justify the means - then fine - we can bring back Tun and let him run Malaysia like he did as a dictatorship.

I have issues with this govt and with our processes - but I am glad we are here and not Singapore - as we can still openly use blogging to express thoughts and ideas and whack the government.

We still have an opposition - we just need them to be more effective.

Lets focus on what we need to do to make Malaysia an even better place - and ignore LKY's rants and shit stirring.

from reader scout72 at Malaysia-Today.

68. Anonymous3:57 pm

Please reproduce Mahathir's attack on LKY as reported by Malaysiakini.

And to think many of us said Najib had balls. His response is tame compared to old man Mahathir. The old man still is the one with the real balls!

And as for the rest of the Cabinet, esp the Foreign Minster, they are eunuchs!!

69. Anonymous7:37 pm

Curious said...
    Please reproduce Mahathir's attack on LKY as reported by Malaysiakini
    ==================================
    Here it is.

Mahathir: LKY 'arrogant and not very clever'

Former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad rained criticism on Singapore’s Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, whom he said has been marginalised by the Chinese around the world.

Mahathir, who shared anything but a rosy relationship with the former Singapore premier during his 22-year tenure, described Lee as “arrogant and not very clever”.

According to Bernama, he was responding to Lee’s recent remark that the Chinese in Malaysia and Indonesia had been systematically marginalised.

The 81-year-old former premier said the 84-year-old statesman had no respect for his neighbours.

“He (Lee) thinks he is strong, he has become arrogant and he does not bother about his neighbours. That is why he raised the issue (of marginalisation) knowing it is a sensitive issue,” he told reporters after a function in Terengganu yesterday.

Singapore’s former premier ruffled feathers when he claimed that Malaysia and Indonesia had problems with the Chinese because the community was successful through hard work.

Malays in Singapore

Continuing his attack, Mahathir said Malaysia could also ask why the Malays in Singapore were marginalised.

“We can also ask what is the status of Malays in Singapore, why are they not allowed to carry arms in the army or be provided with firearms training. Why are Malays in Malaysia so skilled in the military field but in Singapore, they cannot hold high positions?

“Why are the Malays marginalised to the point that they have no standing at all. This is done deliberately by Singapore. No other country does this,” he added.

In Malaysia, Mahathir said Chinese officers in the army could reach high ranks.

“The Chinese here can hold positions such as General, Major-General and so forth. But (what about) the Malays in Singapore, what is their per capita income compared to the Chinese there.

“Have an independent inquiry, why are the Malays being left behind in Singapore. Not that they are any less than the Malays in Malaysia but they are pressured, marginalised and victimised. That is the government formed on the views of Lee Kuan Yew,” he added.

Mahathir had also criticised the minister mentor in his speech earlier.

“You (Lee) take care of your own rice bow. You are not clever. In a small group, you may look clever. (But) when he goes to China. The Chinese there don’t listen (to him). The Chinese don’t respect him because he has been marginalised by the Chinese around the world,” he said.

Umno still relevant

In another matter, Mahathir said Umno is still a relevant political party for the Malays and should be defended as it has served the Malays and country well.

"Umno is like a bridge and as such we must not burn it after arriving at the other side as we may need it on the return journey," he said at the same function.

To another question on the rudeness of Barisan Nasional elected representatives towards him, Mahathir said this sort of attitude did not reflect the good manners of Malays who are well-known for their courtesy.

Speaking to reporters later, he asked Deputy Minister of Information Ahmad Zahid Hamidi to show proof that he had bad-mouthed the government overseas.

He denied saying anything ill of Malaysia during his recent visits to Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Abu Dhabi and Iran.

"If he (Ahmad Zahid) has the courage, he should reproduce all my speeches in the New Straits Times and show me where I had bad-mouthed the country," he said.

From : (http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/57213) Sep 23, 06 1:41pm

jay

70. To Rocky!
    Just to add in what anonymous said!
    ----------------------------------
    Anonymous said...

LKY, your first grandchild is a Mongoloid, your first daughter-in-law committed suicide,(SHOULD ALSO ADD HIS FATHER WAS A PERVERT AND LIKE TO EXPOSE HIMSELF TO CHILDREN IN A PARK,I was told the truth was not a common knowledge)
    keep your mouth shut if you want your disasters to stop! ===================================

I hope more disasters will fall on you...you dictator!

Melayu Singapura

1:25 PM

71. Anonymous5:57 pm

Some of the comments are a joke.

Pasquale - please grow up and start taking your prozac pills.

canman - it's no wonder we're in such a mess with ppl like you around.

why can't we just realise that what LKY said was true?

72. Anonymous12:01 am

Lee Kwan Yew has spoken truthfully, no fudge from LKY. This elder statesmen is not popular with many, but he is well respected, and rightly so. He deserves respect because he has earned it. Malaysian politicians are not worthy of respect since their corrupt and underhanded behaviour deserves nothing but contempt and loathing.
    Malaysia could easily have overtaken Singapore in terms of economic growth and overall development, but due to the rotten to the core BN, Malaysia is still, in many ways, third world, but quite a rich country; however the riches are, it appears, syphoned off and shared by only a few. What a shameful situation. The people now should unite and do something to effect positive change which is beneficial to all.