Sunday, June 25, 2006

WHO NEXT?

No, I don't mean who's next to go after Kalimullah Hassan shed his last tears in his last column in the New Sunday Times today.

What I mean is: Who will be writing The Sunday Column after the NSTP's former group editor-in-chief and current deputy chairman & editorial adviser sang his last song in the weekly column? (Oh dear, Lazarus Rokk, he played your favourite karaoke number Coward of the Country this time!).

Will the next author of the Sunday Column be Hishamuddin Aun, the current GEIC?

By a simple process of elimination, it has to be Hishamuddin.

1/ It can't be Brendan because too much soup will spoil the cook.
2/ Not Zainul because NST's freezer or Siberia still has not taught him what toeing the line means.
3/ Certainly won't be Manja, the BH group editor, because he is a professional, and
4/Not Syed Nadzri because the last time Kalimullah said goodbye, the NST deputy GE took over the column and brought it to life, tackling real issues so effortlessly with his laid-back style, and then his ex-boss came back so soon after the first farewell to take the column away from Syed Nadzri and tried to kill us softly with his songs.

So, bros and siss, it has got to be Hishamuddin.

If so, what an opportunity for Hishamuddin to prove people wrong about his English and ability to deal with issues. Some visitors to this blog have even criticised his Malay!

Personally, I don't give a damn right now. I am just so thankful for a glorious Sunday. After so many Sundays of wet gloom and a sense of doom, we had blue skies and a gorgeous sun the entire day! Made you want to sing.

Nonetheless, thank you Kaliyuga for alerting me to the state of the Last Sunday Column. You are right, though; can't take his words at face value.

29 comments:

1. Anonymous1:30 am

With Kali and Brendan setting a mediocre standard, why should Hisham not be able to become lead columnist? Now is the right time to start. Write about bola, bola and bola, and occasionally about missing one's wife and children.Or about starlets who he is so very often pictured with. Good luck.

2. Anonymous1:31 am

hishamuddin to write the next column? no brudder i dont't think so. i have known hisham for a long time. he speaks decent english, but writing is a different thing. kali is a damn good writer. i don't think you can get a better writer than him. it's a pity that he ants to stop writing. as for manja, i heard he can speak decent english and he can write decently, but frankly i don't think he has what it it takes to write consistenly week in and out. as for brendan, he will be calling it quits probably next month. so forget about him. in the meantime, we won't have kali to kick about any more since he will stop writing next week. in the meantime, cheers rocky. beers on me at national press club.

3. Anonymous9:01 am

Saya rasa kita kena berlaku adil kepada Nst/BH. Bukan dua akhbar ini sahaja yang mengalami masalah dan cabaran di segi mutu kewartawanan dan perniagaan.
    Masalah dalam Nst/BH lebih teruk kerana campur tangan yang keterlaluan oleh pemilik tersembunyi iaitu "Presiden Umno/Perdana Menteri Inc". NSTP, TV3 dan Media Prima adalah "milik peribadi" Pak Lah yang dipegang melalui proks. Saya rasa proksi sekarang dipegang oleh Datuk Mutalib, orang Penang dan orang kepercayaan Pak Lah.
    Di sudut keiktisasan, memanglah mutu kewartawanan Nst/BH telah merosot akibat pesaraan, peletakan jawatan dan VSS kakitangan asal, terlatih dan berpengalaman.
    Proses ini bermula pada tahun 1998 akibat krisis Anwar Ibrahim dan berterusan pada tahun 2000 apabila A Kadir Jasin meletakkan jawatan dan diikuti oleh Ahmad A Talib dan kemudiannya Joceline Tan, Fauzi Omar, Ahiruddin Atan, Lazarus Rokk, Ester Tan, Rose Ismail, Aishah dan Seleha Ali dan banyak lagi.
    Proses de-professionalisation Nst/BH bermula dengan pelantikan Abdullah Kok Lanas sebagai Ketua Pengarang Kumpulan pada tahun 2002. Apabila dia dipecat oleh Abdullah Badawi pada tahun 2003, kaliber dan kehormatan KPP menurun lagi apabila wartawan asing merangkap tokoh korporat Kalimullah Hassan dilantik menggantikan DKL.
    Kali, kawan baik Pak Lah dan Noor Mohamed Yaacop, memburukkan lagi keadaan dengan meminggir atau menyingkir pengarang kanan NST/BH dan membawa masuk rakan-rakan foreign correspondents beliau dari Malaysia, Singapura dan Hong Kong.
    Pengaruh Umno hilang dan digantikan oleh pengaruh Abdullah Badawi yang diwakili oleh Kali dan konco-konconya.
    Di TV3, Chamil Wiraya yang dilantik pada zaman Mahathir ditolak ke tepi dan digantikan oleh mantan setiausaha akhbar Abdullah, Kamarulzaman. Kamarulzaman lebih junior dan lebih malap daripada Chamil. Tapi itu tidak penting. Yang penting dia orang Pak Lah.
    Tapi Kamarulzaman juga sebenarnya mangsa permainan politik pejabat Abdullah. Kamarulzaman dihantar ke TV3 supaya Khairy, Ahmad Zaki, Kamal Khalid dan Dr Vincent Lim boleh mengambil alih operasi media pejabat PM.
    Vincent Lim adalah orang di belakang penentuan dasar kerajaan ketika krisis video bogel "wanita Cina", termasuk meminta maaf kepada Negeri China. Dia juga yang mendalangi penggunaan Mandarin di KLIA.
    Pejabat PM juga cuba mengusai Utusan, tetapi kurang berjaya sebab operator-operator PM yang semuanya muda-muda dan buta media "takut" kepada KPPnya Khalid Mohammad.
    Selain itu, Umno diwakili dalam lembaga pengarah Utusan Melayu Berhad kerana Utusan Melayu Berhad didaftar di bawah nama Umno dan bukan nama Presiden parti seperti NSTP.
    Lagipun ada bekas Pembantu Khas Tun Dr Mahathir iaitu Tan Sri Hashim Makamuddin sebagai pengerusi eksekutif. Dia dewasa ini sangat setia kepada Pak Lah.
    PM ada wakil dalam Lembaga Pengarah Star Publications tapi tak campur tangan sangat dalam hal editorial. Tetapi Ketua Pengarangnya, Wong Sulong adalah lantikan era Abdullah sementara timbalannya Wong Chun Wai yang dianggap komisar politik The Star adalah orang perantara MCA.
    Kawalan ke atas RTM adalah melalui Datuk Zam yang cukup setia kepada Abdullah. Sejak zaman Mahathir lagi Zam bercita-cita menjadi duta kanan atau anggota kabinet. Kini Zam tidak teragak-agak melenyapkan legasi Mahathir. Ibrahim Yahya (Tiger) cukup profesional tapi dengan Zam sebagai boss dan mentor, keberkesannya menjadi tanda tanya.
    The Sun dan Edge nampaknya bebas. Ini kerana pemilik dan pengarangnya berkedudukan istimewa. Walaupun Tong Kok Ooi menguasai dua akhbar itu, dia masih boleh berharap kepada Vincent Tan untuk membantu. Tong adalah bekas operator korporat Anwar sementara Vincent adalah anak emas Dr Mahathir waktu beliau menjadi PM. Taat setia dua gergasi korporat Cina ini boleh bertukar ganti.
    Yang jelas bebas adalah akhbar-akhbar bahasa Cina kerana Umno dan pegawai KDN tidak faham bahasa Mandarin.
    Marilah kita renungkan bersama. Yang jelas, media massa arus perdana tidak lebih bebas daripada dahulu sebaliknya penuh dengan tipu helah dan muslihat, spin dan putar belit kerana nilai profesionalisme tidak lagi diutamakan.

4. Anonymous10:06 am

Aku ada 2 soalan bro:

1. NSTP AGM ni agak hinga'k tak?
    2. Kali masih attend UMNO Info meeting ka?

Nanti kita pekena teh tarik...

5. Anonymous11:24 am

Bru, "do the right thing" Brendan Pereira cooked up another tasteless, toxic alphabet soup -- read unjournalistic -- in his thrashy tabloid. Now Bru you know why Kali changed NST into a tabloid.
    Mr Pereira, what kind of journalist are you? What's this openess bull of the Badawi era you are pontificating about.
    You rubbished Mahathir but you did not dare to report what he said on June 24 at Taman Melawati. What freedom, what openess, what independence are you yepping about when a young ciku like Kamal Khalid could tell you and the rest of your shameless, spineless fellow mainstream media editors to black out Mahathir's Saturday speech.
    You guys are really the pariahs and scums who are shitting on this noble profession called journalism.
    Now that your pseudo-Melayu protectors are stopping their columns and possibly leaving the NST, I think you too will be gone soon enough. I heard from Singapore ST boys and girls that ST has offered to take you back. Of course they will. You've more than served the purpose of Singapore while in NST.
    Don't be shy to go back to ST just because I've this inside info. Sorry, what shy. Your type knows no such thing.

6. Anonymous11:34 am

Suria Kencana, InsyaAllah I'll be at the NSTP AGM tomorrow to collect door gifts and, if I am in the mood, ask a few silly questions. But I think Kali will report sick tomorron and leave the handling of the S--- to the old, nice, clueless Jeneral Bersara and the equally clueless CEO. Jom la kita pi ghamai-ghamai. Kite minum kopi je. Lamo tak jupo membo. Tengok tenganu kite. Shallom!

7. Anonymous1:31 pm

kalimulah's sunday column has convinced me that the man is a hypocrite -- big time. That or he has a ghost writer. the man lacks the love and compassion that he writes about. the man has no integrity. he fixes people. he maligns people, he tells lies. he cant stand anyone(in a less powerful position) better and bigger than him. one insecure bugger he is.
    well, bro. we will see whether that was his last piece. as if you didnt know already. u cannot believe the man. if it really is, then, good question who will take over. we would like to see hisham writing 1: in english (proper, decent, good etc), 2: a subject he can himself understand 3: and in a way, readers can understand and 4: nad to see him prove others are wrong about him -- that he ahs something up there.
    Lets also hope that the sunday column will be a REAL column. Kalimulah has really reduced it to a mushy sickening excuse of the column.
    and NSTMAN -- Kalimulah a damn good writer?? I am throwing up already.

8. Anonymous2:17 pm

Mohd Nazri Aziz declares all out war against Dr Mahathir. This guy must be joking. Is he high on something?
    This Nazri fellow is a clean as used toilet paper in a public toilet.
    The problem is again with Dr Mahathir. Why didn't he ask BPR to proceed with this fellow's case. Is he the "one case" Dr Mahathir spoke about on Saturday -- the case that he asked to be prosecuted but was shelved when Pak Lah became PM?
    What jawab is Nazri talking about? Rafidah refused to jawab. Finance Ministry tak jawab, instead the poor, not-so-clever Proton Chairman, kena jawab.
    What's the talking man. You shame me only. You talk like young cock learning to crow. Padang Rengas standar is better. You real joker you!
    What war? One 81-year old former PM against 67-year old PM, the might of Umno, Umno-controlled media and kniving corporates?
    What war? This is lynching! But is it? Kita tunggu dan tengok. Bila gendang perang berbunyi siapa yang lari bersembunyi.
    By the way, remember how this Nazri fellow dramatised his resignation from Umno Youth leadership some years ago at the old Subang Airport?
    Real jerk!

9. Anonymous4:19 pm

Then bro, maybe i should be singing "look what they have done to my song mama".
    and i disagree with nstman, i am sure i have known hisham a lot longer than he has, we have covered many tournaments together since the late 70s, and our last together was the atlanta olympics in 1996, and i can vouch for his written english, it is good, he used to write in both languages when he was in bernama. but let's wait an see la bro, cheers man.

10. Rocky, i was just informed abt your blog. I likeeeeee!!!
    Was back home recently but did not visit nst - cos I know there are no more familiar faces anymore!
    aaaah! what a pity, what a pity!

11. Anonymous7:04 pm

Hallo geng, we believe and we also hope Hisham the GEIC, will proof himself and take the challenge to write for Sunday Times column. Don't worry, if he cannot write, he will ask someone to write for him. Hisham and Rehman Rashid must have learnt from Dolah Kok Lanas (DKL). DKL did it to Hisham last time. U just change name, its yours. Be like DKL la...go to hell with maruah diri, don't worry what people talk about U as long as U happy. After all, people out there and in NSTP have no respect for U. Sorrylah. I have to tell this because U are still my boss.

GredB

12. Anonymous8:01 pm

kaliyuga,

oh great, you hv to b in d mood bro. Pls set a new standard in this v special M'sian co's AGM.

bawak tema perjuangan yg belum selesai.

bereh!

p/s don't forget your must-be-fantastic door gift, k!

13. Anonymous8:04 pm

Orang Lama BHSB,

Excellent Sir!

14. Anonymous8:25 pm

Bru, you guys must be joking. Kali stopping the shitpool he calls column, moving on to a more important heaven-blessed service to mankind and his henchman Brendan following suit.
    Kali stopping this weekly wommit? Leaving the NST? Not a chance. Not when another fanatical Abdullah slobbering rampaging lunatic today declared an all out war on Old Man Mahathir.

15. Anonymous10:26 pm

Dr M’s lone fight against Abdullah’s cabal
    NOW that Dr M has concluded his important work re-affirming the debunking of the US and the UK’s criminal occupation of Iraq, he can now re-focus his campaign against Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s callow underlings who are bent on unravelling layer by layer the legacy that Dr M had built for Malaysia.
    Dr M would know that the deconstruction starts from the top, had to be concerted and has the absolute control of the media, or at least the ones that matters.
    Dr M understands this because this was how he operated as prime Minister, especially in shredding Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s counterforce or demystifying Anwar Ibrahim’s high fashion charisma.
    Dr M would realise the use or abuse of Abdullah’s premiership by his underlings keen to exploit the Prime Minister’s perceived haplessness, using his powerful position to get things done. It’d not that difficult. Let’s face it: Abdullah is somewhat similar to George W. Bush in that all major policy decisions are manipulated by the cabal stringing the top guy.
    The latest is this cabal is the so-called media mandore dubbed KK (let’s not be bashful and state it outright as Kamal Khalid).
    Dr M could find out that the installation of flacks loyal to the puppet master stringing Abdullah at strategic Government and corporate positions to wrest control of the nation’s socio-economic politburo.
    Dr M could be made to know the over-friendliness of these flacks to Singapore and how certain Malaysian politicians, corporate and media chieftains have manipulated Umno politics in such a way that the Republic’s MM, SM & PM was allowed to traverse a diplomatic rampage over Malaysian sovereignty.
    Dr M would be enraged to find out that the stripping of national assets and its subsequent sale to Singapore’s holding entities were engaged so incomprehensibly that the only thing astounding was the wimpy opposition, except for the spirited, Lone Ranger protest by A. Kadir Jasin in his Malaysian Business columns and The Scribe blog (Does this mean Rocky is Tonto?).
    Dr M has been forewarned that the campaign by Abdullah’s underlings is to ultimately control the Premiership through the means aforementioned, which also bear fortuitous initiatives to amass a huge political war chest for a vicious multi-front battle for the Umno leadership next year.
    Nothing that I have broadly outlined is revelatory though I fear that many of you, Dr M included, are in tune with my assertions.

Kali-Brendan tag team’s stew of spin
    IN THE meantime,Dr M will keep hammering on the hard, indigestible truths and extract them out of the pool of the stinking stew of spin that Kalimullah Hassan and Brendan Pereira tries hard to shove it in.
    Kali does the shoving by writing with superficial folksiness. Last Sunday’s column was at least consistent with his template approach: using the technique of extracting reams of time-honoured wisdom, Kali ingratiated himself as a person with valour to fit the wisdom of the writer or writers whose quotes he is fond of borrowing. After a while, it’s puerile ingratiation. No writer should ever do that for a living.
    And his writing? It borders on the average, from the days he was with The Star and now even more, so any praise that he pens with Hemingwaysque prose is as exaggerated as Anna Nicole Smith’s tits – they are both artificial.
    The hints that slam dirt at Dr M are there if you look hard enough but Coward of the County fits Kali more than it does Dr M. At least Dr M slugs it out with his bare fists; Kali takes cheap potshots behind Abdullah’s coattails and false media righteousness.
    Pereira’s regular column on Monday jumped a key higher in contemptuous tone. I quote: “This seems to be what Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was doing on Saturday morning when he continued his tirade against the Prime Minister and his administration. He stuck to a formula that he has used with mixed results during his political career — tossing half-truths and known facts into a mix and allowing the combination to emit its own stench.
    Tossing half truths? Emit its own stench? At least he spews the sentence inside his Monday column and not spit it in the front page, masquerading as news. It’s yet another sleazy potshot. What are the half truths that Pereira did not even bother to outline? When are Dr M’s words ever a stench?
    It’s the purest of contempt with no hint of respect. I suspect that the contempt stemmed from the days of his Singapore Straits Times reporter’s beat. Pereira can’t help but expose it like a sneering WWF wrestler showing off his abs and how loud he can trash talk. A whore has more honour.
    Which got me to suspect: the sordid line sounds like a guy ready to migrate to Singapore once this persistent talk that he will step down materialises but I’ll believe it when I see him saying his goodbyes or somebody does a farewell in the NST newsroom.

16. Anonymous10:37 pm

Kali datang & pergi & will datang lagi, mah.

Bet you he will still write, but this time he might use Hishamuddin Aun's name.

Oh yes nstman, kali's a damn good writer?

Excuse me while I go & puke.

What he is good at is...membodek.

17. Anonymous12:57 am

Rockybru, tell me something about poison. You're man of the world. Press Club and all. Tell me about wine. One man's wine, another man's poison.

Is 1975 vintage good? If 1975 vintage is good, I assume 1954 vintage is better.

You answer my question, I tell you more. You must be like Nazri Aziz. No elegent silence for this brave young menteri.

Maybe you get in touch with his Press boys and ask them to ask their boss about 1954 vintage.

18. Anonymous1:43 am

Wau, you don't sleep ah? Watched World Cup ah! Pity the socceroos. I still think they outclassed the Italians. That penalty was a fluke.

Back to fine vintage vine. Do you think it's hadhari complaince? What the hell am I doing asking you about wine and hadhari.

But what do you think of Visit Malaysia Year? When ah, 2007 or 2008?

Other people visit Malaysia, our ministers visit Singapore. Mahathir said they like playing golf. They liked even more when Singapore minister pat their back.

But what if a minister went to Singapore to celebrate his birthday?

See, that why I ask you about fine wine, about 1974 and 1954 vintage.

You're a scribe, you find out. Then we compare notes.

19. Looks like it's time to advertise for a situation vacant in the classifieds. Let all these hopefuls mentioned in your blog to write a piece(Any subject-BUT Not about crying daughters please !!) and let the subscribing public( I hear circulation has dwindled!.. IS that true ???) vote and then decide...!
    Bro is this the same Mohd Nadzri Aziz (of the racial slur in Parliament) guy we're talking about ??

20. Anonymous12:36 pm

Firstly, tolong bagitahu perkembangan AGM NST. Apa yang menarik?. Keduanya, Kadir Jasin dah kena belasah, apa komen Rockybru pulak?

Guelah

21. Anonymous1:10 pm

Kalimullah re-appears with prickly pandering piece
    It didn’t take him Kalimullah Hassan long to re-appear from whatever hole he crawled out from after the so-called demise of his NST Sunday Column: two fast days.
    Now we know what he was doing. In two days, he had exhumed old battles from the 80s and 90s, and even had twisted nuggets to scrape A. Kadir Jasin with a thong. And it re-appeared in the form of a “Spotlight”? There seems to be new editorial gimmickry every other week to fit Kali’s pandering.
    Before you read the piece today in the NST (Page 6-7), just bear in mind that Kali still skips the answers demanded by Dr Mahathir Mohamad as he merely gives a cursory superficial glance. And he strangely signs off as former Bernama chairman and former group editor-in-chief of the NSTP Group. The NSTP deputy chairman and editorial adviser’s designations suddenly go AWOL.
    But the way the story had been spin is a classic Kali manoeuvre, accompanied fortuitously with a sidebar of Nazri Aziz’s hound dog from hell vicious “kurang ajar” attack on Dr M.
    In exhuming all the old details and stories from the last 25 years, Kali shaped in such a way that it cast aspersions on Dr M and critics of the Abdullah Administration like Kadir in an attempt to put them in an embarrassing defensive mode.
    First he says that political skulduggery is not uncommon and has been for many years in his reaction to the Credit Suisse First Boston (CSFB) analysts’ report.
    Kali writes: “…such tiffs have not been uncommon in the last 25 years, and perhaps we should not read too much into it.”
    The he contradicts himself in the last three paragraphs in his pro-Abdullah posturing with this sweeping doom-and-gloom remonstration.
    “The longer it continues, the more it runs the risk of becoming a self-fulfilling doomsday prophecy for the country. Who loses then? A group of disgruntled people who have had their chance and time at power to do the things they wanted? Or the current administration, which has its own plans and ideals to develop and benefit the country?”
    His devotion of some meaty passages on Kadir is worth exploring.
    What Kali wrote may be factual but it’s the way he fudges them, especially implying that Kadir was just as bad making a go at grabbing pieces of national assets at cheap prices. In this sense, Kadir too has to come clean on his machinations of the 1990s to answer Kali’s own brand of skulduggery.
    It’s clear that Kali can’t get over the allegedly bad treatment he received from Kadir when he was still a NST specialist writer in 1988. And his vendetta against Kadir is now disguised as a commentary.
    When Kali first arrived in the NST in January 2994, he would tell NST editors on the alleged ill-treatment Kadir lashed out to him. But Kali, in gloating about his magnanimous self, also boasted that he tried to help Kadir when the latter was about to be fired in 2000.
    In any event, that’s not the point of my piece.
    The point is as I had outlined earlier: the Malaysian media, supervised by Kali, will publish reports, commentaries and analyses to primarily DISTRACT attention away from Abdullah’s frailties and dubious endorsement of the callow cabal that strings him.
    Kali can try harder because we know he is behind the deconstruction of Dr M, the selling out to Singapore, the stripping of national assets and sale to a Singapore concern. The sale of the country.
    Kadir, in Kali’s devious mind, is just the convenient scapegoat today.

To read Kali’s pandering piece, go to:
    www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Tuesday/National/20060627091224/Article/local1_html

22. Anonymous1:20 pm

Why give so much of face to man who never saw the real potential of NSTP? Why talk about a man who claims he is a 'former this and that' but comes out with a two paged article with regards to his best buddy in today's NST (June 27)? And why bother about a man who seems to act like his best 'fren' Dr M..kata quit but still kuat kutuk org. During Dr M punya era we had Eric Chia...now we have Patrick Lim, KJ and Kali...once Pak Lah is out..so will they..every dog will have its day.
    Cheers!

23. Anonymous5:35 pm

Hey, who is this Bandit? I really like his insights into the Greatest Journalist of this Era.

24. Anonymous6:45 pm

mr proofreader,

if its true that brendan pereira is accepting an offer from Singapore ST, then, of course he would go. After all he would be accepting the offer after adding "NST group editor" in his resume.
    BUT, he will only leave if Kalimulah says its ok. That will be one of the reasons brendan would leave the NST. you see, he will go
    1: for an offer he cannot refuse (and kalimula says ok to go) or
    2. he has a serious, very serious ,misunderstanding with kalimula -- no turning back, no looking back, burn bridges et al
    Do you think that Singapore Straits Times would have made him its group editor or executive editor, even? Of course not. He was considered unqualified. He was afterall, KL correspondent for ST. So, it looks like what was not good enough for Singapore ST is very good for NST. The shame of it.
    The simple truth is that brendan is running the show for Kalimulah. You dont have to be good. You just do the job for Kalimulah. Thats good enough for him. You cant quite fault him. When he came to NST in 2004 to take up the GEIC post, he trusted no one. but he found some people who had their uses.
    so, mr proofreader, having in his resume "NST group editor" sure looks and sounds good, huh? Mahal tu.

and mr bandit.

some factual errors about Kalimulah's first stint in NST. U wrote 2994. I think you meant 1994. In fact, it was earlier than that. It was mid 80s.
    And he was sore because nobody had any regard for him. Yes yes.. every dog has his day. That day for him was when AAB offered him that cushy (but oh-so-powerful) GEIC post. Payback time, y'all in NST. God is great. Yes, Kalimulah. God is great.

25. Rocky what happens!

I sent you a comment for "who next" and you did not pub. are you censoring it like Kali and Brendan did!

Cheers!

26. Anonymous2:39 am

Bro and posters,
    There's a typographical mistake in this sentence.
    "When Kali first arrived in the NST in January 2994, he would tell NST editors on the alleged ill-treatment Kadir lashed out to him."
    It should be 2004. My apologies. - Bandit

27. Anonymous10:12 am

Datuk Hishamudin kept his word. The NST used Datuk Kadir Jasin's letter.
    But I wonder whether the NST would have used it if Datuk Kadir had not raised the matter at the NST AGM yesterday.
    I do not know Datuk Kalimullah. However, as a long-time reader of the NST, I can see that he is very different from Datuk Kadir. I remember Other Thots very well. I have always admired him for his column. He pulled no punches. For someone who confesses to be Tun Dr Mahathir's supporter, he was a true journalist, then. Because he was also a harsh critic of the BN administration and of Umno, and Pas, and DAP and saudara Anwar. He was unapologetic. And he suffered for it. And to a great extent, the NST. But, he took responsibility for all that. He took accountability, He was booted out. But with his integrity and high sense of professionalism intact. I am no fan of Datuk Kadir although I admired his "courage" in writing Other Thots. You can agree with him or disagree, But he wrote his viewpoints. Whacked when and where he could. I know that he was threatened by some hardcore Reformasi supporters. I was in the reformasi. ( But i remained an NST reader)
    So you see, there are journalists and there ARE journalists. You can easily tell the men from the boys, the professionals from the amateurs, the journalists from the jokers.
    Salam, brother.

28. Anonymous1:43 pm

I've been reading this blog since you began. One thing that has struck is how the comments have so effectively stripped away the mega-spin that all those "brave, new boys" wove around Pak Lah from even before he was sworn in - clean, transparent, Islamic, work with me, efficiency oriented, reform minded.
    All that seems to have collapsed now that the spinmasters like Kalimulah, Khairy, Kamal Khalid, the press secretary who went to head TV3 what's his name, Dr Vincent, Zahid, have been exposed.
    THe man is not as devious as Tun Mahathir but he is certainly not the fantastic person that those spinners painted for us. I think those people have done a great disservice to the real Pak Lah and to us Malaysians. They have been devious and dishonest and I feel sad that our top leader is surrounded by people like that.

29. Anonymous3:38 pm

Hiya folks,

What a merry column.

You people just can't get over your own greatness, eh? The pen on the other paper is always blunter what? Do you remember what trash the malay Mail was when a certain blogger was in charge? And his English was passable I should say. You lot have been the undoing of the NST for a long, long time. AKJ especially. I predict the paper that has evolved from broadsheet to tabloid will go even smaller, until it diminishes totally in probably five years. And then it will be the ultra Chinese Star that will hold sway. And I'm not even a bumi...