Monday, September 23, 2019

Kongress Maruah Melayu

Hazy Puchong, Monday: By the looks of things, there will be many more pro-Malay forums and gatherings from now. The Umno-PAS' Himpunan Perpaduan Ummah  was just an appetiser. It has also triggered all kinds of buttons here, there and everywhere in our political industry. Panic button included or not, I don't know and you don't need to worry about that. Just know that Malay and quasi-Malay political leaders who matter, in government or outside, recognises change in sentiments among the majority Malay population of this country. And, therefore, the need to hedge so one does not end up losing. 
Hamzah
The Kongres Maruah Melayu to be held on Oct 6 in Kuala Lumpur will be only the first post-HPU gathering of Malays. This one will be led by several institutions of higher learning, notably UiTM, whose Bumiputera-only policy has come under serious threat after the Pakatan Harapan government took over in May 2018. But it's not an academic exercise, per se. The chairman of the Kongress Maruah Melayu is former Umno man and Najib Razak's Cabinet minister Hamzah Zainudin, one of the first to have switched camps to Mahathir Mohamad's Pribumi Bersatu after BN's defeat in the last general election. 
The Kongress is expected to identify the threats facing the Malays today and propose ways to strengthen the position of the Malays in the various socio-economic sectors. Of course, Hamzah and friends are also concerned with the relationship between the Malays and other races. To promote unity, they think that it is time the Government introduce the OSS - the One School System - and abandon the vernacular schools. This is not going to go down well with some quarters at all but as one of the brains behind the Kongress told me:  "If Singapore could do it, why not us?" 
Well, we know why we haven't been able to walk the talk but, I say, no harm trying. 
I was told Dr Mahathir Mohamad will deliver his amanat at the end of the Kongress, which has encouraged the conclusion that this is an event quietly sponsored by the Prime Minister's own party, Pribumi Bersatu . Wallahualam.

p.s. I am all for any effort to unify the Malays to unite Malaysians, if you know what I mean.

5 comments:

1. xnakdedak7:08 am

Latuk O Latuk O Latuk,

The greatest threat to the Malays is the party that spawned your Bugis and Javanese kleptocrat paymasters.

But as they've paid you well (for almost nothing, kih kih kih), I guess you won't be bringing that up?

"President of the National Press Club Malaysia"?

Cheh wahhhhh.

As long as you aren't teaching Proofreading or Ethics, we should be okay : )

2. Anonymous12:53 pm

Mahathir nak buat lakonan air mata lagi...tua-tua masih kuat menipu

3. Anonymous12:43 pm

Bro, One School System is ideal and the way it should be. But it has to cater for both national interest and international expediency. One without the other is a sure formula for failure, and we have failed our younger generations utterly. To be well-equipped to survive anywhere in the world is crucial for personal growth and success. Jangan lah macam katak di bawah tempurong. Malaysia is only one tiny oyster on planet Earth. Why limit ourselves and miss out on pearls available elsewhere in the globe?

Have u seriously taken note of how our education & its system has deteriorated - by design - over the years? (We know lah who were the two main culprits responsible for the sorry state of affairs in our country now. No need to mention names.)

There'll be no light at the end of the tunnel ... until all our students are well-versed in at least one other relevant foreign international language that will help them achieve success in life.

What's sad is that we churn out thousands of graduates who cannot speak nor write, at the minimum English, which is the lingua franca of international business. If also can our students should be well-versed in Mandarin too so they can take advantage of and feed on the world's second-largest (if not the largest) economy. But nope our leaders selfishly and foolishly kept that advantage from the masses and limited it to their children and family. Why the masses have not seen through the ruse, even till today, is beyond me. If you don't mind me asking, what contribution have you made to help alleviate the situation, bro? Jangan marah ya.

"The One School System - and abandon the vernacular schools ... "If Singapore could do it, why not us?"" Bro, please lah compare apples to apples. It's a shame to even try to compare our system with Singapore's. One is batu; the other is a pearl -- mana boleh compare.

How about this suggestion for our KY Mazlee - if Singapore can do it and do it so well - why not Malaysia adopt wholesale Singapore's education system? Senang kan?

Cheers. Teh tarek bila? ;)

-iaam-

4. Anonymous9:12 pm

"Malay-only top posts among thorny demands at Malay congress" as reported by MKini.
    https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/494659

So much for defending one's dignity!

Rocky, since you thought and supported this congress which intended to menyatukan melayu, it looks like you better quickly write another article. PLEASE, this time correctly mention this that this was congress menipu semua orang, terutamanya melayu sendiri.

5. Aiiit.... dulu kata... tak boleh guna 'Anonymous'?