Thursday, May 03, 2018

An angry former crony on why "We must save Malaysia from Mahathir"

I was introduced to Tajudin Ramli around the time he bought Malaysia Airlines. A. Kadir Jasin, the NSTP group editor and a fellow Kedahan like Tajudin and a close friend of the then Finance Minister Daim Zainuddin, also another Kedahan like Mahathir Mohamad, organised a media trip to the airline's facility. Tajudin was soft-spoken and polite. No airs. At an early Langkawi International Maritime and Aviation (Lima) show, we were taken to his yacht. I remember fellow editors being a little disappointed because there wasn't a can of beer on board, let alone bottles of malt and champagne usually associated with luxury yachts - and Langkawi. 
There was a prayer mat in every cabin, instead. "Ah, alim rupanya," I remember thinking. 
I recall Dr Mahathir Mohamad having to defend the privatisation of MAS at one Umno General Assembly, praising Tajudin as the Umno president convinced the party members that privatisation was the way to go. A lot of people inside and outside Umno were jealous and unkind to Tajudin. They didn't think "giving' the national airline to one crony was such a good idea. They must have thought Tajudin had it too good. Well now we know better.

A Voice broke the story h e r e. Daim had put the proverbial gun to Tajudin's head. "You don't say NO to the Prime Minister".  There are other snippets in the clips and audio: there's one about bailing out offsprings who would go on to live happily ever after and one on why Mahathir is so dead on killing Umno before kicking the bucket himself. Exciting staff.
Wonder if Halim Saad, another "blue-eyes" from that era, would go public with his stories about Mahathir and Daim. He has been quite angry for a while, too.

2 comments:

1. Anonymous2:34 pm

Teruskan jadi macai dan barua Najib, cuma setakat PRU14 saja dan selepas itu kamu pun akan turut dikuburkan

2. Anonymous11:04 am

Kenapa penjilat dedak pH, can't handle the heat ka