Wednesday, June 21, 2017

TTDI residents: We don't need a highway through our homes. let alone a SIX-lane highway!

"It is an unnecessary project. It is not needed. It's not because the population needs it. It's because they are building something (so) they need to build this highway .." - Datuk Nuraina A. Samad, longtime resident of Taman Tun Dr Ismail

TTDI. June 21: Want to build a highway? Please, we need a super highway linking Puchong and Damansara. The existing Lebuhraya Damansara Puchong is a tolled, pitiful two-lane  (some stretches have been expanded to three and even four lanes) highway, it had not been able to accommodate the crazy volume of traffic from the very beginning. The only part of the LDP that has more than two lanes is the toll booth! Twenty lanes, if I'm not mistaken!!

Can we have the six-lane highway there?

2 comments:

1. IT.Scheiss8:04 am

As one who has fought against the KiDEX and PJD Link elevated highways through my neighbourhood, I am in solidarity with the residents of TTDI in opposing this highway through their neighbourhood.

2. Residents in Ampang had protested against the EKVE and SUKE. Yet, both projects have started, killing trees - plenty of it - and displacing people and animals.

But I'm confused.
    1. Federal government is spending so much on public transportation.
    2. Selangor government introduced Program Pengangkutan Awam Sekali Seminggu late last year.

Wouldn't more highways encourage more vehicles on our roads, 'killing' any efforts to get people to use public transportation?

A case of cakap tak serupa bikin?