Tuesday, April 19, 2016

When Nazir Razak goes on leave ...

Puchong, 19 April: I like the way the Transparency International Malaysia positioned itself following Nazir Razak's decision to go on leave to allow investigation into a three-year old US$7 million transfer into his personal account. "Noble," according to its president Akhtar Satar.  "Other Malaysians in a similar position should show such a good example," he says. "Class act," Tony Fernandes describes his friend's move, h e r e.  Which is all very well. I, too, hereby applaud Nazir for his timely decision. 
Just as I applaud the decision of the Board of the 1MDB to offer their resignation over the "weaknesses" in management and in governance found by the Public Accounts Committee. (PAC)  Yes, Mr Akhtar Satar, the entire Board of Directors tendered their resignation, collectively, right after the PAC report was tabled in Parliament two weeks ago! 
Akhtar Satar
The bipartisan PAC (whose membership includes DAP parliamentarian Tony Pua, easily the most badass critic of the 1MDB after Tun Mahathir Mohamad) had found no criminal wrong-doing [1MDB parliamentary probe blames ex-CEO for weaknesses, NST 7 April] ,and yet the entire Board of Directors had offered to resign so as to allow for investigation by the authorities into the various allegations made against the Fund. 
I think that was noble and a class act, too. I don't remember anyone in recent Malaysian history doing what the 1MDB directors did, even before evidence of any criminal wrongdoing,

4 comments:

1. TAKTAUMALU9:16 am

You wrote:
    "I think that was noble and a class act, too. I don't remember anyone in recent Malaysian history doing what the 1MDB directors did, even before evidence of any criminal wrongdoing"

Meanwhile, at CIMB:
    "CIMB Group Holdings Bhd has hired Ernst & Young to conduct an independent review on the transfer of US$7 million cash..."

One take place after PAC report is out, the other is just starting ...
    And you can't even tell the difference...

If this is the reasoning power of a "veteran journalist", MEMALUKAN, AMAT MEMALUKAN!!!

2. Please can you write some corrections, otherwise you shall not collect your payment this month from PM's department:

1. The board of 1MDB didn't resign, they "offered" to resign. You know the difference ?

2. PAC didn't absolve your boss. Listen to the 5 members of PAC who were clearly not there to cari makan, unlike the majority BN members of PAC.

Then write another article about the latest position of 1MDB being accused by IPIC of non-payment. Are you brave enough to write ?

3. xnakdedak12:19 pm

"........and yet the entire Board of Directors had offered to resign so as to allow for investigation by the authorities into the various allegations made against the Fund. I think that was noble and a class act, too. I don't remember anyone in recent Malaysian history doing what the 1MDB directors did, even before evidence of any criminal wrongdoing"

Latuk O Latuk.

If you have any readers over the mental age of 7, they can clearly see this is a ruse to let Irwan and Ismee quietly slip out the back door, so they can live to songlap on behalf of the Great Bogus Leader another day.

Hoorey.

Meanwhile Great Bogus Leader lives on borrowed time, and even really, really bad spin cannot save him now.

"Make dedak while the sun shines"......

4. TSMY told the BOD to resign much much earlier but instead, he was sacked. Malay Mail run a report that PAC report was edited unilaterally. Key statements were taken out. Nazir stayed away from CIMB for the investigation but the brother?