Thursday, August 06, 2015

MH370 it is :-(

Aircraft debris confirmed to be from MH370

August 6, 2015 MYT 2:54:53 AM

PETALING JAYA: The aircraft debris which washed up on the French island of Reunion last week is from Malaysia Airlines (MAS) flight MH370.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced at a special press conference early Thursday that the joint France-Malaysia investigations had confirmed the aircraft flaperon found on the island as originating from the aircraft.

“Today, 515 days since the plane disappeared, it is with a heavy heart that I must tell you that an international team of experts have conclusively confirmed that the aircraft debris found on Reunion Island is indeed from MH370.

"We now have physical evidence that, as I announced on 24th March last year, flight MH370 tragically ended in the southern Indian Ocean,” he said at the Putra World Trade Centre.

PRIME MINISTER NAJIB RAZAK STATEMENT ON MH370
On 8 March 2014, flight MH370 from Kuala Lumpur to Beijing disappeared. The days, weeks and months that followed have been a period of torment for the families of those on board.
The plane’s disappearance was without precedent. At every stage, we followed the tiny amount of evidence that existed. But, despite the efforts of 26 nations and the largest search in aviation history, from the South China Sea to the Indian Ocean, the plane could not be located.
Neither could investigations by the world’s leading aviation experts answer why MH370 veered off course and went dark. While the plane’s disappearance remained a mystery, we have shared the anguish of those who could find no comfort.
Last week, on 29th July, we were informed by the French authorities that part of an aircraft wing had been found on Reunion, the French island in the Indian Ocean.
Today, 515 days since the plane disappeared, it is with a heavy heart that I must tell you that an international team of experts have conclusively confirmed that the aircraft debris found on Reunion Island is indeed from MH370.
We now have physical evidence that, as I announced on 24th March last year, flight MH370 tragically ended in the southern Indian Ocean.
This is a remote, inhospitable and dangerous area, and on behalf of Malaysia I would like to thank the many nations, organisations and individuals who have participated in the search.
The burden and uncertainty faced by the families during this time has been unspeakable. It is my hope that this confirmation, however tragic and painful, will at least bring certainty to the families and loved ones of the 239 people onboard MH370. They have our deepest sympathy and prayers.
I would like to assure all those affected by this tragedy that the government of Malaysia is committed to do everything within our means to find out the truth of what happened. MH370’s disappearance marked us as a nation. We mourn with you, as a nation.
And I promise you this: Malaysia will always remember and honour those who were lost onboard MH370.
ENDS

Alhamdulillah, a closure. Sure, questions linger and the conspiracy theorists will have a fresh field day but, more importantly, there's the certainty for the familieis of the 239 passengers and crew who perished in the crash. Salam takziah. May Allah bless their souls.

5 comments:

1. IT.Scheiss9:30 am

This is an important breakthrough but I would like to know whether the experts have definitively connected that part to MH370 through a serial number or some other unique identifier or did they only identify the flaperon as being a part of a Boeing 777, in which case it leaves room for doubt as to whether that part was dumped in the ocean and left to drift until discovered, which also gives plenty of ammunition for conspiracy theorists to spin all kinds of scenario.

Hopefully, more debris will be found which can be identified as coming from MH370.

An interesting question is whether the fuselage of the aircraft broke up or whether it went to the bottom of the ocean intact. If the fuselage had broken up upon impact, I'm sure there would have been plenty of debris and bodies found floating on the ocean surface such as in the case of that AirAsia Indonesia Airbus which crashed into the Java sea but the lack of these debris made identifying the location where MH370 went down so much more difficult.

Also, given the great depth of the southern Indian Ocean, how long will it take to locate the aircraft and how much will it cost to locate and raise.

2. Anonymous1:05 pm

What closure are you talking about?? The 2.6 billion ringgit question is what the FCUK was the plane doing so far off course?? Till this question is answered there will be no closure.

3. Anonymous3:02 pm

kalau bab nak kasi najib good PR.. laju je..

*sigh..

if ppl like u can be easily bought by Najib. i really have no more to say

4. Anonymous3:37 pm

Look like all this while there is really
    nothing.....really really nothing to HIDE by
    the government of malaysia and they deserve
    an apology from all the scumbags!

5. Anonymous8:02 pm

The government has nothing2hide but Najib had 2.6 billion hidden in his account.

Maybe the government deserves an apology from the "scumbags" who themselves deserves an apology from Najib.