Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Yellow card to Khalid Ibrahim over UKRC field

Event: A Protest against Selangor Menteri Besar and Majlis Perbandaran Ampang Jaya for "snatching away" a field that belongs to the Ulu Kelang Recreational Club (UKRC)
Date & Time: Wed 23 Oct 2013 at 6.30 pm
Venue: At the stolen UKRC field
Save the UKRC field, once again

"Dinner will be served after the protest," UKRC president Andrew Gopal told me. But dinner will be the last thing on the minds of the residents, club members and UKRC supporters who will be staging the protest tomorrow. They'll be wondering if the UKRC will ever be safe ...

A decade ago these good people fought the Selangor state government when it was under the BN to save the field. The people prevailed, the greedy developers were kept at bay, and the UKRC field was declared an "open space" by Khir Toyo, who was the MB then. In 2008, Pakatan Rakyat seized Selangor from the BN and a new state government under MB Khalid Ibrahim, which promised to be friendlier to the people, came in. Last July, Pakatan was returned to power in Selangor for a second term and Khalid was sworn in as MB again. 

Then this month, the MPAJ declared that the UKRC had no right over the UKRC field and, with the backing of the MB and the might of the state government, "snatched" the field away from the Club. Deja vu ...

38 comments:

1. Anonymous8:43 am

one word for Selangorian especially Ampang. It spelled:

"P.A.D.A.N. M.U.K.A."

2. MAHAthir9:31 am

Try this stunt lah in 2018...

3. Anonymous10:18 am

Is that why well never develop masters like this wonderful fellow?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=C7mXGMcpA0g

4. Bashir11:34 am

Dear Datuk, I will be there tomorrow to support UKRC. This Pakatan Rakyat government cheats Rakyat. Broken promises most of the time. Khalid must go. The ADUN Ulu Klang, hopeless.

5. ampang man4:04 pm

Please get both sides of the story.
    The only thing that MPAJ did was to return the field to the rightful owners i.e the Rakyat.
    On this issue I throw my full support behind MPAJ. No one should be allowed to claim govt owned land meant for recreation as their own.

6. Anonymous4:25 pm

fully support UKRC. pakatan rakyat hopeless.

7. This is Déjà vu indeed for the residents who answered Andrew Gopal’s call for help to keep the greedy developer at bay a decade ago. It was a good fight because we believed that it was for the residents.

Unfortunately, we were misled by UKRC. Official documents obtained from ROS exposed the truth i.e. the current president, Andrew Gopal was involved in quietly changing the club’s original name from ‘Dewan Masyarakat dan Kelab Rekreasi, Kuala Ampang’ to ‘Ulu Kelang Recreation Club (UKRC)’ on 20th March 2001, crucially dropping the word ‘Dewan Masyarakat’. And, barely a year later, they deleted item (h) of rule 4 - ‘to provide a community hall for social functions and welfare for the residents of Kuala Ampang’ citing that the members felt that the club operates as a member club and not as a community hall and it has NO OBLIGATION TO SERVE THE RESIDENTS unless they are members of the club.

So, even while the residents were standing with UKRC in the good fight, the club has already ‘hijack’ the village community hall and forever changed its objective to ‘not obliged to serve the residents.’ This is act of hypocrisy and betrayal by UKRC stabbed at the hearts of all those residents who were there then.

We write based on irrefutable documentations. If you discount the media hype, spin or ‘sound bite’ generated by UKRC -the truth will be laid bare… Pakatan Rakyat has taken the courageous decision to ‘return’ the field to the residents and ensure public access.

8. This is Déjà vu indeed for the residents who answered Andrew Gopal’s call for help to keep the greedy developer at bay a decade ago. It was a good fight because we believed that it was for the residents.

Unfortunately, we were misled by UKRC. Official documents obtained from ROS exposed the truth i.e. the current president, Andrew Gopal was involved in quietly changing the club’s original name from ‘Dewan Masyarakat dan Kelab Rekreasi, Kuala Ampang’ to ‘Ulu Kelang Recreation Club (UKRC)’ on 20th March 2001, crucially dropping the word ‘Dewan Masyarakat’. And, barely a year later, they deleted item (h) of rule 4 - ‘to provide a community hall for social functions and welfare for the residents of Kuala Ampang’ citing that the members felt that the club operates as a member club and not as a community hall and it has NO OBLIGATION TO SERVE THE RESIDENTS unless they are members of the club.

So, even while the residents were standing with UKRC in the good fight, the club has already ‘hijack’ the village community hall and forever changed its objective to ‘not obliged to serve the residents.’ This is act of hypocrisy and betrayal by UKRC stabbed at the hearts of all those residents who were there then.

We write based on irrefutable documentations. If you discount the media hype, spin or ‘sound bite’ generated by UKRC -the truth will be laid bare… Pakatan Rakyat has taken the courageous decision to ‘return’ the field to the residents and ensure public access.

9. Wuhuuuu.......... someone gonna get a heart attack!!!

10. Wuhuuuu..... please come and support, let's see what is in the can!!!

11. Anonymous8:01 pm

Good move by Selangor state govt , to open up the field to everybody !

Not only for the few drinkers,

12. Anonymous9:05 pm

Hello get your facts right rocky bru as the field never belonged to ukrc. How then can it be snatched away from them. The correct thing to write is that justice has been done by taking back the field and opening it up to residents and public. Well done Tan Sri Khalid

13. Fazli Abdullah10:46 pm

Ampang man, I am one the parent where my sons will fail attends the UKRC Junior football training every weekend at UKRC. I have seen the land documents at UKRC office and its clearly shows that the MB of Selangor has given UKRC the land approval in 1958 for a playing field and a club house. So UKRC is the rightful owner and not MPAJ. That is way UKRC has been there for 56 years and not 1 or 2 years . UKRC should challenge Khalid and MPAJ in court. Another broken promise by Pakatan Rakyat. UKRC got my support.

14. Anonymous11:18 pm

Rocky bru, the battle is over the field is where it should have been a long time ago, state land managed by mpaj. Now accessible to public. Common sense will tell you that is better than to be in the hands of a private club.Some are using this issue to slam the PKR. This is a piece of land meant for recreational purpose. Kuddos to the Selangor State Government for getting back the field. UKRC hijacked the piece of land and benefited from it. Whatever you have written rocky makes no sense and I dare you to publish this.

15. Dato' Roslee Asraf11:28 pm

Khalid tak lama lagi akan buat kondomium di padang UKRC, sepertimana Khir Toyo telah mencuba dan Negeri Selangor lingkup kat Pakatan. Saya akan ke UKRC esok untuk memberi sokongan. Padang UKRC cukup baik. MPAJ, medan selera, penuh dengan tikus. Isu Tanah runtuh pun tak dapat nak selesaikan, nak jaga padang kononnya. Amat memalukan.

16. Anonymous11:39 pm

Let's go and occupy state owned land. Build a fence around it. Reap the benefits from the land and then declare it is our land even though we have no title to the land. This sounds familiar? Don't be foolish, un-realistic and ignorant. Most importantly don't be made used off.

17. Anonymous11:57 pm

Fazli Abdullah, if UKRC has the documents as you claimed to have seen, bring them out. Why go through so much unnecessary trouble. The actual fact is that they have nothing. The children junior football coaching will still go on however it will not be managed by UKRC. You have nothing to worry about.

18. Anonymous12:10 am

Roslee asraf and fazli abdullah please go to the land office or the suk building when you have the time to find out about lot 3026 in kuala ampang. You will find that lot 3026 is one entire lot gazetted green lung, open space for public use. No other documents stating ukrc has any title to the land. The joke is that Andrew Gopal, president of ukrc claims that Tan Sri Khalid promised to give UKRC lot 3026 in Kuala Ampang. Quite obvious isn't it UKRC has no legitimate claim to the field and community hall.

19. Anonymous6:12 am

Ukrcforall Ukrc...What were the Committee members doing on 20th March 2001..tidur kaa !! A year later, 2002,"they deleted item (h) of rule 4"..who were "they"..If I am not mistaken..you were one of the Committee members at that time. What were you doing that time.."tidur lagi kaa".."main kote lagi kaa"..after almost 12 years, then only you brought up this matter. Only stupid and "can be bought" residents will believe and follow you.
    How much you get for "selling" your own mother ???

20. Anonymous9:32 am

I have been following the ukrc saga for sometime already and find it ridiculous that a private club be allowed to squat on that piece of land for such a long time. UKRC derived benefits from occupying the land by having tournaments, renting out the field and hall for a high price. I was told that they have less than 20 members and that they do not serve the residents of kuala ampang. Why then are they (ukrc) still there? They should have been chased out long ago. Now they want to protest against state government and mpaj for taking back the field, that is foolish isn't it? Who actually is the trouble maker? Very simple show proof of the ownership of the land or get out. On the other hand if UKRC feels that they have been cheated take the state government to court. No point trying to get public sympathy. It is a case of whether you have it or not.

21. Anonymous11:05 am

What is the lost to ukrc now that the field has been taken and soon the community hall as well. Nothing actually.On the contrary they benefited, made a name for themselves and rm300, 000 as well.Gazetted open space for public use in 2004 was the right thing to do. Now it is accessible to all. How can ukrc hold a protest on this matter. We must be mad to support them.

22. Chee Wai11:54 am

I live in Kuala Ampang and I know UKRC is doing a good job for the residents and the people of Selangor. I and my family are never been stopped by any club members or guard at UKRC. There is also a group that exercise in the morning over years at UKRC basketball court for free. I was informed that there were a group of people whom tried to topple the committee in 2012 and failed and now bad mouthing the club committee and talking about the long amended club rules approved by the members and other irrelevant issues to misled the readers and public. If UKRC was wrong, long ago they would have been punished by the ROS. The PAS assemblyman is unreliable. UKRC should take Pakatan Rakyat to court for stealing their field. I am sure a lot of money has been spend by UKRC. Keep up the good work UKRC.

23. Anonymous12:15 pm

Mr Anonymous, the change in the constituton was done secretly. You are ignorant as charges like this can only be done in a AGM or EGM.Ask Andrew gopal as he was the culprit in ammending the club's constitution pertaining to the issue brought up. However at least we both agree that was a bad thing to do. Suggest that you go to the ROS and get a complete copy of the club's constitution and ammends to date. Then comment. As for now you are biased and have been misled. We can also ask you how much did you receive for supporting ukrc. It is also very rude and disgusting to mention someones mother. Did you ever go to school? Learn some manners and if you can't control yourself don't comment.

24. Anonymous5:08 pm

How did ukrc help the residents chee wai? Any form of financial contribution to the residents? None at all.They occupied the land made money from it and in 2011 had rm300, 000 in the bank. What were the boom gate, guard house and security guards there before for? To keep cats and dogs out? No it was to keep people out. Of course you and your family could go in as you are supporters of ukrc. Why are others are kept out? Again do your home work check the facts as your blind support towards ukrc is too obvious. What good job did ukrc do? Renting the community hall for rm1, 200 per session yet nothing was contributed to the residents. Come on lot 3026 was hijacked right under your nose and you didn't do a thing and to come out to support ukrc is really too much. Wake up Chee Wai, you have been taken for a ride.

25. Chee Wai11:10 pm

Anon 5.08 you are pure sour grape. Which grandfather gives UKRC money to maintain its club. No single cent is given by the government. So what nonsense are you taking about. People are just happy with UKRC. That's why the pay to support UKRC to keep up with the good maintenance. If resident want help, go to the State Assemblyman, ask him money. He got tax payers allocation. UKRC is a recreational club lah. Ask your self, who is paying to maintain the club, don't pretend and do a spin. Most resident appreciate UKRC's efforts. RESIDETN

26. Anonymous6:06 am

Chee Wai, were you at the dinner cum protest yesterday that ukrc organised? We were there. How many residents turned up? Less than 10. The rest were non residents in which we have never seen before. They were asked to come to make up the numbers for the photo taking session. This is to mislead the public and state authorities to think that the residents support them. Typical trick of ukrc.Therefore don't irresponsibly say that residents support and appreciate ukrc. Your statement is misleading and there is no truth in it. What allocation are you talking about? Should the state government fund a private club like UKRC which is a very highly exclusive private club with less than 20 members.if the state government fund ukrc then all private clubs in Selangor are also entitled for funding too. Chee Wai are you or were you ever a member of ukrc? I don't think so. Therefore your comments are biased and you are a traitor to the residents of kuala ampang as you support and approve of a private club's existence there. Fortunately there are very few of you residents that support ukrc as can be seen by their turn out each time ukrc organises a function, even with the offer of free food. No matter how much you or UKRC try to justify your claim and persuade the Selangor State Government to give you guys the management of lot 3026 in kuala ampang.it will not materialise, simply because ukrc is a private entity, not serving the residents and public. The state govt did the right thing in taking back lot 3026 in kuala ampang and now under the purview of mpaj has made it excessable to all. What is the complaint? None whatsoever. As long as it benefits the majority and used for its intended purpose, what is the complaint now? Ukrc intends to take the state govt.and mpaj to court, the onus is on ukrc to prove that they indeed are the rightful owner of lot 3026. Go ahead and waste the money collected over these years as ukrc hasn't got a chance. The money could be better utilised by benefiting the residents of kuala ampang.

27. Anonymous7:16 am

CEMBURU, SAKIT HATI, DENDAM. Itu sahaja yang saya nampak dalam kes UKRC ini.
    CEMBURU dengan kejayaan Presiden UKRC, En Andrew Gopal menaikkan nama UKRC di persada negara dan antarabangsa sejak menerajui UKRC tahun 2000.
    SAKIT HATI sebab tidak dapat menumbangkan Presiden dalam pemilihan Presiden dan Ahli Jawatankuasa. Jika Andrew Gopal tewas, lagi cepatlah mereka meneruskan agenda tidak baik mereka kerana UKRC sekarang adalah "lombong emas".Tahun 1957, orang2 kampung timbus bekas "lombong timah" untuk dijadikan padang bola.

Kerana SAKIT HATI dengan En Andrew, mereka membuat berbagai2 tuduhan buruk yang tak berasas terhadap En Andrew. Serangan peribadi terus dilakukan malah melibatkan serangan keluarga dan tempat tinggal beliau. Inilah yang dinanamakan DENDAM. Beberapa kali cat merah disimbah di rumah dan kereta beliau. Tetapi beliau tetap bertahan.
    Jika kita fikir balik, apakah kaitan isu tanah UKRC dan kerajaan negeri dengan kes serangan demi serangan terhadap peribadi dan tempat tinggal beliau. Sebenarnya En Andrew Gopal adalah PENGHALANG kepada agenda tidak baik mereka untuk mengambil padang dan meneruskan agenda mereka.
    Bersembunyi di sebalik perkataan "tanah lapang", "padang awam" dan "untuk kegunaan penduduk Kuala Ampang"..mereka "MERAMPAS" padang yang diurus dan dikendalikan oleh UKRC hampir 6 abad sejak dari tahun 1957.
    Buka minda anda. Duit yang dikutip dari sewa padang dan dewan bukan disimpan di dalam bank dan dibahagi-bahagikan oleh ahli-ahli kelab TETAPI diberikankan balik kepada pembayar sewa padang dan dewan dalam bentuk perkhidmatan, kemudahan dan kenikmatan yang baik. Dalam erti kata lain, duit yang masuk dikeluarkan balik untuk penyelenggaraan.

28. Anonymous8:11 am

Thank you Mr Chee Wai for revealing Ur name. If I am not mistaken, few comments here were made by the same person hiding behind Anonymous. I know him. He is Mr N Weng Soon. He is a real pure sour grape !! He is a sick man !!
    He is not a resident of Kuala Ampang. But joined UKRC since year 2000 and was "kick" out of UKRC for his misbehaviour year 2012. He was the one who started all these.
    As for me, his heart is black and his mouth is full of shit !! How dare he accused his own friends misused and stole club's money without evidence. How dare he accused Andrew Gopal secretly amended Club's constitution. I think, that's why his wife ran away from him with the German guy and few of his girlfriends that he brought to UKRC left him.
    Now he is attacking Rockybru for giving to much coverage on UKRC.
    N Weng Soon..U are good for nothing !!

29. Lily Lim8:26 am

Dear Ms. Wong Chee Wai,

Obviously you are the new kid on the block. Many new people come to UKRC, made friends, had fun, drink, chat, laugh, eat, sing, dance,......and then they dissapear from the scene. You soon realized that only that core group remains.

Yes, it started with a group of people wanting a change in leadership. But, technicality in the constitution was used to disqualify them from voting. So, that led to checking the constitution and deeper research into the constitution and the changes made led the group to uncover lots of things. NOW, it is more than that.

Many like you think that UKRC is just a recreation club. But, it is more than that. We, the residents have lost our roots. We have completely forgotten that that is our community hall. Your parents, older folks would be able to confirm that.

The original name of UKRC is 'Dewan Masyarakat dan Kelab Rekreasi Kuala Ampang' and its original intention were to serve the residents and the community.

This is a fact. Be happy to provide you a copy of the constitution. And, when you have studied that, you will know the truth. Then, are you willing to accept the facts ? Then, as resident of Kuala Ampang, I hope you will do the right thing and make things right for your fellow residents.

30. Chee Wai12:23 pm

Anon 6.06am, you seems to be a desperado misleading the public. If you said you were are the dinner last night and only 10 residents attended. You must be blind and sick. I was there and can confirm that that there were more than 200 over residents attended the protest excluding non residents. Continue your lies Anon 6.06am.

31. Respectful12:34 pm

Those of us following this debate, must surely be turned off by the personal attack on some who decides to post their comment/opinion. I may not agree with some opinions but I try to respect and understand their point of view. This approach can help us to rise above the spin and noises and see the whole picture i.e. ‘Being able to rise above the trees and see the forest’.

At the same time, we should also be wary of hero worshipping or creating a ‘personality cult’. This is a community issue and not about a person. In my humble opinion, UKRC is claiming that the land is Not a Public land and it belongs to them whilst the Pakatan government is clear that it is public land. The correct solution would be to let the court decide. I believe UKRC has already announced that their lawyer will be taking it to court. In an open court, all relevant parties can then tender their documents and witnesses in a respectful manner. Let us respect UKRC decision to take the legal route and when the court finally rules let us all respect the court decision.

32. Anonymous1:48 pm

Hahahaha
    Lily Lim = Sam Tan
    (2 x 5) (5 x 2)
    1,000s praise Andrew Gopal

Lily Lim = Sam Tan
    (2 x 5) (5 x 2)
    Any Kuala Ampang residents praise you ?

33. Chee Wai4:39 pm

Ms.Lily Lim, Do your home work and don't spread lies. I was at the UKRC office last night and its confirmed that UKRC is the Original name of the club and was registered on 20th Sept 1957 and not as you claimed that it was registered as Dewan Masyarakat. You seems to be barking at the wrong tree. Their land approval by the Land Office is also to UKRC and not to Dewan Masyarakat. I was informed that the Committee in 1978changed the club name to Dewan Masyarakat without realising that the land approval was given to UKRC and not Dewan Masyarakat and such the Committee restored to its original name in 2001. I am sure that all amendments are approved in the AGM and are signed by the officer bearers and not one individual. I fully support UKRC for their good work. I was also told that you are not ever a member of the club and there was a letter I read that your father, vandalised the club in early 80's, being a MCA member. What a disgrace and embarrassment to family as most village people came to know about it.

34. Lily Lim11:12 pm

Dear Ms. Chee Wai,

Clearly this debate has gone down the gutter, to make such personal attack on a 76 year old man on an incident that happened decades ago.

It is pointless to further engage with people of different moral standing.

In the end, the truth shall prevail.

35. Anonymous4:44 pm

We have really sick people here going on personal attacks. They have made uncalled for remarks and lies. They could be sued for defamation. We are cool as we watch the drama that is going to unfold. Justice will be served. Let the courts decide.

36. Anonymous4:52 pm

The score now is: 1 residents and 0 ukrc. We predict a score line of 2-0, when the community hall is taken back and managed by mpaj. Bye bye UKRC. The residents and public prevail, justice served. That is the way it will end.

37. Anonymous6:08 pm

Checked with Weng Soon and he is not surprised at the nasty things said about him or about Sam or Lily. Actually you guys are getting agitated and the word self control is no longer in your vocabulary. Let rocky bru judge and have a good laugh. What you write tells us that you guys are really upset. Something good has occured, the field now is open to everybody. Why then are you guys fighting everyone who has done what is right. Selfishness is the word. We are so cool about the whole matter is because we are so very delighted that justice and what needed to be put right has been done. Field is open to the public. Who are the sour grapes now taking a swipe at a 76 year old man,Who happens to be a very nice man. Lies will have its repercussions. Round one(field) is over victory for the residents and public round two (community hall) coming soon, watch out ukrc!!!

38. Anonymous3:19 pm

Lily Lim and Sam Tan... They are really trouble makers and culprit... even small kids did not respect them. I am one of the parent in a kindergarten school at Taman Ampang Utama. Please shut off their dirty mouths who tried to tarnish UKRC and misled the public and Kuala Ampang residents.