Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I am a Moderate (blogger)

"The real divide is not between Muslims and non-Muslims, or between the developed and developing worlds, it is between moderates and extremists." - Malaysian PM Najib Razak, keynote speech at Global Movement of Moderates Conference, KL

There are rhetoric and then there's Najib Razak's Global Movement of Moderates. Since he mooted the idea at the UN General Assembly in 2010, the idea has slowly caught on. The ignorant West said there was no moderate voice in Islam; well, here is one. Yesterday, Najib launched the inaugural conference on Global Movement of Moderates. Ironically, international spectators are more enthusiastic. Local dailies that have been quick to accuse the government of treating other religions as second to Islam buried the message in the inside pages of their editions today. Given Malaysia's on-and-off miscues between certain faiths, a fairly recent phenomenon fired up by some political shitheads, you'd think that the local opinion makers would show greater interest in the call against any form of religious extremism that the Global Movement of Moderates carries. Alas, nope.

Perhaps Malaysia needs its own Local Movement of Moderates.

29 comments:

1. sederhana,
    kesederhanaan,
    bersederhana,

beritahu jabatan kerajaan jangan retorik sahaja.
    mulakan dengan bersederhana dalam majlis-majlis

kita mula dengan itu dulu

usabukata

2. Anonymous5:02 pm

abis la nik ajis punya influence. doh tak da idea doh...

3. Anonymous5:15 pm

"Ignorant West" I wonder who is ignorant Rocky... Go and have a look at Canada and Australia and you may understand the concept of multi cultural society, there is no politicians there repeating the same lies everyday. Grow up Rocky and get a life bro!

4. Anonymous5:42 pm

Your post implies that the local dailies want other religions to be at par with the Islam?

I personally think the message you are burying in your post revealed your ignorant ...

people just want to see fair treatment rather than challenging the status of Islam

/e

5. I like to think I am too.

6. Anonymous6:06 pm

Najib a Moderate?

Hmmmm Pigs will fly?

We havent forgotten the Kris Weilding and Rhetorics when he was UMNO Youth...

Anyway UMNO was never About Being Moderate...

7. Anonymous6:17 pm

Salam Bro.,
    Problem with Najib is that he's into "moderation" across the board - he's projecting an image of "moderation-cum-tolerance" even when it comes to corruption, abuse of power, cronyism, warlordism, etc. For examples, he's very "moderate" with regards to Shahrizat & Co. scandal, extremely "moderate" as far as allowing Nor Mad Yakcob & his 4th fl boys to run amok, dutifully "moderate" with Azman Mokhtar at Khazanah, etc. And last but not least he's very "moderate" with Rosmah's tantrums! So he'll go down in Malaysian history as a "very moderating" PM!! Is this good for the country? The rakyat will decide come GE13!

Metamorphic

8. Anonymous6:20 pm

I agree you are a moderate blogger. But you are also some sort of lalang blogger.Last time you are against badawi and co and his government but now you are pro Ah Jib Gor's government. What gives??

LMAOROTF

9. Anonymous7:01 pm

a man of contradictions, what moderates najib is talking about:

i)high income economy when the whole rural economy and development is disparagingly low compared to Klang Valley centred ETP and 100-storey building (mooted);

ii) vote incentive/buying has never known its days ever since, bankcrupting the country economically and people morally. Rakyat don't need handouts but wholesome development.

iii) is keeping and picking up corrupt ministers in admixture with honest ones being moderate?

10. Anonymous7:13 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin......especially on this blog with crazy bastards like warrior

11. LMAOROTF writes ...

I agree you are a moderate blogger. But you are also some sort of lalang blogger.Last time you are against badawi and co and his government but now you are pro Ah Jib Gor's government. What gives??

------------------
    Dear LMAOROTF,

Yes I was (and am, if you insist) against the Badawi regime. And so were your Lim Kit Siang & Son, Anwar Ibrahim, Nik Ajeh, etc. BUT after the tiunami of 2008 they suddenly became keen on Badawi staying on as PM. Remember meh> Remember how Kit Siang wanted to table the unprecedented Vote of Confidence to support Pak Lah as PM. Hehe. Now you tell me, siapa lalang?

As for Najib, I am with the majority of the rakyat. He has got issues with the party and government he inherited Pak Lah but he works hard and he's doing some major things right.

Moderately yours.

12. Anonymous7:27 pm

Thank you Utusan for sponsoring the conference!

13. Anonymous9:44 pm

The idea is good but we locals all know Najib is all talk only. He preach one thing but do another (or just ignore). Can't be trusted. Like you.

14. Anonymous10:53 pm

Can Ah Jib Gor enlighten me that instigating crowds to kill Chinese is not extremism?

“Bunuh Cina” shouting might not came out from Najib’s mouth, but he was a UMNO Youth leader led the Malay rally in Kampung Baru stadium.

How such person got no shame to call himself a moderate?

www.nkkhoo.com

15. Anonymous9:48 am

Caught on?
    Have seen nothing on it in the international print, online and broadcast media ( even Al Jazeera did not have anything.....).
    Also not a great deal in our BM or other language newspapers.
    Bit in the NST and some in Star.
    Also reading the speech there is nothing new there really.
    Turkey & Indonesia has been advocating this for longer and they are the 2 countries that are often singled out as leading the charge of moderation against extremism.
    As for list of speakers at the conference - apart from Najib & Raja Nazrin no other nale stood out.

Mazlan

16. Anonymous11:04 am

www.nkkhoo.com

now you be careful, majority of Malays haven't forgotten the bloody may 13, 1969... in fact if you have forgotten here's quick link; http://dnobiz.com/santai/peristiwa-13-mei-punca-tragedi-berdarah-13-mei/

some malays may have forgotten or simply choose to forget, but not the majority of US, we live in peace and harmony so please do not provoke others, let the past stay in the past or everything else will resurface... PEACE IN MALAYSIA, SUPPORT DS NAJIB IN MODERATION, THE ONLY EXTREMIST HERE IN MALAYSIA NOWADAYS ARE AMBIGA (BERSIH RALLY), PKR (THE MASTER OF 'STREET-DEMOS') AND PAS (SUPPORTING AND JOINING 'STREET-DEMOS')

thanks Rocky's Bru, for sharing with us! We (Moderation) may start slow but wisdom doesn't come rolling, it comes with experiences and years of learning!

17. Anonymous11:31 am

You are a moderate blogger but you allow your blog to carry anti-non-Malay hatred from extremist assholes. What does that really qualify you as ?

A no-balls blogger who likes to think he is moderate. Just like your boss, Najib. A no-balls leader who thinks he is moderate but who'll bend over for the likes of Ibrahim Katak and Mamakthir.

18. As moderates we ban the 400 year old Malay bible. We punish those who want to leave Islam. We defend the use and the "sanctity" of the Arab language which they themselves don't bother defending. What else is moderate about what Najib says?

19. Godfather,

Sorry to point out, but you sound like one of the extremist assholes you mentioned in your comment.

And nkkhoo.com,

Despite the ease of access to information - free information - on the Internet, you still can't be bothered to look up if the claim that Najib shouted "bunuh Cina" actually happened. That is sad, indeed.

20. Anonymous4:24 pm

Latuk Locky:

I never ban the Koran, I never say anything bad about Malays. I only say bad things about the den of thieves known as UMNO.

Know the difference ?

21. Anonymous6:02 pm

Bru,

As a military cadet official in 80s who studied in UTM at Jalan Semarak (was Jalan Gurney), my Mindef hostel was nearby the stadium. Unlikely my ears had mistaken "bunuh cina" as "bunuh anjing". I had to temporarily moved to Setapak because of my skin color to avoid being killed by Malay mobs.

I challenged Najib charging me to test the bunuh cina incident in the open court.

For those people think 513 will not happen again for forgetting the past is asking for more 513.

www.nkkhoo.com

22. Anonymous12:10 am

Agreed. Perhaps Perkasa could lead our Local Movement of Moderates.

23. Anonymous10:06 am

Moderation? By endorsing Utusan Malaysia, his keris-wielding cousin & race-based BN component parties? Or by continuing race-based instead of need-based NEP/NEM?

24. Anonymous11:45 am

a wolf wearing sheep's skin!

BL

25. Anonymous12:10 pm

Latuk Locky:

We have been saying all this while - UMNO has no integrity, UMNO steals from the rakyat, UMNO plays both ends of the divide, UMNO condones fitnah.

UMNO got no answers to all these charges. UMNO spinners like you got no answers. All you can counter is: is Pakatan any better ?

Najib is moderate, but he is also an extremist. When he needs to he is a chameleon. Just like you. You know which side your bread is buttered, so you go with the spin.

26. Jasper Bloodstone2:51 pm

I am curious - do banshees like warrior dude, perwira-san, anti whatever & penembak porcines qualify as "moderate" posters on your blog?

"Moderates" wouldn't be spewing their racist crap for the dubious edification of all and sundry , while massaging what masquerades as their pitiful egos!

Seems to me that "moderation" in the Malaysian context is an exercise in futility, where everyone has an agenda, not necessarily benign.

27. Anonymous6:01 pm

The first think that Najib need to prove Malaysia is a moderate country is to kick those extremist journalists and editors from the Utusan Melayu.

28. Anonymous11:20 am

Rocky Bru writes :

Yes I was (and am, if you insist) against the Badawi regime. And so were your Lim Kit Siang & Son, Anwar Ibrahim, Nik Ajeh, etc. BUT after the tiunami of 2008 they suddenly became keen on Badawi staying on as PM. Remember meh> Remember how Kit Siang wanted to table the unprecedented Vote of Confidence to support Pak Lah as PM. Hehe. Now you tell me, siapa lalang?

As for Najib, I am with the majority of the rakyat. He has got issues with the party and government he inherited Pak Lah but he works hard and he's doing some major things right.
    ----------------------------------

Dear Bru,

Your spinning is really amateurish lah. You are just a man playing politics. Enough with the "he works hard and he's doing some major things right" smokescreen lahhhh aiyo. You were just in the anti-Badawi camp, pro-Mahathir camp and now you are still in the same camp. Nothing's changed innit? Except for poor old Badawi.

29. Anonymous11:30 am

nkkhoo says :

Bru,

As a military cadet official in 80s who studied in UTM at Jalan Semarak (was Jalan Gurney), my Mindef hostel was nearby the stadium. Unlikely my ears had mistaken "bunuh cina" as "bunuh anjing". I had to temporarily moved to Setapak because of my skin color to avoid being killed by Malay mobs.

I challenged Najib charging me to test the bunuh cina incident in the open court.

For those people think 513 will not happen again for forgetting the past is asking for more 513.

www.nkkhoo.com

-----------------------------------

Dear Latuk Locky (in spirit of Godfather),

OWNED>

LOL