Sunday, January 16, 2011

Karpal to Shamsul: I ain't toothless

Read Shamsul's "The taming of the Tiger ..." which was published by the New Sunday Times on Jan 9. The "Tiger" in question has written a Letter to the Editor to the NST and warned Shamsul that "It's not so easy to tame the Tiger of Jelutong. So beware." Read H E R E.

For sure, many have tried to wake up the sleeping tiger but to no avail. Shamsul must have struck a nerve.

32 comments:

1. In his reply in the NST, Karpal just said that Anwar was freed of the sodomy charge by the Federal Court but YB Wee said in his blog, excerpt:

start quote"YB Karpal Singh now said that “Anwar was freed by the Federal Court on the charge against involving Azizan Abu Bakar on Sept 2, 2004, …”. I do not believe that YB Karpal Singh did not read the full Federal Court written judgment dated 02 September 2004, which has been published in the Malayan Law Journal (MLJ), especially the Judgment by His Lordship YA Dato’ Abdul Hamid bin Hj Mohamad, Federal Court Judge as he then was, where His Lordship has said:

To summarise our judgment, even though reading the appeal record, we find evidence to confirm that the appellants were involved in homosexual activities and we are more inclined to believe that the alleged incident at Tivoli Villa did happen, sometime, this court, as a court of law, may only convict the appellants if the prosecution has successfully proved the alleged offences as stated in the charges, beyond reasonable doubt, on admissible evidence and in accordance with established principles of law. We may be convinced in our minds of the guilt or innocence of the appellants but our decision must only be based on the evidence adduced and nothing else. (The emphasis is mine.)

After reading the said Federal Court judgment, any one with modicum intelligence would have came to the conclusion that the said Federal Court’s 2 to 1 majority decision was based solely on technicality. I am equally certain that YB Karpal Singh was fully aware of this."end quote.

I think Tiger of Jelutong sudah takda roarlah.

2. Anonymous2:54 pm

Don't fool around with Karpal. The ball is now with Shamsul if he has a solid case. Report it to the Bar Council and both sides will have the opportunity to "kill" each other. I'm sure Karpal is ready with his legal research to shame the other side. That reminds me to lots of noice made about Karpal being a traitor (penderhaka) to the Sultan of Perak over his remarks that the Sultan has no power to do certain things. Where's the actions? I'm sure Karpal is ever ready to teach the noice makers in court on how to prepare their cases.

frm: tak takut

3. BIGCAT3:13 pm

hehehehe....Shamsul definitely has rattled Karpal. The old man are no longer sure whether he wants to be a lion or a tiger. Jadi kucing je lah Karpal. Comel sikit.

4. Anonymous5:13 pm

Karpal, not only you are toothless, you even lies. And you posted the chrono of the allegation that have nothing to do to uphold your integrity and credibility. You even asked Shamsul or anybody to report you to the bar council or lembaga disiplin, so that you can defend yourself. How can you defend yourself from public perception? Or from waheguru?

All the while you seem to talk down your opponent, just because they are always focusing on defending ie retreat. There is no justice in your style of law. Now the role has changed. You better start defending cause those sets of dentures that you have cannot really bites, it cannot even be called teeth. Better start really defending your integrity and credibility, because no amount of court room antics gonna change the perception you build in 97. Either you tuck your tail between your legs and admit to your blunder in 97. Or distance yourself from Anwar. Or just tell the world that you are neither here nor there.

Ross

5. Salam Datuk,

"So, what it comes to is this -- Anwar had not only been cleared of the charge by Dr Mahathir, Rahim and Mohtar but also by the highest court in the land -- the Federal Court."

Yeah right. On a technicality, which he conveniently fail to mention. Most glaringly omitting the fact that Highest Court in the Land is on record to state that sodomy take place!

Toothless Lion, Tiger, Pussycat whatever.

6. About Shamsul Akmar and whether Karpal has any bite or not. Shamsul can alway ask for a bite on his ass and verify if it was painful or painless! And sure enough, Karpal's reply has left Shamsul raw and exposed.

The question is did Dr.Mahathir, AG Mokhtar and IGP Rahim Noor lie when they originally cleared Anwar of any sexual impropriety? Was there a cover-up only for it to be retracted for political expediency and revenge and to distract the populace from the 1997/98 Asian financial crisis when Dr.M as the long-standing PM was clearly substantially, if not wholly, to blame for it affecting us so severely?

And if they were being truthful, then how did Karpal contravene any law in M'sia or code of conduct of lawyers as defined by the Bar Council?

Ths is what happens when 3rd rate journos bite off more than they can chew! Karpal's brilliantly worded and logical reply shows up Shamsul as naive, a rank amateur, if not a fake and a simpleton of low IQ.

dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

7. Anonymous11:23 pm

no wonder nst circ right at the bottom...

when they keep hiring morons churning out garbage.

8. mohamed11:48 pm

After reading both link, I'll say Go Shamsul Go...I believe you got a point.

The "putar belit" must end.

9. Anonymous3:12 am

Karpal's explanation makes a lot of sense. Im just surprised that he took the time to answer NST's pre-election motives. Maybe you guys should bring in the race issue now to counter his statement ....
    *floyd*

10. dharma4:50 am

rocky, he is exactly like you. suddenly bringing up something that happened many years ago. you know lah, thats the way of your type.

11. Anonymous8:02 am

The singh always poosingh.As a lawyer he does not respect justice as he is defending a person whom he knows committed a crime and now considers himself a tiger fighting for justice but for the wrong cause. That's why you can't trust lawyers, they themselves are crooks. They exploit the law for their own benefit. Malaysian Bar Council poorah.

12. Anonymous8:25 am

Karpal, Karpal .... tiger takda taring and no balls. Dia ni bukan tiger but just a kucing hutan ..kurap pulak tu. Using Tun M's name for the convenience of his politics. Now I believe him, Now I dont! Pi dah Bhai .. retire gracefully lah! This is the first time saya dengar tentang mamat PAS yang sanggup mati demi Karpal. Betul ke? Dia ingat mati syahid ke? Sesat, sesat!

13. Anonymous12:16 pm

Got tooth or toothless,

NO CROWN NO KING ...

NO TURBAN NO SINGH.

hahahaha

14. Anonymous1:18 pm

"A lot of lion left in the Tiger of Jelutong" ???? quote from KP.

I have a problem with men of mixed metaphors.

Metaphors are useful as smoke screens. And such messy mixing does not suggest much credibility.

Furthermore why dignify such politicians with the mighty and dignified Tiger?

The Tiger of Malaya is yet to emerge in my view of Malaysian history.

To refer to KP as the Tiger of Jelutong is a misnomer at the very least.

And jelutong is 'kayu' is it not?

Maznoor bt Abd. Hamid

15. Anonymous2:14 pm

JOHAN JAAFAR SILA AMBIL PERHATIAN BAHAWA KAMI MASIH MENGAWASI SEGALA GERAK GERI KAMU. KAMI TAHU KAMU MASIH MENJADI PENYOKONG KUAT ANWAR IBRAHIM. KAMI TAHU KAMU HANYA BERPURA-PURA. KAMI JUGA TAHU KAMU MENGGUNAKAN JAWATAN KAMU SEBAGAI PENGERUSI MEDIA PRIMA UNTUK MEMBANTU ANWAR IBRAHIM DAN KONCO-KONCO NYA. KAMI SEDANG MENGAWASI KAMU.

16. Anonymous2:24 pm

got teeth ma ..just got no wheels !!! GOt ma wheels ....wheelchair .....

17. Anonymous4:32 pm

Not related but maybe you want to do some investigation on this - http://holykaw.alltop.com/considered-yourself-warned-malaysia-tolerates?tu4=1

It may get viral and although its funny, its also another way to discredit Malaysia. Perhaps it is genuine but the document looks old and I myself have not heard of it or perhaps that policy has been long abandoned? Still funny though.

18. Anonymous5:34 pm

Finally the tiger with “with a lot of lions still left in it” has spoken or rather roared.

DAP chairman Karpal Singh, who is also the defence counsel for Pakatan Rakyat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

Tiger of Jelutong’s silence was undoubtedly broken by political analyst Shamsul Akmar’s stinging news column recently.

In his New Straits Times column Shamsul had questioned Karpal’s perceived hypocrisy in him appearing as a defence counsel for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in the latter’s Sodomy trials.

Loaded with facts and statements by trained lawyers who have been following the Sodomy-saga from day one, plus Karpal’s own admission of his ‘prior knowledge’ of the sex scandal, Shamsul queried the professionalism and integrity of the veteran lawyer and lawmaker.

Shamsul’s contention in his column is clear and logical.

How could a respected lawyer, who was among the first to accuse Anwar Ibrahim of committing sodomy and was later incessantly demanding the Government to take appropriate action against Anwar, make an about turn to defend him?

Karpal had also met and held discussions with the victims and prime witnesses of the first Sodomy case WHILE Anwar Ibrahim was still the Deputy Prime Minister.

Shamsul is certainly not alone in his call for Karpal to come clean. I guess the whole country or at least stable minded Malaysians are keen to know more about this hidden part of Anwar’s Sodomy saga.

Fellow lawyer and Karpal’s friend turned foe Datuk Zaid Ibrahim had branded Karpal a snake for reasons best known to him.

Anwar’s former defence counsel Zulkifli Noordin and Karpal’s former DAP comrade Wee Choo Keong have also spilled the beans. Both Wee and Zulkifli are also Members of our Parliament.

The Muslim lawyers association have also demanded an investigation into Karpal’s conduct as a lawyer.

Dear YB Karpal Singh, its so lame of you to suggest that Dr.Mahathir and the Federal Court had cleared Anwar of Sodomy!

Have u not u read the Full Judgement? Did the judge not say that the act of sodomy did take place? Please come clean YB or risk your reputation flowing into the drain.

19. Anonymous5:36 pm

Is it a Tiger with forked tongue?
    January 17, 2011 by weechookeong
    It took YB Karpal Singh some 7 days to respond to En Shamsul Akmar’s article entitled “The taming of the Tiger of Jelutong”, which appeared on 9 January 2011, in HERE. On 06-01-2011 I posted an article entitled “YB Karpal Singh should offer himself to be a witness!”, in HERE, which was widely quoted in the mass media.

On 16-01-2011 NST published a letter from YB Karpal Singh, in HERE, where he took great pain in trying to justify what he had uttered in 1997 in Parliament and early 1998 in the DAP Ceramah in Federal Hotel that he had evidence in hand that the then Deputy Prime Minister, YB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, was involved in sodomy and his u-turn soon after YB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was sacked as DPM on 02-09-1998 and subsequently charged for sodomy.

Now YB Karpal Singh in his said letter to NST seemed to be relying heavily on what Tun Dr Mahathir, the then PM, had said on 23, 24, 25 August 1997, and Tan Sri Rahim Noor, the then IGP, on 03-09-1997 clearing Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim of the misdeeds. I do not want to touch on what YB Karpal Singh quoting about the late Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah, the then AG, as he was YB Karpal Singh’s university mate in the University of Singapore and also a good friend.

20. Anonymous5:36 pm

http://weechookeong.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/is-it-a-tiger-with-forked-tounge/

21. Anonymous5:39 pm

for years i have seen this karpal n his team of lawyers together with his acomplice anwar ibrahim mocking the Judiciary System in Malaysia with their tactics of delay n delays....more delays(the latest is saiful's trial with an absurd reason of brisbane's flooding)when into a trial n i'm still waiting for the day when a brave judge would put a stop to this nonsense.. my dear Shamsul, this tiger is not toothless....he is just full of S...H...I...T

22. Anonymous8:05 pm

wo ho ho bro!

i'm shakin' to the bones la. the "immobile" tiger has started to growl! come on la, last time he said he got proof, and later he defended him, in fact until now! can he tell us which is black and which is white? there is no tengah-tengah in matters of law, isn't it or is there is? wow!

Warmest Regards,
    - Hantu Siber -

23. Anonymous12:20 am

How did a lion get into a tiger?
    And why should Sham flog a dead horse? Its a crazy aminal farm out there!

24. Anonymous12:43 am

Circus de Soleil vs Penang Animal Show

When a forked tongue tiger of Jelutong (Penang) meets chameleon of Permatang Pauh (Penang) in a cage whose caretaker is the Lim and Sons Sdn. Bhd, surely Malaysians will get to watch the best animal show or earth, better than the Circus de Soleil, Penang will be on the world map for having heritage animals, toothless tiger singh and colourless gay chameleon, play acting on the Lim Kesian stage. To Lim and Sons Sdn Bhd, please patent/copyright the Penang Animal Show, otherwise other zoos will hijack the show. It's the best socio-politico-cultural product, with heritage taste, all in one, Penang can be proud of. Penang should import the senile orangutan to have a complete animal casting.

Will visit penang soon....and definitely visit Penang Zoo.

25. Anonymous1:47 am

Dear YB Karpal Singh,
    Do not waste your time on this issue. I bigger and sinister issue is playing out now. PROXY VOTING. The issue must be brought to the attention of International Fora before this commuinist style voting system is made legal in this country.

This voting system is based on the Communist principle- IF YOU KNOW THAT YOU ARE NOT GOING TO WIN THE FIRST TIME CHEAT!!!!!!!!!

26. Saudara Rocky,
    Ikuti entry terbaru kami di www.merboktimes.blogspot.com

Jangan Lupa Kisah Ini - Anekdot Satu : Tunku mengheret bag di lapangan terbang Kaherah.

Mungkin di zaman Tunku belum ada blog atau media-media sosial maka itu kisah-kisah ini kita paparkan untuk netizen yang tidak membaca buku sejarah.

Terima kasih.

27. Anonymous10:03 am

Better change your moniker Karpal, to snake of Jelutong.

Snake has forked tongue.

Hasril

28. How does a militaristic stance reconcile with true religion?

29. Tua-tua pun, nak panggil diri sendiri Tiger ke?

Kalau macam tu, panggil aku Sang Kelembai of Bangsar.

30. Anonymous1:14 pm

A man called a Lawyer, knowinga client is guilty of a crime yet will fight and twist facts on grounds of technicality..

Are men without conscience..
    Men who deserve no respect from humans, even animals..

Theres nothing to feel so megah2 and Ego2, shout SO LOUD here and there, "KEMALUAN BESAQ" if even considered themselves being part of our human race.

Will NEVER FORGET one very famous Judge, years ago, who placed a barrel in his mouth and shot himself to death, at his desk.

Jangan main2 dengan doa victims, tak kenal siapa pengkhianat tapi last2 SATU BAI kat Selayang dah kena Heart Attack.

hahahaha

31. Anonymous2:20 pm

One person talked abt "full" judgment of the Federal Court. Now that "full" judgment was critised all over the world. Of course we don't hear much criticism locally. We know why. That judgment was made to appease the Govt by adding that although evidence cud not be seen to support it, nevertheless it had taken place, according to one of the judges. How does he know? Was he there? Isn't the job of the judges is to decide based on evidence. Even half past 6 lawyers know this.If there's no evidence to prove something how can you say that something actually did happen? Can one say that Najib actualy met Altantuya although there's no evidence to support it? The truth is the evidence for Anwar's release is so overwhelming that their conscience cud not ignore it. On the other hand, to release Anwar "unconditionally" wud incur the wrath of the Govt. So the damned remark was added... What a joke...

frm: no joker

32. Here's a good lawyer joke, jangan marah ah:

Having passed on, the lawyer found himself with the devil in a room filled with clocks. Each clock turned at a different speed and was labeled with the name of a different occupation.

After examining all of the clocks, the lawyer turned to the devil and said, "I have two questions, First why does each clock move at a different speed?" The devil replied, 'They turn at the rate at which that occupation sins on the earth.

What is your second question?" The lawyer asked where the attorneys' clock was, as he couldn't seem to find it.

The devil looked puzzled, then his face brightened and he replied, "Oh, we keep that one in the workshop. It's used as a fan."