Wednesday, September 08, 2010

Clash of the Tycoons

www.tnt.net.my Halim Saad's "return" to the limelight has given rise to several mouth-watering speculations but this one by a relatively new site deserves mention as the write attempts to bring Halim Saad at loggerheads with Syed Mokhtar al-Bukhary, one of Malaysia's richest men.
Read the Clash of the Tycoons
"... While we acknowledge Halim’s contributions towards the realisation of the North-South Highway , the current era of good corporate governance and transparency dictates these two organisations remain in the Khazanah stable," said a Kuala Lumpur based banker."
Khazanah sandwiched between tycoons? Be afraid, be very afraid.
Or place your bets now!

17 comments:

1. Anonymous4:11 am

Off Topic Bru (since I will be leaving for a place in this beloved land of mine where no Internet would be accessible)

A bit early but with Eid al-Fitr in Mekah tomorrow and in MALAYSia on Friday*, its never too early to wish you and the family : Selamat Hari Raya & maaf zahir batin. May many happy Berkats be showered on you and the family hearth, Inshallah.

To all my fellow Muslim brothers and sisters " Salam Eidl-Fitr, Maaf Zahir Batin" May you be showered with Allah's blessings on this glorious day of Victory. And dont despair over our current predicament, for when the oppressors unleash their arrogance, surely the humble defenders of the faith will rise to cloak you from their evil, rest assured.InshaAllah.

Safe Driving, everyone.

* A conundrum that has mystified me since time immemorial"

Allahuakbar! Allahuakbar! Allahuakbar!

2. drMpower4:31 am

perhaps, if they indeed lock horns, the edge comes in the mould of history and perception.

in the past, halim saad had his round of bouts within the conglomerate sectors. the same goes to al bukhary.

both had wins and losses which speak so much of business minds and their bravery of taking chances and risks are no one to object about. in short, both have balls.

but halim is tainted. who taint him doesnt matter. on the other hand, al bukhary is looking angel. his contributions to charity and people's well being are in abundance.

plus, al bukhary's pledge of NOT raising any toll rates should he win the really made me already HUGE fan.

3. Selamat Hari Raya Warrior. And Amin.

4. Well and good, Bru.
    My take is Najib allowed this to happen, it is a clash between TDZ and NMY boys or TDM and AAB cronies.

Lets bring this pekung out in the open, we cannot fix what we cannot see.

Like our warrior 231 said "And dont despair over our current predicament, for when the oppressors unleash their arrogance, surely the humble defenders of the faith will rise to cloak you from their evil, rest assured.InshaAllah."

To all Bru's muslim readers, "Selamat Hari Raya Eiul Fitri Al Mubarrak"

5. Anonymous7:18 am

Warrior 231 gone to Mekah, get charged, and will come back with renewed vigor to defend this Tanah Pribumi Tercinta from all anasir anti-patriotism and anti-malays?

Be afraid. Be very afraid. Wa caya lu, Warrior 231.

Warrior 718 of 1024

6. Anonymous9:05 am

Warrior, what puzzle, very simple lo. Moon rises 5 hrs later than Msian maghrib at about 2400 Msian time, when Mekah just about to buka puasa for their Wednesday, so they raya on Thurday, their Thursday.

7. Anonymous10:07 am

Wonder if you open shop during Hari Raya till the weekend, brother. I wish you would at least once a day. It'd be a bit lonely without browsing your blog despite the HR festivities. Don't take too long brushing shoulders with the powers that be at the open houses, hahaha.

If you close shop, I might join Warrior for a longer stay at the Internet-inaccesible turun-temurun place longer than I had originally planned.

Selamat Hari Raya to you and all patrons of your blog.

Wassalam.

The always anon fellow.

8. Anonymous10:56 am

memang interbiu tu pelik. Rahsid dulu kerja dgn Daim lepai tu pulak dgn KJ. Mustapha pulak belachi Kalimulah. Tu yg pelik sgt, ngapa mrk blh peralatkan NST utk wang ringgit.

9. Anonymous11:15 am

Transparency goes out of the window for these two guys. Can't they just take whatever they already have, and ride into the sunset ?

10. Dao' & Bloggers,

Selamat Hari Raya Aidil fitri, Maaf zahir dan batin.

Semoga Allah memperbanyakan lagi orang melayu yang berkemampuan dan pemurah. Amin !!

11. Anonymous3:56 pm

Since you pointed out that Khazanah is sandwiched between 2 tycoons,I can bet you Khazanah will do what it has done in the past...take the company private, in this case Plus.
    Khazanah did it for Pantai too.

Jehovah

12. mansyor5:36 pm

A reader in www.tnt.net.my said this

...Their plan is simple. Takeover toll roads, securitise their future income and raise bonds to pay the government 45 bil or 50bil. Its not their money.

Subsequently they will float the company to attract local and foreign funds and make capital gains. If its 10 percent gain, they will make clean rm5 bil .

Not to mention, asset strippings excercise that they will embarked upon.

Enough of making individuals rich out of thin air. If ever government wants to sell the toll roads, please sell them to the rakyat via PNB. Else, best to keep them with Khazanah.

Couldn't agree more. Why the people with 'connections' should be given free access to the juices in the country.

Why not give them GLCs that need revitalizing and see how they can turn it around? That's the true nature of businessmanship.

In the era of Najib, nobody should be given free ride.

Companies that do well like Plus or Petronas, if government wants to let the people get a piece of the action, sell them to PNB, let them raise the bond or sukuk or whatever.

13. Anonymous10:08 pm

Or if Melayu businessmen cannot be trusted or they cannot become too rich because Melayu cannot be too rich one..sell to to YTL la..1 Malaysia mah!

14. Yes Malaysia is UP for SALE

15. Anonymous11:55 pm

As for what Khazanah will do with regards to that "rooney-type sandwiched situation", Khazanah will certainly hire more consultants like BigCuntGroup (BCG) or McKinzir or BinaFucker to advice them what to do next. As usual, the study will take about 3-6 months to complete and will cost taxpayers nothing less that US1mn. And what those Khazanah morons will do with the study is they will use it as the most expensive toilet paper!

It's about time for Azman Mokhtar and his MCOBA boys to berambus from Khazanah for life. What has he achieved since he became the CEO? Just look at Khazanah GLCs? Anything to shout? What about the Iskandar Project, IRDA (a platform for MCOBA oldies to retire and make quick bucks, ask Zainol Rashid and the previous 2 CEOs).

Please la Rocky, u should start focusing on Khazanah and Azman Mokhtar before more tazpayers money got burn for nothing.

16. Anonymous5:26 pm

Time to let the dog out!!

10 SEPTEMBER 2010
    And, more importantly, it appears like the current Prime Minister, Najib Tun Razak, is giving his tacit approval for Tajudin Ramli, Rahman Maidin and Halim Saad to sing like a canary and finger Umno, Dr Mahathir and Tun Daim Zainuddin as the real rogues behind the plundering of billions of Ringgit of taxpayers’ money.—Raja Petra Kamarudin in his latest posting

http://uppercaise.wordpress.com/2010/09/08/battle-of-umno-billions/#more-7394
    Malaysia Today and the battle of Umno’s billions
    8 SEPTEMBER 2010

17. Anonymous8:29 pm

Anon 11:55pm, are you refering to Zainol Rashid aka Kerbau (hp no 019-3152636)?
    He is Hijjaz's man (Ikmal Hijjaz the previous CEO). There's too many MCOBA arseholes in IRDA and IIB and it is an open secret that they are making money like nobody's business esp the ones involved projects/contracts/hiring consultants. So if MACC officers or PM or Tun Mahathir are reading this, please go and investigate those bastards.

kerbau pendek