Sunday, June 06, 2010

IGP Abdul Rahman Hashim

7 June 1974. I read on twtiter this morning about a "beautiful story by NajibRahman abt his father the late IGP on @nst-online". I've read Najib's account of the gunning down of IGP Rahman Hashim a couple of times, but his latest piece My father, the IGP, was gunned down moved me still.

Thank you Najib for keeping the memory of IGP Abdul Rahman Hashim alive. Everybody else seems to have conveniently forgotten about the IGP and the sacrifices the family had to make. The PDRM's own website has only this about Abdul Rahman Hashim.

45 comments:

1. Anonymous1:44 pm

i've meet the guy who gunned him down, called 'pakdin' in one programme organized by Kelab Sahabat Penjara in Sg Buluh last puasa month with tan sri azman hashim-presiden kelab sahabat penjara ... stingrays VII

2. Those who had sacrificed their lives to defend our country should be honoured.

3. Rakan Cop2:51 pm

He deserves a Tun, posthumously. Do we have a street named after Abdul Rahman Hashim?

Rakan Cop 18893

4. Anonymous2:51 pm

Of cos we who knew Arwah well, will never ever forget him!

5. Rocky, thanks for highlighting this article on my late father-in-law, an honorable man who died in the service of his country.

Anon 1.44: If you have nothing nice to say, shut the hell up. It's a despicable thing to mock the dead.

6. Anonymous3:22 pm

He was a hero. AL FATIHAH

7. Anonymous3:22 pm

Indeed Rocky, this piece is moving(sad).., while the details seems Shakespeare like ....hmm.

Dr Watson.

8. Anonymous3:29 pm

Contrary to popular belief, the highest title in Malaysia to be bewtowed upon a commoner is Pingat Gagah Berani, not Tunship.

Tunship is the third highest.

Mari kita berdoa ke atas roh abdul rahman hashim.

9. Anonymous3:35 pm

Kama, I dont find anything out of place with Anon 1.44's comment. Can you please explain what is so offensive abt the comment. Secondly, why are you coming to Rocky's blog and demanding people shut their comments? Are you the blog adminstrator ? Kama, org berbudi, kita berbahasa, org memberi, kita merasa. Salam.

10. Anonymous3:47 pm

Anon 1.44pm,

2 chinese on motorbike gunned him down in Perak in the middle of the streets. They faced the gallows 9 months later.

Wat nonsense were u saying abt pakdin?

11. Anonymous4:01 pm

We still remember the murder of the said IGP. We believed it was conspired by VVIPs who was to cover up his case which proved him to have direct relations with communist?

Hope one day the truth of the IGPs death will be exposed for the sake of justice.

It was well planned but was not enough to cover their tracks.

Should ask Syed Rahman who was the IGP adc who st the last minutes took leave. Was he involved ?

We knew the late IGP since he was our family friends.

Krismas

12. He's simply a Hero, nothing less.

13. Bangsar Boy5:35 pm

And you lowered yourself to his level Kama.

14. Al Fatihah.

He was more that just Kojak. As a former Pengarah Cawangan Khas he led the special branch into battle with commitment and dedication. His contribution towards national security, especially against the CPM reign of terror, made him a target for assassination. A modern day warrior worth a place in Malaysian history.

He must be remembered if not by the government at least by the force he once led.He died true to the slogan of POLIS SEDIA BERKHIDMAT.

15. Anonymous6:37 pm

unsung hero of the country.
    Hope certain politicians dont just use police force to advance their own political career. think more about the country and its people.

malaysian

16. Anonymous7:46 pm

A true Officer and a Gentleman. Sadly we do not have the Gentleman type anymore. This IGP was a marked man because he pursued the profession of a law enforcer without fear or favour. My greatest respect to him.

17. Anonymous8:31 pm

Kita sedekah al-Fatihah utk Allahyarham.
    What a moving story by a son. Was it so many years ago? I remember reading of his death, I was 15 and was at MBS (Methodist Boys School) not too far away from where he was gunned down.
    How tragic it must have been for the son to find out the way he did that it was his own father who was killed.
    Also, he mentioned a cop DSP Kula. If I'm not mistaken he's the one of the top crime busters of those years.
    (I hope I'm not seen as nit-picking. But I believe Caesar's wife who had the bad dream was Calpurnia, not Octavia. I may be wrong. It's so many years ago since I read Julius Caesar.)
    Thank you
    BM

18. We will always remember the good IGP Abdul Rahman Hashim. Alfatihah.

19. Anonymous7:49 am

A file has been opened against the late PM during his time. That was the only reason there was a contract on the IGPs head were made.

Personally I have NO RESPECT at all for the late PM who in fact was a man of greed just like his childrens in particular NTR.

Krismas

20. abu simbel8:22 am

the daughter-in-law also no nothing about why he was gun down.. we also want to know why? What is the outcome of the investigation?

p/s wake-UP 2:19 pm
    my grandfather died during 13th may because he try to protect the umno flag from being torch by chinese..boleh dapat pingat ka???

21. Anonymous9:19 am

Anon this one is for you...... MAY THE CURSR OF A MILLION FLEAS INFEST YOUR ARSEHOLE and ur hands become short....wakakakakakaka

22. Mullah TTDI10:31 am

I totally agree with you, bro.... Beautiful story from a loving son and experienced journalist... You must read it to experience the beauty of the story.... Hhmm...

23. Anonymous10:59 am

sure got involved with the underworld. dont trust Malaysian cops one bit.

24. Can you blame us for forgetting? The IGPs that followed want to make us forget!!

THe assassination of this IGP is still very much etched in my mind...the news was shocking indeed. But then again at that time I was not exactly following the goings on in the political, criminal or communist activities of tat time.

25. Anonymous3:42 pm

Datok Rocky,

As a man of valour, IGP Abdul Rahman name deserved to be encasted in the mind of all Malaysians. Permit me to request from the DYMM Yang di Pertuan Agong to name the new Bukit Aman Police Building after the late IGP Abdul Rahman.

prof Awe Kecik

26. Anonymous3:48 pm

we should move on as 1 nation. let's bring chin peng back home...

... so we can properly hang him

kratos

27. Anonymous3:54 pm

If there are many of this kind of people in the Police Force now, the country would have less problems.

28. Old pal4:23 pm

Hi Najib, if you are reading this. beautiful piece which moved me to tears.
    It's been a long time since I met you. Used to live down your road.
    Was once a rookie crime reporter with Lat the cartoonist.
    Also knew Kristal, the real sexy gal whose father was Ivor Kraal, Wisma Putra spokesperson.
    It's really history because Zailah was also a pal.
    P.s. Just a minor error. It should be Calpurnia not Octavia.

Hi Putri
    Was it you whom Najib mentioned he was fetching from Cheras?
    That time you guys were not married yet, right.

29. old pal4:27 pm

Kismas 4.01pm

Yep. It was DSP Kulasingham, one of the top crime busters then.
    That time, there were many able cops.

30. We must never forget the cruelty and inhumane act of the communist here in Malaysia towards the people.

The communist agenda are still alive and kicking using DAP after Parti Komunis Malaya was abolished.

Lies by the Israeli terrorists.

31. Anonymous6:56 pm

The PM was supposed to be back to Malaysia earlier and upon arrival the PM would be taken action by PDRM.

Unfortunately to protect the PM, a conspiracy to murder the IGP was made.

The late IGP has all the proofs of the 'crimes' done by the late tun razak and for the sake of the country and not the government the late PM was to be taken into custody but instead those bloody bastards politicians and the IGP trusted aids had collaborated with the the hired killers. The rest was history.

Just hoping this case will be reopen to punish the real culprits who got the IGP murdered.

The late IGP was the last highest rank police officer who did be the stooge of the PM ( politicians ).

Krismas

32. Anonymous9:17 pm

I was in Form 2 at that time and if I remember correctly, the 2 assasins threw their slippers at the judge the moment they were sentenced in the Ipoh High Court.

They truly deserved to be hanged.

Ipoh Boy.

33. "to popular belief, the highest title in Malaysia to be bewtowed upon a commoner is Pingat Gagah Berani, not Tunship.

Tunship is the third highest."

The highest award is Seri Pahlawan Gagah Berani. All those who receive the award are given posthumously except Kanang anak Langkau.

nova

34. Anonymous11:39 am

I was on my way to Seri Menanti to attend a wedding when I read the NST article (my son was driving the car).

I wept silently as I read the story. The story really touched my inner heart. I don't know much about the late IGP Abdul Rahman Hashim as I was quite young at thst time and have just finished my MCE and waiting to enter UTM.

Semoga semua dosa beliau di ampuni Allah. Amin.

Anak Polis

35. Anonymous4:29 pm

Krismas,

What the hell are you talking about, man -

What file has been opened against the late PM during his time? I also "have NO RESPECT .. for NTR" but was was wrong with TR? Spell it out man, or you go join Chin Peng in the Betong Salient.

And saying "The PM was supposed to be back to Malaysia earlier and upon arrival the PM would be taken action by PDRM". Why are you dangling the statement without saying why, what for, etc. Are you mad or something?

Why the hell the Communists want "to protect the PM, a conspiracy to murder the IGP was made." You are sounding crazier by the comment.

If you know, state the details about "The late IGP has all the proofs of the 'crimes' done by the late tun razak and for the sake of the country and not the government the late PM was to be taken into custody."

Who "bloody bastards politicians and the IGP trusted aids had collaborated with the the hired killers" are you talking about? Then you said "The rest was history". What history? The public didn't know a thing about it. And you are in talking accusations, innuendos and snide remarks. Are you a sane man?

If you are "hoping this case will be reopen to punish the real culprits who got the IGP murdered", you should state details of your accusations or go to the Police and ask to have the file re-opened.

Or are you a communist yourself? Talking this way to cast aspersions, throw doubt and try to cause alarm and despondency among the people?

Then you said, "The late IGP was the last highest rank police officer who did be the stooge of the PM ( politicians )". I think you are a bloody communist terrorist yourself. You should be hunted down to your burrows and to Betong in south Thailand.

36. Anonymous7:32 pm

Think ...1974. 5 years after the 1969 massacre of hundreds of Chinese on the orders by Razak and Harun. Rahman was no fool nor idiot. A file was opened against Razak, the PM who conducted a coup against TAR for the instigation of the 1969 riots. The police were never party to the riots. The army were. Rahman was murdered in cold blood, not by the communists. Those who were not in the force, (THE PUBLIC ie)....will never know. The PDRM had very very good men. They are all gone. It is now populated by criminals in disguise.

37. Anonymous3:19 am

"The late IGP was the last highest rank police officer who did be the stooge of the PM ( politicians )"

Typo error.

It should be...

The late IGP was the last highest ranking police officer who DID NOT be the stooge of the PM..

Krismas

38. Datuk Rocky,

A moving piece by Haji Najib, and his almost blow-by-blow account leading to the tragic shooting would have struck a chord with many.

I have had the privilege of listening to his experience many times in the office but in written form, it's...stirring, gripping and inspiring at the same time.

Al-Fatihah to Tan Sri Abdul Rahman and may God bless the souls of all policemen who died serving the country.

39. I kept that weekend newspaper and get my son to re-read it.. I didn't know much about the late Abdul Rahman Hashim, but after reading it , i salute this man from the bottom of my heart..!

the way his son wrote it was truly epic..

40. Anonymous2:07 pm

Rocky.

My father's an ex-cop in Bkt Aman, and I remember him telling me the story of arwah once.

Great character. May Allah tempatkan dia amongst orang2 yang soleh. Amin.

-rzl-

41. Anonymous5:01 pm

ANON 4.29PM.

You are damn communist radicals that are are so eager to take over this beloved country through democratic means via DAP ?

Your communist struggles here are not recognised by mainland china since our government having shared the same 'ideology' with comrade Mao when TAR was appointed as the PM.

Remember the 3 abduls that were caught ? Who was their boss ?

Pity that the IGP was assasinated just to concealed the 'communist secrecy' within TAR government.

IGP Rahman was matyred and he definitely in the category of SHAHEEDS !

May the truth of the IGP's assasination be known to the world and the evilS of 'UMNO ELITES' be punished severely in this world and the life hereafter.

Krismas

42. Anonymous5:01 pm

ANON 4.29PM.

You are damn communist radicals that are are so eager to take over this beloved country through democratic means via DAP ?

Your communist struggles here are not recognised by mainland china since our government having shared the same 'ideology' with comrade Mao when TAR was appointed as the PM.

Pity that the IGP was assasinated just to concealed the 'communist secrecy' within TAR government.

May the truth of the IGP's assasination be known to the world and the evilS of 'UMNO ELITES' be punished severely in this world and the life hereafter.

Krismas

43. Anonymous5:04 pm

ANON 4.29PM.

Krismas

44. Anonymous9:55 pm

kalau allahyarham P.Ramlee telah meninggaldunia lebih 20 tahun layak menerima gelaran Tan Sri. kenapa almarhum KPN ini tidak layak menerima gelaran Tun atau menerima pingat SP posthumously?

45. Anonymous2:20 pm

MasyaAllah... Thank you for all the doa for my grandfather. I never got the chance to meet him but my mother and grandmother had many beautiful stories to share. By the way, my grandmother is still alive. She is 92 years old. She is still well for her age. PDRM did not know this at the time my uncle's article came out. Please don't hit on Kama. She knew him and she loved him. He is family.

I brought my mum and children to the police museum where his car is exhibited. Even the police officers handling the museum did not know his story. Did not know who he was. Now to me, that is sad. Forgotten maybe?

From what I understand, he was a man who stood up for what was right and was not scared to speak up and speak out as it was his responsibility. But as a family man, he was the most loving husband and father. My grandmother misses him so very much.

Whoever that called for his assasination, whoever it may be, I hope they never rest.

Again, thank you for the nice words about my grandfather. He is truly loved.