Saturday, April 04, 2009

A Brand New Day for Malaysia

A good start. I'm reproducing Najib Razak's maiden address as our 6th Prime Minister so that we can all judge him for ourselves and hold him by his word. I say it's a good start and I say that the more rational and reasonable among us Malaysian men and women should give him a fair chance to prove his worth as our leader.

If he fails to deliver, we'll know what to do.

Because we've done it before.

PRIME MINISTER’S ADDRESS ON ASSUMING OFFICE AS

6TH PRIME MINISTER OF MALAYSIA

3 APRIL 2009

-------------------------

1. On behalf of all Malaysians, I would like to thank YABhg. Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for his 31 years of exemplary public service to our country, his commitment to strengthening the institutions and fabric of our democracy and for his graceful example as our leader.
  1. I am grateful to YABhg. Tun for his confidence in proposing my name as Prime Minister to Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, and I am honoured that His Majesty has consented to my appointment with this morning’s swearing-in ceremony. I feel a deep sense of humility at the opportunity to serve as your Prime Minister at an important time in our nation's history.

My life has been dedicated to public service.

Growing up, I was inspired by the positive impact of public service in the example of my late father. Four decades on, I remain committed to the goals of tackling poverty; of restructuring our society; of expanding access to quality education for all; and of inspiring a new generation of young Malaysians to work on behalf of this great country.

My own service in government has always been about getting results: to ensure a better deal for teachers, to improve conditions for our brave soldiers, and to strengthen our economy in defence of the people of Malaysia, as we deal with the outbreak of a global recession.
  1. In the coming weeks, I will be consulting with people around our country, as I begin to reshape the leadership and priorities of the Government. I am mindful that we should build on the successes and lessons of the past. It must be a government with new approaches for new times – a government that places a priority on performance, because the people must come first.
  1. We must reach out to all parts of Malaysia…to all our diverse communities. In our national discourse and in pursuing our national agenda, we must never leave anyone behind. We must reach out to the many who may have been disaffected and left confused by political games, deceit and showmanship.

We must draw on talented people across our nation, regardless of their position or background, to re-energize a passion for public service. We must sow the seeds of goodwill and understanding in every corner of this land, so that we continue to harvest the fruits of progress and prosperity for all Malaysians.

We must seek to include and unlock the potential of our young people who will be the next generation of leaders, businesspeople, engineers, scientists, teachers and doctors. We must give them wings to fly.

1. And so today, I pledge that I will work tirelessly to serve all of you.
  1. In this spirit, I would like to announce that the government has decided with immediate effect, to remove the temporary ban on TWO news publications, release 13 detainees from ISA detention, and conduct a comprehensive review of the Internal Security Act. Additional details will be announced by the Ministry of Home Affairs shortly.
  1. These decisions are timely as we move to enhance the confidence of our citizens in those entrusted with maintaining peace, law and order, while recognizing the need to remain vigilant of the very real security threats we continue to face as a young nation.
  1. I know that for every citizen, these are hard times and I remain focused in providing strong leadership to lead us out of this economic crisis and unleash our full potential as a nation. I will be steadfast in my commitment to meet the needs, aspirations and concerns of all Malaysians.
  1. So today I ask you to join me in this task of renewing Malaysia. I urge us to rise to the challenge of building a One Malaysia. People First. Performance Now.
  1. Let us begin this great journey together.

68 comments:

1. I hope he will follow his father's footstep in becoming one of the great PM of Malaysia.

2. When DS Najib stumbled at the beginning of the telecast, my 9-year-old son imitated Ahmad Nisfu in Seniman Bujang Lapok when P Ramlee was auditioning in front of the camera and Ahmad Nisfu kept gesturing to P Ramlee to speak. What a scene...

3. Anonymous2:22 am

Just like Rocky Bru. Credibility gone. Talk cock also useless

Hey, why Straits Times still wanna give credit to Najib

Singapore scared of Najib?????Why spend billions on defence if SINGAPORE scared of Najib! Handle Najib like mano o mano. Be like Sultan Bolkiah, A MALAY KING DON'T GIVE A DAMN OF MALAYSIA. No need to give a damn. People call you Isreal. So be bastard lah!

Singapore should be like Rajaratnam, Seremban born Singaporean. Singapore is a hornet nest. So, why give credit najib? Mahathir still aorund you know. Singapore, you like to hear cut! cut! cut! You have so much defence power. Flex it lah!

Stop giving credit to Najib lah! Be neutral lah!

Rocky Bru,
    You love absolute monarchism! Stay in Brunei lah! Or by the way, Rocky bru, why no report of MALAYSIAN JUDGE, MELAYU JATI WHO SAY NIZAR NOT DERHAKA. SO WHAT SAY YOU ROCKY BRU!

YOU DESERVED ISA RIGHT! BUANG NEGARA, MACAM NUIRAINI PUNYA BAPA DARI SINGAPURA

4. Anon 2:22,

Tsk Tsk .. it's Nuraina, dear, not Nuiraini. And you got the rest of it wrong, too. And we ARE against the ISA, so please don't wish it on anyone. I know you are upset and you are probably one of the 5000-odd people who do not want Najib to be the PM, but please get hold of yourself, and get it right.

5. harapnya bukan kerja 2bukit dan 1batang...buka kerna p'raya,kerna kerja ikhlas

6. Anonymous3:21 am

So now he releases detainees. Next thing he should fire Albar for putting them there -- this is a man who acts like he is the boss. Albar also banned the papers -- now Najib reinstates. So who the fuck is the PM, Najib or Albar? Fire Albar.

Anonymouse

7. I have high hopes for Najib.

Lets hope that he wont be like PakLah, feel-good factor sekejap je, lepas tu the country went entah apa apa...

8. Anonymous4:31 am

Rocky, the RAHMAN cycle belong to de feudals n capitalist/businessmen
    headed by UMNO i.e. the NOH families of Genting.

Soon, RAHIM the "Blessed One" representing ordinary people on the street shall take over the reign.

No more unislamic ketuanan melayu. Replaced by ketuanan rakyat/ummah.

Good governance.. trustworthiness, transparency, justice, fairness and good ethical values will prevail.

We r seeing the manifestation of struggle between good and evil..

R...Tg Razaleigh (Pakatan++ the Unity)
    A...Anuar (Pakatan)
    H...Husam (Pakatan)
    I...??
    M...Mohd Nizar!

-Stargazer

9. I say Rocky is favouring Najib..for reasons he knows best.
    I have said.5 years ago.. political bloggers...are mostly for sale to highest bidders.
    Parliamentarian bloggers...no two ways about it..except sly fox...Mamak..a unique born a crook.
    I say...lets not forget the hundreds of UMNO nonsense and not let one good message from Najib..to fool us.
    Have we not heard Dollah declared he was the "People's PM"?
    I guess all concerning Altanyuya..C4....submarine deal with RM500 million commission...swearing my the Koran...and much more...all are forgiven.....forgotten?
    We may as well agree to..UMNO will rule forever.

10. All those who voted against UMNO are against Najib too.
    It counted by the millions...not just 5000 ...as stated by Rocky.
    And that is growing more and more...seen by the two by-elections results.
    Lets wait the present 3.
    People's Power is real.
    Can't Rocky see what's happening to MCA...MIC..Gerakan??
    You think UMNO can fight alone better than before with powerful BN? BN is dead...only weak UMNO left.
    It is UMNO against People's Power....and people can be bought too. How many play flip flop games for personal benefits?
    Rocky seems to be doing so.

11. Anonymous5:17 am

For sure Najib will be better than Pak Lah. I am happy to give him a chance. But with the baggage he is carrying into his office, and hardly showing any interest to cleanse himself, he is not worthy of the office

Zabi

12. Anonymous5:20 am

Rocky haha!!!
    I don't want Najib to be PM and not only 5000 people but millions around who are just fed up with what is going on. I am not one of the signatory and so many others did not sign as they knew the outcome and so stop belittling those people.
    I don't vote for him and Million Malaysians don't vote for him as he is voted in only by UMNO delegates, so please be clear in your head.
    As long as what he did in his few hours as PM is not a gimmick, then its ok but he still has to clean up his image.But on second thought if he is really sincere he could have release all the ISA detainees, announce the closing of Kamunting and abolish ISA. Surely for 30 over years as public servant he is aware of what are the growing concern of the people. Just wait for the next hours, days and months whether this man is honest and deserve to be respected but still need the cleaning up!!! What say you brother?

13. Anonymous5:29 am

I have no quarrel about Najib being a better administrator than Paklah anytime. But he is just too tainted to hold such an important office. I am yet to see you suggesting that he gets himself cleared at least if not by suing the foreign media, by Royal Commission. Why is it so hard for you to say that. Cukup senang.

Anonymous (Zabi)

14. MataKucing5:45 am

Any Tom, Dick and Harry becoming a PM will have announce the same standard message. Another cock and bull story, that's all.

And not surprise we have some buffoons jumping up and down.

15. I think if PM Najib speech is an indicator of things to come, then I am sure that all will be well for Malaysia inspite of the insults, curses and slanders thrown at PM Najib and his Administration in the many years to come.

16. Anonymous6:21 am

>>If he fails to deliver, we'll know what to do.

Because we've done it before.
    <<

Rocky bro,
    we have never done it before. when have we disposed deposed the ruling regime. NEVER happened man.

17. Anonymous6:29 am

DS Najib should release all ISA detainees and close the detention centre without any conditons attached. An election trick, rocky -you know it well.

18. rocky.. kenapa la dilayan orang anonymous macam tu..

ada pekdah ke?

19. Anonymous7:10 am

We dont support you,,,,WHAT on behalf of all Malaysian,,,!!!!!

Merana semasa Pemerintahan Mahathir,,,Badawi and now begining of the end,,,!!!!

-BODO-

20. Anonymous7:41 am

Anon 2.22

I bet you're one of the people who are fighting for Malaysian Malaysia.

Well ... in fact like those people you are not fighting for Malaysian Malaysia but you're fighting to take over Malaysia. Just like Lee Kuan Yew did with Singapore. That is why you're asking Singapore to use its defence power.

I bet you can't speak Bahasa Malaysia properly let alone sing Negaraku and recite Rukunegara.

Hmmm ... can't blame you. Loyalty is not in your dictionary !!

21. Anonymous7:47 am

A brand new day? Really? A half-hearted attempt at pacifying the anti-isa league & a vague notion on "1 Nation" - probably another myth that parallels the great Islam Hadhari concept.

Nope, not a new day definitely, same crap rehashed the UMNO way.

-dangermouse-

22. dannalli8:08 am

Gurindam Jiwa,

It's for Datuk Tiger to take note. We can't blame DSN ... it happened because they were waiting for other channels to join telecast live.

Very good as the English version is without the praise on the CEMERLANG performance of the previous PM... there isn't any.

I give DSN credit as for a first timer, he is good on tele promter.

No other choice ... hope for the best. Eagerly waiting for a new lean cabinet line up and he shouldn't hold any portfolios as he is the PRIME minister .... MINISTER of all ministries.

Best of Luck as I need the wings to fly too.

23. Just give the man a chance first as what rocky said. If anyone doesn't like the man, there is nothing you can do now. Next election don't vote him or his party. for now just live with it with open heart. And foremost no more tantrum here and there. It really bad for ourselves and country. cheers

24. Malaysia rejuvenated! Yes

... and the Sing dollar will depreciate

25. Anonymous8:29 am

Ha, ha, ha... betul lah bro Rocky, Anon (2:22 AM) kat atas tu sure salah seorang dari 5000 orang yang sain petisyen menghalang Najib jadi PM. Panas gila bunyinya.

-Kiewkiew

26. Anonymous8:37 am

Baru lepas melawat Malaysia-Today dan dalam komen tentang pelepasan tahanan ISA, ada yang mempersoalkan kenapa Najib melepaskan "terorist" dan "fanatics". Kah.. kah..kah.. kelakar betulah diaorang ini, ada otak yang betul-betul silap wire, tahan salah, lepas pun salah.

-Kiew kew

27. Anak Malysia8:52 am

helo anon 2:22...

Najib deserved to be PM...

Just enjoy yourself with 916 MORON and hope tonight yet another surprise of cheap matinee show of "The Slanderings and Lies" from the man himself...happy watching...pisssss ...sound familiar........

28. Purple Haze8:56 am

DS Najib is the 6th PM of Malaysia and that is a fact that can't be changed. His maiden speech touches on the right points and his actions of releasing some ISA detainees and reversing the ban on Harakah & Suara Keadilan are steps in the right direction.

Of course, we could ask why was it imposed in the first place (but this is not the time to debate that).

As with Tun Dr M when he was PM, it is more important to watch his actions instead of the rhetorics.

I do suspect that DS Najib will sidestep the other personal issues as far as possible until necessary to confront them. I just hope that he does not follow the example of Bill Clinton.

29. The world welcoming Najib ....
    Very good coverage by International media...
    Malaysia get Tun M and LKY in a package --that is Najib..

30. Anonymous8:57 am

Haven't we all heard it before. At the end of the day, it's all talk cock no walk.

alibaba

31. Point No 2, the new Prime minister says, "I am grateful to YABhg. Tun for his confidence in proposing my name as Prime Minister to Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, and I am honoured that His Majesty has consented to my appointment with this morning’s swearing-in ceremony."

He thanks the immediate past Prime minister for his confidence in proposing his name to the King.

Now, I am struggling to find where in the constitution that it says that the immediate past prime minister has any role in the selection of or identification of or proposing of a candidate to become the next prime minister. What I know is that he should have the confidence of the majority of the members of parliament.

In so far as the confidence of the members of parliament is concerned he may claim that all the UMNO members of parliament have in the recent UMNO General Assembly confirmed that confidence in him by not objecting to his ascension to become the President of UMNO. But the UMNO members of parliament alone do not constitute the majority.

In thanking the King, Datuk Seri Najib than goes on to say thta he is "honoured that His Majesty has consented to my appointment".

And I thought all along the constitution provides for his appointment to the PM's position coming from the King and not just consenting the appointment made by someone else.

O.k. la...I am not going to begrudge the new PM for this slight. After all newly minted I don't expect political correctness from day one. But then if this continues soon our law books may just mean nothing.

I dare say that his start has been good so far. Releasing 13 ISA detainees and the withdrawing of the ban on the two publications.

Employing all of that power and authority to do good leverages him in a way that might be very welcome. Yielding that power just because you got it in a way that leaves people worried or fearful is so much easier of course but I hope it does not become necessary.

32. Anonymous9:03 am

Thank you Rocky for I missed the telecast.

I am cautiosly optimistic but I would like to have a bit less chaos compared to what we had the last couple of years.

So I pray for Malaysians to be a lot less emotional and a lot more hardworking and competitive.

Insyaallah

Sayangmalaysia

33. wandererAUS9:04 am

A flag bearer for UMNO, Rocky?
    Sunny one day, perfect the next, you are getting there...shit stirrer!
    Good on you, cari makan mah.

34. Anonymous9:33 am

I do not want Najib to be my PM too, but I did not sign the petition because I'm too afraid of him. He is going to be the most powerful man in Malaysia, who am I to stand in front of him? Yes, I am a coward. But there are many of us here who are scared of him, scared of the ISA. He releases some fellas from ISA but there are many more... 30 plus more of them still lock up under ISA. This is just a political gimmick of Najib with no real substance of reform at all.... and I'm still scared.

35. I still believe Najib has too much to answer for him to be PM. But this is the situation we find ourselves in.

He has been judged by his actions befoe he was PM, and will be after. As for incoming PMs, I usually ignore the speech and the goodwill gestures when taking office. They are just token goodwill gestures that shows the utter contempt the incumbent administration has for freedom and personal liberties.

BTW, since Najib's ascension is so good for Malaysia, I do expect BN to win in the 3 by-elections. Especially if the "turnout" is about 80% or so.

36. Anonymous10:03 am

SURAT TERBUKA BUAT NAJIB

TAHNIAH DATUK SERI! TENTUNYA PELANTIKAN SEBAGAI PERDANA MENTERI KE-6 MEMBAWA MAKNA DAN TANGGUNGJAWAB YANG AMAT BERAT DALAM KEADAAN KEMEROSOTAN EKONOMI DUNIA DAN POLITIK NEGARA YANG MENCABAR KINI.

TINDAK TANDUK DATUK SERI MULAI SEKARANG YANG AKAN MENJADI KAYU PENGUKUR KEJAYAAN KEMPIMPINAN DATUK SERI. BERTINDAKLAH SECARA BERANI DAN BERHEMAH KERANA KEGAGALAN MELAKUKAN SESUATU YANG BETUL TIDAK BOLEH DIPERSALAHKAN KEPADA ORANG LAIN ATAU KEADAAN SEMASA TETAPI DIRI SENDIRI JUA.

DATUK SERI BERMULA DENGAN BAIK MEMBEBASKAN 13 TAHANAN ISA SERTA MEMBENARKAN AKHBAR LAWAN DIEDARKAN.

NAMUN YANG LEBIH MENCABAR ADALAH KORUPSI MEMBABITKAN PEMBESAR NEGARA YANG ANGKUH SERTA MEMBERSIHKAN UMNO DARI PEMIMPIN YANG RASUAH.

RAKYAT SAYANGKAN NEGARA DAN AHLI UMNO JUGA SAYANGKAN PARTI. BERTINDAKLAH DEMI SLOGAN YANG DATUK SERI LAUNGKAN TEMPOHARI BUKAN SAHAJA BEKERJA UNTUK PARTI DAN KERAJAAN TETAPI JUGA UNTUK KEPENTINGAN RAKYAT.

TENTUNYA PERSONALITI SEPERTI AZALINA OTHMAN SAID YANG SOMBONG MENGHERDIK SURUHANJAYA BASMI RASUAH SERTA KHIR TOYO YANG ANGKUH MAHU KEMBALIKAN WANG SETELAH MENYALAHGUNA KUASA DAN WANG RAKYAT MENJADI DUGAAN DAN COBAAN PERTAMA KEPIMPINAN DATUK SERI BERTINDAK KEATAS MEREKA YANG KOTOR INI.

UMNO KHASNYA DAN NEGARA AMNYA TIDAK PERLU KEPADA INDIVIDU SEBEGINI UNTUK MENGGALAS TANGGUNGJAWAB YANG AMAT BERAT DIPIKUL DATUK SERI UNTUK MEMBENTUK DAN MEMBINA SAF KEPIMPINAN YANG DIILHAMKAN DATUK SERI.

KAMI BERDOA AGAR YAB DATUK SERI DIBERI TAUFIK DAN HIDAYAH SERTA BEROLEH KEJAYAAN MEMIMPIN NEGARA, BANGSA DAN AGAMA.

TAHNIAH!

37. Anonymous10:23 am

The PM should make this speech AFTER the end of his term to reflect how much of it could be achieved. The rakyat had so much crap and bull from the former Tun PM already with his famous 'work with me, not for me' at the beginning of his term then.
    malsia1206

38. Badawai in his first opening speech was 'Berkeja bersama saya' ended up 'Berkeyja untuk Saya'. Hope Najib knows what his doing and will not ended up 'flip flopping'

39. Najib cannot become PM. Bla bla bla. Anwar the greatest bla bla bla.

All i can say is......... ngah ngah ngah ngeh ngeh ngeh ngeh ha ha ha ha. Good try guys. Wait for another September 16 ok? 11 months talk cock only. These PR monkeys ..... just like toxic waste. You cant use them nor throw them away.

*DK*

40. Rocky, if you think only 5000+ people do not want Najib as PM, you're even more deluded than we thought.

Once upon a time, people actually held you in high regards. You've thrown in your lot with a doomed behemoth.

41. I'd be quite happy to admit that his first move gambit was a positive one. But being the cynic that I naturally am, I don't put a hell of a lot of stock in first impressions.

Which is why I maintain an Apprehensive outlook - not pessimistic, but hopeful, yet cautious.

Incidentally, I seek your indulgence to take this poll that I put together to gauge the mood of the blogosphere.

Thanks in advance!

42. Anwar fanboys are 'go-ahead, gostan' people, they can't decide whether they want to look to the future or look to the past.

they want ISA to be revieved, and that is becoming a reality, they want ISA detainees released, well 13 are out

so what do they do, They ask why those peopel put in in the first place then some dick will say not enough released, should shut down the entire detention centre, while another dick says why we releasing terrorist (muslim mesti terrorisst) kalau hindraf they are human rights activist (you getter get that one right rocky)

apa yang dia nak?

I think they are all saints who can look into the hearts of men, that is why they are beyond judging someone by their actions and words.

ni orang khasyaf, kata orang sufi.. (bukan Sufi Yusof) BTW if you are reading Sufi - lama tak jumpa...

43. Anonymous11:18 am

I HATE HIS SLIMY FACE

BUT HE DID ADDRESSED THE PROBLEMS STRAIGHT TO THE POINT

NOW IT IS THE IMPLEMENTATION

44. 5,000 or so odd people who are against Najib being PM? My my how funny you are Rocky. I can count at least 1 thousand people in Sungai Petani alone who do not want him to be PM. Much less in Muar or Miri. Please stop joking.

45. Anonymous11:35 am

Yalah, i remember mahathir started with promise to weed out corruptin. i remember there were even banners placed all over town about efficiency, clean and trusthworthiness. then when he gave up his post, those were the least that were achieved. orruption was rampant. abdullah too started his tenure promising the heavens then he failed too. that's why he got kicked out. ccrruption rampant. najib of course would play the samme game. we are back to square one. malaysians are really a bunch of laughable goondus, they can be so easily led astray by their leaders. it is really a shame.

SHAME

46. boooooo rocky bru!!!

47. Dear Rocky,

Pathetic. Is there such a dearth of talents out there that we have to put up with this person who has so much baggage? Why are we so cavalier and so lackadaisical when it comes to expectations of what a PM should be?

Shame on us and shame on you Rocky.

48. Anonymous12:17 pm

Your post on 5000 odd people not wanting Najib to be PM is misleading. There are millions others who share the same feeling but didn't sign the petition. They may show it at the ballot box though.

mat taib

49. pegidah12:21 pm

Buatlah apa pun. Hapuskan ISA pun kalau benci tetap benci. Tak lamalah Najib kalau dok layan pukimak2 ni.

*PEGIDAH*

50. Anonymous12:22 pm

I fully agree with point NO 4 of Dato Seri Najib's address as far as the nation is concerned and especially with regard to UMNO's reforms as this letter published in The Sun and The Star on 2 April 2009 shows:

REEDUCATING UMNO

The most important ingredient in the reform package of UMNO must surely lie in the reeducation and retraining of its cadres and members!

In his address to the Wanita, Youth and Puteri wings, the incoming President Dato’ Seri Najib stressed the need for more courses to be organised for the improvement of UMNO members. In the outgoing President’s address Dato’ Seri Abdullah urged members to initiate change within themselves as much as within the party.

In-house training is a basic programme run by corporate organisations. Multinationals like Shell, Nestle, GE and HP have regular courses and workshops with the aim of empowering their personnel with skills and knowledge to boost the company’s performance. Nearer home, Petronas and the country’s GLCs have in place staff training to create awareness of changing patterns in the marketplace and how to effectively deal with them.

As part of the circuit, local and international gurus are invited as facilitators. Even universities and institutions of learning have adopted corporate organisational structures to run with greater efficacy and efficiency, with on-going programmes to expose academic staff to management and corporate best practice. Image-building and the establishment of a credible corporate/ institutional culture is a key element in these programmes.

The continuous training of key management personnel and heads of departments will filter down to their staff and so the corporate mission, goals and culture will be entrenched and reinforced. Only then can the organisation boast of having the interest of its staff at heart. Only then will they be motivated to give their best performance and loyalty!

UMNO leaders have sat on their responsibilities for far too long. Political rhetoric is no longer an effective tool to bring about the promised change and reform. Too much talk is boringly circular and has been to no avail as the current slide in the party’s performance shows.

In fact, the conflicting views are confusing and potentially destructive! When one leader condemns money politics and another calls for a standing ovation for a member who has been convicted, the delegates at the recent general assembly were left directionless!

What UMNO must implement immediately in all the wings is a structured programme for all levels of the party organisation starting with the EXCO and Supreme Council, the branch and division heads and their committees. Mobilise the best minds in the country’s think tanks, NGOs and academia to work with the top party leadership and come up with a strategic training programme. These facilitators must come from outside of the party’s structure in order for the desired change in UMNO’s culture and thinking to happen.

Among the areas that need immediate attention is ethics and decorum, including the proper use of language for communication and political discourse. This is a course that the Members of Parliament must also be compelled to attend.

51. My best to Najib!! Well done!

What does this prove?

Vote opposition, deny BN 2/3 majority! Lo, we see progress!

52. Anonymous1:17 pm

Old Fart said...

Point No 2, the new Prime minister says, "I am grateful to YABhg. Tun for his confidence in proposing my name as Prime Minister to Duli Yang Maha Mulia Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong, and I am honoured that His Majesty has consented to my appointment with this morning’s swearing-in ceremony."

He thanks the immediate past Prime minister for his confidence in proposing his name to the King.

Now, I am struggling to find where in the constitution that it says that the immediate past prime minister has any role in the selection of or identification of or proposing of a candidate to become the next prime minister. What I know is that he should have the confidence of the majority of the members of parliament.

In so far as the confidence of the members of parliament is concerned he may claim that all the UMNO members of parliament have in the recent UMNO General Assembly confirmed that confidence in him by not objecting to his ascension to become the President of UMNO. But the UMNO members of parliament alone do not constitute the majority.

In thanking the King, Datuk Seri Najib than goes on to say thta he is "honoured that His Majesty has consented to my appointment".

And I thought all along the constitution provides for his appointment to the PM's position coming from the King and not just consenting the appointment made by someone else.

O.k. la...I am not going to begrudge the new PM for this slight. After all newly minted I don't expect political correctness from day one. But then if this continues soon our law books may just mean nothing.

I dare say that his start has been good so far. Releasing 13 ISA detainees and the withdrawing of the ban on the two publications.

Employing all of that power and authority to do good leverages him in a way that might be very welcome. Yielding that power just because you got it in a way that leaves people worried or fearful is so much easier of course but I hope it does not become necessary.

9:03 AM

Old fart,

Kamu ni terkentut lagi ke?
    Kamu ni dah meracau-racau macam orang biul ler.

Tafsiran kamu dan pemahaman kamu tu macam kentut kamu lah! Orang lain boleh faham, tapi kamu tak mahu faham dan kamu nak cuba pusing macam keling. Samalah macam si Nizar dan Sivakumar kat Perak tu.

Kentut kamu ni bau busuk!

-tukang perati

53. Anonymous1:35 pm

I still don't like the shifty eyes.

I wonder who his speech writer is, rocky?

There is ALREADY ONE MALAYSIA just like there's ONE USA, ONE CHINA etc. So nothing new there. Stating the obvious. Sloganeering is easy. That is what PR people do all the time.

1,2,3,C4

54. Anonymous1:39 pm

I'm just an ordinary man.
    I wish the new Prime Minister well.
    The same that I wish for my country.

So yes, I for one will show him goodwill.

I'm the small man, but come general election, I do count. So I ask the nay-sayers, take it in that spirit.

Congratulations, DSN. Get this country back to work.

WELL-WISHER

55. Denone2:06 pm

Shamsul Yunos said...
    Anwar fanboys are 'go-ahead, gostan' people..." It should be `go astern'. Gostan is manglish.

Denone

56. D'Nay2:12 pm

SHAME 11:35 AM wrote:

"Yalah, i remember mahathir started with promise to weed out corruptin. i remember there were even banners placed all over town about efficiency, clean and trusthworthiness."

And do u realise why. When you have a deputy who's full of rhetorics like Bro Anwar Bin Ibrahim (BABI) surely you have the answer... Where does Anwar get his fund to going around the world, campaigning against his own country...

57. Anonymous2:27 pm

Hope Najib will bring back the glorious days of BN....like in the times of Tun Mahathir. Lesser democratic rights but more food on the table.Pak Lah has almost destroyed UMNO by giving in to Anwar's madness.

But off course the PR supporters will not support Najib or BN no matter what Najib do for the country. Now Anwar,Karpal,Lim Kit Siang and Hadi Awang has to deal with Najib as the BOSS. Not a lame duck Pak Lah. Padan lu orang punya muka!

Forget about Altan who? C4 what? yellow submarine? It does not matter anymore.To topple BN do it nicely at the ballot box. And when PR succeed maybe Lim Guan Eng or Go BIN deo Singh can become the PM of Malaysia.

And when the do succeed to become the PM they have to have the support not only the rakyat but PDRM, ATM the raja raja Melayu and the civil servants which made up of majority malays.

Can they do that?? I have not the slightest confidence for them to have the support from any of the abpve mentioned organisations and the raja raja Melayu! so just dream lah!!

58. So it's official now, DS Najib is the 6th Prome Minister of Malaysia. I congratulate you DS Najib.

It's not going to be an easy task for the new PM, but I firmly believe that he could pull off what his father had once accomplished - Tun Razak inherited a nearly shattered Malaysia (aftermath of 13th May tragedy) and a considerably weakened BN coalition, and slowly reconstructed and rebuilt the Nation, while restoring BN's grip on this multiracial country.

So now DS Najib has to face a multitude of arduous challenges. Global economic depression on a scale unheard of since after the 2nd world war, domestic multiracial tension, UMNO's tarnished image caused by money politics; the surge of information on the internet that drastically affected how the country's younger generation view issues such as politics, civil and human rights, government transparency and abuse of power.

DS Najib must face a new breed of Malaysians and win their hearts and minds. He also shoulders the responsibility of transforming and reforming UMNO into a political organization respected by both allies and foes, as well as devising workable and viable strategies to shield Malaysia from the effects of global economic meltdown.

Remember people, if DS Najib succeed in these tasks, then the fruits of his success will be enjoyed by all Malaysians.

As a country, Malaysia has the right recipes to emerge as a progressive nation and stand on an equal footing with the likes of Japan and Korea. We have a huge body of skilled labors, first-class infrastructures, efficient public service delivery system and most importantly, a peaceful environment.

Now all we need is a dynamic leader to steer this country towards success.

Come on Malaysia, support DS Najib and let's make Malaysia a success story!

59. Anonymous5:49 pm

well done Najib..and next..show these anwar followers you tolerate no nonsense

60. Anonymous6:25 pm

Guys,

When Mahahtir took over as PM, he too released many ISA detainees. Then he unleashed the ISA during Ops Lallang and arrested about 100 people I think.

Cekap, Bersih, Amanah he declared. But corruption, money politics, civil service incompetence and judicial fixing were at its worst.

Then Pak Lah took over. Work with Me, Don't Work FOR me he declared. At the end he worked for his son-in-law and son. Also in the family was Kali.

Join me in this great journey, Najib declared.

Why only 13 detainees released? That sounds funny. Is it a way to tell the people to support us if you want the rest released? I think it's a bad move, really. I am glad for the family members of all those released but what Puan Norleila, Mrs mano and Mrs Vickneswary? Hasn't detaining them without trial for this long been enough for Barisan?

Badly calculated move by Najib or whoever advised him. It should have been all or none.

Sorry...

61. Anonymous12:34 am

1. make heartwarming speech .. check.

2. new hairdo for wife.. check.

3. more rakyat centric .. check.

4. make unannounced visit at public places.. check.

5. make unannounced visit at gov. dept (imigresen, or jpj or epf or anywhere where there is a lot of ppl served) .. to do

6. some quick measures to please the rakyat (release isa detainees).. check. hope more to come..

7. ????

well, words sound nice but action matters most...

sincerely hope our new PM can bring a better and a clearer direction for all Malaysians but just worried it is the same old, same old.. all TALK no ACTION.. or worse.. WRONG ACTION...

we will see.. but as BN and PKR has or will learn, rakyat now very smart.. all grow up big big and all educated one...

cannot bullshit too long... maybe 1 year can.

God bless malaysia and malaysians always
    - dc

62. Anonymous2:23 am

And how about this - as starter on how schemes work to the advantage?

https://airkosong.com/_/2009/04/03/a-deadly-distract-and-go-for-the-kill-campaign-by-najib/

A deadly ‘distract and go for the kill’ campaign by Najib
    ========================

It could be late by now, but we should all be made aware of a potentially deadly campaign by Najib brewing behind the scene, much of the campaign has already been executed with success.

It is a campaign planned with such precision and minute details that I compare it to what Mahathir has done during the fall-out crisis with Anwar in 1998. Furthermore, the campaign has one distinctive characteristic: it is robust to cope with the expected, as it has turned out that along the way many unexpected events have happened but the campaign cope with them well.

It all started with the coup d’état in Perak in Feb. Najib gang swung into action to grab the power of the state. After the infamous ’second visit to the palace’, where many quarters have speculated as the return trip for either deal making or arm-twisting by Najib, the fate of the PR state government duely elected by the rakyat was sealed, when the Sultan decided to take side of Najib.

Then came the fateful events that vacated the Parlimen seat of Bukit Gantang and the state seat of Bukit Selambau. The by-elections are clearly tough battles for Najib and could be fatal to the imminent power transition to Najib slated for April. Much earlier on, UMNO general assembly was already scheduled for Mar 24-28. The factional fights for positions were expected to be divisive and chaotic for the party. The two potential deadly blows from the ‘Two Bukits’ cannot come before or around then.

That is where the campaign made the Election Commission did the job: fixing the nomination day for the by-elections to be one day exactly after the UMNO general assembly, and the polling day on Apr 7.

Most of us did not take Apr 7 with much meaning, except it is a weekday. But it is so significant with what the subservient EC has done:

A weekday of course will reduce turn-out, usually affecting outstation voters who are commonly known to be anti BN.

The weekend immediately before Apr 7 is the Cheng Ming weekend for Chinese. Also known as Tomb Sweeping Day or Qingming Festival, most Chinese would travel back to their hometown to pay their respect to their elders who have passed on. Apr 7 being a Tueday, Chinese voters of the Two Bukits, commonly recognised to be anti BN too, are unlikely to extend their stay all the way. Hence reducing opposition votes further.
    Most important of all, the campaigning period, from Mar 29 to Apr 6, covers a very important event: the power transition from Abdullah to Najib. The opposition and most of concerned Malaysians would be so occupied by the campaign that any resistence to the transition is kept at very low level. This is the largest distraction to us all for Najib to go for his first kill.
    Along the process, the unexpected also happened in Sarawak, that led to the by-election of Batang Ai. The subsevient EC again did what the campaign needed: include Batang Ai with the same by-election schedule. Two potential deadly blows are no difference from three potential deadly blows, but Batang Ai, far from the tsunamic Peninsula Malaysia and with a different voter composition, could offer a potential consolation to the BN to reduce the impact of the Two Bukits. How convenient the EC to oblige.

At Bukit Selambau, the record number of independent candidates puzzled all of us. By now, we have the answer. And need I say anything else but it’s part of the campaign?

Then on the judiciary side, where many high-profile cases related to Perak are in progress, the campaign has again planned and executes its steps carefully. First on Mar 23, the Federal Court returned the case of Nizar vs. Zambry to KL High Court, much to people’s surprise. Two new judges were parachuted into the KL High Court. The original High Court judge, Justice Lau Bee Lan, who is well respected in the legal fraternity, is not assigned for the case that she has been so familiar with. Instead, a new judge, Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim, on his first day at KL High Court after being transferred from Kuching High Court, is given the case. He shiftly decided that the first action is to decide if leave should be granted for the case to proceed. So today at 3pm, the decision will be made. It will be no surprise that the decision will be a rejection of leave, therefore summarily deal a blow to the case brought by Nizar.

The significance is the timing. While any decision at the KL High Court can be appealed, so all is not lost for Nizar as far as the case is concerned, but it immediately adds to the perceived ‘legitimacy’ of Zambry as an installed (vs. an elected) menteri besar, which BN has been fighting very hard in facing the rakyat. The timing will be fatal to Nizar, who is the PAS candidate of Bukit Gantang by-election. “The court has decided no case for Nizar” will ring loud all over the sky of Bukit Gantang, seriously hurting Nizar’s image.

Then there is another new judge, Justice Balia Yusof Wahi, being parachuted on the case of Perak Speaker with the three ‘frog’ state assembly representatives. He is a High Court civil division judge who had been brought specifically from Kuala Lumpur to hear the case in Ipoh. According to Edmund Bon, the lawyer of Sivakumar, “(we) were not informed of the change until the very last minute… no reason was given for the change.”.

So by now, Najib is already sworn in peacefully at Istana Negara as the sixth prime minister of Malaysia, despite his tainted character and baggae of unresolved scandals. Tomorrow, the critical by-election weekend, he will surely go to the various places giving his speeched as the newly minted prime minister. Carrying with him are all those advantages described above that his campaign has already engineered and bagged. His final kill will be the collapse of opposition campaign for the by-elections and the surprises beyond imagination on the night of Apr 7.

Already, the campaign has made smaller punches here and there, including seizing all printed copies of opposition publications. As the title of my previous post, Malaysia has entered dark ages from 10am today. Hold on tight, all! The ride will be very bumpy, but we will reach the destination, surely.

ANOTHER MALAYSIAN

63. Anonymous 1.17pm

I sincerely apologise if you found it so smelly. Actually you should have already known seeing my moniker. Why you would venture sticking your nose even closer to sniff my stinking arse is indeed a wonder. But i guess you did not lick it. I didn't sense that.

Oh BTW, most people, in especially hypocritical societies such as ours, when landing a top prize or having won a contest, usually start by thanking their Almighty. The English translation given in this post omits the initial opening lines which I presume would have been said. I hope our New PM remembered to thank his God!!

64. Anonymous12:22 pm

In the current world situation the future of the new administration depends on its ability to make our RM1.00 work like RM2.00 if we are to make up for lost time. We cannot spend money like the US and pretend that we have an infinite supply of money to take care of our excesses.

To my mind, after being in government for 32 years, 25% of government expenditure can be reduced without compromising the implementation of our developemnt plan. Like a business in trouble during difficult global environment we must pay people who can help us reduce cost and get rid of people who have grand ideas when it comes to spending other people's money.

In ten years we will find out that those countries that do make it would have been those who were prudent in their expenditure and directd strong institutions of government that are impartial and governed by the rule of law.

In this regard, I hope that this land of milk and honey will be ruled by the provisions of the constitution and the Rukun Negara. I hope that you will take note that engagement and detachment are opposits and the more you are engaged the more you should be detached. Leadership is all about planting a tree and knowing that you personally may not benifit form its shade. For this you will have to surround yourself with persons of different views who can disagree with you without fear of retribution. May you also become a leader who has that ability to simply issues and have the ability to understand why you are are doing it. May you have the wisdom to be on the side of God when you make critical decisions.Thumb Logic

65. Ok we can be thankful he got back his bullocks for freeing some ISA fellos and lifting some ban. But when he as No2 he could have stood up against ISA man for behaving like a PM! and his 1Malaysia is it really new. After his rule, will we remember his 1Malaysia or talk about more his walkabout? See www.jonathan66-my.blogspot.com 'Najib's 1Malaysia ole Formula'

66. Anonymous10:13 pm

Old Fart said...

Anonymous 1.17pm

I sincerely apologise if you found it so smelly. Actually you should have already known seeing my moniker. Why you would venture sticking your nose even closer to sniff my stinking arse is indeed a wonder. But i guess you did not lick it. I didn't sense that.

Oh BTW, most people, in especially hypocritical societies such as ours, when landing a top prize or having won a contest, usually start by thanking their Almighty. The English translation given in this post omits the initial opening lines which I presume would have been said. I hope our New PM remembered to thank his God!!

12:17 PM

Old fart,

Kamu terkentut lagi? Lebih baik kamu bagi buntut kamu kepada Anwar Al-juburi ler. Dari jauh dah terbau moniker kentut kamu tu.

Kamu cuba nak bodohkan orang dengan ketongongan interpretasi kamu.

-tukang perati

67. Anonymous5:53 am

Najib strutted up the steps of Istana Iskandariah to seek an audience with the Sultan of Perak.

Well, not to attend high tea with His Highness, but on the formation of the new Perak State Government.

The question is what mandate has he got from Perakians to seek an audience with His Highness on the formation of the new state government?

None, not even one vote Perakians gave him as per DUN's GE2008.

I, a Perakian, would be blowpiped silly if I decided to do the same like he did sans mandate with the Sultan of Pahang, um... any Sultan outside my state for that matter.

A sequel to the above is the recent boo-boo issuence of that letter to all and sundry about his purported swearing-in
    ceremony with the Agong.

So, a test of your imagination.

What can you say about Najib if it's not that he is kurang ajar?

I've already told Perakians that they, lock-stock-and-barrel, are all dayus.

A Perakian

68. zelot667:43 am

Anon 3:21Am & Anon 6:29AM,

Hussein Onn did the same.
    Mahathir did the same.
    Pak Lah did the same.
    And now, Najib is doing the same.

Nothing is new.