Friday, October 31, 2008

Will the Bar Council stand up for Ian Chin, please?

Ian "Boot Camp" Chin resigns, Ambiga says not in the interest of justice.
I am quite relieved to read Bar Council president Ambiga's statement on Justice Ian Chin's resignation. Her silence over former Lord President Salleh Abas' allegation of double-standard practice by the Bar last week had me wondering if she was OK. Her concern about Ian Chin suggests that she is, indeed, alive and kicking.

Now, like Ambiga, I was shocked upon learning of Ian Chin's resignation, h e r e.

Like her, too, I am of the opinion it is "not in the interest of justice that there are question marks surrounding the judge's decision (to resign)".

I don't know what the Bar Council plans to do but I believe Ambiga should push and push hard for an investigation (a Tribunal?) into Ian Chin's boot camp and other allegations against Dr Mahathir.
And, in the process, an investigation into Dr Mahathir's allegations of misconduct against Judge Ian Chin (Ian Chin a disgrace to his prefession, 26/6/08)

Ambiga said:
"It is unfortunate that every time a judge is brave enough to speak up, he has to leave or feels he has to leave and nothing is done about those allegations."

Let me remind her that Tun Salleh Abas, sacked over alleged misconduct in 1988, was brave enough to speak up last week. Look at how some of the Bar Council members lashed out at the former Lord President for speaking up! Read here.

34 comments:

1. Anonymous7:58 am

That's what Ambiga and likes are good at. Twisting tongue. Thats all.... Owh! Maybe ball carrying too.

2. Anonymous8:57 am

The Bar Council to stand up for Ian Chin? Is that not asking them to make some waves that reveberates the forces? Going to face headwind when the President was just welcoming the new CJ with her recent speech? I better go find that needle in the haystack. My chances are so much higher.
    malsia1206

3. Anonymous9:02 am

Ambiga Ambigau has shown her daze again. I tell ye ... don't take her as your lawyer.

She keeps forgetting things. Or she has selective memory.

Ambigau forgot that Karpal Singh also made an issue of Ian Chin. By trying to make an issue of a pow wow BTN camp, it shows not only Ian Chin is a dum dum, Ambigau is a dum dum to.

Such daze of a person is unfit and should not be allowed to be President of Bar Council. Perhaps I am wrong. Come to think of it, she is qualified to lead this den of liars and rotten maggots cause it takes one to lead one.

4. Thursday, October 30, 2008
    Is outcome of Munawar's appeal indicative of what we can expect from Zaki Azmi...new Boss of the Malaysian Judiciary
    Chief Justice Zaki Azmi beginning to throw his true colours...

Will he be able to be INDEPENDENT of UMNO and his past friends, and be able to be concerned only with justice...

Will he be a progressive judge only concerned with JUSTICE - not fearful of developing the law so that justice be done...or will he just remain a tool of UMNO and his 'old friends'.

Also noted that Zaki Azmi was a businessman with involvement in a string of companies - and if so, he must recuse himself from any case involving those companies and/or related companies or even companies whereby his once fellow member of the Board of Directors or management is involved.

Website - http://mybaru.blogspot.com/

5. Bro, No tears for Chinlah, he made very serious allegation against Dr Mahathir and the Government in open court not backed up by evidence and all these while presiding in a case that has got nothing to do with his allegation.

He should have not been allowed to resign, instead, the Prime Minister should recommend to the DYMM Agung to set up a Royal Tribunal to investigate Chin on a charge of Misbehaviour and Judicial Misconduct for using an open court to air his purported grievance against former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir.

Chin is actually a very strong case for the Bar Council's Council to use when demanding for a reform of the Judiciary.

6. Anonymous9:37 am

Ian Chin is the first judge to feel the heat from Zaki Azmi. I bet you Zaki must have ordered Ian Chin to stop barking like a dog and concentrate on finishing all his outstanding written judgements and giving quality judgements, not half past six work. Richard Malanjun must have also received an earful from him. And Ian Chin has finally done what he should have done years ago.

Zul Old Free

7. Anonymous9:41 am

hi rocky,

ambiga always racist when she speak up, anything in favaour to her or her cronies she will lash out loudly.

antiracist.

8. Anonymous9:49 am

Malaysia's malady.....starts with Malays malady!.

Malays, must rise up above politics to right the wrongs....this has go on since pre Independent!....since UMNO was formed. Why?

Malays are only heard if they speak through UMNO. UMNO too dominant on the Malays and hence the Nation. Dr M perfected UMNO to be a tool of his survival....no more a democratic party it was said to be formed for....

Today UMNO sudah jelas hancurkan institusi negara....Hanya orang Melayu yang berani menegur UMNO sahaja diperlukan hari ini.

Rocky, can you start the ball rolling?. If you fail to do anything other than writing, then all Malays 'leaders' in UMNO are just to me 'The Satay Man'.....KIPAS...KIPAS....KIPAS...KIPAS......depa kata, it's ok ...walau mata pedih kena asap, tapi RM masuukkk!!

Inilah the Malaysian Malady due to the Malays malady.....

Bagi orang bukan Melayu/bukan Islam mereka mengharapkan sesuatu kebenaran lahir....orang2 Melayu dari UMNO TIDAK menegakkan kebenaran (Ini tuntutan Allah!)lagi pada akhir2 ini....

Semua sibuk bakar satay!

Sincerely

The Mind!

9. Anonymous9:50 am

Malaysia's malady.....starts with Malays malady!.

Malays, must rise up above politics to right the wrongs....this has go on since pre Independent!....since UMNO was formed. Why?

Malays are only heard if they speak through UMNO. UMNO too dominant on the Malays and hence the Nation. Dr M perfected UMNO to be a tool of his survival....no more a democratic party it was said to be formed for....

Today UMNO sudah jelas hancurkan institusi negara....Hanya orang Melayu yang berani menegur UMNO sahaja diperlukan hari ini.

Rocky, can you start the ball rolling?. If you fail to do anything other than writing, then all Malays 'leaders' in UMNO are just to me 'The Satay Man'.....KIPAS...KIPAS....KIPAS...KIPAS......depa kata, it's ok ...walau mata pedih kena asap, tapi RM masuukkk!!

Inilah the Malaysian Malady due to the Malays malady.....

Bagi orang bukan Melayu/bukan Islam mereka mengharapkan sesuatu kebenaran lahir....orang2 Melayu dari UMNO TIDAK menegakkan kebenaran (Ini tuntutan Allah!)lagi pada akhir2 ini....

Semua sibuk bakar satay!

Sincerely

The Mind!

10. Anonymous10:17 am

Where were you when Tun Salleh Abbas were sacked. I am not sure. Were you in NST or Malay Mail then defending Mahathir's action. Please clarify what part did you play in 1988 when Tun were sacked. I still remember it was Bar Council who were all the way behind Tun Salleh Abbas. One thing is for sure Mahathir is a disgrace to the nation with exception of some people who have benefitted materially from him. Hope you will clarify.

11. Anonymous10:26 am

The Bar Council is nothing more than a circus themselves.

I never trust all these group of so called lawyers - thinking that they and only them is right. Even my dog can also bark and twist his tongue like them.

by the way, Razak Baginda is a free man - for the time being.

12. Anonymous10:30 am

I have read the comments in the Bar Council Blog. Doesn't change my view that some of them are still loyar buruk. Instead of addressing the double standard issue they continued misdirecting themselves by highlighting unrelated issue. Heck man! The public want answers on the double standard applied by Bar Council. Surprise...surprise. Instead of adddressing the issue at hand some of the loyar buruk harped on TSA's 20 year old "mistake". Not relevant, to quote Justice Paul famous phrase. It also reminds me of Sarah Palin, 'Lain yang disoal lain yang dijawab'. See! Even loyar buruk missed the point when they start to be emotional. Because they are so defensive, some of the loyar buruk cannot separate the person and the issue, the forest and the trees. Now, who actually is barking on the wrong tree.

Zaid, where are you, the bapa pembela TSA. Your silence is not elegant.

Biar Betul

13. Anonymous10:34 am

Alo Minachi,
    Bend the rule 60 lah, Allow Ian Chin to become consultant as ex-gratia. Anyway he is non-bumi What? Can lah...cincai lah...

Melamine Tan

14. AMBIGA SAID
    "It is unfortunate that every time a judge is brave enough to speak up, he has to leave or feels he has to leave and nothing is done about those allegations".

"Again, this leaves a lot of unanswered questions. This is not in the interest of the administration of justice,"

MY COMMENT
    Who the hell asked him to quit? Don't tell me its Dr Mahathir again! Or maybe he was experiencing nightmares?

Ambiga being a learned person should know the vital difference between BRAVE ENOUGH and STUPID ENOUGH.

Or maybe it is all the same.

Thus that is why when we talk about the so-called 1988 Judicial Crisis, the issue of Salleh Abas problems with the King was given a TOTAL ELEGANT SILENCE. A none issue.

I wonder why some legal eagles always like to blame others on everything.

Then they try their best to make it sounds so intelligent and worth pondering, when they know they are bull shitting on all scores.

MY COMMENT
    Dear Ambiga, STOP TALKING. Act now!

If you really want the truth, do it now. All of them are still alive.

Tun Mahathir, Tun Salleh, The Ex-King, Justice Ian Chin and most of the people involved are still alive and kicking.

But kindly minus all the rhetoric.

Get down to business and do not pick and choose your issues.

After all you are the President of the Bar council. If you managed to convince the Government to pay the compensation (God we are waiting to know the figures, a so-called justice that only privy to some), I am sure you can pull this thru also.

Do not want to hear you complaining later, ‘His demise leaves a lot of unanswered questions’.

For once Ambiga, skip all the nonsense and BE BRAVE TO WALK THE TALK.

15. Segara wrote

Where were you when Tun Salleh Abbas were sacked. I am not sure. Were you in NST or Malay Mail then defending Mahathir's action. Please clarify what part did you play in 1988 when Tun were sacked. I still remember it was Bar Council who were all the way behind Tun Salleh Abbas. One thing is for sure Mahathir is a disgrace to the nation with exception of some people who have benefitted materially from him. Hope you will clarify.

10:17 AM
    ---------------

dear segaran,

in 1988 i was a reporter with the business times. in my interviews with tun salleh abas for his book, i get to re-visit the newspaper articles on the crisis, both in the malaysian and the foreign media. until today, they make good reading.

i am aware of bar council's support for the Lord President. whether it is "all the way" as you described it, i'm not sure but am willing to take your word for it.

but given the bar's latest stand to distance itself from the previous bar council's decision, or mistake (in giving dispensation to kc vohrah), don't blame me if i would like to stress that the support for salleh abas in 1988 was given by the bar council then, not the bar council now.

you can't have two sets of rules, dear segaran.

thank you.

16. Anonymous12:03 pm

I thought there were never 2 sets of rules. It's only the Bar Council giving and interpreting the same old rules with different application. I mean the Bar Council then and the Bar Council now. The problem lies not in those Rules but the so-called learned men and women of their profession. Or are they really 'learned' in the first place?
    malsia1206

17. Anonymous12:04 pm

She knows when to be silent and when to comment. She knows, no amount of explaination can please racist like you. You fellas will go on antagonising and harping on the same issue and refusing to move on. The discrimination and senseless injustices done by your kind is aplenty and counting. Typical of ....

18. Funny, even a simple disagreement can make you a racist.

19. Anonymous2:20 pm

Good to hear your clarification. Thank God its only two set of rule and I am convinced just like Tun that it is an error and also glad that they have rectified it by just making one mistake unlike Mahathir who have done errors after errors in destroying our system of governance. Once again thank you for your clarification.

20. Anonymous5:45 pm

In the ongoing issue of Tun Salleh's application to be consultant, two lawyers (Nizam Bashir & Robert Lazar) have put forth intelligent and relevant arguments on the subject.

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/bar_news/berita_badan_peguam/ex_judge_shocked_at_bar_councils_errors.html

21. Anonymous6:39 pm

There are only two sides of justice.

This side or that side.

It all depends on which side you are on.

The drunken Bar has been on both sides, depending on which benefits them most.

Ambiga? Hmmm, is she ambiguous?

A GOOD MAN DOES NOTHING>

22. Anonymous12:06 am

segaran said...

10:17 AM

SEGARAN, YOU ARE A DISGRACE TOO. WHY? YOU HATE MAHATHIR JUST BECAUSE YOU DID NOT BENEFIT MATERIALLY FROM HIM?
    WHO IS MORE MATERIALISTIC THEN??

PLS CLARIFY!

SPIDER.

23. Hi Bru

Life will never be the same again with Ambiga now that Zaid Ibrahim is completely out of the picture. Her dreary tears to PM to abolish the ISA were rightfully wasted. The Bar Council has already been warned by the Home Ministry not to raise sensitive issues. She missed the cocktails meant for her. Her close associates in Hindraf area now “illegals” and the defector opposition leader had said to take a break. Zaki is now the new legal boss. And today, Razak Baginda became a freeman while his boss continues to chalk up more nominations for the presidency as UMNO becomes more relevant. Maybe she is pondering to vacate her presidency just like Zaid Ibrahim when he saw the writing on the wall. So why waste her time on Justice Ian Chin, too much headaches already?

24. Anonymous4:06 am

Its in the interest of justice only if it fits their interest.

25. Anonymous4:11 am

Dear Segaran,

What Tun got to do with Ambiga being ambigious?

Now are you going to say its Tun's fault that you are being this blur and ambigous too?

26. Segaran

You are a bloody great twister.

Yup you can take that as a compliment.

Much better than those hit the US recently.

You main hantam saja.

27. Anonymous1:29 pm

Tun Salleh had said:
    “As far as I am concerned, the matter is now closed,”

So why are you dragging it up again and not giving due respect to the man's wish?

Lest you still haven't realised it, in your previous postings on Tun Salleh, you resorted to making assumptions and accusations against the Malaysian Bar without directly checking or investigating the historical facts with authoritative sources.

This only reflects poorly on your journalistic (or even blogging!) ethics.

Coupled with your stupendous stand (re Teresa Kok) which seemed to suggest that the press should be free to incite fear and violence, it is indeed incomprehensible how the National Press Club has seen fit to have you (with such a warped understanding of the press freedom concept) as their Advisor, and the All blogs (if indeed All Blogs is even a bona fide entity) to have you as their Protem President!

One can only conclude that you exemplify the infamous "Malaysia Boleh", syndrome!

-arusa-

28. Anonymous7:12 pm

Excerpts of-Speech by Dato’ Ambiga Sreenevasan, President, Malaysian Bar: Let Right Be Done:

"We would further like to state for the record that although three Judges were ultimately dismissed, six Judges suffered in all. Six Judges were suspended. The three who were ultimately reinstated suffered during their suspension and even when they were reinstated. They were never given due recognition for their flawless years of service on the Bench. Some were potential Lords President or Chief Justices but these positions eluded them. Needless to say, the Judges who were removed paid a heavy price for acting in accordance with their consciences. These Judges acted with courage in upholding the Rule of Law in the face of much adversity.

The Judges who were suspended and dismissed are Tun Dato’ Haji Mohamed Salleh Bin Abas, the late Tan Sri Wan Suleiman Bin Pawan Teh and Datuk George Edward Seah.

The Judges who were suspended but reinstated are the late Tan Sri Eusoffe Abdoolcader, Tan Sri Wan Hamzah and Tan Sri Azmi Kamaruddin.

We, the members of the Bar, salute them."

I find it odd for Ambiga who has highly acknowledged Tun Salleh (amongst others) for his flawless years of service on the bench to remain silent whilst members of the Bar ridicule the former Lord President on the consultant issue.

One Against hypocrisy.

Full text:

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/bar_news/berita_badan_peguam/launch_of_the_report_of_the_panel_of_eminent_persons_to_review_the_1988_judicial_crisis_in_malaysia.html

29. Anonymous9:56 pm

Ian Chin's resignation came almost immediately after Zaki became Chief Justice. The UMNO man seems to be moving very fast to clear the judiciary of his (read: UMNO's)unwanted man. What a pity for Malaysian Judiciary. We seem to be going back to Mahathir's time. What a waste of resources. Just when we thought the Judiciary is about to redeem itself, now with Zaki showing his true colours it undoes what has been done to bring our Judiciary to pre 1988 standing. I've great doubt about Zaki being able to turnaround the Judiciary. He can't even manage his own domestic problem.

frm: taxpayer.

30. Anonymous3:25 am

"Damansara said...

Funny, even a simple disagreement can make you a racist."

It wasnt that funny when the disagreement as you put it occurs on the bumis' side eh damansara??

whats with the double standard practices nowadays??are they start teaching it as a subject under the class of pendidikan moral???

~Petaling Jaya

31. http://jadamkraft.blogspot.com/2008/10/polticians-and-media-personalities.html

32. http://jadamkraft.blogspot.com/2008/10/polticians-and-media-personalities.html

33. (Funny, even a simple disagreement can make you a racist.)

Yup. Try the definition of "social contract" for starters.

34. Anonymous9:08 pm

Salam sejahtera sekalian,

I'd like to begin by correcting your spelling. It's 'profession' not 'prefession'. Secondly, Ian Chin is an outstanding judge, who always finishes his tasks as scheduled, if not, earlier. Thirdly, his resignation is because he is so sick of this dog-eat-dog world of politics, he has kids to look after, and wants to do things he has never been able to do. He spoke the truth and yet he is scrutinised for it. It is a known fact that politics intervene with judicial affairs and this is a conflict in the separation of powers. I get so sick and fed up listening to people making ridiculous comments that have no basis whatsoever. Set up a tribunal? The tribunal is bloody corrupted to begin with. It's not independent. It accepts rasuah. People conducting the investigations are not even experienced enough to handle such situations. So it's a vicious cycle. There's no hope for the judiciary system. Reform my arse.

MBC.