Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Salleh Abas rests his case

"In none of these correspondences has the Bar Council ever provided any explanation other than that I have not met with the requirement of the Rule 60 (1) ... only now members of the Bar Council have finally come out to give a clearer picture ..." - Tun Salleh Abas

Please click on the press satement to enlarge.

33 comments:

1. where is Zahid Ibrahim?

2. Wow. Now THAT'S a legally-trained professional.

3. Anonymous12:01 am

ha ha ha ha Rocky you are so funny. let go lah....

admit you are wrong

KISS

4. Anonymous12:37 am

Rocky, stop barking up the wrong tree. Case closed. Salleh Abas' days in this world are numbered. Let him enjoy his last days and stop all the shit-stirring. You should be concentrating on more pressing matters, like trying to save the NST from total collapse.

5. Anonymous12:59 am

The Bar Council's arrogant and inconsistent stand on this issue is regretted. Tun, having been called to the Bar more than 20 years ago and having been at the apex of the judiciary should clearly be granted an exception. Some lawyers with 20 years experience at the Bar certainly have not even reached the level of sophistication that Tune has achieved. Yet, they are allowed to become consultants. By the way, I am a lawyer who is disenchanted with the law, the judiciary and the Bar.

6. Anonymous1:14 am

Dear Bro,

I also want to rest.

The case:
    http://racunpenawar.blogspot.com/2008/10/pengkhianat-umno.html

7. Anonymous1:53 am

A simple yet meaningful summation by the man himself. this is what i call "elegant noise" a rhapsody to the ears of justice but a dirge to the purveyors of injustice.

Wonder, how such men got caught up in a profession of knaves........

Revert

8. Anonymous6:15 am

Concur with what you have written. Please do visit our blog at this address http//paneh.blogspot.com -pencak_silat

9. Anonymous6:39 am

(heha) : aiyah, cukup lah, dun continue with this issue ... dun dun.. jeopardise the consultant who was erred in giving the status long time ago !!

10. Anonymous8:44 am

Case closed.

But, new cases will surely open up.

11. Laws can be guided by sticking to the rules of law...or combine that with up to date commonsense and conditions of like..or one...expressing the morally right defense as against the out-dated ..so call lawful laws.
    It's like...race and politics was good for the first 30 years and now totally out-dated.....yet UMNO keep harping it.with the biggest corrupted devil....Mahathir...keep wanting it.
    It's about Tun Salleh....and has said it all in his letter.
    Let those lawful guys..go ..twist and turn...not for real justice....but for saving their own skins...at all cost.
    I wonder how many of those 800 Lawyers that did the protest walks...before the election...have regretted. MONEY MATTERS ...ALL!!!

12. Anonymous9:00 am

for me, this is a more soft approach from Salleh Abas to close this episode down, once n for all.

but the fact that matter is, there is a very substantial differences by the Bar in treating 2 almost identical case.

i dont remember any of the replies from the Bar ever mention the other one and none of them admit it was wrong (if it is wrong with the accordance to the existing Rule or Law) regardless of who heads the Bar at that particular time.

letting go is another thing. of course since Salleh Abas himself said that. but can we forget this? i dont think so.

13. Salleh Abas is right in closing the matter gracefully and the Bar Council is right in sticking to a rule that has been there for sometime. Just that the Bar is now left holding a mistake made by a previous council. And as Salleh has gracefully summed that it should not be that someone else who has benefitted from this mistake should now be prejudiced. After all I do not believe that Salleh had relied on the previous mistake as having set a precedent upon which he can now ride on. That previous mistake now coming back to haunt the Bar looks more like collateral damage that had not been envisaged when this process got started.

Rocky, its now taken a full turn and all for nothing. What were you thinking to begin with?

14. I would like to quote the late BOB Hope when he gave a speech to the American Bar Association,"I made myself available tonight because I thought I was invited by the American Bra Association"!.
    Are Malaysian lawyers represented by a Bra Council?

alrawa

15. Rocky,

Not only are you barking UP the wrong tree, you are barking ON the wrong tree...

;)

16. I wonder legally trained men who hold the office bearer of Bar Council are really fit to hold the post. They are wordless to explain why the former Chief Justice was not qualified to be a consultant until a member came to rescue.Don't be offended if people call you loyar buruk.Oh..what about the most esteem former (de facto) law minister-do you have anything to say..for we love to hear your comment.

17. Anonymous2:58 pm

Dear Bro:

You did a good job, by the way. BARred Council clearly practicing double standard. AMBIGA-ous, huh?

karl

18. Anonymous3:30 pm

A most heartwarming letter that can only come from someone who has gone through alot.

I think all is not lost as come 2009, Tun should be able to fulfill his wish.

19. Anonymous4:38 pm

wOOORFF! WUURRRFF!!!

enough la bro.

hehe

20. Berapa pulak Bar Council bayar 'saguhati' yang tidak boleh didedahkan...

21. Anonymous5:04 pm

"Helped established" - what kind of English is this from an ex Lord President and legal consultant to be!

22. Anonymous5:07 pm

Bro Rocky, Heard that Tengku Zafrul left Tune Money due to different understanding with Tony, Kian Onn and your good friend Kali? can u confirm this

23. Hopefully the Bar Council will now focus on issues relating to its members without fear and favor rather than its key leadrship involved in political issues connected with all kinds of liberal and democratic reforms under the name of international justice. Indeed, this Tun Salleh Abas case is a sham to the Bar Council; a most pitiful case for such an elderly citizen whom the Bar Council had grossly and hypocritically manipulated. For those Council members keen and involved to address social justice and human rights reforms in this country, they should join organizations of the likes of Suhakam and not be intimately associated with political aspirations. Members of the legal fraternity require their members’ problems to be resolved expeditiously and funny, why now do the Council voice out their financial predicaments? Perhaps the members had been grossly misled by the Bar Council. For the betterment of its members, the members should consider changing its own top leadership and keep its house in order.

24. Anonymous10:06 pm

Hi ROcky,
    Many have said it, you are barking up the wrong tree.
    Forget principles and wat not, just give those audience what they want to read.
    You know, like Najib is this and that, UMNO is that and this and Anwar Ibrahim is the Saviour of the World. HaHa!

DapIsCinaHindrafIsIndiaPKRIsPowerAndNoneForJustice.

25. Anonymous10:46 pm

ooooooo... painful and shameful! Just hope they realised that they are dealing with HUMANS, not commodities.

My family met with an accident 4years ago, no news till today. My little daughter then only 7years old.

Well just hope she dont have to wait till she turns 80 to be given due justice.. hehe..

Busy business Lawyers.

26. Anonymous10:54 pm

Didn't anyone of the 36 members of the previous Bar Council check the rules when Datuk Vohrah made his application?

Tun Salleh has asked the Bar to do what's right. Let's see what they'll do.

Nah, Rocky didn't bark up the wrong tree; he never barked. He didn't even woofed. He just asked a question and the Bar Council couldn't give a good answer.

Bullfighter

27. Thursday, October 30, 2008
    Is outcome of Munawar's appeal indicative of what we can expect from Zaki Azmi...new Boss of the Malaysian Judiciary
    Chief Justice Zaki Azmi beginning to throw his true colours...

Will he be able to be INDEPENDENT of UMNO and his past friends, and be able to be concerned only with justice...

Will he be a progressive judge only concerned with JUSTICE - not fearful of developing the law so that justice be done...or will he just remain a tool of UMNO and his 'old friends'.

Also noted that Zaki Azmi was a businessman with involvement in a string of companies - and if so, he must recuse himself from any case involving those companies and/or related companies or even companies whereby his once fellow member of the Board of Directors or management is involved.

Website - http://mybaru.blogspot.com/

28. Anonymous11:40 am

i didnt know that the bar councillors were gods in this instance!

29. Anonymous11:40 pm

So now you see why they including Zaid, are all so against ISA???

1. No ISA, more business clients
    2. No ISA, will need their services. Today they say this, tomorrow they say that, next week they will say this and that and next month they will say they did not say this or that... The longer they twist and tango... the more money clients need to pay
    3. Lawyers pun nak cari makan man!!

LETS TANGO

30. Anonymous7:42 pm

After Tun Salleh released his press statement, one lawyer posted the following in an obvious attempt to ridicule the former Lord President:

THE JURIST, THE MYTH AND THE MAN
    written by Stephen Tan Ban Cheng, Thursday, October 30 2008 03:35 pm
    Two points:

(1) Engleesh

“I wish to slowly fade away from the legal scene and it is my desire nevertheless to still maintain a close relationship with the firm I helped established and, if possible, without the burden of being a partner.

"Helped established" - whose mistake? Tun Salleh's mistake or the sub-editor's. I would hate it if it is established to be Tun Salleh's mistake since it had come from a former Lord President.

(2) Government of Malaysia v Lim Kit Siang & Another [1988] 1 CLJ 219

That 1988 decision sucks. Among others was Tun Salleh's incredibly narrow construction of "locus standi."

It can be seen from the instant waiver issue and the aforesaid that three distinct pictures are coming out of the jurist, the man and the myth.

Indeed, one of the speculations bandied about within journalism circles at the height of the judicial crisis was that the powers-that-be was unsure of the political stability of some of our Judges. This view emerged after Tun Salleh empanelled the full nine-Judge coram, most of whom were, so to speak, subsequently thrown into the deep end.

Stephen Tan Ban Cheng

This very same Stephen Tan Ban Cheng not long ago wrote the following about Tun Salleh:

I SALUTE THE SIX
    written by Stephen Tan Ban Cheng, Friday, June 20 2008 06:30 pm
    It's better late than never. And thanks to the nevertheless thwarted efforts of Zaid Ibrahim, our de facto Minister of Law, and our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, this resolution of sorts has occurred during the lifetime of a few of the Judges involved.

I "Salute the Six" brave Judges - Tun Mohd Salleh Abas, the late Tan Sri Eusoffe Abdoolcader, the late Tan Sri Wan Sulaiman Pawanteh, Tan Sri Azmi Kamaruddin, Datuk George Seah and Tan Sri Wan Hamzah Wan Mohamed Salleh.

These are the Six who kept faith with all Malaysians by upholding the Malaysian Constitution that they swore to uphold when appointed to the Bench at great cost to their judicial careers.

I said it was "a resolution of sorts" and the words of Tun Salleh probably will bear me out.

I have with me "May Day for Justice" written by Tun Salleh with the late diplomat-turned-journalist K. Das, "Judicial Misconduct" by Peter Alderidge Williams, Q.C. of New Zealand and the rebuttal to the latter "Conduct U*nbecoming by our legal dozen Raja Aziz Addruse.

I must state here that "May Day for Justice" was couriered to me in New Zealand by my teacher friend, the late Kam Cheng Yong, whose efforts in the Malaysian cooperative movement has been commemorated with a Scholarship in his name by the Penang Teachers' Co-operative.

I dedicate these comments to the fond memory of this great friend who passed away before I could finish my law degree.

Stephen Tan Ban Cheng

One Against Hypocrisy

31. Anonymous3:13 pm

Edmund Bon Tai Soon (Monday, October 27 2008 04:13 pm):

"There has been much discussion on the Tun Salleh Abas consultancy issue. Many of the comments on this website and http://rockybru.com.my/ have also been made at Bar Council meetings, and I do not pretend that it is not a most difficult issue.

".... We must be clear not to confuse the issues. Various accusations have been made against the Bar Council and its leaders. Some have been quite vicious bordering on racism and bigotry. Some have also alleged that we are being unfair to Tun Salleh Abas.

It is unfortunate that the tone of the discussions has been acrimonious. But as this is required if we are to champion a more open society, and uphold the principles of free speech and the right to reply, then please let me say as follows:

1.The Bar Council has always made its decisions after considering relevant issues, not on the basis of irrelevant ones such as race, religion, gender or political affiliation/views ........

....In light of what has transpired and having read the comments, I would humbly invite members to give legal and constructive suggestions on this issue for further consideration."

Below, some non vicious and relevant comments from a member of the Bar on Tun Salleh's consultant issue:

Tun Salleh Abbas shouls keep quiet
    written by Fahri Azzat, Thursday, October 30 2008 12:01 pm

" .... Lord President Tun Mohamed Salleh Abas claims he is shocked to learn that the Bar Council had erred in granting consultant status to retired judges.

With whatever respect due to the man - I am bemused that he should be shocked at anything since his biggest screw up in the decision of Government of Malaysia v Lim Kit Siang & Another case [1988] 1 CLJ 219 - is still being felt by every citizen in Malaysia and has facilitated the huge corruption machinery that is now the Malaysian government. Instead of atoning for his error in humility, he went and accepted money for his unconstitutional removal instead of enduring it stoically and demonstrating that money cannot atone for everything - least of all the rape of the judiciary. And this is the same man who turned away the Bar Council in 1988 when they went to lend him their support.

So Tun Salleh, please don't just fade away slowly - fade quickly. Leave the profession now I say. You were of no service to it on the Bench, you are of even lesser service to it at the Bar. And don't pretend to be shocked by the Bar Council's errors because you still have lots to be shocked about yours back in 1988.

Fahri Azzat

BUT BEFORE THAT, Bar President Ambiga sang praises for Tun Salleh at the Bar Council Dinner paid for by the government on April 18 2008 (this was after Tun Salleh received ex-gratia payment):

" ....... In 1988, the Bar recognised the greatness of what these Judges did by numerous Resolutions and other declarations of admiration. Now, 20 years later, we hope for due recognition of their brave acts by the nation, so that the public conscience may be assuaged by the righting of a wrong.

..... It is therefore only proper that on your behalf, I acknowledge these judges who withstood their hour of trial with fortitude and dignity. In that battle, they are the victors - Tun Salleh, Dato’ George Seah, Tan Sri Wan Hamzah, Tan Sri Azmi, Tan Sri Wan Sulaiman and Tan Sri Eusoffe Abdoolcader"

NOW, because Tun Salleh questions the Bar Council about the consultant issue, all RELEVANT crap is thrown at him.

Interestingly, no senior member of the Bar who not long ago also sang praises for the former Lord President appear to want to have anything to do with that old man or come to his defence.

I bet now Tun Salleh really knows who his friends are.

32. Anonymous9:52 am

Hey Bernadette, LOL???