Monday, October 13, 2008

In defence of Utusan Malaysia

Tabung Azan for Utusan Malaysia. We live in interesting times, where those who complain about the mainstream media being muzzled by the authorities are also the ones who sue these media at the slightest provocation.

DAP's Teresa Kok has filed a RM30 million suit against Utusan Malaysia, the Bahasa Malaysia daily controlled by Umno, over the azan issue. Another DAP leader has also sued the same newspaper for RM10 million, despite the newspaper having published an apology for a mistake it did in a report affecting the politician.

One can argue that ordinary people and organisations sue newspapers all the time. But Ms Kok is not an ordinary person and the DAP is not an ordinary body. As a people's representative, we expect Ms Kok to fight for our basic freedoms, including assuring Malaysians of the all-important Press Freedom.

If Ms Kok and the DAP really believe in the freedom of, say, the Rocket and Malaysia Today, they must also believe in the freedom of Utusan Malaysia.

When I was editor of Business Times and The Malay Mail, I lost many nights' sleep over legal suits filed by disgruntled individuals and organisations. Many politicians were unhappy but none sued because we provided them with the right of reply. And we published without malice. The newspapers I led never sued anyone, either.

I hope politicians will not make it a habit to sue the media, old and new. I hope Theresa would find it fit to withdraw her suit against Utusan Malaysia.

I must applaud Syed Ali Alhabshee's initiative over the weekend to come to the defence of Utusan Malaysia. Some will see it as a political gimmick, but I see the Umno Cheras' inititiave for its simple message: if we believe in a freedom, we must defend that freedom at all times.

Read Syed Ali Alhabshee's posting on the Tabung Azan for Utusan Malaysia, h e r e.

Updates, 530 pm:
Note: I'm including the article about Karpal Singh suing Utusan. I understand from this article that Utusan had apologized for the error in its reporting. And thanks Sinatra_Z for the RM30 million ringgit article

Karpal sues Utusan for RM10 million h e r e
The article that made Theresa Kok sue for RM30 million h e r e

466 comments:

1. Anonymous3:14 am

wake up dude... u think press freedom is above the law? What is ur definition of freedom? can i wrote you are the son of a b**ch and u will not do anythign about it?

2. Anonymous4:27 am

Back in July at the height of PR's offensive, our friend Rocky announced that Malaysians are tired of "politicking" and vowed to stop blogging for three days, which he did. He also organised a gathering of bloggers for a "no politics talk" party.

His words struck me as exactly what Badawi and Najib would say. I warned my cousin there and then that Rocky is AN UMNO MOLE.
    Remember also a LEE LAM THYE?

If a guy like JEFF OOI can't judge the company he keeps (like mixing around with Rocky), the likely indication is an empty self-serving "intellectual" caught up in the excitement of celebrity status.

3. Pehh! U keep this up, you'll be on par with Chedet.com soon.
    But respect for man standing by his word.

4. Anonymous4:48 am

A turn coat? Very disappointed. Was the 40 pieces of silver worth it?

My my my.

Melakakini

5. Anonymous6:06 am

there is a consipiracy to discredit Teresa and we know where they are coming from.....are you one of them? If you are a journalist (sorry, ex-journalist) of sound and unbiased mind, would you be writing this bullshit.

You can slam people like Kali, Brendan and those whose faces you just don't like. You hobnobs with friends suspected of racist tendency and you want to talk about freedom of press on your blog? You won't be better off assuming you return to NSTP to be a mouthpiece for the next PM. You will get the same treatment just like Kali and the rest.

The truth...you are no different. For your info, you were viewed as a latent racist in the NSTP and MM long before you started blogging. Only those who don't know you think differently.

Take up the challenge by reader Richard Loh to "prove that you ar e not straying away from your neutral stand..." Yes, say your piece about Utusan's report on TK. Your personal view.

BTW, this is only my second recent comment on this blog because of the current politico scenario. Won't be coming back. It's all racist crap here from a self-centered person and a hypocrite.

grateful dread

6. Anonymous6:57 am

After reading what Zaini Hassan wrote, and subsequently mosque's declaration on the issue, looks like someone choose to put into newspaper something sensational/emotional-strong-piece without verifying the truth.

Get back to fact 101 : someone got defamed. Its a libel. Since it's libel outright, its his/her right to sue for libel, or apology of equal magnitude of the defamation.

The onus here, should be journalists themselves to keep the reports true.

Its one thing if you get sued for reporting truth, and another total diff thing if you get sued for reporting a lie.

What Syed Ali Alhabshee does actually implies that "its okay to report anything though it may be unverified".

To the writer : If you are wrong, and if you are a person with sense of responsiblity, come out and accept responsibility. Otherwise, defend your writings.

Totally unrelated to above, but I can't help wondering "why didn't Ahmad Ismail sue Sin Chew?".

7. Anonymous7:25 am

Let's get serious. Utusan Melayu has never been and is not interested in the country's safety and security. It is a partisan rag that trades on the fears and anxieties of the Malays for he benefit of UMNO. It has been making up stories about opposition figures to inflame Malay feelings all these years. How would you like if someone falsely called you a rapist? You wouldn't sue?

(Old Fool)

8. Anonymous7:25 am

Let's get serious. Utusan Melayu has never been and is not interested in the country's safety and security. It is a partisan rag that trades on the fears and anxieties of the Malays for he benefit of UMNO. It has been making up stories about opposition figures to inflame Malay feelings all these years. How would you like if someone falsely called you a rapist? You wouldn't sue?

(Old Fool)

9. Anonymous10:35 am

Two things to say

1) Just because Utusan apologized does not mean they are free from defamation suit. If damage is done, then the suit is still legit even if an apology was issued. Suppose someone wrote a piece that resulted in the death of someone (which is the potential case with Teresa). Does an apology make up for it?

2) Lumping Karpal and Teresa case is like mixing up the sun and the moon. Its not the same thing..

Dumb move brother....Just dumb...

10. Anonymous12:38 pm

seemed like from the comments to this particular post of yours i read here,you owe the majority a decent response to all the negative comments against this post,lest you wish to also be branded as an "ultra" and "biased" or perhaps even as a "umno wolf under a sheep skin"???

thinking aloud.

11. Anonymous12:39 pm

The friend of this journalist should stand up and speak openly. The mosque has already denied Teresa having made such allegations. How can one say anything without consequences??

Isiz

12. Anonymous2:04 pm

Press freedom and freedom of speech comes with responsibility.

Did Utudan practise it...NO...

Did Utusan provide Teresa with the right to reply...NO...Utusan just go on and publish it.

Teresa's reputation is tarnished and being ISA'ed because of that falsely claimed article.

Teresa and her family's life is in danger because of what had happen.

Rocky, you called yourself veteran. Well, it doesn't seems to be. You just can't accept the fact and you are bias.

Two thumbs down for you. I'll never gonna buy an Utusan ever.

MightyJ

13. Anonymous2:19 pm

SHAME ON YOU ROCKY!!

14. Anonymous2:27 pm

Looks like you are the easy turncoat types.

You of all people, should be slapping yourself now. Stupidity is lack of a word for you after your defense for UM.

Unbelievable says one of my friend, i was in the same shoe as he was when word got out that you went and DEFEND UM.

That is why people have names for people like you.."REBEL without a cause".

You see...instead of keeping your eye on the ball, you rather have your damn emotions get the better of you. This is what we would call "Ketam dalam bakul".

YOU PREACH on and off again, cry and all that sandiwara for the rights of malaysians, but when it comes to standing up for justice for the same reason most malaysians are doing, you decided to be the trojan horse and coming out with a STUPID DEFENSE for UM.
    ----------------------------------
    Your comment which i quote:
    "I must applaud Syed Ali Alhabshee's initiative over the weekend to come to the defence of Utusan Malaysia. Some will see it as a political gimmick, but I see the Umno Cheras' inititiave for its simple message: if we believe in a freedom, we must defend that freedom at all times."
    ----------------------------------

WHAT F******* freedom are you talking here ??????? Freedom to cause havoc is JUSTIFIED FREEDOM? eh brother WAKE UP!
    Is it justifiable to let a drunk guy drive a car and smash into a group of children in a nursery home? IS IT??? why cause he has a RIGHT TO DRIVE???? COME ON YOU MORON..GROW A BRAIN FOR GOD SAKE.

ARE YOU THAT PATHETIC???

Is it right for someone to put another person in jail or detention just because they THINK he/she is guilty but at the end...proven otherwise???

WHAT KIND OF FREEDOM ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT ????? Have you taken a good look into the mirror saudara?

Ini muka GENUINE ke? atau MUKA PALSU???

From this day onwards...stop preaching about RIGHTS, FREEDOM and HARMONY, wHEN you cant even DIFFERENTIATE THE REAL THING ABOUT FREEDOM.

you are a joke!..
    PTUIT!...
    KONON la anak malaysia...JIJIK!

15. rocky! wats up man? disappointed laaa.

sometimes when its too much its really too much u know? u dont say its ok when somebody defame & try to make the world think u r guilty while ur not u know?

put urself in her shoelaaa..

16. Anonymous2:47 pm

Are you alright?

If not, Pls consult your doctor...

17. Anonymous3:18 pm

The real issue here is about the ethics of journalism.

How on earth could Utusan, a national daily, publish and defame someone based on hearsay?

This totally irresponsible report has led to the sufferings of many innocent people including Theresa.

A wrong is a wrong no matter how you try to justify it.

A price will have to be paid to atone for such sin and Utusan has no one to blame but itself for this folly.

18. Rocky,
    Sorry man, i disagree with you on this one. And with hundeds of otheres, we are sad that you felt the way you did. Of course, you could have replied any but you did not, indicating that you still stand for what you believe in.

I am one of your faithful readers and the last few months, have sense that you are moving towards the policies and politics of UMNO. It is your right and we can disagree on that. With Najib moving up and Mahathir pulling the string, you might be back into good books of some people. But do think of general Malaysians who need to be inspired not by racism and bully behaviours such as the events that lead to this. Teresa is not 100% right, but Utusan seemed infallible. Even their latest posting to murder Teresa by gun should not be tolerated.

19. Anonymous3:54 pm

I am glad to see so many viewers that can evaluate this issue with high intellectual and maturity. Rocky, as a blogger, you got to come to this level....please.

20. Rocky Bro,

It's seem that..once you're not with them or tow the line on the same path of their liking. They start to 'bantai' you all out..!!

Anyway like I have had said before.. you're still the best around !! And your controversial post of this kind..!! Have had really hurt them bad.

Now they call you all sort of name's...mole..trator and what so ever..!!

Everybody are entitle to their own opinion and don what colour they wanna to be..!!

Rocky Bro.. you're the BEST.

21. Anonymous5:17 pm

Of course i SUE LA!...
    you write defamation nonsense ...and it turns out that you are actually writing rubbish..pastila i SUE!...
    what if i write about your family involved in drugs? what if i write about your mother is a hooker who pays for her meals by selling her self for 2.00 per shot? Gunakan otak.

Freedom of speech yes, freedom of expression yes, but FREEDOM "main hentam, main politik, main nak kenakan orang" if its all lies and fabrication SEMUA NOT OK? PAHAM????

just because you are a journalist (yes this is to you to KADIR), dOESN't MEAN you have the DAMN RIGHT TO SCREW SOMEONE upside down through your so-called FREEDOM of expression or whatever you want to hide your agendas with.

You call yourselves reporters with calibre and authentic..PLEASE MAN...You all living in A tempurung world...The REAL REPORTERS & JOURNALIST ARE THE ONES THAT KNOW REAL TRUTH and YOU GUYS ARE JUST PAWNS AND SLAVES to your political masters. MEMALUKAN.

DO YOU THINK YOU GUYS WILL EVER WIN A NOBLE PRIZE OR EVEN A PULITZER? DREAM ONNNNnnnnnnnn...
    REALLY You can DREAM ALL YOU WANT, you can BOLEH all you want...but the fact is...TILL you get your damn acts together and really stand for something Truthful and in line with justice....you have nothing to shout about. KONON REPORTERS/JOURNALIST...ptuit!

Patriotic my kaki!...all 2 face bloggers.

regards,
    Puteri

22. Anonymous5:17 pm

copied excerpt below from Haris Ibrahim blog just in case you are too busy and have no time to read other people's blog
    ====================================
    "Well, Rocky, if one of the Tamil dailies falsely accused you of calling for the demolition of Hindu temples, and that daily then refused to apologise despite your demands that they do so, and your home was then turned into a war zone where molotovs were tossed into, would you sue to clear your name and to prevent any further trauma for those near and dear to you?

Or would you, Rocky, champion the right of that daily, in the name of freedom of expression and opinion, to continue to lie about you, and therefore refrain from taking the matter to court?"

===================================

I thought you were righteous when you took on Kalimullah Hassan, with Jeff Ooi.

What was your point? Care to share? Trying to mollycoddle someone to get a job?

Come on Rocky....

23. Anonymous5:47 pm

Bro

Your stand stinks!! How can someone of your stature support a racist action by an UMNO egghead to equate Kok defending her right against malicious reporting as anti-Islam?

The entire episode is another lame attempt by UMNO putras to confuse their erstwhile loyal Malay voters to come back to the fold by playing "Defender of the Faith".

You KNOW the truth. So what is the hidden agenda???

How is the blogging community going to trust you in future after this sad outburst of yours?

Disgusted and Disappointed

24. Anonymous5:48 pm

Disgusted and Disappointed Blog Reader

25. from now on im not going to waste too much time on this blog!

26. >>DAP=PAP, Ms Kok is the prodigy of LKY. Of course lah she must follow the style of her political master, pauperised your political rival through court of justice. In Singh Republic the courts are under the thumb of LKY. In my beloved country the lawyers who file the suits are under the thumb of DAP aka Bar Council. DAP for Democracy??? My foot loh.

Dollah Gemuk<<

Sini hakim bawah UMNO/BN .... perbandingan kurang cerdik nak samakan tindakan Teresa dengan kerajaan Singapore. Sama tahap kebodohan menyamakan saman malu dengan tahanan tanpa bicara ISA.

Bezanya kerajaan Singapore kontrol mahkamah, sebab tu lawan politik boleh dibankrapkan. Arini ajer kuar berita Singapore Democratic Party dibankrapkan oleh mahkamah Singapura.

Di sini mahkamah di kawal oleh orang-orang yang rapat dengan gomen - takkan la kes Lingam, Eusoff Chin dsb terjadi kalau depa orang-orang pembangkang?

Berdasarkan fakta di atas, yang nak kena cari logik menyamakan tindakan Teresa dengan PAP tu tak kesampaian walaupun tulis 1 paragraph.........

27. Anonymous7:18 pm

Fork tongue traitor!

28. Anonymous7:37 pm

Ah, the self-righeousness of anonymous commentors. It's funny how we're so eager to accuse the government of not tolerating dissent, when the readers themselves can't tolerate Rocky's difference of opinion.

"The price of freedom of religion, or of speech, or of the press, is that we must put up with a great deal of rubbish."
    - Robert H. Jackson

29. what is the all the fuss about? If the food was no good then it is no good, TK did not deserve to be taken in for ISA. Although this article is almost ten years old, maybe it is worth noting that British Airways did not sue or go into a rage. They took the comments in a dignified and civilised way, and we have not heard any comment of similar nature.

BA in-flight meal was a dog's dinner, says Ronay
    Independent, The (London), Oct 26, 1998 by Vanessa Thorpe

AN EGON RONAY inspector has accused British Airways of providing passengers with "a dog's dinner" of an in-flight meal in a study of transatlantic service which is published today.

In particular, the inspector who was faced with a BA lunch on a flight to New York seems to have concurred with Virgin's current slogan, "No Way BA". The in-flight meal concerned, described as an "unmitigated disaster", consisted of "a salad of chopped-up dull bits with soggy croutons one couldn't eat". The main course of risotto and ratatouille was dismissed as "an idiotic combination". A sultana scone served for afternoon tea proved "difficult to penetrate".

Virgin Atlantic, in contrast, has won top ranking with 66 points, while Richard Branson's arch-rival British Airways - badly let down by its cuisine - comes in at number eight with 51 points. Northwest Airlines was last, scoring a meagre 47. The publishing company, renowned for its restaurant guides, sent out a team of undercover inspectors to sample the fare offered by the 10 largest transatlantic carriers. Travelling economy class, the team was asked to assess the quality of the entire flying experience and not just the catering. The study, released today, severely criticises most of the carriers for their "lamentable attitude" to the convenience and comfort of their passengers. The study found check-in queues to resemble lines of cattle awaiting transportation, while seats were "corset-like and knee-crunching". The companies were each judged on nine criteria - queuing time at check- in, efficiency, comfort, friendliness, in-flight service, food, entertainment, the pilot's in-flight comments and the state of the lavatories. Mr Ronay summed up the findings: "We were surprised at the poor conditions and discomfort in economy class ... redeemed only by the friendliness of the majority of in-flight staff and the sometimes good in-flight entertainment." When it came to food, which Mr Ronay characterised as "terrible", he called for a more "intelligent concept of catering". The airlines, he believes, are "bogged down by combinations of food absurdly unsuitable for in-flight conditions". A spokesman for Virgin Atlantic, an airline whose chargrilled chicken was found to be "tender and moist", praised the company's cabin crew and celebrated beating BA. "For the self-styled world's favourite airline, the fact they have come eighth says it all," he said. A BA spokesman said he could not comment on the report until the company had seen its findings. "We work with many of the world's top chefs and always endeavour to produce meals of the highest quality," he added. Air Fare How Ronay's inspectors ranked the carriers: Airline points Virgin Atlantic 66 KLM 64 Continental 59 Air France 58 US 58 Delta 57 United 55 British Airways 51 American 48 Northwest 47

30. Anonymous9:13 pm

It just goes to prove that Rocky is mortal like everyone of us, with our pride and prejudices. So, stop worshiping these 'star' bloggers, bros. It also goes to show how religion could really destroy this world. Marx was right! "Religion is opium for the masses".

The Molotov cocktails, subtle death threats and blinded defence of Utusun is not doing Islam any favours in the eyes of the World. It is so easy for UMNO to play up the 'undersieged' emotion and unite UMNO at the expense of the rest of citizen of Malaysia.

31. Anonymous9:22 pm

Oi Dollah Gemuk,

You another lying bastard...I can attest Teresa is NOT my prodigy and my initial is LKY!!

What is wrong with defamation suit? At least you get to debate the issue openly. Do you prefer the ISA muzzle, boy?

32. Anonymous9:59 pm

Its really dissapointing to read this article from you of all people. Your reputation is seriously at stake here and if you are willing to sell your soul to the devil by publishing this article,I'm sure you are with the devil and will be rewarded accordingly by the devil themselves soon. Its beyond comprehension that you can defend Utusan for the injustice they have perpetrated towards Teresa. What ever justification you have for supporting this,just be man enough to disclose it instead of hiding behind the issue of press freedom.If you are too chicken,then just keep that blardy mouth and mind of yours shut for goodness sake . Damn you Rocky !!!!! you really stink !!!

33. Anonymous10:09 pm

Utusan is a newspaper that promotes hatred, racism & frankly is a BIG threat to our national security. TK should sue them for RM30B instead to ensure that they disappear from this planet:)....Mat Salleh

34. Anonymous11:07 pm

Rocky, I am disappointed by your stand.

35. Anonymous11:11 pm

Rocky, I am disappointed with your stand. What happened to the original version of Rocky's Bru?? Bought ??

zen Penang

36. Anonymous11:59 pm

rocky, readers kau ni kecoh la. Bila kau kritik gomen, bukan main lagi julang. Tapi bile melawan arus sikit, terus nak merajuk, maki hamun, kutuk2.... Kalau tak setuju pun, bagi la komen bernas sikit. Kecoh la diorg ni.
    Takpe rocky, keep up the good work! gua sokong lu.

37. Anonymous12:41 am

Well I came across your article tonight, and can't help but to step back from my usual position and to try to think seriously your standpoint, Rocky.

To a certain extent I actually agree with you. Where the press should have the freedom to report what they seemed right at press time. And since they publish article daily, the truth may take longer for it to be proven and, in this case, stand corrected by facts.

The very same freedom has been enjoyed by RPK to publish what is right, and enjoyed by Malaysian and worldwide audience.

But Rocky, while truth remain as such, different facts actually carry different gravity in this country.

If you remember some time back, there was a chilling incidents where a group of Muslim gathered outside a Catholic church in Perak, believing that a mass conversion of Muslim was allegedly to be held in that premises.

All of it was due to a wrong facts being relayed to some of the Muslim member of public. No one knows who did it, and I do not want to speculate the motive behind such deliberate or accidental relay of facts. In other countries, the incidents could have lead to outrage murder at its worst.

So this Azan incidents is no ordinary mistaken fact reporting. To publish such news, it MUST be accompanied by thorough investigation from the press. But sadly, it is almost certain that even the said Mosque Committee were not even consulted prior to releasing very sensitive news allegedly committed by Theresa Kok.

What chills me is the future prospect of this country, where the very same Newspaper can go unpunished with such irresponsible reporting. It wets my eye when I saw the lack of venue for commoners like me, and my baby daughter, to voice out injustice in this manner.

They may have the right to publish news. But please at least let the common ppl like us to have the venue to condemn injustice in manner appropriate to the crime.

This incidents was no ordinary false reporting.

This incidents can potentially break our Country into half.

Pete82

38. Anonymous1:10 am

Really disappointed with your stand - and disappointed that any of us supported you when you were sued!

How difficult is it to understand? TK was reported in Utusan to be 'against azan'; she got ISAed, then ISA & the people involved in the petition both said "mistake, TK not involved", and there's no fair report by Utusan on this mistake?? No apology? No fair reporting that Molotovs are now thrown at her family home? Utusan now publishes a 'cerpen' that has a 'so-called racist YB who gets shot dead'??

And you think TK has no right to sue Utusan for at least defamation? Is she & her family worth RM30m - let the suit and court decide. But I know that anybody in her shoes should sue. Her life, her family's life, and her priciples are being wronged; and you, Rocky - makes me sorry we ever lighted a candle for you!

NoYawns

39. Anonymous1:12 am

To all the Commentors

While I do not agree with Rocky, I do understand that it is his rights to voice his opinion. This very freedom is exactly what Rocky was talking about.

So please let us respect his opinion, for life is a journey. We all go through events in life which may not be agreeable to everyone at any one time.

So let us show Rocky his deserved talking sphere a breathing space.

And lets stop the name calling, labelling, and condemnation.

For someone has said before (can't remember who) .. " I may not agree with what you have said, but I will fight for the freedom for you to say it."

Pete82

40. Anonymous10:23 am

i agree with you.

if i were theresa kok, i'd take on utusan malaysia becos i am a politician. and i can do it. no i won't sue the paper.

all these jokers who are supporting theresa, are so skewered. and they have shown to all and sunry what they really are.

sudah-lah.... they are whacking utusan because it's a malay paper.

i'll bet if a malay politician sues sin chew, they will come up in arms to defend the paper.

rocky...thanks for posting this. looks like you've smoked the pro-opposition racists out...expose them for what they are!

i voted for the opposition in March like everyone.

next election, i'll be back to voting for the BN....

obvious, isn't it?

i think pakatan rakyat lebih teruk dan lebih dahsyat daripada BN.

41. Anonymous10:29 am

man, bro...

you defend utusan and you're an umno mole..

you're najib's man..

bro...you're not the one with short memory...

these buggers (pakatan racist cyber troopers -- yep..beter believe it!) are the ones!

go, rocky, go!

if anyone's a racist -- it's all these commentors.

if utusan has done wrong, whack the paper...vilify the paper...whatever! you're a politician, you ca do A LOT!

but...oh...when Raja Petra writes all those unsubstantiated allegations.

double standards...

bro ---- jangan berkawan dengan bloggers lah..

42. Anonymous11:56 am

Freedom of speech or freedom for that matter is a priviledge which must be accompanied by responsibility and accountability. And for a national newspaper, the accountablility is even higher for false information and worst insinuating hatred and racial disharmony.
    - Lonewolf

43. Anonymous12:30 pm

To Pete82,

Quote: For someone has said before (can't remember who) .. " I may not agree with what you have said, but I will fight for the freedom for you to say it."

The quote you quoted is paraphased from Voltaire, a French philosopher during the Enlightenment. His exact quote was:

I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.

And I agree with you, most of the self-righteous commentors here are being immature. They only hear what they want to hear. So some of you disagree with Rocky. Big deal, go get a life.

44. Hek eleh.

Menyampah la aku komen dah sampai 400++ ni. Apasal tak komen kat aku? Senang aku nak select all, pastu delete je.

Woi! Jom ramai-ramai kita pi saman Malaysia Today, Harakah dengan Suara Keadilan pulak.

Setiap satu kita saman 40 juta. Tiga bijik dah 120 juta dah. Baca je, mesti ada artikel yang buat salah cam sial punya.

This is double standards. No one made a peep when Malaysia Today published fiction - YES! Fiction.

Example:

"The meeting behind closed doors between Anwar and KJ was extremely private and top security. Only those two were in the room.

KJ sweat a bit and asked himself, 'Can I actually trust this man?'

"

Or something to that effect.

If the meeting was private, then how the hell would anyone be able to see that KJ was sweating and that that was what he THOUGHT?

Unless advances in science made possible thought-reading machines, and the writer had access to such exotic technology, not to mention powers of invisibility, this is entirely fiction.

Did Malaysia Today make enough visible disclaimers that everything they write in such a manner is fiction?

Did Harakah? Suara Keadilan?

Honestly, I've read worse than Utusan Malaysia's coverage.

Why no uproar over there? For those things?

As usual, it's not the system, but the people that screws everything up.

Screw all this brand of opposition-style freedom of speech and freedom of expression.

It is pure hypocrisy at its best.

And you call the Government hypocrites!

Double hypocrisy!

Talk only. Walk CANNOT.

45. Anonymous1:36 pm

we the majority of people did not condone with the minority people of DAP Racist Chinese Chauvinist people.

of course we do understand PAS stance (not honest when they critise Utusan) and the fact remain they just could not sleep together with DAP?

also you expect PAS to be lenient on their stance of Islamic struggle?

You expect PAS to sell their Soul?

macam ayam dengan itik ma.

So people! we live in reality of world....

Get real, again the majority of people support Rocky Bru opinion and Utusan Malaysia.

Keep your upset ka, disapointed ka,
    disgusted ka, angry ka to your self.

who give a damn to this lapdog...

46. Bro,
    Dissapointed with you...how can you said that.Utusan Melayu should be closed down for good.All their editors send to Kamunting resort for retreat and reform.

47. Ngarut aje la bro rocky..

aku rasa ramai anon yang same person ni.

takpe la bro ini la dia antara nikmatnya kalau bro amalkan freedom of speech because there will be plenty of rubbish.

aku respect ko sebab ko tak delete pun komen-komen absurd bodoh gila nak mampus yang kutuk ko melampau gila tahap angau ayah kambing kehilangan isteri-isterinya.

kalau bagi komen-komen pencemaran alam macam ni dalam blog aku dah lama dibakulsampahkan dengan ludah aku.

wa caya sama lu brader!

48. Anonymous6:59 pm

Is it true that Theresa didn't say what Utusan said she did? Are we just assuming that or is Utusan telling an outright lie? From my calculation on responses to your blog, I would say that 99.99% of responders believe Utusan lied. Does anyone really know what happened or are we speculating?

SFTT

49. Anonymous11:33 pm

Generally speaking, this is a load of bull.

50. Anonymous7:04 am

what hyprocrites you people are. i've lost count of the number of times i've read about unfounded allegations, name-calling, defamation etc in the famous blogs (eg malaysia today)and yet no one said anything or bat an eyelash. oh i forgot its alright if its against the government. Responsible reporting konon...practise what you preach lah.
    Rocky...keep on writing!

-galapagos-

51. Anonymous9:28 am

To Hakaik,

You said: "After reading what Zaini Hassan wrote, and subsequently mosque's declaration on the issue, looks like someone choose to put into newspaper something sensational/emotional-strong-piece without verifying the truth."

I think you're getting your mosques mixed up. Zaini Hassan was referring to a surau in Shah Alam. As far as I know, there was no clarification from the mosque committe on this particular incident. I think the declaration you refer to are for different allegations involving mosques in Kinrara and Kota Damansara, neither of which were mentioned in Zaini Hassan's article.

Here is what he said:
    “Sampai macam itu sekali tindakan mereka,” kata seorang AJK sebuah surau di Shah Alam kepada saya Jumaat lalu. Beliau ialah sahabat lama saya, yang kami bertemu selepas solat Jumaat, lalu mengajak saya bersembang.

Sembang punya sembang, tiba-tiba beliau menyentuh mengenai soal suraunya. Katanya, kira-kira tiga bulan selepas Pakatan Rakyat mengambil alih kerajaan Selangor, seorang Exco kerajaan negeri itu, yang juga seorang Ahli Parlimen dari parti DAP membuat kunjungan ke suraunya. Yang peliknya, YB wanita itu datang pada waktu sebelum subuh.

This is Teresa Kok's response:
    "Oh my God, bila saya pergi ke surau Puchong pada awal pagi? Saya biasanya bangun selepas pukul 7 pagi, buat apa saya pergi ke surau Puchong pada awal pagi?"

Did she make an honest mistake by referring to a surau in Puchong when he mentioned Shah Alam? Or was she being a slippery politician just like when she tried to deny that she said they fed her food "only fit for dogs"? I guess we'll probably only know when the matter goes to court.

Oik

52. Anonymous10:31 am

I'm a regular reader of your blog & many others and this is my first ever comment. All I can say is I'm surprised,shocked and disappointed by what you wrote.
    SN

53. This comment has been removed by the author.

54. Anonymous12:07 pm

Just because of something that you didn't do, you were being accused and detained for days.
    So, shouldn't Teresa sue to clear herself. Or else, we will not sure what will "them" do to her later?

55. Anonymous12:12 pm

saya cuba segala upaya untuk mencari kesilapan dan kesalahan, yakni, dosa saudara dalam posting "In defence of Utusan...."

berulang kali saya membaca posting saudara.

sebab saya ingin tahu apa yang menyebabkan kemarahan yang amat sangat komentar2 blog saudara.

yang saya dapat fahami ia-lah -- saudara BERPENDAPAT bahawa ahli politik seperti Teresa tidak payah lah menyaman Utusan kerana beliau boleh menggunakan saluran yang lain.

memang betul. tapi itu hak Teresa. saudara tidak mengutuk teresa. saudar tidak mengutuk DAP. dan saudara tidak memuji Utusan. dan saya pasti saudara pun berpendapat bahawa Utusan pun tidak "blameless" dan perlu di ajar. cuma saudara tidak menyatakan demikian.

saya rasa yang buat pembaca2 (terutama sekali yang bukan Melayu dan yang bukan Islam) marah ia-lah sokongan saudara kepada initiatif Syed Alhabshee untuk menubuhkan Tabung Azan.

Itu pun saya kurang faham mengapa ramai yang sangat marah.

Apa salah nya kalau Syed Alhabshee nak tubuhkan tabung itu? Dia kan ahli politik Umno dan Utusan kan akhbar Umno?

Saya pasti kalau terjadi kepada Rocket atau Harakah dan ada tabung sedemikian....pasti saudara juga akan menyokong initiatif yang sama. Bukan?

You're the man, Rocky, my friend.

Saya rasa...penyokong DAP yang penyokong perkauman memang marah terhadap saudara sebab mereka ni emotional.

sebab ketaksuban mereka yang keterlaluan, mereka tidak dapat memahami message saudara.

Again, saudara.

Tabik kepada seorng insan yang tidak boleh di makan ideology atau hasutan...

i believe, sir, these dogmatic racists will see the light...will see that you have no ulterior motive.

your affinity with Tun Dr M when he's out of office the last five years??? is that a sin?
    you were critical of him while he was in office, everybody knows that..
    besides, he's a fellow blogger. and you don't discriminate
    as you have been quoted : "i will not touch Pak Lah once he's out of office. why should I?"

bermakna, Najib harus berjaga2?

you're the man, anytime, bro!

56. Anonymous12:17 pm

teresa is a load of bull herself!

57. Anonymous12:19 pm

ROCKY THE BRAVE!

the more i read the comments, the more i think a lot of blog readers wear blinkers, are racist, self-righteous and terribly intolerant of divergent views!

I salute you, Sir.

and forget those assholes who are so racist and anti-Malay.

58. Anonymous1:20 pm

Amused

Had it not been over TV, her statement on 'dog food' "Utusan pembelit" would have not stopped there, I am sure..Luckily it was on air for everyone to see, hear and judge.

So well now, its going to be very interesting match. Utusan should sue her for defamation too. Afterall, its 70years old reputation, the shareholdrs margin and its daily sales revenue is at stake..

And what is RM30m to Utusan, maybe just 3weeks paper sales... so, lets see bigger figures.Challange hindraf demands and go for RMxxx trillion. heh heh

59. Anonymous5:25 pm

Hi Rocky,
    I think you are lucky that in spite of many people with opposing views, their comments are very polite. Compare with the politician who blogged when PR took over the govt of Selangor with a heading something like - " vote for a govt that comes with a pig farm", he was hantam left and right until he had to disable the comments.

Johnny Chiam

60. Anonymous12:40 am

Come on people..do you not see it? It's the soon-to-be-NSTP-head-honcho talking...and for the love of GOD! EVERYBODY knows WHERE Rocky stands! You'd have to be a moron to not know it! You still don't see it? Muhriz is ALMOST there! So would his daddy! Figure out the rest..
    I am so sick of ALL this!

61. Anonymous12:41 am

All I want to know is HOW MUCH! How much, Rocky?

62. Anonymous5:16 pm

Utusan Malaysia has more than shown its lack of commitment to the truth and fair and accurate journalism. They do a disservice to ALL Malays and ALL Malaysians with their biased outlook. I cannot believe you are defending them under the guise of free speech. The editors and journalists of Utusan Malysia seem to operate in a culture of irresponsible reporting. Sigh...

63. Rakyat 1 - O Utusan.

Now they will be more careful to shoot their guns towards opposition.

Kudos to Mahfuz and his lawyers.

Short Talk

64. Anonymous1:23 pm

While I applaud your desire to be consistent in the principle of freedom of speech, I think the issue is also more than that. Does it mean that anyone can publish whatever, absolutely whatever he wants? Don't have to check the veracity? Are there any code of ethics governing journalism as a profession?Even if exposes others to danger or ridicule through no fault of theirs? Does it constitute "fitnah",surely a sin in any faith? Is it just?
    What if my freedom to express myself infringes on your sensitivities? Do you think certain offensive Danish cartoons and Dutch short films should not be castigated,railed against and protested against on the principle you have defended?

Justice for ALL

65. Anonymous10:50 am

This is not the case of who is right and who is wrong or the freedom of speech etc....

Alot of times DAP & the gang sue the government because they believe that the victims were either Chinese or Indian....but when they knew the victims were the Malays - they just keep quite.

THIS IS PURE RACIST.

TELL ME CAN L HAVE EQUAL RIGHT IN CHINA (or at least in Spore) OR INDIAN ???????

OR CAN YOU HAVE EQUAL RIGHT IN USA OR EUROPE ??????

THEY WILL CALL YOU EITHER A YELLOW BASTARD OR HOLY COW alias IDOIT.

Fuck.D.Born2Reign

66. This is the second time I see that you have a lot of hits and 90% think that you are wrong. And a good quantity thinks that you are a turncoat. And probably the equal amount of people helped/supported you when you and Jeff were sued by NST.

Its David Vs Goliath. You were in it before and now said that other's can't do the same? Now a CEO and Datuk, no longer a 'David' I see.

We said our piece and now will leave your blog to your normal pro UMNO supporters.