Friday, May 02, 2008

Malaysia's auto tsar dies

Alfatihah.
Tan Sri SM Nasimudin SM Amin, who built the NAZA auto empire in just a little over two decades, passed away in US this morning.

He died of cancer at the Long Beach Hospital and his remains are at the Vermont Islamic Centre for preparation.

I last met the arwah, a soft-spoken Negri Sembilan born, at the launch of the Loaf at the Pavilion, KL.

30 comments:

1. Anonymous9:59 am

Al fatihah. He has showned that Malays can succeed in automotive industry.Semoga Allah cucuri roh beliau . I hope Rafidah will show up at his funeral.

2. Al-Fatihah.

I do not know the late Tan Sri personally, but was impressed of what I heard of him.

I was at a meeting for the opening of Naza Academy at Gurun, Kedah. One of the committee members suggested that Tan Sri gave out donations to the needy during the opening ceremony, but one of the Naza management politely said that although Tan Sri had donated millions (ringgit), he would not do so in public.

Malaysia has lost a great son in Tan Sri Nasimuddin.

3. Anonymous10:46 am

OMG!

I didn't realise he was even ill. This is sad. Condolences to his family.

4. Anonymous11:19 am

who will the APs go to now, so we can have another "self made" auto tsar?

5. Salam Brader,

1. Saya harap pengganti atau pewaris beliau sentiasa perbanyakan sedekah dan amal jariah atas nama Allahyarham.

2. Bukan hanya asyik memikir teknologi baru industri auto sahaja.

3. Hanya dengan sedekah jariah dan doa daripada ahli keluarga dan rakan-rakan sahaja yang boleh menolong kehidupan beliau dialam kubur dan di akhirat kelak.

http://www.penyokong-kj.blogspot.com

6. Anonymous11:58 am

Innalillah..

7. Anonymous12:28 pm

Al Fatihah

We never even knew he was ill. Quite sad.
    Condolence to his family

Othman

8. Anonymous12:42 pm

Tan Sri Nasimuddin's loss is to be regretted for he was a nice man.

But I would dispute the "self-made" description -- lots of government assistance.

9. Anonymous12:51 pm

For someone who made his fortune from the rakyats money via APs, all the oohs...and ahhs..about his "abilities" seem very condescending and shallow

10. Anonymous12:58 pm

Ai ya!! If he is a chinese. I will burn some paper car for him. Who going to take over his empire?

11. Anonymous2:06 pm

DONT CARE .. JUST MAKE SURE LIKE WE DONT TAKE THE SAME PLANE AS HIM ... WHAT GOES ROUND COMES ROUND ... HUMAN BEINGS ARE DELIVERED NAKED .. AND GO WITH A WHITE CLOTH .. YOU CANT TAKE YOUR AP + SUPER CARS + $$$$ ALONG TO THE GRAVE ... THERE IS NEVER A NEED TO HURT AND RUINED OTHER PEOPLE'S LIFE + THEIR FAMILIES ... BUT LET GOD BE THE JUDGE ..WE ARE NOBODY AND DONT HAVE THE POWER ... BUT WE MUST ALWAYS REMEMBER IF YOU CAUSED PEOPLE TO SUFFER WITH PAIN .. GOD WILL LET YOU SUFFER IN PAIN NO MATTER HOW RICH OR POWERFUL YOU ARE ... WHAT'S EVEN WORSE AS IF HE'S SUFFERING FROM THE CHEMOTHERAPY WASN'T ENOUGH, HIS FAMILY LET HIM SUFFER FOR ANOTHER 3 DAYS JUST TO HAVE HIS OFFICIAL DEATH CERTIFICATE STATE TIME OF DEATH THURSDAY OR FRIDAY MALAYSIAN TIME - A GOOD DAY TO DIE FOR A GOOD MUSLIM ... WHEN THEY COULD HAVE PULLED THE PLUG ON MONDAY NIGHT ITSELF ...WHAT MORE CAN I SAY ...

namZAR

12. Whatever the politicks and AP's, it is a sad event, more so when someone dies of cancer at the tender age of 53.

Tan Sri, may your soul rest in peace, and commiserations to your wife and children.

13. Anonymous3:14 pm

What he has cancer? Eh I thought it was his wife and not him..wow life is indeed very short!!!!

14. Anonymous3:25 pm

Al-Fatihah & condolences to Tan Sri's family.

May Allah SWT forgive what he might have erred and bless all the good deeds that he had done.

15. Anonymous3:32 pm

Shouldn't it be "wives" instead of only "wife"????? I heard he had more than one. So at a moment like this, we have to acknowledge le juga the other party.

16. Alfatihah and condolence to his family.

Yup the late got government assistance through AP BUT don't forget Raja Gula also got AP.

I second his AP also too(if any)will be stripped.

17. Anonymous3:53 pm

al Fatihah ...
    In the late 2002 bought KIA Carens for 98K Then came out the Naza Citra the following year at 78K .. 20K different ..I felt so cheated then ! And when I wanted to sell my Caren in late 2004 ... most Second hand dealers are only willing to buy it at about 60K-70K ... again I felt cheated ..... You guys figure ..

18. Anonymous5:18 pm

NamZAR,

I just hope that none of your family members or yourself will be afflicted by cancer.

19. Anonymous5:18 pm

Not only Raja Gula got 'AP'..the same goes to Raja Judi (also passed away), Raja Komunikasi Wireless with free satellite of taxpayer money (at the end bought everything for himself to throw to S'pore?)& those Rajas IPPs like YTL, Genting, Malakoff(Independent Power Producer) with govt at their side, forcing TNB to re-purchase electricity at very high price, despite that highly subsidized natural gas priced by the govt. and end the end the cost passed back to the rakyat..

Anyway, my condolence to the family of the deceased ..

20. Anonymous6:07 pm

Al-Fatihah

May his soul rest in peace.

When the ajal comes, not a nanosecond too early nor too late.

21. Al Fatihah, and may God bless us all.

22. Anonymous8:11 pm

hmm..there's been many death of the cronies since the Tsunami came. God also help us to cleanse the remmants of corruption too..

23. Anonymous8:23 pm

My deepest condolences to his family.

There's a saying, "The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh".

I only wished I could say that he succeeded with his own two hands, but I can't do that, considering the scandals around the AP issue. If the gomen did not practice cronyism, I would have said he created a real empire.

24. My sincere condolences to the bereaved family. May his soul rest in peace.
    I didn't know Naza , as he was known by his old friends in Kuala Pilah. But I know some members of his family well, coming from the same town myself. His late father, Amin, was also an acquintence of my late father. I remeber visiting Amin at his white-painted wooden house in Senaling during one of my university holidays back in '66.I also know some of Naza's aunties. A few are still staying in Senaling, I think. One that I know rather well is now in Ulu Kelang. Naza's grandfather used to operate a bakery in Senaling town.
    Anyway, want I want to say here is that we in Kuala Pilah, at least those who knew Naza and his family, were proud to see a local boy coming from humble beginnings becoming a success at the international level.Naza didn't have a university education, but that didn't deter him from rising to become what he became. His is an examplery life-story to be imitated by other young Malaysians, especially the bumiputras.

25. Anonymous12:04 am

Al-Fatihah and condolence to the family.

26. for su-kj,I reprint my comment on nuraina samad's posting...
    Innalillahi.....
    Semoga Allah cucuri Rahmat keatas roh Allayarham Nasimuddin SM Amin.
    Although his business empire is well known, receiving lots of publicity,his strong concience and tremendous contribution to Islam had been kept in low -profile.This is inline with the true spirit of 'amal' and 'sedekah'.Among his great contibutions are in funding many 'madrasah hafiz', sponsoring young Muslims in memorising the HolY Quran.
    ..May ALLAH accept his amals and bestow him his rightful place in the hereafter...Amin!!
    Jadi su-kj ..bukan ke sebagai saudara Islam ,apabila ditanya dihadapan jenazah salepas solat jenazah.."Ada kah sifulan ini baik?" maka kita semua akan sahut.... "Baik!!"..walaupon kita tak kenal atau kita tau akan keburukkan yang dibuat oleh sifulan itu....
    KeRahiman ALLAH melebihi sangkaan mahkluk Nya.................. WALLAHUALAM...

27. ucapan takziah dari the legend
    untuk allahyarham sekeluarga..

semoga Tuhan akan merahmati rohnya dan membalasa segala kebajikan yang telah dibuat olehnya terhadap Malaysia..

28. Anonymous2:36 pm

Al Fatihah.

Moga Allah mencuri rahmat ke atas atasnya dan salam takziah untuk keluarga dan isteri-isteri Tan Sri.

29. Anonymous9:35 pm

The Spore Straits Times last Saturday carried 2 reports on the late Tan Sri Nasimuddin and his business dealings.

The contents of these reports are not exactly edifying.

Indeed, if what was reported is true, then, there is a lot of explaining to do on the part of the Naza group.

Will these issues be ventilated and made public in the interests of openness and transparency?