Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Today in NEP history

The day Musa Hitam hammered his nail on the NEP coffin. On March 19 last year, the former DPM, who advises Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the Iskandar Development Region, said in an interview with a foreign wire agency that Malaysia would not allow the NEP in the IDR.
"The Malays will have to face competition," he was quoted by Bloomberg.
[Pls also read Bernama's article March 23, 2007, Musa: Brief Umno why it has to give up the NEP].

It sent shivers down the Malays' spine, but the Malays in Umno did not hit the streets to vent their anger. Nor was Musa accused of trying to stoke racial sentiments.

It was a different case when Lim Guan Eng spoke of doing away with the NEP in Penang the other day.

Double standards or political reality?
I wrote a comment piece on this in Singapore's mypaper, the 300,000-copy bilingual free daily, published yesterday. Click HERE to read the whole article.

On Monday, the paper published my speculative piece on Abdullah's new Cabinet on is cover, above. I wrote that the PM will give up his Internal Security portfolio to concentrate on strengthening his position at August's Umno general assembly, reward MCA and MIC for their failures, and save KJ for later.

p/s Thanks, Serama Berkokok, for keeping tabs.

37 comments:

1. Anonymous12:33 pm

Radzi has resigned as Umno Sec, I expect Mak Pidah to follow suit.

2. Anonymous12:37 pm

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said all the new cabinet ministers and deputy ministers must declare their assets

We , rakyat of Malaysia , demand the new Prime Minister to declare his nad his family assets as well

3. Anonymous1:01 pm

nep is no excellence policy. it has destroyed so many vital things. the malay people have been robbed by their leaders, our universities have been turned into third rated education institutions, our civil service a laughing stock and and our unity at the tip of the every kris. i wonder why any malays with an ounce of intelligence would want to keep it. nep is none other than an instrument for shrewd politicians to keep power at the cost of every malaysian.

4. Anonymous1:03 pm

Just for the sake of arguement..

Malaysiakini and the so called blogs have labelled themselves as the 'alternative media' and writing for the cause of the opposition.

So now since BN is regarded as opposition is certain states, would you all be supporting their cause now? Or continue to be biased??

I wonder.

There is no sense of neutrality..you all are no better than the mainstream media.

5. Anonymous1:05 pm

Rocky

NEP is an UMNO construct. It is NOT law nor it is in the Constitution. NEP has the same status as Pak Lah's Islam Hadhari according to a Malay professor. NEP is called an "UMNO gimmick" . See article below.

The Special Rights of Malays and Muslims are already protected in the Constitution.

That is why only UMNO goes into the streets when NEP is attacked, as they cannot go to court to fight it out.

Learnt this from a Malay writer:

http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13305&Itemid=28

Read:
    Kebelakangan ini Umno dan media massa yang dimilikinya begitu riuh meratapi apa yang mereka dakwa sebagai pengkhianatan Dasar Ekonomi Baru (DEB).

Dan tak semena-mena para ahli dan penyokong Umno sedar bahawa tunjuk perasaan dan berhimpun secara aman perlu untuk mereka. Selama ini mereka mengutuk perhimpunan aman dan mendakwa ia akan menjadi punca keganasan.

Apakah DEB itu?

"Sebenarnya DEB itu bukan undang-undang; ia hanyalah dasar atau polisi Umno yang kemudiannya diserapkan ke dalam peraturan dan pekeliling kerajaan, termasuk dalam soal pembahagian tender kontrak dan sebagainya," jelas Profesor Dr. Abdul Aziz Bari ketika diminta mengulas.

Beliau menambah, setahu beliau tidak ada dokumen rasmi yang menjelaskan asal usul, perincian dan pencapaian dasar ini yang dikatakan dimulakan pada 1971.

Katanya lagi, sama dengan 'Islam Hadhari', dasar-dasar Umno ini tidak jelas dan kadang-kadang tenggelam dan timbul.

Oleh kerana DEB sekadar dasar dan gimik Umno maka tidak salah jika Kerajaan DAP di Pulau Pinang tidak melaksanakannya.

DEB hanyalah satu program di bawah Perkara 153 yang melindungi kedudukan istimewa Melayu.

Umno dan media menggambarkan seolah-olah DAP telah melanggar Perlembagan atau undang-undang.

Above article reposted on:

http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2008/03/dap-and-non-muslims-should-feel.html

6. Anonymous1:27 pm

We cd do wth some laffs.
    Go to tvsmith. PLSB. Hahaha

7. Anonymous1:45 pm

The NEP still benefit the non bumi as they control most of the dealership of products and services in Malaysia.

Si if the bumis get goverment contract, they still have to purchase it from the Non Bumi.

You can see the result with the bigger size of middle income Bumi and non-bumi compared to 30 years ago.

The only problem with NEP is the
    abuse of it by the people in power.
    Take the example of the city taxi permit and many others.

In a way it does benefit to the stabilisation of Malaysia but the implementation of NEP should be reviewed.

The rest, I leave it to you bloggers to continue.....

8. Anonymous1:52 pm

If Anwar didn't oppose the NEP in 1990, does it mean he has no moral authority to oppose it today? Don't you think people change for the better? And do you think the economic mentality of the 1990 can be compared the world's reality today? Remember, NEP misuse has increased recently so that every UMNO leader will make billions to buy delegates and MPs and that wasn't the case before. So you change it and don't say I or he has supported it in the past. That's an archaic mentality and grossly petty.

9. Anonymous2:04 pm

Bro Rocky.... isu NEP ni memang gimik dan retorik UMNO-BN semata-mata. Kononnya nak jaga Melayu tapi dieorg saja yg kaya.. Org Cina pon kena tipu jugak.. yg kaya pon kroni ja, Nasib kaum India pon sama, yang kaya kroni saja. Lepas ni UMNO-BN akan bangkitkan isu perkauman.. yg rata-rata diketuai oleh Mamak (yg mengaku Melayu). Mereka inilah dalangnya.. (you are right RPK!). Tak payah lagi nak mintak UMNO atau BN konon2 nak jadi lebih baik.. baik dieorg melingkup lagi bagus.. selagi ada kuasa kat UMNO-BN selagi tu kebajikan rakyat dalam risiko... UMNO, dulu ..kini.. TIDAK selamanya!!

10. Anonymous2:10 pm

Not thousands, the most 1500 and the least 500, sponsored by the Nasi Kandar gang.

11. Anonymous2:22 pm

Bro, This new cabinet is yet another pak lah dream unfolds. It's a matter minutes, another wake up call shall come. This time he falls from his bed.

This NEP thing, is full of shit. 38bloody years this shit has been in existence and fails marvellously.

12. Anonymous2:27 pm

Thanks for the link Pendekar Rocky.

PKR, Pas, Khalid Ibrahim, Musa, and others have all called for the NEP to be abolished. It is for malays too to call for it to be abolished, for after all it was meant as goodies for them and to keep them beholden to BN. The 'poverty eradication' part that most gloat about is an eye wash lah, something to justify and sell to the non malays. We know that as after 40 years we still have 8% poverty, when it just requires a little spending, less than a state govt budget, to wipe it out in a year! But BN would rather spend on yacht races and crystal mosques.

Any discriminatory policy will lead to marginalisation of some communities, breed corruption and inefficiency. In that we achieved these goals outstandingly, plus, a large malay middle class based on a large malay bureaucracy, all of which is waiting to be hit by the crunch of the oil resource curse.

The NEP is what is keeping the malays down, localised, immobile and mediocre. Either we bring it down quickly, or free world trade will smash it for us. Or the country; which will then go down in a tailspin like the ex-soviet union!

13. Anonymous2:28 pm

I'm a teacher. I had a few head teachers. One Malay pengetua called the students 'lembu'. Nothing happened. Later another pengetua called the students 'lembu' and it created havoc among the teachers, PIBG and the wakil rakyat. He was transfered. Double standard? Yes.

14. Anonymous2:52 pm

FOR GOODNESS SAKE ROCKY!

DON'T CONTRIBUTE TO THE RACIAL SLANT OF THE CURRENT CONTROVERSY RE THE CALL FOR THE ABOLITION OF THE NEP BY OPPOSITION LEADERS! IT IS SO SO SMALL MINDED!

AND READ CAREFULLY! MUSA WAS TALKING ABOUT THE AWARDS OF CONTRACTS TO DEVELOPERS WHICH I AGREE SHOULD BE ON MERIT. HE DID NOT SAY THAT THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD STOP PROVIDING AID TO THE UNDERPRIVILEGED MALAYS IN THE RURAL AREAS!

WHATEVER YOU WANT TO CALL THE NEW MALAYSIAN ECONOMIC DREAM IT MUST BE DISTRIBUTED FAIRLY TO ALL DESERVING DEPRIVED MALAYSIANS.

THE CRITERIA MUST BE WELL DEFINED, THE PROCESSES AND PROCEDURES IMPECCABLY STRUCTURED TO PREVENT ABUSE.

I WOULD JUST IT CALL BY THE NEUTRAL TERM "AFFIRMATIVE ACTION".

NO NEED FOR SOME GRANDOISE NAME OR TITLE WHICH CAMOUFLAGE HIDDEN AGENDAS!

ITS SPIRIT MUST BE OPEN - GENEROUS AND GRANDOISE!

15. Anonymous3:20 pm

Pada pandangan saya,DEB sebenarnya telah dengan ecara sendiri melemahkan semangat org Melayu.Dengan ini daya saingan kita lemah dan tidak ada konfiden untuk berdiri sendiri.Sememangnya DEB harus diperbaiki.Kini sudah era 2008 dan bukan lagi 60an atau 70an.

Yang memerlukan tidak kira bangsa harus dibantu.Saya tahu ada yang merungut Malaysia adalah tanah Melayu…kenapa hendak banting tulang?hendak bersaing?

Jawapannya ialah kurangnya daya saing dan kurangnya semangat untuk berdikari.tanah milik melayu tetapi Bumi dijadikan Tuhan untuk semua manusia.Manusia dijadikan untuk menggunakan tangan dan kaki untuk bekerja dan bukannya menerima rasuah atan bergoyang kaki di rumah.

Tidak ada gunanya hanya mampu pada nama tetapi tidak mampu pada kebolehan.Tidak ada nilai dan beratnya kalau hanya bersandarkan pemikiran yang lama.Dan akan selamanya kita akan berada sperti katak dibawah tempurung.

It's time to move on and show who is the best among all.
    Time is not waiting for us.

16. Anonymous3:23 pm

Salaam, Pak Rocky

I had commented on your commentary in the Spore My Paper in your posting "When NST french-kiss New Media".

Questions:

(1) Why are Malaysian Malays so enamoured of the NEP/DEB/NDP?

(2) Why is it that Malaysian Malays who migrate to other countries are willing to compete with other races in said countries?

A sensitive question:

(3) Do Malaysian Malays have an enduring "inferiority complex" or "chip on the shoulder complex"?

(4) What is so terrifying about "level playing fields" and "competition"?

Or, as Kishore Mahbubani puts it: what's so wrong with the "M-P-H" approach to politics and governance?

17. it's political reality only in bolehland.

another example, an UMNO man had lodged police report over what lim guan eng said about... atually he never use the word abolish... the NEP, saying it is racist and seditous.

what about UMNO's protest on the street in penang on 14 march, what will all the 'hidup melayu' and bashing LGE chanting/banners - wasn't that more racist and seditious?

but this is the political reality in bolehland. it can only happen in bolehland (with UMNOputer around).

18. Anonymous3:34 pm

Musa Hitam is a political chameleon. He changes according to the political landscape.

When he said that the NEP was not applicable in the IDR, it was for the benefit of the foreigners who were going to invest there, esp from Singapore. It is well-known that the IDP will not succeed without the Singaporeans' involvement.

Hence the reason the Abdullah admin has bent backwards to accommodate the Singaporeans.

Look at how the Pantai sale was rushed through without proper due diligence.Till today, foreigners are owning govt concessions which are meant for Malaysians only.

Dont ask the PM about all this - he still remains ignorant. All these are orchestrated by ..guess who!

19. NEP is dead in late 90’s
    It is replaced by NDP
    Yong Teck Lee said
    He was part of the committee
    Drafting the NDP

Maybe many politicians and people forget
    Harping on a policy long buried in pile of documents
    UMNO Penang demonstrated for its own selfish ends
    For a policy long buried in Dr M tenure

NDP is the current policy
    Set forth during the Dr M premiership
    No noise with UMNO Malays
    The gravy train still packs the goods

I was too
    Thinking it was NEP
    Time had changed
    Policy shifted chair
    I was caught dreaming
    Harping on the obsolete policy

It is now National Development Policy
    Pushing forward for UMNO only(?)
    For intends and purposes benefit Malaysians
    Yet the gravy train never benefits the people
    Some cowboys rob it along the railway tracks

It is race my friend
    Something rooted for them
    No other races can say badly about it
    It is their leaders no others can

It is time race base policies
    Be buried for the common good
    It is already over 50 years by BN
    Yet BN still harping on it
    Will BN ever grow up?
    This is the borderless world!

20. Anonymous3:50 pm

Read your opinion piece on the NEP. Thank you for sharing it. A balanced and realistic analysis.

21. Anonymous4:17 pm

Just a slight correction- NEP from 1970-1990 was replaced by NDP from 1991-2000, which later was replaced yet again by NVP from year 2001 onwards.

http://www.icassecretariat.org/index.php?q=node/386

So NEP is no more, technically! ;p

22. Anonymous6:48 pm

KL, cheapest city to live in.

http://www.ubs.com/1/e/media_overview/media_emea/mediareleases?newsId=137639

Should we be glad or sad? .. . .

23. Rocky!

R U RACIST?

Pls note that it is a question.And to my mind a legitimate question.

If you are not, how come you can conclude that Tun Musa got away with calling for the dismantling of the NEP, and Guen Eng didnt, simply on the basis that the former is a Malay while the latter is not?

After all, there other lest racist explanations for the different reactions by the Malay community( some say led by Umno Penang)to Tun Musa's call to end the NEP, such as:

1)Unlike Guen Engs anti NEP rhetoric, THE MALAYS BY AND LARGE, DIDNT KNOW ABOUT TUN MUSA's STATEMENT.

It was on Bloomberg,it was in english and it was hardly mention in the Malay press( the main sources of information for a large majority of Malays).In other words, unlike Guen Engs statement, the vast majority of Malays hardly knew about it.The wouldnt be rising up in arms on something they didnt even know existed, would they?

2)The Umno Malays have no balls to OPENLY criticize,or even disagree, whith Tun Musa, simply because he is seen as being close to the PM.Now, Guen eng dosent enjoy such protection.Note it doesnt have anything to do with race- it is simply whether you are seen to be close to Badawi or not.After all, though Patrik Badawi is a non Malay,but due to the fact that he is close to the PM, have you heard any Malay, especially those within the UMNO power structure openly critisize him? Tapi, Tun Mahathir, walaupun Melayu kena tibai gila babi kan?

3)The mainly Chinese DAP has been calling and criticizing the NEP, both formally and informally for decades, and THERE WAS NO STREET PROTEST by the Malays.At least not in recent memory. BUT IF WE GO BY YOUR LOGIC,ie, that Guen Eng got so much flak for his anti NEP statement simply beacuse he is a Non Malay, then we would have seen countless Malay demonstrations against the DAP.

To recap, there are many other commonsensicle reasons on why Tun Musa got away for making anti NEP statements while Guen Eng didnt THAT DOESNT HAVE TO DO WITH RACE.

1)the malays didnt know about it

2)Tun Musa is close to PM and hence in many ways protected while Guen Eng isnt.

3)At a time, when a significant amount of Malays have turn their backs on UMNO,UMNO exploited the issue simply because they want to prop up Pak Lah's nationalistic credidentials in the hope they would reagin back their traditional Malay support.

SO ROCKY, AGAIN I ASK:

R U A RACIST?BECAUSE, CONCLUDING TUN MUSA GOT AWAY WITH A STATEMENT THAT GUEN ENG DIDNT SIMPLY BECAUSE THE LATTER IS NOT MALAY, IS MAKING A RACIST STATEMENT.

PS - AND BTW, A RACIST IS SOMEONE WHO HAS A NEGATIVE VIEW ON OTHERS SIMPLY BECAUSE OF THEIR RACE.If u have a negetive view on others, including your own race, simply because of their racial origins, then whether u realize it or not, ur a racist.

24. Hi,
    I wish to make a statement that:
    "Some arrogant civil servants have
    a big role in the BN's loss in 2008GE,in the Peninsula Malaysia."
    Many experts sat in the comfort of the air-con rooms,reading the other's political comments,Tv news,
    blogger's blogs and etc and started issuing their views.I should say such experts are like the famous chinese cliche'frogs at the bottom of well'.
    Many experts chose to ignore the ordinary people's sentiment just because those are the low-incomed,uneducated,have no ability to speak up.
    If any experts wish to get their facts right,go direct to them,they
    are always available, in the markets,motorcycle lanes,housewives
    ,handicaps,retirees,plantation and factory workers and etc.
    Ask these group of people,the people who don't even read news papers,owned any computers,why they choose to vote the parties,other then BN.You will get
    honest and heart-to heart answers from them.
    If my comment above deemed sentitive,please ignore it.
    Please bare in mind that only a small percentage of the voters owned computers and Bloggers please
    do not make claims that they had
    the biggest role in the votes changed.
    If the livelihood of those silent majority is still not addressed, dear bloggers,let see what happen in the 2012GE

25. How to solve the economic problem? We may or may not have some money in our pocket right now. Doing anything in today's world will be extremely difficult if not impossible, without money. We may not need too much money to be happy, but we definitely do need some to live a nice life.

26. Anonymous12:07 am

anonymous (101pm) has been polite in saying that the nep has turned our universities into third rated education institutions. as far as i am concerned they have been turned into third rated kindergartens. you should hear how most of our graduates fumble everytime they speak english. nobody would believe they had been to universities. before nep our universities were among the top 100 in the world. now they are not in the first two hundreds. you can pass with flying colours in local universities but the truth is you are still a pariah when it comes to international education.

27. Anonymous7:47 am

Double standard huh? Equality huh?

This goes beyond the NEP.

Can someone tell me why do people bother to call themselves Malaysians when they refuse to speak Malay in their daily lives?

This is the common phrase you'll get in Malaysian offices.. I dunno how to speak Malay. Or my malay is not so good. Guys, you all are not nationalists laa.. how to call yourselves malaysians like this?

Do you think the English ppl would want to accept you as English because you all speak and wish that English is your maternal language?

Why bother wanting to call yourselves Malaysians when you reject sekolah kebangsaan and insist upon having sekolah cina and tamil?

I know, i know.. that's like asking for your rights, right?

So let the Malays ask for their rights also lah..

But when Malays are only speaking about what they already own, and only wanting to retain what belongs to them.. that's called unfair/racist/tak adil pulak.

So can someone tell me who's double standard? What equality are you talking about?

I'm not surprised why the Malays are fearful of giving away the NEP cos they have all the reasons to be suspicious of the others.

Hey once bitten twice shy guys!

By the way, on the NEP .. you all think the Malays got money to bid for big projects? The common ppl are talking bout rights for education and all.. for their children. And as far as I am concern, they've never discriminated the non malays.

And it's true also that the NEP benefit the non malays.. cos the contracts after all go to them. malays are like proxies only.

and all the corruptions, undertable money.. you all think only the malays in UMNO do it? Hey common guys, who would have the money to pass under the table - the taker and the giver should be responsible, give or take bribes both are haram.

But at the end.. UMNO and the Malays have to take the blame. The rest are the same - no one highlights this bcos.. why? Double standard. I can do, you cannot do!

28. Anonymous8:32 am

CAN WE GET REAL AND REALISTIC ABOUT HELPING UNDERPRIVILEGED MALAYS ESPECIALLY THOSE IN THE RURAL AREAS?

I DISLIKE THE TERM "SPECIAL MALAY/BUMIPUTERA RIGHTS" BECAUSE IT HAS MADE THE MALAYS ARROGANT AND PRESUMPTIOUS. I WILL CALL IT AFFIRMATIVE ACTION.

REALISTICALLY - WITHOUT THE GOVERNMENT PROPS UNDER THE NEP, NVP ETC MOST OF THE MALAYS WILL NOT BE WHERE THEY ARE TODAY - EDUCATIONALLY, ECONOMICALLY AND SOCIALLY EMPOWERED...IF NOT SUCCESSFUL!

THAT THEY ARE HISTORICALLY DISADVANTAGED MUST BE ACCEPTED AS A GIVEN. PRE AND POST INDEPENDENCE SAW THE MAJORITY CLUSTERED IN THE RURAL AREAS WITH LITTLE ACCESS TO THE ECONOMIC ACTIVITIES IN THE URBAN CENTRES. POST MERDEKA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENTS HAS BENEFITTED THEM TO SOME EXTENT.

BUT MANY REMAIN IN THE BACKWATERS AS THOUGH LIFE HAS NOT CHANGED - EXCEPT NOW THEY HAVE A TV AND A KANCIL.AND ONE OR MORE OF THEIR CHILDREN ARE IN AN URBAN COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY.

THEIR LIVELIHOOD IS AS DEPRIVED AS BEFORE. IF BEFORE THE RAINS HAMPERED THEIR PADI HARVEST AND RUBBER COLLECTION NOW RISING COSTS RAINS DOWN ON THEM. AND THE LACK OF ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITIES IN THEIR KAMPUNG LOCKS THEM IN THEIR POVERTY.

THE VICIOUS CIRCLE/CYCLE OF POVERTY THEORY POPULAR IN THE 60S IS STILL RELEVANT TODAY.

IT IS ALSO A GIVEN THAT THE URBAN SCENARIO IS QUITE DIFFERENT - ECONOMICALLY, EDUCATIONALLY AND SOCIALLY VIBRANT, EQUITABLE,OPEN ETC.

IS THIS SO HARD TO SEE? IS THIS SO DIFFICULT TO ACCEPT?

LIKE THEIR UNDERPRIVILEGED CHINESE AND INDIAN AND SARAWAK AND SABAH COMPATRIOTS THEY STILL NEED GOVERNMENT AID AND PROPS TO SURVIVE IN THIS UNEQUAL WORLD.

TO ME EQUALITY, EQUITY AND JUSTICE REMAIN IDEALS I ASPIRE TO! THEY ARE NOT REAL!

I CHALLENGE OTHER COMMENTERS TO GIVE A REASONED/RATIONAL ARGUMENT FOR OR AGAINST THIS POSTING! NO RISING EMOTIONS PLEASE!

29. Anonymous11:05 am

The statistics tell all. A large section of Malays are still poor in spite of more than 30 years of NEP. Only Malays who have the opportunities to abuse their power and remain corrupt by virtue of their positions and connections in UMNO have benefitted from the NEP. They will fight for the NEP with their lives on the pretext of guarding the interest of their race. They don't have to toil to make a living yet are able to own palatial homes and luxurious cars.

As it is, NEP is a bane to the country in general and the Malay race in particular.

30. Anonymous12:24 pm

Guys,
    These comments were from Umno leaders on June 22, 2002 - aday after Mahathir said the crutches must go. And see what they say now:

Leaders laud move to do away with privileges

UMNO leaders and grassroots members feel that the Malay community is now in a stronger position to progress without depending on special privileges. The Malays would not lose out as it would make the community more innovative and independent in facing the ever-changing global environment, they said, in response to the presidential address in which Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad said the government might consider doing away with more privileges in other than education.

Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Najib Razak: ''The ''protection'' could be reviewed so that the Malays would not depend on quotas.

''When you are over-dependent, you will not be resilient. It will not be a real world if there is no competition. It will not be healthy for the community.''

Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib: ''There should be a new level-playing field as the country had been independent for more than 40 years.

''We are now in the globalisation era which requires us to compete with each other.''

Wanita Umno chief Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz : ''We hope to create a culture where Malays can develop on their own without any aid.

''Some Malays got what they have through their own capability without privileges. It's the sort of culture and mindset that we have to look at.''

Puteri Umno chief Azalina Othman Said : ''Dr Mahathir is implementing a formula to change the mindset of the bumiputras.

''We are seeing a doctor at work here. As in the medical profession, it is a normal thing to cut 'here and there' and patients are given bitter pills to swallow to make them better.''

Umno supreme council member and Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohd Tajol Rosli Ghazali: ''It is the right time to implement such measures as the Malays have become a stronger community.

''If the President wants to think about popularity he will not mention it now but will bring it up after the general election.''

Supreme Council member Datuk Jamaluddin Jarjis: ''The rights and privileges of the Malays remained in the Federal Constitution and Umno is experimenting if the Malays could manage without such benefits.

''However, there must be consensus among the Malays to experiment if they could survive without the rights.''

Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim: ''Sometimes, you need a jolt to make you face reality. Dr Mahathir's statement has caused every Malay to sit up and think seriously.

''Everyone knows that it is not very far away and the Malays will have to come to terms that they have to be competitive in order to survive and excel.''

Former Umno information chief Tan Sri Yusuf Noor: ''The move to introduce meritocracy and quota was a frank approach by the Prime Minister considering the development of Malays in education.

''It is time the Malays look into new approaches in business and education without expecting any help from the Government and prove to society that they are as good as other races.''

Umno veteran Ibrahim Ahmed, 73: ''It's up to the Malays; if they want to change they should take up the challenge of the Prime Minister who wants the Malays to move forward.''

''They are a capable community which can compete under any circumstances.''

Perak Wanita Umno delegate Datuk Khamsiyah Yeop : ''The Malays should take up the challenge to prove they are a capable community which can compete under any circumstances.''

31. What the fuck is grandoise? Is it something like GRANDIOSE?

Here's the message: Non-Malays, SHUT THE FUCK UP about NEP. You know how crazy we Malays can get if we even suspect that the Chinese are going for a CEP or some shit and take away ALL the money and control like, 85% of the economy and shit. Oops.

Anyway, there are voices against the NEP amongst Malays anyway. Leave it to the Malays to do away with NEP. Otherwise... (the horror is in the elipses)

32. Anonymous3:36 am

LMAO Amir.

How stereotypical :)

33. Anonymous11:42 am

...that Wong guy from the STAR is Dato, I believe he's 'polishing' to get another title!! And that VK Chin, also from the STAR, is currently ball-licking real hard to get his Dato-ship!! All AR*EHOL*S!!!!

34. Anonymous11:47 am

and i can guarantee you if the nep is around even a hundred years from now, malays would still be yelling "we are still behind the others". meanwhile, the nation stalls in progress with all its available money stashed in swiss banks. we will be lucky if we dont have to go some other countries to work and get abused.

35. Anonymous12:20 pm

Hey Amir why don't you shut the fuck up, your brains are always in your arse when you open your freaking mouth!.Always. Talk with sense , stupid moron. Aren't you a racist idiot.

36. Anonymous9:51 am

THANK YOU ENCIK AMIR FOR DOING THE ENGLISH/FRENCH SPELLING CHECK ON GRANDIOSE.

WHILE YOU ARE AT IT WHY DON'T YOU TACKLE ENGLISH GRAMMAR AS WELL!

AND MALAY SPELLING AND GRAMMAR TOO PLEASE!

37. Ha-haa! You got busted! Neener neener neener!

And I don't need people to tell me I'm right. I KNOW I'm right.