Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Politics and Thaipusam

Selamat menyambut Thaipusam. But "don't be hookwinked by the Opposition", says Samy Vellu, the MIC president and the government-appointed caretaker of all things Indian-Hindus in Malaysia, today. Support BN. Thank you for the public holiday, Pak Lah. Don't stoop so low, Opposition. Election gimmick? Indians are not so stupid.
Rest of story here.

Samy's Thaipusam message to the Indian community, in a nutshell: Vote the Barisan Nasional.

In Malaysia, politics may be holier than religion.

24 comments:

1. Anonymous5:22 pm

"Some 1,000 policemen from the Federal Reserve Unit, General Operations Force and traffic were deployed to maintain rule and order"

Hope they dont turn up with their tear gas and water rockets ..this ol senile man needs help! Speaks about religous people and politics in the same lines...they manure from the plantation on his heads is messing with him man!!

2. Anonymous5:30 pm

M'sian Indians boycott Thaipusam festival

Wed, Jan 23, 2008
    AFP

KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIAN Indians stayed away in droves from a popular Hindu festival on Wednesday, in a boycott linked to allegations of discrimination by the nation's majority Muslim Malays.

The colourful Thaipusam festival, during which devotees pierce their bodies with hooks and skewers, usually attracts more than a million people to Kuala Lumpur's Batu Caves temple, set in a spectacular limestone cavern.

But this year activists called on Hindus to celebrate elsewhere, accusing temple managers of assisting police who cracked down hard on a demonstration there last November, using tear gas and water cannons.

The crowds were thin on Wednesday, numbering only in their tens of thousands, thanks to the boycott call and the prospect of more trouble.

SMS spread
    A series of SMS text messages had called on ethnic Indians who did turn up to use their sandals to pelt political leaders including Samy Vellu, the leader of the Malaysian Indian Congress which is a member of the ruling coalition.

The veteran politician, who has sided with the government and been accused of neglecting the interests of his constituents, insisted there were at least half a million people at the complex and a million the day before.

'I have come to Thaipusam since I was 11 years old. I know the crowd. It is the same as before,' he told reporters at Batu Caves.

'I don't think religious people who went to pray to Lord Murugan will listen to all the naughty fellows,' he said of the SMS campaign.

'Who can threaten us? Anyone who threatens us we can find out where he is.'

'It takes only five hours to find out where he is. They can't run away from us.'

Stallholders and devotees lamented the small turnout and said ethnic Indians should work together to promote their cause.

'The crowd is normally double or triple this size. Now it's so small, so there is not so much of a great mood this time,' said N. Kumaran, 41, a civil servant who has taken part in the festival for the past 14 years.

Sweet seller Joga Singh said that with the crowds so thin he and other vendors were not making any money this year.

'I think many people are afraid to come because of the SMS to boycott. Our business is suffering because of it,' he told reporters.

At least 3,000 ethnic Indians gathered in the temple grounds to protest in November, and more than 8,000 people massed elsewhere the following day in unprecedented scenes that shocked the government.

In December it jailed five ethnic Indian activists under draconian internal security legislation that allows for detention without trial.

Malays, who make up 60 per cent of the country's 27 million population, control the government while ethnic Chinese, who make up 26 per cent of the population, dominate business.

Ethnic Indians, who make up 8.0 per cent of the population, complain they run a distant third in terms of wealth, opportunities and education. -- AFP

{Hi i just had to add this report from asiaone without permission of course ;-)}

3. A very rare Thaipusam, i think. Traffic jams not as heavy as usual.

- Malaysiakita, Tmn Melewar, 68100 Batu Caves

4. Anonymous10:38 pm

Samy Value, do you think everybody is stupid?

Because of an extra holiday, will the Rakyat sell their souls to BN for another 4 years?

Will the extra holiday inprove our income, improve standard of living, reduce cost of living, reduce corruption, eliminate cronism and etc etc etc...

5. Anonymous10:46 pm

went to Borders at QSB Mall just now. got one book about Samy Vello.

dont quite remember whats the title. but if u bother to check, then go to 'nation interest' near to Starbuck.

good pics though! young samy looked soo promising and much more handsome. lol

but, i think those 5+1 did much more for the Indians, rather than 30 years of Samy inside govement.

samy got 30 years plus inside, but only recently malaysia give indians another cuti maaa....

6. "As of noon Wednesday, not less than 500,000 people, both locals and foreigners, flocked to the temple to fulfil their vows, MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu said."

"The Works Minister expects the crowd to swell to about 1.1 million by this evening."

Please note that Bernama has absolved itself from the numbers quoted as they are all very wisely attributed to the idiot speaking. No one can accuse the professionals at Bernama for boosting up numbers that cannot exist.

Of course you can accuse Bernama of propaganda as, if, it was news they were reporting then they would have to state what they saw and what they estimated. But when the entire reporting is of what the government Minister says, that is propaganda!.

7. Anonymous11:17 pm

500,000 turned up?

Read what the foreign press reports - huge boycott of Thaipusam, only "tens of thousands show up". Who's telling the truth?

M'sian Indians boycott Thaipusam festival

Activists called on Hindus to celebrate elsewhere, accusing temple managers of assisting police who cracked down hard on a demonstration there last November. -- PHOTO: AP

KUALA LUMPUR - MALAYSIAN Indians stayed away in droves from a popular Hindu festival on Wednesday, in a boycott linked to allegations of discrimination by the nation's majority Muslim Malays.

The colourful Thaipusam festival, during which devotees pierce their bodies with hooks and skewers, usually attracts more than a million people to Kuala Lumpur's Batu Caves temple, set in a spectacular limestone cavern.

But this year activists called on Hindus to celebrate elsewhere, accusing temple managers of assisting police who cracked down hard on a demonstration there last November, using tear gas and water cannons.

The crowds were thin on Wednesday, numbering only in their tens of thousands, thanks to the boycott call and the prospect of more trouble.

SMS spread

A series of SMS text messages had called on ethnic Indians who did turn up to use their sandals to pelt political leaders including Samy Vellu, the leader of the Malaysian Indian Congress which is a member of the ruling coalition.

The veteran politician, who has sided with the government and been accused of neglecting the interests of his constituents, insisted there were at least half a million people at the complex and a million the day before.

'I have come to Thaipusam since I was 11 years old. I know the crowd. It is the same as before,' he told reporters at Batu Caves.

'I don't think religious people who went to pray to Lord Murugan will listen to all the naughty fellows,' he said of the SMS campaign.

'Who can threaten us? Anyone who threatens us we can find out where he is.'

'It takes only five hours to find out where he is. They can't run away from us.'

Stallholders and devotees lamented the small turnout and said ethnic Indians should work together to promote their cause.

'The crowd is normally double or triple this size. Now it's so small, so there is not so much of a great mood this time,' said N. Kumaran, 41, a civil servant who has taken part in the festival for the past 14 years.

Sweet seller Joga Singh said that with the crowds so thin he and other vendors were not making any money this year.

'I think many people are afraid to come because of the SMS to boycott. Our business is suffering because of it,' he told reporters.

At least 3,000 ethnic Indians gathered in the temple grounds to protest in November, and more than 8,000 people massed elsewhere the following day in unprecedented scenes that shocked the government.

In December it jailed five ethnic Indian activists under draconian internal security legislation that allows for detention without trial.

Malays, who make up 60 per cent of the country's 27 million population, control the government while ethnic Chinese, who make up 26 per cent of the population, dominate business.

Ethnic Indians, who make up 8.0 per cent of the population, complain they run a distant third in terms of wealth, opportunities and education. -- AFP

8. Anonymous11:23 pm

Good for our Indian brothers. It was good that Indians stayed away from Batu Cave.

It would be better if the Indian brothers an dsisters come out in full force to get rid of Bodowi and his son-in-law. Of course, to get rid of Samy Vellu too.

Let all be untied to save this country from the abused by Khairy, Patrick Badawi, Kalimullah and Kamaludin.

Vote opposition come this general elections.

9. Anonymous12:32 am

To Anonymous: What more do you want from Malaysia?. Be it on your head if you do not want to go to Batu Caves. This time please do not blame the Muslims/Malays and the Chinese. Perhaps you lot want to revive the Hindu/Indian kingdoms in the Malay Peninsula? As you only make up 8% your return to India land will not be missed. Go and leave this country in peace.

10. Anonymous7:25 am

So who says Malaysia is a secular country? Even Thaipusam is a mandated public holiday. This is what Islam Hadhari is all about. Take to the street and you get your religious holiday. Hindraf is Hindu and it wants a secular Malaysia. Yet it asked for freedom for Hindus. In another word Hindraf is asking for constitutional protection. So how can Malaysia be a secular country. It is an Islam Hadhari country.

Islam Hadhari Supporter

11. Anonymous9:46 am

Kick Da Lingam,

Malaysia is my country to u know. Fight argue condem all u want but i have as much right in malaysia just as u.

My grandfather lost his life fighting for the country against the comunist. My parents are public servants who have educated many bumi kids.

My siblings and I are doctors that may have treated either you or your family. So we have contributed to the well being of this nation.....

How dare u say I have no right in this country???/

Dr. Sukhvinder Kaur Sidhu (MBBS) Manipal, India

12. Anonymous9:54 am

Dear Rocky Bro -

Mr 'Kick da lingam' has made himself very clear... in his very statement itself it clearly shows how much discrimination the non-bumi's are facing in this country.

The moment there is a little problem or little bird makes its presence the first response we all hear is go back to whereever you're from!!!!!

when are you people going to think rationally? You know - there are ways for us to be sarcastic as well but PLEASEEEEEEE.... We are figting for a reasonable cause (while you are being fed & pampered by the government) Mr kick da lingam, how about once in a while you try to kick your own ass and see wheather it hurts! when are you people going to grow up and see the real picture?? correction... when are people you going to get civilize?

13. Anonymous10:13 am

The SMS works in bringing the Indian to other temples but Samy insist that the crowd is the same as previous years. Well, Samy, just be truthful that the crowds dwindled this year due to the shameful acts of the Batu Caves management in working hand in hand with the police. They got sprayed with cannon water and tear gas. Will the Indians ever forget about this!

14. Anonymous11:32 am

Funny ..for such a small volume they can never make up their mind among themselves alone on even a common thing such as their own religion..

Its their blood trait anyway.
    Blaming others as usual. Is it their only best way for survival? Not funny at all.

The giant statue worth something for the so called poor & marginalised to feed their mouth... why waste to build it if you are not going to pray for it. Another funny story.

The towkey are smilling big for a free coconut spree from the holy donation of the so called poor & marginalised people.
    Really funny. hehehe

Funniest..the nation seem to be very addicted to watch the Lingam soap opera series.."look like me, sound like me, but not me.." - hahaha..!

-kari kapla ikan-

15. Anonymous1:05 pm

Agence France-Presse - 1/23/2008 7:08 AM
    Malaysian Indians boycott Hindu festival
    Malaysian Indians stayed away in droves from a popular Hindu festival Wednesday, in a boycott linked to allegations of discrimination by the nation's majority Muslim Malays.

The crowds were thin Wednesday, numbering only in their tens of thousands, thanks to the boycott call and the prospect of more trouble.

"I have come to Thaipusam since I was 11 years old. I know the crowd. It is the same as before," he told reporters at Batu Caves.

"I don't think religious people who went to pray to Lord Murugan will listen to all the naughty fellows," he said of the SMS campaign.

"Who can threaten us? Anyone who threatens us we can find out where he is. It takes only five hours to find out where he is. They can't run away from us."

"The crowd is normally double or triple this size. Now it's so small, so there is not so much of a great mood this time," said N. Kumaran, 41, a civil servant who has taken part in the festival for the past 14 years.

"I think many people are afraid to come because of the SMS to boycott. Our business is suffering because of it," he told AFP.

Malays, who make up 60 percent of the country's 27 million population, control the government while ethnic Chinese, who make up 26 percent of the population, dominate business.

Ethnic Indians, who make up 8.0 percent of the population, complain they run a distant third in terms of wealth, opportunities and education.

WAKLULAH

16. Anonymous2:15 pm

So if the Chinese wants a holiday for Chap Goh Mei, Full Moon Festival, they have to take it to the street ? And the Christians , their Good Friday? And the Sikh their Vasakhi ? Only then will the PM listen.

17. Anonymous3:18 pm

Here goes the Grand Sami title for Samy Velu.

Boycott Thaipusam coz Hindus were angry with their Bt. Caves temple management? Any Hindus bother to ask Lord Murugan consent first before boycotting his festival? Wow..a bunch of lawyers can climb to a place to act devine..
    Maybe they can start to built Lord Uthaya and Lord Warya temples elsewhere to pray in replacement of Bt. Caves.

Hahaha...

Start boycotting others temples too . And that what I called politic in Malaysian Hindus. 500,000 or 1.1 million..who cares, they are the one who suffer the lost among themselves.

Cannot understand lah these people & some more they expect us to understand them after calling all the Malays & Muslim extremist & terrorist.

Hihihi...

Lucky I can still enjoy Briyani Kambing Bukahara in an Indian Muslim restaurant on the Thaipusam Day. Thought they are Indian, they do not need to roll over or pierce the tandori stick into their body to get the money coming for them..

Please get the heading correct first as:
    "Malaysian HINDUS boycott Thaipusam.."
    NOT
    "Malaysian INDIAN boycott Thaipusam...."
    before start generalizing others too!

-kapla ikan buat kari-

18. Anonymous9:21 am

-kapla ikan buat kari-
    You idiot !! You sound like one and pls grow up, if you're not. Has Thaipusam got to do with you Malays you idiot!! It's about us against Samy V and his cronies in BN , is it that hard to understand a simple logic why we Indians wanted to boycott Thaipusam in Batu Caves this year?? Why is it you moron fanatic think you can keep slaming the Indians/Hindu as and when you feel. Every Bloody thing is linked to Hindraf and Hindus fighting against you morons(Malays) . No wonder you guys are laughing stock all over the country . Barack Obama might not even win the US election most likely due to his middle name being Hussein ??? Why?? Simply because he is linked to Muslim Extremist by the Americans. So it does not take a rocket scientist to figure why the world hates you muslim extremist. As much I had sounding like a racist but the rate you guys are going shooting your mouth off about Indians/Hindu for every bloody thing is becoming a ritual nowadays and makes me dislike you idiots. Oh btw, stop being a childish and always uttering ridiculous statement like ' go back to where you belong'. It's getting old and damn well you are wrong, this is my bloody country !!! Not you or any fools has the right to say so. SO get your facts right.

19. Anonymous10:37 am

The Star had enough shame to attribute the "business as usual" quote to Samy Vellu but not The New Crooked Times...it lived up to its reputation of purveying lies and more lies when it "reported" that 1 million Hindus had attended Batu Caves. If the PM and MIC still haven't got the message that they should get rid of Samy Vellu and his cronies, they will at the GE.

20. Anonymous12:49 pm

anon 9:21

After all this while now somebody telling me its between them and Samy?? Everybody already took it personally as the consequences of their words & now you try to tell the other way round..

Come on lah.. don't let me said it to confirm that you talk like ular or k***ng suka pusing lidah berbelit.. coz you already sound like it anyway... its probably the way you are & cannot be changed at all.

A pariah mind always a pariah mind..whatever words they try to put coz their action speaks for themselves..

Convey my a**s regards to your Tamil Nelam brothers. Go get samsu & toddy and bang your head with the rhythm of kavadi..

I'm not going to chase you out from this country..coz I love watching you people cast all those funny stuff in action & sometimes bite your own tongue.. woohooo...

Idiot.

- lets eat kari kapla ikan with whisky added-

21. Anonymous3:31 pm

Kari kepala Ikan- Honestly you really astound me! Gosh do you really sound as smart as you speak. One of those kampung fools that thinks he deserve everything the goverment keeps handing out to you people. You poor souls , do you really work for a living? No need la, after all you people are just one of those who love to create kiosk by creating racial disharmony and making fun of other races. Jeez you sound jack a$$. Do grow up please . Let's cut the story short - what do have against the Indians? Really?? I'm so curious? Is it because the world have seen your ugly side the way the non -muslims are treated in Malaysia ?? Then again nothing is new in Malaysia . A country where only you Muslim believe is your birth right, fanatical thinking and your special f*&^%$ priviledges. It's all about Muslim this and that. I need not go on further as I see you seem to get your underwear twisted in a bunch. I rather have a good old conversation with someone who talks sense and intellectually than to someone who can only utter words such as toddy, samsu ,etc etc(perhaps you're indulging in it) . I would love to have a good debate with you but then again, what a waste of fuc&&^%% time with a mindless and empty piece of trash. Have a good day now.

22. Anonymous3:42 pm

Kari kepala Ikan(what a freaking name) - The giant statue is called Lord Murugan - Not that matters to you. You're right building a big statue must been a waste of money so is the 1000 mosques built in every damn place as well. One statue does not make much difference but than what do you know about respecting ones idols or temple of worships and the significant of Thaipusam. Do you?? How dare you make fun of those people who carry kavadi , what do you really know? So those hundreds of chinese in Penang who have been years carrying kavadi/breaking coconuts must be idiots as well i guess.Believing something so blindly eh? Stop ridiculing one's religion and beliefs. It's going to bite your a$$ one of these day , it can be you or your ones. I would watch my words if I were you because no one here is touching your religion or criticizing your beliefs.

23. Anonymous9:58 am

copy&paste.
    The crowds were thin Wednesday, numbering only in their tens of thousands, thanks to the boycott call and the prospect of more trouble.

helo samy.lu cakap ade betol ka?

24. Anonymous11:03 am

Dear ALL INDIANS,

All the while samy velu never work for the indian community but after his great lost he want to give his heart and soul to the indian community.Bullshit, now he is planning to make his last money if the bn goverment allocate to the indian community.All of us must make sure we chase him away from mic.He is the virus and a very thick skin guy.if mic wants to stay we indian should vote the new leaders or shutdown the sami vailu disater MIC