Tuesday, November 13, 2007

He's back at work!

4 kg lighter. Dr M returns to his office at the Perdana Leadership Foundation for the first time since his bypass surgery that united a nation in prayers last September.
Journo-bloggers Kadir Jasin and Ahmad A. Talib met with the man this morning. Check our The Scribe to find out how the former the PM is doing.

34 comments:

1. Anonymous6:55 pm

ni yang KJ, AAB, Nazri, Zam dan lain tak suka dengar.......

Rimas dia orang.......

2. Anonymous10:09 pm

still can't understand your obsession with the man who started digging the damn pit that we all find ourselves in. u were at the walk for justice. who do you think was accommodating all the judge fixing that went on back then and still goes on now? have you and kadir jasin or any other fan of his asked him about this?? let the man be to face his own ghosts.

3. Anonymous10:38 pm

forgive me if i'm sounding like trapped in the old good days in Malaysia.

i can't remember such incident happen under the last regime.

infact, if the Grand Old Man is still there, I wonder what could have happen to Zam The-Journo-Turned-HP6-Politician Maidin after we saw him; fared VERY BADLY upon Al Jazeera soft QnA session on the TV last few days.

heemmm...are these people gone mad? or are they just simply nuts from the beginning?

4. Anonymous11:09 pm

Abang Rocky,
    I'm not his biggest fan but in term of respect he still high on my list whatever people accused him of doing.
    Can't wait for his much-awaited memoir (are u the writer abg rocky?)
    Bob from Kuching

5. anon 10.09 pm,

i can't blame one man for corrupt judges, just as i can't blame one man for corrupt cops. dr m may be blamed for failing to do more for our judiciary. but the same may be said of the judges themselvees and the bar council then. or people like you and i. did we do enough?

obviously we didnt. now there's a chance to do more. what say you?

6. Bro Bob from Kuching,

No, I am not the writer. I, too, am waiting for the memoir. Seems to be taking forever.

7. Anonymous12:29 am

Bro Rocky

What we are interested in is what this Mr Clean PM is doing about the state of the judiciary after 4 years in office?

Mr Clean did nothing except making statements after statements.

Mr Clean is just useless and hopeless in running the country. Mr Clean even allowed Kjhairy to preempt his policy statement on how to solve the fuel price increase.

Mr Clean might as well step down and allow Khairy to run the country instead.

What a hopeless PM, who is good for nothing except cutting ribbons and travelling abroad.

8. Anonymous7:05 am

Good, perhaps then he can check on his Japanese partner's behaivor at 'The Loaf.' Once again a contractor has not been paid the final payment due to a 'dispute.'
    When challenged, the retort was, "Do you know who my partner is?"
    Typical of a Made in Mahathir Era Crony.

9. ya,

dia sudah kembali ke office semalam lebeh kurang kul 9.00 lebeh la dia sampai ofis.. kali nie, dia naik tangga la ke ofis dia, tak guna lift pon.. tu yang semangat tgk dia tu...

caya la... cool ja, petang kul 5.30pm dia dah balek...

10. Bro

Sama-samalah kita doakan akan Kesejasteraan, keselamatan dan kesihatan Tun Dr. M dan isteri. I miss you Tun. We still need you.

11. Bro

Sama-samalah kita doakan akan Kesejasteraan, keselamatan dan kesihatan Tun Dr. M dan isteri. I miss you Tun. We still need you.

12. TDM is back and ready for action

13. Anonymous10:40 am

Why don't we ask Khir Toyo to give
    one of his "penyapu" to his Boss, Mr Clean.

The next Bersih assembly/demo should be in the National Hockey Stadium, Bukit Jalil during The Champions League match...it is free admission.

See how the authority would handle it....The Sultan Perak n his Regent should be there! Free international media exposure for sure.

Sorry Rocky, I tend to agree with Anon 10.09pm too.

And to those who think Bersih demo can go successfully based on NGO only, think again.. I am sure 90%
    of those attendees were political supporters of PAS, KeAdilan, DAP etc.

And who needs BN, the "enemies" or agent provocateurs when we have "batu Api" among our bloggers..

14. Anonymous11:30 am

You're right.We could have done more to correct the wrongs that was done during Mahathir's time.Many tried,and what happened?Their voices we muzzled,ISA was used,some were even fixed up and dumped in prison.
    You and many other bloggers are doing a great job in championing for a freer and better Malaysia.But the thing that I don't get is,all this glorifying of Mahathir when we all know he IS the root cause of the many problems our country is facing now.It's like saying,it's okay eventhough he was responsible for the many wrongs,but since he's now the government's biggest critic,we embrace him and let him get away with all his misdeeds.
    It seems to me Rocky,that you and other prominent bloggers are sending the wrong message.If we are successful in restoring justice in Malaysia and the current crop of corrupt leaders are removed and they suddenly 'repent' and start being critical of the government's wrong doings,are we going to embrace them and allow them to escape scot free like Mahathir.
    What we should be doing instead is to continuosly question him on his many misdeeds and hopefully expose all the injustice that was done in his adminstration.This will be a lesson to the current and future leadership that they will be no escape from their wrongs even after their retirement.

15. Alhamdullilah, Tun Dr M is back on his feet. Obviously, he has reemerge from the obscurity of political turmoil Malaysia is facing currently.

His memoir is a bold statement of what actually took place during the Ops Lalang and the reformasi episode..

16. This comment has been removed by the author.

17. Rocky...weren't the exact same methods of suppression employed now used during Tun's time?

I have frens whose husbands languished under ISA (still are I think), destroying families...becoming sacrificial lambs to appease Bush and his war on "terror"...

18. tehsin,

I am against using the ISA on any ordinary Malaysian. Ordinary people can't be such a threat to the nation. ISA should be used against anyone in the Government who acts against the interest of the nation and the people. That includes ministers, son-in-laws, and Aduns.

If your husband's friends are still languishing in jail or are being detained under ISA for their part in Reformasi, you should initiating a campaign to free them. And after that, like Malik, sue the government.

In any case, when Mahathir took over as PM from Hussein, he released all those detained under the ISA.

What Pak Lah should have done was to release any ISA detainee still inside at the end of Mahathir's premiership.

19. Anonymous1:49 pm

Hey,
    Why did you not post my comments?
    The truth hurts, right? Your decision to delete them shows that you are just as bias as the governmnent you like to criticise so much (when their actions not are not much different from your beloved tdm when he was in power).

20. Rocky, bukan for their part in the Reformasi...tapi for some vague/unproven charges created in response to Bush's "with or against us" threats...

21. okeyh kira cam ni la...Mahathir lepaskan tahanan ISA zaman Tun Hussein ...lepas tu MAhathir sumbat lagi banyak...kemudian Pak Lah pulak lepaskan tahanan ISA zaman Mahathir ...lepas tu sumbat pulak lagi...bila nak habis?

Yang penting undang-undang tanpa bicara ni dah dihapuskan...buat menyemak jer..dah 50 tahun merdeka dah patut dah mansuhpun

22. Anonymous5:09 pm

Tun M...you may be 4 kg lighter now, but your views are still heavyweight.
    Keep them coming!

23. you bodohs wrote:

Hey,
    Why did you not post my comments?
    The truth hurts, right? Your decision to delete them shows that you are just as bias as the governmnent you like to criticise so much (when their actions not are not much different from your beloved tdm when he was in power).
    ----------------------xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx--------------------

you bodohs,

i didn't post your comment because it was hardly a comment.

writing "bodoh, bodoh, bodoh" and calling practically everyone -- including yourself -- bodoh is cheap. nazri can shout "stupid, stupid, stupid" and vk lingam can say "correct, correct, correct", but let's do a bit more thinking if you wish to continue taking part in this blog.

24. Anonymous7:12 pm

Whatever injustice during Mahathir's time should be equally blamed on everyone holding high position at that time, particularly all the ministers (including AI). I am sick of hearing people trying to defend themselves by trying to put the blame solely on the old man.

25. Anonymous11:01 pm

To anonymous who loves Pak Lah so much and who blames Dr M for everything..

You must be his SIL, nothing less than that! But let's move on! Talk about Pak Lah..talk about the present time, his time, now, will you!

First, please convince me about the good things that Pak Lah, your FIL did. I'm waiting Bro!

HJG

26. Anonymous5:13 am

Nice of ou to visit TDM.

I am a grandfather of 05 grandchildren & still ride my superbikes & my Harley ; have served in my profession for 43 years under 05 Prime Ministers from Tunku to Pak Lah & have spoken to them at one time or another.

Tun Dr Mahathir, a medical doctor, Politician & Master Strategist in 22 years ACHIEVED his Aspirations & Objectives to put Malaysia on the International map - geopolitically & economically.

As such we should give him due respect as you would your father, grandfather or elder.

Unless one HAVE achieved a miniscule of his achievements, it is easy to run him down.

As they say, Talk is cheap, so prove your worth & be better than him - then you can talk.

I admire & respect TDM for his vision, committment & decision making. My best wishes to him in his retirement.

flyer168

27. Anonymous5:14 am

Nice of ou to visit TDM.

I am a grandfather of 05 grandchildren & still ride my superbikes & my Harley ; have served in my profession for 43 years under 05 Prime Ministers from Tunku to Pak Lah & have spoken to them at one time or another.

Tun Dr Mahathir, a medical doctor, Politician & Master Strategist in 22 years ACHIEVED his Aspirations & Objectives to put Malaysia on the International map - geopolitically & economically.

As such we should give him due respect as you would your father, grandfather or elder.

Unless one HAVE achieved a miniscule of his achievements, it is easy to run him down.

As they say, Talk is cheap, so prove your worth & be better than him - then you can talk.

I admire & respect TDM for his vision, committment & decision making. My best wishes to him in his retirement.

flyer168

28. Anonymous11:18 am

Check this out Bro:

http://malaysianjudges.blogspot.com/2007/11/dear-dr-m-glad-to-hear-that-you-are.html

Do we have the courage to ask him to explain??

29. Anonymous1:23 pm

Cheap talk whatever...the current regime that runs Malaysia are playing an annoying tunes to the ears!

At least I do not feel the real inflation boulder rock loaded on my head during Mahathir's era.. no such thing as one shot RM0.20 - RM0.30 fuel hike and 10% - 60% toll rise like a bloody bazooka blast..they have that in mind also for next year..we're soo screwed in deep shit!

The present goverment are out of any intellectually worth brains to generate the country revenue other than talking abount cutting down fuel subsidies and anything from the rakyat mouth! F@rking oxymoron! they are damaging the microeconomy of the country but at the same time never fail to feed and fatten their pot belly and bloody fat asses of their tribes!!

..fuel as everybody know is a costing element in business..you increase it then u create a chain reaction to other product sales cost as well..semua guna lori angkut ..apa ada org junjung atas kepala lagi ka bawa brg zaman ini kawan??

I don't know what is the worth of their peanut brain when they can't even figure out and rationally think of such a basic fundamental in managing the country economy for the good of the people.. after all its a social contract that serve for the elected government to obliged - the purpose for them to be at their place right now..and yet they failed us! Waiving all their responsibilities! Badawi without conciousness dreaming with his WPI ,risking Malaysia to be sold to Singapore without he even realize it, thanks to the advice of his menantu perhaps! Ibarat kisah Pak Pandir..menang sorak, ayam menang kampung tergadai!

Who need a goverment that failed to nurture fundamental requirement such as basic education, health, welfare and efficient public transportation system etc..?

Beter live in state of anarchy..almost no different at all compared to current.. we fork out hard earned money from our pocket to pay tax and some more pay more for everything over and over again..sh!t!

People screwing Mahathir for initiating so many mega project..actually he is just spinning the big economic wheel, then only foreigner come and invest, new employment opportunity created ,and all the local supplier and contractor have some piece of the economic pie created, creating positive chain reaction to everybody..Its all indirectly benefiting the people and none of the Mahathir critics can even see..

What happen when Badawi freeze all mega projects? Go and ask your buddy Chinese businessmen & contractors for the answer if they still survive until today. All foreign company go away to invest somewhere else like in Thailand, Philipines and Vietnam. No prospect for them to venture or explore oppurtunity here.. stupid..we're loosing a lot of the foriegner reserve in term of dolar, euro or pound input that can be used to help us counter back if some money speculator dumping our RM in the money market.. See China..they have trillion of USD in hand..if USA try to press them maybe they dump all the USD in the market! Oil is traded in USD and Mahathir once said (somewhere around the time when Pak Lah freeze the North-South Railway Project & Gerbang Perdana bridge):..the best way to absorb the petroleum market price impact is to strengthen the ringgit..

So by what means? The current regime govt still failed to extract the ideas of this 8-decades old man and of course jumping like wild monkey when this old man condemned them halfpastsix! Even our grandpa probably gone senile at age of 80s, but this old man still rocks..thay why i still admire for his ideax and charisma ,althought sometime back i also don't like him much..

He may be a bit tyrant, at least the doctor did served us better compared to the current mentally retarded preacher!

30. Do I care? I don't give a damn if he's back at work! He should be burnt in HELL for as far as I am concerned!!! He never care for the Raayat. Why should I care for him??? Why???

31. Anonymous7:13 pm

Flyer 168, what vision is that then? Proton? Perwaja Steel? The Twin Towers?Putrajaya?. How original or successful are any of them? And at what price?Devastation of institutions.The institutionalization of money politics.The leaders we have now? And by the way how come you ride a Harley then and not a Modena?

32. Anonymous7:52 pm

Anon 7.13PM,

You wrote, I quote: And by the way how come you ride a Harley then and not a Modena? (sic)

May I know why you made this statement? Are you trying to put down those who ride Modenas motorcyce? I own one and I am proud of it. Of course if I can afford a Harley I may not ride a Modenas anymore but not everyone can afford one or both, like our friend Flyer.

So please don't run us down if we can afford Modenas only.

33. Anonymous3:48 pm

puteri kembangan,please read Flyer's assertions to understand my context.He is typical of blinded Mahathir worshippers who always praise the Dr's great 'vision. and achievments' Wow a leader who aspired to develop his country.How noble.How visionary.How original and truly visionary where any of his so-called great visions.

No offence meant to Modena owners, but I would have been more impressed with you if had claimed to aspire to own a Modena like you do a Harley.

34. Anonymous8:36 am

Dear Anonymous & Puteri Kembangan, Please don't get me wrong, I do ride the Modenas Elegen scooter also as one of my alternative mode of transport. I have no intention to run anyone down, so please cool down.

I am also one of the the law abiding, tax paying, peace loving but "downtrodden" citizen like everyone else & therefore share your sentiments.

I am not "typical of blinded Mahathir worshippers who always praise the Dr's great 'vision...."
    He is no more the PM, so let us leave him be & start correcting whatever is not right, this is our chance.

Let us learn from the past, value our hard earned successful Yellow Wave march & look positively ahead. Let us all work together towards the "Ballot" box to prove that our "Peoples' Power" can swing the votes & prove them wrong.

OR do we want to be like them - NATO ?