Tuesday, August 21, 2007

Don't be emotional, politicians

Cool politician, anyone? Rais Yatim has burnt his bridges and crossed them, and recently created quite an uproar when he unilaterally decided to withdraw from the race for the Commonwealth secretary-general post which some of his more ambitious Cabinet colleagues seemed very keen for him to have.
Last night, Rais tells politicians not to be too emotional over the Negarakuku issue. He said politicians could only act as the executive power (if they had the power) and not follow their emotions.
Ooh, that should hurt many as there have been many who were openly emotional about Namewee's rap on the national anthem. I am wondering which bridges Rais has burnt now.

p.s. And I am rather curious as to why the Bernama report here places "if they had the power" in brackets.

19 comments:

1. suppose we are all aware of that thing called false tears ?
    & the power of distraction espoused in the art of war but of course they will never understand something so deep

2. Anonymous10:33 am

Attorney-General (Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail) has cleared of three big fishes of corruption.

Will he clear if the NameWee case?

Is it a case of double standard or is he only good in catching ikan bilis only?

3. Anonymous11:41 am

(If they have the power) suggests that they are on a leash. Only when the master gives the command and releases the leash will the canines be free to attack. Otherwise they are just gatepost watchdogs barking at everything and anything for effect.

The other explanation could be that the editor wasn't too sure of his fact, no?

4. Anonymous12:30 pm

Sandiwara?

5. Anonymous12:30 pm

Haiyoh, leave that boy alone. I think Namewee is more patriotic than anyone of us. But he did the wrong way. Datuk Shahrir Samad suggested that he should now apologise on youtube which I thought is not a bad idea. I'm just afraid that Datuk Nazri Aziz will sue youtube instead for carrying his apology. It's also good if Namewee can "redeem" himself by singing Negaraku the way it should be along with the apology. But I cannot guarantee if it will eventually be distributed on DVD by those folks in Petaling Street:)

Tun Dr. M once upon a time was afraid that Malaysians would have that suing mentality like the Americans. It looks like we're heading towards that. Only thing is, the politicians are making all this fuss. Soon, the rakyat will follow suit lah. I believe they still don't know how to prosecute Namewee. Under sedation act? How lah? The boy did not commit treason or promote hate. It's the politicians who have turn it sedation.

6. Why Bernama placed "if they had the power"?? Because in reality, they don't have any. Nowadays, Only family of Pak Lah has power! KJ, Kamaluddin, Patric Badawi, to name a few.

7. Anonymous2:04 pm

that's when the symptoms of dementia kicks in...

8. oh, i see, so most of our politicians are too emotional and follow their emotions. By the way, they are the executives of the country, they should manage the country well.Thinking strategically and solving the problems maturely is by far needeed.

9. Namewee is not exactly frontpage news for what he did.

But he was a convenient scapegoat for the politicians to capitalise on due to other 'weighty' issues happening at home.

The AG and the MCMC can both sift through the rule book and decide if there is anything enforceable but it got to this stage because the politicians made it possible despite their 'lack of power'.

Thank you. Malaysian politicians. for making a 'nobody' a 'somebody'.

Who's next? Gwen Stefani?

Some of us are not easily distracted.

10. Bro...

This is what happened if you have a bunch of not so clever politicians running the country.

They do their thinking not with the wisdom or maturity but rather with their emotional.

As what the Malays said, Akai kat kepala lutut!

p.s - Sedap la Mee Rebus aunty Maria, I try to come again next time..

HESMEL FAZNEE FAISAL

11. Anonymous9:59 pm

Hey, can the politicians just forget about this student, and just move on There are so many other issues to talk about AND explain to the people.

Seems those in office can never stop discussing this boy's issue. Lets not lull ourselves from other more important problems .

Me ? I'm waiting for that ex-MB who was caught with his hand in the cookie jar in Australia, to answer RPK's challenge .

Whats the bet, this time around, yet again, he will say, " I no speaking English , so I tak tahu apa dia tulis."

Please, please , please , give RPK the chance to make his announcement in front of the UMNO people. Who's the coward now !!!@#!@

12. Anonymous10:20 pm

Have you guys and gals witness any real problems of the country being solved? All we are seeing is more rots, more corruptions, more abuse of power, less room to voice out etc.

And I would say they are damn good at snaping at non-issues and making it into the biggest case in the country and they and they alone have the solution and had it done to preserve the riights and dignity of the rakyat. Well, what problem was actually solved? Like using a hammer to nail and imaginary nail. You can tell people that you are so good to have put the nail in place with just 1 bang! Bravo! clap, clap, clap....

Well, monkey shows over, now back to the real cases such as mongolian girl, corruptions, rising crime, rising cost, rising abuse of power, PKFZ? Where is that magic hammer?

13. Anonymous11:17 am

heheheh..that's mesia..the clever politician with the brain at kepala lutut!

thanks to all mesian politician coz they make mesia proud to have them with no brain.

for instance, yesterday the so called minister of health said ' jangan tanyalah, isu kupu-kupu sulah pulang kampung! the mentality of mesian politician with no brain but still want to use the title Dr. and others..such a shitttt!!!!

14. Anonymous11:30 am

Comic Relief :-

A cannibal was walking through the jungle and came upon a Restaurant operated by a fellow cannibal. Feeling somewhat hungry, he sat down and looked over the menu...

+ Tourist: $5

+ Broiled Missionary: $10.00

+ Fried Explorer: $15.00

+ Baked UMNOPutra or Grilled MCAMIClican: $100.00

The cannibal called the cook over and asked, 'Why such a price difference for the Politician?'

The cook replied, "Have you ever tried to clean one? They're so full of shit, it takes all morning."

hahahaha....
    Cheers

15. I was sent this translation of the Negaraku (NameWee's version). I do not vouch for the correctness of the translation. Still I beleve it does no stray too far from the original. Then you can decide if the lyrics are indeed offensive...

(Repeat) Check it out, yo, yo, yo.

(Repeat) Negaraku, Negarakuku

I love my country, only when you have a country you
    have a home
    Only with a home then there will be me, standing here
    with you
    Loudly singing, don't be afraid
    Even though I curse all the time
    My song, is just like the durian
    Tough and spiky, only
    To see if you dare to open it, to look at the truth
    inside
    It can be very stinky, it can be very fragrant
    It only depends on what kind of nostrils you have.

Our police is called Mata
    Because they have very shiny eyes
    Once it's New Year, they will be very hard working
    Holding pens but they will rarely write you a receipt
    Because they are thirsty, they need to drink tea
    Also kopi-O, want to add sugar?
    If they add sugar, their mouths will sweetly smile at
    you
    When you are leaving
    They will even go "Tata."

Negaraku
    Tanah tumpahnya darahku
    Rakyat hidup bersatu dan maju.

This phenomenon, doesn't need any improvements
    Neither does it need strengthening, the police and the
    people work together
    A cup of coffee keeps our relationship temperate
    I so very suka
    At least I won't go home and receive a saman (fine or
    ticket)
    My dad would sure be pissed
    I would also kiong kan (swear word in Cantonese for
    "get raped"), with no car to drive
    What to do, this time so very kao lat (an expression,
    something like aiyo)
    With no car, how do I go out and play?
    With no car, how do I wage "wild war"? (I don't know
    what it means but I assume it has something to do with
    a girl)
    With no car, how do I go and watch ah kua?
    (transvestites)
    This country, I like it very much.

5 in the morning
    There's even a morning call to wake me up
    Sometimes a few of them will sing together
    When you listen to it, it's like a love duet
    The voice ululates like an R&B song
    Even though sometimes they sing until it's out of tune
    Even though sometimes they even sing until their
    voices break
    Some sound like cockerels, but they wake up earlier
    than them
    This way we can know the time to get ready for class
    and for work
    Don't blame, the government only takes cares of the
    natives
    Don't blame, we don't receive equal care
    Only this way we can prove that we Chinese are not
    afraid of hard work
    Only this way we can train ourselves to find a
    solution during hard times
    Don't feel weird about their standards
    Because this only shows that we are smart (or capable)
    Children who are not spoilt will not be dependant
    Because you see some children are still not weaned off
    breast-feeding.

Rahmat bahagia
    Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita
    Selamat bertakhta

People who hide in government departments are even
    better (even more capable)
    They can do everything so slowly
    Even when people are queuing, are cursing stinky lelai
    (what's that?)
    They're chill and unfazed
    Sometimes they even bring out their kuih
    They eat their nyonya kuih
    More people will continue queuing up
    Even when you curse stinky lelai it doesn't matter
    Because the guard at the side is dreaming
    And he won't scold you one lah.

They wrap up their heads; walk slowly and cross the
    road slowly
    When you pass in the car you even have to let them
    pass first
    The most important thing is to live happily; the most
    important thing is to live comfortably
    Don't be like the Chinese
    Busy the whole day, very tough
    We really cannot NOT admire this spirit"
    Because this is their attitude in life.

(Attitude, attitude)

I've been saying good things in this song
    I believe those of you who are pissed at me will like
    this now
    The world is peaceful, and full of hope
    No one is hurt, there aren't any riots
    You're so classy, you're so elegant
    Your kicapkicapkicapkicap is fragrant, and you don't curse
    You guys are the most high class, every day it's just
    romancing

Listening to Guang Liang Pin Guan (this local Chinese
    artiste)
    But he already ran to Taiwan
    Private school students graduate
    It's so very tough to get admitted into local
    universities
    Actually we don't have to get pissed about this issue
    Actually this is the a very noble plan by the
    government
    They want us to explore the world, to find new
    opportunities for ourselves
    To learn things and come back and repay the country
    This is plan is so great, I can't quibble about it
    All over the world you can see Malaysia's children
    They're like refugees, so very shiok (expression for
    orgasm or high)

2007, Malaysia's having Visit Malaysia Year
    The Chinese culture is brought out and paraded
    The government doesn't even care about private school
    students
    The certificate is thrown into the longkang (ditch),
    just like me

Graduated and went to Taiwan
    Learned about things, and got ready to come back to
    repay my country
    I stood on the streets of Taipei with my guitar
    But my mouth still sings.

Rahmat Bahagia
    Tuhan kurniakan
    Raja kita Selamat bertakhta.

16. kalau kita amati lirik "modified negaraku", kita boleh rasa sesuatu. Seorang anak muda sedang merintih. Rintihannya disalurkan melalui lagu.... Liriknya cukup menarik untuk diamati dan didebatkan. Tentu sekali ada yang terasa...

Forget about Negaraku being modified. Lets focus on the message!!

17. Anonymous8:29 am

"if they had the power"

Need to say it. Everybody in the government and UMNO have the power but the sad thing is that they abuse it.

Look at the level of corruption and it is a free for all thing.

Thanks to the PM and even the SIL who do not hold and post in the government is so powerful.

Where in this planet will such thing happen?

In other country, the government will either be over thrown or the PM will recieve a NO CONFIDENCE VOTE.

In the Bolehland, because on the crap system, it is impossible to remove the PM unless the Agong steps in.

18. msiaman,

that's because they let boys do a man's job.

havent you noticed?

19. Anonymous10:30 pm

When Rais Yatim burnt the bridge after crossing it, in order to give his support to Ku Li, way back in late 80's, the river had actually dried up. So, after a while, he just walked back across, although there was no more bridge.