Thursday, July 12, 2007

Malaysian in America hits back at Abdullah

Asinine remarks, Mr Prime Minister! A Malaysian who has settled down in the US, who calls herself MIA (short for Malaysian In America) whenever she comments on this blog, has described Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's remarks [No Citizenship for Malaysians who have given up Citizenry, Bernama July 10] as "backward thinking" and "asinine".
I have Malaysian friends who work and live overseas. Some have given up their citizenry but they still refer to themselves as Malaysians because Malaysia is their country of origin. I've been to some of their homes. Not mansions, no yachts. They have to work hard for a living.
On the other hand, there are Malaysians who are here in Malaysia only in name but their hearts are elsewhere. They buy mansions overseas and park their money in Swiss banks and are more loyal to the countries that give them their PR. They should be asked to surrender their citizenry and become Australians and Singaporeans.

Anyway, I am reproducing here MIA's comments, which she just left under my posting on The Malays are Leaving for all of us to ponder:
I was speechless for a minute after reading the Bernama story. It is difficult to fathom such backward thinking from a leader of a country.
In the first place, shouldn't a more reasonable response be to understand why your citizens are leaving the country and to try to address those issues and remedy the situation? It seems rather asinine to say that since you've given up your citizenship, therefore you can never become a Malaysian citizen again. Much like cutting off your nose to spite your face.
People leave for many reasons and I don't see how penalizing them for doing so benefits anyone. It seems to me that in this case, it puts Malaysia at a disadvantage. Wouldn't it want to lure back the expertise that has gone elsewhere?
The other point I wanted to make is that I'm sure that those figures do not provide a true picture. There is no way of capturing the real statistics. Notice how he said that those stats are of Malaysians "who have surrendered their citizenship"?
How do you collect stats on those people who become citizens of other countries and do not surrender their Malaysian citizenship for various reasons?
I became a citizen of another country many years ago and I have never officially surrendered my Malaysian citizenship for the simple reason that it just never occurred to me that I had to do this. For me when I became a citizen of my adopted country I took an oath to give up any alliance to any other country and that was good enough for me. How many people are out there like me?
You always have to look at stats with a wary eye. And let's look at them without emotion and rhetoric to cloud the real issue(s).

63 comments:

1. Anonymous2:14 pm

The main reason I have migrated is because of opportunities available to me.

Let me tell u my recent experience. Recently I became bored with my current job and applied for a job as an airline steward with a leading airliner in the US. Within 24 hours of submitting my application, I was selected for training. The reason i am bringing up this story is to talk about opportunities here in the US.

I am a Malaysian Indian, age 32, dark complexioned, slightly on the heavy side.....but here i am given the opportunity to become a flight steward. They did not even need to see my face.

Do such opportunities exist for me in Malaysia?

Malaysia is facing a big time crisis and the PM and his cabinet members still buat bodoh.

Here are some serious crisis Malaysia is facing and it will only become worse. I predict serious problems in the next 10 years.

1) Unsolved religious problems
    2) Massive Corruption
    3) Selective reporting by media (which is owned by the ruling party. WTF!!)
    4) FDI investments coming into the country (lack of)
    5) Increase in crime rates
    6) Massive spending on unnecessary projects
    7) Mana ada transparency?
    8) Ministers who make crude sexual remarks and racial taunts and are not reprimanded. This is a serious issue.

2. Anonymous2:16 pm

dear MIA.....back to hang tuah year there is no citizenship...but then it does matter as the man learn theselves and very well where they come from..............regarding AAB issue...we malysian have no choice but to see his weakness everywhere....we are not teach to hate ppl but we also dont understand why our prime minister is so..............................evenmore.....everytime we turn our tv to malaysia news his face will be everywhere....his scomi...his son in law kj in sports...umno youth.....pm spokesman...all his family.....even his late wife....fyi...the malaysia you love is turning to be very ugly face....did you know our no#1 broadcast company run a poll to choose a man(passed away) to be awarded anugerah anak gemilang malaysia for those who has been contribute much to malaysia...there are 50's name you can choose and among them is onn jaafar,tun abdul razak, tun hussein onn, tun tan cheng lock, p ramle, sudirman, endon mahmood and many more.....again.......i am not proud to be malaysian....the malaysian now choose datin seri enddon mahmood for that anugerah..she cureently have 20% vote put tun abdul razak, onn jafaar, tun husseion onn aside...sorry...maybe aab will arrest me and ask me to surrender my citizenship for my eralier statement "i am not proud to be malaysian" -because malaysia choose his wife to take this award......let malaysia spirit live inside us....and god knows who we loyal to...what flag will we die for...

3. Good for MIA. That is telling it to the stupid PM.

Who in his right mind would want to be a citizen of a country with a leader as stupid as Badawi? He cannot even think his way out of an open paper bag!!!

As MIA said "Wouldn't it want to lure back the expertise that has gone elsewhere?" Almost every intelligent leader of other countries is doing all he can to bring its former, now high value citizens home. But not Badawi, he chases them away and bars them from comiing back. These people have been trained and educated at other countries's expense. It is a gift when they want to return. BUT Badawi locks the doors against them. Where are his brains if he had any?

Badawi has ever since he has been in office has never talked or said any sensible thing. All his talk are platitudes and inanities and empty words which never add up to anything. He believes that all he has to do is to make stupid assinine speeches and his job is done. There is never any follow up.

4. Dear All,

It wld be easier on me if you can restraint the urge of calling the PM names (Delhi, take note pls). It's not the man, it's what he says and does.

Thank u.

5. Anonymous3:06 pm

I dont think those statistics reflect the true situation. I know many Malaysians knowingly holding dual citizenships and the vast majority of them are of Chinese decent. It makes sense anyways. I wouldnt surrender my citizenship if I were them either. Two passports are better than one.

6. PETRONAS adopts the same policy. Once you leave PETRONAS you cannot come back. Rationale behind that policy? So as not to encourage other staff to leave. Kira macam safety net/safety cage.

That is what we call rule by law. And rule by fear. If you're not one of us, you are not one of us. Cerai talak tiga terus. Tiada maaf bagimu.

It is not that I want to come back to PETRONAS (not anytime soon, anyway!) but in future where I will be even more technically powerful (macam Darth Vader power increasing by the day ha ha), would it not be prudent to hire your own countrymen back? Why such hatred and vindictiveness? Macam berdendam sangat. Apa yang nak didendamkan? Professional lah. Bukannya macam ajal. Kalau mati terus KO.

Ini pasal citizenship, pasal employment, boleh nak berdendam. What gives?

7. Anonymous3:39 pm

Abdullah left UMNO once, as usual he has forgotten.

8. whoa...big words those. asinine, eh? i sincerely hope MIA did not pick up that big word from an american university while on a jpm or mara scholarship. if you were not a govt scholar of any sort, my most sincere apologies. if you did and after graduating decided that the us of a was more to your liking, then i suggest you tke a long hard look at your reflection in the coconut shell after you have urinated in it. maybe you can also see the origins of the word asinine in it. while things are far from perfect in backward old malaysia it is still hom to quite a lot of us. ignorance they say is bliss, but in your case i think it's the opposite. if you decide to become a citizen of one country, then you have to give up your citizenship in your original country. i am surprised hey didn't teach you this where they teach the word asinine. people give up their citizenship for one reason or other, i don't have a problem with that. but after doing that you feel you should be welcomed back with open arms? what expertise do you think you have that is needed by the country? and after you have given the most productive years of your life to your adopted country? asinine, indeed...

9. The country is doing just fine without those with 'brains' who have migrated. I'm not complaining, people wanna leave its their rights. Why they wanna leave, they've got their own reason but I'm sure it not because they can't stand the country or those who run it. Their rezeki in in some other places, and so Allah made them take the decision to buy one way ticket to the promised lands like the U.S, Canada, Australia, New Zealand or Irian Jaya. It's only fair that they don't get back their citizenship. You can't have the best of both worlds. As for me, this is the best place in the whole wide world to live, suffer, laugh, cry, make money, lose money, and live with the politicians who provide me with great amusement for free. I ain't complaining. I'm at peace with Malaysia, peace brader. Orait.

10. Malaysians overseas
    Hitting arrows thinking they are great
    What am I listening?
    These people running away
    And tell us what to do!

Look every one is vagabond
    It is through the centuries
    You make your choices
    So be it and be grateful
    You were part of Malaysia
    A long time ago in history

If you find your pot of gold
    Let the Lord’s grace make you free
    Don’t tell how good you feel
    This is hypocrite running away

Colorful feathers waving in the air
    Blinding many it is the same everywhere
    You think you live well and getting recognition
    My friends it is whom you met
    That makes the difference
    Even in Malaysia
    It is the truth

Malaysia will progress
    Slowly and surely she will shine
    We are the hope for other 3rd world countries
    We the beacon of light in their eyes

I know Malaysia has its faults and bad feeling
    It is the leaders whom we made them to the office
    We can make a change in the box
    It is our rights to initiate change

11. Bro,
    what anonymous of 2.14 said is a very critical observation and if not addressed with "open-mindedness" by all and putting National Unity as top most priority as our holy PM is preaching these days, THEN it would add to the already deteriorating situation we have here in Malaysia.
    The situation is INDEED serious and lets stop pretending it is NOT ! We were a proud nation ONCE !
    Only God can save us now !
    Cheers !

12. Anonymous5:35 pm

To all Malaysian and those claim to be Malaysian but give-up their citizenship - what the ****.

The easiest way, citizenship is like you anglat sumpah or janji when you are married... you promise to your partner you'll be loyal for the rest of your life to ONLY her/him... Plaing-paling your partner go and **** with somebody else... Would you still accept him/her back in yourlife without having a feeling that he/she will do the same thing again... and agian...???

THE MOST WE WILL FORGIVE OUR PARTNER, BUT TO WELCOME HI/HER BACK IN OUR LIFE.... I DON'T THINK SO

Ah John

13. Anonymous5:36 pm

To all Malaysian and those claim to be Malaysian but give-up their citizenship - what the ****.

The easiest way, citizenship is like you anglat sumpah or janji when you are married... you promise to your partner you'll be loyal for the rest of your life to ONLY her/him... Plaing-paling your partner go and **** with somebody else... Would you still accept him/her back in yourlife without having a feeling that he/she will do the same thing again... and agian...???

THE MOST WE WILL FORGIVE OUR PARTNER, BUT TO WELCOME HI/HER BACK IN OUR LIFE.... I DON'T THINK SO

Ah John

14. Anonymous5:57 pm

To quote someone, "Stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid".

15. Anonymous6:06 pm

I'm with Pak Lah on this although i know sometimes he doesn't make sense. But i think those who give their citizenship away is clearly not needed in this country. They are only here when the going is good and when it's not they just go away; not doing a thing to change the situation. If they are so good in whatever they do (or in their expertise) its good for them. But come on, why do you want to use them and offer citizenship? Malaysia can engange them as consultants to help us or better yet find some mat salleh or Japanese to help us. Are they so "terrer" that no one else have the ability to do what they do? Apa benda yang korang "terrer" sangat buat tu? Malaysia can do fine without these people. Sudah ludah jangan dijilat kembali. Sudah blah teruskanlah blah; jangan datang-datang lagi. Tak kelaparan punyalah orang Malaysia.

And as for those who hold two citizenship; i say you are the most despicable person that has ever lived simply because you are a person who only cares for yourself. Holding two citizenship meant that you do not have any confidence in either one of the country allegedly pay allegiance to. You just want to save yourself and have somewhere to go to when situation gets worse on either side. If you believe in any of two country surrender one of it and be faithful to it and it does not necessarily mean Malaysia. May point is choose one, you are exercising your rights; not choosing any and having both; well, you are just a selfish unprincipled, ungrateful little prick for being unfair to your country and your adopted one.

Penanak Nasik

16. Anonymous6:26 pm

The concept of Human Rights is lacking in Malaysia.

It is up to the person in the mirror to stand up. Else just keep slumbering...

17. Anonymous6:33 pm

Most non-Bumi who has the means (resources) and skill migrated years ago. The current statistic probably reflect the reality of less able/qualified non-bumi remaining. Any policy that created the push factor is likely to cause a brain drain.

One thing the govt may not take into consideration is the offspring of these migrants. From personal experience of 5 families representing 15 children, are well educated and all choose to take up the citizenship of the host country. Malaysia may have lost 5 citizens this generation but lost 15 in the next. Can Malaysia compete at this rate of brain drain?

If the migration of non-Bumi is the intended policies, is the govt really concerned about Malay migrating?

18. Let's take the worst-case scenario:

2010 - Malaysia net oil importer; government deficit balloons; utility costs go up; cost of manufacturing increases; multinationals start to relocate;

2015 - local SMEs also relocate; they park their profits in the countries of their factories; government cannot pay salaries or give bonuses; inflation rises, civil servants and lower-income groups riot on the streets; fundamentalism sharpens; foreign media highlight the changes and rifts; FDI peters out;

2020 - situation is really bad; stock market flat because companies show no fundamentals; more brain drain; thousands of fresh graduates have no jobs, live on their pensioner parents; many on wits' end; some commit suicide.

2025 - global warming freaks a cross-state firestorm in the plantations; thousands of acres of oil palm trees burn to the ground; foreign workers thrown out of jobs; treasury borrows money at ruinous interest from foreign funders; states go bankrupt; cityhall services collapse; epidemics spread; govt medical stores depleted in two weeks.

The govt stats on emigration are too conservative; people go without releasing their local citizenships; more have left than the numbers announced; some are more out than in, effectively non-productive here.

19. Anonymous7:48 pm

Hi Bapak,

Long time no hear :). It's weird to read this especially when M'sia is celebrating 50 years of Merdeka and we have spill-over campaigns of Visit Malaysia 2007 this year. Somehow rather, I didn't feel the vibe and the hype even when we are having the Mega Sale now. Not sure what's going on now to our country, and it's really dissapointed to hear that PM is closing our doors to Malaysians overseas.

Having a Malaysian nationality yet was born in Australia 30 years ago, my parents had to surrender my Aussie citizenship due to the 'no-choice' that we had at that point of time. Otherwise, they had to leave me, a toddler back then, there for being an Aussie and come back to serve the government. I'm not sure the way of penalizing M'sians being and working abroad is right. It's more crude than what the immigrants to Australia faced 30 years ago. They were allowed to serve the government, working on their businesses and becoming professionals. I bet that they didn't even face this 'capital punishment' in their homelands.

I'm not surprised that the same issue still stuck-in-a rut here after 30 years. And it's getting from worse to bad, and how can a leader of our country are closing doors to fellow M'sians who are still M'sians by birth and fondly called themselves M'sians in foreign lands. Most people know that it's not easy to 'cari makan' in foreign countries and yet they took the initiative to achieve something good for themselves and become successful professionals.

It's really awkward and bizzare esp. after PM himself had gone overseas talking to M'sians esp. students and professionals asking them to come home and serve the country.

Where's the sentiment of being a true and loyal M'sian, PM? And what exactly the real issue here esp. when the General elections are just around the corner and PM is trying hard to rally votes from us,(again) the Malaysians?

Salam,
    ernie

20. Anonymous7:52 pm

Why worry? Mediocre citizens will still be alright with the kind of mentality the country is now in. With less smart people to compete with those on the NEP bandwagon, it is still "Malaysia Boleh".

21. Anonymous7:53 pm

MIA, you can't have your cake and eat it. Metaphorically you can be a citizen of the world, but in reality, you can be a citizen of only one country. And if you decide to leave the country of your birth for greener pastures in USA, do not expect Malaysia to hold open its door as an escape hatch for you should the grass in your new home wither and die. You make your bed, you lie in it. No one forced you to give up your Malaysian citizenship. You made that choice yourself for one reason or another but don't cry foul when the powers that be decide that loyalty takes precedence over "brains". With money, Malaysia can lure the best brains if it wants to, but no amount of money will buy it true loyalty. MIA, you are now an American, so don't look back with regret.

22. Anonymous8:24 pm

Sigh, sigh, sigh ... it seems that some people have totally missed the points that I tried to make:

1. That it would benefit Malaysia to welcome back the expertise that its previous citizens would bring to it. Another country has invested in the education and training of these people and if they choose to return to Malaysia, you get all that experience without having shelled out a dime for it. Why would you want to close the door to them since we all seem to agree that people leave for all kinds of reaons?

2. That the statistics in this case do not present a true picture of migration from Malaysia because there is no real way of capturing the true data.

I am not advocating dual citizenship. I do not believe in it and even if the USA had that provision, I would not have utilized it. There are many countries that do and people are free to chose what is legally available to them.

That's all ... two very simple things.

23. Anonymous9:46 pm

I really think nationalism is a meaningless ideal. after all, Samuel Jackson did mention 'patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel.' coz in the end of the day what matters most is the food on the table, the right of justice, freedom to practice your faith, the roof on top of your house, your children's education and future. if it is elsewhere on God's earth, so be it. if you migrated elsewhere and you're happy, good for you. no one should be at fault for seeking a better life. for muslims we might remember the auspicious event of Hijrah. I recall also in a Koran study i attended, there was Surah which advises us muslims to move if we're oppressed, living under an unjust ruler and unable to practice our faith. it makes sense if you subscribe to the belief that the world and its inhabitants owe its existence to the Creater instead of artificial imaginary geographical entities.

Pak Lah's statement was fair and forthright. he was merely stating the obvious. it is a policy practiced in other states as well.

24. Anonymous9:49 pm

The trouble with us Malaysians is that we spend far too much time and effort worrying about those who are not with us than those who are. When we host parties, we are more bothered by why some of the guests havent turned up than worry about making those who have turned up feel at home. So likewise, instead of worrying about those who have traded their citizenships for their own justifiable reasons, let's worry about those citizens who are being given second class treatment, like the the malaysian hindhus who display their pictures of their dieties in their restaurants. bro, i may be mistaken, but why isn't that high-handedness of JAWI being discussed in this blog. If you have blogged it before, my apologies. but let me end this by trying to quote an old malay proverb with some alterations(??): you can see what the ant that's about 10 miles away is doing but you can't see what the elephant that's right before your very eyes, is up to -- crapping of course.
    cheers bro.

25. Anonymous11:03 pm

THE 100K FIGURE WHO HAVE RENOUNCED THEIR CITIZENSHIP IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBURG. THERE IS ANECDOTAL
    EVIDENCE THAT THERE ARE A FEW HUNDRED THOUSAND PERMANENT RESIDENCE WHO HAVE NOT RENOUNCED THEIR CITIZENSHIP BUT WHO HAVE NO INTENTION OF RETURNING TO MALAYSIA. MY CIRCUMSTANCE IS A CASE OF POINT, I HAVE BEEN AWAY FOR 30 YEARS MOSTLY SPENT IN UK, SINGAPORE AND NOW IN AUSTRALIA.

WHAT MALAYSIA HAS TO OFFER IS A CORRUPT GOVERNMENT, CORRUPT CIVIL SERVANTS, AN EDUCATION SYSTEM THAT DOES NOT REWARD THE BEST AND BRIGHTEST, NON MALAYS'PLAYING "SECOND FIDDLE" TO BUMIS' WHO HAVE GRADUATED FROM THIRD RATE UNIS'.

THE REASON I HAVE A MALAYSIAN PASSPORT IS THAT I'M BLOODY LAZY TO GO THRU' THE PROCESS OF APPLYING TO BE AN AUSTRALIAN AND THE GOVERNMENT HAS NEVER HASSLED ME EITHER, NOR HAVE THEY DEPRIVED ME OF ANY RIGHTS THATS ENJOYED BY ALL OTHERS, BAR VOTING RIGHTS.

26. Anonymous11:15 pm

The real figure is much higher. After all if you are granted PR in the west you have most of the privilege as citizen of the host. Children born there have automatic right to be citizen of the host country or take the option to be Malaysian at age 16.

In fact all the families' children I know took up the host's citizenship. The reason is simple - better opportunity and higher standard of living and education.

What has Malaysia to offer these children? The parents may look forward to retire in Malaysia. Even if they have given up Malaysian citizenship most can still afford to come back under the silver hair or 2nd home programme.

Therefore not much is lost by taking up foreign citizenship if one cannot have dual citizenship. The best option is remaining Malaysian and a PR in the host country. That's what most would do for the best of both world.

By closing the doors to Malaysian who had given up citizenship is shortsighted and vindictive. On the other hand how many would want to come back if the environment is not conducive for their family?

27. Anonymous11:40 pm

I hate to admit this... BUT for once the I'm-in-control PM got it right!

after all, the odds are always against getting it wrong all of the time... even when you spend your waking-up hours sleeping.

another major factor is, as is the norm in Malaysia, the weak opposition.

MIA wrote, "... And let's look at them without emotion and rhetoric to cloud the real issue(s)."

however, after reading through her piece it's clear who it is that's being emotional, am I not correct?

furthermore, I can't quite understand her line of argument.

first she wrote, "...It seems to me that in this case, it puts Malaysia at a disadvantage. Wouldn't it want to lure back the expertise that has gone elsewhere?"

then, "... I became a citizen of another country many years ago and I have never officially surrendered my Malaysian citizenship for the simple reason that it just never occurred to me that I had to do this."

my question is, what kind of simple expertise do you have that it simply didn't occur to you to surrender your Malaysian citizenship?

and, why should the Malaysian taxpayers have to pay for a Royal Commission of some sort "to understand why citizens are leaving the country and to try to address those issues and remedy the situation?"

hey, as it is, Malaysia has got enough simpletons running the country...

we should count our blessings that one has decided to pack up and leave of her own accord!

jolly good riddance, I say, irrespective of your ethnicity!

lastly, don't try to feign ignorance because I know the procedure... one has to either be blind and deaf or totally asinine to NOT know this!

28. Somboon, your piece is typical assinine-speak.

Penanak nasik, sorry friend I cant exactly figure out what you are trying to say....and has it occurred to you that there are some countries that allow dual citizenship....and has it occurred to you that very few ex-Malaysian citizens are begging to be reinstated. The way the PM is saying it is like how a father treathens a son/daughter....if you leave this house dont come back....very Malaysian, no?

Lazarus Rokk, rock on....but the three mek-mek (read goats) Samy, Keaveas, and Pathithan have taken the vow of silence over the recent abuse showered on the Indians - destruction of temples, raiding of restaurants and the massacre of cows and goats in Parliament. In Sri Lanka they have a name - Tamil Tigers? Malaysia....what's the word huh?....definitely not mountain goats! Must talk to VeraPandian.

29. Rocky to Delphi...its not the man, it is what he says and does.
    But brother, a man is a reflection of what he does and says. If he says and does stupid things he is a stupid man and vice versa. Maybe I am wrong?Somebody asked me if Malaysia bans beer will I head for the Bahamas. That is a soul-searching question. I am still searching....left my soul somewhere in some watering hole.

30. Anonymous6:04 am

She's got a very valid point. Leaders should not shoot from their hips. Looks like AAB's spin doctors are not getting any wiser.

31. Anonymous9:23 am

bro rocky,
    this is one of the rare times i would have to not disagree with our PM.
    MIA can keep her American citizenship and stay put there. I gather she is in the US after marrying an American. That is her choice. And yes, she should consider giving up her Malaysian citizenship.
    It is not a question of whether or not Malaysia needs or wants her. Besides, did she not make a pledge to her adopted country?
    so, please, don't go into rhetorics or whatever it is she is trying to argue.
    Malaysians have been leaving the country since way way back. not just during Pak Lah's regime.
    Mostly NOT political perseution, PUHLEEZE. usually marriage to a foreigner or economic opportunities.
    No, sorry, our PM was not being asinine.
    MIA's argument is not substantive.
    ..perhaps a little emotional.

Sure doesn't need to be highlighted, bro.

32. Anonymous9:38 am

There is a misplaced 'patriotism' here.

Typical M’sian kampong mentality.

Failure of our education - that these people can read but not understand, can write but not express logically. Moreover coming from some of the commentators who are 'supposed' to be educated enough to read & write. Another real basket case of non-marketable educational produces! Guarantee to be a failure in the world market outside M’sia!

If this is the people that claimed to be patriotic to M'sia then M'sia is matching even faster along the doomsday beats!

The world is changing & changing fast. It’s a flat world where K-knowledge is going to determine whether one prosper or wither, whether one is a person, company or
    country!

Flat-world means mobility where borders are no longer relevant. Very soon distinctions of countries will also disappear. EU is moving ahead after 30+ yrs of negotiations & comparing EU now, with the USA now to get the sense of changes.

USA, politically & economically, is only manage to remain strong because of her absorption of the many talents from outside USA. Many of these talents are actually from the Orient.

In fact the fast rates of economical developments in recent Taiwan & S Korea are mainly due to the recent political changes in these countries that attract back a lot of 'lost' ex-citizens from the West to home-coming to invest & uplift the other previous ex-country-men!

Real patriotism does not lie with your country of origin, race. It lies with the humanity. TO be compassion with the sufferings of the fellow humans, wherever or whoever it occurs. THIS is the new patriotism!

NOT THAT old classic craps about religion, race & country. These are kampong staffs that are been fed to those, who are still placed under the coconut shell & mistakenly feel proud of it. Without realizing they’ve been conned & used to enrich the puppet-pullers!

K-knowledge means NOT to re-invent the wheels.

That means we need to work smart & built on the efforts of the pioneers. Stands on the shoulders of the Giants – so to speak!

That means we need brains – smart one too & quick – in order to survive & compete. In a real world smart brains need to be identified & trained. They are also rare ‘commodity’. Every nation in the world recognizes this fact – except M’sia!

Consider a nation of 26M, let say 1% is brainy staff – that’s 260,000 people. Say about 50% are Malay, the rest others (lets be honest in the bolehland concept – OK?). Due to umno-BN policy the 50% others are lost to outside world (you know very well – no need to repeat). The remaining 130,000 Malay (NOT bumi – as this term covers the orang asli & the natives of E M’sia), 50% are migrating (that’s 65,000) the remaining 50% stays for whatever reasons

65K to world for an economy of 26M! There could be less as some of these 65K are rightly to work ’smart’ to enjoy lives, others are just follow ‘tak tahu’ concept to make his/her lives bearable. No wonder the whole govt machineries are breaking down.

AND I’m only simulate in a very simple model in the last 10+ yrs!

Any wonder WHY Taiwan, S Korea, whose economic cakes were very small comparatively with M’sia in the 60s, 70s & 80s are not VERY MUCH bigger than ours?

IN short, MALAYSIA is STAGNANT for the past 30+ yrs.

And we still have people talking about NO lost for the brain drains symptom? HOW long can YOU live inside the well????????????????????????????/

33. Anonymous10:19 am

Even much-admired Singapore doesn't allow dual citizenship - for now.

Down the road? Who knows?

34. Anonymous10:21 am

Someone says:

WHAT MALAYSIA HAS TO OFFER IS A CORRUPT GOVERNMENT, CORRUPT CIVIL SERVANTS, AN EDUCATION SYSTEM THAT DOES NOT REWARD THE BEST AND BRIGHTEST, NON MALAYS'PLAYING "SECOND FIDDLE" TO BUMIS' WHO HAVE GRADUATED FROM THIRD RATE UNIS'.
    --------------------------------
    You have a choice. So just f*** off. Nobody needs you. There are so many Malaysians who are capable and can contribute to this country but they just dont have big mouth like you.

35. Anonymous11:01 am

Citizenship is a complex issue. I have "accidental" dual citizenship for reasons too complicated to get into here. The one country, where I live, accepts 2, Malaysia does not. What to do? I have never been challenged on this point. I travel on the "other" passport because that is where I live, work, am married and pay taxes. Also.. there is the small matter of the after-9/11 climate where the U-S of Paranoia has meant that having a Malaysian passport and a Muslim name is an invitation to get fingerprinted and/or harassed at every Western customs stop. If it comes down to it, I will have to renounce my Malaysian citizenship because for me it is nothing but a piece of paper. It does not change the fact that I have Malay heritage, love Durian and belacan, speak Bahasa, keep up with Malaysian news and politics, and visit my kampung whenever I can.

I don't really fault Pak Lah for stating the obvious: that citizenship is not something to be taken lightly... it is not just a shirt you can just take on and off on a whim. That being said, this is a deeper issue. You (us) Malaysians have a tendency to be judgemental and short-sighted about issues of race, language and religion, as exemplified by the following asinine (yes, ASININE) comments made by "Peranak Nasi":

"And as for those who hold two citizenship; i say you are the most despicable person that has ever lived simply because you are a person who only cares for yourself. Holding two citizenship meant that you do not have any confidence in either one of the country allegedly pay allegiance to. You just want to save yourself and have somewhere to go to when situation gets worse on either side. If you believe in any of two country surrender one of it and be faithful to it and it does not necessarily mean Malaysia. May point is choose one, you are exercising your rights; not choosing any and having both; well, you are just a selfish unprincipled, ungrateful little prick for being unfair to your country and your adopted one."

Ummmm... wrong. And might I say, Peranak, you sound like you have some serious personal issues. Don't presume to know what someone like me has in my heart, or what the circumstances were that led to someone like me having 2 citizenships. I would say that this Peranak Nasi person is the one who is pretty damn despicable. It is people like him/her that make me glad that Fate has made me a life away from these ridiculous mentalities and obsessions.
    Sincerely,
    A Proud Malaysian-_____________an

36. Anonymous11:44 am

I am the 32 year old Indian guy from the first posting above. I am still a Malaysian but an American PR. In my short 7 years of working in the US, I have managed to save over USD$400K. (RM$1.4 million) I would love to come back, but honestly speaking, I dont think i can even make RM$4K a month.

Mana cukup Boss!! Makan kat McDonalds pun lebih RM$10!!

My loyalty is to the country that treats me right and puts nasi in my plate (with tons of meat pieces as well!!). Whats the use of being loyal to Malaysia when u have retards who yell racist remarks all the time. That Jerai bastard even uttered the word "Keling" in parliament several times and instead of apologizing, he defended the use of that word.

Well anyway, Uncle Sam has just put another piece of meat on my plate.

37. Anonymous1:06 pm

Well good luck and many happy returns to you Mr Anonymous 32 year old Indian Guy. I suggest that to cap all the wonderful things that you are having in life in the good old US of A, please also apply to be a US citizen and that would probably be the highlight of your life.

With all the fantastic money you are earning you ought to visit my country Malaysia as a tourist. We do treat US tourist better than some other nationality you know. Oh yes, we also treat Singaporeans very well also nowadays.

So datang ia, jangan tak datang.

38. Anonymous1:16 pm

Right, every individual has a right to live and be citizen of any country he likes.

From the comments it appears to me that many of those who left the country are more worried about the Malaysia they left behind rather than thinking about their contributions to the new country they adopt. Hey, go and make your money and celebrate your human rights the way you like it in America or aanywhere you wish, and leave Malaysia and its problems to us Malaysians the current citizens, okay?

Not all are perfect, but I know there is good that will come from all this mess. I am 100% confident not all left in Malaysia are as stupid as what some of you think. I know for a fact many of those so called 'brain drain' are actually sweating in some hot kitchens in first world countries, they have money but not much else!

39. Anonymous3:00 pm

Citizenship,
    many people take granted for this word. People who assume that being a citizen from a nation meaning on that country meaning he makes a good living out of it. Say if the country is in peril then he is not a citizen. One good example is a fellow commenter up here Mr 32 year old Indian guy. If that is his definition of being a citizen then by all means I wont miss him when he revokes being a Malaysian citizen. When you apply for a citizenship for any country whether Malaysia or US it means being a citizen you are taking a loyalty oath. It means upon being a citizen you have vowed to defend the nation's sovereignty, willing to be drafted in the army and pledge to it's loyalty.

So tell me how can you become a good citizen of the nation when you pledge loyalty to 2 nations. It doesn't make sense. The difference between and immigrant and a citizen is that an Immigrant comes to this nation for a better opportunity but a citizen is here to stay whether things turn good or bad.

SO yes, though I may not agree with many of AAB's policy but I have to agree on this one.

JFK once said
    "Ask not what a country can do for you, but ask what can you do for your country."

and there is a Malay Saying that goes

"Hujan emas di negeri orang, Hujan batu di negeri sendiri. Lebih baik negeri sendiri."

So Mr 32 year old American PR usd 400k friend if you define loyalty as
    "My loyalty is to the country that treats me right and puts nasi in my plate (with tons of meat pieces as well!!)."

Then guess what, you will never be a citizen and will always be an immigrant.

Cheers.....

40. What's all the shouting about? I'm sure Pak Lah himself has relatives and family members who are citizens and PRs of other countries as do most politicians and orang atasan.

Let us not be so hasty as to denounce those who need to be elsewhere for this period of time in their lives. Who knows we might one day be craving nasi kandar in Perth and then what would happen if we had cheesed off the proprietor of this establishment with our hang-the-traitors campaign, eh?

41. Anonymous5:47 pm

I have a friend who graduated with a degree in aeronautical engineering. He came baack to Malaysia, but was soon frustrated because he feels there's no future for him here. Now he's dabbling in something else, and I presume he'll want to leave for a country that has the market for someone of his expertise. And yes, he's a Malay. But that's beside the point.
    The powers-that-be must realise that surrendering a citizenship is a necessity for some people. If my friend migrates to find self-actualization, Malaysia loses another brain.
    Haven't we been talking about brain drain some time back?

42. Anonymous6:58 pm

I do not understand how MIA "became a citizen of anothet country.... and have never surrendered my Malaysian citizenship" As far as I know very few countries allow the privelege of holding dual citizenships. If I want to become a British national (and I do not want it although I've been living in Britain for over 20 years) I have to surrender my Singapore passport. Fair enough. Some countries allow for such dual status; like a Jamaican or Antiguan can also be a British national. American Jews are allowed to become Israeli citizens without renouncing their American passport.
    MIA also said "when I became a citizen of my adopted country I took an oath to give up any alliance to any other country" How does MIA reconcile this with his/her retention of a Malaysian identity? In other words how does MIA manage to keep his/her backside on 2 stools?

43. Anonymous7:11 pm

I'm in my 30's. Most of my friend who have studied overseas never came back. They graduated there, find a job, start a family and settled down peacefully. Yes, they have to slog it out and compete with others. But they are happy as it's based on their performance and not their skin colour. Cost of living are lower (compare 1 to 1) with the exclusion of house & car, crime rates are low where they feel safe to move around with their children,their politician fights for their right as a citizen etc. Ask them to return this this land- a big NO. Why ? I think we all know the answer.
    1) Cost of living are getting expensive. Everything from basic needs to utilities are on the rise. When the poor mamak raise their price, everyone make noise. But when the govt & GLC increase their price, why the majority and media keep quite ?
    2)Crime rates are on the rise. Just read our daily paper. Snatch thief, car jacking, home robbery etc.
    3)Intolerance among various religion and races. We have become fanatics in defending our religion instead of solving the differences. Why ban the inter-faith group? They should be set-up to look at the difference and to come to a solution. Why snatching of the dead body when nobody ever care for them when they are in need of help? Are these not zealots?
    4)Corruption are everywhere. Just ask any businessman and they'll tell you how to make such money. Call it 'commission','undertable money','poccessing charges' etc.

There are many more reasons why ppl are leaving.I'm not saying that the grass are greener over there nor their system is perfect. But our country seems to allow many of these negative issues to go on without a solution to overcome them.I'm upset that our current PM seems to allow all these to just creep under his nose.

I just hope that what I've written make sense to all of us that love our country.

44. anonymous (9.38 am)

tapik spring!

45. Anonymous8:16 pm

I like your third paragraph. Very well worded. Bravo brader!

46. Anonymous12:07 am

sayangmalaysia said...: "I know for a fact many of those so called 'brain drain' are actually sweating in some hot kitchens in first world countries..."

ah, the 'sweat drain'! :-D

shouldn't knock that either, you know.

unless countries have the population numbers of china, india, indonesia etc, sweat is just as important as brain.

malaysians may be interested to know that vietnam and other indochinese nations are busy attracting their own who fled with unofficial calls to help in nation-rebuilding. indochinese friends i know in some first world nations, both brains and brawns, are rallying even when they are already citizens of adopted countries. some are already trying to get dual citizenships so they can contribute to both countries - motherland and adopted motherland.

it is good to know from some posters here that malaysia, with the bulk of her smart and hardworking citizenry quite content to remain within her borders, will never come to miss or need the sweats and brains of those sons and daughters who stayed away or left.

what is sad though is when some stay-at-homes make up their minds that those folks who don't are self-serving ingrates deserving of such peevish words as "berambus and don't come back!" "good riddance, who needs you!" or less rude ones with similar sentiments. while there may be a few who fit the bill, others are simply brothers and sisters who take advantage of opportunities (through wherewithal or just plain guts) without any notion of disloyalty to malaysia.

heran saya kenapa sakit hati benar. macam orang-orang yang menduga untung di lautan yang lebih luas dan dalam itu melakukannya sebagai sesuatu penghinaan peribadi pulak kepada mereka yang memilih atau tidak berpeluang untuk tidak pergi jauh.

must have some perspective la. and to those petulant quickdraws, get a grip, eh!

47. Anonymous12:07 am

Somboon,

Let's not get so preachy on MIA. The U.S, Australia, The UK , Singapore and India allow dual nationalities with the US. Why except Malaysia of course. Singapore then India now, and also with the U.S. They recognize the need for engaging global talent which they realize is highly mobile and not some sort of feudalistic ‘brown nosing’ that has become the Malaysian way of life for earning your rice bowl. I hope such PR isn’t your PR. Your language is worse. As for me I have a U.S. ‘Green Card’ but am still here. I am sad that this country has become what it is. I am also a professional and have lucrative US options. I am not Malay but still love Malaysia and the graceful Malay culture and people . Iam proud of being Malaysian and have always identfied myslef as such when oveseas. But it is now very challenging and frustating.

I am ethnic Indian and my ethnic Indian counterparts in the U.S. are extremely successful and highly respected with none of the racist slurs here. Contrary to popular misconception, they are NOT mostly IT pros, but business people, CEO’s, Indra Nooyi for example is a relatively young woman from Chennai India and now the Charwomen of PepsiCo, They are also prominent in the media, as professors, hotel owners, engineers, lawyers, doctors to name the most common professions. They are also deans of top schools. 10% of the top US university faculties such as Harvard, Wharton, Kellog Stanford etc are of ethnic Indian origin, the larges single ethnic group thus far, and as only 2% of the population they represent 40% of the physicians in the U.S. Overall ethic Indians have the highest median income. In fact the 2000 U.S. Census Bureau cites their median income at USD70,000 per annum , far way and ahead of the other ethnic groups. They are also the most educated. Moreover 1 out of 9 ethnic Indians becomes a millionaire in the US. Indo-Americans as they are called did this with no affirmative action unlike the African Americans and Hispanics, nor even ‘quanxi’ facilitation but through hard work and meritorious recognition and reward. I am sure MIA can echo this.

Over here its just the opposite.

How do I know? I was born and lived here and have seen and experienced the racism. I am now a professor and have been in the IT and global consulting, trained in the UK and US right up to a PhD funded by a competitive international US fellowship where I had to compete with Americans and everyone else from across the globe. My first 2 degrees were enabled by my parent’s sacrifice and hard work. Why should we still put with this? The simple answer is an emotional one. For me and many others we still love Malaysia believe it or not, but have increasingly come to feel and worse still now know, that its unrequited love. It is not the money but the lack of recognition, poor transparency and the unwillingness to evaluate merit beyond skin colour and ‘branded’ packaging. What will happen is that our best brains will leave and Malaysia will end up with 3rd rate Brit retirees as consultants from legacy systems of the last century.

Singapore is looking increasingly attractive as it appears as the best of both worlds Asian and global ( especially with the cultural and geographical closeness to Malaysia) . PM Lee Hsien Loong recently said of Indian immigrants to Singapore that “they being a creative and entrepreneurial group, Indians are a great asset to our economy”.
    In Singapore in 1990, for example, only 22% of Indians were professionals or managers; today it is more than 50%.

48. Anonymous11:48 am

Dalam hal ini saya bersetuju dengan Pak Lah. Kerakyatan dan kewarganegaraan bukan perkara yang boleh dibuat main. Ditukar sesuka hati sesedap rasa. Macam kain baju.

Ada perkara yang kita perlu fikir secara mendalam sebelum diambil keputusan. Sama halnya dalam menukar kerakyatan.

Hebat sangatkah bergelar Melayu Amerika? atau Melayu German? atau Melayu Peranchis? Lebih-lebih lagi kalau Melayu tu dulu lahir dan belajar berlari di Tanah Melayu ini? Itu Melayu tak sedar diri.

Kita sudah lama hilang maruah, dan hanya orang yang tak ada maruah sahaja yang sanggup menukar segalanya hatta kerakyatannya.

49. Anonymous1:36 pm

Thanks Rocky for posting the comment by MIA. It made it possible for me to see how many idiots there are among my fellow Malays (not that I'm unaware, though).

Kalau orang tu nak migrate, biarlah dia pergi. Good luck to them. I wish them happiness, rezeki & prosperity. Mungkin dia takda peluang nak make a living in Malaysia, mungkin dia susah nak dapat kerja kat sini atau suami/isteri dia rakyat negara asing.

Ada beribu alasan yang menyebabkan orang migrate - sama ada secara sukarela atau keadaan yg memaksa.

Yang orang kita marah-marah, maki hamun orang yg migrate tu apsal?

Majority yg dah blah tu bukannya pengkhianat atau berazam nak menghancurkan negara ni. Dia pergi sebab dia rasakan yg rezeki dia (dan anak-anak dia di masa akan datang) ada di negara yg dia pilih.

Aku ni tinggal & kerja di Malaysia. Masih single pulak tu. Kalau ada peluang lebih cerah di negara asing, apa salahnya aku pergi? Bukan ke ada orang kata lebih kurang mcm ni: "Tuhan takkan mengubah nasib kamu selagi kamu sendiri tak mengubahnya terlebih dahulu...".

So, rilek la brader-brader! Jgn la cepat melatah. Memang ada di antara yg dah migrate tu beri alasan kenapa dia blah dan mungkin orang-orang kita kat sini tak suka dengar. Tapi kebanyakannya adalah alasan yg agak kukuh.

Kalau nak bertekak dgn diorang, pakai akai sikit. Bagi la hujah yg sama kukuh atau lebih kukuh, bukannya memaki diorang mcm awak tu samseng kampung.

50. Petai bakaq,

Times are changing. Globalisation means lesser regard to borders and lesser reasoning to stay if your own government doesn't respect your value, while others do. To emigrants, maximising their own potential and improving their skills is much better than maintaining nationalistic pride. Too much priority to the latter is most certainly not going to help build nations, especially when you have racist and backwards-thinking politicians imposing so much restrictions in favour of one ethnic group.

51. Anonymous3:19 am

My points are simple:

1. To those who surrender their citizenship; do not say that Malaysia will lose precious talents that were trained by their adopted country because seriously; what talents do they have that are so rare and special that Malaysian can't do or train its people to do that we have to accept back those who surrendered their citizenship? They are different from Malaysians who did not surrender their citizenship but are working overseas. They are still Malaysians who have learned some valuable lessons while working in another country. These are the people who need to be wooed back to serve Malaysia. And they are also different from Malaysians who have PR in other countries; they are still Malaysians.They did not give up on us. We are talking about Malaysians who had given up their citizenships. In short; they have thought long and hard about leaving Malaysia and never to look back when they decided to do what they did. They want to search for greener pastures; let them. They have a choice of looking for greener pastures while still being a Malaysian but they did not choose that. Thats why i think if we were so desperate for these "rare brains" to do some job that none of the Malaysians could do; we could always hire someone else who had never abandoned us to help us. But never hire an ex-Malaysian. Its impossible their talents are so rare and special that only they could do it. If that is the case then we could still hire them as consultants but accepting them back as citizens should never be considered. But i wonder what their talents are thats so rare and special that we Malaysians can't do or train our own people to do or anyone else in the world can't do for that matter; that we have to accept them back as citizens just so that they could "work their magic" in this country? Buat satu negeri di planet Marikh ke? Is that your rare and special talent?

2. As for dual citizenship; it does not matter whether or not it is normal practice for some countries to let its citizens hold dual citizenships. It's not the issue of system. It's a question of ethics. It shows that you do not have confidence in either one of the country that you pledged loyalty to. And that makes you despicable. If you have confidence in any one of them then you should surrender one of you dual citizenship and work towards making the country that you chose to live in prosper. Holding dual citizenships might be smart for a despicable opportunist but not so etchical and pricipled as a person who had pledged his loyalty.

3. By the way, someone aptly said that not accepting anyone who surrenders its citizenship is normal practise in other country. Actually; even if its not even normal practice in other countries we can still have the liberty to impose the ruling. Malaysia is a sovereign country. If we do not want to accept those who surrendered their citizenship; i think we have every right to do so regardless whether or not we will experience "brain drain" because the brilliant minds leaving our country and surrendering their citizenships.

Penanak Nasik

52. Anonymous10:32 am

Perlukah pak lah beritahu orang2 yang menyerahkan kerakyatan mereka bahawa mereka takkan dapatkannya kembali? Inginkah mereka menuntut kembali kewarganegaraan malaysia kalau mereka dah langsung tak mau?
    I can't help but wonder if pak lah's statement is a reminder or a warning.

53. Anonymous9:08 am

I wonder what the big issue is about, giving up nationality, moving away from home etc all for the sack of professional, personal or family reasons. don't generalize, about the reasons, about how unpatriotic these people are, it is a personal choice which u have no right to judge.
    as for returning back to Malaysia these people should be judged like any other non citizen who is applying for citizenship, will our country benefit from their return. would u turn away someone like Bill Gates with billions to invest, just because he chose to leave in the past?

54. Anonymous9:54 am

Reality check, people.

Singapore does NOT allow dual citizenship! That's official policy and has been stated so in the Spore Parliament.

Of course, many Singaporeans, on the quiet, hold dual citizenship.

As do many Malaysians.

So, let's not get preachy here!

55. Anonymous5:15 am

Points to ponder,

No Malaysian who decided to surrender their citizenship have ever reached the status of billionaire Bill Gates and if they have would they want to become a Malaysian citizen again? Besides, they culd still invest and not become a citizen. No one is stopping them. Its not about just about patriotism; its about policy.

Penanak Nasik

56. Anonymous12:32 am

Dear all,

regardless what other might said or think...it is a person's duty to look after his/her own interest as well as the interest of the close one. Like wise a country is just a bigger representation that idea.. a group of peoples gather to protect their interest. So did it occurs to some of you out there that if your interest is not being look at for years and even generation..what would you do?

People left the country for some reason...and they might just come back for some other reason..why close the door? Some of you migrated from Kampung to City, or left the famaly to go to other city/state for study/job/start new famaly..some time later you still go back to the place you were from..so would you like orang kampung or welcome you or shove you out...?

stop being so patriotic and accusing others....In my opinion you are not..you are just being emosional and irasional. I personally don't believe you are the man you said are when the time comes..don't indulge your ego by saying things that hurt others..spreading hatred is easy..getting rid of it is a challange...

when some one said they are not being rightfully treated ...listen to them...hear them..coz they are the one experiencing the pain..you who are not in their shoe please donot speak as if they made it up..try to put yourselft in their circumstances..imagine yourself in that situation...can you take it? be truthful to yourself..would you do something about it?

Let's look at Malaysia as business. if you are a business owner who always loosing your trained stuff to other competitors..would you ..in your best interest..try to win them back and at the sametime improve you rewarding package so that you might one day win some of the skill resource from the competitors instead? coz if you are not...I would say you are as stupid as you can be..mind you the time, money and other resource you put in to train them...you are bleeding yourself to death and doing a charity to others..well I must solute you..PATRIOT!

57. Anonymous12:38 am

Dear all,

regardless what other might said or think...it is a person's duty to look after his/her own interest as well as the interest of the close one. Like wise a country is just a bigger representation that idea.. a group of peoples gather to protect their interest. So did it occurs to some of you out there that if your interest is not being look at for years and even generation..what would you do?

People left the country for some reason...and they might just come back for some other reason..why close the door? Some of you migrated from Kampung to City, or left the famaly to go to other city/state for study/job/start new famaly..some time later you still go back to the place you were from..so would you like orang kampung or welcome you or shove you out...?

stop being so patriotic and accusing others....In my opinion you are not..you are just being emosional and irasional. I personally don't believe you are the man you said are when the time comes..don't indulge your ego by saying things that hurt others..spreading hatred is easy..getting rid of it is a challange...

when some one said they are not being rightfully treated ...listen to them...hear them..coz they are the one experiencing the pain..you who are not in their shoe please donot speak as if they made it up..try to put yourselft in their circumstances..imagine yourself in that situation...can you take it? be truthful to yourself..would you do something about it?

Let's look at Malaysia as business. if you are a business owner who always loosing your trained stuff to other competitors..would you ..in your best interest..try to win them back and at the sametime improve you rewarding package so that you might one day win some of the skill resource from the competitors instead? coz if you are not...I would say you are as stupid as you can be..mind you the time, money and other resource you put in to train them...you are bleeding yourself to death and doing a charity to others..well I must solute you..PATRIOT!

58. Anonymous4:07 am

Dear Anon 12.38

Name one skill or a person that is so important that is possessed by a former Malaysian that this country really needs to have and if we did not have it we will lose as a country to the point of starvation or chaos.

Leaving the kampung to a city is fine, leaving a city to get a serene life in a kampung is fine. Leaving the country to work in another country is also fine. But surrendering your citizenship and then expects Malaysia to take you back just because supposedly you have a skill that is so rare that no one else in Malaysia will be able to do; that is not fine. And you expects emphaty? Come on. Empatize with malaysia first before surrendering your citizenship.

Again, name me the skill that is so rare that none of us in Malaysia could do or unable to entice other people to do or unable to train our people to do or unable to develop a business opportunity that is so lucrative that the business giants wont be coming in droves.

Penanak Nasik

59. Anonymous12:57 am

Kind of interesting to read this Blog. I am a US Citizen, a Taiwanese decent and through my dad, I have (I think) a Malaysian Citizenship. I have never stay in Malaysia for a single day of my life. Several years back, I called the Malaysian Embassy in NY wanting to relinquish my Malaysian Citizenship. I felt that it is unfair that I hold a Citizenship of a country that I’ve never resided and somewhat felt strange having such privilege. The Embassy staff had advice me not to relinquish the Malaysian Citizenship and keep it since I already have it. That Embassy staff was nice enough to send me a passport renewal application form (with hand written English translation!). I kept the form but did not apply for it. I am an Asian American with extended family in Taiwan and Singapore. I let the issue die and never thought about it until I stumbled into this Blog. I suspect that if I ever visit Malaysia as an American, they would automatically revote my Malaysian Citizenship.

60. Laksamana, the PM's bro's nasi kandar shop in Perth is closed. Has been closed after just a few months of opening.
    Seems to me the PM and his family love Australia very much. It is their favourite second home. They are most likely PRs. What does that say about them, hmm?
    For me Australia is my home because it offers me and my children opportunities that we will never get in M'sia. And yes, it is M'sia's loss.

61. Anonymous11:01 am

we should be malu because people are leaving m'sia and seeking hope somewhere else. these people lost hope and they dont see anything to gain from their country.
    it is a sad thing. why be so defensive. what the other guy saying about this

is true. which part of this is to be proud of. nothing. it just brings suffering to everyone. those of you guys who dont understand why is it so much better to be an american, austalian or a britton should come and work or study there for a year or 2.then u will see how our country is rotten almost beyond repair.

62. Anonymous4:27 am

Hi I am a Malaysian living overseas and have just found out that i have been made a bankrupt. Can I renew my passport in a Malaysian High Commission? Will they check on my status and refuse renewing my passport or even worse confiscate it? Hope you could help as I want to start a new somewhere else as Malaysia's political nonsense is enough for me which is why I am in this position in the first place. Thanks.

63. I just got my OZ citizenship, as I live here with children and wife. I want to feel 'belonged', and I want to vote my leader, so I need the citizenship. I love Malaysia too. But it's just like wedding day, when I married my wife, and bid goodbye to my parents, i don't like to but still have to... I still visit Malaysia, and I treat it as my friend, I respect the country's rules, while they are not all good, but I can respect it by not breaking it, do you call this 'narrow'? I don't think so, this is called Respect.
    Since each country has its own sovereignty, it's 'normal' to respect that, if you are not 'normal', now is the time to brain-storm --why why why. Each country has its ups and downs, who knows what's going to happen to my adopted country, but that's the risk I take. So, take the risk, if you hold two passports, take the risk of being humiliated by Home Office; if you hold one passport, take the risk of making the wrong choice and regret. Anyhow, be a man, and take the risk !
    By the way if you think you are smart and you are not happy with Malaysia, go back and join politics and become a leader to make a difference for Malaysia, otherwise why bother the dual thing. Alang-alang...Mate!
    Ali