Sunday, April 22, 2007

Big Dog Gores Anwar

Anwar Ibrahim and Al Gore's racist assault against Malaysia. I was looking for the context of this article Gore's Racist Assault Against Malaysia by Michael Billington that blogger bigdogdotcom has just posted.
It describes of Anwar's too-close-for-comfort ties with the Americans.
Is it Big Dog's way of reminding the Ijok people of who Anwar Ibrahim is? The former deputy prime minister is aggressively campaigning for his staunch support Khalid Ibrahim, who was one of his biggest cronies in Corporate Malaysia when he was way up there, in the Ijok by-election. Anwar has also been accusing the current DPM of kickbacks with regards to the purchase of defence equipment for the country from the Russians. Is Ijok seeing a America vs Russia proxy war? No, that's silly.

Family Friends
But it sounded silly to me when Anwar was trying to prove how close he was to the IMF a decade ago. Shortly before his arrest in September 1998, Anwar had twice summoned editors of the local media to his office at the Finance Ministry, then in Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur. I was the editor of Business Times.
During those meetings, Anwar emphasized two things:
1/ that we can trust IMF because "Camdesus is a family friend" (Camdesus was the IMF managing director, the guy who stood triumphantly behind Suharto after Indonesia "surrendered" to the IMF during the 1997 financial crisis).
2/ that Dr Mahathir, his boss, was getting senile and least irrational, and everything the PM was doing was detrimental to the economy and the ringgit.

10 comments:

1. Anonymous1:42 pm

Rocky, I have always considered Anwar to be an untrustworthy snake. If he is the so-called best hope for the anti-BN camp, then there really is no more hope for us.

2. There is probably a point that Anwar as Finance Minister was too close to some members of the American financial establishment, and heavily subscribed to their presciptions for the Asian financial crisis.

But BigDog severely damaged his own credibility in his opening sentence by calling Global Warming a Phony Threat. Global Warming is a real and serious threat, and that is heavily backed by scientific evidence. I think Big Dog started with an in-built political viewpoint, then started looking for evidence to support it. Everything else I read after the first sentence in his article was tainted.

3. Anonymous4:23 pm

Anwar's problem? By mid 90s he became super-cocky. Even his cronies and aides became big-headed, very big-headed. His cronies' greed brought him down. Anwar relied on his spin-doctors excessively, just like Abdullah Badawi. And he wanted to be in America's good books just like Abdullah wants to be in the good books of Singapore. Khalid Ibrahim, meanwhile. Is a Malay who benefited most from NEP. Now his boss wants to get rid of NEP because they can't benefit from it anymore. - Pennywise

4. Anonymous4:29 pm

Although Anwar is years younger than Mahathir, it shows that Mahathir is far sharper than the former..any day..even today at the age of 82. I dont think Anwar can ever trump Mahathir.

5. Anonymous4:36 pm

Agree with you kitty kat. Just plain against Anwar. sure, he is not perfect. But give him a chance coz at least he has the decency to stand up to Mahatir. of course, he lost and has to suffer the consequences.
    How many of us would have the strength to stand up and go thru the pain? Am sure the first one to run for cover will be those armchair critics.
    Good luck and may God bless you, Anwar.

6. Anonymous4:39 pm

Like Mahathir, Anwar had the Press at his beck and call. During Mahathir's time, Anwar and Mahathir called the shots as far as the press was concerned. One phone call, or two phone calls, would lead to the sack for editors. Now the Press are going for anwar and mahathir in a no-holds barred slugfest. Clearly this is a case of the past catching up with mahathir and anwar. Indeed, the chickens have come home to roost! Be that as it may, I still feel Anwar is the right person to lead the country. If ever Anwar becomes PM, I will root for Mahathir to become his special adviser on controlling the Press. Long live Anwar.

7. Anonymous4:55 pm

Got this forwarded sms. FYI

"Don't miss Astro 9.30pm 2nite on aljazeera news. it will make you question wat d msian govt is doing about apostasy cases, specifically involving conversion out of islam n its impact on non-muslims here. never b4 seen footage of apostate in detention. taken by Ong Julin, flimmaker re:broga incinerator."

8. It describes of Anwar's too-close-for-comfort ties with the Americans.
    You can't have "of" there. The correct reading would be:

It describes Anwar's too-close-for-comfort ties with the Americans.

9. KittyKat46

A passage from one report below:

Gore is personally responsible for contributing to the water pollution in Tennessee, according to the Environmental Protection Agency. The Web site of World Net Daily summed up Gore perfectly when it said, "In fact, starkly contrasting with his passionate speeches or warnings in his best-selling book, 'Earth in the Balance,' about ozone depletion and other urgent environmental topics, Gore has a long-standing reputation for polluting the environment in Tennessee."

Gore was partially responsible for polluting the Caney Fork River in 2000, which runs adjacent to his ranch in Tennessee. EPA testing claims the Pasminco Zinc Co., which mines zinc on Gore's property, was polluting the nearby river causing unhealthy levels of zinc to be in the water, according to www.worldnetdaily.com.

During the Clinton-Gore re-election campaign in 1996, the zinc mining operation failed multiple EPA tests to ensure water quality. Not one, but two other independent agencies were hired by The Wall Street Journal to test the water and both found that the river was polluted with various amounts of zinc, barium, iron, arsenic, chromium and lead. Because Pasminco was mining on Gore's land, he was aware of the pollution and should have acted against the mining company.

The phony global warming theory is widely. Read Wikipedia here below:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_warming_conspiracy_theory

ANother here:

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/01/16/1073878029212.html

Google for the rest. Its is AL Gore's conspiracy to suppress the economy of the 3rd world. TDM was right all along. Now only the scientist realised it.

10. Anonymous1:16 pm

Kittykat46,

This is NOT my writting. It is Michael Billington's. I just posted it on my blog.

So if you want to shoot, don't shoot me. I am just the messenger. Shoot Billington. I gave enough reference that the article was written by Billington.

The only part of that posting is mine is the title in my blog "Anwar -Gore: Dances with the Wolves". Everything else was as how Billington wrote it.

Pls be advised. Thanks