Friday, November 24, 2006

Assistant General Manager?

Who's who in Malaysia's corporate future:-]

Synergy Drive Sdn Bhd?
Synergy Drive was registered on Nov. 7, according to a filing at the Companies Commission of Malaysia, which named Rossaya Mohd Nashir and Wan Razly Abdullah Wan Ali as directors. Rossaya is an assistant general manager at CIMB Investment Bank and Wan Razly is a director of investment banking at CIMB, according to the person manning the bank's switchboard.
[Read the Bloomberg piece here]

Maya Maju Sdn Bhd?
There is another company, Maya Maju (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd, registered with the RoC (Co Reg No: 254750-T). Here, there are 2 shareholders and 5 directors. The 5 Director are: Datuk Haji Man Bin Mat (rings your ear?), Md Nizam B. Md Sharif (rings your ear?), Rasidah Bt. Salleh, Lim Hooi Mooi (secretary), and Tan Enk Purn (secretary). The shareholders are: Maryna Keh Abdullah @ Miss Keh Kim Lan (RM1,450,000 shares) and Man B. Mat (RM3,550,000 shares).
[CTSB has the info here]

10 comments:

1. Anonymous2:36 am

Thanks for the info bro. Synergy...hmmm..RM2 company? SC allows the merger? Strange for a company less than one month old. Maya Maju...how old is the company? Is it a registered construction Class A wibawa company? Another RM2 dollar company? Anyone with more details?

cucuparit

2. Anonymous8:59 am

Sdr Rocky,

The merger thing is not new. You may want to check it out. It has been in the offing for some years.

I believe it's an idea promoted by or, at the very least, agreed to by PBN.

Still it is good for all of us to keep a close watch on the deal.

There's nothing to stop it from being HIJACKED as has been the case with many recent happenings.

These companies and the PNB are to priceless to be handed over to the wrong people -- like handing flowers to the monkeys and pumpkins to the mice.

3. Anonymous9:20 am

Market talk is NST going to merge with Utusan. Heard of this? Prices of both drawing buying interest in the stock market.

4. Anonymous9:53 am

Assistant General Manager? Hmmmm,actually they're short of those lazy Malay staff!Look beyond these names, you'll understand CIMB. They're no longer Bumiputra Commerce Bank Berhad, remember!

Hantu Gigi Jarang

5. Anonymous11:13 am

Hi, Orang Lama, you must be crazy. I don't believe NST is to merge with Utusan. Is there anybody out there wants to buy NST?. Unless they want to do something else, not to print the paper anymore - closing down the newspaper business. Utusan can stand on its own. What is the value of the NST at the moment? It must be below market price. NSTP under Syed Faizal and Aun, is the worse ever in the history. They should realise that they are not capable of running the business of the n/paper. To be credible, each of them ,at least must be either good in the editorial or business ventures. As far as we the staffs are concerced, both of them are not up to the mark in both editorial and n/paper business. Good luck to you.

Anak Lima

6. Anonymous12:12 pm

At least these two blokes will get a new job and a fat paycheque... the first casualties (or is it collateral damage) of any bigtime mergers will be the retrenchment of personnel...

7. Anonymous1:49 pm

Hantu Gigi Jarang said :-

"Assistant General Manager? Hmmmm,actually they're short of those lazy Malay staff!"

Correction - these people aren't going to run the show. They makan gaji mah, director say sign up as promoter of the company, they sign-up.Director wouldn't want some Tee Tan Tong to appear on the Companies Commission roll - politically suicide merger.

8. I see comments in the Star(NST is still on my printed media blacklist) from politicians, financial analysts, fund managers, etc saying how good this mega merger is for all concerned but there are no word from the CEOs of these three entities.

As industry captains in the plantation sector, they should be the primary driving force for such a merger. Or, against it.

And as in any mergers, there will be lay-offs(euphemistically renamed as VSS) across the board and/or asset sale of non-core subsidiaries through MBO, etc. Additionally, will minority shareholders' concerns be addressed and be given due diligence?

I am agreeable for this merger if it includes a rebranding exercise in the plantation sector thereby putting Malaysia on the world map for foreign investment. However, as always, the crux is in the implementation i.e. are there greedy monkeys, rats and buffaloes waiting on the sidelines and poking their grubby fingers into the deal of the century.

Lastly. Assistant General Manager? Glass ceiling???(I'm assuming she's a she and looking for a way...uhh..up).

9. Anonymous11:05 am

orang lama,
    you are right when you posted the following.

===================================
    Orang lama said...
    Market talk is NST going to merge with Utusan. Heard of this? Prices of both drawing buying interest in the stock market.

9:20 AM
    ===================================

This confirmed in the NST quoted by Bro bru, in his new thread. See below:

KUALA LUMPUR - THE New Straits Times and Utusan Melayu, two of Malaysia's oldest media groups, will be merged in a corporate union that will establish the country's largest media grouping.

posted by rockybru at 11/27/2006 10:10:00 AM 1 comments links to this post

10. Anonymous11:08 am

Correction:

Quoted from Singapore Straits Times, which has the story, according to a Google alert.