Wednesday, September 13, 2006

JUST AN AVERAGE JO

And what else is normal, Jo? Mohd Johari Baharum, the Kubang Pasu Umno division chief, has unwittingly confirmed the existence of the "preferred list" that Dr M claimed was given to delegates so that they didn't vote the ex-PM.

He said it was normal to have such a list.

"In fact, such lists are not only confined within Umno, but were common at other (Barisan Nasional) parties," he was quoted by the NST today ["Division chief dismisses claim of money politics", page 7].

If the list existed and the brow envelopes changed hands, how does this man expect us to believe that Dr M's claims were baseless, that "it is just propaganda by (Dr M's) supporters."?

According to Ibnu Hakeem:

"This very frank slip-of-the-tongue by Johari also raises doubts over his denial that "the supreme council had instructed that Dr Mahathir be prevented from contesting". If the Supreme Council had not given such instructions then Johari Baharom must explain who gave instructions to prepare the preferred list and put it in an envelope to be given to the delegates ?"

10 comments:

1. Since the existence of the preferred list is now a fact, why did they bother with having an election.

To quote the words of our 'wunderkind' minister, Nazri Aziz,

"We should not underestimate the ability of the delegates to make THEIR OWN decision." (caps for emphasis)

Is it not just as insulting to them (the delegates) to be given a brown envelope with the preferred list contained therein. Somebody in UMNO must have concluded that to overcome possible short memories (melayu mudah lupa), a preferred list must be distributed to prevent this malaise. What's next? A portrait of AAB with the words "I am the Prime Minister" engraved on the frame?
    Whoops, sorry, that's what AAB has on his bathroom mirror to remind himself every morning.

Another untruth unfolded. This is becoming a weekly habit with UMNO, don't you think.

Forget about the outcome of the bribery investigation, if any. Let us look at what will happen to the individuals who gave their votes to TDM. Will they lose more than RM200 worth of 'anything'?

2. Anonymous7:42 am

Malaysiakini reported Sept 13: The powers-that-be robbed former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad of an ‘easy’ victory in the Kubang Pasu Umno division delegates contest, said party veteran Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah.
    “With the state of play, I suppose you cannot expect anything other than a loss for Mahathir. I think people were determined to stop him from being elected,” he told reporters at the Parliament lobby today.
    Otherwise how could a man - a leader for the Kubang Pasu division for more than 30 years who brought development (there), an ex-premier who created a name for the country - is suddenly not wanted by his own people.
    “It’s shocking. I don’t think the Malays are that ungrateful. After all, he is only seeking to be a representative (of the division), not to become prime minister or deputy prime minister. He doesn’t want that anymore,” added the Gua Musang MP.
    My comment: He should know. He was the first Umno politician with courage to challenge Dr Mahathir. He lost. Tun brought him back to Umno.
    Malaysiakini September 13: In one of the strongest criticisms ever leveled against the PM by a backbencher, a Barisan Nasional member of parliament today said that Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has failed to initiate reforms despite making numerous pledges.
    Vocal backbencher Zaid Ibrahim (BN-Kota Baru) told Parliament that Abdullah has not righted the wrongs committed by his predecessor Dr Mahathir Mohamad.
    “Although there is Islam Hadhari (mooted by Abdullah) and his emphasis on transparency, integrity and openness, the premier has yet to make any real reforms.
    “This could be due to Abdullah’s lack of political support,” he added.
    My comment: This Kelantan lawyer may be right but he was an Umno and Government lawyer who handled some of the Biggest Mahathir era privatization and made tons of money out of it.

3. Anonymous8:21 am

I don't think Tun Dr Mahathir is surprised that money politics was alive and kicking in the kubang pasu "by-election". he should be surprised that only RM200 was offered. but i am certain that he knows that RM200 was just a sweetener. i think anybody who denies that there was no money involved is deluding himself or herself.
    however, i think that not everyone in kubang pasu could be bought. some probably were co-erced, others were convinced by the argument that Tun should not be a delegate. and many others voted for the old man.
    in any case, the outcome of the election bears testimony to the kind of leaders we have. they are the ones that the country can do without.

4. Anonymous8:27 am

umno has shown that its leaders are so spineless. the menteris besar -- with the exception of one or two -- have all demonstrated that they are lousy leaders, pengecut, lalang, ingrats and many many more negative superlatives -- so, can you imagine the message and signal that they are sending to the grassroots.
    so, you wonder why they are leaders. johari baharum, to me, is just so lucky that he is where he is.
    umno is in deep deep sh..
    it will be its own undoing.

5. Anonymous8:28 am

my prayer is that Allah will save us from the crooks in Umno and in Government.
    from the penyangak and pengkhianat.
    this is a dugaan for malaysians.
    we are going full circle.

6. "Loose lips sink ships, Jo"
    And then he will struggle to get out of this pit he dug by himself until another crap is "invented" to divert the attention of our moronic rakyat of this blundder......haahyyaah !

7. Anonymous11:14 am

Sendiri List set for November 2007 release
    - Kuala Lumpur, September 2006: Following the traits of the famous and controversial Schindler's List, Malaysian moviemakers are now queing up to secure rights to produce a similarly titled movie, "Sendiri List".

The movie will be based on allegations by its former poster boy Mahathir Mohamad, that his unsuccessful bid to secure a seat at the UMNO Gereal Asembly in November was due to money politics.

Mahathir claimed that an envelope with RM200 and a list of numbers to vote were distributed to delegates at the Kubang Pasu UMNO meeting (the numbers correspond to the name of the candidate on the polling list).

Sendiri List is believed to set for release by the 2007 UMNO assembly. No lead actors have been chosen, although sources say Mahathir may be approcahed to play a lead role.

Observers note that Sendiri List may end up with the same fate with Schindler's List. The Steven Spielberg movie was banned in Malaysia, a move that irked the award-winning American.

He was quoted as saying then that he may consider not releasing any of his movies in Malaysia following the ban.

The movie was however widely available on Malaysia widely illegal but popular black market for VCDs and DVDs.

8. Anonymous1:03 pm

hey ronanino, keep it going! a shakespeare a day shakes the fear away!

9. Anonymous1:38 pm

If Kubang Pasu delegates were of sound mind and have the ability to think for themselves, the offer of money irrespective the amount offered should not have swayed their support for TDM. Also just because of some stupid "reasoning" (to save TDM's face by standing as mere delegate amonsgt others)by Jo and Ex MB, the delegates did not vote for TDM. That shows the "kind" of delegates we have in UMNO. How do they lead the rakyat to progress further if they are this shallow....

10. Anonymous8:28 pm

Hail to the thieves cos he desperately needs hailing....

Malaysia Boleh is headed for Malaysia Boleh Blah!!

.....all thanks to greedy, twisted unprincipled politicians.
    I want to say they should be shot...but then they will do a Guna on me :( and mebbe u too Rocky.