Saturday, August 19, 2006

DR M'S A NATIONAL HERO, SAYS PAK LAH

For the first time in a long time, the PM has paid Dr M a tribute. He calls the former PM a national hero last night.

It has to be a massive U-turn in the Abdullah Administration's approach in handling the lop-sided spat with the former prime minister. Two Mondays ago, the PM appeared on TV3 and showed to us viewers that he was capable of not being nice in the face of criticisms, even if the one who has been criticising him was Dr M. A few days ago, he showed he could play rough, too, as he made references to the Iblis or the demon when he spoke of people who had been hurling those harsh criticisms at him.

Abdullah Pays Tribute To Past Statesmen For Success Of Malaysia

KUALA TERENGGANU, Aug 18 (Bernama) -- Malaysia has become a developed, prosperous and dynamic country because of the ideas, good leadership and determined efforts of past statesmen including Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
The Prime Minister said the success and development achieved began from the leadership of the first premier, the late Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, and followed by the late Tun Abdul Razak Hussein and the late Tun Hussein Onn and was continued by Dr Mahathir.
"These leaders are national heroes and we are indebted to them for what they have done," he said in his speech to launch the national level Merdeka Month and Fly the Jalur Gemilang Campaign at Dataran Shah Bandar here Friday night.

It must be noted, however, that Abdullah did not utter these words himself. The text of speech was read by Rais Yatim, who is chairman of the 49th Merdeka celebration national committee.

12 comments:

1. Anonymous9:24 am

I wonder if Paklah himself has ever seen the text before...

2. Anonymous12:58 pm

ok. what have we got here?
    the prime minister paying tribute to Tun (and the nation's former prime ministers). i say that is good.
    bravo bravo bravo. even though he did not utter those words himself. it is his speech. rais was reading on his behalf.
    whats the bid deal... many many (lesser/smaller) people have said things on the prime minister's behalf.

3. Anonymous12:59 pm

tempua's doubt/scepticism is justified. i am also wondering. did pak lah see the text? if he did and he approved it, ok-lah.
    if he didnt, the next question is -- who prepared the text.
    or is this question relevant at all.

4. Anonymous1:01 pm

the prime minister said it. but did he mean it?

5. As usual Pak Lah, talking without thinking ...eloquent talking vs elegent silence ... I'll take eloquent talking not for just democrasy but it gives me somethign to laugh about.

Please Pak Lah do not stop talking, the economy is dreaded that we need somethign to put smile at your face ...

6. Anonymous3:12 pm

A possibility...having woken up and distancing himself from the 3Ks, he could now see more clearly. His spinners say he falls asleep less frequently now after clearing his nostrils off sinusitis. More air to the brain. He even thinks more clearly. He must have seen a dark ominous cloud behind the bright light switched on by his handlers. Pak Lah should start slithering down the tree trunk. Ulur menyusur akar tidak hilang bisanya. Umno and the Govt. do not belong to the 3Ks.

7. Anonymous6:55 pm

He didnt make the damn speech and he sure as hell didnt write the damn speech.

8. Even if Pak Lah saw the text before, my feeling/hunch is that Rais add the TDM thing into the speech there. He has to safeguard his behind also. TDM was the one who bring him back from the cold.

9. Anonymous7:17 pm

Inmine,
    i do not think Datuk Seri Rais Yatim would dare mnake that insertion -- paying tribute to Tun Dr Mahathir. Would he really dare?
    He would if 1. the 3Ks are no longer "powerful", or/and 2. Pak Lah approved/endorsed it.

Nasiberingin,
    i so agree with you 100 per cent -- Umno and the Government do NOT belong to the 3Ks. But the only problem is -- do they (3K) know that?

10. Anonymous10:49 am

If you guys truly want to know who are the real brave heroes of Malaysia who protected our nation, then please browse http://geocities.com/chewkimchuan
    or do a search on chew Kim Chuan in Yahoo and Google search engines.
    We understand such unsung heroes were only recently honoured by their names engraved in the pdrm museum.
    Thanks for paying attention.

11. Anonymous6:34 am

Champions are raised, not born.
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. Heroes walk alone. They become myths when they ennoble the lives &
    touch the hearts of all.

Youtube Video on True Heroes

Iklan Malaysia wishes all a HAPPY MERDEKA to ALL. There is a FREE online fireworks display here. Very interesting. Have a great weekend with your loved ones and success to your endeavour.

12. Anonymous8:44 pm

There are many unsung heroes in Malaysia the deserve recognition. They should be written in the history books and serve as good examples for young generations.