Monday, November 20, 2017

Syed Hamid is Mahathir's latest weapon against Najib, really?

Syed Hamid Abandons Najib, now supports Mahathir

Puchong, 20 Nov: It's one of those things you read and you don't know whether to laugh or to cry, to be sorry or to be thankful. 
I can only guess Syed Hamid Albar must be feeling very lonely and missing the political limelight. But if that's the case, let me assure you that the feeling is NOT mutual. 
As Home Minister during Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's premiership, he was described as "a failure and a non-performer" by a member of his own party. Syed Hamid was the Foreign Minister who in 2003 threatened a Malaysian journalist who was covering the Iraq war with a lawsuit for an article that he said was a personal attack against him and his ministry. He was also the Cabinet minister who in 2008 ordered the detention of the Sin Chew Daily journalist under the now-abolished Internal Security Act "for her own safety". 
Syed Hamid should save his breath and us Malaysians the trouble. Given his record, he is one of the least qualified people to talk about openness and freedom. If Dr Mahathir Mohamad or his people really think Syed Hamid is useful to his campaign to bring down Najib, I wouldn't know if I should cry or laugh ...

2 comments:

1. Anonymous9:21 am

Proton used to call him Kodomo Lion, a pun on his father. Most recent memory of Syed Hamid is the much hated SPAD Chairman. Trying to pressure Najib for another Chairmanship?

2. Anonymous10:12 pm

Rock,

Exactly the same feeling when I read your 'Swift Code' article..should I cry or fucking laugh????