Wednesday, June 14, 2017

From trains to toilets ... Malaysia has no maintenance culture?

“Sometimes it may be one technician who made a mistake on the ground, or we didn't do our checks properly. When the system breaks down, the government gets the blame,”  he told his audience this afternoon, who laughed in response to his observation. - Strive for zero defects, else I'll be blamed, PM tells Prasarana

KL, 14 June: Last Thursday, at a the PM spoke about the need for Prasarana event, the PM stressed the need for an excellent maintenance culture. He may have said it in a light-hearted manner [Strive for zero defects, else I'll be blamed, PM tells Prasarana] but no one doubted that he was dead serious. The billions his administration is investing to get Malaysians the region's public transport will be less appreciated by Malaysians if those entrusted to maintain the infrastructure sleep on the job.

It's not just the trains. An tourist flying out this morning was horrified by what he saw at the KLIA. To whom it may concern, it isn't a laughing matter.

p.s. The tourist sent some other pictures which I thought are rather too gory for my dear readers

6 comments:

1. Anonymous7:23 pm

That's because 68% of Malaysians are monkeys that belong in the jungle. Why are you supposed?

1. Anonymous7:20 pm

i guess the rest of percentage malaysians are pigs...that shud just poop n piee in the longkangs

2. 2017 -- nothing has quite changed. what would it take for the stakeholders to raise their maintenance standards if there is a standard at all, Is it a Malaysian thing? Don't blame the public. If the toilets and utilities are not well-maintained -- they will only get worse.

I remember the toilets at Subang international airport those days to be so poorly maintained .... and now KLIA. Unacceptab;e. Tak mall, ke?

3. IT.Scheiss3:03 pm

Bro, don't get me going on the lack of maintenance culture or I won't be able to stop.

The last time I was at KLIA, a couple or so months back, I did notice a marked decline in the standard of maintenance of the toilets.

4. Anonymous12:42 am

Can't understand how MAHB mgmt can allow such thing to happen without feeling embarassed or angry with the staf or supervisors.

5. xnakdedak10:35 am

No maintenance culture?

Not true!

The United States Department of Justice (DOJ) may have finally shed light on what happened to the US$620 million that “Malaysian Official 1” (MO1) had returned to his "donor".

In a latest civil forfeiture suit filing, the DOJ alleged that at least US$27.3 million was used to buy a 22-carat pink diamond pendant and necklace for “MO1's wife.”

On June 2013, two months before the sum was returned, the DOJ said Low had contacted jeweller Lorraine Schwartz, asking urgently for a diamond necklace with a "18 carrot (sic) pink heart diamond".

The next month, Schwartz travelled to Monaco with a 22-carat pink diamond, to meet Low as well as then Aabar chief executive officer Mohamed Ahmed Badawy Al-Husseiny aboard a yacht.

Also on board the yacht were the wife of MO1, and her friend - dubbed by the DOJ as "Malaysian Friend".

On the yacht, the group purportedly discussed the design of the necklace which would hold the pink diamond.

According to the DOJ, Schwartz's next encounter with MO1's wife was in New York on Sept 28 to show a layout of the necklace's design.

Najib and his wife Rosmah Mansor were in New York at the time for the UN general assembly. Najib addressed the assembly on Sept 28.

Besides the US$27.3 million pink diamond necklace, the DOJ also accused Low of purchasing 27 different 18-carat gold necklaces and bracelets for MO1's wife, worth a total of US$1.3 million.

Well maintained, I'd say.

Too well.