Monday, November 25, 2013

Taking press freedom for granted

Updated, Tues: 
1) I have decided not to publish quite a few comments here. These are by Anons who, in the safety of their anonymity, so bravely call the First Lady names. 
2) As for requests that I comment on Rosmah's visit to Qatar using an official jet, let me just say that criticisms against wives of PMs and Presidents are common. The Americans crucify Michelle Obama year in and year out, accusing her of wasting taxpayers' money, even calling her the modern day Marie Antoinette. Read Hawaii, US$500,000 shopping trip in Spain and Aspen ski trip for samples on how they hentam their First Lady. 
A thing to note is, these American critics whack Michele for allegedly wasting American taxpayers' money to go on holidays ... not to open some international business conferences, if you know what I mean.

Original posting:

From the comment piece by a Jeswan Kaur, Taking the Rakyat for Granted (Nov 22, Free Malaysia Today):
"Whilst Mahathir continues to choke the rakyat with his schisms, the scenario involving the wife of prime minister Najib has reached alarming levels. 
Rosmah Mansor has no qualm whatsoever how she squanders away the nation’s wealth. From her obsession with ‘all things luxurious’ to milking the most the opportunity of being the prime minister’s wife, Rosmah is guilty on all counts of robbing the nation and its people. 
Rosmah’s intoxication with wealth and power has created an abhorrence in the hearts of the rakyat."
Ms Kaur and her editors at FMT clearly do not love Rosmah Mansor, the wife of PM Najib Razak. Well, that's their business. Maybe Ms Kaur doesn't like the First Lady's hair or she's been fed stories from people who have had a falling-out with Rosmah. But nowhere in the world does a journalist (like Ms Kaur, if she's still one) or a news portal (like FMT) get away with accusing anyone - let alone the Prime Minister's wife - of squandering away the country's wealth or robbing the nation and its people. The two paragraphs above are so laced with hatred and based on unsubstantiated allegations that you'd cringe ...

Mr Kaur and her editors at FMT are taking Malaysians for granted. Do they think they exist in a vacuum where they can hide behind journalism and freedom of speech to spew venom and unsubstantiated accusations without having to bear the consequences?

Well, maybe they do.

33 comments:

1. Anonymous4:15 pm

Rockybrute, you love Rosmah Mansor ?

2. Anonymous4:45 pm

Latukkkk are sure Rosmah is the FIRST LADY ????? You change you job and become a satay man is it??Bastard

3. drMpower4:47 pm

these clowns will the firsts to scream 'draconian' and 'lost of freedom' or when imposed with whatever related Acts. they will respond, with no resonable doubt, violently and continue to spread lies and hatred to whoever they want. and allllll these of course are at their own whimp.

what kind of journalism we got here in malaysia that stoop to such low? and how they spin the words and paint everyone black so that they be seen fair, is a testament of what is exactly wrong with our journalism right here right now

i wonder how these people sleep at nights, after what they do all day week in week out year after year? dont these people got face, dignity left?

4. drMpower,
    You know you are going to get plastered for your views, right? But I'm glad you say it out. These days it's getting harder to get people to come out and tell off these "clowns" in their face.

DeaR bASTARD aka Anon 445am,don't change your nick please. Hehe

5. Anonymous5:23 pm

Shabery Cheek tunggu apa? If he does not take action against them, others will think it is OK to accuse anyone of anything on the Internet.

We all still remember RPK's lying Statutory Declaration about the PM's wife.

6. Anonymous5:42 pm

You and your friends like Helen Ang tak ada cermin ke? Here you guys are accusing the portals and papers as hate mongers to the government while on the other hand you guys are churning out hate after hate materials to attack the opposition. Dont you guys have a mirror?
    It's all about which side you support really not about what the portal,papers or blogs ethics.

LMAOROTF

7. Anonymous6:17 pm

What do you call a female Benghal who falls flat on her face... tersung kaur... how about 1 single Benghal female who falls flat on her face..... but of course its Jeswan Kaur. Get it? What did U say... racial pundit? No, no, no ... its freedom of speech

1. Anonymous7:13 am

What do you get when a Kerala migrant comes ashore? A arsehole bumi, better than the original! Likewise freedom...

8. Anonymous7:01 pm

Tan Sri,

As a loyal reader I am rather disappointed that you missed the patented Zamlogik(TM) trick here, though you got it half-right on the Petronas article.

How does Zamlogik(TM) work? Let me explain.

Let's assume a fictitious entity called the Federal Examine Ladang Diligently Authority has been placed in the hands of a proven imbecile (fictitious) with a confirmed history of shady financial dealings.

And that said imbecile then proceeds to buy about half a billion's worth of, oooooh, time share apartments in Zurich (say.)

Now the natural reaction will be to say "oi pantat, apa you bikin??? Giler ke?". However, because said imbecile is, oooooh, Mongolian (say), any complaint about his actions or misuse of taxpayer money is anti-Mongolian and hence RACIST.

Ta da!

You don't get to work for Utusan Malaysia unless you can do stuff like this, you know.

Therefore:

If RosMama chooses to fly to the middle east by private jet and then do some shopping afterwards, don't complain because it's...

...all together now...

RACIST!

Tan Sri, please do use the Zamlogik(TM) trick from now on. It's a good one, though of course one does not see "paragraphs laced with hatred and based on unsubstantiated allegations" around these fine parts. No sirree.

PS: I bet Jeswan Kaur is actually Chinese and her real name is Chee Wan Koh.

Hence it's all the fault of the Chinese, though I guess you would have arrived at that conclusion independently.

Me? I'm only in it for the money, I sold my journalistic integrity years go.

9. Someone has mastered the art to shuffle squander to look like gifts. So much, that going on personal trips is Rahsia Besar or else..

10. Anon 5:42PM - "You and your friends like Lim Kit Siang tak ada cermin ke? Here you guys are accusing the portals and papers as hate mongers to the opposition while on the other hand you guys are churning out hate after hate materials to attack the Government. Dont you guys have a mirror?
    It's all about which side you support really not about what the portal,papers or blogs ethics.
    How about it ? I just did some reversed - Did you see the mirror now ?

1. Anonymous7:18 am

Labu, don't lose that name..seems apt for you...hahaha

11. Anonymous7:24 pm

Masakan air berkocak kalau tiada buaya ...

12. Rosmah should sue the writer and do a deterrent to say that one cannot get away with maligning anyone without proof, especially the wife of our prime minister, except with heresy and innuendoes, without having to pay for making unfounded accusations!
    Rosmah please sue!

13. Tongueincheek9:09 pm

I say let Rosmah lose...more she is out and about bringing in billions of RM worth of investment to the country the better.
    In fact let her be PM - obviously she is doing a better job than her husband.
    As for her penchant for Birkin bags and expensive jewellery - let her be. It's her only reward for the fantastic job she is doing representing Malaysia to the fashion & shopping capitals of the world. She doesn't get a salary so this is her only means of reward.
    As for the complaints of her using the Government jet - why the complaints! If she took MAS or another carrier she would take up space that a member of the rakyat may want. Better the govt jet was used than sitting idle on the tarmac.
    In fact I think she deserves her own official jet!

14. Shaby Cheek10:35 pm

Who is this Indian woman to talk about UMNO President's wife. Its all about UMNO stupidity in trying to be nice to Tamils.
    Remember Sri Langka, remember Fiji.
    And most of all remember that iron lady Thatcher who remind Australia the danger of Indian migrants.
    What Rosmah has done is what she thinks is good for the Malays. May be not right but UMNO has the power to change her if they want.
    So Indians should just shut up. Robbing etc was done by Mahathir by giving free planes to Tony Fernandes or monopoly to Ananda Krishnan.

1. Anonymous10:09 am

"May be not right but...."

Go look in the mirror, jaguh kampung.

15. Anonymous11:35 pm

Latukkk hehehe is Bastard again !
    What is your view and opinion regarding the country will go Bankrupt if GST not impose ? Really want you to say something neutral rather than become a satay man . Can or not

16. Anonymous12:07 am

.. Datuk.. depa yang ngaku 'Liberal' nie sebenarnya dengki.. busuk dia sudah sampai ke ulu hati... depa bukan nampak bebenda tu semua.. pasai duduk dalam diri depa.. bagi yang masih waras.. pasti nampak perangai si 'Liberal' nie... ibarat orang mabuk.. mana ngaku depa mabuk.. walau pun jalan hoyong hayang.. tapi bagi 'the silent majority'.. depa nampak semua itu.. itu sebabnya PRU 13, BN masih menang.. sekarang, satu demi satu pekung mereka sudah terserlah... kumpulan depa nie, nak kira undi yang tak sampai seberapa kerat pun mereka boleh silap.. kalau tengok dalam fb.. nampak sangat kelesuannya... macam cerita PM sebelum PRU13.. tak kan dia tak tau yang kaum satu lagi tu memang jenis parasit tegar... tuhan depa pun depa buleh tipu... tapi.. sajalah nak di gebangkan cukup dengan bukti... ini bukan nak ampu sesiapa.. tapi baca lah apa yang tersirat...

17. Anonymous1:56 am

she should be jailed like in most countries

it has gone beyond limit.

please put in jail (for a long time) people like this if she cannot prove her accusations.

18. Anonymous9:42 am

Hard to expect you to notice it but you and your mob are rapidly moving into the irrelevent stratosphere. You all simply refuse to see reality as it is and will be relegated to the Shadow Zone where only the unintelligent roam.

Still, its good to be able to tete a tete in Taman Tun Hero rather than the more elite Bangsar Shopping Centre.

19. Anonymous10:28 am

"Shaby Cheek said...Who is this Indian woman to talk about UMNO President's wife. Its all about UMNO stupidity in trying to be nice to Tamils. Remember Sri Langka, remember Fiji. And most of all remember that iron lady Thatcher who remind Australia the danger of Indian migrants. So Indians should just shut up. Robbing etc was done by Mahathir by giving free planes to Tony Fernandes or monopoly to Ananda Krishnan."

Hilarious.

Jeswan Kaur is a Sikh, not a Tamil or Indian. And it's "Sri Lanka". Don't assume everyone from Sri Lanka or Fiji is Tamil, either.

Thank our education system under UMNO.

Though, you are actually smarter than the real Shabery Cheek.

Congrats.

20. Anonymous11:30 am

This hateful piece by a Ms Kaur shows the present trend in Malaysia where anyone and everyone can say anything they feel or desire and get away with it. You would not find this sort of irresponsible and hateful journalism in one of our neighbouring countries because the authorities there will definitely nip it in the bud. We need to use our laws at some time or other to maintain harmony and ensure stability continues in our country - which can very easily erode if people like Ms Kaur and the news portal she wrote for is given a free run.

1. Anonymous5:29 pm

Amazing how youve completely ignored the drivel Rocky posts in your eloquant quest for peace.

21. Rubbery Cheek12:28 pm

Pasquale,

Why you ask Rosmah to stoop that low, to sue this frustrated Kaur? You don't really like her, ah?

Rosmah is the PM's wife. PM's wives don't sue.

It's that shabby minister Shabby Cheek should take action against FMT. He must tell MCMC to close down FMT. One less lying news portal does not make this country poor.

Heck, a few more won't hurt, come to think about it. CLose down Malaysiakini, Malaysian Insider and Malaysia Chronicle also!!

Think!

22. Anonymous1:32 pm

Jeswan,

So much angst in your hateful writings.

You said, "Whilst Mahathir continues to choke the rakyat with his schisms..."

Oops. Three questionable holes oredi. When does Mahathir choke the rakyat? How? How does one feel when one gets choked? What do you experience when you get choked --- and by Mahathir at that? Do you feel that the choking prevents you from going to the Gurdwara? How about Bangra dance. Can you still dance the Bangra, or does the choking affect that also? Your kids---they aren't prevented from going to school due to the choking, do they?

Ok then in what manner did Mahathir choke the rakyat? You mean choking like ... dying? Or starving? Or strangling?

Perhaps Mahathir "choked the rakyat" by building the tallest twin towers, no? Perhaps your friends got choked when there had been too many tourists and visitors coming to the country, they were deprived of breathing air, no? How about the Penang Bridge. Another grandiose Mahathir project. The rush, the vigor with which businessmen ferry back and forth to Penang with increased speeds, thereby boosting economic pies. Perhaps they got choked with the bridge, yes? Or is it the KLIA you are talking about. People got choked by that?

And wait a minute. You said it is the RAKYAT that gets choked. Why is it that I, a rakyat, don't feel choked? And neither do my mom, my dad, my friends, millions of other Malaysians and---with due respect---your old ungrateful self yourself. Do you get choked? And if you do, are you sure it's by Mahathir? Not, say, by taking too much Dal or Capati?

Oh wait. Mahathir choked the rakyat with his schisms, you said. Are you sure you're using the right word? Schism -- break, breakup, disagreement, divorce, alienation. With who? With the rakyat? Surely not. With the Pembangkang you mean? Ah yes that's more like it. Which country, which government in the world, do not have---err... "schisms"---with their opposition parties? The Republicans with the Dems, the Tories with Labour. So half these people are continously getting "choked"?

Your hateful writing is a pain to read. Not mine. Yours. Reading it, one can feel the agony, convulsion and paroxysm usually associated with ingrates. Yes, ingrate is the right word. How many scores had passed when your grandparents came here, ILLEGALLY INVITED BY THE BRITISH WHO WERE THEMSELVES ILLEGALLY OCCUPYING THIS LAND, and being given free citizenships by our founding fathers. Had they stayed where they belonged, you, my dear Jeswant, would know the true meaning of "choke" and "schism" that you so distastefully apply to our former Prime Minister. Either that, or you would be happily polishing copper dishes in Ramdaspur.

Before you dare regard up my view as something insulting, Jeswant, know that you have already insulted me by adducing untowards and insulting phrases to my co-race, co-religionist former Prime Minister of mine.

And I haven't even begun talking about the other allegations that you have regarding the wife of my present Prime Minister. Nope I don't love Rosmah as much as I don't love my next door neighbour. But does it justify anybody by doing what you your self are doing: using the words "Squander", "Guilty on all counts of Robbing the country" etc. These, if taken in the context that should be taken, really border on Slander and Defamation --- and due to the public readership of FMT, Slander and Defamation of a National Scale.

Are you sure your editors have advised you correctly?

Warrior 1993 of 4096

23. Anonymous1:55 pm

@ Rubbery Cheek,

"Close down Malaysiakini, Malaysian Insider and Malaysia Chronicle also!!"

Yes, please.

I enjoy having my pocket raped by the gomen, and not knowing about it. Blissful ignorance is what the gomen wants us to live under.

All lies, eh?

Without any checks and balances your 12-year-old car would taken off the road and your assessment (if you're in KL) would have skyrocketed by hundreds of per cent.

And the gomen lapdog media (many of which have been successfully sued for their "truth" *cough*) would have patted the rakyat on the head and said it was all a good thing.

24. Anonymous2:41 pm

Latuk Locky:

If you get 100 letters, of which 80 are critical or simply disgusted with Rosmah, and you discard the 80 letters, you are effectively not passing on the correct information to your bosses in UMNO. Bijan will still think that his wife is the best thing since sliced bread. Worse, the empress still thinks that she has the clothes on, when she is actually naked.

I can tell you now that 90 pct of who I speak to are simply disgusted with the antics of this woman, and many have used vulgar words to describe their anger. I don't blame them especially when sycophants like you don't want to tell the true story.

25. Anonymous8:01 pm

The Kaur's of this world like the Sing's of this world are affectionately referred to as the "Brawns trust of India". Not the "Brains trust of India".

That ought to explain much of her contempt for a woman whose achievements Kaur can only salivate at.

A Jagah by class a Jaga by creed a Jagah by her writing albeit one without the plum job of Jagaing Rosmah. She does not have the mandate to jagah the conscience or the rights of the "rakyat". Why not just say the people?

26. Anonymous9:05 pm

11:30 am,

"This hateful piece by a Ms Kaur shows the present trend in Malaysia where anyone and everyone can say anything they feel or desire and get away with it. You would not find this sort of irresponsible and hateful journalism in one of our neighbouring countries because the authorities there will definitely nip it in the bud. We need to use our laws at some time or other to maintain harmony and ensure stability continues in our country - which can very easily erode if people like Ms Kaur and the news portal she wrote for is given a free run."

Well, I have a problem here, in that I am a paid pro-umno blogger and my very clear brief from my paymasters is that I need to ferment racial (preferably, anti-Chinese) sentiment on my blog. This is so the fading regime in power can scare the wider Malay population into voting for umno in the next election, and hence so my paymasters can continue to help themselves to the nation's wealth.

I, too, indulge in "irresponsible and hateful journalism" - in fact it makes Ms Kaur's look tame. But "our laws...to maintain harmony and ensure stability" are not applied to me, because the gomen will cover my ass. I work for them, remember?

I do feel an occasional twinge of guilt about what I do, but hey, the money's good.

Not great, but good.

27. Anonymous10:09 am

"That ought to explain much of her contempt for a woman whose achievements Kaur can only salivate at."

Any examples, my friend?

Of achievements, I mean.

The general Malaysian antipathy towards Kak Ros (I am not saying whether this is justified/ unjustified) is based on a perception (again, whether this is justified/ unjustified, I am not saying) that she just spends too much.

As Mr Rocky points out, Mrs Obama got whacked for this too, so it's not just a Malaysian thing.

If that perception is wrong, perhaps it needs to be corrected, though (please) not by hiring further consultants to polish her image.

28. Anonymous5:10 pm

I remember you saying something -disagreeing, if I remember correctly- about the term First Lady when Pak Lah was still PM; and it was about the ambitious wife of a DPM.

That was the old, free blog you had.

Naj