Friday, June 21, 2013

Those hazy things they say about The Star ..

Hazy Malaysia, from NASA's sat
I must comment that today's lead article on The Star Online does make the largest English-language daily read like a DAP mouthpiece. 
Ngeh's quotes h e r e
It's a  piece about (ultimately) how the advanced people think we should not be felling our trees (like they used to do), quoting NASA and all, but the fact that the MCA-owned newspaper has found it fit to publish the article - as a lead story, too! - when only a DAP chief is being quoted (well, the NGO dude doesn't count, really), automatically puts the authorities in a not-so-good light. Which I'm sure wasn't The Star's intention, or wazzit? 
Surely here's a government spokesman (not just from the Perak MB office, perhaps the Prime Minister's Department?) who would and could comment on the matter and in the even that the reporter is too lazy to get one, the editor should have run the NASA story as it is and get politicians from both sides to comment later. Basic journalism.
Well, I'm just saying but with all the things they have been saying about The Star's political posturing and what-not, this article does make me want to wonder ..

21 comments:

1. Anonymous11:14 am

China MCA pun mudah lupa.
    or Chinese as a whole is easy to be bought, tabloid, wives and the Star included.

2. Anonymous11:24 am

If you follow the Star post election, you cannot help thinking you were reading from the opposition news-letter everyday of the week!

Pak Mid

3. Anonymous11:35 am

The Star is becoming the mouth of the alternative front (PR) or maybe they are very hard trying their best to convince the Chinese back to MCA...they know the Chinese best than Utusan, right?

The real fact...there is One Chinese in Malaysia (world?)...but

FELDAson

4. Yes Sir, you're right. I have since recently started boycotting this "wolf in a sheep's skin" newspaper.

5. Anonymous12:13 pm

He is learning from Rocky ma. Always take story from 'one' side. The side that you like.

6. Anonymous12:51 pm

Yes, they should have gotten government spokesperson to comment.
    However, I never saw it as 'political posturing' initially, as I'm a passionate advocate of the environment and this is news that interest me greatly, politics aside.
    Perhaps it's the state of journalism today? That everyone is pressed for time and news has to go whether they get the relevant people to comment or not? Just a thought.

farha

farha

7. JohorMali12:56 pm

Bro Bru,
    Everybody ( I mean the Melayus) should resign to the fact that there is indeed a racial divisiveness from the days of ol' Malaya to the present high tech Malaysia.
    Try hard if you may with whatever slogans of unity amongst the various race since Merdeka , the only assimilation that found sucess is the nasi lemak, roti canai and chicken rice. ( Do you know that the cost of petai would not be as prohibitive as it is today if Msian Chinese shy away from that stinky beans?)

8. Anonymous12:58 pm

anu ibra ... good for you , keep reading utusan and Rockybru ok !!

Kah..kah..kah...

9. Anonymous2:15 pm

Wise move by Star by publishing more balanced stories and including opposition views It's circulation will go up
    Don't forget most urbanites(those who might read Star) voted PR Those many readers who boycotted Star might come back

10. green rendang army3:21 pm

Deforestation in Malaysia is going on at an alarming rate. We don't need NASA to tell us that. Look at the message sent to us. But then as usual you guys give more importance to who the messenger is.
    If Orang Putih says it, it means that they have a sinister agenda,however when the same Orang Putih praises Malaysia, it becomes headlines for days on end.
    Well The Star is lots better than the LYING FACED UTUSAN.

1. Anonymous3:52 pm

Tadi nak beli utusan habis plak.

11. Anonymous3:42 pm

ok lorr..

najib has become chinese wat.. ah jib gor..

mca ka, dap ka, sama saja.. asal cina..

1. Anonymous10:28 pm

Najb pulak penjilat cina...

12. Its simple. News about the bad things government is doing sells. News about the good things that government is doing also sells. The problem is government is not doing enough good things.

Im sure they are making a killing because people just cannot help reading about the governmenr doing bad things. You cant expect nst to say bad things about the government.

13. Anonymous4:15 pm

Check out the stats pls. Thought kedah and kelantan are the most effected while under PAS govt.

14. shpensi 2,347The post election press/media scenario has unearthed some strange bedfellows indeed.

The former pro oppo Malaysian Insider is now serenading the government in order to stay off death row while the MCA owned Star is definitely yet deviously posturing itself as pro oppo now in order to remain relevant.

It all boils down to dollar$ and Cent$ in the end, doesn't it?

15. Dear Dave Avran,

Very true, indeed. But I've always considered Insider as a legit news portal. Whatever people say, Jahabar and Leslie are journalists and they were hire journalists to do journalists' work. You can't go wrong there. Malaysiakini, on the other hand, is different. It's more like a think-tank of the Opposition that cleverly employs journalism as a means to achieve a political end.

1. jorge7:27 pm

Why can't we adopt the same strategy?

16. Anonymous1:39 pm

BN supporters say the Star is pro-DAP.
    PR supporters say the Star is pro-BN.

These opposing viewpoints balance each other more or less. So the Star can wear these as badges of honour or as proof of its neutrality.

Thus both sides of the divide have unwittingly collaborated in elevating the Star which continue to be one of the more profitable newspapers.

17. Anonymous11:59 am

Anon 1:39;

Very true. By doing this it projects an illusion of fairness and balanced media to the fence sitters and moderates. After building this trust, it is much easier to plant in pro BN pieces without the masses realising it is propaganda.

But this "anti Star" movement by certain quarters in BN reeks of a power struggle. It is very much like the USSR and communist countries where party cadres will denounce each other as spies and traitors to rise up in the ranks of the party.

18. Anonymous11:15 am

It is amusing to read the way one of the anti-Star blogger labels it as a scissor stabbing its owner MCA (and thus BN) in the back. She expect the Star to behave more like some kind of MCA newsletter. Would you pay RM1.20 to buy a party newsletter?