Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Why there won't be a "tsunami" this time around

You can feel it in the air. Back in 2008, there was a creeping national anger directed at an administration that was sleeping on its job. It was a powerful catalyst, more so because the anger was felt and shared by political rivals and, more potently, by those who were not aligned to either the Opposition or the Government. 

Today, a fortnight away from the 13th General Election, 5 years after the historic March 3 2008 outcome, that feeling is not there anymore. The Najib Razak administration has not been sleeping on the job. He's brought improvements, major positive changes, and reforms (transformation is his preferred word) since taking up office in 2009 by pushing very, very hard. Even the tireless Dr Mahathir Mohamad concedes that his successor's successor probably works harder than he did when he was PM.

Back then in Sleepyland, you had Dr M working hard against the BN government led by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi for reasons I know we all who were involved then remember but which I shall not discuss for good manners. Also, the bloggers were being isolated, sued, jailed, ostracized, circumcized, etc. RPK, Jeff Ooi, Rocky Bru, Sheikh Kickdefella, Big Dog, AKJ, Nuraina Samad etc .. Ah, all the troublemakers! Even the newbies back then, such as Haris Ibrahim and Zorro who later became big pro-Pakatan bloggers, were part of "us". These bloggers all and without exception rallied behind and beside - who else? - Dr M. The pact was influential, forceful, and again very potent. (The likes of Papagomo, Parpukari, and the UMB bloggers and the Komtar cybertroopers had not been born; when they came, they changed and enriched the landscape further).

Today, Dr Mahathir is working hard FOR the BN government. And the BN government hasn't been demonizing him like it did before PRU12. In fact, even before Najib announced the PRU dates, the former PM was already firing scuds into enemy territories, earning himself a legal suit threat from Lim Kit Siang, several police reports, and a whole new huge following. 

To be con'd ... 

49 comments:

1. Anonymous12:31 pm

Woit Rocky....less than a month Madey will be ending up like the great Hosni Mubarak !!

This time bukan lagi tsunami tapi 'People Power' against evil corrupt UMNO/BN Regime.

2. Anonymous12:47 pm

Since the first Tsunami was in 1969 and the 2nd one 2008, the conclusion should be: "Tsunami only visit us once in every 40 years"!

Based on that, the next one is expected to visit us only on 13th of May, 2048. That is far from now, just cast the vote and no worry about the 2048 Tsunami!

3. Anonymous12:57 pm

Yup, can't agree more. Back then the atmosphere was tense and hostile.

4. Anonymous12:58 pm

Tsunami may or may not occur even if there is a shift on the tectonic plate. Small shift will only produce tremor but not Tsunami.

Lately there is a huge shift of the tectonic plate within PR and whether that would cause a Tsunami or whether PR has the will to prevent a Tsunami, we can only wait and see!

5. Anonymous1:06 pm

We know you are a spin doctor but surely even you must believe that your comments are bordering on the comical!

6. Anonymous1:08 pm

We know you are a spin doctor but surely even you must believe that your comments are bordering on the comical!

7. Anonymous1:13 pm

Are you joking. Mahatir and Perkasa are your problems Enriching cronies, UMNO families and Mahatir's sons are serious problems. MSM are problems. How about the independence of our judiciary, police and MACC. How about cowgate, submarinegate and unresolved high profile murders. Rocky just like Badawi you are a sleeping blogger

8. Anonymous1:28 pm

BN can win strongly this time

Choo

9. Anonymous1:33 pm

Look at Terengganu candidates. There might be another tsunami

10. Anonymous2:23 pm

as a BN supporter we are really fed up with MM, Perkasa and all those nuts who came in and kacau our works like as tho' they are calling the shots with all sorts of nonsense rhetorics angering the fence sitters,moderate middle class, professionals away. we have lost those groups for good bru jeopardising all our hard work.we are in the field we know better than u .

11. Anonymous2:30 pm

When Rocky says no tsunami, he is actually saying there WILL BE a tsunami. Typical spin doctor paid by BN to fabricate facts and turn it into cerita dongeng.

12. Anonymous2:40 pm

lol. stop puffing the magic dragon bro!

13. arizmaya2:45 pm

true.. during pru12, the opposition won unprecedented number of seats not due to popular votes but they were the beneficiary of protest votes including from disenchanted UMNO/BN members and suppoters like yours truly

we were angry with Pak Lah and the way he franchised the running of the country to his 4th floor boys. We wanted to send a very strong signal to him that every thing is not okay hoping that the election result would have jolted him from his slumber.

Basically, there were 3 categories of BN/UMNO supporters/members.
    1. Those who felt angry and they deicided not to vote but to stay home.

2. Those who decided to give their votes to the opposition not that because they believe in or love the opposition but it is just that their anger to Pak Lah override their hate for the opposition. And your truly was in this category.

3. Those who do not want to vote BN or opposition but still want to make a statement at the box. They did this by spoiling their votes. And it comes to no surprise when pru12 recorded unprecedented highest number of spoilt votes in election history... so much so that some seats were won on majority less than the number of spoilt votes.

evidently..much water has flowed under the bridge and the current administration has done tremendous job to assuage the then 'angry' factors which led to the tsunami. On the contrary.. if one were to put their ears on the ground.. one will hear many 'angry' factors working against the opposition especially against PAS and PKR. Their time bomb is ticking and will exploded come May 3rd.

14. Anonymous2:46 pm

But there is still anger from us the hardcore BN supporter. With Najib still choosing Khairy the corrupted (with him follows the 4th floor boys) is really insulting to us who have been supporting BN through all this time. No matter how i try to comprehend it, its still very dissapointing that this country traitor still allowed to contest.
    There is still time to make the change, and i as a voter and advocate of BN,really hope that Najib in his right of mind would not let this liability be a candidate.
    Remember how you fought hard to end his and his father in law regime?, it will all go down to drain if this continues.
    Me and family was so exited to return to Perak and vote for BN. But now hearing KJ is still in the list, we have second thought. Maybe the best action is not to vote, again..

Misterzizou

15. Anonymous2:50 pm

Be clear about what U all are expecting, folks!

If there is Tsunami, not only one group would suffer but 3 - pro Bn, Pro-Oppo and fence sitter!

16. Anonymous3:02 pm

Good observation rock.

The tsunami is: wipe out racist DAP, backward pAS, and hupocrite PkR from malaysian face

17. Anonymous3:11 pm

Anyone not seeing how BN aka UMNO is plundering and stealing the country money, must be blind.

18. Anonymous3:12 pm

Finally Dato,you have made the right conclusion the reason why Tsunami 08 happened,imagine dato 40% of Umno member,80% of MCA and 80% of MIC voted the opposition in 08,thats = to 1 million vote swing,this GE13 total of BN member 98% behind BN,a 5 million vote is sure in the bag(from BN members alone!),only 20% of fence sitter vote is BN required for 2/3rd majority,imagine that! Tun Daim onbservation were spot on,even all those analyst and those stupid profesor cant see this fact and reality in their analysis.

19. Bloggers were being circumsized? Ouch :-)

Sorry Datuk, but I don't agree that the Komtar cybertroopers have changed and enriched the landscape further. They have dirtied and sullied cyberspace with their bullying tactics.

20. BNationalFeedLOOTkorp3:39 pm

Ada RM500,000,000 + RM250,000,000 + 500,000 Hantus...
    apa takut apa susah tiada gelisah!!!???

21. Anonymous3:43 pm

No lah, this time the tense is denser Bro! The hatred is more. The scandal is more. The corruption is more. You are just writing to pacify people. Tak makan la Bro.

22. Anonymous3:45 pm

Jubilant, euphoria, excitement, ecstatic, elated (I'm running out of adjective here, please help..) filled the air when Najib and other BN state leaders announced the candidates and handed out the nomination certificates to its knights. You could feel a sense of optimism by looking at their faces. It was contagious. You would be lying if you're not affected by the mood, in one way or another. These are the guys who're going to do battle for BN. Hard work begins now.
    You could also see some happy and fresh faces of Gen Y candidates. The future Malaysian leaders. Ready to rumble and grind it out in the Federal capital and the states of Perak and Johor. Ready for the life as politicians. Ready to plunge into the water of Malaysian politics at its most volatile time. Winning those seats would mean launching a political career as first term parliamentarian and state assemblymen. I have never felt this kind of excitement. I wish them luck!

23. Anonymous4:10 pm

Agree! There will be another tsunami in trg just like 1999

24. Anonymous4:23 pm

Hello anon 1.13,
    Nothing new kaa...
    you are so 2008 laa..
    everybody now talking ETP..BR1M ..PR1MA..RAPID ..KL-Spore train..1MDB TRE...
    ..too many to mention la..

wak

25. Anonymous5:11 pm

granted mr najib is working hard but the results are not there yet, and his effords are mostly for the middle class, so not much coverage, so rocky bru , don't spin too much , unless it for the money you are paid for , also don't look down on the geowing maturity of the voters, they can bring tsunami as well especially the young, female and the diggruntled group..........

26. nj anuar5:29 pm

anon 1.13

typical of pkr to make such idiotic claim. kononnya they are holier than thou la.

cowgate- settled(shes not even contesting)

high profile murders- entah ada proof ke kau.

independence of judiciary- yes I agree with you, anwar is back in sg buloh for sodomy 2 case.

police and macc - remember bersih 3.0you and your pakatan goons made the police car and its officer like some punching bag, stamped on the car, injuring the policemen on duty + civilians. civilised betul.

macc - when tbh was killed pkr goons would go all out to the streets crying for justice, bila sharbini pen pengarah kastam meninggal senyap pulak. ye lah melayu, no affiliation with dap.

submarinegate- I know someone who can answer u well, he's the commander
    of the sub. a close friend, so close that im asked to take a look at his apt while he's in Sabah. not pencacai atau kuli dia, tapi kawan. what are friends for. my email
    mohdnajib76@gmail.com maybe he can explain to you better. I know nuts about sub.

27. Anonymous5:53 pm

Bro. Rocky. I think this time the tsunami will on you and your kind and it will be final for Dr. M and family.

Time for change is coming on 5th may, 2013.

28. dergahgrill6:05 pm

Good on yer, Bru!

I take it that that you are a fan of Dr M and what he espouses?

Is he still playing up the "Malay Dilemma"?

That doesn't say much for his years of untrammelled power or for what's happened in Malaysia post-Merdeka.

Is Dr M an unconverted and unrepentant Malay supremacist?

If he is, why should young Malaysians buy into his views and arguments, seeing as how are they are devoid of both common sense and geopolitical reality?

Maybe, Bru, you can spin that for him?

29. Anonymous6:26 pm

Thats right. In 2008, before March 8, we were predicting BN will win again with a landslide. Opposition would only keep Kelantan.

30. Anonymous8:07 pm

No Rocky,

You are so wrong. Look at all 16 BUY-election after 308..

it's 50-50.

People not feeling safe both in house and street..

Corruption at max and no action.

Millions going down drain to fund collapsing building or even stadiums because contract given to cronies.

I would rather not to vote than voting for BN.

31. Anonymous8:20 pm

5:53

You are so immature. Commenting like a stupid child.

32. Anonymous8:23 pm

6:05 -- YOU are the one devoid of common sense. Jealous and silly.

33. Anonymous8:26 pm

anon6:26

Hello asshole. We are talking about 2013, in case you are so ignorant.

34. Anonymous10:06 pm

bru,

pd pru12 saya undi dari sebelum ini bn kepada pakatan utk perubahan. pas dan pkr. ramai pengundi seperti saya ini. tapi apa yang kita dapat selepas itu? mereka tidak perform. apakah kami akan undi lagi pakatan? jawapannya dah tentulah tidak. dan pakatan perlu ingat. jangan mendabik dada terlalu sombong dan angkuh. kami sudah tunjukkan jalan kepada bn pada pru12 yang lepas. dan kami akan tunjukkan jalan yang sama kepada pakatan pula kerana sifat angkuh sudah begitu kuat dalam diri pakatan. kemenangan kalian hasil dari undi orang macam saya. itu fakta yang pakatan kena terima. dan dengan sikap angkuh diri itu tidak akan membuatkan kami undi pakatan lagi.

35. SK Thew10:21 pm

Rocky - Wowwww, I like your confidence. :)

36. Anonymous10:31 pm

Right now it's calm before a storm. Malaysians have already decided who to vote. They are just waiting for that day. After May5, BN will be swept away.

37. Anonymous10:52 pm

Datuk Rocky,

I agree with you. In 2008, out of hatred towards Pak Lah and his administration, some of the Malays either abstained from voting or voted for the opposition. This time around, PM Najib has earned our trust to lead Malaysia to vision 2020. The Malays will come in full force to vote for BN/UMNO in GE 13.
    We also change Pakatan's slogans:-

ABU TO ABCD (ASALKAN BUKAN CINA DAP)

UBAH TO ABAI (ASALKAN BUKAN ANWAR IBRAHIM)

INI KALI LAH TO LAIN KALI LAH!

BN/UMNO here we come!

38. Anonymous12:06 am

3:11

I'll show YOU how blind YOU are. Ask nga kor ming how his wife obtained a contract to supply jackets to the Perak govt during the short period pkr was in power - and she supplied at 3 times the normal price. Only a few months in office already corrupted.

If you have shit in your pants dont tell others of the shit in their pants.

39. Anonymous12:11 am

Support bn 100%....

40. Anonymous4:16 am

Mr Latuck,

Daim was right about 2008 Tsunami. 2013, Daim hinted that pendulum will swing back..

If Dap supremo stay put in Ipoh Timur-Timur and if the pendulum swing back, PR will take supremo to task.

He can actually sails to Tanjung but the memory of Tanjung 1 and 2 which is still not completely blacken out would create more unpleasant memory if Penang also to have a pendulum swing.

Why than the supremo ventures into GP? Most likely explanation is that: 1. if voters happened to be with him, he will get hefty credit from PR. 2. if not, as usual, just replay the racist card!

41. Anonymous7:24 am

I'll show YOU how blind YOU are. Ask nga kor ming how his wife obtained a contract to supply jackets to the Perak govt during the short period pkr was in power - and she supplied at 3 times the normal price. Only a few months in office already corrupted.

If you have shit in your pants dont tell others of the shit in their pants.

IS IT TRUE? WE THOUGHT ONLY BN CORRUPTED WHICH THE PAKATAN KEEP REPEATED TIME AND AGIN???

IS IT TRUE PAKATAN CORRUPTION IS FAR MORE WORSE (TO THE CORE!!) THAN BN ESPECIALLY THE DAP BECAUSE THEIR CORRUPTION STYLE IS SO SECRETIVE THAT UNCOMPARABLE?

LOOKING AT PENANG...EMMM...NO WONDER...ACCUSING OTHER OF CORRUPTED THEY THEMSELVE IS DOING MORE heinous ACT. BUT YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THE CHINESE DAP,BLOOD IS THICKER THAN WATER, FOR ME NO MORE DAP VOTE IN PENANG!!! NO MORE VOTE FOR DAP DUN OR PARLIAMENT!! NO MORE VOTE FOR DAP FULL STOP!!!

WE THE CHINESE COMMUNITY, GOING TO TEACH THEM A LESSON THIS TIME!!!!

1. Anonymous12:42 pm

6 billion tunnel project while 2nd bridge under construction.....ops sorry typo error 4 billion only....

42. Anonymous7:28 am

Tsunami you say?

Yeah this time around we going to burried the DAP lead pakatan to the earth core!

43. Anonymous10:49 am

i voted for pakatan last time...i made a big mistake...the country is chaotic..demos here and there...Lahad Datu ...AI going round the world bad mouthing his own country with the help of the Americans..etc etc ..ENOUGH !!!!!

44. a word to both parties:
    Never believe your own press....

2008 was no Tsunami - as it was not an overwhelming victory for either party.
    2008 was just the beginning of a sea change in Malaysian politics.

We have had more young people registering and even more access to alternative information.
    Tun Mahathir is not the influence he once was.
    Perkasa has come in and Hindraf has dropped off.
    The Malay middle class is larger.
    If you look at polls - there are more fence sitters than ever before.

Thus everything is to play for and candidates better knwo what they stand for....

45. datuk rocky,

it may boil down to who the candidates are.

you know datuk, it's virtually impossible to make everyone happy.

KJ may have wielded a lot of power during the 4th floor boys' days but real politik dictates he is a winnable candidate.

though within umno kj is considered a liability, the young like him for his charisma and debating skills. the non malays too see him as a future leader.

also why do we still find names like isa samad, annuar musa et al its because they are respected figures at grassroot level, so do not discount that...

the pakatan meanwhile are hoping for those below 35 to vote for them while clinging on to the chinese vote. they may or may not succeed...

i believe and i pray for BN to win. a strong government is important to chart our own course. a respectable opposition who do not resort to politics of hate is also important to provide the check and balance.

but Pakatan Rakyat may not be able to fit into those shoes.

46. Anonymous12:03 am

My company is a very good source of reference to predict outcome of election. The staff came from all states in Malaysia. I can see their behaviour. I can sense the feeling of all these staff. In 98, there was reformasi, in 2004 all staff are happy, while in 2008, there exists sense of hate although I did not expect BN will loose its two third. For ge13, the bn votes will be between 48 to 60%.

47. Anonymous11:11 pm

The best thing that can happen for Selangor PR is Zulkifli Noordin for Shah Alam. Looks like he will be a far better catalyst to unite PR against the BN.