Friday, November 12, 2010

Netbook for the Boondocks

AND SEX FOR AIRTIME. My latest column in The Malay Mail is entitled Netbook for Boondocks and is where I agree, for the first time in a long time, with Information, Communication and Culture Minister Rais Yatim ... with regards to bringing in the anti-graft men to investigate his RM1 billion netbook-for-the-boondocks scheme.

I learned only AFTER finishing my column about noon yesterday (Thursday) that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) had, indeed, opened investigation into Rais's MCMC or Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission, on which the RM1 billion netbook scheme nestles.

Later in the day, after we'd put the day's edition to bed, I was told that the Auditor-General's office had also requested documents form the MCMC re the RM5 billion Universal Services Provisions (USP) fund, also under Rais's watch.

What nobody is looking into yet - and somebody should! - is the Sex-for-Airtime scandal reported by Jailani Harun in his blog Just Read. In Airtime Scandal, Jai wrote:
"Its all about this guy again, and the TV station he controls. Maybe its not his fault (in this case) but he should know and apply some controls here.

"(I dont want to mention his name here as I dont want any police reports be lodged against me). I just want to ask him - does he know about one ANUAR who gets a few hundred hours of airtime with the TV station?"
 Mmmm ...  police report?

25 comments:

1. Rocky shout..MACC acts.
    Lim Kit Siang or Anwar shouts... no actions.
    Rocky very powerful la.
    hhhmmm..SEX...CORRUPTIONS and tons of SCANDALS....all from teeni weenie Malaysia....all know where they are coming from.

2. Anonymous10:40 am

Dear Rocky. Thank you for opening the can of worms called MCMC. I hope something good can come out of this and help sweep out the corrupt goons in there.

3. Anonymous11:33 am

Jgn percaya sama bujai.

DJ Remy

4. Anonymous11:59 am

I am not a war cheer leader or anything like that, but after following your blogs, looks like you are making a good comeback. Bravo bro! At least you have some "bullets" to fight back.

Cheers!

5. Rocky, you and I sudah kena TIPU.According to the papers,MCMC paid RM 830 for the netbook which much higher than the price of 500 ringgit if you buy from Low Yatt.When you buy in bulk like 300000 units, it should be cheaper than RM 500.But what MCMC paid for is almost double the correct price.From this analysis,somebody is making BIG BUCKS from this deal.That is why the GOVT of MALAYSIA is BANKRUPT with Minister and senior civil servants collaborating to corrupt govt funds.

6. Anonymous1:03 pm

Bujai is merely trying to create a patsy, so that people will forget the RAIS-USF scandal and jump into the more sexually meaty airtime scandal. Sounds to me, Bujai is a soldier of fortune for RICE Yaaah teeem.

Boo Jai.

7. If your enemy is secure at all points, be prepared for him.

If he is in superior strength, evade him.

If your opponent is temperamental, seek to irritate him.

Pretend to be weak, that he may grow arrogant.

If he is taking his ease, give him no rest.

If his forces are united, separate them.

If sovereign and subject are in accord, put division between them.

Attack him where he is unprepared, appear where you are not expected.

- Sun Tzu, the Art of War

Jangan main-main sama Bro Rocky.

8. Anonymous2:45 pm

The difference is when Rocky shouts he backs with facts fed from his network of reliable sources.
    Thats the difference between a seasoned journo and a loud mouthed politician. One is beign feared by those who are guilty,at the same time gains respect from the informed public.
    The other is just like a barking dog and seen as big joke.

Don't play play with Rocky..:)

9. Anonymous4:14 pm

where got lks or anwar shout? they only shout unreasonable things like change constitution, give privilege to chinese to own more than the 80% that they are owning now. or kutuk sultan, or kutuk islam, or mengata melayu. nothing else...

ross.

10. Anonymous4:57 pm

Hello Rocky, great work. Please can we open an agenda on Astro/Measat - exclusivity, spectrum usage. There are people at MCMC who are serving MEASAT for their own personal gains.

11. Anonymous7:30 pm

Bro kitaorg tahu MCMC bukannya Angel pun...confirm ada kutu2 gak..anyway bosanla topik..bring back the old rock with hot issues. Sampai piliharaya kecik pun u x cover. Pelik la..

Letih

12. Anonymous8:14 pm

X usah heboh sgt dgn blogger Bujai. Mungkin ade udang disbalik batu. Zaman ni, ramai yg sanggop tikam kawan, kaum keluarga diblakang semata mata utk wang ringgit. Tiba tiba aje Blogger Bujai sangkotkan Airtime Anuar dlm skandal seks. Kebetolan, ni meredakan keadaan genting lagi aib sdiri, Rais Yatim. Ade blogger yg rela jadi tali barot, balaci dan baruah Rais, semata mata beberape helaian ringgit. S'kian. DJ Bujai.

13. Anonymous8:30 pm

Anuar Zain?

14. Anonymous9:18 pm

If LGE can help the federal government to introduce CAT I think MACC would run out of business.

Malaysian must unite together as 1Malaysia and invite LGE to take office in Putrajaya after GE13.

White cat black cat, so long as it can catch mice is a good cat...... Deng Xiao Ping

15. Anonymous12:13 am

bru

anon 8.14, dj reme and boo jai are the same people. i know him for his fierce attacks on blogger bujai. bujai doesnt know him but i do. if u want to know why he is against bujai, let us meet up. i will e-mail u my phone no.

be careful with this dj reme. he is angry with bujai and any other bloggers who write bad things about his boss.

will tell u about in my e-mail

- mat desa -

16. Anonymous2:47 am

Deng Xiao Ping ,

Had LKS been effective all those 50over years, Malaysia will not be facing with all these huha huha Corruption etc TODAY..

Dia too busy korek apa pun entah ler.. the last I heard, some parts of their states, everyone so busy KOREK PASIR...

hmmmmmmm, dulu mula mali Timah kasi kolek.... timah habis... pasir pun mau kasi kolek......

17. Anonymous8:13 am

keep it up roki,sampai settled. this mcmc bukan benda kecik, never never sweep under the carpet, or it will lurk its ugly head again when we dont want it to, bila nak pilihanraya nanti.

kalau big boss tah settle benda ni, pasti akan merosak kan nanti.

we need mother of all suruhanjaya lah. suruhanjaya yang menjaga semua suruhanjaya yang lain, sebab surhanjaya suruhanjaya ni semua macam pagar makan padi.

-adik tiri kepada mak segala suruhanjaya-

18. pribumi1:52 pm

Bujai belongs to a `think tank'? I wonder which think tank he belongs to. He's more of an empty tank. The usual tong kosong will make the loudest noise. Though, i usually do not agree anyone resort to police report to shut up some one's mouth, but in the case of Bujai, I would support anyone who wants to sue him. It's pro bono by me.

I do not know from adam who this Anuar is, but I would defend him, just to stop this budaya fitnah. Nama pun memang bujai, what can one expect out this man's brain...nothing but shit.

19. nonamanis1:58 pm

George Choo,

How come you compare with Low Yatt. Everything is illegal, the software, the hardware, even Kleware (ask ny Kelantanese, what it is) would be sold underprice. Pls la compare with genuine outlets/authorised outlets dealers, than it would more sense and become more credible. Of course, you don't get the contract you komplen ma, tapi kalau lu dapat itu kontlek, u pun mesti kam tim sama itu Bujai boy.

20. Anonymous2:10 pm

mat desa do you have any sisters?

21. Anonymous4:39 pm

Since this matter has already been investigated by the MACC, leave it to the authorities! Let's not make emotional judgement. Dato' Seri Utama Dr Rais Yatim has openly welcome the MACC, so let the professionals do their work. Dato Seri Utama, the truth will prevail. People should make judgement based on facts and the facts is that a lot of people have benefited through the hard work of KPKK and let's not forget that DSU Dr Rais has surpassed his Ministry's KPI for 50% Broadband penetration before the year end. People in rural areas have at least some if not better connectivity since DSU Dr Rais took up this port folio. These are facts.

22. Anonymous4:38 pm

Anon 4.39, u meaning to tells me that because Rais Yatim have surpassed his KPI, he can use USF money ment for infrastructure to buy net books instead? F off lah.
    Anon 2.10, yes got sister, why your interesting?

Mat Desa

23. Anonymous5:21 pm

If Rocky is on this road, I am sure BN will get my vote come GE 13.

But Rocky has to follow up on his expose, and not "hangat hangat tahi ayam."

Get to the very bottom, not halfway, and if it involve VIP, Rocky must take the heat.

24. Anonymous10:31 pm

salam tok....

untuk kelas atasan...INSENTIF,KOMISEN BLA BLA BLA...
    untuk kelas bawahan...SUBSIDI,SUBSIDI,SUBSIDI!
    kalau yg selalu kena hentam hanyalah kelas bawahan....digelar warga yg mentaliti sudsidi.

PAK BRATA

25. Anonymous3:19 pm

Mat Desa,

Before any true findings, all are just hearsay without facts! Dun need to F off someone. Think maturely and not emotionally. Leave the matter to the authority.