Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Rushing a legacy, Pak Lah?

If you missed the tabling of the Judicial Appointment Commission Bill in Parliament this morning, click here.

And if you're not asking the same question A Voice is asking, i.e. What's the hurry, Abdullah Badawi? then consider the (hitherto unreported) fact that the 4th Floor is forcing this Bill through despite gaping holes pointed out by those involved in the discussions.

I heard the Chief Justice and the Attoney-General had reservations, too. Everyone else except the 4th Floor had reservations. But someone's got to have some legacy, so let someone else (Najib?) deal with the consequences of having a Act done in haste, man.

I think the JAC is a good thing. But you rush something as important as this, you can't help but wonder.

43 comments:

1. Every outgoing PM had a legacy..sort of legacy..being remembered as the Father of something!Pak Lah's "reforms" will not make him to be remembered as the Father of anything
    simply because the so-called "reforms" are cosmetic in nature and are being rushed through with Pak Lah's legacy in mind , even though he denies it!

2. Anonymous10:08 pm

Oh my! I miss another part in Lee Ah Chai's promotion list. The internal movements. Here's the movement planned by Lee Ah Chai and Lionel Morais.

Chan Cheng Tuan from rewrite desk to News Editor, Streets

Sittamparam from general news desk to Streets

M.K. Megan from Streets to News Desk

Minderjeet Kaur from Streets to News Desk

Malina from Streets to Supplement.

* Next lists in Rocky's new posting
    ** Wahab HR is preparing the promotion letter. It should be out before our year end party at KMH's place this Friday - Bangsar Seafood (insider trading). If not, ask Lee Ah Chai and Lionel Morais
    *** Those promoted, let's form a ring around Lee Ah Chai and Lionel Morais and dance around them - a lap of honour for promoting us
    **** To those who are not promoted. Don't be distraught. Please turn up for the party. There are jars of liquid to ram down your throat. Drown your sorrows. Anyway you don't deserve a promotion because you are not Adrian David. You simply don't deserve it PERIOD

COOKIE

3. a legacy in three months? wow!

4. Anonymous10:46 pm

it not rush, then pak lah will ask for additional term as PM, maybe 2010. By this time, Reezal & KJ will be minister. For your information, Reezal will be appointed as deputy minister in this new minister lineup.

zamri, sunway semenyih

5. Anonymous10:46 pm

it not rush, then pak lah will ask for additional term as PM, maybe 2010. By this time, Reezal & KJ will be minister. For your information, Reezal will be appointed as deputy minister in this new minister lineup.

zamri, sunway semenyih

6. Anonymous11:10 pm

What legacy u talkin bru! He'll be remembered as the weakest etc...

BTW, Datuk Seri HAJI Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan is hosting a funfilled beer all round party for NST staff this Friday (Dec 12)- four days after HARI RAYA HAJI - Watch out for guest-of-honour n Spore Spy Brendan Pariah!

SAW THIS POSTING RECENTLY. It could be one of Badawi's legacy on Islam-Ada-Hari: ... HAJI Kalimullah Masheerul Hassan's 'upsidedown' life after returning from the Haj sometime in 2004/05:
    1) Opened a restaurant serving LIQUOR in Bangsar - Vicenzo Italiana
    2) Led NST/BH INSULTING the Prophet
    3) Used FENGSHUI to change NSTP's fortune
    4) Umno-linked NSTP promotes ANTI-ISLAM n ANTI-MALAY views
    5) Organised LIQUOR PARTIES for NSTP staff ...

CONGRATS!

7. Anonymous11:24 pm

Dear Rocky
    Yes it is indeed perplexing why the PM is rushing the bill. It is said to give ACA more clout and perceive as being independent. The most critical factor is whether the new body or commission is willing to take action or investigation without fear against the Ikan Paus. If only ikan bilis being hit and investigated, the legacy for Pak Lah is ???? well its has been said many times...no much repeating.

8. One word bro......CRAP

:)

9. Anonymous2:47 am

bro,
    i heard the comms are the tools to stay in power and January, something big gonna happen. Something that will make sure he stays in power.

I hope i'm wrong.

-spoiler-

10. A legacy of what? Now that he is relinquishing his post and most probably retiring from the spotlight, this was his second big chance he squandered to actually do something for Malaysia, as opposed for his party and cronies. The bills have been described as disappointing as the expected bite and independence that the people had hoped for in the new commission never materialised.

I guess old habits die hard.

The first opportunity was when he got the big mandate in GE 2004. I remembered Pak Lah re-appointing the suspect faces which the electorate wanted out - Samy, Rafidah and the likes. There goes the neighbourhood I thought.

Now, with his imminent withdrawal, I thought he would have had something for us to actually appreciate his 5 years in office. but no, this was simply cosmetics.

It's business as usual - and that would be par for the course for Najib too. In fact, the guy who knows the story behind Altantuya will probably the real power behind the throne.

All in all, a screwed up government.

11. Papak Munafik should be his title.

12. Why is the rush?
    He wants to stake his legacy
    I know he is sleeping beauty
    He thinks he is in

JAC isn’t independent
    It is still under PM eye
    In his fingers he decides
    So it isn’t at all
    It is just a cosmetic surgery
    It goes back as before

Rushing to finish a job
    It never works
    There are too many loopholes
    No asking appropriate questions
    No finding facts and alternative views
    The plan will just collapse
    Then the mopping up begins
    Waste time and money

BN MPs will thumb the ride
    The sweet cakes and pussy foot drinks
    When tears begin to fall on the people
    They turn around we don’t know
    It is party whip we just followed

13. Anonymous10:53 am

Hello Bro, one of Paklah's most visible and important legacies is the Police Watch Tower around the country. Now most of these towers have been abandoned.
    People say that drug addicts have been making use of the towers to get their fix and to sleep.
    The most interesting story told to date is about couples going up the towers at midnight for a quickie!
    Wow...what a legacy Paklah will leave Malaysians

LEGA SI ANU

14. Anonymous10:53 am

Kpd Anon yg tulis fasal kenaikan pangkat di NSTP,

Ngapa you nak bising2 fasal kenaikan pangkat tu? itu hak merekalah. U pekerja NSTP ke? kalau U tak dpt naik pangkat, carilah jalan macam mana nak ambik hati Boss you. Mungkin yg naik pangkat tu pandai belanja Boss dia. Mungkin ada yang tolong cuci kereta atau hantar beer kat rumah cara senyap2. Itu rentak mereka. Kalau you nak naik pangkat, pandai2lah cari lobang. Mungkin ada yang suka lobang...

Cincai

15. Anonymous11:07 am

Alah Rocky ni.

Buat pun salah. Tak buat pun salah.

Hang jadik PM je lah senang...

AnonIsUs

16. Anonymous12:06 pm

bro,

These bills should be the first thing Dollah have been pushing while he's been known as Mr Clean and not the last he's been rushing as now he's being label as Mr Weak.

He's only legacy is Bapa Mertua KJ.

17. A good and delicious meal needs time and patience to prepare and cook.

What AAB is dishing out is a couple of half baked and half cooked dishes, totally un palatable. But then, we shouldn't expect too much from a HP6 guy.

18. As usual Abdullah Ahmad Badawi won't use his brain and rush things.

He only listened to those with vested interest who makes it sounds as if Malaysia is on a brink of war and these changes are the thing that can stop it.

Yes changes for the better are good.

But changes to please some minority egos against the real needs of the country are a disaster.

This is what happens when one plans to run the country merely on from Ideal Public Relation Textbook.

To make thing worst, we currently have a majority group of brainless YES MAN as MPs for Barisan.

19. Anonymous12:31 pm

You know bro I have this sneaky suspicion that Lah will stay on after March. Expect more of his legacy.
    Remember Kuli said lah has the right to continue since he got a five-year mandate from March elections

20. Lousy bill with so many holes. No independence and more bereucracy. That is the legacy of AAB.

Would NAjib do a better job? If standing by his performance as Finance Minister, I doubt that Najib would do better.

21. Anonymous1:25 pm

Alahai Cincai (10.53am). Apolah kau ni bangang sangat. Org cerito kenaikan pangkat...kau takdo kojo lain, nak cari lobang ajo. Mak ayah kau tak ajar disiplin hidup ko. Takpo Cincai. Kau tanyo Kali macam mano nak sonong hidup dengan minum air setan ajo.

Den Minum Air Cincau

Ngapa you nak bising2 fasal kenaikan pangkat tu? itu hak merekalah. U pekerja NSTP ke? kalau U tak dpt naik pangkat, carilah jalan macam mana nak ambik hati Boss you. Mungkin yg naik pangkat tu pandai belanja Boss dia. Mungkin ada yang tolong cuci kereta atau hantar beer kat rumah cara senyap2. Itu rentak mereka. Kalau you nak naik pangkat, pandai2lah cari lobang. Mungkin ada yang suka lobang...

Cincai

10:53 AM

22. Anonymous2:08 pm

Pak Lah's legacy "Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang and TEMBERANG."

23. The word legacy shouldn't be used in tandem with AAB. It is very insulting to that word.

24. If Pak Lah wanted to extend his stay, do you really think Najib has the ball to say no?

Even now he is under Q Control!

25. >>>

Cincai

<<<<<

Ya, cara Islam Hadhari !

Hidup Rasuah/Arak!

Jangan konpiuskan Islam dengan Islam Hadhari... rentak dia laen.... :p

26. Anonymous7:09 pm

BAPA MERTUA KJ....thats his legacy.

27. hihi folks

let me know how stupid this bill is

http://satdthinks.blogspot.com/2008/12/idiot-logic-test-on-malaysian-judicial.html

28. Anonymous11:02 pm

OK lah since many people condemn Pak Lah, I want to look at his bright side. His willingness to depart from the scene after the poor showing in the GE is something commendable. He's prepared to take responsibility for what I think is largely not his doing. The poor performance was due to issues inherited from Mahathir. The difference was they surfaced during Pak Lah's time. On the contrary, after poor showing in 1999, Mahathir refused to acknowledge that it was due to Anwar's case which was 100% attributable to him. It was very unmahathir to admit mistake. If Pak Lah should decide to stay on, is it a big deal? If Mahathir could hang on for 22 years and in the process ruined everything (from Judiciary to police to AG to what have you)why can't Pak Lah hold on for another 5 years?

frm: mamak muda

29. Anonymous11:45 pm

Harimau mati meninggalkan belang,,,Pa Lah mati meninggalkan SHIT,,,,!!!

-BODO2-

30. Anonymous11:52 pm

Agreed with many of the comments posted before me. This Munafik has just woke up from his golden slumber ... Wali Kota

31. Anonymous12:05 am

Rocky
    The Sleepwalker is probably brewing something under his bed. I use "probably" because i dont have any proof and would not write something on flights of fancy as some might deign to do. But the circumstantial evidence is growing:

1. Hadi's support from SW to continue sleepwalking, an assertion endorsed by Ku Li, another of the old turncoats within the ramparts.

2. LGE's qualified support for the Bills in question.

the signs are clear that the oppo and the trojans are working hand in glove to rush this thing through as they both know that something monumental is afoot. Exactly what? i cannot speculate but it is clear that someone's days could be numbered if he isnt careful. Once that thorn is removed, expect a purge of the cyberworld and the ruling party to mop up the last strongholds of the brave resistance. Wont be surprised that old nemesis from both sides of the fence will reunite and 'yam seng' to a bleak future.

It could be that spoiler and barackah may be proven right in the long run. My paw used to say in the old days never trust a flip flop; a turncoat; a rumour monger and a show-off (people who bleat about their connections, altruistic nature etc.etc). Guess, he was right all along.

32. Anonymous1:46 am

mamak muda is still in denial. Newsflash : Tun left like ages ago bro.

How can pak lah sleeps in meetings got to do with Tun? the 10billion deficit MOF Tun's doing jugak? The had hari hari Tun jugak? The statement 'keje mesti baik-baik' and 'r&d kena buat elok-elok' Tun's doing as well?

U gotta be kidding me.

God!

He has a a legacy alright. A legacy for flips and flops and flips til u drop!

-spoiler-

33. Anonymous2:23 am

Cincai

Cincai,

I write what I want. I am want of those promoted and decorated by Lionel Morais and Lee Ah Chai.

This is a tribute to them. Please do be too envious.

COOKIE

34. Anonymous2:27 am

Is it true DAP had been train by Singapore PAP psyche war team ?

Is it true DAP & PAP planner had identified some malaysian blog website as potential barrier toward their common objective?

Is it true DAP/PAP cyber trooper had been using various method in winning the heart of malay?

Is it true Singapore had started a new political strategy in undermining the next leadership of this country?

Is it true they had ditch Anwar Ibrahim from their game plan?

Rocky, do you realised that you yourself had being used by the Singaporean?

35. Anonymous8:10 am

mamak muda 1102pm...

if mahathir f*cked up the country..you are saying like wise AAB is allowed the freedom to F*ckup also?

What kind of logic is that? leadership is to do bring the country progress and the benchmark is not failed government. In that case we should compare ourselves with Ghana, Zimbabwe and the likes and we should keep AAB for another 20 years?

And your take on his willingness to leave from the scene? What crap are you trying to tell us. There were calls for him to resign for his poor GE showing but he said he will not go. His own UMNO goons and Tun manipulated and forced him to go. Willingness.. my foot.

You can blame Tun for all the baggage AAB inherited..but helloooo...what did he do when he became PM. Mamak Muda..from the time he became PM until he was forced out, he did nothing.

The BIGGEST mistake Tun did was choosing AAB to succeed him.

36. Hello Bro,
    Just wanted to add my 2 cents to this so called legacy. If what I read is true of the two so called reforms then there is no hope or change to our future as true Malaysians. PM should have no say in the proposed JAC or MACC. These two bodies MUST be independent and answerable not to the PM but to Parliament or Yang DiPertuan Agong. Also if the MACC has no prosecution powers then it's all a charade after all as the PM (whoever it may be Pak Lah or Najib) still retains executive power. These are not reforms but more of the same run of the mill charade of so called change. Have read some pertinent blogs which have suggested that Pak Lah may use these two bodies to stay in power till 2010. Who is to say he won't!!!!! It even seems more likely this is the case considering the manner of which these two bills were PUSHED through the Dewan Rakyat. This so called 'legacy' is what has been bandied about to shroud the eyes of the public of his true intentions which I suspect is to stay as PM after March.

37. Anonymous1:17 pm

Haper la ko orang kutuk2 pak lah.

Kalau nak kutuk pun kejutlah dia dulu dari tido.

*sianLah*

38. Anonymous4:56 pm

Mamak Muda,

BN didn't lose 2/3 in Parliament and only Kelantan went to the opposition in 1999. Mahathir left when the economic and political situation allowed him to do so.

A Realist

39. Anonymous5:15 pm

Art Chan,
    Spot on Man. The hallmark of good governance is not the degree of freedom accorded to the governed but the upgrading of existing institutions, past economic performances and overall quality of life to new heights. Has Sleepwalker done the above? The facts and info in public domain will show that he had failed abysmally on all threee fronts. The judiciary and the police are beholden to him, the economy is on the verge of collapse, FDIs have declined significantly and the October and November data on Forex reserves indicate that more foreigners are repatriating their funds and cashing out. The anaemic growth rates of the past two years have been aggravated by inflation triggered by reckless economic mismanagement and the socalled investment flow into the corridors have floated down the drain that bypass the verandah. Quality of life has been substantially eroded, not enhanced, and the "freedom" he unleashed has opened the way for Chinese chauvinists and Hindu bigots to tear the social fabric asunder. All these are the fruits of weak leadership and mollycoddling of the opposition for some nefarious ends.And skulking in the backgroungd the little red dot emboldened by the "effeminate" leadership shown began metamorphisising in size and now casts a fiendish shadow over the affairs of state aided as it is by a lion mounted goddess (note effeminate narrative), neutered choirboys singing in bathrooms of the 4th floor and sundry dissolutes....

As i wrote earlier, there is a hand in glove conspiracy between the oppositions and trojans and turncoats within the ramparts. In an age of free flow of information and accessibility to the Internet, pray can you fathom how can a PM and his fellow monkeys make promises that he patently intends not to fulfill? For what? Probably, to make the govt look stupid and burnish the credentials of a dying opposition in the eyes of a disillusioned electorate.The end result is March 2008 when the court jesters took their bow and the curtain fell on stability and social harmony as the gremlins emerged from their dungeons and began cavorting on 5 public stages. And Soporific in his usual role, basked in the adulation of being a 'liberal', a 'democrat', a 'gorby'. The socalled perestroika nothing but an empty shell and the bumbling act continues post march 2008,

For what? To complete Act 3 which is the formal ceding of power? To embrace of oppo elements in a foxtrot of debauchery? in exchange for the SIlhoutte's continued relevance and monkeying in the public arena. Yam Sengs for the new bleak future under Singaporean hegemony...

Come to think of it, 2004 was not an endorsement of a new era as the spinmeisters would like us to believe neither was it a huge sigh of relief that the old era had ended. Rather, it was the outpouring of the rakyat's appreciations for what the Tun had done.. a belated but warm sendoff for an ace statesman.The return of the prodigial sons of soil, who had been hoodwinked in 1999, to their senses. Dollah could not help but bask in the refracted glory.

Surprised beyond belief, he frittered away those gains just like the proverbial "kera mendapat bunga" and sadly, the majority of peace loving malaysians are stuck in a quagmire of paralysis, angers and disillusionment. Sometimes, I wish Tun M had never quit........

40. Anonymous6:44 pm

warrior 231 @515pm

You write well.

41. Anonymous12:54 pm

TQ for comments to my comments. I won't reply to subjective arguments, especially emotional & childish ones. They have theirs, I have mine.

There was this comment on "10 bil MOF deficit". Is it budget deficit or loss incurred by the country? Not clear to me. But I want to mention that during Mahathir's time, RM30 bil forex was lost (not deficit) by Nor M Yaakop. Nor Yaakop was asked by Anwar to resign but after Anwar's departure Mahathir took him back (to cause more damage).

My opinion on AAB's willingness to withdraw stands. Of course there were pressures because he allowed freedom of speech much better than Mahathir. You think no pressure for Mahathir to resign after 1999 GE? Many people were afraid to voice openly but the dictator knew it very well.

One opinion said it was Mahathir's mistake to appoint AAB as his deputy. Well, Mahathir deserves it. He couldn't get along with strong deputies (Musa and Anwar). He needs a weak one to parrot whatever he says. Ai you still don't know Mahathir, ke? Of course Mahathir regrets it because what he thought to be a soft and weak AAB turned out to be not quite as he expected when AAB cancelled some of Mahathir's pet projects. To me it was Hussein's mistake to pick Mahathir as deputy.

In 1999, apart from Kelantan BN also lost Trengganu. If Mahathir had allowed freedom as AAB did, the big loss of 2008 wud have happened in 1999. So AAB made a mistake in allowing some freedom which cost him dearly, but I believe it will be good for Malaysia and even for BN in the long run.

frm: mamak muda

42. Anonymous5:05 pm

Had Badawi kept his promises to the people to reform the institutions of our nation and BN itself, the changes of March 2008 would never have happened.

At least he will be remembered as "The Accidental Bapa Demokrasi"