Monday, October 13, 2008

In defence of Utusan Malaysia

Tabung Azan for Utusan Malaysia. We live in interesting times, where those who complain about the mainstream media being muzzled by the authorities are also the ones who sue these media at the slightest provocation.

DAP's Teresa Kok has filed a RM30 million suit against Utusan Malaysia, the Bahasa Malaysia daily controlled by Umno, over the azan issue. Another DAP leader has also sued the same newspaper for RM10 million, despite the newspaper having published an apology for a mistake it did in a report affecting the politician.

One can argue that ordinary people and organisations sue newspapers all the time. But Ms Kok is not an ordinary person and the DAP is not an ordinary body. As a people's representative, we expect Ms Kok to fight for our basic freedoms, including assuring Malaysians of the all-important Press Freedom.

If Ms Kok and the DAP really believe in the freedom of, say, the Rocket and Malaysia Today, they must also believe in the freedom of Utusan Malaysia.

When I was editor of Business Times and The Malay Mail, I lost many nights' sleep over legal suits filed by disgruntled individuals and organisations. Many politicians were unhappy but none sued because we provided them with the right of reply. And we published without malice. The newspapers I led never sued anyone, either.

I hope politicians will not make it a habit to sue the media, old and new. I hope Theresa would find it fit to withdraw her suit against Utusan Malaysia.

I must applaud Syed Ali Alhabshee's initiative over the weekend to come to the defence of Utusan Malaysia. Some will see it as a political gimmick, but I see the Umno Cheras' inititiave for its simple message: if we believe in a freedom, we must defend that freedom at all times.

Read Syed Ali Alhabshee's posting on the Tabung Azan for Utusan Malaysia, h e r e.

Updates, 530 pm:
Note: I'm including the article about Karpal Singh suing Utusan. I understand from this article that Utusan had apologized for the error in its reporting. And thanks Sinatra_Z for the RM30 million ringgit article

Karpal sues Utusan for RM10 million h e r e
The article that made Theresa Kok sue for RM30 million h e r e

466 comments:

1. ok , everybody is flaming rocky BRU here.

BUT please think about Malaysia Today. Did Najib sue RPK for 10million for the false article claiming najib was practicing hindu? or the article claiming tudung is not wajib because is not mention in quran? so u all ppl belive in Media freedom? so why double standard now. AND WHY DID Teresa Did not even reply allegation that he try to destroy Jawi writing? And should we sue Tan send giaw for questioning the loudness of Azan here

http://tansenggiaw.blogspot.com/2005/10/request-jakim-to-interpret-meaning-of.html

now i see even the BN ppl did not sue ppl. now who believe in media/blog freedom

Or should we ( the muslim in malaysia) sue Jeffooi for his ego and bordering insulting muslim that Islamic practice in malaysia is political islam

http://www.jeffooi.com/2008/10/abu_dhabi_a_rude_culture_shock.php

so guys? where is your press freedom?

2. Anonymous11:21 pm

I think you're wrong, bro. Let Teresa Kok sue Utusan - it is her right, after all, being a politician, even if one with the dubious past of getting things inaccurate.

Let them fight it out in court. Let Utusan justify its case. Let Teresa fight her case. Press freedom is not about lying...All Malaysians want the truth....Only the truth matters...and the Press should be made accountable for it...

In the meantime, in the true spirit of everything being equal as being advocated by these legion of fans of yours, I feel that Teresa should call up Tan Sri Musa Hassan and advise him to sue Suara Keadilan for reporting that he was paralysed. For RM30 million - just to be fair. For reporting lies. Same principles...

And since we're at it, why don't she just pick up the phone and convince Najib to sue Anwar and RPK for claiming Rosmah was there when Altantuya was bombed....Seriously, Rosmah being THERE when the Mongolian was bombed. Yep, sure...a complete moron standing there in her Gucci and whatnots, watching Altantuya being bombed. Came out in MT, no? Sue lah...Make it RM30 million as well...

This should be interesting.
    Any supporters or will this be a case of selective persecution?

-Right To Be A Leftist -

3. Anonymous11:27 pm

Aku nak dermalah. Tak de hal. Jgn ajak aku buat demonstransi atau bakar lilin je dah. Malas aku.

Ombak

4. so lepas ini semua orang malaysia boleh saman teresa kok la sebab dier kata rakyah cina kene bogel dgn PDRM . siap suh kerajaan malaysa minta maaf kat China lagi. so , bukankan tuh mcm pembelot. kalau pembelot negara bukan patut kene saman jer . patut kene hukum *****

5. rocky signed up fro cheras branch yet? they are running for branch election soon!

what a joke. the utusan article was the basis of Teresa's ISA detention. If the utusan is not liable, then perhaps the government should be. oo..wait..the Utusan IS the government mouthpiece.

what a waste of time. Syed Ali Alhabshee IS a RICH politician. period. why is he rich?

6. Anonymous11:36 pm

what a load of crap of an article.

what are you trying to do? suck up to the upcoming power to be so u can get reinstatement?
    did you re read this crap that you have written?

freedom of press , yes! but freedom to defame and to cause someone to be incarcerated and flame race and religious hatred?

have you lost your marbles?
    what the feck is wrong with you

7. Anonymous11:37 pm

Diriwayatkan daripada Abu Hurairah r.a katanya: Rasulullah s.a.w bersabda: Akan terjadi berbagai fitnah, di mana pada ketika itu orang yang menjauhi fitnah lebih baik daripada orang yang berdiri, orang yang berdiri lebih baik dari orang yang berjalan, manakala orang yang berjalan lebih baik dari orang yang melibatkan dirinya dengan fitnah tersebut, orang yang terlibat dengan fitnah tersebut akan mengalami kehancuran. Sesiapa yang menemui tempat berlindung maka hendaklah beliau berlindung dari fitnah tersebut.

8. Anonymous11:42 pm

thanks for a great post that shows the true color in you. You can twist your argument any which way, but this time you really screw it. You were never a committed editor of business time or malay mail, spending more time drinking away at the press club. Most of your blog posts are open to questions because most have hidden agenda to bring down people or put them in a bad light. You're a disgrace to journalism. Great post to reveal what you truly are...

9. Anonymous11:44 pm

Such crap, coming from an axed journo.....pleaze lah... its time you removed your new found blinkers.

If you are ISAed....I will never ever light a candle for you.... and you can bet on that !!!

Goodbye !!!!

BR
    RastamanJB

10. Anonymous11:46 pm

Dear Rocky, actually enjoyed reading your blogs but seems that the devils of UMNO has taken over your soul. Indeed, very dissapointing old chap. Well, what else is new in Bolehland anyway. Money talks and bullshit walks.

malaysian-lah ...

11. Anonymous11:48 pm

If Utusan = UMNO = Malay = Islam, and Islam forbids fitnah and deems this act to be sinful, then Utusan is isnful in the eye of Islam, right? So how can the Tabung action by this chap from UMNO Cheras be defending Islam? Why should the people being asked to defend something that is sinful in the eye of Islam? Do all the Malays believe that this sinful act by Utusan should be defended?

12. Anonymous11:50 pm

Getting cheap publicity for blog hits, ah?

13. Anonymous11:50 pm

I stand behind Bro Rocky. Well, you have to understand, as politician the detention, bomb, harassment etc are part of the struggle and it is all about politic. Teresa already knows politic is the dirtiest job in this world, slighly worse than prostitution. Good politician can go to shit hole and come back smiles.

2. Press is only doing their best which is reporting news and of cause sensational, it is happen that Utusan owns to UMNO so, Utusan had done it best in making Teresa life terrible and at that stage they succeed.

3. Well, Rocket, Keadilan, Harakah, free blogs etc all can also take part and report bad about others as well and if other start suing them, there will be more court cases and if you are lawyer, you will make some from them, but it will be such a waste as suing will never prove anything.

4. If every politician start suing press and blogger & press start suing politician etc, than there will be no fun in politic and no news to TV3, Aljazerah, blog etc etc. There will be no excitement to politician and rakyat will feel that politician is such a waste so at the end life can be much better without politician.

14. Anonymous11:51 pm

Maybe you're not quite clear about the issues. You may want to review back the real issues that led to Theresa suing Utusan. As for Alhabsee, he's just one of UMNO's orator and it's election time. I know him thru' events in Cheras schools - always the big talker.

I think Theresa should also sue RTM.

BTW, do some real journalism work.

Salam,
    Iskandar Zulbryner

15. If whatever Rocky writes or comments favours PKR, DAP, PAS or dat PR's SUPREME LIAR Anwar Ibrahim, then it would be perfectly alright ... is that the case here?

I wonder why so many of you think there is something wrong with ROCKY while you support LIARS, including DAP's 'Dog Food' LIAR and Royal Lunatic RPK.

Two wrongs doesn't make One right, but is RPK not a million times worse than Utusan Malaysia in terms of 'fabrication' and outright lies?

THINK and THINK AGAIN, your heart might be waiting for the answer.

p/s Bro Rocky, Bandar Baru Kulim nak tukaq flag kot, and aft dat maybe a from more in Perak.

The Liar's sarong is gonna catch fire!

16. Anonymous11:53 pm

Nasib baiklah aku tak pernah ade niat nak join National Alliance of Bloggers (National, heh?).

Nasib baik jugak aku tidak pernah nak mengendeng di mana-mana acara kelompok penyokong Mahathir nih... hehehe

Nasib baiklah sorang blogger terkenal (my uncle) pernah nyatakan kepada aku bahawa kelompok nih memang sah adalah hamba kepada Mahathirisme... (Blogger terkenal tu pun join grup ni pada mulanya).

Kalau tak, tentu sial sampai mampus aku kena berketuakan seorang pendukung Mahathirisme sejati.

~LEGA RASANYA~

17. Anonymous11:54 pm

I agree with Rocky.

What happened to those who fought for Press Freedom; i.e. in defence of Rocky & Jeff, Raja Petra et al, should also come up to offer the same principle for Utusan.

Why isn't it so?

This is all about the "freedom" that PM 'Flip-Flop' Abdullah been providing for all the anti establishments/anti Islam/anti Melayu elements who roam freely within the cyberworld and bloggosphere, who clearly misuse and selective representation for the REAL PRINCIPLES of "freedom".

Look at the comments that thread within these 100 posted. All reflective of the para just above this.

Forget what ever 'Bangsa Malaysia' that the same people loudly profess. In the final analysis, its about chauvinism and selfishness that everyone here actually stood for!

18. Anonymous11:56 pm

What C r u talking Rocky, was this after you drinking bouts at NPC? Did someone pay for it?
    Of cuz, any moron can see, that Theresa had to prove she dint try and stop the Azan or even asked to lower the volume!

Disappointed

19. Anonymous12:02 am

If the consequence of the mis reporting is detention under ISA, then she got every right to sue. If it was just a misreporting without any drastic consequences, then what you said is valid and i stand by you.

For what ever you or other media's reported, none of the UMNO personal are arrested under ISA.Still you got sued,didn't you?

Is't it better to weigh case to case basis?

Cheers

20. Anonymous12:04 am

First that Sang Kelembai, now Rocky Bru. Syed Nazri will be the next yesterdayman and you knowlah who will replace him. My guest is as good as yours.

21. Anonymous12:05 am

He meant press freedom for both sides. Hence, no lawsuits and no ISA detention. Fair????

Neutral FLY

22. Actually, Utusan Malaysia can do something really malaysian with the dana, in keeping with its malaysian name. Since it has the word malaysia in its name, it must be malaysian.

And that thing is to give a part of that dana as some token of goodwill to those whose compounds have been molotov-cocktailed. Also, those car owners whose cars have been likewise torched.

There comes a time in the history of this country called Malaysia that a Malay organization must stand up and show that it is working and living in a Malaysian country. And do the right thing, for once.

Maybe we are not one nation. We are a balkanized state.

23. Anonymous12:14 am

...and he has succumbed to the dark side...force was strong with you Rocky, many opportunists cajole you me thinks. Let's hope there'll be a jedi to help you out of the dark side...rocky and mahathir, sith and master. Or is it the other way around?

mere ewoks

24. Anonymous12:17 am

ROCK...what happen to u. just can't believe u are supporting and appluading someone who had mentioned that sueing utusan means challenging the honour of Malays.Sorry i think u have just lost a fan.

pop

25. Anonymous12:21 am

When the Sin Chiew journalist reported about Ahmad Ismail, she got detained.

When Utusan reported about Teresa Kok, Teresa got detained.

Freedom my foot, Rocky.

26. Anonymous12:22 am

I am all for press freedom but it has to be fair and true. A police report has been made by a committee member of the mosque saying that they had never received any order or complain from Theresa as claimed by Utusan.

Press freedom comes with responsibility and liability on what has been reported. They have to be prepared for any consequences that might arise from their reporting. Theresa has all the right to sue if she truly believe that she has been wronged and victimised.

For crying out loud Rocky, you of all people should know better.

Salam.

Sam

27. Anonymous12:24 am

A lot of guys here can't take it when their truth hits them on the head.
    Let's face it, DAP hates Malay Unity.
    Whatever they do they are liars or miscreants.
    Rocky for you to take the mantle of PRess Freedom on this one is brave indeed.
    These non malays in PR is only good for Press Freedom, Bangsa Malaysia, Juidicial Reform, Religous Equality if it benefits them.
    That is the consistent truth.
    Be it in RPK's Blog or Your Blog.
    But I guess you that already.

NoCockTalkCock

28. Anonymous12:29 am

Orang kata: Anjing lebih baik dari manusia. Betul ke?

29. My opinion : Revocation of the suit should only be done if Utusan publishes a formal public apology on its front page.

On the previous statements, I'd say Utusan should only offer a public apology if they are reporting a fake news.

I am not optimistic.

Why Teresa should sue?

I think Malaysians know who control the media, and it is certainly not DAP, PAS or PKR. So, if there is any truth that the media is controlled, they may write something biased (inconclusive) against the enemies of the controller and this may be very disadvantageous in a lopsided "war" against DAP, PAS, PKR and we all know how widespread traditional media is.

Why we can't equate media with bloggers?
    1) Majority bloggers are not controlled by a single party or entity
    2) Blogs are not as widespread as traditional media. Traditional media can thrive in suburban or village areas whereas the penetration of blogs in this area may be exceedingly low.
    3) Blogs allow politicians to explain themselves over the net. Does traditional media allow that if they are controlled?

The subjects above only apply if the traditional media is controlled by a single party.

However, if the media is not controlled and free to write and allow Teresa to explain herself to dismiss any form of biased propaganda, then only the suit should be revoked.

No double standards.

30. Bro Rocky, you are on fire already, way to go bro. I have read the Utusan Malaysia article and the statement of Claim by Ms Kok. The burden of proof is on her to show to the Court that her reputation has been injured by the article. This thing is a long drawn out legal process and apparently Utusan Malaysia is also not giving way so expect firework if the case does go to trial.I suspect UMNO and BN are rubbing their hand with glee on the prospect of the suit going for a trial in open court. Imagine the negative publicity it would bring to Ms Kok and DAP in particular.

Whether, Ms Kok Win or lose the suit, the publicity it generated will be very bad on Ms Kok, DAP and Pakatan Rakyat. Politics is all about perception and since Pakatan Rakyat won Selangor albeit with a very marginal majority the negative perception generated by Ms Kok and company which include this suit and the planned mega pig farm in Sepang etc, will 99% guarantee that in the next general election BN will take back Selangor with more than two third majority.

Let us see if Ms Kok and the DAP has the resolve to swallow their pride and take your advise Bro.

31. Anonymous12:41 am

Bro Rocky,

As a journalist, I believe you want to stand up for press freedom, but for you to defend Utusan Malaysia in this context without taking into consideration the actual damage that is done, and also the inaccuracies of reporting, it is very disappointing lah.

I hate to say this, but it seems like you are no different from the other clowns.

32. Rocky,

You are conflating negligence with fraud.

In this case, it appears that Utusan has a motive to defraud its readers. Or at the very least, whether it defrauded or not has to be adjudicated.

In the cases you mention when you were with the Malay Mail etc, you were at most negligent. I am quite sure, with your integrity, you would not have used the "freedom of the press" as a veil to shield yourself against fraudulent motives.

In my considered opinion, Utusan Malaysia has intentionally defrauded the Malaysian public with motive far too many times. It is time they are held to account for their fraud.

cheers../bala
    Bala Pillai
    Founder, Malaysia.Net (since 1995)
    Facebook Profile

33. Anonymous12:52 am

Is utusan business so bad they need to creat tabloid catagory news just to get sales? Umno should sink more cash into this lapdog news paper.

Or else these lapdog pandai-pandai write article that get them sued for millions.

Show so concrete regret:
    1. Fire the editor.
    2. Apologise to the muslim and teresa kok for bad faith and misleading news reporting.

I am sure therasa kok will donate most of the millions she get to charity after she sued utusan path off.

So come to think of it utusan sure do charity via therasa kok.

Cheers.

sabahman

34. Anonymous1:02 am

hey bro after reading ur comments,u look like a umno members who dont know/want to know the real stories.y dont u ask rpk for comments about it. u really disappointment me on this comment.if teresa did hurt the masjid do u think the masjid wont do anything in forward while waiting for koyo to appear n answer as they r in opposition parties now???

35. Sorry Rocky, but i beg to differ...
    Freedom comes with a price..
    When one represents a newspaper that thousands of people read (and believe) there's an inate duty to print what is correct. And it is a journalists duty to ensure that what they write IS true and validated.
    As an individual, everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but that is completely separate to printing downright lies.
    I think Therea Kok has every right to sue a newspaper for printing false allegations.
    I am all for freedom of press, but the writer must ensure that he makes it clear that his statement is one of opinion and not fact if he does not want to be miscontrued.

36. Anonymous1:21 am

Dear Bro Rocky, I agreed with U.. if Ms Kok accept a freedom for Rocket and Malaysia Today, why she can't do a same way to Utusan Malaysia.

She really kick press ass because they not promoting her. Do you see her true colour?

However, why must Utusan Malaysia afraid of? sue her too, because accusing UM gave a wrong report.. I don't think UM manipulate her statement via her speech at DAP HQ last few months.

37. Anonymous1:27 am

Freedom of speech is highly recommended but only reporting of true story ...

If you just simply write something bad about people and later find out is not true , then the newspapers/blogs should be responsible of their writings and get sued ..

38. Anonymous1:36 am

Looks like Rocky has gone back to "square one". You came from NST, also an UMNO-owned paper, and now you are defending utusan.

Everybody knows that utusan promotes "ketuanan", racism, and discrimination". But it will never be warned or have its publication suspended for anything that it publishes.

DontPlayGod

39. Anonymous1:38 am

Very Disappointing with this post of yours. Press freedom is one thing, and libel is another. Lost any respect that I had for you.

RM

40. Anonymous1:42 am

Can someone explain why it is seditious to ask the mosques to tone down the Azan?

Don't tell us that there were loudspeakers during the time of the prophet.

Seems like there are always politicians out to score political points at the slightest excuse. Only in this case, one can hardly call this an excuse.

DontPlayGod

41. utusan malaysia deserved to be sue. it doesn't matter if teresa kok is a politician or an ordinary person. the harm has been done, surely it affect everyone in the same way.

it would be naive and stupid to think that there is absolute media freedom... not especially in our country. if what utusan wrote of teresa kok was considered 'media freedom' then what happened to the other media which got show cause letters or shut down order from the home minister? don't they have the freedom to write what they like without the home minister breathing on them? and why did not the home miinister breathed on utusan?

42. hmm, I thought Journalism first obligatory is to the Truth? (hence false/malicious reporting should not be tolerated) instead of freedom?...now I'm confused.

43. Thumb down for u, rocky.

44. or.. rocky just being sarcastic?.. betul ke ayat gua ni?.. we have to read btween the garisan?.. maybe?

45. Anonymous2:25 am

Sorry, my friend, you have lost it, BIG TIME!

BY:
    Robotman

46. Anonymous2:25 am

Oh! what now?

"Utusan Menipu" creating social unrest and racial tension with false info is the right one here?

give me a break Rocky...

but i wondered why "Utusan Menipu" got the gut to apologized at Karpal Singh but not at Teresa Kok

Must be their "narrow minded taliban ideology" thinking that women is inferior to men...

They can't get over their egoistic self.....

NOWADAYS "UTUSAN MENIPU" REPORTS IS ALWAYS WITH MALICIOUS INTENT...

47. Anonymous2:35 am

roki..u hv proven my suspicions that u are a umno balaci and Tun Ms loyal stick...
    hope no more like u exist...and i'll do my best to showcase yr true self to all and sundry...

48. Dear Rocky,

I am taking the time to comment because I respect you and what you do a great deal, and you are a friend and champion to so many of us online. But this time i think you may have gotten it wrong. There is a difference between government curtailment of press freedom and an individual's right not to be defamed or slandered. And there is a difference between the government's use of its powers to muzzle the press and an individual's recourse to the courts to punish it.
    Press freedom, as we are constantly reminded, is not absolute. But the call for press freedom is not a call for the license to print and say anything without consequences. It is a call to be free from politically motivated government curtailment of that freedom. It is not a call for freedom to slander someone without consequence. It doesn't mean you can't sue to protect your reputation, or seek damages, which is exactly what YB Teresa Kok is doing. Press freedom is meant to remove the government's ability to protect itself from scrutiny, not to remove the individual's ability to protect herself from malicious slander.
    The action Teresa Kok is taking against Utusan is unlike govt action in summarily closing newspapers or denying them their permit. She is taking her case to an open court. She could lose or win, but the merits of her case will be weighed impartially, we hope, against the law. When the government threatens a newspaper, the government does not lose, and is accountable to nobody. Nobody likes to be sued either, but doctor's can't complain that they are being denied the freedom to practice medicine when they are sued. Neither can newspapers. Prima facie, I think there is a case that Utusan has carried out a systematic campaign of incitement and defamation against Teresa. This is part of Utusan's pattern of incitement of racial fear and hatred, for which we hope their editors will one day be accountable. So therein lies quite a difference, brother Rocky. If you have a change of mind and see this, see that you too hastily equated what Teresa Kok is doing with what the govt does to deny press freedom, be big enough to say you erred, and amend or qualify your position. No one will think the worse of you. Quite the contrary.

49. Anonymous2:44 am

Ever heard of DEFAMATION laws?
    Forgot, ya?

Know WHY civilised societies have defamation laws? Didn't think of it, ya? Hint: for the PROTECTION of the individual and society.

Know the PREMISES of defamation laws? Don't know ya?
    (1) FREEDOM OF SPEECH.
    (2) RIGHT OF DEFENSE.

IS UTUSAN DENIED THE RIGHT OF DEFENSE? Instead you ask Teresa to withdraw her suit.

Your article really MALU lah, for ignorance if not intention. Like a gentleman, just admit that you sought attention or whatever. Hard to do but put it in nice words to salvage your reputation.

50. Anonymous2:56 am

VACANCY IN NST - kalimullah No.2 preferred.

51. Anonymous3:10 am

Bro Rocky,

I can't believe reading this on your site. Lately I have been noticing your racial slant, but you coming in defense of Cheras UMNO...this is a joke man! Utusan belongs to UMNO and as the ruling party, shouldn't they be more responsible in reporting? Have you noticed their racial headlines lately? You are loosing it lah bro, sorry lah...you are a good blogger and you should not base your decision on race.

52. Anonymous4:03 am

Rocky, I'm sorry but I just can't agree with your article.

Press freedom should never be used as an excuse for lousy and inaccurate reporting.

In the end, your article basically says that it's ok for any Tom, Dick and Harry reporter to write whatever they want without accountability. And that I can't accept - it's as bad as having a government that doesn't care for accountability.

Utusan, being one of the major papers should know by now that a newspaper should be responsible for reporting the truth. If they didn't, then they should be held accountable. And this is not just the first time, or the second time that the paper provide skewed news reports.

Moreover the proper authorities do not deem it fit to penalise the paper for inaccurate reporting, what else could have Theresa Kok / Karpal Singh do? It is time that the newspaper learn that they have social responsibility to their audience. I hope this teaches Malaysian newspapers to stick to truthful reporting in the future, although that may be wishful thinking.

53. There is a trade mark..that DAP loves to build up something from nothing.
    As much as I admire their fearless and mostly righteous characteristics...nevertheless...DAP..especially Lim Kit Siang...love fanning for trouble...when everything is peaceful..yet he is one hell of a freedom fighter...exposing all the corruptions...without fear for his own life. Lim keeps democracy alive....while Anwar was still playing marbles.
    Yes...Teresa Kok is also making a mole into a hill..as she knows...those suing...will never carry any weight..but to get her into the limelight.
    Is DAP also wasting time ...like UMNO..talking nonsense...doing no work...elected by bloody fools like me?

54. Anonymous4:19 am

What a disappointment, Rocky!

Look like you have just joined some bigots...

55. Anonymous4:38 am

I say sue the pants off them! Liars and hypocrites! Freedom of speech doesn't equal the right to libel or slander.

Hit them where it hurts. Apologies don't count for anything. You only apologise when you've made a mistake; in this case, their lies were premeditated, contrived to incite hatred, intending only to serve a political agenda.

And ultimately, Rocky too has a political agenda, as Antares has succinctly pointed out.

56. Anonymous5:01 am

Oh this is the best laugh I had for the day... at 11pm.. a darn good laugh!

57. Rocky!

We at The Malay Male support you and your right to your own freedom of expression.

Teresa Kok is not the only person with rights in this country.

For example, I have been eating dog food as well. Had boiled eggs yesterday. And I had to PAY for it as well! Where's the justice in that?

Go ahead, Miss Kok. Sue Utusan for RM30 million. See if you can get it. I wish you luck. It will definitely result in freedom of...suing?

Just remember that people actually listen and follow what politicians
    do. This might set a precedent and the backlog of cases in our Malaysian courts will pile up.

Gua komen pakai Blackberry.

58. Anonymous6:41 am

thanks for the posting. i'm with you.

lately, there's so much malay bashing that even the malays also join the self-bashing in the name of liberalisation and so called equality at the expense of their own malay's rights (maybe they'll come to senses when these rights are gone).

in the process, islamic practises or activities have also been belittled and with very few are defending them openly. i must thank syed ali al-habshee for having the guts.

seriously guys, there are many underlining messages are being sent out in every issue raised by both sides. as a muslim in this country, i feel the challenges are being mounted against me and also my rights as a malay.

many malays and muslims (please count out those liberal ones, kay) do not voice out their anger openly in blogs or internet. they're deep inside, boiling and it's only a matter of time that they'll explode.

i must say that utusan speaks out many things that the malays are keeping inside their hearts, when other media organisations are just too chicken to defend the malays.

there's nothing wrong with that coz sin chew, nanyang and other chinese papers also do the same, defend the chinese viciously.

i salute you, rocky.

iskandar

59. Anonymous6:54 am

utusan might be biased in their reports which obviously in favour of the government, umno, malays and islam. but the same goes with the chinese newspapers, the rocket, harakah, pkr newspaper, malaysiakini, cnn, bbc, reuters or malaysia today which are biased in favour of their respective audiences. what's new??

when they published biased reports, you called it freedom of press. when utusan published its biased reports, you called it lies. aiyah....what a hypocrite.

so, please ditch this theory of favouritism in press reportings because they are all look different, depending on where you stand and your view on the issues.

- sam -

60. Anonymous6:58 am

wah....freedom of expression. truth truth truth...

when RPK gets sued, he is exercising his freedom. the injured party can fly kite!

very uneven-lah this freedom and this right...

i see your point, bro... but many of your commentors just don't get you-lah! they think you must always be on their side.....

you are not allowed to say anything contrary.

so you must be on DAP's side, on PKR's side..

SHEESH!

61. Anonymous7:20 am

dear rocky,
    i am with you.hehe.nice one.its a free country.period.

niceone.

62. Anonymous7:26 am

from which Uni u got your jounalism degree...just pathetic...the truth always should be protected..

63. Anonymous7:32 am

Dear ROcky,

Can you see what type of readers you have in your blog? They are racist.. They accept you when you pro their idea of their narrow and biased view, they all out to kill you now for what? For this sincere write up from you.

TO all readers, you guys are racist!!!

64. ROCKY BRU = the NEW KALIMULLAH?

65. Anonymous8:11 am

SETUJU DGN PaK SaKo!!!

JANGAN SAMAKAN ISLAM DENGAN UTUSAN MALAYSIA!!!!!!!

INI TAKTIK KOTOR UMENO NIH.....

66. Anonymous8:22 am

It is not Freedom but RESPONSIBILITY too...n responsibility comes with fairness. Anyway, is Utusan themselve playing fair? Why must we always drag religion into business and politic? Religion is above character building and not above making money and running a country.

67. Anonymous8:28 am

As much as I ANTI-TERESA FOR HER BEING SOOOO FULL OF HERSELF RATHER THAN CONCENTRATING ON WHAT SHE'S SUPPOSED TO DO (man..traffic light in kinrara took 3 days to settle..what a crap - one of example)...I think it is her right to get the justice if she is being framed or whatever

AND this is the opportunity for UTUSAN to make their case of what they have reported....i really hate it when chinese here already said that Teresa is innocent laa etc etc..WE DIDN'T KNOW RIGHT?...SHE MIGHT BE THE ONE WHO STARTED THE PETITION ON AZAN BUT SOMEBODY COVER FOR HER..same goes to 30% of JAIS..etc etc....so here is where if the petition really comes from her office, we know the truth or vice versa

On other note, Somebody (maybe HOME MINISTER) also should sue TERESA for causing such a stir on the supposedly CHINA WOMEN ketuk ketampi case..and see how senyap she is when it is a MALAY WOMEN yg kena

truth being said...although Teresa now painstakingly try to gain support from Malays (can see from her posting and her events)...I am one of thousands of MALAY who hated her...call me prejudice but there is something ain't right and sinister about her..and i pray for it to be unravelled

I also hate all the chinese MP who just like to play issues regarding Muslims/Malays..kacau orang lain when they fail to do ther job i.e taking care of their constituency

68. Anonymous8:42 am

bro rocky,

is your sentiments towards the press still that strong?
    nope...i have never agreed with what Utusan, NST or most of our mainstream are writing about. And now, Tabung Azan? I have never heard other than what is written in the papers abput Azan being an-endagered form of life. As muslims, we are still free to practice our religion as we like.
    This is just one more provocation from Utusan...im 100% sure of it!

rakyat biasa

69. Anonymous8:44 am

katakan cik kok tu tarik balik saman... apa jadik ngan duit tuh?

satu lagi... kenapa tabung azan? ni bukan pasal azan, ni pasal menipu dan memfitnah orang.. letak la TABUNG FITNAH....

fitnah bukan kebebasan bersuara bro...

el

70. Anonymous9:01 am

It's rocky's blog and it reflects his views. His views do not shape public policy. Although not perfect, this country has legal means in which a person who feels aggrieved may seek redress. The courts will decide in due process. What is there to fear but to let the truth out.

Name: Groo

71. Anonymous9:05 am

Eh.. you gotta get it right la...

Freedom of press does not mean press can report anyhow and anyway they deem fit to serve their own little purpose.. may it be bad and wicked intentions or otherwise!

As for Utusan, they saw this coming already la... always collaborating with idiots like that fat goreng pisang looking dumbfcuk by the name of Toyol or Toyo or Toyoi..whatever la.. that one la.. we all know which one la.. and reporting to incite racial disharmony amongst the various races.

In the first place, if Teresa Kok did say or do such things as per that Azan report by Utusan, than perhaps Teresa deserve the ISA treatment.. but if she didnt and Utusan had twisted the whole story and as the result, Teresa is put in ISA for it.. than Utusan should be given a showcase by the Home Ministry and have that CLOSE DOWN threat hanging on their heads AND damn hell rightly sit tight tight and be sued their underwear off by Teresa.

Freedom should be used responsibly.. not maliciously like by Utusan.

72. Anonymous9:06 am

FYI, most of the time we used to subscibe BH/UM and NST for out office.

But just now, from now on I hv instructed my HRD to subscribe only The Star and to terminate all other papers, reason being cost cutting exercise as economic turmoil already started and we need to get prepared..

Salam.

73. /// If Ms Kok and the DAP really believe in the freedom of, say, the Rocket and Malaysia Today, they must also believe in the freedom of Utusan Malaysia. ///

Press freedom does not include freedom to print lies and incite racial hatred. If the Rocket has printed lies, then sue them. The Malaysian government obviously thought Malaysia Today has been printing lies and has hounded it from pillar to post, stop its operations, and charged RPK with Sedition and even ISA-ed him. So, yes, Theresa has the freedom to likewise sue Utusan Malaysia.

I am not sure whether you are dense, biased or don't know what press freedom is all about. The most charitable view is that you are none of the above, but chose to deliberately provoke such reactions with your obviously flawed reasoning. I must say, a clever way to generate traffic.

Well done.

:)

74. Anonymous9:13 am

Tis Teresa kok is a racist.She is anti Muslim and anti melayu and her action from day 1 she took office as s'gor exco..she already showed her true racist colour.She may deny but she cannot hide her hatred.it just shown on her guilty face. and if she is not..why is it she keep on harping on issues like tulisan jawi,babi and azan..as if there's no other more pressing things to fight for...
    melayu tulin take note of all she said.

75. Anonymous9:16 am

When you play with fire, be prepared to get burnt!

A GOOD MAN DOES NOTHING

76. Anonymous9:25 am

U no difference fr those UMNO goons.
    Sad to say, Ive lost all my respect 4 u.

KaFir

77. Anonymous9:30 am

Have to be understanding lah.

Rocky' bru out of work for sometime.

How to feed family?

Cannot live on air and water.

Must look good and angkat bodek of new UMNO boss.

Come March 2009, only got chance of getting a highly paid job with lots of perks......

What a fine freedom of speech, looks more like financial freedom..... for ownself.

78. Anonymous9:31 am

Why you are defending double standards Rock?

Ever since you became Chedet's fan, your writing is not neutral anymore.....realize it before its too late!

I think Utusan went way over this time, being sued-serves them right. Just look at the hate they created among some group, think about that than you will be mature bro!

From,
    Rock-is-NOT-neutral

79. Anonymous9:34 am

You took 2 steps forward and 10 steps backward with this article. Your logic is NOT logical.

You are a pressman first, before logic. You should come out, from under the coconut shell dude.

80. Anonymous9:42 am

speaking of jawi....ohhh....i applauded so much to PLUS for putting up selamat hari raya banners in jawi. why not? we should promote more of that writing.

and yes, i have contributed to the fund. if i don't stand up and defend the malays and islam in this country, who else will? teresa kok????

and i agreed, a lot here are racists and do not respect the freedom of the owner of the blog. u love him when he's with you but loathed him when he thinks otherwise. hallo.... i thought you all believe in freedom of opinion?? obviously you all practise it selectively.

good one, rocky.

mat kok

81. rocky,
    you are not yourself. Utusan is making up issues not misreporting it. That's a lot of difference.

82. Anonymous9:44 am

well nutzkracker.., nik aziz will stand on everything as long as it can give him political mileage...
    and that teresa cork..the real truth will come out soon...

from puchong,
    temp0

83. Anonymous9:45 am

i would be suprised if you are not given a high up cushy government link job very soon. i'm sure you deserve it...just like KJ deserve to be 4th floor head, just like mukriz deserve to be the next UMNO youth chief cos of his father's influence, and just like najib deserves to be the next PM.

84. Anonymous9:54 am

Dear Rocky, please don't sell your soul to UMNO and Mahathir for a lousy newspaper editor's post -- it's not worth it. You are a good man and way better than that.

85. My first and last comment. That's it, you don't even deserve my 2 seconds worth. Your site will be removed from my rss feed.

86. Freedom of the press doesn't mean you can go against the tenets of journalism and report falsehoods. If you allow that to go unchecked, the press will be useless in its role as the fourth estate.

I thought you would understand that.

So no, I fully support Ms Kok suing them. It's perfectly fair.

If they muck up, they answer to the law. Not some flawed argument about press freedom.

Press freedom can only exist if the press is doing it's job properly. In Utusan's case....seriously, is your so-called brand of press freedom justified? NO.

87. Anonymous10:12 am

Thats the bloodiest load of CRAPPPP i ever heard. Pls dont insult our intelligence....

i call on all Malaysians apart form the diehard supporters of UMNO to boycot this UTUSAN and throw UMNO into hell.!!

Mr rockybru, please dont bullshit us about freedom of press... If there is such thing as freedom of press THEN EXPLAIN THESE..

1. why the shit is RPK under ISA? you believe in freedom of press, then go and demand RPK be released right now !! Fukk the trial... those are just pretenses under the malazutland

2. Go and preach to Mahathir on freedome of press. Now he got blogsite, but when he was PM, where was the freedom of press.

3. Yes DAP got the Rocket, but isnt it true that all of them apart from UTUSAN are always under threat of closure under printing presses acts for any reports???

4. If UTUSAN is opened to everyone to comment or its report are balanced and cover everyparties in Malaysia, then there would be no need for rocket or harakah or any other party based papers...
    But we all know that UTUSAN is reserved for the UMNO malays.... and hence others are forced even if under threat to have their own newspapers.

5.. the most important point i wish to raise...

UTUSAN lies caused Teresa Kok to be arrested and given DOGs FOOD for seven days.. so where is the freedome of speech? If there is such thing, then Utusan should also publish KOKs reply, and if she was not arrested as the result, she would have been bodoh for suing the newspaper.

BUT AS IT IS, the 30 million lawsuit hardly do justice. YOUR utusan and YOUR UMNO should be sued until all of them BURNT IN HELL.!!

6 because UTUSAN can write anything seditious, sensitive, but nothing happens just like your MOMMMOK ahmad Ismail, while others gets arrested for writing in internet.... welll fukkkk your version of freedom of press.

ONLY talk about press freedom when the rascist UMNO learn the true meaning of the word.

chhhhheeeee UMNO malays NO shame at all....

Nickname = Ahmad Ismail

88. Anonymous10:14 am

dear rocky

i always follows your writings and agreed with your views on most issues but not this one.

ambo

89. Anonymous10:20 am

First of all, are you a racist? A major newspaper should report fact not hearsay as you know very well. If you make an error, apologise sincerely without hesitation. if you are right you should not be worried of being sued. Teresa kok openly requested for an apology and if not she has every right to protect her reputation and because of Utusan Malaysia she is arrested under ISA. The stress and trauma she and family have undergone is beyond any financial compensation. A RM 100 MILION will do very well. When has she sued any newspaper or any person in the past? And of course Tabung Azan has every right to raise money to defend Utusan if they want to. This is the right in democratic country and freedom of press. PM SAID IF YOU HAVE DONE NOTHING WRONG YOU HAVE NOTHING TO WORRY!! Don't shit brick yet unless you are guilty, guilty and guilty

90. Anonymous10:23 am

umar

you are out of your depth.

in this instance, its not Utusan which cant prove that what has been written is right. Its confirmed by the supposedly aggrieved parties that Utusan is dead wrong. And so is Khir who is doing it for no reasons but for political mileage.
    Common on, lets call a spade a spade. if teresa is wrong, by all means chastise and reprimand her. Lets leave race and religion out of this issue.
    to say the least, I am very disappointed with you too, Rocky. For I am one of those who has continued the boycott against Nasy Pee because of their bullying tactics against you and Jeff. If this fund is for free speech and truth reporting, I will also contribute.

Bangsa Malaysia

91. Anonymous10:27 am

in the case of the nude squat woman in which many of the readers here added as a 'reason' to sue theresa kok, i just wanna say, you are all friggin missing the bloody point!!!! some lady, whatever skin she has, has been forced to perform nude squat in a degrading manner! what F*CK has it got to do with her being a chinese or malay or anyone else for that matter??????????? so what if she has been proven to be a malay lady? CASE CLOSED???!! those who condemned Theresa who 'thought' the victim was a chinese should seriously think again, is this Malay lady forced to perform nude squat any different from a chinese lady performing it? You chasticise Theresa for taming down after realising she is a malay, BUT I dont see any of you picking up where Theresa left off and DEFEND THE MALAY LADY'S RIGHT AS A CITIZEN?!!! So what happened to the friggin recommendatoin to improve the police conduct reports???!! HELO?!?!?! Shouldnt that be a better cause to champion for?!! YOu Idiots!

92. Anonymous10:34 am

Introducing ROCKYBRU, UMNO member no. 100000001, membership given in honor of ROCKYBRU defending the indefensible, the right to defame, the right to publish untruth in the MSM. Ha, has ROCKYBRU lost his marbles?

93. Anonymous10:39 am

Rocky, I applaud you for telling it like it is and not just sit firmly on one side - right or wrong. Talking about 'freedom of speech' opposition-style, the Penang Government has also banned Utusan from their office. BANNED. No Utusan lying around the entire KOMTAR office. Even they can be such a big fan of 'censorship' when it serves their purpose. They're all the same. GUANENGLOVER

94. Rocky,

I think you have enough replies here, both for the Tabung Azan and those for suing Utusan.

I am in Singapore, and the leaders have used the defamation law effectively.

If what Utusan has reported is the truth, then I am all for Tabung Azan and what they want to do with it. It also means that the lawsuit by MP Kok against Utusan is frivalous.

However, it has been noted time and again that Utusan has been irresponsible in reporting the issue against MP Kok, which lead to her detention under ISA, and subsequently, fire bombing at her home.

And furthermore, Utusan has not issued an apology to state the facts, instead of just keeping mum. In this case, I side with MP Kok as she needs to use whatever legal means necessary to clear her tarnished name and reputation.

While I am not a lawyer, IMHO, this certainly counts for defamation.

Before I too get flamed, I would like to categorically state that this has nothing to do with race. But it has everything to do with responsible new reporting, and ones reputation. If we were to change the name Utusan to Sin Chew, or NST, and MP Kok to MP Mohammad, or MP Ellangovan, I would still support the individual complainant.

Without one's reputation, one has nothing much else, which is why it is so important to upkeep. We all take a lifetime to build our reputation, and so we should protect it lest some irresponsible party brings it all down overnight with lies.

Don't you agree?

95. Rocky,
    Congrats man!
    You have entered the Kiss-ass Hall of Fame now ....

96. Anonymous10:43 am

nstman said...
    Zorro whats wrong with your fren Rocky la .. why is he making such a statement or a stand, you should taruk him la bro... what kind of man is he to say that he supports Cheras UMNO's call .. Do something la Zorro ...

Salam

October 13, 2008 8:20 PM

nstman....sorry lah, haven't seen Rocky for ages....maybe tomorrow at revival of MRT....he busy lor....I too busy what.....and our watering lubang also not so the same now, you know? Maybe I talk to him tomollow ok......now very thirsty, mus go catch fish.....(havien't figured out what thirst and fishing have in common) wear your Scala Energy Pendant....got plenty power and all things will be revealed....come lah, nstman..

97. Anonymous10:46 am

If they really want to follow the sunnah of the prophet, then the azan should only use the human voice, without amplification.

But hypocrisy and the champions of religion seem to be life partners.

So now bro, the level of disturbing the neighbourhood depends on the latest audio technology Chinese manufacturers put into the loudspeakers.

Yes bro, most audio equipment in the world is made in China including Hitachi, JVC, Blaupunkt, Bang & Olafsun and even Simon & Garfunkel :)

Now even a small Chinese made boombox available at Mydin Hypermarket can pack megawatts of sound. So as technolgy increases is the volume of the loudspeakers at the masjid also going to increase and disturb the peace of the neighbourhood?

Bro, do you think this is the Islam that the Prophet taught us? The sunnah says that the first azan was made by human audio only, by a guy by the name of Bilal. Hence the man who calls the azan is called 'bilal masjid'.

As for Theresa's action against Utusan she has the right because Utusan's negligence has caused her hurt - in this case physical hurt because she was i. arrested under ISA ii. had petrol bombs thrown at her home. This is not your regular defamation case.

As for Syed Ali AlHabshee's Tabung Azan, isnt he stirring up racial hatred by saying that Theresa's legal suit against Utusan is an attack against the maruah of the Malays simply because Utusan belongs to UMNO?

If the DAP guys had any sense they would immediately lodge a Police report against Syed AlHabshee. To me this is clearly inciting racial hatred.

Not only that, but it is also seditious because Syed Habshee is saying that Theresa should NOT sue Utusan in Court. Syed Habshee is therefore encouraging Theresa to take other action outside the legal process. He is inciting Theresa to pursue extra legal means.

But as usual no action will be taken against Syed Habshee. UMNO/BN will lose more seats in 2012. Thats what it all boils down to. Take note.

98. Anonymous10:51 am

To those commenters who made a fuss about Teresa's involvement in the polis nude squat scandal, please get the fact straight! It's all about the abuse of power by PDRM and NOT because of the vicim is of certain race or nationality!

W.T.

99. Anonymous10:52 am

KUTUBATU

Menyesal aku pangkah DAP di perak ni.

Tak sabar aku nak pangkah benda lain PRU13 nanti.

Bodoh punya politicians.

Macam kutu. Kerja taknak buat asyik nak kejo glamer aje.

Bodoh.

Aku pun Melayu bodoh pangkah DAP.

100. Anonymous10:57 am

What is FLAMING?

Flaming is the hostile and insulting interaction between Internet users.

An Internet user typically generates a flame response to other posts or users posting on a site, and such a response is usually not constructive, does not clarify a discussion, and does not persuade others.

Sometimes, flamers attempt to assert their authority or establish a position of superiority over other users.

Other times, a flamer is simply an individual who believes he or she carries the only valid opinion. This leads him or her to personally attack those who disagree.

In some cases, flamers wish to upset and offend other members of the forum, in which case they can be called "trolls."

Most often however, flames are angry or insulting messages transmitted by people who have strong feelings about a subject.

F&*^# (F)LAMERS..

more @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flame_war

101. Anonymous11:04 am

At least the pembangkang is using the courts to settle demafation suits. Why can't the Govt do the same? They should get those concerned who are now under ISA to the courts and sue them bankrupt, just like in Singapore.

-A lil bird against ISA-

102. Malaysians all races should boycott any print media that incites racial or religious in its editorial.

Anyone who supports is akin to KKK. And maybe Syed is a man of splendid abilities but is utterly corrupt. He shines and stinks like rotten mackerel by moonlight, ke ke ke

103. Anonymous11:09 am

"I must applaud Syed Ali Alhabshee's initiative over the weekend to come to the defence of Utusan Malaysia. Some will see it as a political gimmick, but I see the Umno Cheras' inititiave for its simple message: if we believe in a freedom, we must defend that freedom at all times"

You must be joking Rocky. I do believe in and in fact support freedom of press, but to applaud UMNO Cheras fro their "initiative" takes it one skewered step further. I read their posting on the Tabung and found the reasons to be nothing but the same racist and religious rhetoric. Come of it lah... look at the consequences of Utusan’s absolutely false articles on Theresa. She was detained under the ISA, had molotov cocktail thrown at the parents house, received death threats etc.etc.

I wonder Rocky, would you have just sat back and tolerated all this... in the name of press freedom.. if it had happened to you. I noticed that in you posting you had steered clear of commenting on Utusan's wanton and irresponsible conduct. Perhaps you should consider being objective in the future... if that is possible anymore. By the way, I respect your right to hold your views, but I don’t need to respect you for the views.

Rgds

AK

104. ... Pandangan tidak populis Rocky ini menarik kritikan dari pembaca dan komentar blognya.

Sikap orang awam yang dicerminkan dalam komentar tidak konsisten. Mereka menerima pakai pandangan yang mereka mahu dengar tanpa mengambilkira percanggahan prinsip dalam pandangan mereka.

Jika orang ramai boleh bangun menentang saman terhadap Rocky dan YB DAP, Jeff Ooi, mengapakah mereka tidak bising bila taktik saman mahkamah digunakan terhadap Utusan?

Sebarang tindakan membuat saman mahkamah dan berjumlah yang tidak realistik adalah satu tindakan keterlaluan yang sebenarnya menyekat kebebasan akhbar.

Sebagai seorang wartawan-blogger dan bekas editor yang menghargai dan memperjuangkan kebebasan akhbar, Rocky telah menyuarakan satu pandangan yang amat releven. Tentu sekali, dia telah mengambilkira realiti amalan kewartawanan di Malaysia.

Mengapa orang ramai dan blogosphera bersikap sedemikian rupa terhadap Rocky dan mempertahankan saman ini? Adakah kerana yang menyaman itu DAP? Adakah kerana yang kena saman Utusan Malaysia? Adakah ini bermakna blogger tidak boleh di saman tetapi akhbar boleh?

Kesian "mayat" Tan Sri A Samad Ismail "gelisah" di dalam kubur.

... baca seterusnya
    Kebebasan akhbar disokong tetapi tidak untuk Utusan

105. Anonymous11:22 am

"I must applaud Syed Ali Alhabshee's initiative over the weekend to come to the defence of Utusan Malaysia. Some will see it as a political gimmick, but I see the Umno Cheras' inititiave for its simple message: if we believe in a freedom, we must defend that freedom at all times"

You must be joking Rocky. I do believe in and in fact support freedom of press, but to applaud UMNO Cheras fro their "initiative" takes it one skewered step further. I read their posting on the Tabung and found the reasons to be nothing but the same racist and religious rhetoric. Come of it lah... look at the consequences of Utusan’s absolutely false articles on Theresa. She was detained under the ISA, had molotov cocktail thrown at the parents house, received death threats etc.etc.

I wonder Rocky, would you have just sat back and tolerated all this... in the name of press freedom.. if it had happened to you. I noticed that in you posting you had steered clear of commenting on Utusan's wanton and irresponsible conduct. Perhaps you should consider being objective in the future... if that is possible anymore. By the way, I respect your right to hold your views, but I don’t need to respect you for the views.

Rgds
    AK

106. This comment has been removed by the author.

107. Anonymous12:08 pm

As far as i know, Teresa demands both Khir Toyo and Utusan to apologize, and both DIDN'T,worst still, they have made her in her word "cover girl". Can you please attach the apologize article if Utusan have made it?

108. Anonymous12:11 pm

Bru,

Come on man you cannot be everything to everyone. You are showing your true colour!

I always thought that you were a Malaysian first, but your Bumi undertones are starting to show.

Why not respect T.Kok's rights. After all due to the racists UM and bloody Syed Arab she spent time under ISA.

UM was fanning racial issues and I do not think T.Kok would have done half the things UM suggested.

You and your brother and sister bloggers are so full of yourselves.

Disappointed Sam

109. Anonymous12:14 pm

I am shocked and very diappointed with what you have written.....
    I honestly think you should be ashamed of what you have said in the defence of 'Freedom of speech' and you should now call yourself 'TANAH LIAT'. Its a bloody shame for a Veteran and Ex-journalist when you cannot tell the diferrence between "Freedom of Speech' and 'Blatant Lies Reporting', and you had better resign from your Advisory Role to the Press ! It seems to me that you cannot tell Shit from Clay !

110. Anonymous12:14 pm

Rocky is showing his true colours.

111. Well... quite a lot of emotional comments here.

From what i gather is that Whatever UTUSAN publish are IMMORAL, Rascist and defaming.

So unlike RPK's, Suara Keadilan, Harakah or DAP's Rocket are so HOLY SHIT THE TRUTH.

Do you guys really READ the article in the UTUSAN?? Mind you guys, NOT A MENTION of MISS Teresa Koks there.

Hmmm.... Likely the MALAY PROVERBS says it ALL,
    "Siapa makan cili, dialah terasa pedas, Siapa mangka Nangka dia lah terkena GETAH"

hmmmmm...
    just my two cents.

112. Anonymous12:18 pm

The only reason rocky wrote this piece is because he is making a return to nstp as an advisor, everyone is talking about it already. I know Rocky to be a racist , he was my former boss in Malay Mail. I will throw a challenge to all of you who are posting your comments here, tht Rocky will be appointed when Najis takes over.... what say you rocky, pariah of the highest order just like najis. ...

113. http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/10/14/nation/20081014102450&sec=nation

114. Anonymous12:20 pm

Rockybru

Have you sold your soul to UMNO or have you been offered the job to join NST soon?

115. Anonymous12:20 pm

now they are showing the true face of dap.the true enemy of islam and malay.for those malays who support pr,please thimk twice.dap is our no.1 enemy!!!!!!!

116. Anonymous12:21 pm

utusan likes to do irresponsible reporting and I don't understand how you could condone that? Don't they teach you integrity in journalism school? I don't know because I'm an engineer but one thing I do know is that when you write slander you'll get what you deserve.

117. Anonymous12:28 pm

ROCKY,

YOU MUST BE GETTING OLD AND SENILE,

IT SEEMS LIKE YOU CANNOT TELL SHIT

FROM CLAY.

KIWI, NZ

118. Anonymous12:34 pm

BN has created this mess using their controlled media to defame an innocent party. UMNO is a racist party and MCA and Gerakan are toothless dogs.

UMNO, its leaders and members will never change. Only the non malays fools and traitors will vote for a racist party looking for trouble.

Please sue Utusan for each fitnah they make. Hopefully they will go bankrupt and the money can be donated to the poor.

kucau2

119. Rocky Bru a.k.a future NST & UTUSAN chairman (charimakan),

Its time to get Alhabshee to start Tabung Rocky's Bru.

Utusan is not only good in concocting racial slurs, but also good in poisoning the malay people's mind.

Look at those UITM students demo... enoughlah...

120. Definisi kebebasan akhbar, hak asasi individu, dan lain-lain yang dilaungkan aktivis dan pemimpin Pakatan Rakyat memang melucukan.

Bila akhbar mereka menyiarkan berita berbau hasutan & penipuan (cthnya Menipu rakyat dengan perkhabaran KPN tenat), tapi mereka dakwa itu kebebasan akhbar. Bebas bila nak melepas tengkuk mereka.

Bila aktivis mereka membuat petisyen untuk mengikat masjid dan surau dengan pelbagai tatacara, (tak boleh kuat pembesar suaranya...), ceramah agama tak perlu guna speaker, aktiviti selain azan tak perlu guna speaker...azan Subuh digesa diperlahan...Mereka dakwa itu hak asasi...Mana perginya hak asasi majoriti? Ada sesiapa yang mahu bangkang bahawa tidak ada petisyen terhadap aktiviti keagamaan Islam? Cuba jawab wahai semua pendokong PR? Anda tutup mata, pura-pura tak tahu.

Bila Bar Council anjur Forum Peluk Islam..anda kata itu demokrasi..hak asasi...Tapi bila ramai yang gesa suruh anda hentikan...anda cakap itu bukan hak asasi majoriti untuk bangkang...Anda tuding jari kepada semua yang berhimpun dan menghalang forum agar diteruskan...anda gesa dikenakan tindakan...(hak asasi anda sahaja yang anda perjuangkan...hak asasi majoriti bagaimana pula?).

Kesimpulannya: Tak perlulah menyorok disebalik topeng hak asasi dan kebebasan!

Buka sahaja topeng itu agar mudah rakyat menilai sejauh mana tidak bersyukurnya anda sebagai seorang warganegara yang tidak menghormati adab, adat dan budaya Melayu/Islam.

121. Anonymous12:39 pm

Aisey, this Utusan really talk cock, spreading the seeds of hatred, i think most Malay are obsessed if one talk about even a single minor things on religion the person who raised that shud have been dead.

Not suprise dear Bro Rocky, "dulu, kini dan selama nya" people are moving forward no wonder these slackers are not moving at all- under the coconut shell mentality.

122. Anonymous12:41 pm

meow~~

jangan marah pada bung rocky ... selaras dgn statusnya sebagai rockstar di kalangan bloggers, sekali sekala perlu disensasikan suasana dengan posting yang "outrageous", supaya terus dalam radar screen pembaca.

dan melihat tindak balas pembaca, ternyata matlamat ini sudah tercapai. hehe.

123. Anonymous12:42 pm

BRO ROCKY,

YOU HAVE THE RIGHTS TO BE WHAT YOU ARE. YOU HAVE THE RIGHTS TO HAVE FREE SPEECH.

UTUSAN HAS THE RIGHTS TO BE RACIST - PRO MALAYS.

THERESA KOCK HAS THE RIGHTS TO BE RACIST - ANTI MALAY AND ISLAM.

AIN'T YOUR READERS' COMMENTS RACIST TOO?

NO??

DON'T BULLSHIT IN ROCKY'S BLOG!

-MR BURN.

124. Kepada Orang-orang Melayu sekelian...

Utusan Melayu adalah lidah perjuangan Melayu sejak sedari dahulu lagi... Utusan Melayu untuk Melayu, bukan untuk UMNO!

Melayu untuk ISLAM!!!!!!

Kenapa bila Utusan sebut hal-hal macam ni, semua nak meleneting, saman sana, saman sini. Sedangkan HARAKAH, samada HARAKAHDAILY versi Internet ataupun cetakan tak kurang hebat dengan isu yang sama. Malah ada pula berita berbentuk khabar angin semata.

Bagaimana pula dengan Malaysiakini.com? Betulke apa yang dia cerita dalam tu? pasal kes Najib dengan Altantuya? pasal pembentukan kerajaan 16 September? isu-isu pemurtadan? kes Lina Joy? ingat betul ke semua tu? Bagi aku, semua berita-berita hanya berdasarkan hear say semata, malah lebih teruk dari apa yang dilaporkan oleh Utusan!

Adakah anda semua hendak berlaku tidak adil kepada Utusan???

Aku dengan ini menyatakan sokongan terbukak aku kepada UTUSAN MELAYU sebab kebijaksanaan UTUSAN demi mempertahankan kepentingan MELAYU dengan cara "TARIK RAMBUT DALAM TEPUNG, RAMBUT TAK PUTUS, TEPUNG TAK SELERAK"

Kalau tepung dah selerak, bukan salah UTUSAN, tapi salah CHAYANUNALIP nama KOK tu!!!

125. Anonymous12:51 pm

ai yah rocky san, is this blog post going to be used in your CV to get a top job in mainstream media?

If yes, then I can faham lah - cari makan aje.

Adios, brudder
    Wink Wink

126. Anonymous12:52 pm

since 1998 i have stopped buying and reading NST, Utusan and Berita Harian. I even boycotted Malay Mail while you were the Editor.

As i see it, you started blogging seriously after you left NST. Most blog posts were pointed towards NST, Dollah, Kali, Brendan and KJ.

I see a similarity between you and Mahadey...after you both left your post, you both were screaming for Dollah's head.

If you do get back into NST, i do hope that you bring sanity back into mainstream journalism and not another tool for umno.

127. Anonymous1:01 pm

Wonder why peoples so worked up with politics ...get a life.
    ghost

128. Anonymous1:05 pm

I was one of those thrilled that BN and UMNO got humiliated in the last elections. But that emotion has mellowed down ever since I saw all these racist worms coming out of the woodwork, not least starting with Karpal Singh and Teresa Kok. The true objectives of these people and their supporters were never about looking after the welfare of the people but to ensure that Malays/Muslims do not dominate government and commerce. It's fine for anyone of us to disagree with Rocky but now you're calling him all kinds of things merely because you do not share the same view. That shows not only your mindset but your stupidity in wrongly joining the dots.

And as for you blogging lot, it's now also all coming out. There are two types of you guys out there who are going overboard in the manner that you express your displeasure and rubbish conclusions over Rocky's article: (1) The pure racists, and (2) the pure haters of UMNO. To a lesser degree there is also a third category: the haters of BN but this category is overshadowed by you racist morons who hate any malay/muslim from any organisation, whether UMNO, PKR or PAS.

The pure racists: You hate Utusan merely because it is a Malay organisation. You support Teresa Kok and Karpal Singh merely because they are non-Malays. You people can go to hell. Better still, go to another country because you have contributed NOTHING for the good of the people. You are the Zionists of Malaysia. Oh, do please express your false shock at this reality -- you people make me sick.

The pure haters of UMNO: You hate those UMNO politicians merely because of the UMNO label. You would rejoice at seeing any UMNO linked organisation fall even if meant a lot of innocent Malays going down with it. Because of your blind hatred towards UMNO, you bodoh and tamak Malays have lost perspective and have no clue on your sense of purpose and the ugly truth of who are actually trying to destroy you.

I don't like UMNO , NSTP and Utusan either. But there is no way I want to see them paying big money to the country's greatest racists and bigots like Teresa Kok and Karpal Singh. As for you Malays who are willing to sell out your religion and race for the sake of your own greed and blind hatred, you can go to hell too.

Umar

129. Anonymous1:08 pm

Rocky, you are absolutely wrong here. Why must Teresa retract her suit. Utusan is guilty and they should be taught a lesson for this incitement! Blatant lies through and through. Teresa, please, whatever it takes you must not give up and this suit must go on till you get your justice.

Little Sparrow

130. Anonymous1:12 pm

spoilt, neverlearn, bigot & dangerous.

131. Anonymous1:15 pm

kutipan lebih berfaedah digunakan kebajikan masjid2 yang terlibat, tak perlu ambik lawyer mahal2, sembahyang hajat, berdoa dan yakin cukup.

132. Anonymous1:25 pm

Teresa Kok,

When you were at the parliament, you utter the word `culik’ when the correct word should be `ditangkap’ . Did you realised that `culik’ mean `kena culik oleh penculik atau penjenayah’ when the corect word should be `ditangkap’ mean `ditangkap oleh pihak polis’.

Are you trying to say the police is the penculik/penjenayah ?

Why did you purposely spreading lie ?

It might be trivial for some people but it show the true character of this person.

Please la, we the majority are honest people.

133. Anonymous1:37 pm

hai Bro, nampaknya u kena hentam dengan penyokong Miss Kok - power punya hentam - satu perkara yang say pasti semuanya tidak mahu menyiasat dengan teliti - isu tersebut - betulkah utusan berbohong ataupun miss kok yang berbohong - kena siasat betul-betul beb - jangan tutup dua belah mata - jangan sokong keromo sahaja.

134. Anonymous1:38 pm

Has the Cheras Umno branch ever thought about collecting money for the poor instead of the crass reason given by them? Utusan has enough to defend itself for being stupid. BTW, the two YBs should donate their "winnings" to those who need it. That is , if the courts decide to give them the dosh.

'donuts'

135. Anonymous1:47 pm

terasa (mang)kok nak jadi macam (che)PAP in singapore. saman chee soon juan and jeyaratnam until bengkrap. jeyaratnam die a bengkrap and humiliated man. he spend his life selling books to support his hospital fees until he die. soon the only singapore opposition party will be bengkrap after chee soon juan is ordered to pay to singapore goverment. i wonder if the ruling by the judges in singapore(one of the lowest corruption in the world) is not biased.

DAP=PAP. if DAP/PAP saman it is called human rights and democracy, if govermnet buat it is called tyrany. if the court verdict is in favour to opposition, it is called fairness, if it is in favour to the goverment, it is called bias. if one day DAP becomes the government, they will copy what singapore goverment do to the opposition. saman any one who opposed until bengkrap and jailed anyone who opposed using legal means.

this is worst than ISA and the government today.

136. Anonymous2:01 pm

Anonymous clamber
    This is surprising. Freedom of speech encompasses the ability to write the truth without fear of favour. Utusan M being a newspaper with journalist and investigative journalist should have checked the details which would have been simple enough, and then print the true story. Miss Kok gave them 7 days to retract their false claims before instituting legal action, if they refuse then they stand by their statement and must necessarily fall by it. It is like the sword of Damocles, double edged. Hence they should be sued. Makes ordinary sense, after all, haven't other pages gone to litigation as well?
    Utusan is a large company, and hence should have really investigated its claims and put it through their lawyers first especially so if they have evidence otherwise, but in Ms Kok's case they adopted a publish and be damned attitude, so let them be damned.

137. Anonymous2:05 pm

this is what al-habshee said,

“Apabila pemimpin DAP itu menyaman akhbar Utusan Malaysia hanya kerana isu laungan azan, maka tindakan Teresa itu seolah-olah mencabar dan menghiris seluruh perasaan umat Islam di negara ini.”

his statememt does not address the real issue. what a pity, he is indeed in a critical state of confusion.

Reminds me of a song called "WAR PIGS" by BLACK SABBATH. he gives us and Muslims worldwide a bad name.

138. Anonymous2:13 pm

Let the Games begin !! From now onwards EVERYBODY can say EVERTHING and ANYTHING, in the name of Press Freedom.

Flame and defame and there will always be a tabung avaiable for you.

Isn't this a great country? YIPPEEEE!!!!

139. Anonymous2:19 pm

For comments of the so-called advocate of freedom and equality in this blog who bashed Rocky on his view/expression

I'D SAY:-

YOU HAVE JUST SHOWN HOW HYPOCRITE AND SELECTIVE ARE YOU....THE PROBLEM IS THAT YOU ALL PERASAN BAGUS PEOPLE THINK THE ONLY RIGHT WAY IS YOUR WAY AND ANYBODY WHO THINK OTHERWISE IS EITHER RACIST OR UMNO-TOTOKS...WELL GAME'S OVER A LOT OF MALAYS HAVE SEEN HOW THE GAME IS PLAYED ESP BY DAP AND IT IS NOT ABOUT FREEDOM BUT IT IS ABOUT OPPORTUNIST LOTS WHO WANT TO GAIN POWER THROUGH PSYCHOLOGY WAR

have anybody wonder why it is only Malay/Islam kena kacau
    *tulisan jawi***30% JAIS money****nude squat - this case just prove how racist teresa is***azan***stupid MP barge into surau ceremony***negarakuku equalify azan as cockrels and r&b**stupid moron try to make a point about org asli being the rightful son of soil when they know that without the prosperity of kesultanan melayu melacca, chinese don't even want to migrate here if everything is forest***calling malays lazy****discrimination in private sectors

ALL IN THE NAME OF FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION AND OPINIONS

140. Anonymous2:19 pm

What is "freedom of speech" to these mainstream? They are just the government's dogs. All of them, especially those at the top, are just lick as**es and morons who never even know how to spell the word "truth". Its the common hatred towards the mainstream! Who reads Utusan anyway? Why do people turn to blogs? Why we need blogs nowadays, especially here? Why people like you write blog, anyway?

-mocking bird-

141. Anonymous2:23 pm

Sometimes I believe that our country is doomed when
    even the basic understanding about an event is added with racial slurs.

A simple case like this can be divided as Malay vs. non-Malay, Muslim vs. non-Muslim, Cina vs. dll., Crap Vs. more Crap.

COME ON lah grow up my friends !
    Even a newspaper got RACE/BANGSA ah?
    UM = Malay?!!! Sighhhh...

PS: Those days there was this Malaysian Post (always got sensational stories), remember? What race was it, ah?

142. Anonymous2:26 pm

Bangsa Malaysia,

You obviously have no clue of what I was getting at or you are simply trying to pretend innocently that this is purely a media reporting issue. Or else you are the one who lacks depth in thinking. Maybe you'll have more to say after my 1:05pm post. You should be grateful that I'm not in the habit of suing anyone who says anything wrong or stupid.

You must be blind, ignorant and/or a fool to tell me or anyone else to "leave race and religion out of this issue". Your "Bangsa Malaysia" nick doesn't cut it with me. The fact of the matter is that Utusan had reported what MALAYS ALREADY KNOW of Teresa Kok. It has always been about race and religion for the likes of Teresa, Karpal and LKS. Wake up and smell the coffee will you -- or stop pretending at not being able to smell it because your charade makes me sick.

Umar

143. Rocky,

I was surprised to read so many negative and, frankly, vile comments for this post so I tried to understand why they are so angry with you

I put down my thoughts in my blog
    (http://marahku.blogspot.com/2008/10/rocky-and-flamers.html) which is reproduced here. Sorry its a bit long

Rocky and the Flamers
    I think it's a good name for a retro band, Rocky and the Flamers that is.

If you are a regular blog trawler you probably would have caught on with the direction of this entry, it's about Rocky's entry on Teresa Kok suing Utusan Malaysia and Umno Cheras' decision to do a bit of fundraising in defence of Utusan.

I read and re-read Rocky's entry to see what made the overwhelming majority of commentors (275++ last I checked) decided to turn against Rocky.

The first part about Teresa being too quick on the draw sounds OK, after all we do not want people to start suing newspapers left right and centre over the smallest mistake.

Most of the commentors took exception to Rocky's logic here because they say that Teresa was arrested and kept in detention under ISA as a direct result of the article.

Well, to come tothat conclusion we have to assume that the police were not already doing their own investigation on the Azan issue - lets not forget that the police is usually quick to start investigating anything that involves race and religion.

What I am saying is that I don't know whether Utusan's piece was the only reason why she was detained under ISA but I understand why some of you may disagree.

Most commentors insists that Utusan's piece on Teresa is nothing but a web of lies, I am guessing that Utusan does not think so, otherwise they would have apologised as they did with Karpal.

Again, fans of the opposition and those who do not like Utusan will of course disagree.

Rocky pointed out that Freedom of the Press includes the freedom of Utusan Malaysia to publish what they think fit, just as much as supporters of Roket, Suara Keadilan, Harakah and Malaysia Today feel that they should be allowed to print what is in line with their political stance and battles.

I must admit that I read Roket only infrequently and almost never touch Suara Keadilan outside of stalls which sell them but I do read a bit of Harakah because many friends and family members subscribe to the publication.

Taking cue from the tone of Harakah, I imagine the others are probably none too flattering to Umno, BN and their leaders. That is their decision.

However one must cite Malaysia Today as an example of citizen journalism gone amok.

Firstly quite a few of RPK articles make wild allegations about the innocence or guilt of people. Which you cannot do without the risk of legal action even if readers believe them to be true because it is in line with stories they have heard..

Some of the articles appear to be subjudice and after months or possibly more than a year of inaction, the Government finally put the writer behind bars under the ISA.

I am not saying 'padan muka' to anyone but I guess RPK must have expected that if he kept going the way he did, arrest is forthcoming....

Anyway back to our issue at hand, if we feel it is OK for RPK to public articles accusing the DPM and his wife of murder corruption and cronyism and the Government of countless misdeeds, then one must also reserve the same standard for Utusan Malaysia. (most MT readers believe its OK because they clap RPK on and congratulate him for what they see as expose of wrongdoings).

Incidentally there are probably many millions of Malaysians who feel that Utusan exposed Teresa's wrongdoing. I can hear some readers saying to themselves that I should just say Malays instead of Malaysians. So are Malays not Malaysians?

This is what I see as a difference in opinion and point of view. it is human nature for us show support for people who share our belief, point of view and cause and Rocky's readers have shown that they are willing to allow him to have a differing point of view, so why are they so upset this time?

I am not really sure but my guess is that it has something to do with him saying that Umno Cheras is doing something right.

I came to this conclusion after seeing a pattern in the comments, many feel that Rocky has sold out to Umno, for endorsing Umno Cheras' decision.

They accuse him of jockeying for a plum job.

As a former journalist, Rocky still has strong affinity with the profession and all its problems and concerns so when someone comes up to defend a newspaper he likes it, even if he may or may not agree with whatever is being written. I like it too.

And although I do not read the Roket and Suara Keadilan I will defend their right to exist and was happy to see SK get their permit not long ago (I only read SK on-line and I think DAP's Roket is mostly only relevant to the Chinese community - label me as you please)

Whether what Utusan wrote of Teresa is true or not will be determined in the courts.

Whether Teresa should have sued Utusan is a question that we each have to answer to ourselves, the law clearly gives her a wide berth to decide. Rocky made it clear he doesn't think Teresa should be so quick to sue Utusan, he never said that Teresa should be denied the right to sue Utusan, he just said that Teresa shouldn't do it.

There are sacred cows on all sides and if the opposition dare to mention them in less than flattering light, tempers will flare and the flaming will begin.

Many of the commentors went racist and said that Rocky is defending it because he is an Umno sellout and therefore would defend anything that is Malay and Muslim.

While it is a Malay issue and Muslim issue, why does that make it any less legitimate?

Why is it so repulsive when a Malay feels he wants to defend Utusan for fighting his battle?

Do you realise that many Malays find DAP repulsive and racist?

Don't make it a racist issue,

I think it is an issue of Press Freedom and I understand some readers think that Utusan may have stepped over the truth line with their article but they must also note their feelings over RPK's questionable pieces and ask themselves if they are enforcing double standards.

Maybe Rocky is too balanced and fair with everyone....I have always believed that it is impossible for any news organisation to be totally impartial because no one is totally impartial

I think the number and tone of the angry comments are indications of who reads online news and blogs.

Answer: The vocal majority are people who are unhappy with the Government and undestandably the feel that cyberspace is theirs and the Government should stick to conventional media so when any opinions that goes agaisnt their grain pop up in cyberspace, the readers get angry. I suppose they feel that the enemy is encroaching on their territory.

There is a lesson there somewhere.... I think

144. Wow ... you kena Kow kow macam Custer's last stand .Change your Pot supplier Bro ,he aint giving you the good stuff.

145. Anonymous2:43 pm

In utusan's case, it's not a matter of media freedom. It's about the media being used as a political tool to harm an innocent MP. utusan was used as a political tool by its masters to smear Teresa Kok, and later used as the basis for unjustly arresting her under the draconian ISA.

The media is supposed to be the fourth estate, the bastion of TRUTH and JUSTICE that reports without fear or favour. Where is utusan's truthfulness and fairness in this matter? They didn't even bother to check the facts before accusing Teresa. These accusations have since been found out to be false, as even the mosque leaders have come out in defence of Teresa.

Furthermore, utusan continues to demonise Teresa as anti-Islam and anti-Malay, which is clearly not the case. Ask Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, who has vouched for Teresa's character. Also, Teresa gave utusan time to apologise, which they refused to do so and have instead continued to demonise her at every chance -- so who can blame Teresa for suing them?

utusan's malicious behaviour has even led to molotov cocktails being lobbed into her parents' home. How can anyone defend utusan's behaviour in this matter? The facts already show that utusan is clearly in the wrong, so why don't they apologise and make this suit go away?

In a nutshell, YES, the media must be given the freedom to report the truth without threats of repercussion but the media, especially in Malaysia, must NEVER be used as a tool of political masters to harm the innocent.

I call upon the public to reject the racial ploys of self-serving politicians, reject the return of mahathirism, reject the ISA, and to BOYCOTT UTUSAN UNTIL IT OFFERS A FORMAL AND UNRESERVED APOLOGY TO TERESA. JR

146. Anonymous3:03 pm

Encik Shamsul Yunos

You've spoken on behalf of me and everyone else yg dah muak dgn mereka mereka yg perasan bagus yg kononnya adalah freedom advocate but it their action certainly does not reflect their so called ideals

And what you said is also what most Malays feel (yg Malay over liberal tak sedar diri tu tak kira ok) when it seems that everything about Malay/Muslims are open for discussion and condemnation and should anyone try to defend it, they are quickly assumed to be bribed,paid or UMNO-planted person..It seems that THE ONLY WAY OF THINKING/OPINION is THEIR WAY OF THINKING/OPINION

BTW, you put it much better than I did as I can be quite emotional during comments..(darah muda hehehe)...I shudder to think of what Malaysia come should these gila kuasa, gila glamer, hypocrites like LKS, KARPAL and TERESA kuat berkokok is in power..Nau'zubillah

147. Anonymous3:04 pm

Rocky
    You must be high on drugs when you write this.
    I will not visit your blog again unless you apologize.

Rastaman Kelang

148. Anonymous3:17 pm

First time Rocky benar-benar menunjukkan belang sebenar...kalau nak jadi neutral pun cuba belajarlah dari Jed Yoong...

aku kesian dengan ko Rocky...jumlah comment cam hampir sama banyak orang hentam Ali Rustam pasal babi dulu...

sekarang bolehlah ko defend utusan...kalau molotov cocktail yang di lemparkan ke rumah ibu bapa Teresa Kok tu membunuh orang dalam rumah tu...ko nak kata apa? 30 Juta pun tak guna....

Aku cadangkan ko tengok movie Crash arahan Paul Haggis dan kasi review...at least you`ll know what i mean...

ayakk

149. Anonymous3:19 pm

It's clear we have a racial divide worse than ever. Anyone dispelling the hate-Malay hate-Islam campaign will be ambushed like what Rocky is getting. Rocky should know we have here in Malaysia a full-scale "clash of culture" brewed in foreign lands near and far.

150. Anonymous3:22 pm

Bro Rocky,

At least you could read a well researched and in chronological investigation of the azan case at here :-

http://malaysianshares.blogspot.com/2008/09/malaysiakini-shocking-find-teresa-kok_15.html

ayakk

151. Anonymous3:32 pm

I do not agree with the argument that MP Kok's defamation suit against Utusan constitutes an attack on press freedom. Utusan has clearly stepped out of bounds and reported issues which were 100% fabrications with intentions to malign the MP. This is not the work of a journalist nor is it fit for publications in a newspaper. As a result of the article(s), the MP was detained without defence and became an object of racial hatred with molotovs tossed at her familial home. I for one think that the MP did the right thing.

Freedom flows freely

152. Anonymous3:32 pm

I'm with you rocky.

I'm a Malay. I've voted for DAP twice before thinking that they are fighting for Malaysia. Now, after all that has happened, after reading history about DAP, I understand why my parents hated DAP, why they will never vote for DAP and will always vote for BN.

Now I will NOT vote for DAP again. They hate Islam and Muslims. Period. They are just pretending that they care about Malays and Muslims. The current scenario has opened the eyes for many of us.

NO TO DAP!

153. Anonymous3:37 pm

I will not visit your site anymore. Yous must be crazy to support a racist like Syedo.

Bye

154. Anonymous3:38 pm

Rocky -->

Aku cabar engkau baca dan paparkan pendapat Haris Ibrahim mengenai sokongan kau terhadap "Tabung Azan".

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/10/14/easy-to-say-dont-sue-when-the-shits-not-on-your-head/

Haris Ibrahim menunjukkan bahawa Rocky telah membuat banyak kesilapan dalam hujahnya dalam menyokong Tabung Azan atas nama "kebebasan bersuara". Sila baca, jangan tak baca!

155. Anonymous3:39 pm

Don't get offended by all these monkey commentatators...they are all bl@*dy hypocrites...Even RPK once mentioned that if the issues not appeasing the non-malay or non muslim, all these donkeys will be the one who criticize front and back..but if the posting criticize or condemning any issues related to a malay or non muslim, these same donkeys will be the one supporting the cause all the way...What a bl*#dy hypocrites...With these kind of racist mentality you expect to have a Bangsa Malaysia? Not in a thousand years...

-Adam-

156. Anonymous3:44 pm

syed ali is damn stupid!!!! A tabung for a private company. It is better to have tabung to help poor people. Stupid him

zamri sunway seminyih

157. Utusan Malaysia does NOT = Islam. What's wrong with this Syed Ali Alhabshee fellow? There is something so wrong with all this equating of every single thing to religion and race.

158. Anonymous4:11 pm

selama ni pemimpin DAP merasakan mereka pemimpin satu kaum sahaja, sekarang bila dah merasa tubuh kerajaan baru sedar bahawa susahnya menjaga sensitiviti masyarakat berbilang bangsa dan agama.

Buat apa serba tak kena, nak raih simpati teroverplayed sampai jadi isu makanan anjing. Malu punya pasal terpaksalah panjang2kan cerita.

Saman jelah Teresa.

159. Anonymous4:17 pm

Slightest provocation?

Thrown into jail under ISA a "slightest provocation"?

Haha.. you are a lost cause, Rocky.

160. Anonymous4:28 pm

Looks like you manage to create an uproar here and increase the traffic to yr blog. Just look at the numbers of comments >300 + from the usual <50.

Waiting for an opportunity to helm NSTP? Or Equine Group? Just like the grass that blows with the wind!
    Pak Labu

161. Rocky, go read Haris' blog for some brain activity.

162. Anonymous4:36 pm

dear, dear, rocky, i used to like to read your blog 'cos i thought you were pretty 'neutral' and fair, but no, you have changed, i'm not sure why, maybe it's because you didn't have enough sleep lately and you couldn't think straight ??

goofy sighs ...

163. TO ROCKY B (B FOR BANGANG):...WARTAWAN UTUSAN MELOYA DAH HILANG ETIKA KEWARTAWANAN...TAK SAMAN BUAT APA LAGI? TAKKAN NAK BIARKAN SMUA WARTAWAN TERIKUT IKUT JUGAKAH?

164. Anonymous4:41 pm

Sayonara credibility,
    Sayonara rocky's bru.

Hope your masters at least give you a datoship...

- let's forget rocky

165. ROCKY, I RASA U BUTA HURUF LA....TAK PERNAH BACA LAPORAN YANG DI-SPIN HABIS OLEH UTUSAN MELOYA KAH?

166. ROCKY: JANGAN HARAP I MASUK KE BLOG U LAGI. RUPANYA U DAH JADI ANJING UMNO.

PATUTLAH NAMA U ROCKY SEBAB ROCKY ADALAH NAMA UNTUK "ANJING" JUGA.

167. Anonymous4:48 pm

Lets go to court,i am one of the signatory of 188.We are not blind or deaf.The playcards were true and Theresa Cock is the instigator behind the scene,she is a big liar when she told she was fed with dog food,When did Utusan ask for apology?She is a christian anyway and all this kafir is a liarand with ulterior motive,for goodness sake sue the goverment for dog food,next time ask for a babi meat lah....direct from sepang.

168. I THINK YOU SHOULD APOLOGIZE TO ALL THE MALAYSIAN WHO "ABUSE" DIRECT OR INDIRECTLY BY UTUSAN MELOYA.

OTHERWISE, YOUR BLOG WILL BE GULUNG TIKAR AND ONLY VIEW BY SOME UMNO DOGS.

169. Anonymous5:18 pm

Can I explain why Syed Alhabshee, a Senator, defended Utusan so strongly? It is a known fact among senior journalists who've ever covered parliamentary proceedings (myself included) that Utusan reporters get express instructions to write about anything and everything Syed Alhabshee says in the Dewan Negara. The only reason for this is that he has a close friend among the top guns in Utusan.

170. Anonymous5:27 pm

Can I explain why Syed Alhabshee, a Senator, defended Utusan so strongly? It is a known fact among senior journalists who've ever covered parliamentary proceedings (myself included) that Utusan reporters get express instructions to write about anything and everything Syed Alhabshee says in the Dewan Negara. The only reason for this is that he has a close friend among the top guns in Utusan.

171. Hi Rocky,

Thanks for replying... Appreciated it very much... :)

I know nuts about legal process... I got no idea how does the 30 millions come out with, but it's not like we've not seen much larger amount... ;)

I know one will go through hard time if one got sued... I mean, if I'm the one who got sued... I may not be able to even stay sane...

However, it seems the Utusan and journalist are standing high on the ground, that they refuse to apology and firmly believe in that article...

If you are damn sure that you are right... then I believe you have that spirit to stay on and fight on... Rocky you are that example aren't you? :)

Journalist writes to stay alive... and I believe if one always sticks to the truth, obeying the ethics, a journalist will stay writing and alive...

Politician is also human... Politician speaks, rallies for support to stay alive... The Utusan article, by misreporting, has dealt core damage to Ms Kok and DAP, which cut off their support from Utusan readers (which reached out to huge number of people in Malaysia)! The article in fact cut off Ms Kok's and DAP's rezeki because they are not able to rally for support from these huge group of people!

What will you do when you are suffered from starvation? Such political damage towards a politician is like taking away bread and butter from ordinary people, and that 30 million seem just to me... not to forget the fact that Judge is the one who decides the amount of compensation money...

Commentaries and critics are different from reporting...

One can criticise Ms Kok and DAP as bunch of chauvinist pigs, as long as you cite the facts...

Commenting Ms Kok and henceforth DAP as anti-Malay chauvinist pigs using untruthful "facts" is defamation...

RPK commented few months ago that DAP is somewhat chauvinist, by citing the DAP perpetual call for "Release Hindraf 5" without giving concerns about the other ISA detainees... RPK was citing a fact, based on some news reports...

Journalist got detained because of politicians... Politicians faced death threat and loss because of journalists...

172. Anonymous5:42 pm

HA..HA..HA..
    SIAKAP SENOHONG<
    GELAMA IKAN DURI,
    INILAH PADAH TERBIT BERITA BOHONG,
    SUDAH TERKENA BARU NAK KADAR DIRI.

SEMOGA INGAT SAMPAI KE MATI!!!

Prihatim

173. what she went through was defamation. a reporter MUST check his/her facts correctly before publishing the article. what utusan did was unprofesional. she was detained under ISA for something she NEVER did. u make me feel disgusted.

174. Anonymous7:56 pm

Bro Rocky,
    I admire you (eventhough I do not agree with you, sorry).

You have the guts to allow criticisms on your blog. Even Che Det weeds out all information that does not praise him.

For this, I respect you!

175. Anonymous8:13 pm

Sdr. Rock,

While you are supporting Utusan's right to use racial & religious slander to get Teresa Kok into big trouble, as well as Mr.Alhabshee attempt to equate opposition to Utusan as opposition to the Malays & Islam...

Can you explain why you... ahem... removed... 'Malaysian Tigress' comment at 11.57AM?

Just need to clarify, so at least... ahem... folks don't get the idea that you're censoring while clamoring for, ahem... press freedom.

You know, the very thing you accuse Teresa Kok of doing... :)

176. Anonymous8:56 pm

rockybru dude,

i have read your blog for sometime now and supported your stand on many issues..
    BUT you got this hopelessly WRONG..
    think again..

i think you massively disappointed many of your supporters with your stand on this issue.. sorry bro, you miss the point, you're way way off..

but i respect your right to have your own view..

i just felt let down..
    sigh...

bobbxu
    subang jaya

177. Anonymous8:59 pm

If we look the matter into another angle, she had also denied of making any statement that she was fed by food which was similar to dog food !( her statement was reported by Utusan and ehem by other media as well). Anyway she accused that Utusan had purposely made a false report. So can she made up her mind as well

Thau Wan

178. Anonymous9:05 pm

WOW wtf what a cunt u are

179. Dear Rocky,
    I have to put on record that I do not agree with you.YB Teresa Kok has every right to sue Utusan for defaming her.For publishing those lies Utusan and the editor concerned should be sued and made to pay for their folly and chauvism!I do not group you with those chauvinists, and am ,therefore, at a lost regarding your support for them.My regards for you have taken a beating!

180. Anonymous9:11 pm

sekali dia tak setuju dengan rocky habis-habisan rocky kena hentam

konon mahukan demokrasi sebenarnya komunis

paksa orang terima pendapat dia je, kalau rocky tulis mesti macam apa yang dia nak

tak setuju kalu, kasi hentam

NAK SEDAP TULIS SENDIRI LA

181. Anonymous9:11 pm

U are not what u used to be.
    As an outsider, We tends to see u better thru your articles.

You are a changed person. :(

dont be surprise, if you are not getting any new assignments.

Then who cares, if you r going to NST or UTUSAN. U are not? Well, you are telling us here very clearly tat u are.

all the best

jara

182. If you are right in what you have done, just counter sue lah Utusan. Next time pun kena beringat nak cover function apa. Kena tau orang tu really appreciate you or not. Stop being too Malay coz it hurt you so much. Sekarang ni Melayu semakin kurang rasa bangga kerana memiliki sebuah akhbar Melayu. Sekarang ni orang baca blog dan percaya bulat-bulat.

183. Aku setuju rakyat Malaysia setiap sorang saman Teresa Kok RM30 juta sebab menyuruh kerajaan minta maaf dengan kerajaan China dalam isu ketuk ketampi bogel. Disebabkan tekanan Teresa terhadap kerajaan, kita semua terpaksa menerima "kemaluan" itu. Ayuh saman. Jangan tak saman.

184. Anonymous10:10 pm

Rocky, I hope you will dedicate a few minutes of your precious time to read this and blog a review about it.

Do you agree a newspaper should publish such story, nevermind if it's targeting a real person or not?

Is this the freedom of speech you are talking about? I hope to read your thoughts about this story published in utusan in your blog soon.

Please don't ignore this. Here is a chance for you to set your stand straight. Do you condone such behavior of a national newspaper??

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2008&dt=1012&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Sastera&pg=sa_01.htm

185. Teresa is seeking remedy.

This is not about freedom of speech.
    It is about seeking civil remedy when someone unrepentently and deliberately libel against you.

186. Anonymous10:56 pm

assalamualaikum..
    when we talk about democracy, we always blamed the government.. everything that government did ,always wrong in our eyes..

but remember if we want that democracy run in our country lets the utusan malaysia do whatever they wants..

they free to speak..its call freedom..

ahiruddin atan .. i support u..

assalamualaikum

187. Anonymous11:18 pm

assalamualaikum..

saudara..

apakah demokrasi yg diperjuangkan oleh pembangkang jika semua yg kerajaan buat semua salah...

dan apabila pembangkang buat semua betul..

jika isu2 yg dibicarakan oleh orang melayu menyentuh sesuatu kaum, orang melayu dilabel racist, tapi apabila dibicarakan oleh cina dan india??

itu dipanggil demokrasi..

yang dihina bukan pemimpin bn semata2 tp pemimpin melayu..

seperti semua pihak ingin menjatuhkan pemimpin melayu..

mengapa isu namewee tidak diperkatakan oleh pas dan pkr
    tapi isu ahmad ismail dihebohkan ke hulu hilir..kerana (namewee cina manakala ahmad ismail melayu)

kesamarataan itu hanyalah retorik semata2 .. jika anda tinggal di kawasan perumahan yg didiami oleh bangsa india dan cina..anda akan tahu betapa racistnya mereka apabila mereka majority dalam kawasan itu..

dalam isu hindraf..mereka memperjuangkan agama mereka..bukannya bangsa mereka..mereka seolah2 pelampau agama..jika jemaah islamiiah ditahan..mereka juga wajar ditahan..tuntutan yg mereka buat amat menyinggung perassan bangsa melayu..

dap dan hindraf malahan pakatan rakyat hanya memperjuangkan kebebasan rpk dan hindraf, tapi tidak tahanan yang lain

hanya pas yg bersungguh2 memperjuangkan kebebasan semua tahanan..adakah rakyat(melayu) tidak laginampak semua ini...

188. rocky I am truly disappointed in you. Truly I am speechless that you have said what you said - and I am a malay and fervent practising muslim at that. I hope Utusan will be taught a painful lesson.

189. Mr Rocky, rupanya ramai peminat anjing di sini, tetapi janganlah hairankan mereka ini kerana anjing kegemarannya mencium najis sendiri, mereka suka benda2 yang busuk dan meloyakan, itulah 'sedap' bagi mereka.

Mereka sudah macam terjumpa hantu bila terdengar nama mahadey, sebab mereka tahu kalau pengaruh mahadey menular, mereka belum sempat bercakap, mulut dan niat mereka sudah terkunci sebab mahadey mewakili kerajaan yang kuat untuk mengawal salakan perkauman yang kuat.

Teruskan menulis atas kebenaran walaupun ia bermirip kepada siapa sahaja, mereka buta untuk membaca 'isi' yang ditulis, mereka lebih gemar melihat kulit, anjing bila dogoyangkan ekor pendeknya, dia lebih suka menjilat.

Hari ini, yang penting, penyokong kepada kebenaran dapat dikumpul kembali untuk hidup dengan harmoni dan hormat menghormati antara kaum dan antara ugama. Yang fanatik sudah lama jadi penyokong tegar dan memang nasib merekalah selama lamanya untuk hanya menjadi 'pembangkang'.

190. Anonymous11:56 pm

Saya menyokong tulisan saudara..
    Bagi saya, saya patut membantu Utusan Malaysia.
    Utusan banyak menyedarkan saya sebagai orang melayu pentingnya pendidikan, ilmu, kekuatan ekonomi dan persaingan di antara orang bukan melayu. tanpa utusan, tidak mungkin saya berada dimana say sekarang..
    Saya akan cuba sedaya upaya untuk menyebarkan tulisan saudara sebagai tanda sokongan.
    Kepada puak2 Pas dan PKR, berfikir dahulu sebelum bertindak. Dimana anda sekarang..
    Jika diharapkan kepada Harakah, terlalu jauh berbeza..
    Isu dipaparkan oleh Utusan telah banyak menyedarkan orang Melayu.
    Teruskan usaha saudara untuk membantu orang Islam dan Melayu..
    Jangan jadi parti islam (hanya pada nama) , tetapi tidak mengambarkan perjuangan orang islam..
    tidak mempertahankan hak2 orang Islam

--- mentari ----

191. Anonymous11:58 pm

Saya menyokong tulisan saudara..
    Bagi saya, saya patut membantu Utusan Malaysia.
    Utusan banyak menyedarkan saya sebagai orang melayu pentingnya pendidikan, ilmu, kekuatan ekonomi dan persaingan di antara orang bukan melayu. tanpa utusan, tidak mungkin saya berada dimana say sekarang..
    Saya akan cuba sedaya upaya untuk menyebarkan tulisan saudara sebagai tanda sokongan.
    Kepada puak2 Pas dan PKR, berfikir dahulu sebelum bertindak. Dimana anda sekarang..
    Jika diharapkan kepada Harakah, terlalu jauh berbeza..
    Isu dipaparkan oleh Utusan telah banyak menyedarkan orang Melayu.
    Teruskan usaha saudara untuk membantu orang Islam dan Melayu..
    Jangan jadi parti islam (hanya pada nama) , tetapi tidak mengambarkan perjuangan orang islam..
    tidak mempertahankan hak2 orang Islam

--- mentari ---

192. Anonymous12:08 am

Sending someone to ISA because of a report that is wholeheartedly taken as "having substance" by the authorities and found later that there was no substance is freedom of the press?

I must be missing the plot big time.

193. You sir, are a moron.

194. Anonymous12:33 am

Freedom of the press, like other inherent liberty and rights, is not absolute. In a free society you have the right to do what you like, but that did not give you the right to kill others, except perhaps in self defence.
    Likewise, journalists and the media have the freedom to express. write and publish on or about anything or anybody - but they have no god-given right to write and publish lies.

Rocky, your views and opinions are now getting cozy by the days to the power that be. Are you trying to prime yourself for a possible position due to be vacated soon in your industry?

195. Anonymous12:39 am

Sebenarnya isu azan di Kinrara Puchong nie isu lama. Ianya isu sebelum PRU -12 lagi. Kalau saudara pernah berjemaah di masjid tersebut sebelum PRU-12, anda akan dengar suara-suara daripada kalangan AJK masjid tersebut bahawa ada seorang ahli politik pembangkang (pada masa tersebut) adalah dalang kes ini. Itulah jawapan yang akan diberikan jika anda bertanyakan pasal salinan petisyen yang terdapat di situ.

Malah, kalau anda rapat dengan AJK tersebut, mereka akan bagitau nama kepada anda. Tetapi, sayang selepas seorang MP PAS sendiri membuat laporan polis, AJK masjid yang rata-rata orang kuat PAS mula berdiam seribu bahasa kerana takut tidak sehaluan dengan pucuk pimpinan mereka. Mereka mungkin bukan ahli PAS tetapi tidak dinafikan adalah penyokong kuat PAS...

Jadi, tidak hairan jika kini mereka hanya mendiamkan diri apabila MP PAS sendiri yg membuat laporan polis mengenai isu ini dan orang yg terlibat kini mula besar kepala kerana tiada seorang pon yang sanggup menjadi saksi bagi kes ini,

Saya yakin, jika bukan MP PAS yang buat laporan polis itu... reaksi daripada AJK adalah berlainan sekali dan saya salahkan MP PAS tersebut kerana telah berjaya mendiamkan AJK yang tahu hal sebenarnya.

Orang Puchong

196. Anonymous12:49 am

rocky, aku dah baca dah artikel tu. ada dua tiga perkara aku perasan.

1. Nama Theresa kok tidak disebut langsung.
    2. Artikel mula2 komen pasal tulisan khir Toyo, kemudian elaborate.
    3. Artikel lebih kepada luahan perasaan penulis, tanpa menuduh DIRECTLY kepada teresa kok.

mungkin betul penulis fitnah, mungkin tidak. itu mahkamah akan tentukan. tapi dari segi perundangan, walaupun aku bukan lawyer, nampak mcm susah je theresa ni nak menang. artikel mcm ni mmg selalu utusan keluarkan, tak penah pun kena saman. terus terang cakap, kalau aku baca utusan malaysia, tak pernah aku ambik serius sgt, sebab utusan ni memang banyak merapu. biasa aku baca nak tengok waktu solat dan result bola. malangnya, masih banyak lagi orang melayu kita yang percaya bulat2 semua yg ditulis.

rumusannya, aku sokong kau rocky. freedom of the press should be upheld. then it's up to us to take the good and discard the shit. if the press(sometimes bloggers) cross the line, flaming up racial and religious issues, making accusations without PROOF or EVIDENCE, which is what RPK actually did to Najib, Khairy and whoever else he hates in his blog, then sue their ass or report to the police. seriously, you can't simply accuse someone of MURDER and tell the world just because someone told you about it in a coffee shop! it's just ridiculous and, yes, i should say it's unislamic. itu pun fitnah jugak. if you have the evidence or proof, bring it forward la.

the law will take it's course. this is what teresa kok is doing, which is the right thing to do i guess. then it's up the court to decide. i really doubt she could win though.but i could be wrong.

P/S: tak abis2 politiking. bile la org malaysia ni nak sedar, ekonomi tgh sesak skrg. sudah2 la tu baca blog politik kat opis. pi sambung kerja!

197. it's simple
    rocky bru is an arsehole
    brainhouse lacking in
    wisdom, knowledge & understanding

198. Anonymous1:32 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/10505-teresa-kok-unfazed-by-utusan-attack

Would you still defend the right of Utusan to instigate murder?

You want blood on your hands Rocky?
    Get your head out of your ass.

199. We at The Malay Male approve of Rocky and this post.

We support and stand behind his freedom of expression.

The culture of multi-million dollar lawsuits should not be introduced in Malaysia.

Teresa Kok should have sued for cost, or RM1. Just to prove that she's in the right.

To reprimand biased reporting, if it was so, but not to try and cripple the company.

Sure, I want to be a multi-millionaire more than the next guy, but suing people for it?

That may be American, but we are not American.

We're English.

Gua komen pakai Blackberry.

200. Anonymous2:37 am

Shit head lah you, Rocky.
    What the shits got in your kepala otak??
    You totally lost my respect lah this time, shit head.

ShitHeadBru.