Monday, September 22, 2008

Ah, Lee Yoke Har!

A blogging mom and her Princess of the House. Yoke Har and I were colleagues back in the Eighties, the same period when Adlin Zabri (later Anwar Ibrahim's press secretary until his sacking), Leslie Lopez (Singapore Straits Times), Azam Aris and Ho Kay Tat (the top editors of the Edge now) and Zainul Arifin (NST) were business reporters and friends.
Yoke Har lives in New Zealand now. We got reconnected through our blogs recently . She blogs about life - and death - in general [This season of our despair, next season of light].
Her Princess is an 8-year old battling bile duct problems, and with a history of childhood cancer. Amoxycilin, Aciclovir and Heparin - Safe or Not? Do I think you're paranoid, Yoke Har? No, not at all ...

11 comments:

1. Anonymous5:10 pm

adlin zabri? i remember how arrogant he was when anwar ibrahim was in power. adlin had a way of pouting his mouth. well, when anwar was a heart beat from becoming prime minister, most of his boys were so arrogant. so was anwar. anyway, it seems saudara anwar has changed - for the better. but businessmen are bankrolling anwar's quest to be pm. if he becomes pm, how will anwar repay these businessmen??? will it be business as usual? will saudara anwar return to his arrogant days?

2. Why is Adlin Zabri kissing the lesbian minister's ass now? One minute Anwar, next minute Azalina....I know your posting has got nothing to do with him....Adlin, Adlin.

3. Anonymous6:39 pm

Ta'kisah sape-sape in power so long they are clean,BRILLIANT and Amanah,,!!!!

Membimbangkan,,,"Standardise the minimum salary of Filipino household workers overseas,,they are paid US$400"

Kita rakyat Malaysia,,Clarical Staff,Salesperson dan Pekerja Kilang cuma dapat $600 basic ++ sebulan dapat $1500+=,,

Memang memalukan,,,begitu kecilnya duit kita,,macam duit daun Pisang,,!!!!

Can PM Bodowi or Najis do something to naikkan nilai Ringgit back to RM2.50 per 1USD..,,!!???

Lihat semasa Anwar TPM dahulu and Menteri Kewangan,,,betapa megah kalu kita pergi overseas,,nilai duit kita tinggi,,

Lets not talk cock,,,FUCK OFF the BN Goverment,,give it to Anwar to lead the Country,,,to revive the Economy,,,

Teringat masa 70s,,my late Father running Mee Rebus Stall d JB,,Singaporean makan a plate of Mee got to pay SD1.10 equiverlent RM1,,,tapi today FUCK,,,SD1 =RM2.46

Adakah pemimpin kita Blind or Bodoh,,???? Nama PM & TPM pon bawa Sial,,,BODOWI & NAJIS,,,KASI TUKAAQ CEPATLAH,,!!!!!

-BODO2--

4. THIS IS OFF TOPIC

The sudden withdrawal of Sabah Progressive Party (Sapp) from Barisan Nasional last week as a “shocking revelation” came to light.

Its disgruntled ex-deputy president Raymond Tan claimed on Saturday that he had been instrumental in preventing the arrest of party president Yong Teck Lee in June in relation to allegations of corruption.

An English-language daily in Sabah quoted Tan as saying that Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had wanted Yong arrested by the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA). This was after Yong spearheaded a no-confidence vote against Abdullah’s leadership.

In defending himself against claims of ingratitude by failing to support the Sapp pullout, Tan revealed that he had intervened on Yong’s behalf in June.

He said he had pleaded with Abdullah not to arrest Yong as it would be a bad move, and had even gone on television with a plea to allow the latter to speak up.

Wah like that also possible meh, SO what does this statement say to us? This revelation says our Prime Minister is interfering in police investigations as per regarding corrupt practises. But I thought the PM has been saying the BN led government never interferes in corruption cases. IS IT A LIE? So that means there is, blatant abuse of power by the PM and his cabinet. Don't forget Anwar ibrahim was arrested and charged for abuse of power for the very same reason. So the allegation of selective prosecution by the executive has been proven beyond any doubt by this revelation. Will someone file charges, police report, citizens’ arrest etc. against the PM, for abuse of Power, by hindering the Police from exercising their constitutional duty. Will the home minister demand the resignation of the PM, or censure the PM among his peers or should the Home Minister also be charged now for lying to the public. WILL SOMEONE MAKE A POLICE REPORT AGAINST THE GOVERNMENT?

IN FIRST WORLD COUNTRIES SUCH PROOF HAS LED GOVERNMENTS TO BE FORCED OUT OF OFFICE AND RE-ELECTIONS CONDUCTED. Will this happen in Malaysia?, I don't think so, We Malaysians are all aware the present BN government led and controlled by Umno is nothing more than a dictatorship, Democracy in name only, but a dictatorship by practise.
    A very pertinent answer by the Home Minister let the cat out of the bag. When Hamid ALBAR was asked why ISA action was taken Sin Chew reporter and Teresa Kok, (both actions seen as a selective backlash) whilst No action was taken against AHMAD ISMAIL, who started the ball rolling, by uttering seditious statements, WHY no government action was taken against him? The reply by our home minister Hamid Albar astounded all the reporters, 'ACTION HAS BEEN TAKEN, UMNO HAS SUSPENDED HIM, ISN'T THAT ENOUGH' or words to that affect.

What that means is Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar has openly declared, albeit indirectly, THAT UMNO IS THE GOVERNMENT, AND THE GOVERNMENT IS UMNO, NOT BN.WHAT WE SAY GOES.
    The pertinent Question that than arises, what about the other component parties, aren't they partners in the governing of Malaysia as declared during elections and BN manifestos and slogans, don't they have a say, or are they just rubber-stamps to UMNO POLICIES, POWERLESS and lame ducks?
    What than does that say for MCA, MIC, PPP and ALL THE east-Malaysia parties?

This open declaration by the Home minister thus puts to rest once and for all the myth; BN is a coalition of many multi-ethnic Political parties. This is further than the truth.
    IT IS NOT.
    It is a coalition of a master in the form of UMNO, and servant or slaves in the form of all the coalition partners. Whichever way you put it look at it .In actual fact the reality of
    “I command and you follow seems to be the reality”. Is this what Malaysians bargained for? I don't think so. I think WE, RAKYAT MALAYSIA, have been lied to and misled by this lie called BN, especially UMNO long enough.
    The time has come for us the rakyat, to put a stop to this and support the pakatan moves of changing the government through tried and tested methods employed by BN in the past, lets give them a taste of their own medicine . so folks what say you, LETS ALL PUT OUR MONEY WHERE OUR MOUTH ARE OR FOREVER HOLD OUR PEACE.

5. Anonymous10:44 pm

In Thailand, Samak resigned; in Israel, Olmert resigned; in Japan Fukuda resigned. In Malaysia what it is so difficult to get a person to resign. Sheeeeesh....

--Aiyoyo--

6. Anonymous11:20 pm

And also in South Africa, the President Mbeki resigned. In Malaysia why it is so so so difficult....

--Aiyoyo--

7. Brother,

I know Yoke Har too. I remember her well. What can we do to help? The doa is automatic. Can we do more? Perhaps a fund. I'm not sure how Yoke Har would feel about it but it's something we can do physically. If you start one, I'm willing to contribute. All Blogs to organise?

PAHIT MANIS

8. Anonymous8:03 am

Yoke Har .. I can still remember her smile. I can still remember the line of questions she asked corporate captains at agms and egms ... all the best kak

ex bernama

9. Anonymous8:39 am

Brother,

Saya cadangkan u refer kat Dato Hafifi, saya yakin ubat yang dia gunakan boleh membantu Yoke Har..Transfer Factor 4Life..Do u remember how was Dato Hafifi last time?

10. Anonymous2:39 pm

Bro, do remember Dato Hafifi Hafidz, mungkin dia boleh bantu..melalui Transfer Factor 4Life..

11. Rocky - ribuan xie xies...for a spot in your blog. I have indeed contacted quite a few old and dear friends through blogsphere..

For thos who sent me notes - thanks! Brother Ahmad Talib, ribuan xie xies for offer of help. That is truly touching. Lucky for us, the NZ healthcare is free, and that is truly useful for someone with a sick child. But what Malaysians can do is raise money to fund kids needing expensive bone marrow transplants or liver transplants - in US or Aust/NZ/Singapore. Last I heard, Malaysia masih belum ada Liver Transplant units for kids. Auckland has worldclass liver transplant unit.

To those of you who sent word, I shall try to reply...writing out of hospital bed today...life takes on a different magnitude in hospital :o)

Salam!