Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Brace yourselves ...

D-day. Petrol and diesel prices will go up, question is by HOW MUCH? By 13 sen a litre? 30 sen? Or more?
If the Cabinet agrees to drop the shit on all of us TODAY and withdraw petrol subsidies, we are all in for a rough ride. Or, no more ride cos some of us won't be able to afford to drive anymore.

How much will the Government save? A lot.
What will they do with those savings? Uh-uh.
A. To improve public transportation (again)
B. To eradicate poverty
C. To redistribute wealth fairly
D. All the above
E. None of the above

75 comments:

1. Talk with D and end up with E, D End.

2. Implement more Mega Projects.

3. Anonymous12:43 pm

DPM is talking crap when he tells the rakyat to change their lifestyle.....what lifestyle? If finding just enough to put food on the table, roof over your head and beds to sleep in are considered luxurious, then how should one categorise how the idiots at the cabinet are living?

And to think one of their kind have the cheek to ask people to find a cheaper alternative to rice if they can no longer afford.....to think these are the people we have managing the country!!!

4. Anonymous12:47 pm

none of the above coz more will be used to feed the fat cats. by the way, it has re-commenced with the second penang bridge as contract value went up by a whopping 77% in less than one year! i say, scrap it and spend just 5% of the contract value (about RM200 million) to improve the ferry service but then fat cats need the contract.
    cronyism aint gona end until BN is kicked out. Only UMNO leader who acknowledges and is prepared to chemo the cancerous cell, Tengku Razaleigh aint gonna stand a chance for the premiership coz the warlords within UMNO wouldnt want their fat pockets to stop growing.

YH

5. Bro, remember the last time they said they were going to use the additional 30 reduction in subsidy to improve public transport. Whatever happened to that?

6. Subsidies saved will help to enrich ownself and own pocket. The rakyat will as always gets the crumbs.

7. Anonymous1:04 pm

Yes. Improve public transportation (again) and give a big sum of it to our national bus company, SCOMI! (again).

BudakJB

8. Anonymous1:05 pm

Dear Malaysians,
    Its time to consider the long forgotten form of ancient technology, Kereta Lembu.

Specifications:
    Engine: 2 cowpower

Source of Fuel: Grass which is environmental friendly. Dunk can be recycled to produce electricity.

Maintenance: Very low and save money. Replace the old engines with new cows. Old cows can be slaughtered and sold in market or used for charitable purpose.

Driving license: Not necessary as long as cows are in control.

Road accidents: Reduce drastically. Kereta Lembu are slow but much more safer compare to the soft engineered Proton and Perodua cars.

9. Anonymous1:09 pm

For once I support the government's move to raise petrol prices. Why? Because it's time Malaysians learnt how not to take things for granted. It's time to stop wasting precious resources. It's time TO TAKE A WALK. Aint that healhy?

10. Anonymous1:14 pm

so all the tap running dry ke?

or this government going bankrupt?

talk some more want to go orbiting? the moon? the mar?... probably after today want to balik kampong, also got problem.

~~~beeranyone

11. Anonymous1:15 pm

hallelujah...amen...

b.h.obama

12. Anonymous1:20 pm

Let's pray it will be D. There's no harm to keep praying and hoping. Or maybe we need to push them more.

13. Did not some politicians promise us that there will not be any price increase for fuel before the elections? Sigh.. another broken promise. What else is new ?

14. What actually prompted the gov't to withdraw these crutches (subsidies)? Has to be pretty heavy as it will severly impact a majority of the population. Reprisal for not voting BN?

Canada

15. I think they're going to remove all subsidies, which I support. What I don't support is:

1) Paying of Road Tax
    2) Paying of Income Tax
    3) Paying of Toll to Highway Concessionaires who built the highway because they were close to the ruling party
    4) Paying of a High Car Sales Tax for the sole purpose of protecting Proton
    5) Paying of regular priced petrol.
    6) All of this, while we are a net exporter of Petrol.

So in actual fact, while Malaysia may have the lowest cost of fuel in the region, the TOTAL cost of driving a car in KL is quite high.

My opinion is to take Petronas Profits and split it fairly among all Malaysian, 20Billion USD a year, translates to around Rm2384 a person. For a family of 4, that's Rm795 for them to cope with price increases.

16. Me too D and E .
    Then it is F.......Failure.
    Then it is G....... ???
    Then it is H....... Haprak

17. Perhaps a new government. Look at this:

MALAYSIA:You have a vast farm with plenty of cows. But no one gets the milk, because you sell it all and use the profits to build mega-farm structures like the world's tallest barnyard and fund fame-bringing endeavors like tarik-ing milk while in orbit. The cows will eventually run out, but you can't be bothered to implement sustained breeding to get more cows.

MALAYSIA: You are given 100 cows by the government in order to produce milk for orphans. You keep 10 cows and pass the other 90 to a lower-ranking person and he will handle the job. He does the same, passing 80 cows on to the next person. On and on it goes, until one cow remains and is used to feed the orphans. (Sometimes, less than one cow.)

MALAYSIA: You have two cows. Angry at the illegal racing going on at night, belligerent neighbourhood folk buy the cows from you and make them stand on the road for Mat Rempits to crash into.

IPOH: You have two cows. Their milk tastes the best because of the local water they drink. This gets you enough profits during major holidays when people come to enjoy the renowned Ipoh milk, so you can survive during the rest of the year in your economically-sleepy town.

JOHOR BAHRU: You have two cows. The milk can be sold for a higher price because of Singaporean money flowing in. But when transporting the milk, the bumpy roads and potholes churn it into butter. One of the cows is soon stolen from you at knifepoint, the other is raped and murdered. The police fine you for expired grazing tickets on the cows.

PAKATAN RAKYAT: Abolish the farming quota! Cows belong to all citizens who are equal in a Malaysian Malaysia.

18. Where does the $$$ go?
    We have not seen any of taxpayers' money going into a, b, and c for the last 4 years. Now, with Gov taichi-ing the costs of oil price hike to the joe on the street, the result will be explosive, unlike Tun M's prediction of 'unrest' based on 'racial divide', It's more of 'Wallet Divide'.

19. A new government. Ohterwise it will end like this scenario:

MALAYSIA:You have a vast farm with plenty of cows. But no one gets the milk, because you sell it all and use the profits to build mega-farm structures like the world's tallest barnyard and fund fame-bringing endeavors like tarik-ing milk while in orbit. The cows will eventually run out, but you can't be bothered to implement sustained breeding to get more cows.

MALAYSIA: You are given 100 cows by the government in order to produce milk for orphans. You keep 10 cows and pass the other 90 to a lower-ranking person and he will handle the job. He does the same, passing 80 cows on to the next person. On and on it goes, until one cow remains and is used to feed the orphans. (Sometimes, less than one cow.)

MALAYSIA: You have two cows. Angry at the illegal racing going on at night, belligerent neighbourhood folk buy the cows from you and make them stand on the road for Mat Rempits to crash into.

IPOH: You have two cows. Their milk tastes the best because of the local water they drink. This gets you enough profits during major holidays when people come to enjoy the renowned Ipoh milk, so you can survive during the rest of the year in your economically-sleepy town.

JOHOR BAHRU: You have two cows. The milk can be sold for a higher price because of Singaporean money flowing in. But when transporting the milk, the bumpy roads and potholes churn it into butter. One of the cows is soon stolen from you at knifepoint, the other is raped and murdered. The police fine you for expired grazing tickets on the cows.

PAKATAN RAKYAT: Abolish the farming quota! Cows belong to all citizens who are equal in a Malaysian Malaysia.

20. We need a new government otherwise consider the following scenario:

21. Anonymous1:53 pm

What will they do with those savings? Uh-uh.
    A. To improve public transportation (again)
    B. To eradicate poverty
    C. To redistribute wealth fairly
    D. All the above
    E. None of the above

My answer : F - To emblazon Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar as much as government could.

p/s: Try and go check KJ office in Damansara and what is he up too?

22. they will help themselves...aiya..itu pun lagi mau tanya kahhhh.

23. Anonymous2:02 pm

Anonymous,
    Datuk Sharrir,
    Sorry I forgot to read your lips on the 'No price increase"
    I knew it was too good to be true, trust the BN, at your own peril, they will sell their mothers and wife too.
    Disgusted citizen

24. Anonymous2:04 pm

I'm an optimistic person but this round i shall say only God can saves our country/world. Let everyone of us learn from our mistakes and become a stronger and wiser person especially on financial matters.

25. Removing the subsidy will be the best move the government can make. It has nothing to lose politically as it is already reeling from the recent setback at the polls. It should remove the subsidy at one go, instead of bit by bit. (If you want to stop stealing chickens, stop it completely, instead of stealing a few chicken less each time.) Go for cold turkey instead of using substitute drugs.

And talking about chicken, this move will kill 2 chickens with one stone. Once the petrol and diesel are sold at market rates, there will be no need ban foreigners from buying petrol in Malaysia. And no more smuggling by the big boys. No more curi ayam.

26. we can't trust goverment to improve public transport with subsidies saved.

"once a upon a time....."

27. Anonymous2:26 pm

Ministers should start paying for their petrol too. Give them a fix monthly petrol allowance of say $2,500. Anything more, they pay from their own pocket, after all not all their travelling are on govt duties.

Sama-sama tanggonglah!

Mau improve transport system? Berapa menteri sudah mari, tapi tak boleh improve punya! Duduk dalam traffic jam kasi habis minyak saja!

Minyak naik, disel naik - semua lain pun akan naik. Gerenti punya! Darah lagi naik!

KAWAN

28. Anonymous2:30 pm

Same old thing bru....

we will (or not) improve public transport.

we will put in a public transportation trust fund.

we will screw you....yesss sir we will

29. Anonymous2:31 pm

Baru baru ini dalam akhbar tempatan, kerajaan telah keluarkan satu statistik kononnya harga minyak di malaysia adalah yang paling rendah di rantau ini. Kemudian mereka membandingkan harga minyak Malaysia dengan hargi minyak di Thailand, Singapore, Filipina dan Vietnam.
    Persoalan sekarang apakah asas perbandingan tersebut sedangkan negara negara tersebut bukan pengeluar minyak? Hujah seperti inilah yang digunakan oleh BN untuk memperbodohkan orang kampung.
    Ok, disini fakta yang semua orang kena tahu. Pertama sekali sila lihat perbandingan harga minyak malaysiadan negara negara pengeluar minyak yang lain:-

Negara Harga minyak seliter (dalam RM)
    Malaysia RM1.92
    Iran RM0.29
    Venezuela RM0.16
    Turkemenistan RM0.39
    Arab Saudi RM0.19
    Mesir RM0.81

SEBAB TAK CUKUP UNTUK MENAMPUNG POKET KRONI2 YANG SELALU DAHAGAKAN WANG RAKYAT.

30. F - Scomi, Patrik Lim (Badawi), KJ

31. Anonymous2:38 pm

ALL THIS TALKS ABOUT PUSHING UP PRICES WERE BASED ON LAST WEEK'S WHEN IT WAS USD 130+ PER BARREL. YESTERDAY IT WAS ALREADY USD 127.
    BUT SINCE EVERYONE ELSE IS HIKING UP THE PRICE TO THE CONSUMERS, LET US JACK IT UP AS WELL.

WHAT IS NEW??

BTW, WHEN IS HE GONNA RESIGN THAT SLEEPY GUY?
    WASN'T IT SUPPOSED TO BE TODAY?
    OH, AFTER THE PRICE HIKE STORY....

DOES THAT MEAN TOMORROW?

WE'LL WAIT AND SEE...

(TRUBLU JOHORE)

32. Anonymous2:39 pm

F: memperkayakan lagi anak menantu!

-kereta buruk.

33. Anonymous2:49 pm

for personal use to buy properties in australia/uk so they can retire after ge 13.

34. Anonymous2:50 pm

Proposed incentives to be announced

PUTRAJAYA, Wed.: The Cabinet committee on inflation, which met here yesterday, will propose to the Cabinet for consideration the following:

* Direct cash payment to motorcyclists and small-car owners when the price of petrol goes up. Money will be paid through postal orders.

* No increase for LPG cooking gas and NGV for taxis.

* Gas subsidy to power industrial sector to be gradually reduced.

* TNB to be allowed to increase rates, with the exception of Sabah and Sarawak, but electricity increase will not affect 60 per cent of households.

* Extra tax on IPP, palm oil millers.

The Cabinet will be making an announcement on these proposals this afternoon.

These proposals will see inflation go up by 1 per cent and reduce the Gross Domestic Product by 0.5 per cent.

35. The savings would be used to finance a new snap elections. This time the government will make sure all the opposition plus the dissenting voices from within are truly wiped out. Tsk, tsk, tsk...

36. Subsidies for the whole population is a bad thing, since subsidies should only be targetted at the poor and needy.

However, since the entire market mechanism for goods and services in Malaysia has already been distorted by all the various subsidies, it would make better economic sense to GRADUALLY reduce the subsidies over a DEFINED period.

37. Anonymous3:03 pm

Salam Guys

None of the above,E

38. What happened to the RM5b we were supposed to have saved from the last petrol price hike? There were so many promises of improved transportation system, etc. Instead, things are getting from bad to worse and if that is not bad, more tolls are now added to burden the rakyat more.

39. Brother Rocky;

Now we can all WALK TOGETHER coz we cannot afford the High Petrol Price.

Let us try One More Time Now since driving is expensive & they are encouraging us to WALK!

Maybe our Msia is Bankrupt! Holy Shit!
    Let's Jump Ship!

40. Anonymous3:24 pm

Just dusted my kereta lembu in readiness.

Does anyone know of any contraption that's designed for collecting cowdung while i am inching my way to B from A? See, i do not want to create another problem by solving one.

Better still, if there's a device to convert the dung into methanol then i would be the first to produce a hybrid kereta lembu.

Better patent the idea before someone steals it. Man, am i creative or what?

41. Anonymous3:29 pm

You kidding me?
    All these years they have been bla bla bla about D But in the end E is what the rakyat gets.
    That's the gov's trend though..but public is awake now and if this proceeds....it could be the end of BN !

42. Anonymous3:33 pm

most likely E

43. Anonymous3:35 pm

the 'gov' talk. don't they think about next generation 'student' when we are the 'people' dying on everything the 'gov' touched.

frusted 'people'
    Pasir Gudang

44. You left out another one ...

F. Project for family and friends

45. Anonymous3:41 pm

pak lah is sick, so is sharir...n i'm sick too of this situation.. damn... so for your poll, the gomen will do nothing of the above... just to fill their stomach n partying..
    wonder if ezam realised about this..

46. we are an oil producing country. I just could not understand why we can be so adversely affected by the global oil price increase. Logically, we should be better off from the increase. On how the savings from removing the petrol subsidies be utilized, we can only take the words from our BN leaders.Whether they are true or not, i will let the public to comment.

47. Anonymous3:46 pm

ya, may be the money saved can be used for patching up leaking buidling again, or another monsoon cup.

eugene

48. as indication of my state of mind when I saw redistribute wealth fairly i thought i read redistribute wealth to family...he he

49. We must get Bodowi and his gang out of the government otherwise it will be in the scenario as seen here:

MALAYSIA: You have a vast farm with plenty of cows. But no one gets the milk, because you sell it all and use the profits to build mega-farm structures like the world's tallest barnyard and fund fame-bringing endeavors like
    tarik-ing milk while in orbit. The cows will eventually run out, but you can't be bothered to implement sustained breeding to get more cows.

PAKAYAN RAKYAT: Abolish the farming quota! Cows belong to all citizens who are equal in a Malaysian Malaysia.

50. Anonymous4:12 pm

I guess they will redistribute the wealth among themselves. I don't see any new public transportation work, do you? banyak cakap, tapi buat lain. heard a lot of money already sent outside the country. duit untuk pembangunan universiti pun dah tarik balik...

51. Anonymous4:19 pm

The govt can announce whatever grand plans..but if the rakyat choose to believe the govt that has been telling lies for the last four years..deserve to be conned again.

There is no more truth from AAB and Gang.

52. Anonymous4:21 pm

I want the Government to give the money spent buying billion $$ of useless submarine back to the rakyat! What the hell we need that submarine? attack and spy on our neghbour? Why wont they prosper the rakyat? I am tired of all this crap about changing your lifestyle! Why cant the Government change it lifestyle and stop spending my hardearn $$ on stupid project that doesnt directly benefit the rakyat! Where is my Basic necessity! I demand my basic necessity!

taxpayer

53. Anonymous4:21 pm

Negara aku kaya tapi sikit pun aku tak rasa nikmatnya.

Aku tak halalkan dunia akhirat hasil bumi ini dirompak oleh mereka.

Joe Scapula.

54. Anonymous4:27 pm

Oh yes, just remembered Pak Helah went to Sabah. Need to pay them kataks from jumping ship. That's why they need the money...

The country is so very badly managed. Everything is done for the good of the few of them. Education is in shambles, every other ministry is milking money from our national coffers. The health ministry which I think is in bad shape actually stands out as a real provider for the people.

I think this time there will be a very very BIG WALK, and there will not be enuff men in blue to hold the crowd. KL, PJ/Subang, Klang, Penang, Ipoh, JB, all over Malaysia.

55. Anonymous4:29 pm

increase the price to improve public transport???? tats the previous reason they gave...what a bull shit...all the money in their pocket....
    restriction for foreign cars to buy petrol at border town also another bullshit..short minded thinking of our stupid minister..they dont think the effect of doing such things whereas what they can do is to impose higher petrol price for foreign cars or impose higher entry levy at the checkpoint. with higher entry levy for foreign cars we can collect enough money to cover the subsidy.
    this is a simple formula but our stupid minister like to make it complicated. they should step down for the new umno faces to take over. so PL pls resign from your office now...... marah nihhhh..kalau minyak naik lagi marah......satu malaya buat demo....

Abdul Aziz JBS

56. To line the pockets of more politicians.

57. Anonymous4:41 pm

public transport should be improved. the introduction of LRT is a good thing because the power is generated from electricity. however, fuel is needed to generate the electricity! if pak lah didnt stop the BAKUN project we wouldnt be receiving this huge burden of bills at least for electricity bill! more LPG station needed. what happen to the bio diesel development? announce here and there but nothing is happening! we produced tonnes of organic waste (from oil palm, food etc) annually, why dont use them to generate energy instead of using coal? incinerator? methane gas power plant? ....ooo ya, i forgot, it was approved during TDM's time but rejected later!hmm, who is the sole coal importer? pak lah's son, kamal!

lady from hell (scotland)

58. Anonymous4:42 pm

Maybe it's time to throw out the present govt and let DSAI take over. Remember, he pledged that if Pakatan Rakyat is in power, there will be NO hike in fuel prices. I believe him. The Govt took the rakyat for a ride with Petronas' billions during Mahathir's time and it's the same story now. I would love to see them free float fuel prices to about RM4. Pakatan Raykat, get ready to assume the reins of Govt.

Lipreader

59. Anonymous4:44 pm

bro, minyak naik from RM 1.92 per litre to RM 2.72 per litre

60. Anonymous4:55 pm

Oil Price - 5 pm

PM adakan sidang akhbar petang ini, dijangka umumkan penstrukturan skim subsidi minyak
    04/06/2008 4:15pm

PUTRAJAYA 4 Jun – Perdana Menteri, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi akan mengadakan sidang akhbar pada pukul 5 petang ini, dijangka untuk mengumumkan penstrukturan skim subsidi minyak.

Sidang akhbar itu akan diadakan di Bilik Mesyuarat Perdana Aras 3, Pejabat Perdana Menteri di sini. - Utusan

http://utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2008&dt=0604&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_07.htm

61. Anonymous5:23 pm

My answer: E (None of the above)

whispering9

62. I am a bit confused or did I read wrong. Haven't people been saying how bad subsidies were, that they only benefited the rich? So now the government is doing away with it and people are beginning to holler and complain. What's going on? Isn't a free market the thing that people want? Or is it because it's your milk bottle that you don't want taken away. Well, it's crunch time. You asked for it folks! So just swallow the medicine.

63. You know what. I could really get used to this cow idea. Once the price of petrol rises, even the goddamn mamak is going to raise the price of milo ais.

I say we bring our cows, tie them to a tiang lampu, milk them then and there and ask the mamak to make our milo ais at a discounted price. After all, Pak Lah has asked us to change our lifestyle - curb our spending habits and quit living in luxury.

Now does anyone know of a taman where my cow can eat grass? Or should I bring it to taman tasik perdana near the parliament to make my point?

64. Q: Why do cows wear bells?
    A: Because their horns don't work!

Q: What's a cow eating grass?
    A: A lawn mooooer!

On second thought, since petrol prices are going up and your lawn mower will be consuming precious fuel, I shall avail the services of my cow for the purpose of keeping your lawn tidy. Any takers? Going once, going..

65. Anonymous6:10 pm

i think the present government is a real bloody fool.

if they in the government cannot manage "CHANGE" then we rakyat should "CHANGE" them.

they should stop making a fool out of us all.

-fedup

66. Anonymous6:13 pm

E.

Masuk poket pemimpin-pemimpin dan kroni-kroni mereka, serta projek-projek untuk keuntungan mereka.

67. Anonymous6:19 pm

Incredible how no one talked about looking at putting all the saved government money into renewable fuels generation (by this I do not mean palm oil-based biofuels, which is causing the rapid destruction of what is left of our natural greenery).

What I refer to are solar and wind energy initiatives.

This is where oil money should go to; to plow it in investments that will help eliminate our dependence on non-renewable resources and onto the higher platform of renewable and clean energy energy resources.

I hope the government does this with the saved cash.

68. Anonymous6:40 pm

NONE OF THE ABOVE, EXCEPT I AGREE WITH HC and THAT'S MORE MEGA PROJECTS, which benefits NO ONE except a few cronies.

What is being done to kickstart the poor economy? NOTHING!!

Recession is here and what's being done? NOTHING!!

Hey, now Petronas is making billions from the increase of fuel, subsidy cut and will kickstart a whole chain of other price increase. Where's the money going to!!

It's the end of Pak Lah and the beginning of misery to the rest of the Malaysians.

We've got the weakest gomen of all times!!

Look around us, those in the private sectors will know, everyone's business has gone down...maybe except Patrick badawi!!

I have only one thing to say to the gomen - pi mampus!

MK

69. Anonymous6:59 pm

BN ooOOOPPss maybe shud put it as UMNO. They wanted to make as much as they can because they know next GE they will be OUT! .... most of them if not all.

Rakyat must change lifestyle now and whatever excess to be deposited into the pocket of the UNTOUCHABLE so they could have enough to survive after the next GE. Their time is clicking fast with each passing day. Rakyat, please be sympathetic to them lah!

70. RM2.70 per litre bro! Koyak!

71. Anonymous11:10 pm

Anonymous,
    This is what you get for voting friking UMNO bastards and MCA chinks and MIC klings. Serve you all right when you don't even know who you should vote for. DPM talks cock all the time, and PM balless SOB ! All they do is rape the common poor people who put them up there, the government squandered away the citizens money and enrich themselves and their cronies. You malaysians are a sorry lot. you lived with an asshole for 22 years and now you are going to live for many years more with friking BN. Good luck to you guys if you continue to vote for UMNO and those lapdogs mca chinks and mic klings, forget about gerakan, they are more dead than the tombstone marking the gerakan grave.
    Laughing Stork

72. I think we should all think through this carefully. Those who are blaming the present administration are barking up the wrong the trees and blaming the wrong people. Think.

Who is responsible for the present mess? Think. Who instituted the fuel subsidies in the first place? Think. Who inititiated the Proton project and the car industry when Malaysia had/has no competitive and comparative advantages in the car industry? Think.

Why Proton and the car industry is to be blamed? Because in order to make it a “success”, the prices of local cars were/are artificially kept low so that more people can afford to buy them. In other words, many who shouldn’t be buying cars bought them. And to make it even more viable to buy cars, petrol and diesel are subsidized heavily.

Be fair people. Who is to be blamed?

>:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

73. Anonymous10:09 am

E. None of the above
    my gm drives a bmw with petrol comes from jcorp.
    i drive a old proton with petro comes from my pocket.
    it is fair?
    what about those student without father and mother,need to drives to study and night sell burgers.
    YOU BN GOV got no brain!or what!

Kg Bakar Batu

74. What the Hell 'THEY" are doing?????

75. Anonymous12:47 pm

Malaysia have so many toll so called build by Private Company and People have to pay toll to used it. Why are there so many toll and government charge high tax on every car we buy ? Now, fuel price increase government pass the burden to people and yet we have to pay so many toll and high car tax. This is bad.....

HardLife