Saturday, March 08, 2008

Penang (bridge) is falling down, falling down

Welcome to DAP country. I've just arrived at the Penang Free School where the decision on Jelutong parliamentary seat will be announced.The whole island is talking about it. Penang is falling. BN is losing big in its chairman's own home state.
And Jeff Ooi's heading for an "overwhelming victory" in Jelutong.

update 9.30pm
Jeff hasn't arrived at the counting centre. He's been summoned to a meeting of DAP leaders. "We expected to win here. But nobody expected that we'll to be forming the government in the state," an aide told me.

30 comments:

1. Anonymous8:11 pm

this is what's called the power of prayers! and also of the internet too. to jeff, teresa especially... YOU GO!!!! knock em out!
    i voted for klang parliamentary and i'm praying for the right results here as well.
    rocky.. next election you maybe? :-)

2. Anonymous8:18 pm

GRATULATIONS, MALAYSIA!!! JUBILATIONS, MALAYSIA!!!!
    VICTORY FOR MY MALAYSIA!!

MALAYSIA MAJU!! RAKYAT BERSATU!!
    GULINGKAN SAJA BN DAN KUNCU@ UMNO!
    LONG LIVE MY FELLOW COUNTRYMEN!

Father, thank you for your Blessings from Heaven.

3. Bloody good news. I'm getting goosebumps all over!

4. Anonymous8:28 pm

hoping for the best la, rocky.

5. Anonymous8:32 pm

very good....thanks to the bloggers and netizens.....to a certain extent..when you and Jeff chose to fight NST..evryone started to notice blogs.
    Good job...good job

6. Anonymous8:48 pm

Patrick Badawi shivering!!!!

The Wind of Change has reached us!!!!!!!!!!!

Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7. Anonymous8:54 pm

Rockyfella, artchan said...8:32

very good....thanks to the bloggers and netizens.....to a certain extent..when you and Jeff chose to fight NST..evryone started to notice blogs.
    Good job...good job

The godforsaken BN government underestimated THE POWER OF THE BLOG and the end-result is they were toppled by the bloggers, the netizens and the internet. What a tragic irony.

And KJ called every blogger a monkey. THE BLOGGERS ARE KING KONG WHEN OUTRAGED!! You reckon they are going to shut down the world wide web for their stunning defeat. Slay them alive, Rockyboy! The power of the blog will not go unnoticed from this day of GE12 - 8 March 2008 (Sat). Amen,

8. watching the news on rtm at the moment. you'd think they were reporting about a diufferent country with different election results! the chart flashed up on the screen showed 15 seats won for barisan and just one for DAP. delusional!!!

9. Anonymous9:04 pm

AND WE HAVE TO THANK KHAIRY ALSO...HIS ABRASIVE BEHAVIOUR, HIS KURANG AJAR, HIS SUPPOSEDLY PROTECTION FROM A EQUALlY SUBSERVIENT fil.

everywhere he was hated ...even within UMNO..but AAB was blind...the hate for the little dickhead was enough for me to vote against AAB

AAB desrves this,...and Najib and Hisammuddin...now is the time for you to join hands and demand for AAB to "abdicate"

ART Chan

10. Anonymous9:08 pm

good stuff !!!!!!

11. Anonymous9:12 pm

People power, Penang Boleh.I vote in Jelutong n Dato Kramat for Jeff.
    thquah

12. Penang has the fondest memory for me
    I know the place; I was there 7 years
    Those times I knew people weren’t happy
    With the way Koh Tsu Koon leading the state

From easy driving to traffic jams
    I can feel the heat thinking about it
    Anson Road, Burma Road, Greenlane
    Bayan Baru, Tanjong Tokong, Batu Ferringhi
    Fettes Park, Mount Erskine

I thought life there could be something
    Nay….the rapid pace of developments
    Without proper planning killed the island
    I had to move saying goodbye………

Komtar feels left out
    With other developments taken place
    The whole area looks sick and almost empty
    And the jams of buses crowding around
    The smog surely cut short lives

Now PGCC rears its ugly head
    Thinking it could bulldoze the line
    Sorry Penang people really got angry
    Too many jams lack of clean air to breathe

The inner city erodes
    The rich people don’t care
    The poor city folks living for decades
    They had to go what else could they do?
    Renting the place cheap and easy traveling
    Now it isn’t any more……

The Island of Penang
    She has lost its shine long time ago
    Now this election will be the payback time
    For Koh Tsu Koon and company to go

Yeah….this time the Penang Bridge is falling down
    The people finally get to shower in their glow
    A new day a new chapter on the island
    Maybe I should make a return visit………
    The Island of Penang once meant so much to me

13. Hidup Rakyat!

I congratulate each and every blogger out there who has proven that we speak for the people and don't give a rat's ass about threats, intimidating tactics and name callings by the idiots who have been having it their way all these 50 years!

People's Power will prevail!

Reformasi sure is kicking the BN's ass for all the BS that Pak Lah was saying that DSAI is irrelevant?

Har! Har! Har! Har!

14. Anonymous9:21 pm

Pak Lah, enough is enough.

Do the honorable thing, resign tommorrow!

15. Anonymous9:24 pm

Penang fell.

16. Anonymous9:50 pm

Rockyfella,

I just tuned off TV3 awhile ago. You know what, there was this so-called guest speaker, a suave Malay gentlemen aptly dresses in coat and tie, telling the whole world that the victories all over the country by the PEMBANGKANG is an anti-Melayu assault on Bolehland, he is practically inciting racial hatred and inflaming the Malays against the DAP-PKR-PAS alliance, especially DAP. Let's hope our Malay brothers are sober and enlightened enough to the fact that we, every citizen of this land, are all totally pissed off with the UMNOputras and their MCA-MIC lackey-dogs and goons.

The defeated UMNOputras are now resorting to inciting and inflaming racial hatred and resentment though the mainstream media: "DAP menggalakkan perasaan anti-UMNO, dan ini bermaksud mereka sengaja menggalakkan perasaan anti-Melayu. Anti-UMNO adalah anti-Melayu.

What kind of crap is that?! As if we have no minds of our own and are easily swayed by racist filth.

Don't be surprised the next thing they will do is to create an incident. An excuse to declare an emergency of sorts to nullify and negate the results of GE12 to their advantage. It happened before and it can happen again as in May 13, 1969. Watch out for the vile and vitriolic filth being spilled out of the mainstream media presently undertaken in full swing on the air. A prelude to something untoward and nasty, and instigated by the mainstream media coz their paymasters cannot stomach the stunning GE12 defeat.

17. Anonymous9:52 pm

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ITS PEOPLE POWER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. congrats to tok guru nik aziz and the people of kelantan and all the all the people who helped deafet bn
    people power

19. Anonymous11:07 pm

tomorrow they better start to work hard. its a heavy burden on their shoulders. and if they fail to perform, their fate will be like BN. thats PEOPLE's POWER.
    I am sure this is a new dawn for a better Malaysia. Malaysians, irregardless race or religion, lets close rank and work harder for a better future;not only for us but for our children.

20. Anonymous11:12 pm

OMG! OMG! OMG!

This is a wonderful day. Go Penangites! So dashed proud of you.

I cannot stop smiling and singing "Inilah Barisan Kita". My husband thinks I've lost it. :D

21. jeff is reported to have won!

22. Anonymous11:20 pm

Sorry Rocky,

IT'S A NEW DAY IN MY BELOVED MALAYSIA!

And and as my fellow commenters said, it's no small thanks to the stalwarts of Barisan Bloggers with you and Jeff and Haris and Malik and Eli Wong and Zorro and Nate and Aina Samad and Marina and Mob and Sheih and RPK many more lovely responsible Malaysian cyber warriors at the front that we are seeing this hopeful dawn! Yay! AllahuAkbar!

23. Anonymous11:54 pm

Can send my congratulations to our new YB Ooi?

This is the strongest wave of Makkal Sakthi we have seen. Syabas! Bloggers have played a key role in information dissemination.

24. Anonymous11:58 pm

By the way, can someone call and tell those panelist in TV3 to stop touching on racial sentiment?

These 2 guys are no different from the typical UMNO type. Blaming defeat to Indian sentiment and Oppositions playing up racial issues. They are showing that for hours and the guy talking repeat and repeat like record rosak.

How irresponsible can that be?

25. Anonymous12:01 am

IT MORE TO THAT! EVERYBODY KNOWS WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE COUNTRY. WELL READ, LISTEN N INTERNET, ALSO THE WORK OF SMS ON HANDPHONE. MILLIONS OF SHORT MESSAGES ARE SEND THROUGH SMS. ANYWAY 'SYABAS' TO ALL PENANGNITES FOR THER BRAVE JUDGEMENT TO VOTE THEM OUT! NOW FOR THE OPPORSITION TO PROVE THEMSELVES AND KEEP UP THEIR GOOD WORK!

26. Anonymous3:34 am

incredible. gerakan and mca wiped out! its the people's voice. enough is enough.
    DAP/PKR/PAS-be pre warned. if you all misbehave, you will suffer the same fate.
    meantime, best wishes to the new state government.

27. POWER to the PEOPLE! Rocky, yesterday I voted for the 1st time in my life, and today, the folks I voted for will be forming new govts in 5 states!! Way to GO! I am so PROUD of Opposition! Bloggers Unite!

28. Anonymous10:00 am

Well done, Penangites! DAP, please appoint a mayor for Penang, the country's first City. Also time to recognised some stalwarts in your party for their hardwhork & loyalty. Please let PKR have the PAS chap in their line-up in exchange for DAP in PKR line up in other states.

Watch out for BN trying to buy BR MPs & MLAs. By the way, do explore if any BN chaps want to leave and join the BR State Govts.

Long live Penang!

29. Anonymous12:07 pm

Yup, MCA and Gerakan does not represent the chinese and neither is MIC representing the indians. So be it. Now the battle line is drawn between the Malays and the rest.Godd luck Melayu - as usual still sleeping until shoved off the bed and out into the chicken shed or shit. Wake up natives

30. Anonymous12:56 pm

wellcome to DAP country!better hold on to it,if NOT!soon it will be PAP country!

EYE2EYE.