Sunday, January 27, 2008

Ah, polis, polis ...

Easy pickings. In Malaysia, peaceful protesters - noisy or otherwise - are deemed more dangerous by the cops and the authorities than criminals. Otherwise why do the police spend so much energy, resources, and time to stop people from expressing their unhappiness with inflation? The cops even took the trouble to obtain a court order way before the peaceful protest to bar certain individuals from being anywhere near the KLCC yesterday (here).
If they'd been as serious in fighting the bad guys, I believe all Malaysians would be solidly behind them.

More than 50 people were arrested for being expressive yesterday [HERE].

28 comments:

1. Anonymous2:22 am

Ya Tuhan apa dah jadi dengan NEGARA NI!!!!!!!!!

2. No wonder the missing children are still missing.

Are we serving the serving the political masters?

Yes, that's why these shits are still happening.

3. Anonymous3:20 am

Most Indians might be poor but they were smart enough to have found out that the very mic that were suppose to represent and take care of them were actually screwing them up real good.

If this has happened to the Indians it has already happened to the Malay and Chinese

because

SCREWING THE COUNTRY AND PUBLIC

has been bn’s values – courtesy - pride of umno.

When are the “rest” gonna wake up –just wonder.

that Malaysia is not "their" father's country it is your country.

4. If the Police allows the peaceful demonstrations, there would be less attention given by the local and global media.

5. Anonymous4:33 am

The corrupted police are paid by the people to terrorize, not make the people safer.

6. Anonymous4:49 am

Macammana pihak polis hendak menumpukan tenaga membanteras jenayah jika pihak pihak yg berdemonstrasi ini sentiasa membuat kacau...lebih lebih lagi demo demo kebelakangan ini bermotifkan politik yg dianjurkan oleh pembangkang..yg mmg sudah dikenali ke huru haraan mereka bila berdemo..

saya berharap pihak polis bertindak lebih tegas keatas penDEMO ini.. kalau bole tangkap dan ISAkan saja penganjur penganjurnya..

7. Easy pickings. In Malaysia, peaceful protesters - noisy or otherwise - are deemed more dangerous by the cops and the authorities than criminals. Otherwise why do the police spend so much energy, resources, and time to stop people from expressing their unhappiness with inflation? The cops even took the trouble to obtain a court order way before the peaceful protest to bar certain individuals from being anywhere near the KLCC yesterday (here).
    If they'd been as serious in fighting the bad guys, I believe all Malaysians would be solidly behind them.

Right on Rocky. But be not afraid. Remember the 7th day of the 7th moon of the chinese calender. It comes around every year. When all hell breaks loose the bozos responsible WILL be nailed one way or another.

8. Anonymous6:53 am

I think organising demos and protest in Kuala lumpur and other big towns is not going to help the opposition or even the Malaysians much. Those in urban area are already aware of what's going on in the country. Maybe, people like "protes" should just go to the rural area and spread the message. This people kinda blur of what's going on. I wouldn't be surprised if they were thinking the prices going up because the opposition is causing too many disruption to the business by organising demonstations. I think HINDRAF was successful because they targeted the message to those who needed political awakening instead of focusing the urban area.

9. Anonymous7:17 am

I have seen through the years and now this PM is the worst performing of the 5 PM. Is getting from bad (Dr.M) to worst (AAB). How low can Malaysia go? We must give hope to change the government.

10. While I don't agree with everything that was being protested about today, their right to protest should be respected.

Now I don't know the full story, but organizers of these protests really should come up with a new strategy.

I really want to believe that these protests aren't politically motivated, and that PKR/PAS/DAP actually care about the people, but unless this is working on some meta level that I can't see, what these guys are doing is basically running head first into a brick wall and hoping it collapses.

On the other hand, if these are politically motivated, they should keep doing what they're doing because it's working.

11. Anonymous7:45 am

The priorities of the govt and police seem to be totally screwed up. If only the same amount of commitment and enthusiasm shown in bullying and arresting innocent protestors is used in seeking out the paedophiles, rapists, mat rempits and other criminals, the rakyat would feel safer. But then I guess its easier and safer to arrest senior citizens, journos and academics than to deal with criminals who may turn around and attack the cops. What a shame!

12. Anonymous8:25 am

Those bozo policemen after their recent big increment still have not improved.

They just take the easy way out by arresting the innocent and pleasing their political masters.

13. Anonymous8:44 am

The court giving a court order...speak very much of our courts.

anon ask "apa dah jadi dengan NEGARA NI"

I ask...what has become of our courts?
    Were the court officials threatened that they will lose their job? not get promoted? Or they sold their soul to the devil?

14. Anonymous11:11 am

If I am the prime minister of this beloved country of mine, I want to do 3 VITAL THINGS for MY PEOPLE, whether MALAYS, CHINESE, INDIANS or DAN LAIN-LAIN. Even counting the birds in the sky and the monkeys in the jungle as my constituents. Cos they all depend on me for their destiny.

PRIORITY 1 - Make the police force an independent and professional law enforcement agency that is not populated by crooks, sycophants and misfits as what we have now!

PRIORITY 2 - Make the judiciary an independent and honourable institution of the third estate that do not treat the Constitution of this country like a piece of tissue paper for wiping their oily mouths after a Kentucky Fried Chicken dinner in New Zealand!

PRIORITY 3 - Make the ACA an independent and much-feared organisation not unlike the GESTAPO that smells out the rats, worms and snakes, even the creepy ants! that lurks in every government agency doing nothing but buta gaji.

Last but definitely not least, I almost forgot, I shall limit my term of office to 2 terms of maximum 10 years. I shall not hang around too long to collect my 10 per cent booty! Correct! correct! correct! I almost forgot. That's just what I want to do if I am again erected as the next PM of this godforsaken MALAYSIA BOLEH! country of first world infrastructures but third world mindset people. People, you deserve the government you voted in! You deserve the police force they entrenched in place for you! Vote again, this time around wisely! Vote for the most respected and honourable police force in the world, an agency of the people of the people for the people and by the people TO FIGHT CRIME AND NOT FIGHT YOU - THE PEOPLE ITSELF! Afterall, we are the taxpayers! And their paymasters too!

15. Easy picking
    In a day’s work
    The Police walk
    The innocent pays

Easy picking
    I hear the voices cry
    Prices of goods rise
    The Police just come
    Put them in Black Maria

Police work
    It never flows
    The Police orders
    The political masters say
    The crimes go high
    The Police just pretend
    This is easy picking
    On the innocent walk of lives

Court gives order
    Before an event takes place
    The way I see it
    It is easy picking

The corrupted wins
    The way it shouldn’t be
    Telling words of wisdom
    It never translates on the streets
    It is easy picking
    The Police in a day’s work

The prices of goods go up
    The ordinary people pay
    And the Police don’t care
    Easy picking they seem to say
    No courtesy rough handling
    Aggressiveness display
    Into the Black Maria
    The innocent sheep pushed in

Do it in the polls
    Let the smell disappear
    Once and for all

16. Anonymous1:37 pm

Pulis, Raja Di Malaysia.

17. If I had any doubts before, I am now totally convinced that Democracy is Dead... in a country formerly known as Malaysia.

18. Anonymous3:03 pm

50 against Thousands!
    ---------------------
    Rakyats against Polices with Court Orders!
    Micky Mouse against Pussy Cats?
    Convenience to Protest or to tell the Word at large?

5 scratched the Nerve of UNMO!
    Police violated Constitution to take Court Order to say "NO" to the 5.
    Police scare of thousand to come to prepare with Teargas and Water Cannon on the Spot.
    They shut themselves off with 1km of Zones!

To protect KLCC or the Empire they had built since MHT?
    50 had represented thousand and thousand of Rakyats whose Rights and hard-earned been double-crossed!!

Those by-standers should be happy that 5 and the 50 had said their voice in their hearts,
    if they still have souls and hearts to distinguish Right or Wrong!!

Those with the hearts and souls vote UNMO/BN out of the Roll!!

19. Looks like this country is getting worst then I taught... Just for the record, almost everything is on the rise recently. From milk for the kids to oils for cooking. All this are everyday use items.
    Do you know how many times "MILO" price increased last year??? You'll be surprise..... 4 times and the cost gone up by 20% so far ! !
    Corn oil will be increased by 58% starting on Feb next month.
    So much for the Barisan ruling....
    And the top man even ask for more time..... what a joke ! !

20. Anonymous5:56 pm

worldwide, inflation rate generally is on the uptrend due to surge in commodity prices. sure, the government's capacity to provide subsidies is not unlimited. but when you ask the poor man on the streets to change their lifestyle to accommodate the rising cost of living, and meantime you powers that be and the cronies continue to plunder the country resources, thats when we get pissed off big time. RM4.7 billion goes to scandalous PKFA, RM600 million to UMNO divisional heads, RM200 million for a fucking new plane so that the PM can travel in extra comfort, RM1.0 billion of commission for arms deal..etc..and thats the reason BN needs the cops to cover all these corrupt acts.
    If the cops are so good in containing crime, there will be less nurin and nini cases and crime rate wouldnt have soared every year without fail just like the rapid inflation rate.
    another 4 years to BN? Do that at your own peril.

21. Anonymous10:47 pm

the cops should not do the dirty work for BN. BN can't handle the issues head on, instead ask the cops to screw the people.

Cops are too political now with the current IGP as their leader. No longer are they Mesra Rakyat, they are Mesra Ahli Politik BN/UMNO!!!

22. That "more than 50 people" were arrested for DEFYING THE LAWS!

The rules and laws of the land are very clear. Those who defy them can be arrested. What is so difficult for you and people to understand?

23. Anonymous5:29 pm

A Barisna Nasional Police force? A Barisan Nasional Judicary? And a Barisan Nasional shackling of the people's rights to express their legitimate greviances.

As I watched the reports of how the Police "attacked" civilians at KLCC Petronas Towers it reminded me of the Mynmar clampdown of citizens marching in the streets.

The Police has lost the respect of the rakyat over its blatant abuse of power in taking court orders restricting individuals and groups assemblying peacefully. The slogans against corruption and bribery on police cars and badges have as much worth as a warm bucket of spit.

The more the voice of the rakyat is forcibly silenced, the more it will be shouted from the roof tops. Go do an independent research of the people movement in 1948. This country was built on the right of people expressing their views without fear or favour.

Long live the breath and spirit of Merdeka. And make your voice be heard in the ballot-box against regimes that seek to demolish our rights to that voice.

24. From Straits Times Singapore
    http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Asia/STIStory_200975.html

35 M'sians charged with illegal assembly
    KUALA LUMPUR - THIRTY-FIVE Malaysian activists were charged on Monday with participating in an illegal assembly after police cracked down on a planned opposition-led protest over inflation, a lawyer said.
    Opposition groups wanted to hold a rally on Saturday in downtown Kuala Lumpur to demand that the government forego a likely fuel price hike and prevent the cost of essential goods from rising.

But police deployed some 1,300 officers to block the rally, arresting suspected activists on sight and foiling the planned gathering. More than 50 people were arrested. Police said organisers had no police permit to hold a public demonstration.

The 35 people charged on Monday pleaded innocent and have been released on bail, lawyer Amer Hamzah Arshad told The Associated Press. A trial date has been set for June 16, and they could be jailed up to six months if found guilty, he said.

Separately, a journalist from Malaysiakini, an independent news Web site, has been charged with obstructing police work while covering Saturday's events, Mr Amer said. He faces up to two years in jail, he said.

'How can (the activists) be charged with a demonstration that did not occur?' said Tian Chua, a senior official of the opposition People's Justice Party.

Mr Tian, who was among those arrested but has not been charged, accused the government of being 'authoritarian (and) heavy-handed' to curb public discontent ahead of general elections widely expected in March.

Authorities have been wary of street protests in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia's largest city, after two rallies in November drew tens of thousands of people demanding electoral reforms and racial equality.

Police used water cannons and tear gas to quell those rallies.

Rising prices of essential items and services, such as food and transportation, are among voters' key concerns. -- AP

yup the police were busy looking....

25. Anonymous6:32 pm

Why do the police allow the MIC to assemble recently but not this one? Just because one is to show support to Badawi and the other is not. Why can't the police just let the citizens to assemble peacefully and later dispersed. In Jakarta, there was also protest on the rising cost and their authority allowed it. Came out in the paper. But in M'sia, you cannot do such things or else you'll be beaten & jailed. What a pity.

26. Anonymous10:10 pm

To be fair to the police, when an illegal assembly takes place with a common intention is deem to be illegal although held peacefully (so they claim). If those arrested are involve , there would be no peaceful assembly, they will provoke, taunt, and jeer the peacekeepers . They purposely do it to force the police to take action and try to become martyrs out of it. Semua tu nak kan publisiti murahan, apatah lagi PRU menghampiri. Kalau disokong rakyat dah beribu rakyat ikut serta!!! Go to hell with you all!!!!

27. Anonymous9:57 am

polis sibok kat KLCC.tempat kami sering berlaku jenayah depa tha sibok pon.kalau gini laku nya peminpin skarang ada eloknya pak lebai je yang jadi peminpin.
    brengsetluLAH.

jranger.

28. Anonymous4:31 pm

Street demos is just like 'suicide bombing' & end up resolving nothing at all..only add worst. They who commit such act should already know the consequences..
    A words of a few doesn't worth any significant impact especially when dealing with the corrupt powerful govt.

For the so called idiot suicide bombers..even God prohibit such action and even condemned it to hell! You think you'll end up in heaven for the so called holy act? Think again..Who do you follow? The God or your extremist leader?
    Understand & Think before act! That's the main creteria distinguishing us from the 96% similar genes apes..

In the name of Allah the Most Gracious & the Most Merciful (1:1):

"You shall spend in the cause of Allah; do not throw yourselves with your own hands into destruction. You shall be charitable; Allah loves the charitable." (Al-Baqarah, 2:195)

"O you who believe! Eat not up your property among yourselves unjustly except it be a trade amongst you, by mutual consent. And do not kill yourselves (nor kill one another). Surely, Allâh is Most Merciful to you."(An-Nisa' 4:29)

"Anyone who commits these transgressions, maliciously and deliberately, We will condemn him to Hell. This is easy for Allah to do." (An-Nisa' 4:30)

The words & acts of the collective majority on the other hand is called revolution..only revolution yield results.

Malaysian still working in the 'minority mode'...that's why we're going no where with whatever..still same-o-selfish society & blamer-holier-than-thou mentality.