Friday, October 12, 2007

Maaf Zahir Batin

Selamat Hari Raya. It would have been a splendid Ramadan: we sent the first Malaysian to space, Dr Mahathir is recovering well from two surgeries at IJN, and a brave girl ended her long wait for a heart transplant.

But it hasn't been a splendid Ramadan.

I will remember this Ramadan for how we failed little Nurin. How we let her wait for a whole month only to die a most brutal death, because we did not do enough to prevent it from happening. "We could have saved her," Kamal Effendi Hashim, the crime analyst, told me. I believe him.

Selamat Hari Raya, nonetheless. But do take care of your kids. Me, I'll hold my little ones' hands tight, and watch them play with the bunga api tonight. Tomorrow, I'll help them count the ang pow money. I will share in their happiness for their happiness is mine.

But it will be a short Raya holiday. A small group of Malaysians met the other night and started what we will call the Citizens for Nurin Alert initiative. We have agreed to meet again soon after Raya.
We said we won't let Nurin die in vain

If I am being hard on myself, I'm not alone. Kamal, the photojournalist-turned-cop-turned-crime analyst has started www.kamalfndhashim.blogspot to deal with his demons and help his conscience, in the hope that he will not fail another kid again.

Read his debut posting In Memory of my sisters, dedicated to nurin, nursafira liyana bte jaafar, nurul huda abdul ghani, audrey mellisa, nurul hanis kamil, nur syakila ram choo, farah deeba rustam, haserawati saridi, canny ong, siti nadira budah, amd nur shazwani dahalan, among others.

p.s. I'll keep you posted on the Citizens for Nurin Alert initiative.

In the meantime, Selamat Hari Raya. Maaf zahir & batin.

54 comments:

1. Anonymous5:28 am

Dear rocky,

Selamat Hari Raya Aidul Fitri to you and your family.

Maaf Zahir % Batin.

2. SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDIL FITRI
    dan
    MAAF ZAHIR BATIN.
    untuk rocky dan semua.

3. Rocky,

and nurin's killer is still out there!

we shall not let her die in vain. we must not.
    i am glad citizens for nurin alert has got off the ground.

i cannot imagine anyone being against the idea of recovering and saving mssing children,

selaamt hari raya aidilfitri to you. maaf zahir & batin.

4. Hi Rocky, here's wishing you and your family, Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri, and hope to catch up real soon, Wishes, Steven

5. Salam Bro.
    Selamat Hari Raya. Maaf zahir & batin to you & family

6. Anonymous7:32 am

Selamat Hari Raya to Rocky and family.

Littlebird

7. Anonymous8:06 am

Selamat Hari Raya to you and family, Rocky!

8. Selamat Hari Raya, Rocky. You're a man with a good heart. These days, that's certainly a great blessing. Someone i think He knows.

9. Abang rocky's...Selamat hari raya...maaf zahir batin..

10. Anonymous9:06 am

Salam aidilfitri semua!

whispering9

11. Aku nak ambik masa dan ruang ni untuk ucapkan Selamat Hari Raya dan Maaf Zahir Batin untuk semua orang kecuali si celaka-celaka.

Kepada semua si celaka, pantat mak kau lah.

Yang lain, selamat hari raya.

12. Selamat Hari Raya to you and all Muslims. I wish to also thank you 4 ur informative blog. Keep it up.

13. Bro, Selamat Hari Raya to you and your loved ones.....
    C U next week, I guess!

14. Anonymous9:44 am

Bro Rocky,
    Selamat Hari Raya, Maaf Zahir Batin to you and loved ones. May peace and happines be upon all.

15. Selamat Hari Raya to you and your family Rocky, would send you a card but the economy is sooooo bad, can't afford the stamps and the card.....

:D

16. I wish you Selamat Hari Raya Puasa
    May it brings joy and happiness
    In completion of a month of fasting
    Building up faith and convictions
    In a society of many trials and disturbances
    Let there be smile on our faces
    Share our good fortunes and religion
    Be it there a shining star bridging the people
    Sharing and embracing unity as a nation
    I wish there isnt a lost journey
    In bringing home the peace and harmony
    For it is the neighbourliness that brought smile
    When things or events make it unbearable
    But when there are good neighbours
    The troubles can be forgotten
    Hari Raya a time to celebrate
    It is a time to reflect on one's journey
    It is a time to share one's friendship
    It is a time to forgive and forget
    Amongst families and friends
    Of actions, deeds and words said and done
    Maaf zahir dan batin
    Give a smile
    The world will be nice
    Amongst the people
    Of many colors

17. Anonymous10:57 am

Salam Aidil Fitri to you and your family

18. Anonymous11:43 am

Rock,

Today, I read Berita Hairan about the new findings in the Nurin case.

From the footage, it looks like the culprit carrying the bag was a man on a motorbike. Some newspapers early in the case had reported it was a woman instead...

http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Friday/BeritaUtama/20071011234333/Article

Plus i'm not sure how involved the woman in the red shirt is in the case. According to the description, she arrived at the scene about an hour AFTER the bag was dropped, and waited until some guys in a silver Kenari came over and picked her up. It didn't say whether she examined the bag nearby or not. Likely a case of waiting for pals... but at the wrong place at the wrong time, perhaps?

Either that or Berita Hairan is getting it all wrong (not surprise if so).

19. Anonymous11:44 am

And Slamat Hari Raya to you too Rock!

PS: Don't hesitate to wish us Merry Christmas this Dec!

20. Anonymous11:47 am

SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDIL FITRI TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY BRO.

21. rocky

selamat hari raya aidil fitri

come back recharge and lets fight on for a better malaysia.

22. Anonymous12:05 pm

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to you and your family!

23. Bro,

You out-did me on the pantun, not sure if it’s a forgivable act. But, being a kiasu Malaysian, I bought rm106 worth of fire-crackers, 6 bucks more than you did, just to even things out. zero-zero

so anyway, Salam aidilfitri. its been a real honour knowing you.

yamseng, brader!

24. Anonymous1:05 pm

Warmest regard from Kuching,Sarawak. Bila nak datang ke Sarawak? Selamat Hari Raya

25. Rocky,

Ever since my neighbor was awakened with a knife to his throat, and the robbers asked for his daughter (who by Allah's grace wasn't there that night), I sleep with my cupboard against the door and a golf club (driver no less) in my hand, ready to bash the first subhuman who dares violate my house orlay a hand on my beautiful kids lost in sleep next to me.

Thank you IGP! Thank You Pak Lah! Malaysians can't sleep at night thanks to you!!!!

26. Selamat Hari Lebaran; Minal Ainil Wal Faizin.

27. Anonymous1:38 pm

Selamat Hari Raya to you, Rocky and Family and all the muslim readers, posters and bloggers as well. Have a great time and happy holidays to the rest and everybody here ... :)

28. hi Rocky.

selamat menyambut eid ul fitr.

have a good raya.

and yes...i'll be protecting my youngers sisters and young relatives.

29. Anonymous2:10 pm

"It would have been a splendid Ramadan: we sent the first Malaysian to space, Dr Mahathir is recovering well from two surgeries at IJN, and a brave girl ended her long wait for a heart transplant."

.... and Liew Seng Tat's Flower in the Pocket won two awards in Pusan International Film Festival.

http://www.dahuangpictures.com/blogs/hana.php

30. Anonymous2:22 pm

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri Uncle!

31. Anonymous2:31 pm

Dear Bro,

Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri to you and your family.

Maaf zahir & batin.

Alex Loh.

32. Sdr Rocky's Bru

Best wishes for Eid Mubarak to you, your esteemed commentators and visitors.

Bear in mind Nurin's isn't the only unsolved murder case.

Malaysia could very well be among the countries with the highest number of unsolved murder cases.

I am a fan of Cold Case File on Astro's Crime and Investigation channel.

PRDM can learn a lot from that programme.

Maaf zahir dan batin.

33. Dear Rocky,
    Wishing you and your family, Selamat Hari raya!
    My only wish for this raya that we can and we will nab nurin murderer. In the meantime may her innocent and beautiful soul rest in Peace.

To all, please be safe and drive carefully. Happy holiday

34. I am tempted to join Amir Hafizi but I think better not.

So salam aidilfitri to you and family. Maaf zahir batin.

35. Ramadhan memberi kesedaran
    Syawal itu kejayaan.
    Tahniah, itu ucapan perayaan.
    Perjuangan ramadhan tiada akhiran.

Selamat hari raya. Maaf zahir batin.

36. Selamat Hari Raya untuk Ahirudin Attan & Co dan semua pelayar setia blog ini.

Kalau ada terkasor bahasa, terlanjur perbuatan dan tersalah makan itu, minta halalkan.

Kita berjumpa semula minggu hadapan.

37. Eid Mubarak, bro and for the family too.

Dang! I thought we're gonna meet up tonight coz next Wednesday is like 2008, man.

Kerp's a kiasu Malaysian? Got one meh?

Yo Capt, quit griping, will ya. It's just another couple of hours till we're back to our usual shenanigans but I guess, with what's happening lately, a number of us would have said no differently than Amir.

Nurin Alert. Yeah, gotta do something positive for our next generation.

Folks, be merry, drive safely and above all, be Malaysian

*continues to put up the damn blinking lights that dad and mum wants placed at the most awkward section in the house..sucking on hammered thumbs along the way..sneaking a puff or two when the neighbors aren't watching (tak puasa hari ni)..and doing a balancing act on the rickety, collapsible ladder at the same time*

38. Anonymous5:28 pm

Bro Rocky
    Selamat Hari Raya to you and family. Take a good celebrations with your friends & family and hope to see more of your postings after raya.

Jimmy

39. Anonymous5:46 pm

Selamat Aidilfitri to you and family ... Maaf Zahir dan Batin.

40. Anonymous7:26 pm

Hi Rocky,

Have a great HRP with your loved ones and for the rest, the same wish too.

Rastaman JB

41. Anonymous7:29 pm

Selamat Hari Raya Idul Fitri to you and your family.

Maaf Lahir Batin.

42. Anonymous7:54 pm

Hey Rocky and all at home ...

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri.

God bless and have a great Raya.

(Don't scratch my jacuzzi, you hear. ;-))

43. Anonymous8:57 pm

Bro Rocky,

Selamat hari Raya Aidil Fitri to you and family.

Also selamat hari Raya Aidil Fitri to all readers too.

44. A very Blessed Raya to you and your family bro.

45. Rocky,

Selamat Menyambut Hari Raya Aidilfitri. Maaf zahir dan batin.

zewt

46. Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri to all! May you and your family have a blessed time this festive season. Mutual forgiveness and forgetting of any offences, aiight! Maaf zahir dan batin.

Peace!

47. Anonymous12:46 am

LOL tergolek2 @ Amir Hafizi!

Amir, pas masuk neraka ko (at least sesuku hari) sebab maki2 dlm bulan puasa. Jangan kena satu cell dgn Kayap Mat Derus dah lah. Hahahha... selisih malaikat!

Rocky, kat sini raya dah (ikut negara pak arab). Just that matyanks ngok clueless yang hari nih hari istimewa [sigh!].

Tapi mekyam tak kira, pakai gak baju kebaya nyonya hadiah arwah mum lima tahun dulu. Ketat sikit, tapi ketat ke ketatlah... bukan nak pegi ke mana pun, habis2 dok depan komputer.

48. Selamat Hari Raya Aidul Fitri to you and your family

49. Anonymous3:26 am

Ditto on all your wishes Bro,

Let's count our blessings (of which there are a lot). But let's work on making our environment safer and happier!

50. Dear Rocky,
    Selamat hari raya!!
    Hope you, yr family and the NPC gang have a lovely onee...

51. http://tinyurl.com/23a8n3

52. Anonymous6:06 pm

Selamat Hari Raya kepada Rocky sekeluarga.

Semoga bulan Syawal ini membawa para blogger semua ke tahap yang lebih mulia dengan fikiran, kata kata, perbuatan serta tugas dan tanggungjawab yang sempurna!

Semoga perjuangan Rocky dan rakan-rakan mendapati rahmat Allah supaya komen-komen yang ikhlas dan bernas mendapat perhatian para pemimpin negara!

53. Anonymous12:50 am

Dear Brother Rocky

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri

Maaf Zahir dan Batin

fm both of us
    Nani and Michael
    Big Apple